You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

hot dogs and burgers Alamy

SF pledge to crack down on junk food advertising and explore 'fry free zones' near schools

The party also wants to set up a special office within the Department of Health to deal with consumption related chronic diseases.

WELCOME TO POLICY Matters, a series from The Journal that takes a deep dive into the ideas and solutions proposed by Ireland’s politicians on some of the biggest issues of the day.

As part of the series, The Journal sits down with different spokespeople from across Ireland’s political parties to take a deeper look at what they believe needs to be done across areas like housing, health, the environment and childcare.

Over the course of the 2024 general election, we will be taking a special look at some of the proposals from different political candidates that might otherwise slip under the radar.

As part of that, we caught up with Sinn Féin’s health spokesperson David Cullinane to talk about his party’s plans to reduce childhood obesity if Sinn Féin win the upcoming election. 

———

IN A BID to tackle childhood obesity, Sinn Féin has proposed introducing maximum sodium limits in fast foods and bread, cracking down on junk food advertising and exploring the possibility of “no-fry zones” around schools.

All of these policies are promised under a Public Health (Obesity) Act pledged in the party’s healthcare policy document.

Health spokesperson David Cullinane explained that the core aim of the proposed legislation is to tackle childhood obesity by tightening up rules around advertising and packaging of foods that are high in salt, sugar or fat. 

Secondary to this, is exploring the possibility of local councils implementing what are dubbed “no-fry zones” around schools – essentially a ban on businesses like chippers and fast food restaurants. 

“We would obviously engage with the sector on that,” Cullinane said. 

download (4) David Cullinane at the party's health launch last monht. RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

He insists that a “common sense approach” would be taken, and shops that sell unhealthy or high-fat food in their delis would be exempt. 

“This is isn’t the biggest priority for me in my document, in terms of the Public Health Obesity Act, for me, the bigger priority is the targeting of children through advertising and marketing. That will be the first priority.”

Cullinane added that he believes there might be difficulties in actually legislating for “no-fry zones” but said it should still be considered. 

“These are proposals with which have been made to us from experts in public health who say we need to be looking at this when we plan the building of schools if we’re serious about reducing obesity, I would imagine that there would be difficulties in legislating in that particular area but it doesn’t mean that we shouldn’t examine it,” he said.

The party has also pledged to set up an office within the Department of Health, that will be responsible for consumption-related health, i.e. alcohol, vaping, smoking and food content.

On regulating sodium limits in food, Cullinane argued that a lot of people don’t know the sugar or salt content in food and pointed to the sugar tax as an example of a successful government-led intervention.

“The sugar tax was, in my view, a huge success, and a lot of people have now transitioned from say Coke to Coke Zero, or Fanta to Fanta Zero. So it has had an impact.

“So we know that doing things in relation to taxation, but also in relation to reformulation, are measures that the state can put in place,” Cullinane said. 

Advertising bans 

Cullinane prefaced his comments on advertising limits by saying that education and awareness around healthier eating needs to be the first priority.

“We also want to make sure that there are proper health checks. We want to roll out more health checks for those at risk in relation to cholesterol levels, for example, and blood pressure,” he added.

“We have a lot of people who die prematurely because of cardiac arrest and cardiac disease, obesity is becoming more of a problem. We can’t afford not to do anything.”

On advertising, he said the first thing that needs to happen is to introduce rules around food packaging and specifically target marketing near schools and online.

“Obviously, adults make up their own minds. People have to make their own choices, but they have to be supported in that.

“And I suppose that’s what a Public Health Obesity Act does. There is a level of personal responsibility obviously, the state has responsibility in relation to training and awareness, but we can also do more in reducing the content of unhealthy substances and foods.”

Cullinane made the point that any restrictions introduced will relate to the content of food rather than brands. 

Responding to the suggestion that fast food brands will find ways around legislation, similar to how alcohol brands have circumvented restrictions by promoting their alcohol free 0.0. brands instead, Cullinane said he doesn’t see this as a negative. 

“Personally I don’t have a difficulty with that. I know that people would say they’re a gateway into advertising other alcoholic products, but we have seen a lot of people transition from drinking alcohol, particularly if they’re driving and can now go out and drink 0.0 products.

“So we are seeing more and more people switching, and that’s a good thing.”

He added that he isn’t concerned about traditional fast-food brands advertising alternative products that are healthier. 

“We have to work with industries as well in relation to all of those areas.

“It is about, in some cases, taking on big industry.

There are vested interests there, of course there are, but that’s why governments exist.

“People’s public health has to come first. And when we’re spending billions of Euro treating people who have cardiac illness or other illnesses which come from and are related to consumption-related harm, as it’s called, we have an obligation then to do more,” the Waterford TD said.

As part of its “priority legislation”, laws Sinn Féin says it will deliver within five years if in government, the party has promised to deliver an Obesity Act.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

89 Comments
    Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    May 2nd 2018, 12:58 PM

The public have lost trust in this goverment.

Mute Shane Fleming
    Favourite Shane Fleming
    May 2nd 2018, 1:56 PM

@@mdmak33: It’s more the public have lost trust in the HSE. Ministers are mere puppets controlled by the secretaries generals.

Mute Stephen Adam
    Favourite Stephen Adam
    May 2nd 2018, 2:00 PM

@Shane Fleming: The public haven’t lost trust in anything. Just look at the polls – FGLeo riding high still. The public don’t care about this. Not really.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    May 2nd 2018, 2:26 PM

@Stephen Adam: riding high? They are in early 30’s, which means over two thirds have no intention of voting for them.

Mute Stephen Adam
    Favourite Stephen Adam
    May 2nd 2018, 2:28 PM

@Paul Fahey: given the fractured nature of our politics they’re still the most popular party in the country. LV is the most popular leader since Bertie.

FFFG have probably 50% of the vote. So nothing changes. Homelessness house prices Garda corruption now this – won’t make a difference.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 2nd 2018, 3:31 PM

@@mdmak33: What is there to trust about a corrupt golden circle where they all look out for each other and to hell with everyone else.
    The Times are running a story today that tells us Tony O’Brien joined an American company as a board member on a lucrative contract. The chairman of the compant has fundraised for Leo and is chairman of the board of Ireland East Hospital, the countries largest hospital group and the Mater hospital.
    There’s conflicts of interest written all over this corrupt government and their cronies.

Mute Stephen Adam
    Favourite Stephen Adam
    May 2nd 2018, 12:58 PM

Ah sure look – won’t the tax payer foot the bill? Sure it’s grand.

When do we see some sackings? Some pensions stripped? Some more resignations?

When is there actual accountability for the appalling negligence and ass covering?

When the tax payer has to pay out someone’s head has to roll.

Mute Leroy
    Favourite Leroy
    May 2nd 2018, 1:13 PM

@Stephen Adam: Its easy spending somebody’s else money you see

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    May 2nd 2018, 1:56 PM

@Stephen Adam: One word answers all your questions: “Never!”

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    May 2nd 2018, 1:15 PM

Wait, he doesn’t know the full numbers – but the reassessments will be completed by the end of May. How was that time frame therefore arrived at ?
    Has there not been enough incompetence under FG, now and in the past, for FF to withdraw support and revisit who we want to represent this country, whoever that may be. What else is going on that we haven’t been given transparency on ?

Mute David Knight
    Favourite David Knight
    May 2nd 2018, 1:40 PM

So after all the hand-wringing and crocodile tears, the fake apologies and the firm promises of action, (as opposed to actual action), they are now saying they still don’t know the full facts. What an admission! It’s clear that the chain of command is simply not working within our public services. Some of the blame may lie with operating in a highly unionised environment, where the civil servants are so cocooned from reality, that they just don’t give a damn, and there is no failing that can ever have any impact on their situation. But what is stopping a minister from breaking the chain of command and going to the coalface and get his answers for himself? What is stopping the government from creating new legislation that brings in accountability? What’s to stop a minister from introducing criminal negligence and charging people found to be accountable, where loss of life is proven?

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    May 2nd 2018, 2:21 PM

Leo wants time !!! this case is going on since 2011, 7 years, he was a health minister and now Taoiseach .. And if Leo and Simon did not know ( i dont believe them ) then they should resign for not knowing abou State going to war with that poor woman for the last 7 years

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    May 2nd 2018, 1:06 PM

prime ministers,heads of departments,ministers, td’s, garda commissioners, does not matter who you are on Irish gov payroll, does not matter how Incompetent, does not matter how much damage inflicted on innocent people, here is your pension & lump sum off you pop,,,GROSS

Mute Liam McGowan
    Favourite Liam McGowan
    May 2nd 2018, 10:17 PM

@Shane O Malley: Agreed Shane. Same with the bankers, auditors and those who inflicted real hardship, even death on the general public. The elite never pay.

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    May 2nd 2018, 1:04 PM

This country is hazardous. If it’s not the cops , crap road infrastructure, shocking health service…it’s the governments complete incomoetency.

The government runs this state and is responsible for it’s people considering that tax they collect .

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 2nd 2018, 1:51 PM

Redress isn’t much to those that have died, and not a lot of good to those women whose lives are shortened by government incompetence and couldn’t care less until caught attitude.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    May 2nd 2018, 2:49 PM

Copied from Journal.ie .. Proves Leo knew more

http://www.thejournal.ie/varadkar-cervicalcheck-3988626-May2018/#comment-7169130

Dara O’Brien
    4y
    7hours ago

@gregory: Dail debate is here if you want to read it – from 2008, Leo is a TD since 2007 and as a doctor, he would have been well aware of this debate.

“The method of screening done by Quest Diagnostics is not up to the same standard as the public labs in Ireland — this means that more Irish women will die” Sinn Féin’s, Aengus Ó Snodaigh warned the Dáil on May 29, 2008.

“Quest has won the tender to analyse 300,000 Irish smear tests a year, but consultant pathologists from the Coombe Women’s Hospital, St. James’s Hospital and St. Luke’s Hospital in Dublin, and University College Hospital in Galway stated that missed cases would arise because the diagnostic rate of pre-cancerous cells at Quest Diagnostics in the US is 30% less than that of Irish laboratories.

This concern has been echoed by the Irish Association for Clinical Cytology, IACC, which has expressed its disquiet at the decision to award the contract for cervical screening services to Quest, thereby excluding Irish laboratories. The IACC says this decision will have serious implications for the long-term quality of the cervical screening programme”

He continued

“The Irish Association for Clinical Cytology states that Irish laboratories provide a quality screening service as evidenced by comparison of incidence and mortality rates to other European countries…

There is significant concern that testing for this screening programme has been placed in the hands of a multinational giant that has been convicted of fraud in the US…Janette Byrne of the Patients Together campaigning group, said: “We would definitely question why public money is being given to a company that has been investigated for acting fraudulently in another country.”

It seems the Minister for Health and Children would rather listen to corporate executives in the private health business than to health experts and patients in Ireland. Not only are our health services being privatised, but jobs and services are being exported. Trained and trainee laboratory technicians in Ireland are being written off by this decision and many will have to emigrate to find work in the future”.

He added:

“During questions on the issue of the cervical cancer screening programme last October, my colleague, Deputy Ó Caolain, asked the Minister if it was preferable that the testing labs should be here. The Minister replied: “Yes, ideally we must have our own laboratory facilities in Ireland.” This does not seem to be the case now.

I have been contacted by a medical scientist, a constituent of mine, who has raised her concern at the outsourcing to Quest Diagnostics…The HSE has a sorry history with its privatisation agenda and she does not want to see it happening with laboratory services. She concluded by stating: “As a woman and mother of two daughters I am horrified to think that the standards of screening cervical smears are going to be reduced unnecessarily and put us at risk.”

The Minister must listen to such expert voices — those involved in the service, those working in the service and the patients who have to use the service”.

http://oireachtasdebates.oireachtas.ie/debates%20authoring/debateswebpack.nsf/takes/dail2008052900007?opendocument

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    May 2nd 2018, 2:09 PM

The government needs to do something no government since the formation of the state has ever done – start sacking the [thousands of] under performing civil/public servants. They need to stand up to the vested interests (includnig the unions) and serve the people of Ireland, not just the select few.

Can our politicians – regardless of their loyalties – not see that the public is sick and tired of one branch after another of the civil/pubic service failing, being corrupt, wallowing in incompetence, holding the public to ransom…. a number of senior people need to go.

Mute Stephen Adam
    Favourite Stephen Adam
    May 2nd 2018, 2:19 PM

@Tom Purcell: If the Public were sick and tired of it FG would be getting hammered in the polls and so would FF.

They’re not. The public don’t care. Reform and sacking corrupt or negligent civil servants simply isn’t something the public give a hoot about.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    May 2nd 2018, 2:24 PM

@Stephen Adam: Polls ? who does these polls and we never seem to get a breakdown of how many are polled etc. like the useless Claire Byrne polls of 1000 people which is a very small percentage of the population.
    Agree that FF have alot to answer for proping up this shower, they should pull down this Goverment and let the people of Ireland choose

Mute Stephen Adam
    Favourite Stephen Adam
    May 2nd 2018, 2:38 PM

@Irish Bob: so it’s your position bob that the polls are wrong? And that actually – who? Sinn Fein? Are actually ahead?

I loath FFFGLab – the scandals and mismanagement are a disgrace. But let’s be realistic. The majority of the country will return these parties to office.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 2nd 2018, 3:19 PM

@Stephen Adam: Try polling women. Not just “suitable” candidates.

Mute Stephen Adam
    Favourite Stephen Adam
    May 2nd 2018, 3:27 PM

@Dave Doyle: I’m not sure what that means Dave. Are you suggesting the polls are doctored? If that were true we wouldn’t have had decades of FFFG mismanagement. But we have.

Mute Kirk Loco
    Favourite Kirk Loco
    May 2nd 2018, 6:18 PM

@Stephen Adam: You mean to tell me you actually believe the polls are managed accordingly without any doctoring of numbers?

You leave that comment under a news story about more shameful scandal in Ireland?

The politicians of this state, the judicial system, law enforcement and medical services are all corrupt to the core and a disgrace!

Mute Stephen Adam
    Favourite Stephen Adam
    May 2nd 2018, 8:00 PM

@Kirk Loco: I believe information which supports the facts. When the polls say FF FG have 50% of the vote and they also have 50% of the Dail – and we’ve been electing them for a century – well yes I believe the polls.

If the polls said the social democrats and Renua were going to take 50% or the next Dail I wouldn’t believe them.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    May 2nd 2018, 1:47 PM

Will FG handle it as well as the church redress?
    I wouldn’t hold my breath.
    Fg or FF couldn’t care less.
    No faith in either.

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    May 2nd 2018, 2:30 PM

Apologies and a redress scheme ,anything from fanning the flames of public discontent .varadkar is up to his neck in this ,he has been flip flopping through this already tired administration .he is the same old plastic politician we have become accustomed to in ireland ,he will i presume cap his tenure off by offering another big goodie bag at the next election .Whatever happened to the great democratic revolution ,gombeens

Mute SilentFugitive
    Favourite SilentFugitive
    May 2nd 2018, 3:42 PM

@Anthony Gallagher: Look at the photo, even now in this dark dank place Irish politics finds itself in – he is thinking about image, surrounding himself with women. Two to the left and two to the front. It’s all about presenting the right image and the optics have to be positive. That speaks volumes to me. Bigger shame on the pawn TDs for allowing themselves to be used in that regard.

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    May 2nd 2018, 4:31 PM

@SilentFugitive: agree ,i think if leo had any real leadership qualities he would be standing or sitting on the front row .he looks very much like he is being protected .when your in command command and to me that is taking pole position .leo would appear to have a lot of self doubt .he is being paid a very handsome salary its time he proved to the country he is worth it .

Mute AJ
    Favourite AJ
    May 2nd 2018, 2:10 PM

What did you know slimeball???

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    May 2nd 2018, 3:34 PM

Say nothing we just might get through this. Don’t mention money, only the only the cost to go back and have it done. Don’t forget to say we were never told or I cant remember.

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    May 2nd 2018, 5:31 PM

Rather than paying off the women, maybe the former minister for health might instigate a proper inquiry?

Mute francis dowling
    Favourite francis dowling
    May 2nd 2018, 8:35 PM

If it wasn’t for the courageous Vicky phelan highlighting the way she was horribly treated by the state it would of been business as usual for Leo and his incompetent government what the people don’t know won’t hurt them, shame on you Leo

Mute ForeverFeel1ng
    Favourite ForeverFeel1ng
    May 2nd 2018, 11:38 PM

Too many Administrators in the HSE. There needs to be a purge. Plain and Simple.

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    May 2nd 2018, 8:13 PM

What a disgustingly hollow and self serving Bass turd this clown is, people have died for Christ’s sake, what where the reasons behind these Laboratories getting this work? Who organized the deal? Was this companies numerous class actions considered during the tender process? Redress ? That won’t bring people back, money hasn’t and never will clean up the middle management/civil servant cesspool that is the HSE?! This horribly inexperienced unelected leader of the Irish people has been a Doctor and Minister for health!? I’m guessing this clown became a politician to circumvent his obvious hippocratic oath failings. Ethical Pledges and behaviours!? Do yourselves a favour don’t associate this criminal with either and don’t look in the Dail for them either. Disgusting liar.

Mute Michael Donovan
    Favourite Michael Donovan
    May 3rd 2018, 9:35 PM

How about a redress scheme for those whom we’re held in cervitude in all of Ireland’s “Holly Labour Camp’s” concidering you get nothing for LPT these day’s love to see the council’s pay this over as componsation,,,for the brutality shown by state and religouse orders.