You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Michael McDowell Julien Behal/PA Archive/Press Association Images

McDowell insists Ireland is not a failed State, says Seanad costs us each €1.60

The former Tánaiste Michael McDowell claims that that the Seanad costs each Irish citizen the price of a two litre bottle of milk every year.

FORMER TÁNAISTE MICHAEL McDowell has insisted that Ireland is not a failed State and has defended the abolition-threatened Seanad claiming it costs each citizen just €1.60 per year.

McDowell, now a barrister who is campaigning for the retention of the Seanad, was speaking at the Parnell Summer School in Wicklow today when he said that since independence the Irish state has been a “major success”.

He criticised “some commentators” who he said “enjoy wallowing in what I have termed as a ‘middle class self-hatred’ of negativity.”

McDowell said: “A particularly striking historical nonsense is the fairly widespread tendency, particularly evident in the post-marxist left, to equate republicanism with socialism, and a failure to deliver socialism as a betrayal of the Republic. The two ideas are not equivalents.”

Author Fintan O’Toole recently claimed that Ireland was a failed nation pointing to what he said were three main failures: in the legal system, the legislature and the executive.

Outgoing Ombudsman Emily O’Reilly also recently accused the government of “wielding power in a manner never envisaged in the Constitution” while Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams also claimed that country’s institutions have turned their backs on Northern Ireland.

But McDowell insisted: “As Garret FitzGerald frequently observed, [Ireland] has achieved for the Irish people progress that would never have happened if [it] had remained an undeveloped western province in a post-industrial, postimperial United Kingdom.”

Two litres of milk

The former leader of the Progressive Democrats also reinforced his arguments for retention of the Seanad ahead of the October referendum on its abolition, saying that arguments that it cannot be afforded are “false, threadbare, and illegitimate”.

“The actual direct savings to the Exchequer would be about €1.60 per annum for every citizen, less than the price of a two litre container of milk,” he claimed.

He accused “abolitionists”, as he termed them, of spending €14 million on a referendum in the middle of a period of austerity and added: “If the Seanad is too costly now, why not cut its costs now? The budget for the Seanad could be cut now without constitutional difficulty.

McDowell claimed that reform of the Seanad could be done without constitutional change to allow a more inclusive electorate and a gender-balanced chamber “with persons of experience and expertise”.

He also said that “corrosive cynicism about politics damages democracy” and insisted that “politicians are not the enemy”.

“Politics is the process that we as citizens choose it to be. We should not cannibalise the Constitution in the name of reform,” McDowell said.

Read: Village magazine’s vow to take legal action on white collar crime

McDowell: There are no muppets in the Seanad, but there are clowns in the Dáil

Human Rights Commission: The State failed Magdalene women

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

117 Comments
    Mute John Sinclair
    Favourite John Sinclair
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:44 PM

Any state that pays this useless NUMPTY the numerous pensions he is getting paid by the taxpayers of this country, when he is still a practicing Senior Counsel, (therefore clearly not retired and therefore clearly should not be entitled to a state pension), while kids with cancer are being refused medical cards, IS A FAILED STATE.

Mute Diarmuid Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Lenihan
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:50 PM

Very we’ll said.

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:56 PM

You forget how people like him think. In his Ireland NAMA bailed out developers who read like a PD donor list, they still are in business. Top end professions like banking etc are still very lucrative. Many lawyers have years of lucrative insolvency work ahead. The state is their servant, mistakes are paid for by others.

450k on the dole, dying kids given the cold shoulder, massive business insolvency, economic hardship and mass emigration. That is your Ireland, that has failed massively because the protected Ireland had to be saved and they despise us for being from there.

Mute Taxi Bill
    Favourite Taxi Bill
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:12 PM

Dont agree John, payjng huge pensions to people who are working, as are many other cases of the state paying out money to individuals and groups who dont need /deserve it, proves the SYSTEM not the state is wrong/failed.

Mute Owen Brady
    Favourite Owen Brady
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:25 PM

The Seanad debate is not about the cost..

Mute Stephen Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Stephen Fitzpatrick
    Aug 14th 2013, 6:53 PM

He gives it all to charity.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Aug 14th 2013, 7:53 PM

So what, he shouldn’t be claiming it at all, he’s not a pensioner. He’s a working man, beefing up his cv with his “charity work”, he did nothing to change the system when he had the chance.

Mute Daniel Ryan
    Favourite Daniel Ryan
    Aug 15th 2013, 12:18 AM

Excellently said John!! My hat off to you. McDowell is a hypocrite!

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Aug 15th 2013, 7:58 AM

The system and state are intertwined. Both have failed.

Mute Jonie Kinsella
    Favourite Jonie Kinsella
    Aug 15th 2013, 9:16 AM

Well said Owen

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:13 PM

Whatever about Ireland but you are a failed politician. Your greatest failure was keeping Bertie Ahern in power for so many years, no matter what came out. Your failure to crack down on white collar fraud etc. Your legacy is seen every day in boarded up shops, unemployment and economic decline.

Bertie Ahern’s shoeshine boy and nothing more than that.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:31 PM

He did close the loophole on parents claiming citizenship based on a child being born here. Also, I would agree with him on how far European integration should go in relation to countries retaining certain levels of sovereignty on domestic matters such as taxation and borders.

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:43 PM

Scarr. I agreed with him on the loophole closing but most of what he came out was just playing to the gallery. He was a good front man for Ahern and FF. He crafted this image that he was concerned about ethics in Govt., accountability, fiscal responsibility, that he was concerned about the welfare of the state. All shown to be impotent self delusion and pandering to his own ego. The trappings of state power are all that drive him.

I consider him a very capable threat to the welfare and good governance of this country.

Mute Eoin Ó Murchú
    Favourite Eoin Ó Murchú
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:45 PM

This is just abuse, not argument. I believe however that Ireland is a failed state, not because it failed to develop socialism but because it failed to end partition and subservience to foreign political interests; it failed to end emigration and give reasonable prosperity equally to all our citizens; and because it failed to recover the language and culture that England tried to destroy. Ireland today is more anglicised than ever, and that’s the mark of failure in my book. Socialism comes into it because it’s the class interests of the rich and privileged to hold what they have at all costs. As Connolly pointed out “The Irish working class are the only incorruptible inheritors of the fight for Irish freedom”, and workers’ freedom (from exploitation and deprivation) is what real socialism is about.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:48 PM

I’ve never voted PD, but happen to agree with some of what he has said lately. If he formed a party I’d keep an open mind.

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:19 PM

Eoin. I consider the man to be little different to Haughey or Ahern. His approach is one of towering intellect but he is still only concerned with a golden elite, of which he is part of.

It seems personal yet when you review McDowell’s career in politics all you can see is great speeches and a massive failure to act to improve the country, the entire country.

Actually when you see someone like him who is such a potent and capable threat to the welfare of your family and countries future it tends to become personal.

Mute Gearóid O Machain
    Favourite Gearóid O Machain
    Aug 14th 2013, 9:10 PM

and he fought Sam Hall challenging the bondholder payments in the high court and most likely had a horn on for the fact a citizen has no right to challenge such things and then within 48 hours illegal promissory notes were turned into more “legally” bound debt!! prik!

Mute Bobby Murray
    Favourite Bobby Murray
    Aug 14th 2013, 9:40 PM

Eoin well done for being brave to express your Irish soul

Mute John Sinclair
    Favourite John Sinclair
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:32 PM

Maybe the next words out of this mans mouth would be a clarification as to the number of pensions he is currently in receipt of from the state, I imagine he still has a TD’s pension and a ministers pension, and a pension as AG, none of this would be a problem if he was of retirement age, as this is what pensions are for, giving you an income when you retire.

The neck of this man telling people to stop being angry, when he is easily in receipt of 3 state pensions.

Mute Stephen Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Stephen Fitzpatrick
    Aug 14th 2013, 6:52 PM

McDowell gives the entirity of his state pension to charity.

Mute John Griffin
    Favourite John Griffin
    Aug 14th 2013, 7:44 PM

Stephen is correct. A lot of ignorant people having a pop at his pensions, which is a red herring anyway, even though he gives all of it to charity. Ridiculous.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/former-tanaiste-mcdowell-gives-his-pensions-to-charity-28815695.html

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Aug 14th 2013, 7:47 PM

How nice, look, no pension until you’re a pensioner.
    It’s as simple as that.

Mute Jim Hartnett
    Favourite Jim Hartnett
    Aug 14th 2013, 8:47 PM

He gives them to charity but that is not the point. The thing is that he should have changed legislation when he had the chance so that people like him didn’t get a pension, obscene or otherwise, until they reach the same age as the rest of us.

Mute shay o'reilly
    Favourite shay o'reilly
    Aug 14th 2013, 8:54 PM

Good on him , that he can decide who to give our money too,
    No pension until your 65, especially those capable of earning a living without state help

Mute Jim Lenihan
    Favourite Jim Lenihan
    Aug 14th 2013, 10:39 PM

like hell he dose

Mute Dieu_7
    Favourite Dieu_7
    Aug 14th 2013, 11:00 PM

exactly! Shouldn’t be his decision to make in the first place.

Mute sluazcanal
    Favourite sluazcanal
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:35 PM

I would rather the Milk.

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:01 PM

And theres nothing more stomach churning than a failed, weasel of a politician who sat at the government trough table and gauged on huge salaries while allowing bertie and co along with the banks to run riot and help destroy this country…………and then has the balls to tell us the state isnt a failed one and the senead will only cost x amount………what a self righteous pr**k!

Mute Jim Lenihan
    Favourite Jim Lenihan
    Aug 14th 2013, 10:36 PM

you right no more or less than the prix that are their now

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:22 PM

What a brazen, shameless man you are Mickey McDowell

Backed low life hoods like Haughey and Bertie Ahern, keeping the latter in power for 2 terms.

You sat in Government with some of the lowest tramps that this country ever elected, convicted criminals like Burke and Lawlor and you did not bat one eyelid as long as they let you sit as Minister for Justice.

A role that you were remarkably unsuccessful in. That period being marked by wholescale white collar crime and fraud. Often by people that were your parties greatest supporters and donors.

The Dáil may have plenty of clowns but Irish society and democracy are still in a better place now that people like you have been rejected.

Mute Piarais Mac An TSaoir
    Favourite Piarais Mac An TSaoir
    Aug 14th 2013, 8:46 PM

Amen to that.

Mute Michael Berchmans
    Favourite Michael Berchmans
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:14 PM

Trust a failed politician from a failed political party to defend a failed institution like the Seanad.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:23 PM

Agree 100 per cent. How does this guy get so much airtime? He has had his chance, and blew it!

Mute Bobby Murray
    Favourite Bobby Murray
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:47 PM

Michael, an excellent description!

Mute shay o'reilly
    Favourite shay o'reilly
    Aug 14th 2013, 8:49 PM

The seanad, has value, at lest the university nominees, but should they be paid?, I think not, as many would be willing to did it for free, for a term, minimum wage seems fair to me,
    It’s good for the CV, and most in that building are capable of earning a living without the state supporting them

Mute Sean Mckevitt
    Favourite Sean Mckevitt

Michael how much are ponying up for your pension…..handsome reward for being bertiea rent boy
    ireland may not be a failed stated ,
    But irish politicans ,bankers and their cronies have failed the people of the state ….purely for their own gain.

Mute Gary Weir
    Favourite Gary Weir
    Aug 14th 2013, 6:26 PM

Agreed. He should be making this statement from prison.

Mute Seán Flynn
    Favourite Seán Flynn
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:40 PM

A state whose stability is wholly reliant on outside support and the pressure valve of constant emigration can hardly be described as a success. A state which has, over the years, colluded in the partition of the nation is even less worthy of the name. Gombeens, bankers and crypto-unionists like McDowell exemplify this Free State’s glaring shortcomings (is it really deserving of the moniker of a Republic? Look at how it was declared in 1948 fer chrissakes). One island, two failed states.

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:17 PM

Well, I prefer to buy a bar of chocolate with my €1.60 thank you .
    This argument that Seanad only costs each of us such a tiny amount is ridiculous. The point is that we have senators with a part time occupation in a talking shop which earns them €64,000 p.a.and expenses on top. It is an unnecessary add – on to our Houses of Parliament . While they are at it we could reduce the number of TDs by about 50 and still function.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:35 PM

The Seanad needs reform but I wouldn’t for a second vote to consolidate power to a drunken bunch cretins in the dail. They are reducing TDs though…. By 8. Whoop dee do.

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:43 PM

Barristers and other such elite professions probably make up the majority of the Seanad! Can’t be seen to against something he probably hopes to someday get a cushy number from!

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:00 PM

His comments are motivated by pure self interest. He served a very good apprenticeship in govt with FF and desperately trying to preserve the status quo which beggars citizens but not those of his background.

Mute Pauric O Laighin
    Favourite Pauric O Laighin
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:13 PM

Could this statement be construed as the last sting of a dying wasp?

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr

Not so sure. I wouldn’t be surprised if he were to re-emerge with a new / as part of a new party.

Mute Bobby Murray
    Favourite Bobby Murray
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:48 PM

Pauric the game you are playing is that of a dying wasp too,you couldn’t give a dam about Irish citizens. You are running with the Hare and hunting with the Hound. You are not fooling anyone, well maybe a few from the Politically Correct Fraternity!

Mute martin freyne
    Favourite martin freyne
    Aug 14th 2013, 6:10 PM

@Bobby, you missed Paurics point

Mute Bobby Murray
    Favourite Bobby Murray
    Aug 14th 2013, 7:27 PM

No Martin the point is you misunderstand what Pauric is all about!

Mute Pauric O Laighin
    Favourite Pauric O Laighin
    Aug 14th 2013, 8:49 PM

Martin, my point was obvious to anybody with a modicum of knowledge.

Mute Bobby Murray
    Favourite Bobby Murray
    Aug 14th 2013, 9:43 PM

Martin the devil is on your shoulder, don’t turn your back or you will feel a sharp pain when you no longer serve his purpose!

Reg
    Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

Michael McDowell has a lot to say for himself for somebody that ran away from politics six years ago. Stand for election if you are so committed Michael.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:58 PM

He didnt run away he was turfed out. Needless to say with a big pension!

Mute Right Wing Steve ©
    Favourite Right Wing Steve ©

Run for election Michael or shut the front door, I thought we got rid of this guy.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:52 PM

Michael McDowell is right wing too, Steve [i.e. he supports inequality and social hierarchy].

If you do not support inequality and/or social hierarchy, maybe you should change your username to “Steve ©”.

Mute Right Wing Steve ©
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:06 PM

He’s not right wing enough, he also supports hopeless social programs which do nothing but placate the lazy.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:21 PM

You are telling me that Michael McDowell isn’t right wing enough….

Please don’t ever become a politician, Steve.

Ireland IS a “failed state” now, mainly because of “right wing thinking” by people like Mr. McDowell SC.

Mute Right Wing Steve ©
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:31 PM

Ireland is not a failed state, it is in the shite though mainly due to the socialising of of private debt.

Mute The Red Devil
    Favourite The Red Devil
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:12 PM

Who cares McDowell

Mute Stephen O'Donnell
    Favourite Stephen O'Donnell
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:04 PM

I want my €1.60 back.

Mute Owen Brady
    Favourite Owen Brady
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:26 PM

Send me your bank details and I will sort that out for you.

Mute Stephen O'Donnell
    Favourite Stephen O'Donnell
    Aug 14th 2013, 8:01 PM

I use Bertie Savings Bank. Theres a branch near me. Its buried under that.

Mute Sean Costello
    Favourite Sean Costello
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:56 PM

I despise Michael mcdowell. He symbolises everything that was wrong with Ireland during the boom. He, like the greens and now labour had his party wiped out by supporting the failed policies of the larger party in power. Even when the writing was on the wall, all three of these parties have continued to cling to power rather than save the party and collapse a govt because of principles they wish to uphold.

However, I do not believe the seanad should be abolished for this very reason. Idiots will continue to vote for FG and FF as the main partner in a coalition. The smaller party will be subservient, meaning the guts of an autocracy ensues with five or six cabinet members calling the shots. Even though it is a small check on this, the seanad can be something if it is reformed to somewhat combat autocracy. An upper house is needed when democracy is ruined by allowing fools to vote.

Mute Sarah Prendergast
    Favourite Sarah Prendergast
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:17 PM

If everyone’s €1.60 went towards carers, the elderly or people who really need it then I’d be happy!! I’d gladly pay more too

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:02 PM

Glad to know your disposable incomes in such a healthy state… I think there’s a give as you earn scheme you might subscribe to… But the issue is taxation – not charity.

Mute Sarah Prendergast
    Favourite Sarah Prendergast
    Aug 14th 2013, 6:46 PM

I never said I had a massive income. I’d rather my money go to other areas than the Seanad.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Aug 15th 2013, 8:00 AM

“charities” paying CEOs huge salaries? No thanks.

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Favourite Scrap Croke Park1
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:14 PM

€1.49 for 2L of milk. Michael must be buying the branded home produced rip off Ireland stuff.

Moo

Mute Gearóid O Machain
    Favourite Gearóid O Machain
    Aug 14th 2013, 9:12 PM

does he feck buy cheap milk! my arse he buys cheap anything! sly wording is more like it

Mute Marie Ahern
    Favourite Marie Ahern
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:33 PM

what about the legacy debt of circa 13,000 euro that every man woman and child in the state inherited for the policies of the government that Mr. McDowell was instrumental in??? Not to mention a whole lost generation who were unlucky enough to have to house themselves during the boom, and now pay premium rates of childcare also or graduate at that time.Because of this alone the Seanad should be got rid of.

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:12 PM

The Senators must be mad to put up McDowell as the spokesman for them.I never met anyone who likes him so it looks like the Senad gravey train is coming to a halt. Yipeee

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:07 PM

This is the same Michael McDowell who, in 2005, robustly defended the gap between rich and poor in Ireland during the Celtic Tiger years.

“Inequality is an inevitable part of the society of incentives that Ireland has become”.

This ex-Progressive Demagogue is clearly angling on a new career in politics.
    Be warned – if you vote for this nut, don’t expect your local bourgeois TD to fight your corner if you happen to lose your job.

McDowell SC/TD would tell you: “Why should I help you? Don’t you know I’m busy with more important stuff? You should use your own initiative and get yourself a new job. That, my friend is called INCENTIVE”.

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:37 PM

If this guy hasn’t cobbled together a new party by the next election then I’ll eat my hat. He’s banging the drum quite a bit now over the past few months, and is using the Seanad referendum as a relatively innocuous platform to get himself back in the public eye and gauge support.

For the record, I happen to agree with him on the Seanad and I would rather see FG’s plans for reform before I make a decision on whether the Seanad should be a abolished. This will be the second referendum which has tried to consolidate power in the Dáil: the first was an attempt to give special judiciary powers to political committees; this is an attempt to remove a branch of legislative oversight. If a South American leader tried something like this we’d rightly cry that democracy was being dismantled. Last I heard, FG would propose to table legislation for reform after the referendum, which is slightly worrying.

McDowell is dangerous though. He may have been punished for being a PD, and therefore a FF enabler, but his viewpoint is still well represented and he could well have a part to play in the future of politics in this state.

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:51 PM

Every old school banker and developer in Ireland need men like McDowell to be in Govt. Their Ireland is McDowell’s Ireland. It is not the Ireland of small businesses, dole ques, budgeting for the Mortgage etc. The Ireland we live in. Celtic Tiger money will poor hand over fist to back a “dependable” man like McDowell. Like I said above, he is a serious threat to the future of most of us.

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:54 PM

While i dont have a problem with McDowell as such,his statement that Ireland has been a major sucess since independence,just might be contadicted by the millions of prople who had to emmigrate from this country just to earn a living,my own family included,and never returned,most of them made a major contibution to the countries they settled in are now citizens,the contineing loss of the population to emmigration is anything but a sucess, but not much has really changed in that regard.

Mute Dara McCarthy
    Favourite Dara McCarthy
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:21 PM

illusion of having a choice. There is no difference between FF FG Labour.

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Aug 14th 2013, 3:51 PM

A correction if you don’t mind Mr McDowell.

Ireland is a failed State, because in this case, even though I hate myself for saying this, I agree with you in that abolishing the Seanad would be bad for Irish democracy.

Now anybody know how I can get a visa to live in Antarctica, as I can no longer live among other human beings so bad is my infliction?

Mute Jack Daniels
    Favourite Jack Daniels
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:14 PM

Id rather listen to Jimmy Saville .Fact.

Mute peter kiely
    Favourite peter kiely
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:57 PM

He keeps confirming his arrogance,his stupidity and lack of knowledge about what s going on in the real world.He was part of a government that failed to govern and he is still spouting pomp.

Mute Cllr Brendan Killeavy
    Favourite Cllr Brendan Killeavy
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:35 PM

It’s not the cost of the Seanad that’s the issue. The issue is reform. Senators are elected by 1percent of the population. Taoiseach nominees ensure that whatever the government are doing goes in the Seanad. It is an elitist house full of failed politicians and academics who are not elected by the people.
    With no option of reform it should be abolished.

Mute Joe Sixtwo
    Favourite Joe Sixtwo
    Aug 14th 2013, 6:10 PM

This is more spin from the parasite, there are other costs like the pensions that he conveniently forgot to mention.Give me the bottle of milk anyday.

Mute Alan Dunne
    Favourite Alan Dunne
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:34 PM

Dear Michael
    I am in favour of abolishing the Seanad,because I have no say in who gets appointed to it,over the years I have seen failed politicians,presidents spouses and the party faithful getting the nod,if its reform that’s needed pick ordinary members of the public to participate, it should be a honour to serve your country not just a way to boost your pension.

Mute Vinny Mulhall
    Favourite Vinny Mulhall
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:20 PM

I wonder has he a vested interest in making that quote. ?
    Anybody

Mute N O'C
    Favourite N O'C
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:33 PM

Whole political system needs reform. €1.60 each sounds about €1.70 too much to pay for this self-important bunch of jokers

Mute John Meade
    Favourite John Meade
    Aug 14th 2013, 6:39 PM

Some people can’t afford a litre of milk these days and they don’t appreciate a goon like him trying to justify the houses cost to the taxpayer, shut up McDowell and get back under your rock, labour will be joining you soon

COOM
    Mute COOM
    Favourite COOM
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:46 PM

Someone gag that failed political puppet.

Mute Jim Flavin
    Favourite Jim Flavin
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:56 PM

The proof that it is a failed State is that he has to deny it – next there will be a vote of confidence saying that Ireland is not a failed State
    .This is the guy who some years back said £ 14 was a ” lot of money ” – yet draws many pensions- A Neo Con to his fingertips .

Mute Myles Duffy
    Favourite Myles Duffy
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:40 PM

Seanad Eireann: A gerrymandered doss-house contrived by deValera when the flour from Boland’s Mills was still in the turn-ups of his trousers.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Aug 14th 2013, 7:00 PM

Economic Development Advisor, Myles?

Mute Jim Lenihan
    Favourite Jim Lenihan
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:45 PM

all it good for jobs for the boys

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Aug 14th 2013, 7:35 PM

I bought 2 litres of milk this morning. Was actually €2.39.

Mute John Staunton
    Favourite John Staunton
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:19 PM

Everything sounds cheap when you say it like that. Its like when charity knock on your door and say for 70 cent a day you can help end world hunger until you add it up and realise its more than expected. So what he is saying is it only costs over 6 million to run the Seanad…bargain!

Mute Silent Witness
    Favourite Silent Witness
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:33 PM

What he is saying is that he can’t count, or he doesn’t know how many people live in this country.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:04 PM

Hmmm,
    Not a likeable politician. But I am grateful to him for the Human Rights Act. I’m also grateful for the strong arguments he makes to retain the Seanad.

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:13 PM

Pity about his key role in turning the state in to an economic wasteland for a generation. His obsession with defending the failed mechanisms of the state because it suits him and a small few to the economic cost of the rest.

McDowell’s personality is not the problem, his track record is the offensive part.

Mute Bobby Murray
    Favourite Bobby Murray
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:53 PM

@Paul you were also great full to Billy Kelleher Fianna Fail and when I asked you could you inform me what you were grateful to Billy Kelleher for, you couldn’t reply! So it is not surprising you are greatfull to a crook like McDowell who was rejected by the citizens of this state.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:09 PM

Bobby,
    He is not a crook. And you need to raise your game out of the gutter. If you were to show some support for the progressive things you might not be taken for a mug that is left shouting from the sidelines. I respect those who do well and represent us well. Seeing positive allows me a free voice in criticising negative.

Mute Bobby Murray
    Favourite Bobby Murray
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:20 PM

Blaa, blaa, blaa you even sound like McDowell full of empty rhetoric and self praise, keep off those tablets.

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Aug 14th 2013, 7:54 PM

McDOWELL YOU and your party the PDs destroyed this country and i told you so, ,get real its not in the four courts you are now

Mute Tertullian
    Favourite Tertullian
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:51 PM

If the Seanad was turning a nice profit I’d still vote to get rid of it.

Mute Alan Carroll
    Favourite Alan Carroll
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:40 PM

So the Seanad get paid more than a farmer makes for supplying a litre of milk!

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 14th 2013, 4:45 PM

JFK said that farming was the only industry where you had pay full price for supplies and get paid wholesale prices for it.

Mute Joe Sixtwo
    Favourite Joe Sixtwo
    Aug 14th 2013, 6:07 PM

Michael get lost ya horrible git.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Aug 14th 2013, 7:59 PM

McDowell’s ideology wrecked this country.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Aug 14th 2013, 7:23 PM

A deadbeat diehard dinosaur! More like McDo-badly than McDo-well ?

Mute Seán Ryan
    Favourite Seán Ryan
    Aug 14th 2013, 6:24 PM

Yet he never bothered to reform the seanad when he had the chance himself !

Mute Graham Crosbie
    Favourite Graham Crosbie
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:36 PM

Another self serving politician full of it and just like fg fg labour useless to the core with umpteen pensions and wouldint know a days work in his life a waster like the rest of them

Mute R Neuville
    Favourite R Neuville
    Aug 14th 2013, 8:58 PM

Recession Spancil Hill …verse 17

Thread softly now cried William Yeats
    Your steppin upon me dreams
    Tax on booze and children’s shoes
    And all our homes, now it seems

Democracy flown, sold out for a loan
    Bankocracy here in its place
    300 “K”, gone to find a days pay
    Its a total thunderin’ disgrace.

——- sorry Michael, failed state.
    FB/LocalPropertyTax

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Aug 14th 2013, 9:00 PM

Is it even possible to buy milk in a bottle anymore? ? Yet another example of how out of touch these degenerates are!

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Aug 14th 2013, 9:06 PM

Ireland is a success story….In what particular parrallel universe is that happening??It would take one of the Irish political swine herd to come up with this tat.

Mute Dieu_7
    Favourite Dieu_7
    Aug 14th 2013, 10:58 PM

McDowell said: “A particularly striking historical nonsense is the fairly widespread tendency, particularly evident in the post-marxist left, to equate republicanism with socialism, and a failure to deliver socialism as a betrayal of the Republic. The two ideas are not equivalents.”

What an absolute idiot!

Mute socmot
    Favourite socmot
    Aug 14th 2013, 10:07 PM

I may agree with him that the Seanad should not be abolished, but Michael McDowell is a disgusting hypocrite, citing the constitutional amendment for the Good Friday Agreement in 1998 and yet bringing in his racist referendum in 2004. This man has nothing to offer Irish political life – and he never did.

Mute Aireach
    Favourite Aireach
    Aug 14th 2013, 8:18 PM

Was Gerry Adams commenting on this from the back of a black out van in a secret location?

Mute Darragh O'Connell
    Favourite Darragh O'Connell
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:58 PM

Great Minister for Justice, bit of right-winger, but got sh*t done. Also, all this about his ministerial pensions well he donates this to charity. Which is good because the government have reduced the amount it provides in international aid and other charitable organisations

Mute Bobby Murray
    Favourite Bobby Murray
    Aug 14th 2013, 7:45 PM

@Darragh, the only part you got right is he “got sh…it done” and that ‘SHIT’ has hit the fan. You need some toilet paper to wipe your mouth after that sh…it comment!

Mute Adrian O'Driscoll
    Favourite Adrian O'Driscoll
    Aug 14th 2013, 8:25 PM

I’d rather have my 2 litres of milk than pay for those wasters!

John
    Aug 16th 2013, 10:31 AM

Ireland is a failed state and always will be as long as the likes of McDowell and people like him have their way.

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    Aug 14th 2013, 9:39 PM

Where does he buy his milk? Let me know. Mine costs a lot more. Is he importing it cause 2l of Irish milk costs a lot more than that!!!!!!

Mute phunkyboy
    Favourite phunkyboy
    Aug 14th 2013, 10:21 PM

Mcdowell is a right funny buck.