You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE across the country are joining protests in solidarity with Palestine today.
Protestors gathered at the Spire on O’Connell Street earlier this afternoon, with Palestinian flags flying and some draped across the Ha’penny Bridge.
Those who gathered chanted for Palestine to be set free, with chants like: “From the river to the sea, Palestine will be free”, “Free, free Palestine”, and “Israel, shame on you”.
The protesters then marched from the city centre to Ballsbridge, where the Israeli embassy is located on Pembrooke Road.
Outside the embassy, protestors gathered in huge numbers waving Palestinian flags and carrying signs calling on the government to expel the Israeli ambassador to Ireland.
Protestors gather outside the Israeli embassy today Sam Boal
Sam Boal
Gardaí attended the scene of the protest and moved with it to the conclusion outside the Israeli embassy.
According to a Garda spokesperson, everyone who was present at the protest dispersed peacefully at its conclusion.
“No injuries were reported and no arrests were made,” said the spokesperson.
However, Gardaí have said that they will be carrying out an investigation into the organisers of the protest, due to public health guidelines restricting the number of people who can gather in a single group to 15.
Other protests occurred, with one on Dún Laoghaire pier, with People Before Profit TD Richard Boyd Barrett speaking out against the occupation of Palestinian land by Israel.
“Under international law, they have the right to resist occupation. That is a legal right to resist a military occupation,” said Boyd Barrett.
Smaller protests are also taking place outside the capital, with social media showing small protests in counties like Leitrim and Sligo, with larger protests in Cork and Galway.
Sam Boal
Sam Boal
Protests across the country are taking place on Nakba Day, which takes place each year on 15 May, which is when Palestinians remember Nakba or “the catastrophe”.
Nakba Day represents the current and historical exodus and expulsion of the Palestinian people from the region of Palestine.
The protests were organised by the Irish Palestine Solidarity Campaign (IPSC), which had originally planned one major protest action before Gardaí warned them against, due to Covid-19 restrictions.
It comes as eight Palestinian children were killed overnight in the Gaza Strip.
Minister for Foreign Affairs, Simon Coveney, said in a tweet that the attacks by Israel on Palestine cannot be acceptable to the international community and that the UN Security Council should hold Israel to account, with Ireland to “speak forcefully” according to Coveney.
“32 children killed since Monday in Gaza by Israeli fire – that’s approx 1/4 of all fatalities – It’s not acceptable,” said Coveney in a tweet, continuing that Israel has an international legal obligation to protect children in conflict.
UK protests
In the UK, thousands of people have gathered in central London to march in solidarity with the people of Palestine amid the ongoing conflict with Israel.
At midday today, demonstrators arrived at Hyde Park near Marble Arch to march to the Israeli embassy, holding banners and chanting.
PA Images
PA Images
Thousands of people marched through the park chanting “free, free Palestine”, and holding banners calling for an end to the bombing of the territory by Israeli forces.
Huge crowds of protesters then arrived outside the gates of the Israeli embassy in Kensington.
A temporary stage was set up on Kensington High Street and organisers urged people to keep moving down the road as numbers continued to swell and dozens of police officers lined nearby streets.
The Metropolitan Police said: “Officers are engaging with a group of people who have gathered for a demonstration in central London this afternoon.
“A policing plan is in place to ensure everybody is kept safe and to reduce the spread of Covid-19.”
Huge crowds of demonstrators gathered outside the gates of the Israeli embassy were addressed by multiple speakers.
Former Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn told the crowds that international action provides “succour, comfort and support” to those suffering in the conflict.
Former Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn speaks at the London rally this afternoon PA Images
PA Images
Crowds chanted “oh, Jeremy Corbyn” and threw roses as he took to the stage.
“Think what it’s like being a mother or father and seeing a building bombed in front of you, knowing your family is in there, and you can do nothing,” said Corbyn.
“It’s our global voices that will give succour, comfort and support in those settlements alongside Gaza and all over the West Bank, East Jerusalem who are suffering at this time.”
Husam Zumlot, Palestinian ambassador to the UK, said: “This time is different. This time we will not be denied any more. We are united. We have had enough of oppression.
“Today we are saying enough, enough with the complicity. Thank-you for standing with us.”
A protestor waves a Palestinian flag atop a traffic light in London PA Images
PA Images
Former shadow home secretary Diane Abbott told those present: “We must remember we are part of an international movement. This is a worldwide movement for justice.
“Palestinian people are having their land seized… and they are now being killed in their homes.
“All of this is illegal.”
With reporting by Press Association
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
101 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
“A war crime is an act that constitutes a serious violation of the laws of war that gives rise to individual criminal responsibility. Examples of crimes include intentionally killing civilians”
@Charles Coughlan: I personally know 5 Jewish families suffering from loss of family members this round after Hamas missles hit their homes. 5 different families. Hamas starts this mess knowing full well the Western media will back them, forgetting Hamas is NOT Palestine, but a terrorist organisation funded and weapon-supplied by Iran. Western media is not reporting whole stories, as usual. We are being played. Again.
@Contrary Mary: Hamas didn’t start this, the Israelis did, evicting Palestinian families from East Jerusalem to make way for Jewish settlers. You think they should have complied without complaint?
@EillieEs: Due to covid, Israel closed mosques and refused gatherings at the start of Ramadan. THAT is what started this round. Hamas, a terrorist organisation, was given the right to rule Gaza by Arab states, ignoring the importance of the land to another religion and ethnicity. If you were a tiny country surrounded by other countries that do not want you there, would you build your defenses or just stick to throwing stones at missles?
You know its strange, the troubles are justified by many because the six counties used to be Irish owned, and should still be. This is seen by the republicans as patriotism. I do not condone violence in any shape or form, i am not for any side that uses innocent people as collateral in a turf war. But i find it interesting that most Irish people are saying ‘free Palestine’. and the woman with ‘Israel is a settlement?’ Israel became an independent state in 1948. And to all you peaceful UK protesters, guess who controlled Palestine before Israel? free Palestine indeed..
@Pauline Gallagher: I don’t really get what you are saying there.
I think many irish people have sympathy for the Palestinian people because they see parallels with the settlement and civil rights abuses the northern nationalists (and lets face it, all of ireland in earlier times) had to endure.
Whatever your thoughts on the northern troubles, or actions of militants in Palestine. When it has happened close to home it gives a tangible perspective of how people can be driven to stand up for themselves. There is never an excuse for murder but it is important to understand what drives young men to become militants.
@john doe: The same thing that drives all terrorists; fundamentalist thinking. What i am saying is that there is a degree of hypocrisy here. How many people protesting also supported the hunger strikers or any other republican ‘heros’? Like i said, i so not for one second condone the actions of the Israelis responsible for the air strikes and im sure the vast majority of Israelis do not either.
@Pauline Gallagher: Don’t quite get what you are trying to say. The people who supported the IRA in their armed campaign are hypocrites because they also support Hamas in their’s?
Seems to be confused thinking. As for fundamentalist thinking, does that include’ my ancestors allegedly lived here thousands of years ago so that gives me the right to drive out the people living there now’, and does bombing and killing innocent civilians in support of this thinking make the people doing it terrorists?
@Pauline Gallagher: How would you personally defend yourself or your family against violence ? “I do not condone violence in any shape or form”. Absolutely horsecack.
@Pauline Gallagher: but the State of Israel was not the size that it is now. That is the issue. The State of Israel has subsequently annexed/occupied three times the size of the land which was allocated. It has caused displacement of Palestinians, annexation of land, destruction of homes and farms. The Palestinian people have become landlocked. They do not have access to airspace or to seaports. Palestine is often referred to as the biggest open air prison in the world. It was not always thus.
@Gavan Duffy: I am saying that even though the formation of the state of Israel was backed by everyone including the United Nations in order to allow European Jews to start over and create a nation in their ancestral homeland, surrounding Arab countries immediately went to war with them, objecting to the migration of displaced Jews form Europe after WW2. There is a long, fraught history between the Palestinians and Israelis but ultimately it comes down to Israelis seeing the territory as their true ancestral home, a case of ‘we were here first’. I dont agree with the war, Of course Palestinian people were going to object to having to split territory that they claimed for themselves, thats why they never agreed to share it. But the overall conflict stems from the UK and United Nations decision that Jews from war torn Europe and Holocaust survivors have a place to claim of their own, as much of Europe posed a danger with anti-Semitism still strong after the war.
@Pauline Gallagher:
incorrect again Pauline.
The violation of civil rights is what escalated ‘the troubles’ in Northern Ireland. Gerrymandering did not help either.
Gerrymandering is when an occupying or ruling power changes geographical boundaries to enable a socio-political outcome.
@Pauline Gallagher: apologies Pauline, for some reason only my 1st sentence from a much longer post was submitted multiple times. Not my intention. The full comment was then posted & gives context (if not clarity).
@Pauline Gallagher: The Palestinian population was displaced in 1948 under Plan Dalet, the prearranged military operation designed to drive as many of them from their homeland as possible. This is well documented in Ilan Pappe’s book The Ethnic Cleansing of Palestine, most of the research comes from Israeli government records, both pre and post independence. The attacks were launched before any hostilities with neighbouring countries broke out. The land grab of 1967 was also preplanned, Israeli officers were being trained in controlling civilian populations years before the attack. The Occupation is illegal, unjust and is destroying Israel.
@Tommy Roche: Well thanks for taking me so literally. I meant the indiscriminate killing of people who are not trying to kill you (innocent civilians killed by bombs or airstrikes). Personally defending yourself is completely different and the objective would never be to actually kill, just to protect yourself or family. Cant believe i had to actually type all that.
@Pat: I think what’s really wrong, and I’m contradicting earlier stuff i said, is that its not really fundamentalism but nationalism and the inability on Both sides to recognize each others rights to be their own sovereign state. This all started long before the official formation of Israel with the Zionist movement and Jewish people wanting their own identity protected and culturally enhanced by having their own nation, which they really saw as reclaiming it by what they seen as an ancient heritage right. They should both acknowledge their shared rights but Israel asserted control of those small regions and their argument is self preservation; that the Palestinians want and would take it all, all of Israel because they never wanted that state to exist. Hamas is a militant, terrorist group who have no interest in peace deals; Palestine should not be under their influence.
@Gavan Duffy: But the root of the problem has been Palestine’s refusal from the very start to accommodate the Zionist movement that began before WWII, never mind the formation of Israel. They are both at fault for failing to recognize each others right to statehood and then Israel went too far in asserting their perceived land rights. But as of now, Hamas is a militant terrorist group who fight for Palestine. Are they the type of people who can be trusted? they have no interest in peace, and they dont want Israel as a state at all.
@Pauline Gallagher: right, so if the brits had a hand in the creation of the state. Do you not think the brits could maybe coach isreal on how to deal with this better. Brits: “we made a mess of a similar situation over our way, here’s how to maybe handle this better “.
@Noo Ni Ailpin: a declaration that took land, the Promised Land, from Israel and gave it to a group who use a terrorist organisation to do their dirty work and use their population as human shields. A group who has repeatedly refuse to negotiate peace with Israel, although Israel had tried multiple times. This will never calm under a Western piece of paper, not worth what it is written on and not after millenia of history reduced to one-sided articles in Western media. Especially when one side is backed by a majority wishing a majority religion in their part of the world.
@Pauline Gallagher: the root of problem is Palestinian people not wanting to be forcefully removed from their homes. You an imperialist Pauline. Who thinks the little poor people should do what they are told. Oppression breathes response. These “peace loving Israelis” shoot innocent children. But sure they are grand lads Pauline. It’s people like you that have made world like this. FOAD.
@Philip Holohan: I have stated, several times, that i do not condone the airstrikes or the use of innocent people as collateral or dismissing them as collateral damage..i have said that! how dare you think im ok with the murder of innocent people? My first comment wasnt about me taking any side, i was stating the hypocrisy of Irish people condemning the Israelis when there is still massive sympathy and support for republican figures who were ALSO at least in some part responsible for atrocities in the North and the UK, where innocent children were also killed. You could also argue that resembles imperialism, after all it was all to get the Brits out, wasnt it? Hamas fired rockets too, you know, people have been killed on both sides. Hamas ended ceasefires this way. I have said i do not condone violence learn to read something properly before you accuse me of being a sympathizer. I have never sympathized with the republican struggle in our own country because they used indiscriminate violence, so why would i sympathize with any other perpetrators of violence? I was just trying to explain both sides of the conflict, not take sides in any way.
@Noo Ni Ailpin:
The Balfour Declaration was dated November 1917. Britain promised Palestine to the Zionist movement at a time when it was still part of the Ottoman Empire!
@Pauline Gallagher:
You are aware that Hamas are the democratically elected government of Gaza?
And that it only became “terrorist” after it had the election?
Before that it had been used by israel as in an anti al fatah function.
Simon Coveney is also minister for Defence. We have Irish troops stationed on UN duties who can either see what’s happening or hear the gun fire. We could at least protect the women and children fleeing instead of sitting around going nothing. Who exactly is being protected by our UN mission.
It should be obvious, going by the chants of the protesters (‘From the river to the sea’), and the placard that woman was carrying, that what the core protesters and their enablers are protesting about has nothing to do with Israel’s occupation of Palestnian land. Their objection is to the existence of Israel itself. If Israel had no settlements in Area C or Jerusalem, they would still be calling for Israel’s destruction.
@Squarepeg01: Exactly, and thats they way its been since long before 1948. They were never welcome, Palestine never wanted them there, and thats what started this whole thing. I dont agree with the way the Israelis have taken to asserting their control and displacement of Palestinians and the army are clearly brutal, but if they had been welcomed and accepted back to their ancient homeland in the first place, the history between the two would have been very different.
Does Israel have the right to exist?
Does it have the right to defend itself?
Is it OK to Deliberately position rocket launchers so when hit in retaliation, collateral civilian damage will result?
Hamas is a terrorist organization.
I, for one, support Israel.
@Dermot N Killian: it’s one sign mate! I was there, I saw another sign that said ” we just want an airport “and “I want to be treated ikea citizen when I return home”.
Hamas are lun a tics. The IDF are also lun a tics. The iron dome is doing great job of defending isreal. Do you have any idea how unsophisticated those hamas rockets are? 4% of civilian casualties have been Palestinian since 2008. Isreal should be held to a higher standard, that’s all.
Is it possible to believe that Jews deserve a homeland in the middle east yet still be horrifed by their treatment of the palestinians? There has to be a two state solution. But i think this runs deeper than the media would like to potray is as. Jews have lived in Jerusalem for literally thousands of years, but so have arabs and muslims.
@Stephen Nix: That’s a very reasonable stance. But just maybe let people be outraged, ya know? Only thing I’d say there is. The place used to be shared by all faiths. Now it’s not. !sreal will allow any American J EW full citizenship, simply if they are a member of the faith but, but won’t even allow Palestinians born there return. Isreal want to be in the Eurovision but also want to excersise a 4000 year old claim to the middle east. Figure that one out.
@james spice: the time of wokeness is the time of intellectual dumbing. Contradict the left narrative and be silenced and cancelled. Amazing how we have imported this wokeness. A phase when it’s gone won’t be missed.
@HectorPickaxe: Hope you don’t forget the Palestinian children killed by Hamas missiles. Around 400 came down before entering Israel and killed dozens of people.
I bet my annual salary that those victims are on the “killed by Israel” list.
Yeah because chanting “Khayber Khayber Ya Yehud jaish Mohammad Sauf Ya’ud” (Khayber Khaybar oh Jews, Mohammad’s army is returning) is very peaceful and not at all antisemitic.
@Richard Keogh: If you want to cherry pick a few from a group, here is a cherrypicked group of very charming Israelis, openly discussing ethnic cleansing and apartheid. Please watch this:
Finance Minister rules out wage subsidy scheme in response to US tariffs (for now)
2 hrs ago
Take it again
British painter says Trump portrait accusations put her business in danger
5 mins ago
Gardaí
Six-year-old girl who was cycling her bike dies in incident involving a truck in Galway city
Updated
8 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say