You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

These are the most inappropriate selfies in selfie history

From the ‘nuclear disaster’ selfie, to the ‘in jail’ selfie.

THIS MONTH THE world saw one of its most ill-timed selfies yet go viral, when an American high school student took a snap of himself with his teacher in the background…while she appeared to be in labour.

However, Malik Whiter is not the first person to take an inappropriate selfie.  In fact there are hundreds of them.

Here is a selection of some of the most ill-timed selfies in the history of selfies.

The ‘got pulled over by the cops’ selfie

sjUkKAs Imgur Imgur

The ‘holding someone’s ashes’ selfie

ashes Selfies at serious places Selfies at serious places

The ‘Anne Frank House’ selfie

2eby2ag Selfies at serious places Selfies at serious places

The ‘I just nearly died’ selfie

olI2BCp Imgur Imgur

The ‘nuclear disaster’ selfie

biqk2h Selfies at serious places Selfies at serious places

The ‘house is on fire’ selfie

572oEjB Imgur Imgur

The ‘grandma’s funeral’ selfie

bdtr48 Selfies at serious places Selfies at serious places

The ‘we’re going streaking’ selfie

qMcT8AB Imgur Imgur

The ‘hungover at the 9/11 memorial’ selfie

21n33px Selfies at serious places Selfies at serious places

And the ‘at the jail’ selfie

38k7kKD Imgur Imgur

Mum urges her son’s Facebook friends to stop posting sexy selfies>

Teenager goes viral with selfie taken with his teacher who was in labour>

53 Comments
    Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:04 PM

All ‘selfies’ are inappropriate

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:47 PM

Strange days..
    The word “selfie” had an entirely different meaning when I was growing up..

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:19 PM

That cop looks like he’s going to snap

Mute Dave O'Reilly
    Favourite Dave O'Reilly
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:22 PM

I hope he did, and the fireman got a slap!

Mute Brendan Harlowe
    Favourite Brendan Harlowe
    Oct 26th 2013, 7:02 PM

It’s worse when people like their own selfies on FB just to put it back into newsfeed again

Mute Darragh Mcnamara
    Favourite Darragh Mcnamara
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:14 PM

selfies for the selfish and arseh&oles

Mute Donal Flynn
    Favourite Donal Flynn
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:39 PM

The streaker one is gas

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:51 PM

The head on the security guy. He’s clearly more terrified about being in the photo than he is about catching her. “I’m camera shy! Leave me alone!”

Mute sinto
    Favourite sinto
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:39 AM

Worst streaker ever…….still has her clothes on!?

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:46 PM

The idiot fireman! If he was on my staff I’d fire him!!!

Mute dave
    Favourite dave
    Oct 26th 2013, 7:20 PM

Nice pun ;-)

Mute Lyndsey Rellis
    Favourite Lyndsey Rellis
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:42 PM

What is wrong with these people??!!

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:52 PM

They are attention seekers. You know, like the morons who walk around wearing Borat mankinis at music festivals.

Mute Mick Stafford
    Favourite Mick Stafford
    Oct 26th 2013, 8:19 PM

Ashes? What Ashes…..!

Mute Wastrel
    Favourite Wastrel
    Oct 26th 2013, 9:13 PM

the just-nearly-died one is brilliant! Don’t let a brush with death keep you down.

Mute Irish Red
    Favourite Irish Red
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:51 AM

Yeah! Not entirely sure about the ‘no brain damage’ statement if her first reaction is to take a selfie!!

Mute Michelle Mc Loughney
    Favourite Michelle Mc Loughney
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:11 PM

Missed the one with the girl saying “let’s get this abortion done yo.” while in the clinic.

Mute Paul Durnin
    Favourite Paul Durnin
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:23 PM

That’s because this is for ‘Inappropriate’ selfies.

Mute Ben Reilly
    Favourite Ben Reilly
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:48 PM

Nasty

Mute Colin Treacy
    Favourite Colin Treacy
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:22 PM

Thats a big pair the girl has in pic 1…!! Never seen a pair of glasses like it.. :-)

Mute Colin Treacy
    Favourite Colin Treacy
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:24 PM

Meant pic 2… sorry…

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:37 PM

I like my coffee white but that doesn’t mean I don’t have an espresso every now and then.

Mute Alyssa Frank
    Favourite Alyssa Frank
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:15 PM

Yeahhh the second pic just doesn’t seem all *that* bad :X

Mute Ping Pong
    Favourite Ping Pong
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:17 PM

All I seen were boobs!

Mute dowthebow
    Favourite dowthebow
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:23 PM

Ye I think she’d be forgiven…

Mute karla carroll
    Favourite karla carroll
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:25 PM

My eyes were drawn to her weird looking arm pit / shoulder.

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Favourite Padriag O'Traged
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:43 PM

I bet everyone who read the above did what I have just done; gone to look at the armpit
    Turns out she had a head too.

Oct 26th 2013, 6:13 PM
    Mute nicola lawless
    Favourite nicola lawless
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:36 PM

There are no words for that pic really are there?

Mute Fergal Barry
    Favourite Fergal Barry
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:41 PM

What the actual fu(k?!!

Mute rotund jocularity
    Favourite rotund jocularity
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:43 PM

+1000

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:48 PM

Quality..

Mute Truth Patrol
    Favourite Truth Patrol
    Oct 26th 2013, 7:00 PM

Forget about the pic, her twitter feed should come with subtitles. Seriously, WTF.

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Oct 26th 2013, 7:06 PM

Classy girl
    Imagine waking up next to that

Oct 26th 2013, 7:26 PM

I’d imagine that only happens once, unless you’re a repeat customer.

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Oct 26th 2013, 7:58 PM

I think I would chew thru my arm as To not wake her and never drink again

Oct 26th 2013, 8:02 PM

Walk of shame/fear of waking;)

Mute Maggie Cullagh
    Favourite Maggie Cullagh
    Oct 27th 2013, 2:03 AM

I think that’s the one wit the ashes ha ha

Mute Marleen Molloy
    Favourite Marleen Molloy
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:14 AM

judging by that “selfie” and tweet, i’m guessing she lost quite a few brain cells somewhere along the way

Mute Laurence McDonagh
    Favourite Laurence McDonagh
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:57 PM

Security man for the streaker looks like Graeme McDowell the golfer haha

Mute Robert Beatty
    Favourite Robert Beatty
    Oct 26th 2013, 7:27 PM

I was in Anne franks gaff looked everywhere couldn’t find her but at least i didn’t take a selfie

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:07 AM

Check behind the wardrobe?

Mute Charles J. Ahern
    Favourite Charles J. Ahern
    Oct 26th 2013, 8:08 PM

They are HUGE!

Mute Shane O'Connor
    Favourite Shane O'Connor
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:25 AM

Took me a couple seconds to find the ashes in pic no 1 in fairness. If you’re male and disagree you’re either lying or gay.

Mute Patrick Cox
    Favourite Patrick Cox
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:20 PM

Did you scroll down to the second pic and see it???

Mute Shane O'Connor
    Favourite Shane O'Connor
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:54 PM

Oops. Yes. Yes I did. Thanks for that.

Mute Killian
    Favourite Killian
    Oct 26th 2013, 10:41 PM

Degenerates.

Laughing at how pathetic they are

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay
    Oct 26th 2013, 6:36 PM

The neediness is strong in this one.

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Favourite Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:44 AM

The worst thing about all this is that people call their photos ‘selfies’. They don’t get that it’s a disparaging term. So annoying!

Mute Claire Mc Kervey
    Favourite Claire Mc Kervey
    Oct 27th 2013, 6:45 AM

I hope the just nearly died girl didn’t drop her phone on her face like I constantly do when using my phone lying on my back. OUCH ( but hilarious all the same)

Mute Séamus Ó Lochlainn
    Favourite Séamus Ó Lochlainn
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:37 AM

Anyone using the term ‘selfie’ deserves an immediate slap.

Mute Foxtrot Hotel
    Favourite Foxtrot Hotel
    Oct 27th 2013, 9:42 AM

I think these are the only “selfies” I’d look at. It kind of does poke fun at teh whole trend.