You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Jenny Addison via Flick/Creative Commons

Open thread: What makes you happy?

For us, it’s dogs, chocolate, sunshine and….Google Maps. But what makes you happy?

SOMETIMES, IT’S THE simple things. Sometimes, it takes a lot to raise a smile.

What is certain, however, is that most of us have many, many reasons to be happy. And they’re all around us.

So, we’re putting the question to you, our readers.

What makes you happy?

Here are some from TheJournal.ie staff:

Pizza.
Cheese.
Sunday brunch, Croke Park on a sunny day, a hug from my mum.
Going to the cinema for a double bill on a rainy day, the smell of newly-cut grass in May and looking up on a street and spotting a beautiful detail on a building that isn’t normally in your eye view.
That time late in the evening when you’ve done everything you have to do that day.
A weekend with nothing to do and a stack of books. Sunshine, plane tickets, cats, dogs and the beach.
Real spring weather.
Labradors and dogs in general.
Going into Google Maps to look at the street view of places that I associate with happy times in my life. The fact that the sun always appears to be shining in Google Maps helps

Over to you, let us know what brings you joy in the comments section.

Read: Could you be happy for 100 days in a row?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

49 Comments
    Mute Aoife McCarrick
    Favourite Aoife McCarrick
    Feb 20th 2014, 7:17 AM

My little family which consists of my husband of seven years and our two and three year old children. I am also looking forward to turning 40 next month as 7 years ago I was recovering from a total oesophagectomy for oesophageal cancer – it gives you a stark wake up call that I have never forgotten.

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Feb 20th 2014, 6:57 AM

Coming in the door from work and my two year old runs over to give a big hug. Best feeling in the world !!

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Feb 20th 2014, 7:37 AM

The thought of waking early to troll theJournal. I know I can’t be be the only one.

Mute Tom Toms
    Favourite Tom Toms
    Feb 20th 2014, 9:17 AM

If you lie down with a litter of 8 week old puppies you are guaranteed to laugh your head off. They swarm your face and ears with licks. So funny.

Mute Gary Mason
    Favourite Gary Mason
    Feb 20th 2014, 9:35 AM

Bit perverted Tom

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Feb 20th 2014, 7:36 AM

The sun! There’s nothing on this world that makes me happier than a hot sunny day! Even having to work on it doesn’t take the gloss off!

Mute Gill Brennan
    Favourite Gill Brennan
    Feb 20th 2014, 6:56 AM

Birds singing in the mornings. Stopping to notice the people I share the day/city/world with. Saying hello & smiling to passersby, & seeing their faces immediately brighten.

Mute Frances Cody
    Favourite Frances Cody
    Feb 20th 2014, 6:57 AM

A cup of tea in bed : )

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Feb 20th 2014, 7:05 AM

money, sex and beer and food :)

Mute IplayerQueen
    Favourite IplayerQueen
    Feb 20th 2014, 7:13 AM

A good night’s craic with friends & family.

Mute CAJOT
    Favourite CAJOT
    Feb 20th 2014, 7:05 AM

Other people accepting im happy as I am instead of telling me what I should be doing makes me happy!

Mute Palidine
    Favourite Palidine
    Feb 20th 2014, 8:39 AM

I’m reasonably happy,but what would make me happier? A Job!!

Mute CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Favourite CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Feb 20th 2014, 8:38 AM

Hmmm, honestly? Knowing family healthy, laughing with others, wine, a lil erb, moving forward, the odd yipper, sex, tanning, wine, music, learning, wine, good coffee…

Im a happy guy!

Mute CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Favourite CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Feb 20th 2014, 8:41 AM

Money is only important if you don’t have it btw.

Mute Annette Temple
    Favourite Annette Temple
    Feb 20th 2014, 8:50 AM

Ah Capt… I think i might love you! :D

Mute Tennis Leadog
    Favourite Tennis Leadog
    Feb 20th 2014, 7:43 AM

“God I love saying mass”

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Feb 20th 2014, 8:17 AM

When my child and other half go to bed and I have the tv/dvd player to myself ,,,oh yesssss

Mute Jennifer Hislop
    Favourite Jennifer Hislop
    Feb 20th 2014, 7:33 AM

Loki’s ma

Mute Frances Cody
    Favourite Frances Cody
    Feb 20th 2014, 7:14 AM

Cup of tea and a Club Milk : )

Mute posh
    Favourite posh
    Feb 20th 2014, 7:27 AM

Kittens ♥

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Feb 20th 2014, 6:56 AM

Money :)

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Feb 20th 2014, 8:11 AM

Prozac

Mute Kardia Skepsi
    Favourite Kardia Skepsi
    Feb 20th 2014, 8:32 AM

Science and my girlfriends smile.

Mute Hakuin Murphy
    Favourite Hakuin Murphy
    Feb 20th 2014, 8:10 AM

Boobs. No joke….

Mute emma fitz
    Favourite emma fitz
    Feb 20th 2014, 9:52 AM

While the obvious ones: kids, family, wine etc are all there, my dog makes me exceptionally happy. He’s my best friend (sorry Helen!) and just me all round happy when I’m in his company. Can understand why people who suffer with depression say that having a dog can help.

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Feb 20th 2014, 9:03 AM

yokes

Mute jackass ireland
    Favourite jackass ireland
    Feb 20th 2014, 8:27 AM

The airport, knowing I’m getting out of here for a few days.

Mute Ann-Marie Wallis
    Favourite Ann-Marie Wallis
    Feb 20th 2014, 8:39 AM

Leaving Heathrow on route to Shannon when I come home. :)

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Feb 20th 2014, 10:12 AM

Sun
    Weekends with the lads
    Dogs
    Amazing food
    Money
    Threesomes
    Roller coasters
    Water parks
    West cork
    Spine tingling music
    Playing gigs
    Family gatherings
    Weddings
    Showers
    Lie ins
    Results
    Taking photos

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Feb 20th 2014, 10:15 AM

Sport
    6 nations
    Alan shatter being reprimanded
    Abusers of power being overturned
    Facebook
    Skitting

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Feb 20th 2014, 9:10 AM

Being in the company of people enjoying life.

Mute Jack News
    Favourite Jack News
    Feb 20th 2014, 6:59 AM

Winning

Mute Kardia Skepsi
    Favourite Kardia Skepsi
    Feb 20th 2014, 8:29 AM

Winning after a reasonable amount of struggle.

Mute Louise Smith
    Favourite Louise Smith
    Feb 20th 2014, 8:34 AM

A lye in! Even til 9.30 ill b happy at this stage lol 1 and 1/2 year old !

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Feb 20th 2014, 8:10 AM

Apart from my family, Liverpool beaten arsenal 5-1 :)

Mute Ann-Marie Wallis
    Favourite Ann-Marie Wallis
    Feb 20th 2014, 8:43 AM

But to be fair, they beat you 2-1 the next week…hahaha!

Mute Left_Wing_Steve©
    Favourite Left_Wing_Steve©
    Feb 20th 2014, 7:14 AM

80′s black guy and Patrick Lyons comments on the journal.

Mute Simon Renardson
    Favourite Simon Renardson
    Feb 20th 2014, 12:59 PM

Serotonin. Sorry, somebody had to say it.

Mute Charlene Spillane
    Favourite Charlene Spillane
    Feb 20th 2014, 12:33 PM

The free chocolate you get with any coffee order at Butlers. I always forget about them and find them in my bag a few days later :)

Mute Louise Smith
    Favourite Louise Smith
    Feb 20th 2014, 8:44 AM

Channing Tatum :)

Mute caroline brennan
    Favourite caroline brennan
    Feb 20th 2014, 2:47 PM

Dogs

Mute Jenster
    Favourite Jenster
    Feb 20th 2014, 11:16 PM

1) Coming home from work to be greeted by my golden retriever dog.
    2) A lie-in at the weekend.
    3) A hot water bottle in bed on a cold night.
    4) Friday nights, cooking a nice dinner with a glass or two of red wine listening to nostalgic 80′s favourites on Today FM.
    5) Taking time off work and waking up to clear blue skies and warm weather. (Another dose of last Summer please!!)

Mute Cannabis Freedom
    Favourite Cannabis Freedom
    Feb 20th 2014, 3:50 PM

Colorado, Washington & Uruguay :)

Mute Gary Mason
    Favourite Gary Mason
    Feb 20th 2014, 10:33 AM

Red thumbs

Mute Gary Mason
    Favourite Gary Mason
    Feb 20th 2014, 9:35 AM

Other people’s misery

Mute Abaigh Connell
    Favourite Abaigh Connell
    Feb 20th 2014, 1:39 PM

Sunshine, BBQ and good company :)

Mute Left_Wing_Steve©
    Favourite Left_Wing_Steve©
    Feb 20th 2014, 7:50 AM

Bring back Loki

Mute Donal Fanning
    Favourite Donal Fanning
    Feb 20th 2014, 4:03 PM

A good game of astro turf!

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Feb 20th 2014, 12:31 PM

CELTIC