You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

Open thread: What would you spend your life doing if there was no reason not to?

Get daydreaming. We want to hear from you.

LET YOUR IMAGINATION run riot.

If money and time suddenly were no longer an issue, what would you spend your life playing at?

If you don’t have a dream, how are you going to have a dream come true? (Our sincere apologies if that song is now embedded in your psyche for the next few days.)

Everyone has a little fantasy stashed away – the kind of daydream that gets you through Monday mornings during a tough commute or up out of bed on a dark and rainy morning in January.

The good stuff: running away to travel the world or finally getting cracking on that project you’d always imagined.

Open a little B&B off the beaten track? Or maybe hit the books and retrain as an architect like you’d always dreamt about?

We asked some staff in Journal Media Towers what they’d do with their lives if money was no object, and this is what they came up with…

I’d go to a game in every Major League Baseball stadium in the States.

base Giphy Giphy

The ultimate home run. And this staffer certainly thought outside the box with their dream career. Indiana Jones anyone?

I’d finish up my archaeology degree and travel around the world buying up historically-interesting sites in order to dig them up.

Inventive, that.

indnan Giphy Giphy

An old school music-lover in our team told us this:

I always said I’d open a record store which in these days is definitely something you’d only do if you won the lotto! But I’d want to travel the world and write that book beforehand…

Record Collection jaztuck3000 jaztuck3000

And as for the more technical-minded in our team…

I would buy a shed in the sticks and live in it and spend my days doing stuff like welding and drinking beer.

dad mancavegifts.com mancavegifts.com

And of course with so many writers in our midst, it’s hardly surprising this little dream got a mention:

I’d sit at home drinking gin and pretending to write a novel.

writer Giphy Giphy

And the rest of the Journal Media bods had lots of other ideas – from bringing three top horses to the Global Champions Tour, spending the rest of their life on one long holiday, and even starting a foundation dedicated to teaching children to be kind to animals and opening a massive animal sanctuary. Aw. Bless.

And now, it’s over to you… What dream would you chase with that €10m?

Tonight’s Lotto jackpot is an estimated €10m. With that kind of money, you could chase your wildest dreams – after all, there’d be no reason not to, right? Whatever your dream is, this could be your opportunity.  #TimeToPlay

Now read: 5 Irish people who gave it all up to chase their dreams>

63 Comments
    Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Aug 17th 2016, 10:04 AM

Having just been diagnosed with cancer, i would like to visit my family in Australia and New Zealand.

Aug 17th 2016, 11:54 AM

Chris, I wish you a speedy recovery .. stay positive. .

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Aug 17th 2016, 3:39 PM

Thanks Suzie Sunshine, you brightened my day.

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Aug 17th 2016, 8:11 AM

I’d become the mother that my mother was. Stay at home with the kids, do the school runs, bake A LOT and just bask in mammyhood. Of course, while the kids are in school there’d be shopping. Lots of shopping. Plus my house will have been renovated beyond recognition with lots of storage.

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Aug 17th 2016, 10:58 AM

Add in paying some one to clean and do the laundry/ ironing.

Mute Ulick McGee
    Favourite Ulick McGee
    Aug 17th 2016, 2:53 PM

Set up a tribunal to find out why the Corinthians never replied to all St Pauls letters he wrote.

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Aug 17th 2016, 5:45 PM

Haha!

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Aug 17th 2016, 6:48 PM

Deffo comment of the week there!

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane
    Aug 17th 2016, 11:30 PM

@Ulick – first of all there were only two letters.
    Second they were not “letters” in your understanding and did not require a “reply”.
    Third – is it really necessary to mock religion?

Mute Ulick McGee
    Favourite Ulick McGee
    Aug 17th 2016, 11:36 PM

Dan. My religion is my relationship with God as your religion is to you. What has St Paul writing letters got to do with my relationship with the almighty. Cop on to yourself or I will send a letter to the Corinthians about you.

Mute Chris Ó Luanaigh
    Favourite Chris Ó Luanaigh
    Aug 17th 2016, 11:46 PM

Maybe they did, just that the replies were dull ;)

Mute Chris Ó Luanaigh
    Aug 17th 2016, 11:49 PM

I didn’t read it as mocking – I’ve oft thought about the ideas and letters that haven’t survived that would really deepen our understanding of how people were thinking in the early church

Mute Mary O'Neill
    Favourite Mary O'Neill
    Aug 17th 2016, 11:34 AM

I would buy the biggest plot of land with a small bungalow and plenty of sheds and fill it with ex puppy farm dogs, mistreated greyhounds, horses, donkeys and any other animals that have been hurt by careless/heartless people and give them the love and care they deserve, I would be in heaven.

Mute Freda Hanratty
    Favourite Freda Hanratty
    Aug 17th 2016, 5:04 PM

You’re reading my thoughts!

Mute Moss Naughton
    Favourite Moss Naughton
    Aug 17th 2016, 9:33 PM

Beautiful thought. You have a great heart.

Mute Robert Williamson
    Favourite Robert Williamson
    Aug 17th 2016, 1:53 PM

I have a daughter that has scoliosis of the spine in need of urgent surgery, I would spend every penny to stop her pain and suffering and if there’s any left over I would bring the wife to new York for a spending spree

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Aug 17th 2016, 6:46 PM

Nice one Robert.

Mute Mary Power
    Favourite Mary Power
    Aug 18th 2016, 9:06 AM

Give Chris the money to visit his family(first class) and give Robert the money for his daughters surgery(and first class shopping trip for the family after the surgery)

Mute AARO-SAURUS
    Favourite AARO-SAURUS
    Aug 17th 2016, 8:30 AM

Few cans.

Mute Alan Kelly's Ego
    Favourite Alan Kelly's Ego
    Aug 17th 2016, 11:34 AM

Coke and hookers

Mute Diarmuid Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Lenihan
    Aug 17th 2016, 2:20 PM

More Coke and more hookers.

Mute David Boyce
    Favourite David Boyce
    Aug 17th 2016, 7:44 AM

Start a helicopter rescue service so I could put my love of flying into practice.

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    Aug 17th 2016, 10:12 AM

Very good. And do helicopters need to be rescued often?

Mute David Boyce
    Favourite David Boyce
    Aug 17th 2016, 11:40 AM

Ha Ha!!!

Mute An Other
    Favourite An Other
    Aug 17th 2016, 8:26 AM

Why tie yourself to one thing. I’d spend my time just enjoying my free time.

Mute Jason Doyle McCormack
    Favourite Jason Doyle McCormack
    Aug 17th 2016, 12:03 PM

I would love to open an animal rescue and rehoming centre.

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Aug 17th 2016, 12:50 PM

Ask my mam what she wants.

Mute Gareth Murphy
    Favourite Gareth Murphy
    Aug 17th 2016, 1:04 PM

I’d love to just walk. Twice I walked the Camino de Santiago, two different routes and for a month both times. And both times I wished I could have just kept walking.

Mute Niamh
    Favourite Niamh
    Aug 18th 2016, 9:54 AM

Walk Gareth walk!

Mute EdgePhotography
    Favourite EdgePhotography
    Aug 17th 2016, 8:42 AM

I’d spend my life watching my beautiful daughter driving racing cars.

She’s a 4-time Karting Champion and had a great sporting future ahead of her, unfortunately due to the recession we just don’t have the money to continue to race. But money & time no object – that would be it !

Mute Grace Jeaney
    Favourite Grace Jeaney
    Aug 17th 2016, 9:45 AM

Travel a lot!

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    Aug 17th 2016, 8:05 AM

Travel & return to full time education :)

Mute Padraic Forde
    Favourite Padraic Forde
    Aug 17th 2016, 1:22 PM

I’d live off stheak and spuds and pull like a dog

Mute Peter Buchanan
    Favourite Peter Buchanan
    Aug 17th 2016, 7:29 AM

Traveling the road less travelled….

Mute Barry Doyle
    Favourite Barry Doyle
    Aug 17th 2016, 4:02 PM

Already been there. Very boring, take the train.

Mute Brianog2
    Favourite Brianog2
    Aug 17th 2016, 7:53 AM

Take family on a holiday

Mute Myk_Oval_Balls_nRyt
    Favourite Myk_Oval_Balls_nRyt
    Aug 17th 2016, 2:33 PM

Look after D’Mother, pay brothers University bills, Travel around Italy & Greece. Open a proper GYM and make it free for young people involved in sport, teach them & bring in lots of S&C coaches to ensure that. Do whatever comes to mind, lots of travelling.

Mute Wurps
    Favourite Wurps
    Aug 17th 2016, 2:40 PM

Money no object? I’d dive into renovating some of the old historic buildings around Ireland.

Mute Gary Heslin
    Favourite Gary Heslin
    Aug 17th 2016, 12:53 PM

Living the dream already

Mute Sara O Callaghan
    Favourite Sara O Callaghan
    Aug 17th 2016, 8:25 PM

I would turn into Bernard Black, open a book shop with my own opening hours and sit, drink wine and read! And kick people out when I wanted to!

Mute Chris Ó Luanaigh
    Aug 17th 2016, 11:50 PM

I think that I’ve just met my dream woman ;)

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Aug 17th 2016, 8:31 AM

I would love to travel the world fishing then open up my own little Architectural office when i return.

Mute Kim Prylowski
    Favourite Kim Prylowski
    Aug 17th 2016, 3:28 PM

Build a shelter for dogs, travel, go to college and move to Kerry.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Aug 17th 2016, 5:01 PM

“Build a shelter for dogs, travel, go to college and move to Kerry”
    @Kim, fixed your post: Move for dogs, go to college, travel and build a shelter over Kerry

Mute EIDW Traffic
    Favourite EIDW Traffic
    Aug 17th 2016, 3:10 PM

Charity Cycles around the world and get home help for my widowed dad.

Mute Laurence Cavanagh
    Favourite Laurence Cavanagh
    Aug 17th 2016, 11:35 AM

Feck!Arse!Girls!Drink!#Father Jack Hackett.#MyHero!

Lily
    Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Aug 17th 2016, 12:45 PM

So much I couldn’t possibly do it all, reading, Travelling, taking care of animals, studying Ancient Greek & Roman history, writing my own novels and family time.

Mute Fonril
    Favourite Fonril
    Aug 17th 2016, 4:55 PM

So many….

1. Finish writing my novel (got to 10,000 words then bored myself, doesn’t bode well)
    2. Go to Comic-Con in full sci-fi regalia (Hooked on all things “Star” – Wars, Trek, Gate)
    3. Keep hens. Visited Muckross Traditional Farms last weekend and the smell of the henhouse transported me back in time to being with my Nana feeding the hens when I was young.
    4. Travel. Iceland. Canada. Maine. Egypt. New Zealand. Australia.
    5. Sleep.

Mute Naz Senna
    Favourite Naz Senna
    Aug 17th 2016, 10:54 AM

i would travel the world with my Family and one or two holidays with the lads

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Aug 17th 2016, 12:43 PM

Start a political party, of course ………… and construct a fair tax system and successful society for future kids.
    - No regressive taxes
    - No 2-Tier taxes
    - No taxes on Life Essentials
    - No Crashes
    - No mass emigration

https://www.facebook.com/Irish-Taxpayers-Forum-162371987496881/

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 17th 2016, 1:06 PM

I would love to start an organic geodesic domes farm that is sustianable, to grow seaweed and mushrooms and aquaponics like the Chinese. Fresh clean food, zero guilt.

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Aug 17th 2016, 4:02 PM

I’d move to a mansion in Malibu with its own cinema, get a MM card from a special doctor and watch every movie ever made interspersed with playing ps4. I’d also have 3 dogs. Eat In ‘n’ Out burger daily.

Mute Mick O' Connor
    Favourite Mick O' Connor
    Aug 17th 2016, 10:42 PM

Start a political party with peace and fairness to all as the basic principles. Followed by a decent health service, a justice system that looks after law abiding citizens and a 4 day work week to give us all a proper work / life balance. One tax rate for all and a bank holiday each month.

Mute Sandra
    Favourite Sandra
    Aug 17th 2016, 2:05 PM

I would spend it all on drink.

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Aug 17th 2016, 12:24 PM

Brewing

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 17th 2016, 1:07 PM

Brew what? Clothes, or tea?

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Aug 17th 2016, 3:58 PM

Or sitting in a dark room getting angrier?

Mute Mr Grumble
    Favourite Mr Grumble
    Aug 18th 2016, 1:18 AM

I’d pay the car insurance in one go

Mute wayupnorth
    Favourite wayupnorth
    Aug 18th 2016, 12:26 AM

I’d share 1/2 or more of it with my sons and grand-children. Give a lump sum to the best human rights organisation I can find. Then I’d spend the rest on travel. I can’t fly (commercially), so I’d have to rent a helicopter which would take me where I want to go. I’m not young anymore, so I’d have to do a lot of travelling to see all the places I want to see before I kick the bucket!

Mute liam whelan
    Favourite liam whelan
    Aug 17th 2016, 11:12 PM

After reading all those nice comments from people who have cancer or children in need of surgery I kinda feel guilty that I’d buy a big fishing boat and spend the rest of my life fishing for marlin and sail fish and other big game! I’d prob have to donate some to charity or a children’s hospital just alleviate some of my guilt though!

Mute Sandra
    Favourite Sandra
    Aug 17th 2016, 4:07 PM

Maybe a farm for the endangered Kerry Slug.

Mute Anto Mahon
    Favourite Anto Mahon
    Aug 18th 2016, 10:09 AM

I’d ban Pokemon.

Mute Claire Gallagher
    Favourite Claire Gallagher
    Aug 18th 2016, 12:02 AM

I’d buy a house I can call home. Then I’d pay all the pending bills for animal rescues and sanctuaries to keep them going. And at last I’d open a research centre to beat FIV and HIV (scientists say the two illnesses are related and finding a cure for one, will help to find one for the other).