You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Fitzpatrick says he was speaking as a former member of the Defence Forces. Oireachtas.ie

Louth TD suggests putting army on the border and says number of northern reg cars is 'unreal'

Peter Fitzpatrick told the Dáil that cross-border travel is “being abused”.

LOUTH TD PETER Fitzpatrick has suggested that the army should be deployed along the border to prevent people from Northern Ireland travelling south. 

The Independent TD says it is “unreal” the number of Northern registered cars he has seen in his constituency and that “I don’t like it”. 

Fitzpatrick was speaking in the context of the impending expiration of the four-week ‘circuit-breaker’ lockdown in Northern Ireland that has seen pubs and restaurants closed fo 

Speaking to Tánaiste Leo Varadkar, he said he fears this would see an increased amount of cross-border movement. 

“As an ex 27th Battalion soldier myself, I think it’s about time that we started using the army. You see what’s happening in Dundalk we have a barracks in Dundalk where we have 450 soldiers there. Why not deploy them along the border area? 

Louth, Meath and Monaghan have done a fantastic job over the last three or four weeks. Are we just going to flush it down the toilet? I think we have to be realistic. I, for one, want to see united Ireland, my first priority is that the citizens of Ireland are protected. Your government has to protect us.

Fitzpatrick says that cross-border travel is “being abused” and that “the number of northern registered cars you see is unreal”. 

In response, Vardakar said that the government “isn’t giving any consideration” to putting the army on the border. 

“We struggled and fought too hard for too many decades to take all armies off the border and we certainly don’t want to be the jurisdiction that puts uniforms on the border again,” he said. 

Despite this, Varadkar says the question is “a serious one” and that the Covid-19 situation in Northern Ireland is “much worse than here”.

Specifically, he said the incidence of Covid-19 in Northern Ireland was three times higher and the death rate was four times as high. 

He says the 5km rule is in place in border counties but that it’s best enforced by gardaí “and not by military means.”

The Tánaiste also responded to queries from the Social Democrats’ TD Róisín Shortall and said that it was “too soon” for people to be booking flights home to Ireland for Christmas

Varadkar said that north-south travel at the moment is a “higher risk” than travel from overseas. 

“Ireland is an island but we’re not an island state. There are two jurisdictions on this island and we’re never going to close the border between north and south,” he said. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

70 Comments
    Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Nov 12th 2020, 1:39 PM

Using the military on the border would be politically suicidal. There is not one country in the EU that is using its military on the border with another EU country to keep its citizens out.

Would be more a job for border guards or the police.

Did it not take decades to get rid of the British army along the border and this guy is proposing putting the Irish army back on the border. Just what powers would the soldiers have to stop anybody?

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Nov 12th 2020, 1:43 PM

@George Vladisavljevic: perfect evaluation ,and you aren’t pulling 200k of taxpayers money,jesus the plebs we put into that Daíl….

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Nov 12th 2020, 4:57 PM

@George Vladisavljevic: literally no powers. Stopping people comes under civil remit under which the army has no authority. We would have to have a referendum on it.

Mute SteoG
    Favourite SteoG
    Nov 12th 2020, 6:28 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: Not a good idea. It does not require any referendum. Just a Dail vote.

Mute Cormac
    Favourite Cormac
    Nov 13th 2020, 12:35 AM

@George Vladisavljevic: the uk is no longer a part of the EU. Remember that big referendum they had a few years back ?

Mute Diana Muller
    Favourite Diana Muller
    Nov 13th 2020, 2:12 AM

@George Vladisajvljevic: They don’t seem worried about political suicide. Between this guy Blythely suggesting restarting the troubles and that “let’s cancel Christmas” fellah they obviously don’t care about PR. Time to remind them who pays them.

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Nov 14th 2020, 9:55 AM

@Cormac: Thank you for that Cormac, I think that I have heard something about that.

We are in the EU and no other EU country is using its military actively on its borders except perhaps countries such as Greece in an attempt to control the flow of refugees.

Switzerland too is not in the EU and France, Germany, Italy, for example, do not have their armies on the borders controlling the flow of Swiss watches and chocolates.

Mute David Law
    Favourite David Law
    Nov 12th 2020, 1:47 PM

Imagine imposing a hard border after screaming and shouting for four years about how a Brexit imposed hard border would be catastrophic for peace on the island. Why do we keep electing these eejits.

Mute Diana Muller
    Favourite Diana Muller
    Nov 13th 2020, 1:28 AM

@David Law: It’s actually wreaking my head.

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil
    Nov 12th 2020, 1:42 PM

Another Dáil circus performer trying to look relevant

Mute Sinead Merrigan
    Favourite Sinead Merrigan
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:02 PM

It’s actually quite alarming that a TD could be this clueless. One must also note that people in the North can also work in the South

Mute David Connell
    Favourite David Connell
    Nov 12th 2020, 1:43 PM

Maybe shouldn’t have backed Varadkar in vote of no confidence.

Mute Gareth Murran
    Favourite Gareth Murran
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:24 PM

@David Connell: zero relevance

Mute justinoc
    Favourite justinoc
    Nov 12th 2020, 1:46 PM

He’s not wrong, it’s not a coincidence that the border counties have the highest rate

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:44 PM

@justinoc: Hello. Have you actually checked Louths rate lately? It seems not.

Mute justinoc
    Favourite justinoc
    Nov 12th 2020, 3:27 PM

@Unitedpeople: 3rd highest yesterday son, you think it’s ok for nordies to travel freely around the country?

ed w
    Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Nov 12th 2020, 4:43 PM

@justinoc: gone the other way with crowds from the south heading north to shop. its what’s causing the problem in donegal ,the east of the county are all heading across because the shops are open.

northern cars arent coming down for anything apart from work

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Nov 12th 2020, 7:05 PM

@justinoc: stop calling people nordies its rude and uncalled for, very insulting.

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Nov 13th 2020, 2:33 AM

@justinoc: Correct – third highest, not the highest as you quoted. If we stick to truth, other will have less to undermine you min good points, is ALL I am saying.

Is it good that we have others coming down and infecting us? No – but then our government has not stated how many of the South people have gone up North and done same. All the best. I mean that.

Mute frank_1916
    Favourite frank_1916
    Nov 12th 2020, 1:35 PM

build a wall mabey

Mute Timothy Culligan
    Favourite Timothy Culligan
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:32 PM

@frank_1916: Trump

Mute Seán O'Loughlin
    Favourite Seán O'Loughlin
    Nov 12th 2020, 5:58 PM

This is a joke! Plenty of people living on both sides of the border have to cross it every day for work!

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Nov 12th 2020, 6:04 PM

@Seán O’Loughlin: not ifvtiur going into & out if the worst Covid19 area there isn’t You stay at home.

Mute dearg doom
    Favourite dearg doom
    Nov 12th 2020, 1:52 PM

I live close to the M1 and take it every weekday. There have always been plenty of NI reg cars but they don’t seem to have reduced in number while ours have, so they are much more noticeable now. Some may have a legitimate reason to be here but it seems they just aren’t restricting themselves as much.

Mute Brendan M
    Favourite Brendan M
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:25 PM

@dearg doom: those living in the north but working in the south aren’t eligible for PUP so that don’t have much choice but to keep attending their place of work if required.

Mute die Fussballmeister
    Favourite die Fussballmeister
    Nov 12th 2020, 1:37 PM

If it’s being abused then yes deploy the army to help the Gardai.

Mute Bran Brans
    Favourite Bran Brans
    Nov 12th 2020, 1:46 PM

@die Fussballmeister: It can’t be abused when there is no law to say it’s illegal. People from NI are free to travel in and out of the 26 counties, just as are those from the 26 counties free to travel in and out of NI.

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Nov 12th 2020, 7:06 PM

@die Fussballmeister: absolutely not

Mute Garreth mc mahon
    Favourite Garreth mc mahon
    Nov 12th 2020, 1:56 PM

Go to get the motorway exits 17 and 18 and the amount of northern reg cars parked on hard shoulders is unreal, they then cram into vans, travel south, work, travel back north and then head home probably not realizing they are spreading illness and to top it off, the Garda have a daily checkpoint up the road everyday. Why not stop the daily congregation of these people

Mute Brendan M
    Favourite Brendan M
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:26 PM

@Garreth mc mahon: because they’re working. You can’t strip them of their work without supporting them.

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:29 PM

@Garreth mc mahon: Government and Council contracts

Mute Garreth mc mahon
    Favourite Garreth mc mahon
    Nov 12th 2020, 5:06 PM

@Brendan M: point is that they are parked illegally and not using a safe mode of transport which is a high risk of cross contamination. I’d never dream of stopping people going to work but this isn’t a safe way to do so

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Nov 12th 2020, 6:11 PM

@Brendan M: yes we can : they’re in another country.

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Nov 12th 2020, 7:07 PM

@John Moylan: no they are not

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:43 PM

Out of touch, out of date and hopefully at next election, out of job.

Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:43 PM

It’s hard to believe that anyone living in the Republic of Ireland along the border would propose or support a military presence on either side, let alone someone that served in the Defence forces.

Any border military presence for any reason, is the slippery slope back to the troubles once again and would serve only as a focal point and rallying cry for those on both sides that would happily turn back the clock.

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:01 PM

Peter, you are meaning well but you should have a walk in your town. Many of the yellow registrations are standing in front of the houses since years.

Taxes and insurance are cheaper in the North.

Mute Dónal Ó Keeffe
    Favourite Dónal Ó Keeffe
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:32 PM

Politely speaking Peter Fitzpatrick will you ever go away and read a book or something.
    I can remember when a good politician had to be 75 percent ability and
    25 percent actor, but I can well see in your case the reverse could be
    true.

Mute alphasully
    Favourite alphasully
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:36 PM

@Dónal Ó Keeffe: he just needed to manage a team to get robbed by meath

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:11 PM

Who elected this knob?? Lol . A hard border.. lol. Just what we need now after telling the EU and U.K. it would be fatal to the GFA.

Mute johnbrady
    Favourite johnbrady
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:18 PM

The guards can’t even issue on the spot fines so whats the army going to do?

Mute alphasully
    Favourite alphasully

Ex Blueshirter buleshirting

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:26 PM

Who voted for him, Enda Kenny and the ATM’s

Mute John Dublin
    Favourite John Dublin
    Nov 12th 2020, 1:53 PM

If only there was a United Ireland, the DUP would be irrelevant.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:12 PM

@John Dublin: If only Churchill had been a Kerry man…

Mute David Dunne
    Favourite David Dunne
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:50 PM

Total muppet. That would look wonderful. Hard border.

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt

Great idea the job SFDUP in NI is shocking. Dont think the army is the answer but Garda check points on all major road is the least we should expect

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Nov 12th 2020, 3:42 PM

A hard border, aye Peter that will work just fine..

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 12th 2020, 4:31 PM

All the trouble and outrage concerning a hard border and that he wants to put the army on the border . Sweet Jesus

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Nov 12th 2020, 8:38 PM

@Donal Desmond: you would think that the people along the border would have a little consideration for the rest of the country. While the rest of us are locked within our 5 kms this shower travel willy nily into another country.

Mute John Lynch
    Favourite John Lynch
    Nov 13th 2020, 2:51 AM

@Donal Desmond:
    The hard border was about lorries stopping and taxes to be paid. Nothing to do with Covod

Garda and army are to deter non essential travel, The soldiers are not armed.

Less hysteria – people try to make it sound like a military takover with ‘progressives’ in comcentration camps

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 13th 2020, 11:28 PM

@Chris Mc: A certain section had no consideration when it came to playing golf.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 13th 2020, 11:31 PM

@John Lynch: Troops on the border is the last thing we need. Unfortunately people cross county bounds every day…do you suggest troops are to be put on the borders of each county in Ireland.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Nov 12th 2020, 1:53 PM

why not change their job description and uniform in the civil roll as covid civil patrol unarmed but enough legal back up to be able instill the 5km rules here, that would stop alot of unnecessary cross border journeys

Mute Kevin Mcginley
    Favourite Kevin Mcginley
    Nov 12th 2020, 4:33 PM

And as your a Ex Soldier what powers would you give the Defence Forces..
    As you should be aware its only Aid to Civil power which requires a Garda to be present..
    Your only talking out of your .
    Not allowed to finish as it is deemed as toxic lol

Mute Galwaygogo
    Favourite Galwaygogo
    Nov 12th 2020, 3:12 PM

Why is a sitting td not writing a bill in order to deal with this situation instead of announcing unplanned, uneducated comments. Why be a legislator that does not legislate!

Theres no law at present that people are breaking, also more are travelling north due to retail being open up there.

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Nov 12th 2020, 5:03 PM

Give him his gun and send him up there alone. Laughing stock of the whole world.

Mute Travis O Bickle
    Favourite Travis O Bickle
    Nov 12th 2020, 8:18 PM

Works both ways. A lot of southern regs in Belfast.

Mute Badger the witness
    Favourite Badger the witness
    Nov 12th 2020, 6:12 PM

He doesn’t like all the yellow regs? Ah the poor fella, well we don’t like having a border on the island, his time would be better spent campaigning for a united Ireland.

Mute Pauline Fedigan
    Favourite Pauline Fedigan
    Nov 12th 2020, 4:41 PM

WHO IS HE????????

Mute Mike Heelan
    Favourite Mike Heelan
    Nov 12th 2020, 2:19 PM

Now that the Donald has more time maybe he could build a wall

alan
    Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Nov 12th 2020, 4:43 PM

Right idea. But no army thank you. Another form of policing would be more acceptable to anybody who is worried about importing the virus. No doubt NI is a dangerous basket case and we cant just ignore this

Mute Peter Connolly
    Favourite Peter Connolly
    Nov 12th 2020, 8:00 PM

He didn’t spend much time on the border when he was in the Army.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Nov 12th 2020, 6:03 PM

Given NI’s inability to deal with the coronavirus we should have shut the border weeks ago.

Mute Are You For Real
    Favourite Are You For Real
    Nov 12th 2020, 6:01 PM

Clueless

Mute Marty Lawless
    Favourite Marty Lawless
    Nov 12th 2020, 5:40 PM

Try working in Intel more English and northern men here every week

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 12th 2020, 5:56 PM

Finland have their Home Guard they army reserve patrolling their border with Sweden and are checking temps and non essential travellers are not allowed into the country. Finland yesterday was the only country in Europe of a reasonable size to have less new cases than us.
    Think health and not politics here. As expecting the NI executive to do so is a wate of time
    The army idea is dumb but something must be done, just what is the big question.
    The NI builders is an old trick and is another argument completely

Mute Chris Gavican
    Favourite Chris Gavican
    Nov 12th 2020, 5:33 PM

Awful not to display intelligence for the sake of populism…..

Mute Diana Muller
    Favourite Diana Muller
    Nov 13th 2020, 1:27 AM

After a full two years of everyone freaking out about the possibility of a Brexit induced hard border:

“Hey lads things can hardly get worse… Let’s start a civil war while we’re at it.”

I’m struggling a little with the idea that we voted for, and are paying hundreds of thousands of euro to someone who would suggest something this idiotic. Between this guy and the “Lets cancel Christmas” PR genius. I’m starting to wonder what went wrong.

I would very much like a general election right now but I cant imagine things actually improving at this point. It’s weird that after the terrible year its been this is the first time I’ve felt really depressed.

Mute ros aodha
    Favourite ros aodha
    Nov 13th 2020, 3:19 PM

Don’t worry. It won’t happen. Govt closed border barracks and subsequent governments have gutted the defence forces, we have almost half the available soldiers that we had at the height of the troubles. We had 15,000 in the defence forces and over 12,000 reserves, today we have 8,000 fulltime soldiers , sailors and air crew (supposed to be 9,500) and just over 1,100 reserves.

Even back then we struggled to close the border.

Where were these TDs when defence forces were calling for restoration of pay, and navy and aircorps were screaming out for new pilots, air and ground crews and sailors? 4 naval vessels tied up and aircraft that cannot fly without flight crews!?

This is nothing but table banging and optics. Good luck to him finding enough soldiers to close the crossings in one county, nevermind a whole border.