You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Master1305

Eleven more pubs found breaching Covid reopening rules over the weekend

Gardaí carried out thousands of checks over the weekend.

GARDAÍ SAID THEY discovered an additional 11 pubs across the country which were not complying with Covid-19 reopening rules.

It brings to 37 the number of licensed premises found to be breaching the laws since Operation Navigation began nearly two weeks ago. 

Gardaí said they conducted thousands of checks on licensed premises throughout the country since 3 July. 

A total of 26 premises were found to be in breach on the weekend of 3 to 5 July. A further 11 pubs were detected over the last weekend.

In all these cases, gardaí found customers consuming alcohol, but no evidence of food also being consumed and no evidence of receipts to show that food had been sold.

Deputy Commissioner, Policing and Security, John Twomey said: “The continued high level of compliance among licensed premises is very welcome. However, there remains a minority who are putting their employees, their customers and their local community at risk of getting Covid-19.

“Customers of such licensed premises also have a responsibility to play their part in reducing the spread of COVID-19 to protect their family, friends and neighbours.”

Operation Navigation will continue next weekend.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

49 Comments
    Mute James Clifford
    Favourite James Clifford
    Jul 15th 2020, 4:31 PM

It’s a different story when it is pubs that the garda go when off duty

Mute Marcus Mc Cann
    Favourite Marcus Mc Cann
    Jul 15th 2020, 4:47 PM

@James Clifford: Explain ??? Have you proof ???

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Jul 15th 2020, 4:53 PM

@James Clifford: There are not many of them now, About 90% of Gardai don’t live anywhere near where they work now a days . So they hardly know their neighbours near the Garda Stns. anymore , never mind the publican down the street.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Jul 15th 2020, 7:18 PM

@Marcus Mc Cann: “have you proof?” What planet do you live on thinking the cops don’t bend this rule? Have a day off will ya

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Jul 15th 2020, 10:50 PM

@James Clifford: Tell us more!

Mute Frank Flanagan
    Favourite Frank Flanagan
    Jul 16th 2020, 8:32 AM

@Tom: thats great proof alright…. No point making wild acusations if you have no proof.

Mute padraig whelton
    Favourite padraig whelton
    Jul 15th 2020, 4:38 PM

A very strange use of garda time, looking for food receipts. Does a pizza, a cavery protect you from Covid?
    If they found social distancing was a mess, the place packed then that’s a different issue

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:07 PM

@padraig whelton: it’s about licensing as only restaurants were due to open.

Mute padraig whelton
    Favourite padraig whelton
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:42 PM

@EillieEs: i presume you can go to a restaurant and have a glass of wine only

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:46 PM

@padraig whelton: Only if you eat a meal

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:59 PM

@padraig whelton: you can go to so called restaurant and have 15 pints as long as you but food, its a joke

Mute Conor Flynn
    Favourite Conor Flynn
    Jul 15th 2020, 6:09 PM

@nelliekel: yeah but you’d do well to skull 15 pints and have a dinner in an hour and a half.

Mute Vid Co
    Favourite Vid Co
    Jul 15th 2020, 6:41 PM

@padraig whelton: I don’t know about a “cavery”, but a carvery does

Mute Tom Jones
    Favourite Tom Jones
    Jul 15th 2020, 11:51 PM

@padraig whelton: it’s all a bad joke with knuckle heads at the head of the table

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Jul 16th 2020, 12:05 AM

@Vid Co:..lolz. is it like a tracker mortgage??

Mute pomerleau
    Favourite pomerleau
    Jul 16th 2020, 12:29 AM

@padraig whelton: What Rock have you been living under !!

Mute Erich King 
    Favourite Erich King 
    Jul 16th 2020, 12:58 PM

@Conor Flynn: Lightweight.

Mute Sean Oige
    Favourite Sean Oige
    Jul 15th 2020, 4:32 PM

Have they nothing better to do? Why not just use health inspectors not Gardai?

Mute Lisa Quinn
    Favourite Lisa Quinn
    Jul 15th 2020, 4:38 PM

@Sean Oige: I presumed a garda presence while you eat your dinner is intended to make people uncomfortable.so they font hang around.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Jul 15th 2020, 4:57 PM

@Sean Oige: I would agree, but where would ya get them at night time??, that would be like looking for the Social workers at weekends and nighttime . The Guards are given all these jobs you see., — ” best thing ya can do there now is ring the Guards” — , isn’t that the story , never was any different.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:02 PM

@Sean Oige: because it’s a licensing issue which is under the remit of the Gardaí and not a health issue

Mute cearbhaill
    Favourite cearbhaill
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:05 PM

@Sean Oige: jesus think you are missing the point. Gardai do have better things to do. Shouldn’t have to check pubs in the first place

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:14 PM

@cearbhaill: correct. The Gardaí should not have to check the pubs because owners and customers should be following the rules and obeying the licensing laws….. obviously some are not, hence the need for Gardaí to do their job.

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:29 PM

@cearbhaill:
    I should think that checking certain pubs is a very useful exercise for the Gardai – provides useful general information and inconveniences certain bad boys.

Mute Seosamh Mac Cionnaith
    Favourite Seosamh Mac Cionnaith
    Jul 15th 2020, 7:03 PM

@Sean Oige: try getting a health inspector on a Saturday or Sunday! Civil servants 9-5 min-fri

Mute Gerry Malone
    Favourite Gerry Malone
    Jul 15th 2020, 4:43 PM

Shut then down until after the virus is gone

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    Jul 15th 2020, 4:48 PM

@Gerry Malone: good joke!
    Where do you think the virus is going?
    The only place it’s going is through the global population!

Mute Rose Larkin.
    Favourite Rose Larkin.
    Jul 15th 2020, 4:49 PM

@Gerry Malone: What about the economy .

Mute Wheresmyjumper
    Favourite Wheresmyjumper
    Jul 15th 2020, 4:54 PM

@Gerry Malone: the same with the league of Ireland football as well ya?

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil
    Jul 15th 2020, 7:34 PM

@Gerry Malone: back under your rock there Gerry like a good man.

Mute Jack Inman
    Favourite Jack Inman
    Jul 15th 2020, 10:08 PM

@Gerry Malone: I best get those “2021 is my year” T-Shirts cancelled then

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Jul 15th 2020, 4:42 PM

No chance of pubs opening next Monday unfortunately. This is all the ammunition they needed.

Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Jul 15th 2020, 4:52 PM

@Robert Clifford: Suggests there’s a group of ‘them’ waiting with glee to shut the pubs.
    Couldn’t be further from the truth.
    Fact remains this is all by the by (like flights from the US mostly empty) and the most important things to do are wash hands, keep social distancing and good cough/sneeze practice.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:20 PM

@Fozz: unfortunately this is not being practiced. I am beginning to see more and more people beginning to bypass the hand sanitizer stations in shops, and ignore the social distancing aspects and not wear masks. The government had to make it law to wear masks going on public transport because when just asked to do so, people were saying no. Now I’ve read on another site that the government are expected to make mask wearing in enclosed public spaces mandatory,

Mute Sara McS
    Favourite Sara McS
    Jul 15th 2020, 6:07 PM

@Joe_X: I hope they do – sick of being one of only two or three people wearing one in a supermarket at any time. A friend told me she’d do it if everyone else did but it makes her feel like an eejit. She’s 52 ffs

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:30 PM

Close them down and refuse them at licence renewal. It’s time the authorities started cracking down hard on these chancers.

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:49 PM

Right decision so to keep them closed! A hotbed of Covid spreaders

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    Jul 15th 2020, 4:56 PM

Ah sure lock the publicans/ customer’s up in Mountjoy along with all the tourists and house party goers that’ll teach em. Close the hairdressers that’s probably where the new cases from. New cases coincides with their reopening, bloody hairdressers

Mute Thomas McGrath
    Favourite Thomas McGrath
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:29 PM

Our political elite should visit Sau di Arabia, no pubs, no churches, all faces covered, they might pick up a few more practices that are used there that could be useful for them here.

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:59 PM

@Thomas McGrath: and more cases

Mute Irish Sean
    Favourite Irish Sean
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:06 PM

If pubs aren’t allowed open next week a lot of them might suddenly start serving food just to get their doors open

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Jul 15th 2020, 6:35 PM

@Irish Sean: I know one that is doing a great chicken curry since they reopened

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:06 PM

I’m sick of it !

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:30 PM

@Patrick Agnew:
    Try being sick with it!

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Jul 15th 2020, 6:33 PM

@Michael Kavanagh: got the tee shirt

Mute Michelle Mc Namara
    Favourite Michelle Mc Namara
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:00 PM

Wonder was it a certain pub in Clerihan….. all theor licences should be revoked. Absolutely disgraceful.

Mute Joe Price
    Favourite Joe Price
    Jul 15th 2020, 5:47 PM

Hotels and Restaurants sell food and drink.
    Pubs sell drink and food.

Mute Tom Jones
    Favourite Tom Jones
    Jul 15th 2020, 11:50 PM

Garda discovering? They went into pubs knowing what they ate doing.

Mute Mary Brown
    Favourite Mary Brown
    Jul 17th 2020, 8:55 AM

That will be 2023