You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leah Farrell

Dáil rejects EU-Mercosur trade deal in symbolic vote

Fianna Fáil voted against the Mercosur deal.

A MOTION TO reject the Mercosur trade deal has been passed by the Dáil this evening.

The Sinn Féin-proposed motion passed by 84 votes to 46.

Mercosur refers to a customs union between Brazil, Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay; the recent trade deal was struck with the EU after almost 20 years of negotiations.

This week, members of the farming community protested against the deal in the streets of Dublin, arguing that cheap beef and steak from Brazil and Argentina would put pressure on beef farmers across Europe. They also argued that the same environmental, ethical and health standards as the EU’s wouldn’t be met. 

Climate change activists also expressed concern about doing a deal with Brazil, whose President Jair Bolsonaro has threatened to cut down Amazon rainforests to supply more land to beef farmers.

Tonight, Fine Gael voted to keep the deal, arguing that it had the potential to benefit other industries such as the pharmaceutical and dairy industries. The Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has said that the deal will be assessed for pros and cons.

Fianna Fáil, which is in an increasingly fractured Confidence and Supply Agreement with Fine Gael, voted against the government this evening.

Sinn Féin agriculture spokesperson Brian Stanley welcomed this evening’s vote, saying the vote “must be respected”.

“The Irish parliament… has called on the Irish government to reject a deal which is bad for farmers, bad for the environment and bad for consumers.

“The Dáil has also called on the Irish government to immediately begin forming alliances with other countries within the EU to vote against this deal.

Stanley said that this was “essential” as Ireland has no veto on this deal; the Irish Farmers’ Association welcomed the vote, and said that it would intensify its campaign in Europe to have the deal rejected.

Stanley continued:

It’s time for Leo to listen farmers who know a lot more about farming that he does. It’s time that Fine Gael took on board the advice of climate action groups.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

60 Comments
    Mute Kevin Beakey
    Favourite Kevin Beakey
    Oct 18th 2013, 9:59 PM

Pure Canadian Maple syrup for less than €5????
    Canadian bacon mmmmmmmm

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:49 PM

Canadian bacon or danish bacon? Hard choice

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:59 PM

Tayto for me in toronto?? Fvck yea!!!

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Oct 18th 2013, 11:00 PM

Leslie, living in Canada 13 years now…. Take our bacon! Use it with maple syrup…. Bask in the glory!

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Oct 18th 2013, 11:01 PM

And Trevor in GTA5 is canadian…. Cannot get any more awesome!

Mute Kevin Beakey
    Favourite Kevin Beakey
    Oct 18th 2013, 11:12 PM

Canadian bacon 7 days a week and twice on Sundays…. Choice not that difficult at all.. And smothered in maple syrup….. Heaven On a plate

Mute Mike O'Connor
    Favourite Mike O'Connor
    Oct 18th 2013, 11:20 PM

I was in Toronto a few years ago and one the 7/11s sold Hunky Dorys

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Oct 18th 2013, 11:39 PM

I must try Graham. Have never tried. But I will

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Oct 19th 2013, 12:21 AM

Yeah, hunkys are fine, but miss my tayto….

Mute Dmc
    Favourite Dmc
    Oct 18th 2013, 9:59 PM

Does this mean more Terrance and Philip shows?

Mute jom eade
    Favourite jom eade
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:31 PM

Mr. Lahey will be planting more shit-seeds and harvesting more shit-weeds!

Mute Michael Allen
    Favourite Michael Allen
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:45 PM

It means you don’t have to be a member of the European Union to trade with The EU. It’s time to get our sovereignty back from a dysfunctional EU!

Mute Andy Murray
    Favourite Andy Murray
    Oct 19th 2013, 2:50 AM

Yep. That EU has been nothing but trouble, what with all their money and subsidies and protection and guidance they give us. I mean, really, what have the Romans ever done for us?

Mute Michael Allen
    Favourite Michael Allen
    Oct 19th 2013, 7:49 AM

We entered into the EU in the early 70′s we went into years of recession shortly thereafter right through to the 80′s up to the 90′s. We lived in a false unsustained economy from 1995 until 2008. Subsequently Europe was on the verge of collapse and our country has been thrown into years of austerity and grim, grim future for us and our children! Ten of thousands were forced into a mass immigration. Europe is a failed entity,there are those of you that just convince yourselves otherwise and basically pretended everything is just fine.

Mute Sean Hyland
    Favourite Sean Hyland
    Oct 19th 2013, 9:59 AM

Michael, it still is on the verge of collapse. What we have now is all smoke and mirrors. Watch the bond markets closely over the next few months. Massive emergency asset taxes are in the way as well as bank deposit confiscation Cyprus style.

Mute Michael Allen
    Favourite Michael Allen
    Oct 19th 2013, 10:04 AM

Sean people refuse to see that because the they still believe the lies politicians tell them.
    Europe is a failure!

Mute Graham Hunt
    Favourite Graham Hunt
    Oct 19th 2013, 11:19 AM

Well there is the roads….. oh ye well ofcourse the roads…..and the education ….ye ok but aoart from the roads, education, what have the romans ever done for us???

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Oct 19th 2013, 2:31 PM

Look at what it truly cost us, Graham

Mute Timothy Gaythorpe
    Favourite Timothy Gaythorpe
    Oct 18th 2013, 9:55 PM

Greedy farmers can’t look past their own gate morelikes

Mute Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Favourite Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:49 PM

Agreed.

Free trade makes jobs… Thats the whole ballgame….. Free trade makes jobs.

Farmers could instead look at it that they now have 40 million consumers to sell beef & lamb to.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Oct 18th 2013, 11:28 PM

Free trade means jobs. More jobs means more disposable income. More disposable means an increased market for farmers to sell their produce to. Which means benefits for farmers, not drawbacks. This is good news for everyone, farmers included. Now, let’s get a free trade deal with the US next.

Mute Mike Hall
    Favourite Mike Hall
    Oct 19th 2013, 11:20 AM

Free trade means more jobs?

You must be joking or have come down with the last shower.

These deals, conducted in secret with multinational corporations leading them are about one thing only – increasing these companies’ profits and returns to the top few percent capital owners at labour’s expense.

Forcing ever more government services into private hands for profit & ensuring a regulatory race to the bottom. Putting ever more ‘legal’ barriers, by stealth, in front of governments’ looking to the well being of their citizens. Much as happened thru’ the WTO for regulations on ‘financial products’ which enabled Wall St. to flog its toxic (fraudulent) mortgage backed securities all over the world & trigger the global crisis.

When are people going to realise ‘democracy’ hasn’t been operating for decades (if ever much).

This is plutocracy. The elites & lobbyists negotiating these deals couldn’t give a toss about ‘jobs’.

All they care about is profits & ‘rents’. And ‘wages’ and any other benefits to ordinary citizens, provided directly or thru’ governments are seen purely as as ‘cost’ to be reduced or eliminated.

Trade ‘deals’ are the number one anti-democratic tactic of the neo liberal agenda of the last few decades. Absolutely responsible for the finance & property pyramid/casino bust and the mass unemployment now being used as a tool of further oppression of the majority of (labour) citizens.

The WTO has repeatedly failed recently (the ‘Doha’ rounds) to reach global deals because some democracy has broken out in some developing or lesser developed countries (notably S America) & they’ve had enough of being shafted by multinational corporations & banks.

So, guess what? It’s now the turn of the ‘developed’ countries to get shafted, taking advantage of their economic crisis.

Time to wake up & realise these elites act only in their own & class interests. To imagine otherwise is just stupid. If there’s one thing these last six years (& the previous causal period) should have taught us – this is it.

Here’s another brief article from a Canadian perspective.

http://www.thestar.com/news/canada/2013/10/18/canadaeurope_trade_deal_not_really_about_trade_walkom.html

Oct 19th 2013, 1:57 PM

TLDR version
    “Im a commie…. I like to rant”

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Oct 19th 2013, 2:36 PM

Correct Joey. He wants more government, not more freedom.

Would there be as much lobbying if government wasn’t as big?

Mute Mike Hall
    Favourite Mike Hall
    Oct 19th 2013, 2:47 PM

“….a commie…” ?

Hmmm…no, if you read my comments you’ll notice that I’m arguing for a capitalist structure that respects democracy, rather than one we have that indulges in fraud & maladministration in favour of the top few percent who also occupy the key positions of public interest authority, regardless of what nominal (mainstream) party is voted for.

You know, one that doesn’t create global economic crises & then use mass unemployment as a weapon of oppression, instead of using the facilities the monetary system already has to the benefit of the majority of citizens.

But, I don’t think you get your head out of your bottom long enough to notice, eh?

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:03 PM

Farmers can go and shite. Overall this is good news.

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Oct 19th 2013, 12:23 AM

They can use that shite as fertilizer…

Mute Brendan Cunningham
    Favourite Brendan Cunningham
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:13 PM

It’s aboot freedom. It’s aboot democracy.

Mute RiobairdOMaingain
    Favourite RiobairdOMaingain
    Oct 19th 2013, 1:35 AM

Canada eh!

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:12 PM

Could mean a flood of Canadian finance houses setting up their European HQ’s and European Customer service centers in the Docklands in Dublin..Thats a good thing,,,However Canadian farmers will have open access to the French and German markets..Thats possibly risky for the Irish farmers…However , worriers don’t worry too much..the Irish have concluded deals with China and have solid trading relations with the Arab states , with further scope for growth…It’s a good thing over all..

Mute Jim Flavin
    Favourite Jim Flavin
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:37 PM

Could mean a flood of Canadian finance houses setting up their European HQ’s and European Customer service centers in the Docklands in Dublin.”
    Ireland needs more gambling casinos ?
    the Irish have concluded deals with China and have solid trading relations with the Arab states ,”
    – yes that is good – but are these Arab states Muslim – where immigrants come from that apparently are unwanted here ??.
    Pity is we did not conclude a Finance deal with China to borrow money and keep the IMF out .

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Oct 18th 2013, 11:13 PM

Jim….by “Gambling casinos” I presume you irresponsible muts who lead the Irish banks to a crash…That type don’t exist in Canada..The Canadian financial system is highly regulated and operates within strict Government controls..Canada is just about the only country left in the “western world” that didn’t suffer a financial crash or a recession..The Australians are now heading the same route as the rest of us…The Canadian economy and banking system has stayed very strong and intact while the rest of us ran around like headless chickens..So I would believe yes , a flood of Canadian finance houses here would be a good thing…..
    An Arab state by its very description is of course Muslim.. What immigrants from the Arab states are you talking about..??..We emigrate to them..Irish engineers working on oil rigs, Irish medics working in the UAE or Kuwait…We are one of the few countries in the world exporting Halal meat to the Arab world..That market is strong and growing..Yes..A good thing

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Oct 18th 2013, 11:15 PM

Ghana and Angola “negotiated” with the Chinese and ending loosing their oil facilities in return for finance..Thats not negotiation , that’s a takeover with no way out.

Mute Michael Allen
    Favourite Michael Allen
    Oct 18th 2013, 11:27 PM

The only reason we have solid trade with the Arab states is because we allow Muslims to move here in their thousands and build their Mosques. Basically our government are selling our country to who ever trade with them. This gives the impression our exports are thriving and thus creat a false economy for the benefit of politicians who secure their pensions in a fraudulent manner.
    Our country is being sold out from under us.
    We don’t have a government we have an occupation!

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Oct 18th 2013, 11:53 PM

Michael..Don’t do the typical rte spin and assume Ireland is the sought after country in the world…This country offered wealthy Arab states products they needed..Halal quality meat and quality processed meat…We also provide education services in this country, to Muslim men and women ( who cannot access education in their own Muslim countries ) and wealthy Muslim families..These people are Muslim and require Mosques if they are to practice their religion…Should Catholics and Church of Ireland people not build their churches and practice their religion…?…These Muslim people are here legally and contribute to society by paying taxes and spending everyday..Should we refuse that , because they are Muslim..?..Sorry Michael that sounds a tad racist..!!

Mute Michael Allen
    Favourite Michael Allen
    Oct 19th 2013, 12:11 AM

@Michael Fehily,….”rte spin” what the fu…ck is that suppose to mean? Don’t show your ignorance with the racist accusation.
    Ireland is a sought after country as it is a soft touch with our dysfunctional immigration laws and we offer more Social Welfare entitlements to immigrants that any other Europen country. Pay two years of taxes and hey presto, you get Social housing, free medical and Social Welfare.You and others think that those who come into our country and pay taxes should have the same rights as Irish Nationals. Those who come here to work and are allowed to do so, pay taxes because it is the law. Immigrants who are allowed to reside here, work and pay taxes should look at it as a privilege and not as right! In In Germany immigrants must contribute to society by paying taxes, if you become unemployed you get Social Welfare for six months and then it is goodbye, off you go! You think that we should allow everyone into our country just because they want to. That is called an invasion!

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Oct 19th 2013, 12:36 AM

Michaael….I’m afraid ignorance is clearly what you have just displayed..RTE spin is their opinion and their beliefs and their news rammed down our TV screens…Treating people like fools..The way pat Kenny and others were famous for…If you don’t see that , you’re in that brigade…You’re problem..!!
    Regarding your claim that the Muslims you see around town , like those in the Mosque in Clonskeagh or South Circular rd , are here for Social Welfare reasons is clearly driven by racism..The vast majority of Muslims here are wealthier the average Irish..They come here for third level Education and training…They wouldn’t even know where the local welfare offices are…Don’t talk rubbish..

Mute Michael Allen
    Favourite Michael Allen
    Oct 19th 2013, 12:58 AM

@Micahel, I didn’t associate Muslims with Social Welfare, you did?
    Muslims are very rich that is true and they are not here just for the education that is not entirely true. Their modes operandi throughout Europe is to build Mosques and the Muslim religion. They do not integrate, they refuse to allow their children to marry outside of their culture and faith, they do not tolerate non Muslim religious materials in their homes and they do not tolerate other religions in their country of birth. They are on a crusade.
    Recently in Cork they sought planning permission for an information centre and then blatantly showed total disregard for that planning permission and our planning laws by operating the “information centre” as a Mosque, having prayer meetings in the early hours of the morning disturbing the residents of the area! Total disregard for the privilege of being invited into our country total disregard for our laws.
    In their own countries their education is superior to ours, they have teachers from all over the world to teach them English and educate them. Therefore why are they going to places like Ireland when we are alien to the lifestyle they choose to live? Open your eyes!

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Oct 19th 2013, 10:19 AM

First Michael you’re displaying fear of Muslims…They didn’t get permission to hail the call to prayer they caught permission for a number of Mosques here in Dublin , however they can’t sound the hailers…Anyway the Catholics are experts at sounded the hailers..Kenny and rte & co have been doing that for decades…What do you think the angelus are about..?..Repeat…They come here for education…mainly third level…look at UCC if you can’t see beyond your nose…We are not a catholic or white supremacy country…Used to be , but thankfully not anymore….Open your mind..!!

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Oct 19th 2013, 10:48 AM

Toronto is one of the most culturally diverse and pluralistic cities in the world..It is also the engine of the of the 7 wealthiest and one of the 7 largest economies of the world…Are Canadians being taken over by Muslims also..??

Mute Jim Flavin
    Favourite Jim Flavin
    Oct 19th 2013, 12:47 PM

If Canadian banks are regulated – good – but when they are here they obey Irish laws – ie basically little / no regulation .
    Why do think Dell come here – and set up ” Finical services ” / gambling – that aspect of Finance is the most lucrative form of ” industry ” on planet at the moment – dealing in virtual money – and if the lose – the government / sorry – the people will bail them out .
    re Arab emigration – u say many Irish go to Arab countries – why then is there so much dissatisfaction / hatred for Muslims coming here ..??

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Oct 19th 2013, 2:33 PM

The Canadian banks got bailed out in 2008 too, but that doesn’t fit the rhetoric

Mute Oliver McCormack
    Favourite Oliver McCormack
    Oct 24th 2013, 1:43 PM

Micheal F. Have you tried to get citizenship in one of those countries ?.

Mute Patrice
    Favourite Patrice
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:04 PM

Our farmers don’t like competition. Why?

Mute Jigsaw
    Favourite Jigsaw
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:34 PM

Because Irish farmers have to follow rules that are costly but provide safe meat. Outside farmers can cut corners and provide “meat” that is cheaper because regulations are not as strict.

Oct 18th 2013, 10:51 PM

Equine in beef… Contaminated pork….BSE….

The irish can cut corners like the rest.

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Oct 19th 2013, 7:16 AM

Joey I’ve no idea how you linked that to the farmers! Did you think that scald all was caused by garners dressing their horses up as cattle and sending them off to the slaughter house??

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Oct 18th 2013, 9:46 PM

Its gonna hit our meat industry. Thats a certainty

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Oct 18th 2013, 11:33 PM

Business is Business.

Mute thomas walsh
    Favourite thomas walsh
    Oct 19th 2013, 2:59 AM

There’s documentaries on the way they breed cattle in the U.S and Canada. Believe me, we won’t be buying there beef!!

Mute Pat O'Brien
    Favourite Pat O'Brien
    Oct 19th 2013, 1:04 PM

Ireland has the best food in the world meet fish dairy veg. For taste quality freshness we are a world leader on what we produce. We can take on any country and beat them in this area. Competition will always challenge and we will have to adapt. But we will be the better for it in the long term. I know our product is perceived and known to be the best world over.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:11 PM

Why are the famers worried? Sure won’t the tax payers be taking care of them as always.

Mute brendan harlowe
    Favourite brendan harlowe
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:40 PM

That’s right! Who needs farmers, we can get out food in supermarkets sure…..,

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Oct 19th 2013, 2:39 PM

Oh Brendan, what a silly argument

You take food out of people’s mouths, give it to a farmer and then charge poor people more when the food comes to the market, madness!

Mute Jim Flavin
    Favourite Jim Flavin
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:27 PM

Ireland’s trade with Canada is currently €2.7 billion and has doubled since 206.”
    - that’s progress – took 1,800 + years to double – . A lot of typos today !!

Mute Jamie Edwards
    Favourite Jamie Edwards
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:22 PM

Wah Wah whinging farmers. It’d be better for all if the entire world had free trade without propped up markets.

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Oct 19th 2013, 7:20 AM

Exactly, I’m finished with farmers! Going to get my food in the shops in future……..

Mute W.j.d.
    Favourite W.j.d.
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:40 PM

Interesting… Canadian farmers are worried also… Must be world wide the way farmers react….

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:53 PM

Remind me not to vote for Paul Murphy. He’s against free trade and capitalism.

I thought almost everyone supports free trade. Let’s go back to living in caves and hunting and gathering so we don’t buy imported goods.

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Oct 19th 2013, 7:18 AM

Agriculture in the EU is about as far from free trade as you can get!

Mute Jazz O'Gorman
    Favourite Jazz O'Gorman
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:13 PM

I’ve got a brand new combine harvester, EU grants, greedy old farmers, they’ll never change.

Mute John Denby
    Favourite John Denby
    Oct 19th 2013, 9:24 AM

Neither will you by the sounds of things

Mute Stiofán De Priondárgas
    Favourite Stiofán De Priondárgas
    Oct 19th 2013, 2:14 AM

Here in Canada they are actually more worried about our beef industry affecting theirs!! I was listening to a talk station here today and commenting on our quality of livestock and dairy products are very high. Personally I think it would be far better for Ilya Irish regards to the supply of raw materials etc.

Mute Stiofán De Priondárgas
    Favourite Stiofán De Priondárgas
    Oct 19th 2013, 2:26 AM

Also there is nothing cheap out here, food in general is just as expensive especially dairy and meat.

Mute Jim Flavin
    Favourite Jim Flavin
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:31 PM

The ICSA’s beef chairman, Edmond Phelan, said the negatives could outweigh the positives for Irish beef farmers, because the deal allows for up to 40,000 tonnes of Canadian beef and 70,000 tonnes of Canadian pork into EU markets.
    ”I am concerned that imports of cheaper Canadian meat have the potential to undermine the price of Irish beef in key export markets within the EU. ”

Since they by and large always vote Neoliberal what are they whinging about – and they never showed much concern about the effect the EU export subsidies have on developing countries .

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Oct 19th 2013, 7:17 AM

And why should they? They protect Irish interests which is in short supply these days!

Mute Sean Bambi Keeling
    Favourite Sean Bambi Keeling
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:15 PM

Cheaper meat

Mute eastpoint
    Favourite eastpoint
    Oct 19th 2013, 9:30 AM

The same farmers that were against Ireland’s entry into the EEC

Mute Dave Mc
    Favourite Dave Mc
    Oct 18th 2013, 10:39 PM

I wont eat their boring meat

Mute Colm Molloy
    Favourite Colm Molloy
    Oct 19th 2013, 7:20 AM

A top door into the bigger Americas market, it’s all about the money

Mute John Finnegan
    Favourite John Finnegan
    Oct 19th 2013, 3:10 AM

Wow Ireland’s trade has doubled in 2000 years. (206). Impressive!!!!

Mute Oliver McCormack
    Favourite Oliver McCormack
    Oct 24th 2013, 2:03 PM

Do Canadian farmers use growth promoters/Hormones in their meat and milk like the USA. If so how can it be sold in the EU. Or is this what was really spoken about behind closed doors, GMO,s are what the yanks want us to consume, have they arrived.

Mute Monor Curry
    Favourite Monor Curry
    Oct 20th 2013, 1:19 AM

I pray to god this means some decent dairy products in Canada. Charge ridiculous prices for piss poor milk and cheese.