You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Julien Behal/PA

Mick Wallace 'will not be distracted' by Peter Robinson threat to sue

Robinson has sent the TD a legal letter about a tweet he sent.

INDEPENDENT TD MICK Wallace has hit out at former Northern Ireland First Minister Peter Robinson after he received a legal letter from the DUP leader.

The letter of complaint was in relation to a tweet Wallace had sent about Robinson and Nama. Today Wallace’s solicitor Gareth Noble said the TD has a “proud public record of highlighting important matters in the public interest in relation to issues which demand transparency, openness and accountability.”

He shall not be distracted or deterred from continuing his work by the threat of legal action.

“It is not considered that the commentary referred to on social media was in any way defamatory. We also note that MR Robinson himself has given interviews to the media, including the BBC, where he was asked to address issues around the Nama controversy.”

Responding to the threat to sue, Wallace said:

One would have thought that Mr Robinson would make better use of his time if he concentrated on stabilising the political situation in Northern Ireland, rather than taking legal action to shut down debate on an issue that is of great public concern, in particular for the taxpayer in the Republic of Ireland.

His solicitor said that should Robinson wish to pursue the matter, the action will be defended in full.

Read: Gerry Adams thinks Peter Robinson is “making a show of himself”>
Read: Peter Robinson has resigned as First Minister of Northern Ireland>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

99 Comments
    Mute alwaysrightokay
    Favourite alwaysrightokay
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:38 PM

if Robinson is short a few bob he can ask his wife to get some of that money back from the coffee shop she sponsored!

Mute Malvolio32
    Favourite Malvolio32
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:05 PM

Services rendered I believe

Mute alwaysrightokay
    Favourite alwaysrightokay
    Sep 19th 2015, 12:26 AM

decommissioned vagina more like

Mute Left, left, stop
    Favourite Left, left, stop
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:35 PM

If Wallace is so sure of what he says, why use parliamentary privilege? Wallace banned me from his twitter feed for asking questions about his non payment of his staff pensions and his use of expenses. Wallace is a spoofer and a Waster.

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh

He didn’t use parliamentary privilege, it’s over a tweet. And Wallace has done more good as a TD than the vast majority of government backbench TDs who exist only to vote for the government and draw their huge wages.

Mute Left, left, stop
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:41 PM

He used privilege to start the whole process and now he is saying tweets don’t count.

See 31 more replies ▾
    Mute james Goodyear
    Favourite james Goodyear
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:51 PM

Richard, can you give a list off all the fantastic things Wallace has done for his country?

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:52 PM

Left left stop. Mick Wallace is sure of all he reports, its the others who have to watch out. Go on Mick, at last we have someone who is for the People. Thank you.

Mute Left, left, stop
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:55 PM

So why use parliamentary privilege? He’s a coward and a proven tax dodger and cheat.

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly

im just delighted hasn’t added to the shite unlike a lot of them

Mute Lou Tennant
    Favourite Lou Tennant

For the people?? What about the people who used to work for him? He wasn’t exactly for them was he?

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:07 PM

true but we really have bigger fish to get and the cooker is switched off.

Mute james Goodyear
    Favourite james Goodyear
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:11 PM

Why would you need a cooker to get fish?

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:14 PM

Left. left stop. Yet ANOTHER wesole identity. About three on the go at the moment. Journal, have you ANY policy at all on trolling?…. I see, banned, am I? Shure, why not.

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:14 PM

apologies I did type FRY but my smartphone IS a smartarse :)

Mute Left, left, stop
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:16 PM

Rashers, it’s one identity, one twitter account, one person, I use the edit button to brighten up my day every few months. One account.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:18 PM

Bollocks

Mute Pearse McMullen
    Favourite Pearse McMullen
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:24 PM

Dziadek uncaged,sunshine on a rainy…I can`t remember the rest, but the reason you change is not to brighten up your day every few months,
    The reason you change, is because everyone gets used to your shite talk and knows who you are, you change it because people are sick of it, and you crap is not working anymore, you have had more faces than a second hand clock repairer, I reckon ou are like that in real life too.

Mute Left, left, stop
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:27 PM

Same twitter account guys, sorry to disappoint ye. Never been banned unlike people like for connolly. If it bollocks rasher, te twitter handle would change but it never has, @wesole123

Mute Pearse McMullen
    Favourite Pearse McMullen
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:29 PM

I notice you didn`t dispute my point though, only reason you change your profile is because everyone gets sick of you and you don“t feel relevant anymore.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:31 PM

was for connolly banned?

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:36 PM

Interesting to see the Blueshirts willing to throw parliamentary privilege out the window to score political points.Of course by backing the leader of the DUP on this they think they’ll also score against SF. What happened to letting the police up north concluding their investigation?? Or are the afraid about what they might turn up.Enda can’t threaten the head of the fraud squad in the UK into resignation I guess.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:42 PM

Jamsey, your point is well made. It appears that “abuse of parliamentary privilege ” only applies to Independents or members of minor parties. We have all heard and seen the Government parties ‘abuse ‘ privilege for political advantage, but apparently that’s perfectly fine.

Mute Left, left, stop
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:51 PM

Profile isn’t changed, twitter account isn’t changed

Sep 18th 2015, 10:02 PM

lls I think your confusing Mr Wallace with no spine Enda to be honest.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Sep 18th 2015, 10:22 PM

Kerry he’s a proven tax cheat. He took pension money from workers and didn’t put it into their fund, leaving them short. How is he any better than FG/lab?

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 18th 2015, 10:29 PM

why?

Mute Magnus
    Favourite Magnus
    Sep 18th 2015, 10:37 PM

Jesus, are we still judging Wallace on his ex business issues. This guy has singlehandedly given more service in the Dail, on Shattergate alone, than the opposition parties did. No-one can deny he has been useful: bringing up his past continuously is a waste of time now and if people have a recourse to action then let them take a civil suit against the guy for whatever you say they’re owed. It’s just clogging up the board repeating the same stuff. He went bust, shit happens, anywhere else it would be long forgotten about.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 18th 2015, 10:46 PM

if I could you’d get 1000 green thumbs. Everyone seems to have short memories…no sorry I apologise…friends of government seem to have short memories. And their friends And their friends friends.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Sep 18th 2015, 10:49 PM

Magnus that’s like saying Micheal Martin is a great fella, sure didn’t he save thousands of people from getting cancer by bringing in the smoking ban. Doesn’t matter what he did before or after.
    Wallace isn’t some innocent builder who got into trouble and couldn’t pay his bills. He gave himself and his son more money while misappropriating pension fund money.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 18th 2015, 10:57 PM

let Robinson sue..go for it..lets bring it all out. If he’s the big man he wants to be..let him sue. But he wont. I for one would wish all could be brought out, thrashed out( metaphorically) and we could have peace. Because realistically at the end of the day..us down here are not affected, but there are a million people affected by this silly carry on. In the grand scheme of things I am a nobody…but I am one nobody that wants peace, a communal community and wants to live in a divert country that gets on. We live in such an open, internet world, any arguments are nearly mute now.

Mute Magnus
    Favourite Magnus
    Sep 18th 2015, 11:05 PM

Is that established fact, your version of events, or conjecture? Difference between Michael Martin and Wallace should be obvious. One was a self-employed business man, the other is a lifer on a state salary. Again Jane, if people were shortchanged let them take him to court for their money. I don’t know the ins and outs of his financial collapse in detail. Lots of business leave people in the shit when they fail. Thats’a hard reality of working in the private sector. Is there something about his particular demise that was so different to most others?

Mute Sol thai
    Favourite Sol thai
    Sep 19th 2015, 7:44 AM

I could give you a list but your mind is closed so what’s the point? Compare him to say Brian Crowley FF MEP who hasn’t turned up and has lowest attendance in history?? Maybe Michael Noonan!! List the damage he’s done against just this one good thing???

Mute Sol thai
    Favourite Sol thai
    Sep 19th 2015, 7:55 AM

A proven tax cheat that old chestnut??

You are so profoundly stupid it’s hard to fathom

The Properties are taken from people who in most cases are doing their best. Sold way under value to a horrible vulture fund!!

There is a possibility of some few dodgy crook politicians getting backhanders out of this corrupt little deal!!

And your comment is about the person who exposed the scam and years old lies about how in the last days of his business he paid his suppliers first!!!

That means either you are thick or working for the dark side!! Which is it??

Mute John Pidgeon
    Favourite John Pidgeon
    Sep 19th 2015, 8:26 AM

Paid all his suppliers? Are you deluded? Think you need to do a little research there, try starting with his subcontractors and then work your way back to his suppliers. And then when you are finished remember he signed over a vineyard worth approx. €1 million to his brother just before it went south.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Sep 19th 2015, 10:54 PM

Sol so it’s ok that he filed false return to revenue? He didn’t just run into trouble and not pay his tax, he filed false returns.
    You know what ye deserve what ye get in the politicians that are elected.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Sep 19th 2015, 10:59 PM

Magnus it was widely reported at the time and I didn’t see him sue anyone so I take from that it was the truth.
    As you say lots of business went bust, in my own family 2 went bust that were in the building trade. In both their cases though they were the ones not taking a wage while paying the staff and trying to keep the business afloat and ride it out. They may have owed revenue money when it went belly up but they never tried to defraud revenue by making a false return. I don’t think they should be lumped into the same bracket.

Mute FlyB
    Favourite FlyB

Doesn’t matter if Robinson wins this case. Wallace isn’t exactly renowned for paying his debts.

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Sep 18th 2015, 10:24 PM

He can’t stand debts / bills with VAT on them.

Mute dannyboy
    Favourite dannyboy
    Sep 18th 2015, 10:25 PM

plus vat

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Sep 18th 2015, 11:06 PM

wallace pays his bills back, ask revenue. not to mention his work as a td surpassing 95% of whats in the dail
    If a gov td was faced with the same situation as robinson is you can be sure we would get an inquiry headed up by a retired high court judge that would neither be able to enquire nor provide findings of fact
    do yout think robinson will ever go to court?? its a sham cover for the up coming elections in the north

Mute FlyB
    Favourite FlyB
    Sep 18th 2015, 11:08 PM

An erudite contribution my friend. Go back to your Campfire now like a good man and take your four Twitter followers with you.

Mute FlyB
    Favourite FlyB
    Sep 18th 2015, 11:09 PM

@ Rashers of course

Mute FlyB
    Favourite FlyB
    Sep 18th 2015, 11:11 PM

@Ciaran. You cannot defend a man who pockets his employees pension contributions.

Mute dannyboy
    Favourite dannyboy
    Sep 18th 2015, 11:18 PM

I cannot agree with…makes my blood boil that his company owes the guts of €20 million in vat and he still stays as a sitting TD with a voice..but any small business who owe relatively small sums are simply put out of business and workers lose their jobs…it’s always a two tier system and always will be…

Mute Fill in Later
    Favourite Fill in Later
    Sep 19th 2015, 7:46 AM

Wallace one of the developers who brought the country to its knee’s now playing the hero !!

Mute Sandra
    Favourite Sandra
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:52 PM

looks like its a fight, pull up seat grab a beer! hup hup !!

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Sep 18th 2015, 10:27 PM

It’s like de ja vu. A td highlighting a serious matter that concerns taxpayers of this state . in this case NAMA , and someone trying to stop it. Reminds me of Catherine Murphy td and siteserv, irbc and dob.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:53 PM

Didn’t include the offending tweet? I overheard it’s about project eagle and the attack on the peace process. Then again, maybe not it’s not. Who knows?

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:39 PM

He should be arrested by the fashion police.

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:47 PM

Wallace doing what the voters expect him to do. Highlight taxpayers concerns.
    Doing what FG promised to do.

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:49 PM

I know which of the two gentleman I prefer..

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:49 PM

Never judge a book by its cover!

Mute Left, left, stop
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:50 PM

Pity he doesn’t pay his taxes. Invading run ways is not what tax payers want.’

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:56 PM

it’s the big guys that destroyed this country… actally it’s the big guys in All the capitalist counties that contributed.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:57 PM

David who should be alerted by the fashion Police.
    Give me Wallace any day, he seems to be honest. And don’t recall his tax we all know. At least he is paying back what he owes.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason

How you can you say he is honest when he is a convicted tax dodger?

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:26 PM

Enough playing the man…we are coming up to an election soon. Lets start focussing.. seriously. Lets start looking at the alternatives, lets hear what they have to say. For the first time in most peoples lives, lets take the upcoming election seriously and get thinking. And the journal.ie could take the lead. By running an equal, partisan, piece on all candidates, instead of all the party bashing thats going on…I for one will never do party politics again..I dont like the main parties anymore. I want a change..a sea change.

Mute Michael Nyhan
    Favourite Michael Nyhan
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:35 PM

He seems to be honest …. Come on, this guy is an embarrassment. Trespassing on Irish Aviation Authority property, ( if it were you or I the matter would have be dealt with ages ago with a fines and / or possibly a jail sentence) failure from his Companies to pay taxes, the state of him going in to The Dail… Plain and simple he’s a disgrace !!

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:43 PM

well for that ‘trespassing’ alone he’d get my vote

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:54 PM

well a lot of developers bankers … politicians haven’t been convicted of anything yup salt of the earth types ( my ass )

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:56 PM

Another ‘munster ‘ person – nyhan – need we say more.

Sep 18th 2015, 9:59 PM

Trespassing? Well I never how shocking. I’m just sad I don’t live in his constituency because I’s vote for Wallace in preference to those people being touted by FF, FG or Labour.

Mute Michael Nyhan
    Favourite Michael Nyhan
    Sep 18th 2015, 10:01 PM

Great point… Tierney… How could I have a come back for that one …. FOOL !!

Mute Michael Nyhan
    Favourite Michael Nyhan
    Sep 18th 2015, 10:06 PM

I’d vote for anybody but that tool !!Maybe you should move ??

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Sep 18th 2015, 10:19 PM

I can’t believe the very people defending Wallace are the ones who rage against the government for perceived injustices.
    Wallace made false returns to revenue while at the very same time giving himself and his son a pay rise when he knew the company was in serious trouble. He was deducting pension contributions from his staff but not putting it into the pension funds.

The government are bad but cheerleading for this lad??? Seriously?

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Sep 18th 2015, 11:08 PM

@jane, you should check your facts

Mute Colin
    Favourite Colin
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:44 PM

He is the biggest Pratt in our government buildings. What has he done as a statesman? Nothing but a shyster

Sep 18th 2015, 10:25 PM

So define what “it’s not our debt” “seismic shift” Enda has managed as a statesman? Being patted on the head by Sarkozy doesn’t count by the way.

Mute Loz
    Favourite Loz
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:03 PM

Ahhh! I come here to get away from our news up here. Can’t believe the first story I see is about that nut Peter Robinson raging he’s infiltrated my southern news lol
    He’s an ejit! Don’t know why he responded to your mans tweet, the way he gets on is that down there in the dail is on a different planet!

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite

Bit of 50/50 split on Wallace here……
    One thing we can all agree though, he does have lovely hair. Very Joey Tempest of Europe fame (the band not the fascist dictatorship).
    I’ll bet he still uses Timotae!

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Sep 18th 2015, 10:15 PM

Jon Bon Wallace.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:06 PM

I don’t give a rat’s ass what anyone on this forum thinks of Wallace. I say “fair play to you and keep on trucking “. As a business man there have been mistakes, which were in the halfpenny place when compared with others. Face that obnoxious bluenose down, Mick. Any right thinking person will be behind you.

Mute Oliver McLoughlin
    Favourite Oliver McLoughlin
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:16 PM

Ah Rashers, better the devil you know (like) is it?
    Sure who cares about a little lie, others tell bigger fibs. Great rationality.
    I don’t totally disagree with you but the rationality is a little shady to say the least.

Mute Left, left, stop
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:17 PM

Tell that to the guys in Wexford who’s pensions he screwed over

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:30 PM

true but om more posed off with the billions we apparently owe and which future generations will pay for.

Mute Oliver McLoughlin
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:38 PM

That is true Margaret, though doesn’t dishonesty and lies morph from small beginnings. I suppose my point is the rationale of worse things happening on the world stage cannot take away from the small steps on a local level. It just gets scaled down, or up.

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:41 PM

but it’s the BIG lies I hate.

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:45 PM

very good!

Mute Oliver McLoughlin
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:47 PM

Margaret, I get ye.

Mute Mike Cantwell
    Favourite Mike Cantwell
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:02 PM

Wallace is a muppet

Mute Alan Henderson
    Favourite Alan Henderson
    Sep 18th 2015, 10:05 PM

This party political broadcast was brought to you from.. a muppet.

Mute Dara Lynch
    Favourite Dara Lynch

Well done Mick Wallace

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:37 PM

more tds like Mick,that’s what we need.

Mute Oliver McLoughlin
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:38 PM

Why?

Sep 18th 2015, 10:28 PM

Because people talk to them and tell them about things going on that should be stopped?

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus
    Sep 19th 2015, 12:24 AM

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/nama-deal-peter-robinson-had-dinner-with-top-bankers-before-scandal-31388615.html

the assembly in the north being pulled down distracted from this and grabbed all the media & public attention.
    robinson has plenty to answer for……………wallace is rattling his cage, i suspect this is why the legal threats are being made.
    whether or not a person likes wallace is not the issue here………………..the issue is the public is being screwed by NAMA and the IBRC, those in power are willingly ignoring this and have some interests in burying the issue.
    personally i am grateful to wallace for keeping up the pressure.

Mute MrsWoman
    Favourite MrsWoman
    Sep 18th 2015, 10:17 PM

Wallace. An absolute waster.

Mute dannyboy
    Favourite dannyboy
    Sep 18th 2015, 11:19 PM

Couldn’t agree more

Mute dannyboy
    Favourite dannyboy
    Sep 18th 2015, 11:22 PM

but instead of using the letters a and n in your spelling of waster I would have used n and k…

Mute Adam Hynes
    Favourite Adam Hynes
    Sep 18th 2015, 11:58 PM

If what Wallace says turns out to be true Robinson would have had to resign in the morning. Like any good politician he’s ditching the ship before it sinks…unionists can’t take much more with Scottish independence running so close and if labour get elected in England they will want rid of Northern Ireland immediately. The best case scenario is for FG and DUP is to keep shouting murder as loud as they can at Sinn Fein in the hope that it reduces the support they are gaining through the modern day revelations of dirty dealings of governments north and south. The fact Robinson has had time to send solicitors letters to a brick layer from Wexford at a time like this shows he must have something on him.

Mute Gary Brennan
    Favourite Gary Brennan
    Sep 19th 2015, 9:04 AM

This issue is the main reason Robinson stood aside as first minister in the north. if this all comes out before election he wont be given his lords seat in Westminster. Turn the focus to the IRA and Sinn Fein instead.

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Sep 19th 2015, 6:46 AM

He looks more and more like Pat Kenny every day and I don’t meant Mick Wallace who is 100 times more of an Irish man than either Robinson or Kenny could ever be

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Sep 19th 2015, 2:07 AM

Wallace Wallace Wallace.. a man with BALLS

Mute Ros Aodha
    Favourite Ros Aodha
    Sep 19th 2015, 11:59 AM

criminal hippy should pay his taxes. Hopefully that’s the end of his windy career as an annoyance in govt opposition and pure waste of my taxes.

Mute AntiTreeHugger
    Favourite AntiTreeHugger
    Sep 19th 2015, 2:17 PM

Exactly. The man accumulated debts in the millions. People still forget this. This guy is one the very same people gives out about. And idiots think he’s great. He’s a gangster.

Sep 18th 2015, 10:35 PM

Good old yellow pages comes to mind…

Sep 18th 2015, 10:36 PM
    Mute Frank Judit
    Favourite Frank Judit
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:05 AM

Our services are fast and reliable, loans are approved within 3 hours
    of application. we offer
    loans from a minimum range of $2,000 to a maximum of $10 million. We
    are certified and
    your privacy is 100% safe with us. Worry no more
    about your loans or finances and contact us today via email at
    (reachgibsonloan2015@outlook.com)
    and get your instant loan approval today.