You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
AMERICA HAS MORE prisoners than anywhere else in the world.
Currently there are 2.2 million prisoners in America. That is 1.6 million more than in Russia, 2.1 million more than the UK and 600,000 more than China.
Nearly two-thirds of prisoners who are released from American prisons will re-offend within three years. However, there are some who shouldn’t be there.
For inmates who are in prison in the wrong, there is a non-profit organisation that fights their corner: The Innocence Project.
The Innocence Project was founded in 1992 by Barry C. Scheck and Peter J. Neufeld at the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law at Yeshiva University to assist prisoners who could be proven innocent through DNA testing.
To date, they’ve exonerated 300 people, including 18 who had served time on death row.
The average length of time a person who is exonerated has served is 13 years.
Paul Cates of The Innocence Project says that the project is designed to encourage reform in the US criminal justice system.
“Our mission is to use DNA evidence to exonerate people and reform the system to prevent injustice.
“We try to look at the criminal justice system through a scientific lense. We know through the exonerations that there is a flaw in the system.”
Cates says that misidentification is a problem in the system that leads to innocent men and women being in prisons.
“By far the biggest cause of wrongful conviction is misidentification. Scientists have determined more effective and accurate identification methods, but we’re trying to have a standard set on scientific evidence.
“As such, there is no set standard for states to use in terms of what can be used as scientific evidence and what can’t.”
That push for a scientific standard one of the key goals for the Innocence Project.
They say:
For each cause of wrongful conviction, there are straightforward, proven remedies that make the system more accurate: police can change how they administer lineups to reduce errors; forensic science standards and oversight can increase the reliability of evidence; recording interrogations can reduce false confession.
In a review of Innocence Project cases that went to DNA testing and were then closed over a five-year period, DNA testing proved innocence in about 43% of cases, confirmed the prosecution theory in about 42% of cases, and was inconclusive or not probative in about 15% of cases.
In more than 40% of all DNA exoneration cases, law enforcement authorities identify the actual perpetrator based on the same DNA test results that overturned the wrongful conviction.
However, given the nature of the criminal justice system, getting an exoneration is not an easy road, says Cates.
“We have 70 people on staff, including seven staff lawyers and we have anywhere from 250 to 300 open cases at any time.
“They are incredibly difficult and we only take on cases where we feel DNA evidence can exonerate someone.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Silly comment. There’s the same incentive in the Public sector to prolong useless, bloated and inefficient services. The Private sector doesn’t try or sentence the prisoners. The Private sector is far more efficient.
It’s clear you’ve read nothing about private prisons William – a silly comment. Like most alliances between the public (legal) and private (prison) sectors, it’s one open to serious corruption. It’s not the sole existence of private prisons that’s wrong, it’s the relationship between them and public sector officials and how they lobby to have tougher laws and minimum sentencing. So, yes, you’re correct they don’t sentence prisoners directly, but they play their role in creating the laws that put them there in the first place.
Your link hadn’t a shred of evidence there was any corruption. Claiming that somehow there are more prisoners because the prisons are private is just conspiracy theory nonsense. Are doctors and private hospitals spreading Cancer? ……………….. Funnily enough – yes says the conspiracy theory nutters.
You’re getting desperate trying to take down my point by suggesting it’s a conspiracy theory. And if you can’t spot the clear potential for corruption in the opening paragraph you’ve obviously dug yourself in very deep.
Only the conservative right seem to have few/no problems with private prisons since they conform to their corporatism bias. Even the libertarian right recognises there are major issues.
Lobbying of politicians and financial support for their campaigns occurs in all countries. Knowing that doesn’t create a corrupt conspiracy. Your logic is flawed and your argument contains not a shred of evidence of corruption. That makes you a conspiracy theory nutter.
The very idea that elected politicians take a few thousand dollars for their political campaigns and then purposely try and get more people into prison and for longer on the back of that donation is a theory for the deeply deluded and it’s probably more to do with your hatred of the US than anything else.
So any critic of private prisons is a hater of the US? You got your list of go-to aspersions beside you?
“Earlier this year in Louisiana, a plan by Gov. Bobby Jindal (R-LA) to privatize prisons narrowly failed in a legislative committee by a vote of 13 to 12. The 12 members of the House Appropriations Committee who voted to approve the prison privatization plan have received more than three times more money from private prison donors than the 13 members who voted against the plan, according to an analysis of data from the Louisiana Ethics Administration and the National Institute on Money in State Politics. Gov. Jindal himself has taken nearly $30,000 from the private prison industry.”
Your quote from the link as I’ve already said doesn’t offer a shred of evidence for anything. Industries give politicians campaign donations. So? It’s not alone illegal but regarded as patriotic.
Gov. Jindal presumably was elected by the majority of the people of Louisiana, a poor state I might add, and gets donations from businesses, so what? You can’t extrapolate from that he wants more prisoners in jail to boost the private prison sector because he gets a donation. YOU have to prove a link. I’ve already said it’s absurd that someone getting a €20,000 donation for TV adds etc.. would then try and get longer and more sentences for prisoners because of that.
Your “logic” is standard fare for conspiracy theory nutters.
Don’t mind William, he doesn’t like evidence even when it hits him right in the face. He’s also proven incapable of connecting very simple dots and using critical thinking. He’s the perfect subject for propaganda experiments.
William – you seem to think that politicians are a separate breed of human immune from the influence of money on their decision making. The idea that people and companies give money to politicians out of a sense of patriotism (a sentiment that doesn’t encourage logical thinking as it is) is absolutely absurd.
Companies explicitly donate political money to influence decisions and policy. That is the point of lobbying. They want favourable politicians in office. That’s not a conspiracy.
Here’s more ‘conspiracy’ literature on top of that from earlier.
The point is that you don’t view politicians receiving money from vested interests and their decisions being apparently favourable to those vested interests as corruption. Instead, you call it ‘patriotism’. And call me a conspiracy theorist. I obviously won’t convince you but I think most people recognise the potential problem. Hence the regular calls during general elections for more transparency and greater regulation of political donations. But that’s just part of the ‘conspiracy’, eh?
@William, there is a huge difference between illegal/legal and right/wrong.
Also conspiracy theorist is to open minded as terrorist is to freedom fighter. It is a label created to silence. Not asking questions and accepting things as they are enables the truly evil in our society to prosper. Embrace the ability to think for yourself.
Yeah. Like the BP oil well blowout. Only 5,000 gallons per day, they said.
That’s much more efficient than the hundreds of thousands of barrels per day that was actually leaking.
Private sector is very efficient.
Pay the CEO 12,000 times the wage of the average worker—because he does 12,000 times as much work, right?
Funny shite people think about the efficient private sector.
William, you honestly believe that “patriotic” corporations make massive contributions to politicians and expect nothing in return?
That they do it out of “patriotism”?
The first paragraph alone is very misleading …’Currently there are 2.2 million prisoners in America. That is 1.6 million more than in Russia, 2.1 million more than the UK and 600,000 more than China’
a) are there any reliable figures for Russia and China?
b) Actual numbers are no real indicator, percentage of population would be …
It reminds me of a line in Escape to Victory where the German Commandant says that Germany doesn’t recognise Poles and Czechs as prisoners of war “they’re in labour camps. Officially they don’t exist”.
Russia and China only too happy to adopt a similar stance – if they don’t call someone a prisoner they aren’t counted as one.
China executes people for non-murder offences, so they’re not in prison. China harvests organs from executed prisoners. Do you think China and Russia have an Innocence Project? I suspect that neither China or Russia are much concerned about ordinary crime, they’re both very corrupt. Even in Portugal a policeman told a friend, “We’re here to protect the state, not you”. You can’t compare totally different societies with each other and draw simple conclusions. There’s lies, damned lies and statistics.
Let’s get to the point, William. Why are you so opposed to people freeing innocent citizens from prison?
What is the harm in that? You certainly seem to have a chip on your shoulder about the Innocence Project. What, exactly is it that they do that you find so disagreeable. And leave fecking China and Russia out of it, since they’re not relevant.
Go ahead, William. Tell us why innocent people should be forced to serve their sentences.
Worked with the Innocence Project last summer in Washington, D.C. It’s an incredible project and virtually every case I worked on was appalling. What struck me most was, when an exoneree was released from prison, some after 10/15 years, how non-bitter they all were. Literally I thought they’d want to kill the people who put them in prison. But unfailingly they were so philosophical and thankful. Much bigger people than I could ever be. A very worthwhile project.
Sorcha that’s fantastic! I am a member over five years! Shame it’s only in the US.
I wish people would realise that not everyone on death row is guilty.
The people that are now free deserve serious amounts of money,although nothing could repay them.
To date 317 people are free because they did not do the crime they were put on death row for. Imagine that happened you.
Nobody knows how many innocent people died.
Blackstones formulation means not one should have!
This is why the death penalty needs to be banned for this reason alone.
GCD Law school has a branch of the innocence project directly affiliated with the us one. When I was studying law my peers worked on Irish cases and did us placement too. You should look into it. I think If u are not a student there you need to be a barrister or solicitor to offer your pro bono services
Indeed, he exposed how the prosecution were grossly distorting what the forensic evidence actually was. The prosecution repeatedly referred to DNA and blood evidence “matching” Simpson which was totally misleading as some of it would have “matched” 10% of the human race i.e. a Black African Male. Plus he exposed the LAPD as a crowd of cheats and chancers who blatantly fiddled with the evidence.
Barry scheck I think also defended Louise wardward in Boston in 1997 I think.
I firmly believe OJ Simpsons son killed her anyway! He just took the rap.
If people took the time to read about the innocence project maybe they would change their mind.
The problem is that is has become like the military industrial complex. There are so many people employed by the current system and so much money involved that its impossible to change anything for the better.
The for profit prison industry provides boilerplate legislation for state government to pass, which they do as it’s a business that brings jobs to their electoral disctricts, madatory sentencing for minor offences and multiple counts. Next thing you know you have millions of prisoners incarcerated in conditions designed only to extract maximum profit from the funding they get from the taxpayer rather than any actual policy goal (like preventing recidivism by allowing them to learn employable skills for example) and you have an insane spiral defended by the delusional ideologically pure like yourself.
Privatization is the big problem of America’s prison system. The prison service is a big business like everything else in that country. Local county’s are given quotas for the number of prisoners incarcerated, so many inmates are sent in on life term for trivial nonviolent offences such as personal narcotics possession.
These private prisons produce anything from military uniforms to electronic components for drones that kill innocent families in Afghanistan and Pakistan, The majority of inmates are also black Slave labour is alive and well in the United States in 2014.
It’s pretty well documented that in instances of cocaine posession, blacks are sentenced to longer terms for the same amount of drugs than their white counterparts. I didn’t make this up:
I worked with a man named Bernard Baron who spent 23 years in prison for a crime he didn’t commit. His eventual release is due to work by The Innocence Project. One of the most inspirational men I ever had the pleasure of meeting. Google his story, a heartbreaking and inspiring read.
A lot of federal penitentiary’s are located in well to do areas, the prison population counts on the census so the local authorities are allocated resources and funding based on population. Also the county jails make money of the prisoners by having them work, they transfer the prisoners wherever a prison runs short of labour. Only the federal prisons are paid by the taxpayer, the rest are run by private companies.
Gang leader thought to be linked to kidnap of Irishwoman is placed on FBI ‘Most Wanted’ list
11 mins ago
Shooting Stars
Meteor shower and rare 'double planet' to light up Irish skies tonight - here's how to spot them
Updated
21 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 220 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 154 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 201 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 163 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 124 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 125 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 52 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 49 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 181 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 79 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 113 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 119 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 52 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 67 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 38 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 128 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 96 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 69 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 120 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 108 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say