You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Queen in Cork last year. Mark Cuthbert/UK Press/Press Association Images

Massive pay rise for Queen Elizabeth II

Pay will rise by 16 per cent as Britons are warned of 10 more years of austerity.

ELIZABETH II IS set to get a bumper pay rise as austerity bites the rest of Britain.

The Queen’s pay will rise by 16 per cent next year to £36m after her property holdings, the Crown Estate, posted a record profit of £240.2m today.

Under a deal hammered out with the British government last year, the Queen receives 15 per cent of the profits generated by the estate.

The increase will see the monarch’s pay rise to its highest since 2008. However, it is still half of what she received in 1991, when she was paid £77.3m.

“It has been another tremendous year for The Crown Estate,” said Alison Nimmo, Chief Executive of the Crown Estate.

Our super prime portfolio and active asset management have been the cornerstones of this strong financial performance and resilience during recent market volatility.

The estate consists of a range of properties, including prime real estate in central London, Ascot Racecourse and virtually all of Britain’s seabed.

The value of Marine Estate, which include’s most of Britain’s coast line, accounted for the biggest boost in profits. Profit there climbed by 17 per cent and its value by 23.4 per cent as wind farms continue to expand around the UK’s coastline.

The Queen has been paid by British taxpayers through an allowance set by Parliament since 1760, when King George III ceded all property rights to the treasury.

After the formation of the Irish Free State in 1921, all revenues that the crown estate made in Ireland were handed over to the new government in Dublin.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 84 comments
84 Comments
    Mute Henry Sanner
    Favourite Henry Sanner
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:18 PM

anybody still wondering whats wrong with the world?

Mute HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Favourite HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:00 PM

£36m a year?

Not great for an organisation that owned the planet and robbed, plundered and stole all that they own.

Mute Daniel Dudek Corrigan
    Favourite Daniel Dudek Corrigan
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:07 PM

not different from catholic church so…

Mute Patrick Minford
    Favourite Patrick Minford
    Jun 21st 2012, 5:28 PM

Millions of Brits who lined the thames last week, to cheer her, obviously disagree with you

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:19 PM

The only queens that should be allowed in the world should be required by law to be gay…

Mute Richard Lennon
    Favourite Richard Lennon
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:23 PM

As Queens go shes the best in the world. I was born and reared in England of Irish parents and she is well liked as well.

Mute Ed Kavanagh
    Favourite Ed Kavanagh
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:49 PM

What’s with the Germans. They always seem to come out ahead no matter what?

Mute James Daly
    Favourite James Daly
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:25 PM

What on Earth does she need money for?

Mute Jambbie
    Favourite Jambbie
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:38 PM

To pay high speed motorbike drivers.

Mute Wolfgang Weisen
    Favourite Wolfgang Weisen
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:26 PM

Whether people want to face the facts of it or not, the queen and the excitement surrounding her and the royal family are massive income earners for the UK.

Could this article be any more sensationalist? She’s receiving more money because she had a share of something that had earned a lot of money. If it made no money, she would receive none.

Jesus, all you’re trying to do is infuriate the socialists even more here by changing what is essentially a shareholder receiving a dividend from a well performing company to something it’s not. Pathetic journalism at its finest.

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:44 PM

The cost to the psyche of the English working-class who are kept fawning at “royalty” instead of demanding their just equality is immeasurable

“The mind accustomed to political kings can easily be reconciled to social kings – capitalist kings of the workshop, the mill, the railway, the ships and the docks. Thus coronation and king’s visits are by our astute never-sleeping masters made into huge Imperialist propagandist campaigns in favour of political and social schemes against democracy.” – James Connolly 1911

Mute Unitedpeople Ireland
    Favourite Unitedpeople Ireland
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:29 PM

I keep hearing this “the royal family are massive income earners for the UK” from royalists alone.
    …Yet not one has been able to PROVE it!

What a surprise!

Mute Patrick Minford
    Jun 21st 2012, 5:33 PM

The queen is a great unifying force.

She is the mother of the nation.

She is the queen to everyone, from the Duke in his country estate down to the humble dustbin man in his council house

Mute Patrick Minford
    Jun 21st 2012, 5:34 PM

Tourism of Brits has increased here since the queens visit

This is especially so in Cork, which gave her such a warm welcome.

Tourism into the English Market has grown enormously

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Jun 21st 2012, 6:13 PM

and the Palace’s PR guy arrives……..

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    Jun 21st 2012, 6:41 PM

I agree Wolfgang. The journal trying to get another Brit bashing thread going.

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Jun 21st 2012, 7:30 PM

@Kerron….you’re spot on!

Mute David Somers
    Favourite David Somers
    Jun 21st 2012, 8:47 PM

Spot on Kerron. To Patrick Minford, I always remember my mother sharing her wealth with the family and making sure we never wanted for anything. Your comment on how this parasite is the ‘mother of the nation’ when thousands of OAPs in Britain die of fuel poverty every year and children die in immense poverty is crass to the extreme. It’s amazing how the media can convince/brainwash people into believing that inbred eccentric billionaires care for them and love them lol :-) Man you seriously need to have an awakening and fast! To Unitedpeople Ireland, I fully agree with you. I’d love to see exactly how this parasitical family benefit the people of Great Britain.

Mute Wolfgang Weisen
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:48 PM

You’re dead right, mcbab.

TheJournal has come to know its readers. Empty headed, work shy “rebels” who’ll foam at the mouth over any article about the government, the British, somebody getting something they don’t have, etc.

But, that’s how business works. Know your audience and they’ll keep coming back and bringing the revenue in.

TheJournal, at its best, is no better than the Dail Mail in terms of the biased and reader orientated content it publishes. I come to be entertained by the unemployed rabble rousers on here and nothing more and by golly they do entertain.

Mute Derek Larney
    Favourite Derek Larney
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:31 PM

Dam right she should get a pay rise.

Did you not see how she worked the crowd during the Jubilee celebrations ? She is simply world class when it comes to waving at people – never before have we witnessed such stunning handy work, it was truly a sight to behold.

She’s worth every last penny, in fact I think she should get a top-up bonus for all the extra waving at people that she’s had to do this year. Talent like that don’t come cheap folks.

Mute limofax
    Favourite limofax
    Jun 21st 2012, 5:34 PM

And here was me thinking she was trying to swat the peasants away. But I have noticed, that since she got her dentures in, she’s really come on in the hands department.

Mute Patrick Minford
    Jun 21st 2012, 5:42 PM

During the jubilee celebrations, millions were out to see her. Name me a politician who has that type of respect from the people

Anywhere she goes, crowds turn out to wave and cheer – that doesnt happen to politicians

If there was a presidency who would be president? Blair, Kinnock. No thank you!

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Jun 21st 2012, 6:43 PM

Thing is, none of our business. She’s not our Queen, she’s the Queen of the United Kingdom. I don’t pay her. I must say, for someone her age, she’s great energy and a very strong back for standing for so long. The British people obviously like her, good luck to them.

Mute Johanna Halvey
    Favourite Johanna Halvey
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:24 PM

Not bad Betty,,, Not Bad

Mute Pádraig McCann
    Favourite Pádraig McCann
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:27 PM

But that money goes towards paying staff and some towards the repair of Windsor Castle. She also pays income tax. She is also known to give private donations of her own money to charities and causes

Mute Joseph McGranaghan
    Favourite Joseph McGranaghan
    Jun 21st 2012, 4:33 PM

All land owned by someone intestate without issue reverts to the crown, archaic institution that needs to be pulled down

Mute Conor Conneally
    Favourite Conor Conneally
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:35 PM

It seems that she is the only pensioner in the UK to benifit under this tory government

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Favourite Andrew Corcoran
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:29 PM

Parasite

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Jun 21st 2012, 4:18 PM

Does that mean you also see SW recipients as small-time parasites?

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:27 PM

What has SW got to do with the queen being paid £36 million per year? Why compare the 2? So you think people who’ve lost their jobs are parasites, do you?!!!

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:52 PM

The haters will continue to hate but the Crown Estates do give value for money and are profitable in a recession, so fair play.

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:00 PM

Yes, damn those idiots haters who can’t “get over” or “grow up” about a family that institutionalises and thus propagates inequality in society :-o

Damn the haters you won’t “move on” from the fact that Windsor is the symbolic embodiment of a war-warmongering Imperialism that occupies six Irish counties and practices intervention and drone bombings from Libya to Afghanistan……

But sure she brings in a bit of tourist money. There’s blood on her hands and blood on the hands of those who turn a blind eye (with nonsense arguments about profit) to the deeds of the army for which she is commander in chief …..

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:02 PM

“damn those idiots haters”

You said it.

Mute Conor Conneally
    Favourite Conor Conneally
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:05 PM

The Queen is opening the new Hospital in Enniskillen next week. I wonder if she be an” embodiment of a war-warmongering Imperialism” or somebodies Granny in a silly Hat

Mute Wolfgang Weisen
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:09 PM

Ah yes, equality at all costs.

Communism, what an ideal, eh Kerron?

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:30 PM

Oh no, you’ve picked me up on a spelling mistake

May as well pack it in now :-/

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:33 PM

Actually didn’t notice your typo. Was just agreeing with the sentiment.

Although on second thoughts. Why damn the “idiot haters”? Anyone who chooses to mire their soul in hatred damns themselves ultimately.

As far as I’m concerned the moment the people of Northern Ireland choose to join the people of Southern Ireland through self determination they should do so, and good luck to them should they choose to do so.

Mute Con Ó Domhnaill
    Favourite Con Ó Domhnaill

The British always came across to me as intelligent people, but it never ceases to amaze me how this family of leeches managed to pull the wool over their eyes for so long. Lizzie and her extended family screw their own people for millions, live in fancy castles and never do a days work. Mind you we have our fair share of royal worshippers in Ireland as well – just count how many thumbs down I get from our very own windsor lovers.

Mute Martin Murphy
    Favourite Martin Murphy
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:55 PM

We can’t really comment on anything. This leeching family brings in millions in tourism to the uk every year. They would be absolutely screwed if the royals weren’t there. So they get a share from the money they bring in big freaking whoop! Let’s see how quiet you would be if you didn’t get a share of something you were part of. They are a good investment.

Mute Pete Ness
    Favourite Pete Ness
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:42 PM

Her business made a larger profit so her cut increases. Logical
    We’ve had enough leeches here in ireland to know the difference

Mute Wolfgang Weisen
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:44 PM

TheJournal.ie socialist commentator’s hatred of anyone who has anything more than themselves, regardless of whether they earned it or won it, is shining strong today.

Jealousy really is a poison.

Mute Ed Kavanagh
    Favourite Ed Kavanagh
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:11 PM

Wolfgang. Please refrain from looking silly. She and her German family (which makes it even more ironic) inherited all they have because of some outdated fantasy that they are blue blooded and are superior to us mere commoners.

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:09 PM

As I’ve mentioned already, none of OUR business! Stay out of it. It is the business of the English people. If they don’t like what’s going on, they themselves have voices. That’s like the do gooders in the South of Ireland, putting their noses into the business of the Northern Ireland people! Yes, the 6 counties are their business not yours or mine.

If the people in Northern Ireland want to be part of the 26 counties, let them have a referendum. Yes, at some stage, some year, some time it may become part of the 26 counties, but not by bullying, or with narcisstic behaviour!

Whether they have 50% UK blood, German blood, Swedish blood, , South African blood in them, etc. none of your business ‘Ed Kavanagh’ unless you are actually from and born in the UK. If so get rid of your anger on a UK tread where they might or might not agree with you.

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:40 PM

Jaysus Sheila, get off your high horse! Here we go again with the 6 counties! Can you not go 5 minutes without bringing it up? In relation to it being their business, and not ours, it’s every Irish persons business no matter what their persuasion. Haven’t you heard of the Good Friday Agreement?

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:24 PM

@ Andrew Corcoran

No need for the bad, misspelled language. As I said none of our business! Stay out of it. 6 counties under British rule. The Northern people will decide, not you! Maybe the next generation of Irish and Northern people will decide. Not in your lifetime Mr. Corcoran!

Just like the Queen of the United Kingdom and her salary! None of your business. You’re not paying her! Good day and good night.

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Jun 22nd 2012, 7:54 AM

@ Sheila: what are you smoking? The northern people will decide? When have they been given the opportunity? Never. You really have a chip on your shoulder woman! Get over it. The sooner a United Ireland happens the better for everyone. Well maybe not you Sheila with your west-Brit views.

Mute Fagan's
    Favourite Fagan's
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:27 PM

One enjoys dumping on the little people, but the price of Gin is through the rook. One demands ones entitlements.

“Welfare recipient with 16 homes demands more money!”.

This is what happens when you let broken home Gin sots run amok.

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:12 PM

You don’t need a monarch to attract tourists! It’s the buildings and history that bring them in, not the royals. It’s actually laughable in modern times to still have a queen as she serves no real purpose. Even more laughable to read all the royal arse lickers here!

Mute Paddy O Donnell
    Favourite Paddy O Donnell
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:17 PM

whats with all the negativity!! not like we excelled at governing our nation!

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:24 PM

Hey Andrew! We got a president that serves no purpose full stop!!

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:41 PM

I agree Rodrigo. We don’t need a president. Too many TDs also for a country the size of ours.

Mute Damien Conway
    Favourite Damien Conway
    Jun 21st 2012, 5:37 PM

Ye, they’d be so better off as a republic, just like us mmmm, maybe not! God Save the Queen

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:36 PM

A demonstration is to be held in Belfast just days before the British royal visit to the North. The demonstration on Saturday 23rd June will have as its theme “Truth and Justice – not Jubilation” and the organisers say the focus of the protest will be on victims of British state violence.

The organisers believe the event provides a unique opportunity for everyone within the broad nationalist community, those with differing political opinions and those with none, along with other progressives, to stand shoulder to shoulder in an unparalleled show of support and solidarity with victims’ families of British state violence in their ongoing struggles for Truth and Justice.

Announcing the planned demonstration, the organising committee stated, “The forthcoming British royal visit to the North presents a very unique opportunity to publicly highlight the fact that many hundreds of people, of all ages, met their deaths at the hands of British Crown forces and their agents in Ireland during the course of the present British monarch’s reign. Many, many more were injured or endured physical and psychological abuse by those same forces.

http://www.eirigi.org/latest/latest180612.html

Mute Wolfgang Weisen
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:40 PM

Eirigi are nothing more than a bunch of protest hijacking knackers.

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain

Tough words from the anonymous man with a made up name on the internet lol

Mute Wolfgang Weisen
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:06 PM

Tough? Sorry but I wasn’t raised to see those who disagree with me as acting “tough” so I can’t relate.

Nobody wants to see Eirigi at a protest because no matter what the protest is over, they are there to push their own agenda and cause trouble.

Knackers, and nothing more. Indeed, such knackers that they actively turn people away from their “cause” more than anything else.

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:26 PM

well I was raised to see those who throw anonymous insults about as cowards

and you didn’t “disagree” with any of the above, you jumped straight to insult mode (on the internet lol), hence the ‘tough’ jibe. I wonder would you say that to those you’re insulting in person?

As for the rest of your spiel, meh. eirigi won’ be bothered with what some right-wing royalty worshipper on the net thinks of them…

Mute Wolfgang Weisen
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:35 PM

You were raised in a time of mass anonymity, so much do that it affected your upbringing?

You must be very very young so! I’m mid twenties and I grew up in a time where text messages were new and there was no real online community.

Maybe you’re too young to understand the things you blabber on about here? It would explain a lot, in fairness.

And no, I wouldn’t even address an Eirigi member in public given how they behave themselves. Oh and as to not caring what propel think? I think you’ll find they care very, very much what people think.

You can focus on the anonymity factor all you like, it takes nothing from the truth or facts of the matter that Eirigi are nothing more than a bunch of knackers who are using a “cause” as an opportunity for chaos and violence.

Mute Old Nokia Charger
    Favourite Old Nokia Charger
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:42 PM

Eirigi – Republican socialists, an oxymoron if ever there was one.

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Jun 21st 2012, 6:28 PM

Wolfgang, do yourself a favour and save your spiels for people you’ve actually met and actually know something about

“chaos and violence” – lol. You really are letting your little liberal mind wander into the realms of gross exaggeration aren’t you!

Nokia – what’s an oxymoron exactly? eirigi adhere to Connollyite socialist-republicanism.

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    Jun 21st 2012, 6:44 PM

Yet another reason why we don’t want a united Ireland. They just keep on piling up !!

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Jun 21st 2012, 7:16 PM

F**k eirigi and f**k the queen. Nationalism is as stupid as religion. It’s one planet and one race. The world needs to grow out of the primitive tribal mentality.

Mute Martin Murphy
    Favourite Martin Murphy
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:38 PM

She might aswell be the chairman of the UK tourism board. She’s taking her cut!

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:21 PM

Maybe Ireland should become a monarchy, because after all, it made a complete bollox of trying to be a democratic republic!!

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:52 PM

The palaces in France and their millions of visitors make a tidy sum for the French economy and they’ve been parasite free for a couple of centuries now. You can visit any time without having to wait until the royals are visiting some of their many many other castles and palaces. It’s the history, the art, the architecture etc that brings in the visitors, the institution itself is an unnecessary touch of costume drama.

Mute Thomas Mc Grory
    Favourite Thomas Mc Grory
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:04 PM

Hmmm people starving in the world and all that

Mute Sandra O Shea
    Favourite Sandra O Shea
    Jun 21st 2012, 8:31 PM

So many people hate the Queen in these comments, it doesn’t cost or affect us here in this country. The people we elected in this country are robbing us blind to keep the rich, rich! Yet some of ye get more upset about the queen!

Mute Damien Conway
    Favourite Damien Conway
    Jun 21st 2012, 8:39 PM

Well put Sandra

Mute Karswell
    Favourite Karswell
    Jun 21st 2012, 8:44 PM

Very true. She is not my queen. It is not my issue whether the British public continue to support a monarchy or not. That is fundamentally their choice. Personally, I find it all more than a little bizarre, both the monarchy itself and the Irish people’s fascination, both positive and negative, with it.

Mute Gemma
    Favourite Gemma
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:15 PM

I read last week they were looking for help from the Poverty fund to heat their palaces, ya couldnt make it up! (they didnt get anything from the fund poor things)

Mute Raymond Power
    Favourite Raymond Power
    Jun 24th 2012, 7:19 AM

regardless of this 36 mlllion..isn’t she a billionare a number of times over!

Mute Patrick Minford
    Jun 21st 2012, 5:26 PM

The queen is very frugal. If someone complains of the cold, she tells them to put on a extra layer of clothing on!

The cost to the taxpayer last year was 60p per person

The queen is a cash cow. She attracts millions of tourist every summer

Mute Old Nokia Charger
    Favourite Old Nokia Charger
    Jun 21st 2012, 6:01 PM

The queen is a cash cow !

Mute Sean Slevin
    Favourite Sean Slevin
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:20 PM

It’s irrelevant what they pay her.nIt’s not as if she is going to put it in a bag, take a taxi to Heathrow and emigrate. It’s a ridiculous argument.

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:35 PM

Huh?

well she’s not going to give it away now either is she. Who cares if she flushes it down the jax or what she does with it. It’s been taking from the working-class England, Scotland and Wales and they’ll sure as hell never she it again.

Mute Wolfgang Weisen
    Jun 21st 2012, 4:24 PM

Taken away from them? It never belonged to them in the first place, so nothing was “taken away” from them.

What utter boll ocks you speak on here, Kerron. Consistent, I’ll give you that, but conplete and utter boll ocks.

Mute Wolfgang Weisen
    Jun 21st 2012, 4:27 PM

Complete**

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Jun 21st 2012, 6:16 PM

what, are you denying that the UK taxpayer funds the Royal family now?

balls indeed

Mute Phyllis Mc Kenna
    Favourite Phyllis Mc Kenna
    Jun 21st 2012, 4:43 PM

She has a lot of overheads, I mean she has to feed all them Corgi’s and look after her racehorses And she has to mind the young fella Charles, he gets up to a lot of mischief, talking to trees and dating strange women. And it’s not as if she has a new car – the Rolls must be nearly as old as Philip. Give the woman more housekeeping money for gods sakes.

Mute Pádraig McCann
    Favourite Pádraig McCann
    Jun 21st 2012, 5:57 PM

Compared to other monarchs of the world her income is minimal. Bhumibol Adulyadej (84) – King of Thailand for 66 years has $30 billion to his name. He could buy Ireland and rent it out to family!

Mute Pádraig McCann
    Favourite Pádraig McCann
    Jun 21st 2012, 5:59 PM

She is the only monarch in the world who pays taxes..Mick Wallace should take a leap from her book and pay his!!

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Jun 21st 2012, 6:22 PM

Oh well, she’s the least expensive of a minority who represent feudal class distinctions.

How does that excuse her institution exactly?

It does’t how little or how much it costs to prop up something that’s wrong, it’s still wrong.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jun 21st 2012, 6:25 PM

I see Mick Wallace is the new Godwins Law

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:51 PM

All the positive comments about the queen of England!! Then again, didn’t Hitler build the autobahns?!!