You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mary Altaffer/AP/PA

Statue of Liberty and Grand Canyon to reopen

US states will temporarily pay the running costs of world-famous landmarks.

THE STATUE OF Liberty and the Grand Canyon are to reopen despite the US government shutdown, with US states temporarily paying the running costs of world-famous landmarks shuttered by the stand-off.

Mount Rushmore, Rocky Mountain National Park and eight federal sites in Utah will also reopen starting this weekend, officials said, although other world-famous destinations including Yosemite National Park and Alcatraz prison remain closed.

The federal National Park Service announced deals with the states of New York, Arizona, Colorado, Utah and South Dakota, under which the states agree to fund the sites which draw millions of tourists and in many cases keep local economies afloat.

Arizona governor Jan Brewer hailed the deal to reopen the Grand Canyon ahead of a three-day public holiday weekend.

“With a long weekend in front of us, I am thrilled Grand Canyon will be open and fully operational,” she said.

This was important “not only for our national and global travelers who have long awaited to experience one of the world’s seven natural wonders, but for the nearby businesses and communities whose livelihood depends” on tourism, she added.

Shutdown

More than 400 federally managed tourist sites across the nation have been closed since the shutdown started at the start of October due to a budget impasse between Republicans and Democrats.

The stalemate is costing $152 million a day in lost travel-related activity, affecting up to 450,000 American workers, according to the US Travel Association. Alone some 20,000 park services employees were furloughed.

Yesterday’s New York agreement will allow funding for the Statue of Liberty for six days, beginning tomorrow through October 17, with the state donating $369,300 to keep it running.

Arizona has agreed to fund the Grand Canyon, visited by millions of tourists from all over the world every year, for seven days beginning tomorrow, at a cost of $651,000.

Colorado’s Rocky Mountain National Park will be funded for 10 days at a cost of $362,700, and eight national parks and monuments in Utah will reopen also for 10 days at a cost of $1.666 million to the western US state.

Mount Rushmore

South Dakota governor Dennis Daugaard hailed the deal to reopen Mount Rushmore, a famous mountain face carved with four enormous busts of US presidents.

“Visitors from around the world come to the Black Hills to see Mount Rushmore, and I’m pleased that our nation’s shrine to democracy will be reopened,” he said.

There is no guarantee that the states will be reimbursed by federal authorities when the shutdown ends. The funding is considered a donation, not a loan, and it would require an act of Congress to authorize any type of reimbursement, according to an official source.

“We want to reopen all of our national parks as quickly possible for everyone to enjoy and call on Congress to pass a clean continuing resolution to open the government,” said Interior Secretary Sally Jewell in a statement.

Yosemite and Alcatraz

But California, America’s most populous state and home to world-famous federally-run tourist attractions including Yosemite and the Alcatraz Island prison, has indicated it is too cash-strapped.

“Even if the state were to front general funds for this … the executive branch cannot unilaterally guarantee that the state would be reimbursed,” a spokesman for the state’s department of finance told the San Francisco Chronicle.

The US Travel Association sent a letter to the White House and Congress on yesterday, urging them to work harder to resolve the budget standoff.

“The government shutdown is throttling America’s travel sector, which, until now, has been one of the principal drivers of US economic recovery,” said its president, Roger Dow.

“Every day the government remains closed compounds the very real consequences,” he added.

- © AFP 2013.

Read: 9 of the most emotional images from the US Government shutdown>

Read: Obama meets with Republicans in bid to end crisis>

View 13 comments
13 Comments
    Mute Aoife McCarrick
    Favourite Aoife McCarrick
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:17 PM

My husband and I had 6 horrible ‘early’ miscarriages in a row, every one counted to us. We had 2 children within 14 months after those terrible miscarriages; as a result I consider myself to be a mother of 8 not a mother of 2. I am also a 9 year esophageal cancer survivor but to me those miscarriages were far worse.

Mute Anastasia Ward
    Favourite Anastasia Ward
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:20 PM

You certainly are a brave, strong courageous mother of 8 special and unique children.

Mute lora2509
    Favourite lora2509
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:50 PM

of course they count don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. u are so strong to have come out the other side of that!!!

Mute Bridget
    Favourite Bridget
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:45 PM

So sorry for your loss ((x))

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:33 PM

I can understand and empathise completely with anyone who has suffered a miscarriage, my first pregnancy ended in miscarriage and a year later had a beautiful baby boy. Sadly, seven more pregnancies ended in miscarriage, it is soul destroying and I did feel a failure. My doctor advised either my husband have a vasectomy or I have my tubes tied as he said that my chances of carrying to full term again stood at 10%, he recommended we take a few months out to think about it. In the meantime I fell pregnant again and prepared myself for the inevitable, yep at just gone 12 weeks it began, hospital, scan and was told to go home and come back in a week for a d&c if necessary. One week on, scan again and low and behold there he was hand up as if waving at me. Two boys ten years apart. As my mam used to say, “you got all those beautiful babies rolled into two” maybe she was right.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:55 PM

Molly that’s both a sad and lovely story.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Oct 16th 2015, 1:03 AM

That’s my life jane.

Mute Anastasia Ward
    Favourite Anastasia Ward
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:19 PM

I am truly sorry for the loss of your little babies. Hugs to you, you husband and your other children x

Mute lora2509
    Favourite lora2509
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:48 PM

it’s bad enough with a missed miscarriage. never mind the medical side of the d and c. u have been through hell and back. And it’s true no one can understand till they have gone through something like this. feeling u have no one to talk to either because no one thinks it should be talked about. Then the you can just have another attitude. not always so easy for everyone and how scarey it will be. hugs and candles burning for the life’s that weren’t in this world.

Mute Louise Ní Riain
    Favourite Louise Ní Riain
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:21 PM

I remember someone saying to me,I’m grieving for the life that was to be had! I had an ectopic April 2013, I would class that as the 2nd worse experience of my life, everyone forgot, I was grieving the hope of life. rip angel Jane.

Mute Anastasia Ward
    Favourite Anastasia Ward
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:22 PM

Louise, they who are remembered with love are never going to be forgotten

Mute cailín_bainne
    Favourite cailín_bainne
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:33 PM

I also had a missed miscarriage in Dec 2012. I was sent to the Early Pregnancy Unit where they confirmed that the baby never developed. I had to have a D&C on the 21st Dec. Those few days waiting were torture. I just wanted “it” out of me. Then once I had the D&C I was terribly depressed. I cried all the time, I couldn’t look at another baby & every time I saw someone with a pram I was really bitter & jealous, why did they get to have their baby & I didn’t? No one spoke about it. Anyone that did just said “oh, I hear it’s very common.” As if I should just get over it. My husband didn’t know what to do or say. He agreed to try for another just to cheer me up, even though I’m pretty sure he wasn’t ready to try again. Then every month when I realised I wasn’t pregnant I would stay in bed & cry for days. I thought I was a failure for not being able to conceive. Eventually I realised I had to stop torturing myself. So we didn’t start trying again until Christmas 2014 & now I’m 39 weeks pregnant! I was terrified of miscarrying again. I only relaxed when I started to feel it moving inside me. I’m still terrified of something happening the baby though. No one understands unless they’ve lost a baby themselves. Just because it never developed doesn’t mean that it didn’t count or that I wasn’t it’s mammy. I still wonder what it would look like now had it been born. I’ll never forget but I’ve learnt to deal with it & have moved on. I’m really excited to be having my baby next week!

Mute Anastasia Ward
    Favourite Anastasia Ward
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:12 PM

Every happiness and a safe delivery to you and your baba

Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:23 PM

We had another article here a few weeks back saying the opposite was true for them. They didn’t want anyone at all asking in the first place, nor commiserating.

It is difficult for people, bystanders, to know what to say or do. Then there’s also grandparents, who very often, feel it as bad as the parents themselves especially if it’s due to be their first and they’ve been waiting for many years to be grandparents.

Mute Caroline Mangan-Reid
    Favourite Caroline Mangan-Reid
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:17 PM

Agree it’s so hard to know what the person wants. I had a friend who told me after her ectopic that she found it really hard to be around babies or kids for awhile so when another friend sadly miscarried I made sure to visit without my kids only to find out she would have preferred if I’d brought them as bring around kids gave her hope.

Mute Maggie Barcoe
    Favourite Maggie Barcoe
    Oct 15th 2015, 6:57 PM

I went through an ectopic pregnancy and early miscarriage, both in 2012. I cried so much after the ectopic but was completely defeated by the early miscarriage meaning I felt like it was something I did wrong. No matter what people said I still blame myself in some ways. It never goes away.

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:30 PM

My mother in law miscarried her 3rd baby 50 years ago, she still talks of the little one and believes it was a boy. She went on to have two more girls and a son, he always swore as soon as he could talk that he had an older brother.

I’m thankful to have never suffered that pain, but with my first I nearly lost her 3 times.

Mute Anastasia Ward
    Favourite Anastasia Ward
    Oct 16th 2015, 9:30 AM

I know what you mean Lily, my mum miscarried 2 babies in the 1970′s. she still grieves both of them. The pain on her face when she talks about them is heartbreaking.

Mute Mary O Sullivan
    Favourite Mary O Sullivan
    Oct 15th 2015, 7:49 PM

Thank you ladies for sharing ❤️

Mute Caroline Mangan-Reid
    Favourite Caroline Mangan-Reid
    Oct 15th 2015, 9:19 PM

I’m so sorry for everyone here for their loss. No one should have to suffer the loss of a child.

Mute sinead
    Favourite sinead
    Oct 15th 2015, 8:19 PM

I am so sorry that you went through this. Me too & it’s a horrible experience, especially when it’s repeated several times. Thankfully I now have an amazing baby girl to help me forget all the heartbreak and pain that we went through before her.
    It’s so important that you shared this to help all the other women going are through this right now or who have already been through this to not feel so alone. And to not feel like they’ve somehow failed something. x

Mute Holly Cahill
    Favourite Holly Cahill
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:04 PM

Thanks for writing this article. I’ve had 5 miscarriages myself and am lucky to be blessed with two beautiful children. I really do wish miscarriage wasn’t such a taboo subject and I too just wanted people to even acknowledge it, though I do understand sometimes they feel awkward around you. For me I found it tough when I’d be out shopping or something and it seemed like every second woman was pregnant and whenever a friend announced her pregnancy, though I’d genuinely be happy for them, I’d definitely take a step back and find it hard to be around them for a bit, as when they’d be giving out about nausea or tiredness Id get so annoyed. I never relaxed through either of my pregnancies, and when I’d go for a scan I wouldn’t even look at the screen until my doctor told me the heartbeat was fine, and it was only when my babies were delivered that I felt I could breathe again.

Mute Orela Krawczyk
    Favourite Orela Krawczyk
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:41 PM

The worst word ever, unviable. Although it’s been 5 yrs that word sticks in my heart. I was told my pregnancy was unviable and that I was miscarrying. I had months of blood test and checks. We tried again and had a second miscarriage 6mths later. My life has never been the same. Although I now have a beautiful,crazy wonderful little 3 1/2yr old. I still remember my babies and even cry for them every now and then. I think what age they’d be now, what life would be like? Miscarriage and loss robs you of the excitement and innocence in pregnancy. I was terrified everyday of my pregnancy, unsure till I had my baby in my arms. She’s nearly 4 now and one of the biggest reasons we’ve not tried again is I’m truly terrified to go through another loss or spend months fearfully waiting.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Oct 15th 2015, 10:00 PM

Terrible for people to go through, I can only imagine the pain of these families, god be with all of you.the very sick people giving these people red thumbs is sickening, what in the name of God is wrong with yiz.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 16th 2015, 1:11 AM

Nature can be quite cruel to our bodies. Thank you to the author and the commenters for sharing your stories.

Mute Oiche Fairy
    Favourite Oiche Fairy
    Oct 16th 2015, 12:39 AM

I had 2 miscarriages and the third time I was pregnant, my symptoms stopped at about 8 weeks so I booked a private scan. The nurse just said ‘I can’t see anything’ so I went to hospital and after two scans a week apart I was told it was a missed miscarriage. I was given two rounds of tablets which didn’t work so then I had a d&c. After a few months they called us back in and told us that it was a baby girl and she had something called tetraploidy which caused the miscarriage. It was a horrible time and it’s so hard having nothing to remember her by. I have a beautiful baby girl now but I still think of the other babies a lot and wish I could talk about them or commemorate them in some way without others thinking it was strange. People tend to shut down when you tell them you had a miscarriage.

Mute Kathleen Henderson
    Favourite Kathleen Henderson
    Oct 16th 2015, 1:48 PM

You are all inspirational Ladies….your experiences are heartbreaking to read ..can’t imagine your reality…..hats off to you all….your coping ability is awesome and powerful….as I’m sure the pain never goes away…..one lives in parallel with the pain. Huge respect x

Mute Margaret Doyle Power
    Favourite Margaret Doyle Power
    Oct 16th 2015, 12:17 PM

I can resonate entirely with what you’ve said I’ve had 2 missed miscarriages and an ectopic…..they were very difficult angry sad times and I felt it wasn’t understood by most people. I think the “taboo” or “shame” around it can be very isolating and destructive……Well done for sharing your story

Mute Benny benson
    Favourite Benny benson
    Oct 16th 2015, 9:01 AM

You are very brave to share your story and it will help others, sorry for your very real loss and hope in time you will be a able to accept it, it miscarriages are Never the woman’s fault never ever.

Mute jenefer
    Favourite jenefer
    Apr 2nd 2016, 1:24 PM

After getting married in 2001, I and James my (husband) began trying to conceive. “When we first started trying, I was obsessive and bought many pregnancy tests even if I knew my period was coming. “We probably spent hundreds of dollars on tests. We viewed making love as work, and it took the pleasure and enjoyment out of it.” Eventually we went to a specialist and discovered that James had a low sperm count, so we faced the possibility that we may never have children. “I was at the point that I didn’t even want to get out of bed some days. I was so depressed. The Positive: I had a moment of clarity. “I just kept telling myself that when the time was right we would get pregnant. It’s hard, I later order for Priest Eka herbal medication meant for pregnant women to cook as soup and be eating it and much to us was surprise; I got pregnant a few months after getting used of the medication. When you are trying, just ordered for priest Eka herbal medication. Daughter Natalie was born in September 2003. We recently received another surprise: twins due in August, conceived without we even trying. Contact priest Eka on(dreka14demons@gmail.com)..