We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

File photo Shutterstock/DimaBerlin

The new Green List kicks in today, here are the countries included

The general advice is still to avoid non-essential travel abroad.

CHANGES TO THE government’s so-called Green List come into effect from today, with the list going from 10 countries to seven.

Italy, Greece, Hungary, Norway, Slovakia, Greenland and Estonia have all been removed from the list, while Germany, Poland and Iceland have been added.

The new list, which came into effect at midnight, is as follows:

  • Cyprus*
  • Finland*
  • Germany
  • Iceland*
  • Latvia*
  • Lithuania*
  • Poland

*These jurisdictions currently have quarantine requirements or other restrictions for arrivals from other jurisdictions, including Ireland

People can travel to the countries on the list for non-essential travel and return to Ireland without a need to restrict their movements.

However the Level 3 restrictions currently in place in Dublin apply for both domestic and overseas travel, meaning people in the capital won’t be able to go abroad except for essential reasons.

The advice for people in other counties is to avoid non-essential travel abroad, other than to countries on the Green List, where the advice is to take normal precautions.

In a statement, a spokesperson said the Department of Foreign Affairs advises “against non-essential travel overseas (including to Great Britain but not to Northern Ireland), other than to countries on the ‘green list’ where the ‘normal precautions’ security status rating will apply”.

On 15 September, the government agreed the Green List will be updated on a weekly basis.

The new system will see EU/EEA countries with an incidence rate of fewer than 25 Covid-19 cases per 100,000 people in the past fortnight included on the Green List.

Updates will be made each Thursday based on the latest data from the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control, with changes taking effect from the following Monday.

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel