You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Controversy over €8.5 million price tag for Mary Robinson's Presidential library

Questions have been raised about costs to the State.

QUESTIONS HAVE BEEN raised over a Presidential library for Mary Robinson in Ballina that could cost up to €8.5 million.

An RTÉ Prime Time report last night detailed concerns over the plans that will also see Robinson benefit from a tax break for donating her personal papers.

PastedImage-90595 Robinson's former family home where the presidential library is to be located. RTÉ RTÉ

The Presidential library is to be located in Robinson’s family home which is currently owned by her brother Adrian Burke. It has not yet been purchased by Mayo County Council with the proposed purchase price set at €660,000.

The report outlined that the library could cost Mayo County Council €1.5 million and the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht €2 million.

The Victoria House Foundation, of which Robinson is a director, has so far raised about €1 million to help fund the project.

Total purchase and construction costs for the project have been put at €6.4 million.

Mayo County Council has pledged to “cover any unforeseen additional expenditure that may arise during the course of construction.”

Robinson was Ireland’s President for just under seven years and served as UN High Commissioner for Human Rights for five years. The documents she is donating to the library have been independently valued at €2.5 million.

Robinson and her family will benefit from tax breaks for the donation of the papers with Prime Time estimating that the tax breaks could cost the State up to €2 million.

It is the first time a former president has benefitted from a tax break from the donation of their papers. Historically, former presidents have donated their papers to a university or State institution.

Speaking on the programme last night, Sinn Féin TD Peadar Toibín said the decision to forgo the traditional route was a “surprise”.

“The founding of a Presidential library is the a first in Ireland, there is considerable surprise in the academic community that Mrs. Robinson did not donate her papers to Trinity College, where she is chancellor,” Toibín said.

The cultural community has also expressed surprise. Catriona Crowe, former head of special projects with the National Archive,  said the decision was a puzzling one:
I am very surprised that Mrs Robinson is breaking the tradition, if you like, of lodging records with a university library or a cultural institution. Which has been the practice up to now. I can’t see any good reason to do other than that.

Read: Mary Robinson has been digging holes in Ethiopia – and has an important message for Europe >

Read: Former president Mary Robinson is very happy with the Pope >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

90 Comments
    Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:19 AM

It’s easy spend other people’s money

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:32 AM

Especially when you come from Mayo

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:51 AM

Why is there such a Government fascination with Mary Robbinson I think she started the downward trend in wages and workers rights in this Country.

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Oct 28th 2016, 10:03 AM

@mickmc:
    Mary has lectured us for over 20 years on the merits of a fairer Ireland, now we are to spend an initial 8.5 million for a center not taking in running costs for the future. Most sicking is the tax dodge, a 2 million tax free clause, from a person who has a Trinity pension, Seannd pension, Presidential pension, this all shows up the hypocrisy of the elite in Ireland it is very much do as I say not do as I do.

Mute ryan3939
    Favourite ryan3939
    Oct 28th 2016, 11:15 AM

@ktsiwot: so she is screwing us on a big pension and now she want it tax free

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Oct 28th 2016, 11:16 AM

@ktsiwot: can someone explain why she and her papers are so precious?
    can someone in the journo contact mayo co.co. and ask who is driving this and why?
    Michael d. has shown the way as ever and donated some of his personal papers to the state at no cost, yes, no cost

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Oct 28th 2016, 11:22 AM

@ryan3939:
    I forgot he un pension.

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Oct 28th 2016, 11:29 AM

@ciaran:
    All other presidents papers are donated to a state or university, I believe it is her own sense of importance, there was a time were comments like these here would be met with shock or disbelief in the media from which she got a free ride for years,this creates a buble of self importance and detachment from reality in which people struggle and live their real lives.

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    Oct 28th 2016, 1:07 PM

@Seamus Brady: Never ending ,,past present politicians now presidents ,, endless bleeding of the state

Mute John Stafford
    Favourite John Stafford
    Oct 28th 2016, 2:19 PM

@ Alan Scott.. pardon my ignorance but how did she manage that?

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:24 AM

I think you need to correct your article, she’s donating nothing. She will get a couple of million in tax breaks and her brother is getting €650,000 for a decrepit house in Ballina which probably isn’t worth half that. She’s just another in the long line of Labour politicians out to milk the public for all she can. Mary find your own vanity project instead of enriching your family at the expense of us, the taxpayers. You get three pensions as it is but your greed knows no ends!

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:27 AM

*fund

Mute Point Blank
    Favourite Point Blank
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:29 AM

Well said, Paul.

Mute Anton Friendo
    Favourite Anton Friendo
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:20 AM

@PaulJ: She is a member of the Trilateral Commission, she was always a bought and paid for shill and they need expensive monuments in their memory.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:34 AM

@Anton Friendo: she did not even have the manners to see out her term in office now she wants a shrine to herself? she has the pension 144k p/a and her eyes on the prize of tax free.
    someone somewhere has to say stop

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:39 AM

Apparently the council first approached her in 2008 with the idea and she wasn’t that keen.

It took a lot of convincing.

€2m in tax breaks and €600k for her brother seems to have convinced her though.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:23 AM

Strikes me as a rather profitable vanity project for the Robinson family.

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:26 AM

It seems she’s got a lot in common with the other Robinson family up north.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:28 AM

I smell a large rat ! This stinks to high heaven !!

Mute Random_paddy
    Favourite Random_paddy
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:19 AM

Someone enlighten me, what’s the benefit from this for the people of Ireland?

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:24 AM

Very little especially it based in the back end of mayo.

Mute martin kilbane
    Favourite martin kilbane
    Oct 28th 2016, 11:42 AM

@Random_paddy:
    She used being president to get on the world stage. She even quit early when Kofi Annam came calling.
    Swanning around the world at everyone elses expence, wanting to be the most important person in the room.
    Not a nice person, a fake. Beware of anyone who continually smiles.
    Go and live outside Ireland. She is not wanted or needed here. Send her rubbish with her.

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Oct 28th 2016, 12:34 PM

@martin kilbane: I agree with you about the people who continually smile, like the Garda commissioner .

Mute Stephen Cullen
    Favourite Stephen Cullen
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:17 AM

It’s like the celtic tiger never left.

Mute Donal Killackey
    Favourite Donal Killackey
    Oct 28th 2016, 10:14 AM

Indeed Stephan, it never did leave for the inner gold-plated pensioned circle.

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Oct 28th 2016, 10:32 AM

@Donal Killackey: they’re all Gougers, feasting on the money that’s confiscated from the Citizens

Mute MargieMurph
    Favourite MargieMurph

€6.4 million? €650,000 for that house! Someone is seriously taking the P. But why would anyone be surprised. We live in a country where taxpayers’ money is not respected. Ever. The the loudest leftie blowhards, (Mary, I’m looking at you) are the the biggest spenders of other people money and of course, the sky’s the limit on a presidential vanity project.

Mute Dara Kilmartin
    Favourite Dara Kilmartin
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:31 AM

What do they estimate the visitor footfall will be for this cultural centre in Ballina? Has anyone done a business case? Could this project ever break even…maintenance, staff costs? If Mary Robinson does not want to donate her papers to Trinity, let her realise the ‘independent valuation’ of €2.5 million on the open market.

Mute Ciarán Doyle
    Favourite Ciarán Doyle
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:30 AM

A quick search on Daft.ie will show you how much of a scam this is. €650,000 for that house is at least 3 times what should be paid for it.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:32 AM

Thats just criminal, when are “WE ALL ” going to say enough is enough? Ridiculous!

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo

All the shelves must be gold plated and jewel encrusted for that absolutely ridiculous amount of money. What a joke.

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:36 AM

Gift the house for god sake. It’s falling to bits anyway. 600k? Balloons in Mayo? Wtf is that about?This is a pure joke at the taxpayers expense.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:22 AM

It’s only a matter of time before we get Mary Robinson the musical

Mute Liam Geary
    Favourite Liam Geary
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:57 AM

It’s hard to believe, someone with her wealth, and earlier Social commitment , would be so mean, to her fellow Citizens.It reenforces the belief” they are all only in it for THE MONEY”..how sad…ye are welcome to it., sponges.

Mute Owen Lynch
    Favourite Owen Lynch
    Oct 28th 2016, 11:38 AM

Much wants more.

Mute Trisha Tully
    Favourite Trisha Tully
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:53 AM

One would think she was doing us a favour.

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:09 AM

Somebody needs to end this shit show now. The arrogance is palpable.

Mute JohnBeeRyan
    Favourite JohnBeeRyan
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:57 AM

Smoked Salmon Socialist

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:10 AM

Sweet Jesus these people have absolutely no shame.

Why do we need a ‘Presidential’ library exactly?

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:23 AM

Between herself and McAleese they’re taking us for over €250k a year for their Presidential pension alone.. every year, for the rest of their lives.

And people argue that we should elect younger presidents, at those rates I think only those above 70 should be allowed to run.

Mute Angela Gaffney
    Favourite Angela Gaffney
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:41 AM

Will there be a candle in the window .

Mute Stepping Stones
    Favourite Stepping Stones
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:05 AM

They (The Co Counsil) are willing to fork out €600k for a house to store books and papers in it. Why not make it liveable, and put one of the homeless families in it.

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:39 AM

Well as as Sir Humphry (Yes Minister) would say ” putting homeless people in a house instead of papers, it would be ends of civilisation as we know it” she must have done a LOT of writing!!!+

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:26 AM

People in this country are so guilbe. How many years have people been fawning over this hack? Joke of a country!

Mute Daniel Patrick Carry
    Favourite Daniel Patrick Carry
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:43 AM

Next up…the Pádraig Flynn interpretative centre in Castlebar

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:57 AM

You’d need three houses for that.

Mute Irving Chubbie
    Favourite Irving Chubbie
    Oct 28th 2016, 11:54 AM

@Daniel Patrick Carry:
    You should be ashamed of yourself. You made me cry. With helpless laughter!

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:09 AM

What is it about Mayo ! look at the shysters they have given us and not 1 good word could be said about any of them. Haughey / Robinson / Gilmore and Kenny there may be more please add as we go along.

Mute MargieMurph
    Favourite MargieMurph
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:35 AM

@Tony Hartigan. Beverley Cooper Flynn, another disgraced politician and her dad who had the country in tears because life was tough maintaining is elaborate lifestyle as befitted his divine status.

Mute martin kilbane
    Favourite martin kilbane
    Oct 28th 2016, 11:53 AM

@Tony Hartigan:
    What about Pat Rabbitte, Emmet Stagg, Bernard Durkin, Michel Ring, and that idiot senator who didn’t get a ticket for the final? Oh the Mayo goalkeeper, next FG candidate.

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Oct 28th 2016, 12:39 PM

@Tony Hartigan: I think you hit the nail on the head, there is an arrogance about Mayo crowd, they never achieve anything but think they are God`s gift, just look at the footballers.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Oct 28th 2016, 3:16 PM

@Patrick James Walsh: Mayo people know we are hated. Don’t care mate. Life is too short to hate.

Mute EC P Ford
    Favourite EC P Ford
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:55 AM

Good old hickey playing I AM NOT A WELL MAN GAME

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Favourite Screaming Toddy
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:01 AM

This whole thing stinks.

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:50 AM

Well, seeing as she was passed over for the job of UN General Secretary she has to have something to feed her inflated sense of importance. Disgusting person.

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:59 AM

Who needs criminals in Ireland when you have this carry on .. unaccountablity.. breeds greed & deceit

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:35 AM

She will only get it..If she is allowed get away with it. She has some neck

Mute Daniel Fontaine
    Favourite Daniel Fontaine
    Oct 28th 2016, 10:02 AM

Normally people donate their personal libraries to the state.
    The deal here is that she gets a tax write off worth 2 million.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Oct 28th 2016, 9:56 AM

If this goes ahead she should be made give back her pensions. How much do these people think is enough?

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Oct 28th 2016, 10:03 AM

Wonder will this story be covered including the cost by her friends in RTE and the Irish Times

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Oct 28th 2016, 10:14 AM
    Mute itzme
    Favourite itzme
    Oct 28th 2016, 12:59 PM

John oo3 it was covered by prime time last night.

Mute Anne Marie Dowdall
    Favourite Anne Marie Dowdall
    Oct 28th 2016, 10:42 AM

This is the same “bleedin genius” who went to Africa and proclaimed “Ireland loves you Africa. I will keep a candle lighting for you in the Aras . Come to Ireland, you are all welcome”. Well, Mrs Robinson that worked out well for us, didn’t it? Obviously that candle is still lit, yeah? So, this is yet another one of your great ideas that you want to inflict on us?

Mute Irish big fellow
    Favourite Irish big fellow
    Oct 28th 2016, 10:16 AM

Had great respect for you as President. However why are you milking Irish Society now. Did you not get enough money already. A donation is a donation. No more no less.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Oct 28th 2016, 10:40 AM

As public services have been told the money just isn’t there,and whoever valued the house should be sacked.

Mute Upowthat Burke
    Favourite Upowthat Burke
    Oct 28th 2016, 11:27 AM

This bitch resigned the presidency of this state for a job in the U.N. so she can f off

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Oct 28th 2016, 10:06 AM

She lives in another world our Mary does!

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Oct 28th 2016, 11:24 AM

Trinity College is the place for Mary’s library, not in some overpriced unsellable pile owned by her brother, 160 miles from Dublin.

At least in Trinity her collection would be very secure and accessible to the folks with genuine interest in her backstory and valuable chattles.

Anything else is a complete waste of taxpayers hard earned, imho.

Mute TheGateFlorist
    Favourite TheGateFlorist
    Oct 28th 2016, 10:18 AM

Come dance with the tax payer’s money .cime dance to the bank.

Mute Tony Kennedy
    Favourite Tony Kennedy
    Oct 28th 2016, 11:19 AM

Greed greed and more greed. Has she not done OK from her time in the Aras even though she didn’t finish off her term. Gone off her big time .

Mute Matt Dillon
    Favourite Matt Dillon
    Oct 28th 2016, 11:58 AM

Will probably end up costing Tax payer
    €44 Million!

Mute Craig Barry
    Favourite Craig Barry
    Oct 28th 2016, 12:33 PM

Ladies and Gentleman another moral compass of Irish society… disgraceful

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    Oct 28th 2016, 12:08 PM

The sooner this woman dissapears from the horizon the better, she did start the race to the bottom with wages ,and if she could take E Kenny with her it might be the only good thing she’d do for this country

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Oct 28th 2016, 12:39 PM

Total Vanity project lost all respect for her when she bailed out her presidency early. Should be no tax break for emptying her spate room.

Mute Irish big fellow
    Favourite Irish big fellow
    Oct 28th 2016, 11:29 AM

Ban na hEireann. Much wants more. Given the time of year that’s in it as they say “a shroud has no pockets”. You should be paying for the museum and be thankful that you did so well at home and abroad.

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan
    Oct 28th 2016, 3:45 PM

Who’d want to visit the M.R. Library in Mayo when it’s completed? Not me! It’s well-known that the Divine M.R. dislikes paying out of her own purse for services provided to her as Mary Kenny can attest. Ms Kenny once travelled with the Divine M.R. in a taxi on the way to Dublin Airport aeons ago and left Ms Kenny to pay the whole fare, let alone not saying thanks & goodbye to the unfortunate Ms Kenny! Such a deeply arrogant, self-centred & financially sparse woman is Our Divine M.R..

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Oct 28th 2016, 3:29 PM

Watched Prime Time report. Sickening . Caucescu style vanity project. Stinks!

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Oct 28th 2016, 3:27 PM

I really can’t see the value in this. Seems like an awful amount of money for return of relatively small value.

Whatever about the unusual decision not to donate her papers to TCD I really don’t see the need for a Presidential Library and certainly not one for just one president. I don’t doubt there is much useful scholarly information in them but surely they’d be more use to researchers if they were deposited in a Dublin, Cork or Galway University Library.

As for it being house in her family home – this seems like an unnecessary expense and unnecessarily beneficial to her family. A modern purpose built library with a Mary Robinson wing could be built for the town for the money mentioned here.

Utterly ridiculous. I am very surprised she supports this nonsense.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Oct 28th 2016, 3:17 PM

I could think of much better ways for that money to be spent in Ballina than this. If she pays for the whole lot herself then no complaints.

Mute Gerry Mc Carthy
    Favourite Gerry Mc Carthy
    Oct 29th 2016, 1:55 AM

The arrogance of that female is a amazing . Her papers would serve a better purpose in a local toilet in Ballina !

Mute Pat Hannon
    Favourite Pat Hannon
    Oct 28th 2016, 4:41 PM

Nice way to kick start Celtic Tiger 2.0 Cha-Ching! Cha-Ching!

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Oct 29th 2016, 1:59 AM

If m Robinson wanted to make a donation to the state or a university she could. Most of these papers belong to the state anyway. This tax scam is a serious slap in the face for the people who believed she cared about anyone but herself and her family who don’t want to pay their taxes like plebs have to.

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Oct 28th 2016, 2:40 PM

Is she donating the family home to the state .??:

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Oct 28th 2016, 3:28 PM

@John Scott: No, it is planned that it will be bought for €600k

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Oct 29th 2016, 2:10 AM

As we say in Cork…. she is yeah!

Mute Mo
    Favourite Mo
    Oct 28th 2016, 7:55 PM

Maybe this is more of a precedent (no pun intended!) so Edna can have his own museum for the first FG T to”serve” consecutive terms – Mayo seems to have inherited a huge “L’Oreal” complex!

Mute El Grogan
    Favourite El Grogan
    Oct 29th 2016, 3:56 AM

She was a fantastic, historically important president. Damn right she should get to leave a library or museum or some such legacy build. We should make a point of commemorating our leaders. For better or for worse.

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:15 AM

Final opportunity to get her snout in the trough?!

Mute Alphonsa
    Favourite Alphonsa
    Oct 28th 2016, 8:50 AM

Reminds me of the oft asked question “what did the Romans do for us”". Mary Robinson has never out Ireland first, witnessed spectacularly by her leaving the Arus to take up her well paid position with UN. Can anybody tell me how much she has received in pensions since she left us? Now she wants to come back and avoid tax. Give me a break.