You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Opposition have criticised the creation of the Housing Activation Office CEO position since it was announced. RollingNews.ie

McDonald lays into coalition over housing tsar turmoil in early morning interview

McDonald said that the government planned to hire someone to “essentially job share” with housing minister James Browne.

IT WAS A sunrise start for Sinn Féin, who rolled out further criticism of the new ‘housing tsar’ position early this morning.

Speaking shortly after 7am, leader Mary Lou McDonald claimed that the Taoiseach and Tánaiste were “unable to rationalise” the role.

NAMA chief Brendan McDonagh withdrew his name from consideration for the new role yesterday, citing the controversy surrounding the position as head of the new Housing Activation Office – particularly the reported €430,000 salary.

Speaking on RTÉ’s News at One on Tuesday, housing minister James Browne said McDonagh had been his “preferred candidate” for the role.

Discussions took place at yesterday’s Cabinet subcommittee on housing on the matter, with sources stating that Fine Gael “blocked” the appointment of McDonagh at the meeting.

It is now understood that the position as head of the Housing Activation Office will be advertised and be put out to a public recruitment process. 

Mary Lou McDonald has since slammed the existence of the new role, arguing that the job’s responsibilities should fall under the remit of the housing minister.

In a somewhat unusual move for the opposition leader, McDonald spoke to RTÉ’s Morning Ireland on the issue from her car at around 7.10am.

McDonald said: “what really struck home was they (Martin and Harris) were completely unable to describe or explain or rationalise the role of this position, except to set out tasks that rightfully fall to the minister for housing.”

She added that there already is “somebody charged with the responsibility to increase supply”, and that “they have abjectly failed”.

“It’s deeply, deeply worrying that we’re in this cycle again of failure and botch,” McDonald said.

“It really took the biscuit that their big idea, having come back into government, was to hire somebody on almost half a million euros to essentially job share with the minister.”

Browne announced the creation of the new Housing Activation Office on Tuesday, explaining that the office will be responsible for “addressing barriers” to the delivery of housing. The housing minister and the government have faced widespread criticism from opposition since the announcement. 

McDonald said that she does not approve of “hiring more and more layers of bureaucracy and highly played bureaucrats to camouflage the fact that the people at cabinet are failing to do their job.”

Asked about Sinn Féin’s proposal in 2024 to create a ‘Housing Delivery Oversight Executive’, which the party claimed would have a “state-wide remit to align government housing strategy with infrastructure delivery”, McDonald said that the housing minister would have headed the group.

Sinn Féin’s 2024 manifesto did not explicitly state that the housing minister would lead the executive, but McDonald said that she “thought it would go without saying that the minister for housing, themselves on a significant salary and sitting at cabinet, leads on housing”.

During Leaders’ Questions yesterday, Sinn Féin’s Pearse Doherty slammed the proposed housing tsar salary as “off the wall” and accused the government of outsourcing ministerial duties.

He said Harris was either “on board or asleep at the wheel” as Brendan McDonagh’s name had been flagged for weeks.

Harris denied any decisions had been made on pay or appointments, saying the focus is on getting the job done.

Labour’s Ivana Bacik mocked the role as a “fixer with a nixer” and criticised the government for distancing itself from the controversy.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

47 Comments
    Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    May 2nd 2025, 8:09 AM

” Housing Tsar” role with a bigger renumeration than the President of America to catch some flack from the actual housing minister…….. If you saw it in in a Hollywood comedy you’d reach for the remote control

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    May 2nd 2025, 8:12 AM

@Buster Lawless: The word you’re looking for is ‘flak’, although your comment still makes no sense.

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    May 2nd 2025, 8:24 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: whoops brens…. Must’ve been thinking of the late & great ROBERTA ( ‘ killing me softly ‘) that we lost in Feb of this year. Much money in that ‘pedantic police’ craic?

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    May 2nd 2025, 10:13 AM

@Buster Lawless: he’s already on that salary and his role wasn’t being replaced so would’ve cost net zero but sure opposition have to shout and halt progress.

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    May 2nd 2025, 1:39 PM

@TEc1XNcQ: alright looney Lance walking 100km in the snow to feed the poor?? Your stories are very tall tales.

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    May 2nd 2025, 8:20 AM

Employing someone to do your job and paying him three times your salary, are they in the real world?? They couldn’t build a Lego house!!
    Will the job be advertised???

Mute Mary Linton
    Favourite Mary Linton
    May 2nd 2025, 8:27 AM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: my guess is the ‘job’ will die on the vine & and disappear post haste—- like that ‘job’ Catherine Zappone tried to make up for herself

Mute Eugene Burns
    Favourite Eugene Burns
    May 2nd 2025, 8:55 AM

I’m sure half a million a year would get you a few good brick layers and chippys. More beneficial. And let the minister do what he is paid to do.

Mute chris gaffney
    Favourite chris gaffney
    May 2nd 2025, 1:33 PM

@Eugene Burns: It might build one apartment! Typical Mary Lou. All bluster and zero substance as per usual!!

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    May 2nd 2025, 1:40 PM

@Eugene Burns: this guy would have solved the housing crisis in a flash

Mute Shane Gallagher
    Favourite Shane Gallagher
    May 2nd 2025, 3:54 PM

@chris gaffney: He might ad to the large tally of student accommodation in the inner city. Which seems to hold precedence over homeless Irish. Like the proposed nine storey student accommodation beside O’Connell street. Financed by an English company. Obviously, the top “priority” is money.

Mute Pauline Cahill
    Favourite Pauline Cahill
    May 2nd 2025, 8:53 AM

Housing minister should do the job he getting an exorbitant salary and expenses for if he can’t do it resign instead of making up jobs for the boys it’s a disgrace the salary that man was going to get with so many people on the breadline

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    May 2nd 2025, 10:09 AM

The FFGLOWRY way

Mute did you every wonder
    Favourite did you every wonder
    May 2nd 2025, 9:57 AM

Why do we need yet another committee?, is the government saying they have failed. I would have thought, its the depth of housing to work on issues not another level of administration that costs us.

Mute Simon Carr
    Favourite Simon Carr
    May 2nd 2025, 11:59 AM

Not advertising the post and the incredible salary is just shocking. We have a minister and department with that job I fail to see why we need this appointment anyway

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    May 2nd 2025, 8:59 PM

Well done Mary

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    May 2nd 2025, 10:17 PM

@Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson: oh dear we rejected this woman twice and she still doesn’t get rejection

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    May 2nd 2025, 9:18 AM

More nothing, the Irish oxymoron

Mute bruce banner
    Favourite bruce banner
    May 2nd 2025, 10:08 AM

Nothing wrong with admitting you’re not up to the job. Just hold new election and dont run for office again.

Mute Keth 417
    Favourite Keth 417
    May 2nd 2025, 11:20 AM

@bruce banner: Inventing the role is an intelligent (or moreso ‘cute’) move, if for the sole purpose of diluting or deflecting blame. The phrase ‘Fall Guy’ or acceptable loss springs to mind also.

Mute Keth 417
    Favourite Keth 417
    May 2nd 2025, 11:05 AM

Tsar is chiefly an I.T (‘computers’ Mamaa, computers) expression, meaning “the go-to’ expert of a precise inhouse position and/or subject which others can refer to for absolute answers and directions.
    The question here is what makes a newly hired individual ‘the Tsar’? Inventing the role, hiring the person does not make the Tsar unless that person has absolute knowledge, expertise and ideally freedom to enact what is required of the role.

Also, what are the exact specifications of tbe role? These specs should dictate the correct person hired.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    May 2nd 2025, 8:52 AM

More waffle, just keep it going till time passes and get to pension and lump sum point. Then head into the sunset with a mess in you’re trail in the background with no consequences to you. Blame it on previous and incoming government it’s never going to change drastically because there’ll never be accountability just brown envelopes increasing in amount every time.

jn
    Mute jn
    Favourite jn
    May 2nd 2025, 12:55 PM

@Paddy C: tzar was a deflection from last week’s news Spanish woman sets up company with 120 euro capital and awarded ipas centre contract for dundrum house hotel in tipp ,Mattie McGrath brought it up last week but but the stupid paddies……..

Mute Paul Kavanagh
    Favourite Paul Kavanagh
    May 2nd 2025, 10:17 AM

ALL of them are failures.
    A disgraceful pack of squabbling children.

Mute Rian O'Callaghan
    Favourite Rian O'Callaghan
    May 2nd 2025, 8:27 AM

Ah look it’s Mary Muslim Lou have not heard from that traitor in a while.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    May 2nd 2025, 8:28 AM

The use of the term Tsar by left wing media and politicians is sinister.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    May 2nd 2025, 8:31 AM

@thomas molloy: Defined as ‘a person appointed by government to advise on and coordinate policy in a particular area’. Not sinister at all.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    May 2nd 2025, 8:31 AM

@thomas molloy: The use of language with sinister tones needs to be considered hate speech.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    May 2nd 2025, 8:35 AM

@thomas molloy: You’ve got the wrong end of the stick.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    May 2nd 2025, 8:58 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: Let’s wait and see, will they soon label some politician they wish to harm Rasputin. You are naive if you think such crowd/mob coaching does not matter

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    May 2nd 2025, 9:48 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: Read what the Russians did to Tsars.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    May 2nd 2025, 1:18 PM

@thomas molloy: Will we be able to say anything in your version of the ‘future’ Tom? :)

Mute Shane Gallagher
    Favourite Shane Gallagher
    May 2nd 2025, 3:58 PM

@thomas molloy: We have our far left controlled media to look after that.

Mute Derek O Gorman
    Favourite Derek O Gorman
    May 2nd 2025, 10:28 AM

Mary Lou proposed a similar set up in her housing manifesto another layer of executive expense as she now criticises gov for proposing

Mute Harry Callahan
    Favourite Harry Callahan
    May 2nd 2025, 10:13 AM

Mary Lou would know all about failure….

Mute Fiona
    Favourite Fiona
    May 2nd 2025, 9:51 AM

Mary Lou stirs up shyte, then complains about stirred up shyte

Mute Bri Lye
    Favourite Bri Lye
    May 2nd 2025, 2:10 PM

SF .. the covid money just resting in account party, trying to hold others to high standards

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    May 2nd 2025, 10:12 PM

This lady still doesn’t get it we refused to trust her with power.
    No Belfast rule

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 2nd 2025, 6:35 PM

SF want more people homeless to try to win the next election

Mute Kathleen Murphy
    Favourite Kathleen Murphy
    May 3rd 2025, 8:45 PM

Oakley social housing appoint housing Tzar to their board , NAMA’ Kevin Alfred, Oakley Housing .?(?KPMG bermuda) . A northern Ireland housing body laundry.
    DCC approved sf ugly development opposite Crumlin children’s hospital, .

Mute Ciaran Mcguinness
    Favourite Ciaran Mcguinness
    May 3rd 2025, 8:18 AM

We voted for this

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    May 2nd 2025, 10:15 PM

Please take time to calculate the cost of each TD.
    Approx ,€300,000 plus and we never get anyone to ask them to justify such costs.