You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File image of Michael McGrath Alamy Stock Photo

Ursula von der Leyen appoints Michael McGrath as the EU's new Justice Commissioner

The roles were announced today after the decision was delayed due to formal processes that needed to be completed in Slovenia.

LAST UPDATE | 17 Sep 2024

FORMER FINANCE MINISTER Michael McGrath has been announced as the new EU Commissioner for Justice.

“I have entrusted him with the responsibility to take forward the European democracy,” Commission President Ursula von der Leyen said.

“He will also lead our work on the rule of law, anti corruption and consumer protection.”

She announced the new roles today after the decision was delayed due to formal processes that had yet to be done in Slovenia.

“The key message is that, wherever we come from, whatever our job title, we must all work together. We will have open debates. We are all independent in thought and action,” von der Leyen said.

While senior government sources have said they are happy with McGrath getting the justice portfolio, it is believed the government was eager for the former minister to be placed in finance-related portfolio such as economy, trade and competition.

However, von der Leyen said that about 20 countries had asked for strong economic portfolios.

Speaking today from the National Ploughing Championship in Co Laois, Taoiseach Simon Harris congratulated McGrath on his new role and said he spoke to both McGrath and von der Leyen last night. 

Harris said the justice portfolio is a “substantial European role by any yardstick” and described it as a “vote of confidence” in McGrath from von der Leyen.

“He hasn’t just received a justice portfolio, he’s also received responsibility around democracy and the rule of law,” said Harris.

The Taoiseach added that the justice portfolio is also “very much welcome” given that it has expanded to include responsibility for consumer protection.

“He’s a very able and competent individual, and I’m proud that he is now our Commissioner designate,” said Harris.

In today’s reshuffle, Latvia’s Valdis Dombrovskis got the role of Economy and Productivity Commissioner. This is alongside a new portfolio of Implementation and Simplification.

Meanwhile, Portugal’s Maria Luís Albuquerque will take on the Financial Services portfolio.

Von der Leyen was encouraging member countries to put forward more women to make up the bloc’s executive arm, but most – including Ireland – ignored her request for a choice between one man and one woman candidate.

In a statement, McGrath said he was honoured to have been proposed for the role and called it a “vitally important one for Europe”.

“I look forward to engaging with the European Parliament ahead of the hearings for the new Commission in the weeks ahead.

“The portfolio is a vitally important one for Europe: protecting our democratic values, rule of law and the rights of our citizens is fundamental to the future development of the EU and of the single market.

“It is the first time that Ireland will hold this portfolio and is a recognition of our standing as a country with a strong democratic and open society,” he said.

“In addition to the core Justice elements of my portfolio, I am very pleased to be given responsibility for the protection of consumer rights across the EU.

“I welcome this opportunity to apply my skills to new areas of responsibility and I am grateful for the confidence placed in me by the Government and by President von der Leyen.”

Tánaiste Micheál Martin also congratulated McGrath on his appointment, saying he has no doubt he will serve “with great energy and diligence in this significant role”, which involved protecting the rights of consumers, the rule of law and tackling corruption.

There is still a long road ahead before the new commissioners can begin their work on new laws and enforcing regulation. The nominated politicians will have to survive two votes of confidence and a grilling by MEPs before they can get to work.

Shock resignation

France’s Thierry Breton yesterday announced that he is quitting the European Commission, claiming EU chief Ursula von der Leyen had asked Paris to withdraw his candidacy for the incoming executive.

Today, France’s Foreign Affairs Minister Stéphane Séjourné was given the portfolio of Prosperity and Industrial Strategy as an Executive Vice-President of the Commission.

French President Emmanuel Macron had put forward Breton’s name, and his reappointment to a major role had been taken as a given.

“In the very final stretch of negotiations on the composition of the future College, you asked France to withdraw my name,” the internal market commissioner wrote in a letter to von der Leyen, posted on X.

“I am therefore resigning from my position as European Commissioner, effective immediately.”

“Over the past five years, I have relentlessly striven to uphold and advance the common European good, above national and party interest. It has been an honour,” he said.

“However, in light of these latest developments – further testimony to questionable governance – I have to conclude that I can no longer exercise my duties in the College.”

The 69-year-old was seen by Paris as a key counterweight to Berlin’s influence at the heart of the EU.

Asked about Breton’s resignation today, Taoiseach Simon Harris described him as a “friend to Ireland and a friend to many during the Covid vaccine rollout”.

However, he added that “internal matters in relation to who France nominates to the Commission is a matter for them”.

With reporting from AFP.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

132 Comments
    Sep 17th 2024, 7:41 AM

Ursla trying to consolidate her power as the E.U. project is starting to fall apart over mass invasion from Africa and the middle east.And meanwhile in Ireland with a lot of water between us and the European continent we’re being good Europeans by opening our borders to mass immigration while everyone else is closing theirs case in point Germany doing border checks with fellow E.U. states.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Sep 17th 2024, 7:47 AM

@Adrian: I don’t get it, Germany Holland and Sweden restricting immigration now, meanwhile we are opening the biggest ipas centres in Europe, completely normal nothing to see here.

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Sep 17th 2024, 8:10 AM

@Adrian: Germany going far right once again almost a century later isn’t the flex you think it is.

See 30 more replies ▾
    Mute sean mcnamara
    Favourite sean mcnamara
    Sep 17th 2024, 8:53 AM

@9QRixo8H: So in your opinion, every country that checks paperwork at their border is far right now? That’s most countries in the world!

Mute Laois Weather
    Favourite Laois Weather
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:15 AM

@9QRixo8H: How much inward migration should Ireland accept? Put a figure on it.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:43 AM

@Freda Peeple: you don’t get it? You’re not aware of the state’s struggles to provide basic shelter for asylum seekers? You know, people living in tents on the street, hotels being used at huge cost. Vulnerable people, including women and children, being moved around the country from centre to centre? Refugees and asylum seekers aren’t going away, so we need to find the best way to provide basic shelter for them. I don’t know what the best way is, but I do know that we’re currently doing it in a very bad way.

Mute Brian Barry
    Favourite Brian Barry
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:47 AM

@Adrian:
    God forbid the actual truth being told on what’s going on in this cesspit of a country. No doubt my comment, aswell as yours will be took down at days end!

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:58 AM

@Kevin Kerr: Yea because dumping thousands of migrants outnumbering Irish people in towns is the solution, giant barrack like plantations around the country is not the answer, what do they know that we don’t? Critical thought is something lost on you Kevin, government aren’t trying to fix anything, they are actively encouraging the decimation of our society.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:03 AM

@Freda Peeple: Why would they be actively encouraging the decimation of our society? To what end? I would have thought your loyalist paramilitary friends were in the vanguard of that, not the Irish state

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:13 AM

@Kevin Kerr: Haha still clinging onto the catholics and Protestants coming together for a greater cause. People like you stoking sectarian tensions are no better than the thugs who thrashed the city last year. It’s all you have Kevin. Keep repeating the same “paramilitary loyalists” thing. You literally have nothing else.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:18 AM

@Freda Peeple: our government aren’t in control of anything btw, they are being TOLD to swamp the country with undocumented by Brussels, we are the stage where serious crimes won’t be disclosed to the public to protect “social harmony” freedom of speech soon will be something we can only dream about. Our right to protest will be met with pepper spray and a baton across the head. Unlike you I won’t roll over take it, I’m guessing you are a submissive so you will particularly like the last bit.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:19 AM

@Freda Peeple: not a sectarian bone in my body – I hold republican and loyalist paramilitaries in equal contempt. And I notice you avoided answering my question. No surprise there

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:46 AM

@Freda Peeple: Why are you bringing religion into it.

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:57 AM

@Kevin Kerr: you really should be embarrassed by that comment.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 17th 2024, 11:04 AM

@Kevin Kerr:
    Close up the entry points.
    and make them apply at the embassies.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Sep 17th 2024, 12:28 PM

@H Woo: A naive comment if ever there was one.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Sep 17th 2024, 12:46 PM

@Jack Hayes: No it isn’t, if they rock up looking for handouts, food and accommodation they need to provide documents. ID and country of birthday aka a PASSPORT… if you have taken 3 flights,a boat and a taxi to arrive in the furthest flung part of Europe then questions need to be asked and deportations should ensue. GENUINE asylum seekers are being mistreated due to the scamming majority. It’s not rocket science, it’s obviously beyond yourself and Kevin Kerrs level of intelligence though.

Mute James Brennan
    Favourite James Brennan
    Sep 17th 2024, 1:03 PM

@Freda Peeple: like the man involved in the walking out of a apartment complex with a 5yo child under his arm. He identify won’t be released due to the current social climate, what ever could that mean!!!!!

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Sep 17th 2024, 1:11 PM

@James Brennan: Exactly, like the woman stabbed in Rathmines recently. We won’t hear about these incidents soon, just look at the UK the home office refuses to disclose the nationality breakdown of those commiting crimes,those in prison, and those in receipt of social welfare payments. It’s a race to the bottom.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Sep 17th 2024, 1:20 PM

@Freda Peeple: Bigotry/racism/xenophobia is ‘a greater cause’ now?

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Sep 17th 2024, 1:22 PM

@James Brennan: It could mean that bigots cherry-pick particular crimes and criminals to promote their agenda.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Sep 17th 2024, 1:23 PM

@Freda Peeple: we always do things in reverse they’re closing a hospital for older people in laois and transferring them elsewhere in laois to allow the hospital to be used for asylum seekers only so any pensioner on waiting list can sod off so.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Sep 17th 2024, 1:41 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: ok paid government contributor, whats your thoughts on the Rotherham grooming gang getting no msm coverage?

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Sep 17th 2024, 1:45 PM

@Freda Peeple: I am not a ‘paid government contributor’. See my comment above on the far right’s predilection for cherry-picking crimes to suit its agenda (of course it also loves to spread misinformation).

There are more than 1000 Irish people in jail in England and Wales. Does this reflect badly on the Irish as a whole?

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Sep 17th 2024, 1:47 PM

@Freda Peeple: you think it’s a good idea that asylum seekers fleeing persecution apply for asylum in the embassy of their home country? And in the same paragraph you claim to have concern for genuine asylum seekers? You’re fraud, and a thinly disguised one at that

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Sep 17th 2024, 2:15 PM

@Kevin Kerr: Never mentioned embassy’s you numpty. Try harder

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Sep 17th 2024, 2:15 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Whatabout – government shill paid accounts go to

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Sep 17th 2024, 2:21 PM

@Freda Peeple: And that, right there, is misinformation. You just can’t help yourself.

Any evidence for your claim? Of course not!

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Sep 17th 2024, 2:23 PM

@Freda Peeple: @ h woo suggested it. Jack correctly called it naive, you replied “no it isn’t” – try harder, you numpty

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Sep 17th 2024, 2:31 PM

@Kevin Kerr: You need to get your eyes tested Kevin, no wonder you keep tripping over yourself, so it wasnt me who mentioned the embassy idea. Maybe bring up the loyalist paramilitaries again. You haven’t used that for a good hour or so haha

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Sep 17th 2024, 2:36 PM

@Freda Peeple: You *did* say that the embassy idea was not naive. That is a fact. Why do you hate facts so much?

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Sep 17th 2024, 3:15 PM

@Freda Peeple: you have a very flippant attitude toward loyalist paramilitary. You say is that all I’ve got? – well it’s a bloody big thing “Freda”

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Sep 17th 2024, 3:40 PM

@D. Peado: Germany instuting some sensible restrictions is something that a far left, lazy thinking, malcontent, cannot conprehend.

Mute Jonathan Gildea
    Favourite Jonathan Gildea
    Sep 17th 2024, 7:54 AM

All FF mep’s during the election had said they wouldn’t vote for Ursula due to her support for Israel, but yet, when they were threatened to not get a commissioners job, Micheal Martin pulled them in and they backtracked and voted for her. Spineless cronies the lot of them!

Mute Tadhg Keating
    Favourite Tadhg Keating
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:29 AM

@Jonathan Gildea: All FF MEPs voted against her but dont let the facts get in the way of your agenda.

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:06 AM

@Jonathan Gildea: It’s what politicians do. They thought if they sucked up to Ursula, she would give Mc Grath a position in Finance. That didn’t go well.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:46 AM

@Jonathan Gildea:
    Who cares
    We have bagged a top EU position for the Irish people.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:47 AM

@Patrick MC Dermott: But they didn’t do that.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Sep 17th 2024, 12:12 PM

@Jonathan Gildea: get your facts right before u text drivel

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Sep 17th 2024, 1:27 PM

@H Woo: just a grade above teaboy, but they’ll spin to sound useful.

Mute sakk sa
    Favourite sakk sa
    Sep 17th 2024, 7:57 AM

First bring justice inside .
    Start with bike shelter case , followed by 10 billion tax from Meta , and give your opinion at 176 billion wasted in 2008

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Sep 17th 2024, 2:46 PM

@sakk sa: What’s 176bn wasted?

Mute sakk sa
    Favourite sakk sa
    Sep 17th 2024, 3:43 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: 176 billion vaporised , bailed , vanished ,diapered, wasted, what ever English word !

Mute barry lyons
    Favourite barry lyons
    Sep 17th 2024, 8:24 AM

That is like making Willie Wonka head of dentistry

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Sep 17th 2024, 1:39 PM

@barry lyons: at least willy wonka kept the umpa lumpas moving the whole time that shower in there are as much use as an ashtray on a motorbike.

Mute John Boyle
    Favourite John Boyle
    Sep 17th 2024, 8:37 AM

These commissioner should be elected by the people of IRELAND

Mute Laois Weather
    Favourite Laois Weather
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:17 AM

@John Boyle: Agreed. Same with the Seanad too.

Mute Jimmy The Mink
    Favourite Jimmy The Mink
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:39 AM

@John Boyle: John, EU Commissioners do not have a national mandate.

What this means is that they are not supposed to act in the interests of Ireland or any other one country. They are there to act in the interests of the EU as a whole.

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:43 AM

@Jimmy The Mink: So?

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Sep 17th 2024, 5:07 PM

@John Boyle: 100%

Mute Charles Mc Carthy
    Favourite Charles Mc Carthy
    Sep 17th 2024, 11:56 AM

Ah, finance was never our strong point. If the role however was for wasting time and money, and filling the coffers of others, then there really is no one close to the incompetence of our Government.

100m – Abandoned Stadium Project
    470m – Overrun – Luas
    150m – Overspend Port Tunnel
    160m – Suspended PPARS payroll system
    86.5m – Dumped Vaccines
    54m – Electronic Voting Machines
    10m – Diesel Generators, Stuck in Dublin Port as they are too heavy for the Dublin Port
    30m – Ventilators which never arrived
    450m – PPE equipment that was never used
    540m – Water meters
    150m – Abandoned transport projects
    750m – RTE bailout
    2m – Printer that was too large to install in the Dail
    335k – Dail Bike Shed
    The “piece de le resistance”
    2.24 billion – National Children’s Hospital
    (Still ongoing)

Sep 17th 2024, 10:31 PM

@Charles Mc Carthy: That prison in North Dublin…

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:56 PM

@Charles Mc Carthy: ‘lessons learned’

Mute Áine G
    Favourite Áine G
    Sep 17th 2024, 8:16 AM

He didn’t get the gig he wanted which was an economic portfolio.

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Sep 17th 2024, 11:55 AM

@Áine G: Despite what we imagine ourselves to be we are a very small member state with not a lot of clout. The fact that we get to send someone to Brussels for a big job is about as good as we can expect and if Ukraine at some stage gets admitted to the EU we will become even less relevant.

Mute RIP
    Favourite RIP
    Sep 17th 2024, 8:40 AM

Not what we wanted, no matter how it’s spun

Mute 5aeex4zc
    Favourite 5aeex4zc
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:11 AM

The irony of a ff minister on the anti corruption team

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:50 AM

@John Riley:
    Ireland.
    In the top 12 least corrupt countries in the world.
    Goggle is your friend.

Mute 5aeex4zc
    Favourite 5aeex4zc
    Sep 17th 2024, 12:30 PM

@H Woo: others must be bad

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Sep 17th 2024, 1:24 PM

@H Woo: Do they include things like, a governing party changing the law to allow itself to register as a charity in order to raise funds to clear their debt, in the criteria for that list ? hmmm .. most probably not. Just because ya make a legal loopholes for yourself to snake trough, doesn’t make it any less corrupt in my opinion. No doubt you see that as an acceptable practice.

Sep 17th 2024, 8:23 PM

@H Woo: That’s OK.

We just legalized what most of us would consider corruption, so it doesn’t count.

Mute If you're
    Favourite If you're
    Sep 17th 2024, 8:37 AM

Why is everyone so pizzed and down on politics and democracy? To paraphrase Churchill, it’s the best of the worst systems. Maybe some of the the contributers here should pick up a history book and realise how lucky they are.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:20 AM

@If you’re: Ironic that you quote Churchill ‘The problem with the Irish is that they refuse to be English’ threatened Collins that he attack the Four Courts or the British would. Do you have sonething from Cromwell next?

Mute Tom O' Donnell
    Favourite Tom O' Donnell
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:35 AM

@Brian D’Arcy: It is possible for the same person to say something wise and something else foolish.

Sep 17th 2024, 9:48 AM

@Tom O’ Donnell: Churchill never said anything wise.

But he was great at the soundbites, that the non thinker might take to be wisdom.

And racism.

Mute 5aeex4zc
    Favourite 5aeex4zc
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:34 AM

@If you’re: you couldn’t pick up a history book and read about the Churchill genocide years before you started praising him

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:49 AM

@If you’re:
    Losers do not read books

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:55 AM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere:
    Show a bit of gratude. He helped to defeate the nazi.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 17th 2024, 11:06 AM

@Brian D’Arcy:

Well FF and FG have put the four courts thing behind them
    So I’m sure you can to.

Mute If you're
    Favourite If you're
    Sep 17th 2024, 4:32 PM

@5aeex4zc: Didn’t praise him, I paraphrased him…

Mute If you're
    Favourite If you're
    Sep 17th 2024, 4:37 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: I didn’t quote him, I paraphrased his observation. And technically it’s not Irony. Like him or loath him you wouldn’t be here today if he didn’t undertake the actions attributed to him. His actions saved Europe and democracy.

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Sep 17th 2024, 5:30 PM

@If you’re: The British didn’t save anyone. They were saved themselves, by the yanks and the Russians

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Sep 17th 2024, 5:38 PM

@H Woo: Stalin helped defeat the Nazis too! Do we need to “show a bit of gratitude” to him? Or is it just racist, war criminal, British establishment shills that you would have us be grateful to?

Mute If you're
    Favourite If you're
    Sep 17th 2024, 6:18 PM

@Darth O’Leary: Absolutely. I don’t know why you put show a bit of gratitude in quotes. If you eejits bothered to read the posts properly, I never said that. I only paraphrased a Churchill quote, which probably wasn’t his anyway. Now I’m suppose to be paying gratitude to Stalin. Sweet Jaysus.

Sep 17th 2024, 8:18 PM

@H Woo: There wasn’t a lot of difference between Churchill and any Nazi.

Look what he did to the Irish.

Look to the famine he caused in Bengal.

He made disastrous discussions in the war – actually both wars. Allen Brook’s toughest job was probably to try to talk him out of some of these, and minimize the harm done.

Gallipoli was Churchill.
    So was the catastrophic Norway campaign.
    And the Greek expedition, which allowed Rommel to get the upper hand in North Africa and added at least a year to the war
    And many more besides.

And he loosed the Black and Tans on the Irish too.

He was a racist piece of excrement who predicted, rightly, that ‘history will be kind to me, for I shall write it’s.

But the truth of that will become known too.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Sep 17th 2024, 8:45 AM

FG back on the pony trot loads of promises now election looming now.

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:12 AM

@Phillip Smyth: SF out in front with a house for everyone in the audience.

Sep 17th 2024, 9:51 AM

@Vincent Alexander: Oh good.

It’s about time someone will do *something* about our decades-old housing crisis.

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Sep 17th 2024, 11:13 AM

@Vincent Alexander: They didn’t deliver on housing in the North. Can’t see it being any different here.

Sep 17th 2024, 8:20 PM

@Vincent Alexander: Is the housing situation in the North better or worse than here?

Mute liam ward
    Favourite liam ward
    Sep 17th 2024, 8:07 AM

Jobs for the boys club what happens when his kicked outta office @ election time will he have to give up his new cushy post too or will he fight tooth and nail to hang onto it

Mute Sean Hayes
    Favourite Sean Hayes
    Sep 17th 2024, 8:25 AM

@liam ward: Not an elected position. You have no idea how the world works

Sep 17th 2024, 8:45 AM

@liam ward: MMcG is not running in upcoming GE. He has been nominated to the EU Commission by the sitting Government. He took the easy out and landed a massive payday for himself!!

Sep 17th 2024, 9:45 AM

@Sean Hayes: But should be.

In a democratic Europe.

Mute Jimmy The Mink
    Favourite Jimmy The Mink
    Sep 17th 2024, 12:20 PM

@liam ward: @ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: We elect our MEPs and have sent a new bunch of them to Europe recently.

If we voted on Commisioners, of which there are few, the states with the largest populations would have all of the Commisioners. Which would be a lot less democratic.

McGrath has been put forward by our elected government.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Sep 17th 2024, 3:50 PM

@Jimmy The Mink: that’s too hard for some people to understand….

Sep 17th 2024, 8:27 PM

@Jimmy The Mink: Why?

If Ireland had one commissioner, and that commissioner was elected by the Irish people, then how would that change the number of commissioners?

Mute carol mullen
    Favourite carol mullen

A Fianna Fail politician in charge of tackling corruption, you couldn’t make it up.

Mute Chris Wilson
    Favourite Chris Wilson
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:02 AM

Brown paper envelopes tied up in string.

Mute bruce banner
    Favourite bruce banner
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:27 AM

Well suited to the position. Hes an expert on corruption should come in handy on the job.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:19 AM

FFS

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Sep 17th 2024, 8:32 AM

Nice portfolio to get for him and the country. Just think, Phil Hogan could still be out there representing us…

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:06 AM

His aspirations for a finance role were well and truly scuppered by his FF colleagues in the European Parliament.
    This is a ‘nobody’ job.

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Sep 17th 2024, 11:42 AM

This is a guy that barely got elected in the last general election by taking the last seat in his constituency, off then to the next step in his agenda and that is to get a ministerial job in government which of course he got, by this stage now his constituents and constituency are long forgotten as greater opportunities are on the horizon and today he reached the peak of the summit albeit not the portfolio he was hoping for. Meanwhile back in his constituency his party colleagues are gearing up to contest his seat in the upcoming general election and will be knocking on people’s doors spouting the same old lies and promises in the hope of getting elected and following in the footsteps of their predecessor by putting their own self interests first. God bless the “Healy Raes”.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Sep 17th 2024, 12:13 PM

@Leonard Barry: Good luck to him He done a great job himself & pascal

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:27 AM

Blue Peter Badge award season for Brussels

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:42 AM

Knowing the reputation of “friends and family first” of his party, just imagine the disaster at the european level…. but that would match Von Den Liar politics

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo

@Dominic Leleu:
    A bit like Shin Fein appointing their friends and family to paid positions in the assembly

Mute Lhamo Fitzsimons
    Favourite Lhamo Fitzsimons
    Sep 17th 2024, 11:00 AM

Absolutely shocked and disturbed at the news that Ursula asked to France to withdraw one of the greatest ever EU officials-Thierry Breton. This is extremely worrying news and I hope Mr Breton continues to be a positive and leading force within the EU despite Ursula’s best efforts.

Mute Tom L
    Favourite Tom L
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:52 AM

Getting what he wants, a place at the feeding trough for all the newly appointed non republic non democratic non voted for system pigs.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:08 AM

@Tom L: he didn’t get what he wanted, he got a minor job.
    But the process is very democratic. We elect a government, they nominate a commissioner. Simple, really.

Mute Ben dover
    Favourite Ben dover
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:41 AM

What an acoldade, well done Michael!

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Sep 17th 2024, 11:42 AM

The Brits tried it with Up yours Delors. We tried it with up yours Ursula. Now Ursula has responded with Up yours Harris.

Mute John Hally
    Favourite John Hally
    Sep 17th 2024, 1:11 PM

So the Government got shafted. No economics portfolio for Mickey. He might as well have stayed at home to lead FF

Mute Aidan Collins
    Favourite Aidan Collins
    Sep 17th 2024, 11:10 AM

In reality, it’s a slap in the face for Harris and Co from VdeL.

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Sep 17th 2024, 11:00 AM

She had such great plans, but folded like a cheap suit when the pressure came on.
    She’s unlikely to last until Christmas, the countdown is on.
    The sooner her and her team of fascist despots are consigned to history, the better and safer for us all.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 17th 2024, 11:07 AM

@Garry Coll:
    Who are we talking about here?
    Mary lou?

Mute David Linehan
    Favourite David Linehan
    Sep 17th 2024, 12:45 PM

Playing the lackey pays off

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 17th 2024, 11:01 AM

An English king once said.
    If you want to roast an Irishman, Get an Irish man to turn the handle.
    Plenty of volunteers on this side judging by the begrudgery

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Sep 17th 2024, 8:59 AM

Typo FF

Mute jim delaney
    Favourite jim delaney
    Sep 17th 2024, 2:53 PM

Oh this is one big slap down for FF no matter how they try to spin it …
    Pascal laughing up his sleeve ,FG so far ahead of FF in the game of politics, teaching them lessons in every department..Michael Martin has turned FF into a subs bench for FG ..

Mute Paul Kavanagh
    Favourite Paul Kavanagh
    Sep 17th 2024, 2:23 PM

Another rodent running for the hills.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 17th 2024, 10:43 AM

Excellent . The more important positions held by Irish people in the EU the better for Ireland

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Sep 17th 2024, 1:54 PM

@H Woo: but this isn’t one of those…

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Sep 17th 2024, 9:08 AM

so what happen if he does not get the job ?

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Sep 17th 2024, 1:45 PM

I think he will be a good fit for the portfolio. Best of luck to him.

Mute James King
    Favourite James King
    Sep 17th 2024, 12:41 PM

Congratulations. That’s some coup. Very much a top post. Brilliant to see.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Sep 17th 2024, 1:28 PM

@James King: they’d have lost by ten goals to anyone else…

Mute Patrick Fitzgibbon
    Favourite Patrick Fitzgibbon
    Sep 17th 2024, 11:40 AM

Fly high little sparrow

Mute Pelagius Asturias
    Favourite Pelagius Asturias
    Sep 17th 2024, 8:28 PM

Every dog has its day.