You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Festival stock image Shutterstock/Piotr Piatrouski

'These drugs are much more potent': HSE advises festival-goers who plan on taking drugs

The HSE launched a new campaign this week around drug-harm reduction in conjunction with a number of festivals including Body and Soul.

A SENIOR HSE doctor has warned of the harmful effects associated with taking drugs at festivals as the HSE launches a campaign offering advice for drug-users. 

The campaign was launched this week in conjunction with a number of Irish festival promoters, including Body and Soul, which kicks off this weekend.

It aims to inform festival-goers before, and during festival events, of the dangers drug-taking presents both on an isolated basis, and when mixed with alcohol. 

Dr Eamon Keenan, the HSE’s national clinical lead in addiction services told TheJournal.ie, ”emergency medics have reported people presenting to medical services with physical and psychological problems” after taking drugs at festivals in recent years. 

“We’re trying to make sure people are getting this information before they go to festivals,” he said. 

“People aren’t aware of the extent of the problem with drug use – at festivals you might have someone who is a bit naive in relation to drugs – so we think it’s important there is harm reduction advice available. 

“There’s no point in just ignoring it. I can say ‘don’t take drugs’ and I do, but if you do [take them] then we’re saying here’s some harm reduction advice.”

Keenan’s comments come after a number of people were hospitalised last week after taking high-strength drugs at a festival in the UK.

“About two weeks at the Park Life festival in Manchester, five people were hospitalised and in intensive care in hospital following high strength ecstasy and MDMA,” he said. 

These drugs are much more potent than they have been.

“So we’re saying, if you are taking drugs, don’t take a full tablet to start with – take a quarter of a tablet – we’re saying, take a quarter and then a few hours later take another quarter and see how you go.”

The HSE campaign, details of which are online here, outlines a number of steps under headings including ‘leave the mixing to the DJ’ and ‘keep cool and stay hydrated’. 

Drug-testing

The national health service has also launched a research project with Trinity College Dublin (TCD) to see if people would use drug-testing facilities at music festivals. 

It will also investigate festival drug trends, health and sexual well-being, and preferred music genres.

Assistant professor in addiction studies at TCD, Dr Jo-Hanna Ivers said: “Music festivals are a massive part of Irish and European culture, and club drugs are a dominant part of the festival experience for many.

“Nevertheless, given the high turnover of new drugs and the environment that these substances are taken, the risk of overdose is high.”

“The current study is the first of its kind in an Irish context and one of few internationally. The study will provide key insights into attitudes towards use and need for harm reduction measures,” she added. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

79 Comments
    Mute john sheridan
    Favourite john sheridan
    Jun 22nd 2019, 10:33 AM

as someone who lost a beautiful niece last August because of her taking one MDNA tablet (it was her second one she ever took )
    I can’t in anyway condone the taking of drugs .the devastation snowball that has hit our family from this is just awful to say the least .
    a seventeen year old , an only daughter ,a father who is just a shell .a mother lost .and all for that one pill .
    PLEASE KIDS THINK .

Mute Bruce van der Gutschmitzer
    Favourite Bruce van der Gutschmitzer
    Jun 22nd 2019, 10:42 AM

@john sheridan: so sorry to hear that, John.

Mute john sheridan
    Favourite john sheridan
    Jun 22nd 2019, 10:53 AM

@Bruce van der Gutschmitzer: thank you

Mute Bryan Kelly
    Favourite Bryan Kelly
    Jun 22nd 2019, 2:05 PM

@john sheridan: Sorry for your loss but I’m betting she was raised on the “Just say no” mantra and it didn’t work. It’s never worked. If you really cared about more people not being lost to drugs you’d drop that useless approach and wholeheartedly support this initiative.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Jun 22nd 2019, 4:48 PM

@Bryan Kelly: what a comment. you don’t have a lot of friends Bryan, do you?

Mute AyZYVV6F
    Favourite AyZYVV6F
    Jun 22nd 2019, 4:59 PM

@Bryan Kelly: sorry for your loss but…. you would have been better off jogging on

Mute Robert Phelan
    Favourite Robert Phelan
    Jun 22nd 2019, 7:11 PM

@Seamus Mac: I think he means MDMA I never heard of MDNA.

Mute K
    Favourite K
    Jun 22nd 2019, 9:38 AM

Pretty progressive stance. Harm reduction should be rolled out for all drug use, not just party drugs. Testing is a great idea.

Mute SFNutters
    Favourite SFNutters
    Jun 22nd 2019, 11:53 AM

@K: harm reduction !! Don’t ingest something that you have no idea what it contains…if you do, well you can’t fix stupid.

Mute Robert Phelan
    Favourite Robert Phelan
    Jun 22nd 2019, 12:28 PM

@K: facilities should be available for people to test their drug’s in all pubs clubs and concerts.the government needs to take responsibility and grow up about this matter that the people in this state do drugs.this can save lives..

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Jun 22nd 2019, 1:10 PM

@Robert Phelan: whos going to pay for these testing facilities Robert?

Mute Robert Phelan
    Favourite Robert Phelan
    Jun 22nd 2019, 1:42 PM

@Seamus Mac: we’ll be the ones paying just like we have to pay for the problems caused by alcohol seamus.its either that or legalize regulate and tax.

Mute Bryan Kelly
    Favourite Bryan Kelly
    Jun 22nd 2019, 2:03 PM

@SFNutters: “Just say no”’s been working fantastically hasn’t it? I’m sure there’s a saying about doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.

Question for ye: Are you just stupid, or are you an amoral sack?

Mute Mill Lane
    Favourite Mill Lane
    Jun 22nd 2019, 2:48 PM

@Seamus Mac: Which is cheaper, relatively inexpensive test kits by the 100′s or the cost of one person’s treatment in ICU after a dodgy pill?

Testing drugs would save money and more importantly lives and hospital beds.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Jun 22nd 2019, 4:13 PM

@Mill Lane: sense

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Jun 22nd 2019, 5:12 PM

@K: at work as well…

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Jun 22nd 2019, 5:44 PM

@Mill Lane: you have costings on this? What about staff to distribute the kits? What if one of the kits give an inaccurate measurement? How much would the lawsuits cost? Just say no.

Mute jimmypnufc
    Favourite jimmypnufc
    Jun 22nd 2019, 5:53 PM

@SFNutters: were you ever young? I suppose you just popped out of the womb ever so sensible

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Jun 23rd 2019, 4:28 PM

@Seamus Mac: Lol! Classic Irish.

Mute TRUMPS#BLIMP
    Favourite TRUMPS#BLIMP
    Jun 22nd 2019, 9:40 AM

Drugs have never been cheaper to buy. I remember in the late 90s an xtc table cost 10 pounds, now you can buy one for as little as a euro. If the government goes a head with minimum pricing of alcohol the drug cartels will be rubbing their hands with delight.

Mute Donwon999
    Favourite Donwon999
    Jun 22nd 2019, 9:57 AM

@TRUMPS#BLIMP: FG are visionaries with their tax increases to stop had habits

Mute Hank Kingsley
    Favourite Hank Kingsley
    Jun 22nd 2019, 10:01 AM

@TRUMPS#BLIMP: What tabs have you being buying for a euro?

Mute Devilsavocado
    Favourite Devilsavocado
    Jun 22nd 2019, 10:03 AM

@TRUMPS#BLIMP: well if you are buying E for €1 a go, then you are buying some seriously messed up cheap crap, more than likely a multiple mix of various tranquillisers, I know all drugs are dangerous but that type of stuff should be avoided at all costs….

Mute #Inglés Retweeter
    Favourite #Inglés Retweeter
    Jun 22nd 2019, 10:05 AM

@Devilsavocado: Sure, right? Cos the expensive ones are full of vitamins and good stuff.

Mute TRUMPS#BLIMP
    Favourite TRUMPS#BLIMP
    Jun 22nd 2019, 10:09 AM

@Devilsavocado: No the local drug dealer said they are fine, just as safe as the more expensive stuff.

Mute Mick paisley
    Favourite Mick paisley
    Jun 22nd 2019, 10:23 AM

@TRUMPS#BLIMP: Fiver a pop, or 3 for a tenner is the regular price.

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard
    Jun 22nd 2019, 10:24 AM

@TRUMPS#BLIMP: will you direct me to these €1 pills please! I’m paying a tenner a pop.

Mute AyZYVV6F
    Favourite AyZYVV6F
    Jun 22nd 2019, 10:36 AM

@Richard: ye mad for the bitta gear richie??

Mute TRUMPS#BLIMP
    Favourite TRUMPS#BLIMP
    Jun 22nd 2019, 10:52 AM

Trust me guys if you buy in bulk from a whole sale drug dealer you will get them for a euro each.

Mute Devilsavocado
    Favourite Devilsavocado
    Jun 22nd 2019, 11:51 AM

@#Inglés Retweeter: did you miss the whole “I know all drugs are dangerous” part of my post??

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Jun 22nd 2019, 12:23 PM

@Hank Kingsley: Aspirin, possibly

Mute tweetforjunk
    Favourite tweetforjunk
    Jun 22nd 2019, 7:17 PM

@TRUMPS#BLIMP: where you getting yokes for a euro? Asking for a friend

Mute Anthony Healy
    Favourite Anthony Healy
    Jun 22nd 2019, 10:12 AM

Take a quarter of a pill ? There will be lads double dropping to beat the band

Mute John Joe & Bridie
    Favourite John Joe & Bridie
    Jun 22nd 2019, 11:24 AM

@Anthony Healy: Serious parenting skills being taught there Anthony……..lucky child

Mute Ned Flanders
    Favourite Ned Flanders
    Jun 22nd 2019, 11:42 AM

@John Joe & Bridie: there is no need for that. I’ve been to about fifty festivals and what Anthony has stated is the reality of what will happen. Young lads and girls trying to out do each other because the festival they are at has been the topic of conversation for the last six months.

Mute Bryan Kelly
    Favourite Bryan Kelly
    Jun 22nd 2019, 2:06 PM

@Ned Flanders: That comment tells me you’ve either never been to a festival or if you did you never met anyone doing drugs.

I’ve done more drugs than you’ve imagined seeing people do and you’re full of it.

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Jun 22nd 2019, 5:17 PM

@John Joe & Bridie: parenting skills have what exactly to do with telling the truth? Did he put two down his kids throat? I think not. You’re way out of touch with the accuracy of his statement so you take a cheap shot. Stunning.

Mute Niall Carry
    Favourite Niall Carry
    Jun 22nd 2019, 6:18 PM

@Bryan Kelly: I would disagree there very big difference between those who party in late teen/early twenties and those a bit older. Been there done that like lots of people. You’ve never seen people double drop in your life or double dab? Saying I’ve done more drugs than imagined makes you sound like you’re the one who has no idea to be fair. There’s always the few that go on how they could handle twenty pills in one session the scary part is I seen it happen. And it’s not exclusive to festivals. People party every weekend like this are out there

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jun 22nd 2019, 7:58 PM

@Anthony Healy: that made me lol. Legend

Mute AyZYVV6F
    Favourite AyZYVV6F
    Jun 22nd 2019, 9:21 PM

@Bryan Kelly: ye mad thing kelly doing drugs, then tellin us all about it, your a madser altogether!

Mute AyZYVV6F
    Favourite AyZYVV6F
    Jun 22nd 2019, 10:24 AM

If i want to see flowers on my wall i’ll buy flowery wallpaper, Drugs are bad kids!

Mute AyZYVV6F
    Favourite AyZYVV6F
    Jun 22nd 2019, 11:22 AM

@Hank Kingsley: tell me the health benefits of a whack of heroin hank son?

Mute Hank Kingsley
    Favourite Hank Kingsley
    Jun 22nd 2019, 11:24 AM

@tooler doogan: The weight just falls off ya.

Mute AyZYVV6F
    Favourite AyZYVV6F
    Jun 22nd 2019, 11:28 AM

@Hank Kingsley: thats only because you have no money for food, having spent it all on gear!

Mute Hank Kingsley
    Favourite Hank Kingsley
    Jun 22nd 2019, 11:28 AM

@tooler doogan: this is an article on festival goers taking yokes, and not shooting up heroin. But I suppose you think all recreational drug users are also heroin addicts.

Mute SFNutters
    Favourite SFNutters
    Jun 22nd 2019, 11:56 AM

@Hank Kingsley: what are they taking? Cos they haven’t got a clue what’s in it…then they get a bad reaction and end up occupying a hospital bed that someone who is really ill needs..fools.

Mute AyZYVV6F
    Favourite AyZYVV6F
    Jun 22nd 2019, 1:44 PM

@Hank Kingsley: lol yokes, heroin probs safer than yokes, do they do vegan yokes for festivals?

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Jun 22nd 2019, 2:13 PM

@tooler doogan: https://www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736(10)61462-6/fulltext
    Do a bit of reading bud. Knowledge will free your mind. Reputable scientific journal rating the relative harms of various drugs. Mdma is quite low.

Mute AyZYVV6F
    Favourite AyZYVV6F
    Jun 22nd 2019, 3:28 PM

@john doe: you sound more like hannah montana than tony montana pal!!

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Jun 22nd 2019, 4:14 PM

@tooler doogan: what are you on about

Mute Thomas Ryan
    Favourite Thomas Ryan
    Jun 22nd 2019, 4:32 PM

@john doe: thanks for that article very interesting o1ne point to note is the most dangerous drug on that list is legal and probably is in everyones house up and down the country, while the unregulated drugs black market will continue to thrive until we regulate the market, or at a minimum start to give out drug testing kits at nightclubs, festivals etc, and until that happens there will be death’s with people popping what they think could be yokes, but could be PCP instead of mdma

Mute Robert Phelan
    Favourite Robert Phelan
    Jun 22nd 2019, 7:18 PM

@SFNutters: A bottle of whiskey will do the damage

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Jun 23rd 2019, 4:27 PM

@tooler doogan: If they really were (bad) then there wouldn’t be a problem.

Mute Teresa Scanlon
    Favourite Teresa Scanlon
    Jun 22nd 2019, 1:02 PM

From this article, we are allowing people to sell our kids drugs and we then advise them how to take those drugs. We have no idea what’s in them and telling them how to ingest them is not the answer either. Would it be safer if our Government got involved. We really have to look at this in a different way to protect the next generation. The war against drugs has not worked. It’s like fighting big Pharma, They win every time.

Mute Mick paisley
    Favourite Mick paisley
    Jun 22nd 2019, 1:16 PM

@Teresa Scanlon: we are not allowing people to sell drugs. But like it or not, people are taking drugs, and taking lots of them. Giving advice is a much better option than burying out head in the sand.

Mute Bryan Kelly
    Favourite Bryan Kelly
    Jun 22nd 2019, 2:08 PM

@Teresa Scanlon: Wow! Why did no one tell me drug dealing’s legal now since we’re allowing people to sell them?

“Just say no” has been an abysmal failure for decades but you keep on beating that dead horse instead of considering that maybe alternative approaches developed by people who actually know what they’re talking about might be better.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Jun 23rd 2019, 5:35 PM

@Teresa Scanlon: they’re taking them anyway meaning prohibition is failing so at least educate people to what they’re taking

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Jun 22nd 2019, 12:14 PM

I am actually shocked to believe that doctors are telling people in the mainstream media how to safely take illegal drugs. Is there not a better way to enjoy festival season than drink and drugs? Call me old-fashioned but what about #justsayno instead?

Mute Robert Phelan
    Favourite Robert Phelan
    Jun 22nd 2019, 12:33 PM

@Seeking Truth: aah fook sake seeking truth this is a serious conversation haven’t you got mass or something to go too…

Mute Hugh Jass
    Favourite Hugh Jass
    Jun 22nd 2019, 1:10 PM

@Seeking Truth: you are old fashioned

Mute Bryan Kelly
    Favourite Bryan Kelly
    Jun 22nd 2019, 2:11 PM

@Seeking Truth: How Well has #JustSayNo been working there? Sure in the decades since that ridiculously useless slogan began drug problems must surely have improved coz it’s just so damn effective yeah.

Seeking truth? Well it’s right there in the article, from the mouths of people who know what they’re talking about and not some ignorant tool who just wants to hop on their high horse.

Seeking truth? Seeking any excuse to be an arrogant toff and to hells with the people my ineffective catchphrase and opposition to information kills more like.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 22nd 2019, 3:58 PM

@Seeking Truth: Surely you can get it through your head that people ask doctors all the time how best to help them to cut down? Whether it be eating or drinking or taking too much medication, people do need helpful, practical advice and whatever helps each person is worth hearing. If the GPs wanted to advise thousands of people one at a time and bill the HSE, you might have some grounds for a gripe.

Mute Kieran Woods
    Favourite Kieran Woods
    Jun 23rd 2019, 12:11 AM

@Bryan Kelly: True. I would change the slogan to #JustSayYes. If they are determined to take an unknown substance made by criminals and havn’t got the brains to figure out the obvious danger, give them all that they want. If there is a particularly dangerous batch, all the better. Don’t waste resources trying to stop them, let them work away. If people are determined to play Russian Roulette, give them the guns and ammo.

Mute Nollaig Elliot
    Favourite Nollaig Elliot
    Jun 23rd 2019, 2:40 AM

@Kieran Woods:

People have been getting high since they have been on the planet. And they will be as long as humans will be around. We need reform mate, not the Stone Age views you just spurted out.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Jun 23rd 2019, 5:35 PM

@Seeking Truth: it failed

Mute Kieran Woods
    Favourite Kieran Woods
    Jun 23rd 2019, 10:24 PM

@Nollaig Elliot: No reform needed. Let them at it.

Mute Niall Carry
    Favourite Niall Carry
    Jun 22nd 2019, 6:32 PM

I’m in my 30s now had my fun done the festivals and backpacking, 20s was a party but pretty happy with pints in pub life and the odd all nighter and honestly shocked there are still people believing just saying no is a thing. back 15 yrs ago this was regular not just limited to festivals. The scag was real lads. I work with active drug users and a doctors job is to save lives. It’s extremely naive to think people will say no. Harm reduction saves lives and if this advice makes someone take a more careful approach then fair play. You don’t have to agree with drug use but education is key. Some people need to climb down from that know it all attitude. Would you rather people die that’s the question to ask yourself. I assume answer is no. Then no opposition for this should be the norm.

Mute Dorothy
    Favourite Dorothy
    Jun 22nd 2019, 2:25 PM

Pity people can’t just enjoy the music…..just saying.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Jun 22nd 2019, 4:21 PM

@Dorothy: pity people cant have a social occasion without alcohol, pity people cant eat less chocolate, pity people cant go to the cinema without eating loudly.
    Just saying.
    People arent perfect, they have weaknesses, we arent in a perfect world so lets give good advice and make it a bit safer for our youth

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Jun 22nd 2019, 5:20 PM

@Dorothy: people do enjoy the music. Ever had a pill and danced your ass off while listening to your favourite music? It’s a lot better than sober.

Mute Dorothy
    Favourite Dorothy
    Jun 22nd 2019, 10:02 PM

@john doe: Jeez lots of things are a pity in your world. Let’s cover them all then and say it’s a pity people aren’t perfect just saying…..

Mute Kieran Woods
    Favourite Kieran Woods
    Jun 23rd 2019, 12:14 AM

@john doe: Dont waste your energy worrying about them, neither should the HSE. Let them work away. Dodgy batch? That’s their problem, who cares?

Mute tweetforjunk
    Favourite tweetforjunk
    Jun 22nd 2019, 7:18 PM

People have been taking drugs for 1000s years and they’re never going to stop. How about we just make it a bit safer for them?

Mute Charmaine Walker
    Favourite Charmaine Walker
    Jun 22nd 2019, 10:57 AM

Soft pop em

Mute Sirius
    Favourite Sirius
    Jun 22nd 2019, 5:16 PM

People are always going to take drugs, in particular, people in the 18-25 year age bracket are always going to take drugs, it’s a brilliant idea to make it safer.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Jun 22nd 2019, 4:24 PM

I think the buyer of the drugs should ask the seller to test one of the drugs on the spot and wait a few hours to see the result before chancing it

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Jun 22nd 2019, 5:21 PM

@FlopFlipU: bwahahaha. You’ve never bought a pill in your life with that statement. Here’s an idea – buy a testing kit yourself and test it yourself. Simple.
    The cops would love to see a person bringing out a bag to test on the spot. Lol. Save them the bother.

Mute FastBuck
    Favourite FastBuck
    Jun 22nd 2019, 5:34 PM

Annie Oakes?

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Jun 23rd 2019, 4:24 PM

Like elsewhere, they should have a facility to test at festivals, make sure there are no life-threatening additives and know the strength. Safer.