You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Eamonn Farrell/ Photocall Ireland

Poll: Should the government raise speed limits on Irish motorways?

Minister Varadkar has said there is no proposal to raise the limit but if there was, would you support it?

A CALL FROM TD Clare Daly that the motorway speed limit be raised from 120km per hour to 130km per hour has been rejected by Minister for Transport Leo Varadkar.

It has been suggested that higher speed limits on motorways could help boost the economy by shortening journey times. However the government has been working on a number of new measures over the last year to reduce speed on roads, though this is mainly in rural areas and city centres.

So what do you think? Should the speed limit on Irish motorways be raised?

Poll Results:

No (4024)
Yes (2737)
I'm not sure (1410)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

217 Comments
    Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:02 AM

A section of the N4 in Dublin goes from 80km to 60km to 30km to 60km in about 200 meters of the road. And they always have a speed camera sitting waiting. Money making Scam. Around the Liffey Valley area.

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:05 AM

Couldn’t agree more. I travel this way to work and I spend more time looking at my speedometer , than I do the road.

Mute Tom Hara
    Favourite Tom Hara
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:47 AM

Thats because you have several roads converging in that area so slower speeds help reduce incidence of collisions.

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:51 AM

I’m aware of that but surely after the Texaco garage heading to Galway there is no need for such a low speed limit?

Mute Cuddle Flips
    Favourite Cuddle Flips
    Dec 8th 2013, 5:14 PM

@Matt
    Where exactly is there a 30 km/h limit on the N4 near Liffey Valley (eastbound or westbound)? Is it visible on Google Street View?

I’m sceptical, to say the least.

Mute Antonov Merinov
    Favourite Antonov Merinov
    Dec 8th 2013, 6:43 PM

Compared to other European countries the Irish drivers are amongst the least educated and disciplined.
    And this is not my opinion.
    I am a long distance haulier and my travels include most EU countries.
    The Germans have a lower road fatality rate than the Irish.
    Eventhough most motorways in Germany have NO Speedlimits.
    Enough said.

Mute Marc
    Favourite Marc
    Dec 8th 2013, 7:52 PM

Ireland has one of the lowest road fatalities in Europe. Lower than Germany.

http://europa.eu/rapid/press-release_IP-13-236_en.htm

Mute Antonov Merinov
    Favourite Antonov Merinov
    Dec 8th 2013, 8:07 PM

Marc…
    Produce your data.
    Per km travelled the Germans have a lower incident rate.
    Especially considering that they have virtually no speed limit on Autobahns.

Mute Marc
    Favourite Marc
    Dec 8th 2013, 8:20 PM

Antonov the link I provided from the EU press release states that 36 deaths on Irish roads per million inhabitants. In Germany it’s 44 per million inhabitants.

Mute John Williams
    Favourite John Williams
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:23 PM

Couldn’t agree more. Just back from a trip where I drove through the United Kingdom, France , Belgium, Luxembourg, Germany and the Nederland. Breaks my heart coming back to drive here seeing all the apes sit in the middle or overtaking lanes on the M1 M50 and N7. Saw a van the other day on the M7 driving just about 50 km/h straddling the hard shoulder on the motorway. I’d love to see the limit increased but with the way so many people drive here and total lack of regard for lane discipline it would probably do more damage than good.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:57 AM

Maybe introduce minimum speed on motorway. Along with the upper limit. A lot of accidents are caused by drivers driving way to slow. Example: someone driving 40kph on a 125kph road.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:00 AM

Sorry typo 120kph not 125.

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:30 AM

Right on the money there. Also some people don’t understand that the right lane is for overtaking. PLEASE GO BACK INTO THE LEFT LANE AFTER!!!!

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:30 AM

Yes. And no way should trucks ever go into the overtaking lane. They move out and cannot overtake the vehicle in front. They then sit in the overtaking lane for miles.

Mute Gary O Connor
    Favourite Gary O Connor
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:53 AM

its against the law for trucks to be on the outside lane so they shouldnt be overtaking

Mute Gráinne Ní Bhriain
    Favourite Gráinne Ní Bhriain
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:10 PM

You can report them onve driving under half the speed limit as there a danger to themselves and other road users

Mute Graham--
    Favourite Graham--
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:22 PM

I think trucks have a desperate speed limit anyway don’t they? 80 or 100kph?

Mute Gráinne Ní Bhriain
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:37 PM

Yep they do but ya can by pass it going down hill on the motorway and clutch in as itll roll passed the 80k limit

Mute Brendan Rooney
    Favourite Brendan Rooney
    Dec 8th 2013, 1:27 PM

The reason there is a speed limit on trucks is that they are harder to stop than cars because of their heavy loads. If you are rear ended by another car you will survive. However rear ended by a vehicle weighing many tonnes decreases chance of survival even if it hits u at a low speed. (something to do with Newton laws)

Driving any vehicle without the clutch engaged means u have less control of the vehicle

Mute Gráinne Ní Bhriain
    Dec 8th 2013, 2:34 PM

Didnt say I do it I know of truck drivers who used to do it.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Dec 8th 2013, 3:27 PM

Is it Gary? Like I had that discussion with my sister lately and she agrees with your words here, but I thought trucks are allowed to pass on the outside lane….especially if there is no oncoming traffic like? :/

Mute Niall Gilmartin
    Favourite Niall Gilmartin
    Dec 8th 2013, 5:06 PM

In the UK trucks or large vehicles are banned from using the third lane on a motorway, however as most of our motorways are two lane this is sadly not practical.

Mute John Hagin Meade
    Favourite John Hagin Meade
    Dec 8th 2013, 5:14 PM

I seem to remember a road safety advertisement on TV advising motorists that a speed limit is not a target and that there is no minimum limit. If a person is pulled over for “insufficient progress” they could reasonably say they felt that traffic or road conditions led them to believe that travelling faster might be dangerous. That is their right. If they were forced to travel faster and by chance were involved in an accident I imagine there would be a huge compensation claim against the state. People should use good judgement in using the roads. If you were to drive at 100KM/H during icy/foggy or torrential rain conditions it would be reasonable to call that speed dangerous and hazardous even though the allowed speed limit was 120KM/H. In those conditions, driving at 50KM/H could not be considered “insufficient progress”.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Dec 8th 2013, 5:38 PM

Slightly off topic, but the amount of commenters who agree with lights on at all times, you could count on one hand the amount in picture using them, even with a strong blinding sun

Mute John Hagin Meade
    Dec 8th 2013, 8:03 PM

@Shawn Rahoon:

Regarding using headlights during daytime, I believe it may have some merit in built up areas. If it was a legal requirement to do so everywhere I would hope that some reduction in fuel prices would follow as the extra fuel used in a year of motoring to generate the additional energy needed to recharge the battery would be significant as well as more frequent bulb replacement. We motorists are being screwed if we move, if we park and with motor tax, if we do nothing. Where will it all end?

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:24 PM

Often the slower drivers are half blind and for vanity reasons will not wear glasses or hearing aids.
    Overall our driving standards are below par and places like Donegal take bad driving to a new level.

Mute Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore
    Favourite Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:48 PM

Your dynamite at boring people aren’t you? I bet you drive a really big car. You and Emmet should have a race. Correct me if I’m wrong but I bet Emmet would like a competition with a real man dragster like you.

Mute O' Loughlin Ronan
    Favourite O' Loughlin Ronan
    Dec 9th 2013, 12:54 PM

@john, I always drive with dips and spots, the rsa already have signs erected in mayo in regards to using dipped headlights during daytime hrs, but never made it an official rule, anything that makes you more visable on the roads is a gud thing, anyways our skys are always overcast, so it should be mandatory… but that would make too much sence for our outdated, ould foogie, government.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:17 PM

@Ronan, unless you got Spots fitted specially you are one of thousands of people who use fog lights day and night and are not aware they should only be used (wait for it) in Fog and Heavy Snow. Besides risking 2 penalty points it is potentially dangerous because they take away night vision of other road users and makes the drivers look foolish with their obvious lack of
    knowledge regarding the rules of the road.

Mute O' Loughlin Ronan
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:28 PM

@david, there on modern cars, and there called daytime running lights, and there on most modern audis, and I put dips on with them…so how am I breaking the law by making myself more visible? And yes there are separate fog lights which are used only in foggy or snowy weather.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:55 PM

My point Ronan is when people say Spots (which are specialist lights) they often mean front Fogs which play havoc in rain and night driving for other road users. Daytime Running Lights do not cause chaos in their wake. No offence intended :-)

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:38 AM

We need Real motorways-not glorified dual carriageways! – 3 lanes with a huge campaign in educating people how to drive on them!
    Most idiots think they should only drive in the fast lane or switch to whichever lane is moving faster instead of Only driving in the fast lane to overtake-Idiots! !

Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:01 AM

I thought motorways were only reserved for Audi drivers

Mute David peate
    Favourite David peate
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:08 AM

it’s not a fast lane, it’s an overtaking lane.

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Stephen Small
    Favourite Stephen Small
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:17 AM

Well said David. That really gets on my wick when people call it the “Fast Lane”. That’s where half the issues on Motorways arise.

Scenario, somebody in lane 1 doing 100 kmh, somebody goes in to lane 2 , the “Fast Lane” at 110- 120 kmh to over take, and then stays there because they’re going faster. Even though lane one is clear of traffic, and cars are queuing up over take them, but they won’t move as they’re going at te speed limit!

It’s not your job to police the motorways….get out of the feckin way!!!

Mute George Reilly
    Favourite George Reilly
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:45 AM

Oh shut up if we were to do that we would get no were because you be in front driving 50kph in a 100kph zone

Mute Stephen Small
    Favourite Stephen Small
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:48 AM

If we were to do what George? Actually obey the rules of the road?

Mute Tom Hara
    Favourite Tom Hara
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:49 AM

Nonsense. Irish motorways are amongst the best in the world. Apart from say a section linking cork to limerick we dont need any more. The traffic volumes dont justify them. No need for three lane ones with the exception of the M50 perhaps.

Mute Tom Hara
    Favourite Tom Hara
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:52 AM

And no doubt you are one of the scourges on our roads causing death and hardship. Its an overtaking lane not a fast lane. I drive thousands of kms a year around Ireland and to be honest the behaviour on our motorways is generally very safe and good. The biggest problem I see are the ‘fast lane’ users!

Mute George Reilly
    Favourite George Reilly
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:03 AM

Sorry 120kph to be honest you have more of a chance crashing overtaking some one then driving in A straight line so if people were not driving so slow in the normal lane añd middle lane then I would agree with your post at the end if the day it people who drive to slow because they don’t know how to drive at the speed limit that are to nervous is the people that will also cause crashes as well as people that speed. Our driving test is a joke we should be teaching people how to get out of skids proper car control. And one that annoys me how to fecking indicate at roundabouts rsa put a as on TV on how to do this that’s how sad for us

Mute Dave Sherman
    Favourite Dave Sherman
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:14 AM

So between limerick and Cork we should encourage all the HGvs to travel on single carriageways ? That’s were accident happen, overtaking and pulling out of side roads. Pity you drive a few thousand more k’s to appreciate motorways.

Mute George Reilly
    Favourite George Reilly
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:36 AM

I agree with the rules Stephen my point is some people driving to slow as most people know just say I want to go to Donegal as I do most of the time I go on the m1 i am in the correct lane but I come up to a car that is going 60 kph on a 120kph motorway then I move to overtake and I meet some one in the middle lane going 80kph so i have to go in the next overtaking lane to get to the speed I want to go and most of the time you get in that lane some one driving up your hole tailgating you as you are driving 120kph so if you have to keep moving in and out of lanes it increases the percentage of having a crash.

Mute Stephen Small
    Favourite Stephen Small
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:57 AM

I agree with the basis of your point George. The main problem stems for. Poor lane discipline on motorway, which is exacerbated on two lane motorways.

But that still does not negate the main point. The outside lane of a motorway, or dual carriageway for that matter is an over taking lane. You are supposed to move back into the left hand most lane when you’re finished passing the vehicle moving more slowly. And the only people who are responsible for policing he speeds on Irish (RoI) roads are the Gardaí, and the private company who operate the Gatso vans.

Mute Gráinne Ní Bhriain
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:03 PM

Have u sat on the inside lane ? With the amount of peiple who cant drive around ya your getting cut up left right and centre, the safest place is the over taking lane oh nd I dont be going slow enough in it t have a que in behind me ;)

Mute Gráinne Ní Bhriain
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:05 PM

Bollox, there surface is pure shite falling apart, there actually a hole by blanch on it. Drive uo the a1 and feel the difference, should get the english to build our motorways cause we cant build anything that doesn’t fall apart.

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:38 PM

Using the overtaking lane properly argument on a busy motorway is a fallacy in terms of road safety.
    Constantly making maneuvers and having to focus on speeding up and slowing down and looking to overtake a short time later, is obviously a higher risk probability. Better to pick your speed and stay in your lane.
    A lot of accidents are caused by centre lane users who get bored sitting behind a truck doing 40km, who decide that its best even though there are about 20 or 30 cars coming up behind, to pull out into the overtaking lane as there seems to be space at that moment beside them.
    That is the 2nd most reckless thing you can do on a motorway, the 1st is driving the wrong way against the traffic.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:41 PM

To make it even worse in a 3 or 4 lane you have a hogger in outside overtaking lane doing 30 kmh under the limit and everyone waiting to pass him. They have to queue behind. No wonder you always have empty driving lane.
    If a hogger is in lane 3 of a 4 lane motorway, how is it safer to make 6 separate lane changes, plus an overtake than to just pass in driving lane?

Mute Simon Connolly
    Favourite Simon Connolly
    Dec 8th 2013, 1:11 PM

@ Tom I agree with nearly all of what you are saying but you say we don’t need anymore motorways?! There is a huge need for a motorway connecting the M1 at Ardee to the A5 through the North towards Donegal/Derry…I drive this route on a weekly basis and the volume of traffic going to Dublin from the North West & vice versa is massive….there was a proposal that the Irish & UK governments would jointly fund a motorway but the muppets in the Dail pulled out!!!

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Dec 8th 2013, 2:48 PM

actually grainne, the vast majority of motorways in the uk were built by irish firms and irish labourours, the difference being that there was a lot less corruption in the planning and building of the motorways there than there was here, no brown envolopes to county engineers or planners, no pre purchasing of wasteland just before it goes into a compulsery purchase order worth millions. that is the difference and you can only blame the irish political system of’ ‘ back handers for the boys ‘ for that .

Mute George Reilly
    Favourite George Reilly
    Dec 8th 2013, 3:21 PM

Thanks for the reply I think if you were to enforce this rule just say on the m50
    there would be big problems due to the amount off ramps in the left lane so again you would get people moving into the middle and right lane to be honest I think the m50 would have really bad grid lock if that rule was enforced there. I say also it is poor management of the state from the ground up from learning how to drive to enforcing the rules. and to a point people want to get to work and get home as fast as possible within the rules (some don’t we know) but when i am coming home from were every i don’t want to be stuck behind some one going 50kph on the m50 I want to go the full 100kph in the dry to get home and I don’t want to be going in and out of lanes unless they are free of slow drivers that i do not want to be behind.
    Just to quote here:
    ( Lane 3 – You should only use this lane if traffic in lanes 1 and 2 is moving
    in queues and you need to overtake or make room for merging traffic.
    Again, you should move back to lane 1 as soon as it is safe to do so.
    When overtaking, only move between two lanes at a time. For example, to move
    from lane 1 to lane 3, first move into lane 2 and wait to move to lane 3 until it is
    safe to do so.) m50 is always in queues when i am on it
    and just a copy of the rules of the road for everybody

http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/rules-of-the-road-eng.pdf

Mute Stephen Small
    Favourite Stephen Small
    Dec 8th 2013, 3:37 PM

I would agree with some of what you’re saying in that George, but the M50 isn’t a great example.

Most of the exits in the M50 have Auxiliary lanes to make it easier for people to merge/ exit with/ from the main carriage ways. In these lanes, overtaking on the left is allowed.

One of the only other times where over taking on the left, or driving in lanes 2 and 3 are allowed are when traffic in other lanes is moving as slowly in all lanes, eg traffic at peak times.

Mute O' Loughlin Ronan
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:36 AM

@george, dead right.

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Favourite Richard Sweeney
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:37 AM

no not when the majority of irish drivers don’t understand the rules of the road, and are oblivious to what’s going on outside their little bubble.

Mute Munsterite60
    Favourite Munsterite60
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:43 AM

The motorways are fine as they are, it’s the stupid Donkeys that insist on using the middle lane at all times while the inside lane is clear. For a trial period the Traffic Corp should patrol and educate these morans on motorway driving.

Mute Lord Loverocket
    Favourite Lord Loverocket
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:00 AM

Its ridiculous that you pass a driving test therefore enabling you to drive on a motorway without ever having driven on a motorway!!

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:26 PM

In the UK the police now have the power to pull over middle-lane and outer-lane hogs and fine them.

Mute John Hagin Meade
    Dec 8th 2013, 5:25 PM

At peak traffic times on the M50 or any other very busy road it would be impractical to expect drivers not to use all the lanes, not just the inside lane. The outside lane is for overtaking only in light traffic conditions. I can’t imagine the M50 having only 2 of the 3 lanes in use during peak traffic times.

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:15 AM

There should be electronic speeding signs to change the speed limit depending on traffic and weather conditions.

We also should have better education around motorway driving. .. eg driving too slow sub 80k and 80k too slow min .

Learning which lanes a driver should be in as well. Often on the M1 practically everyone is in the overtaking lane and a handful in the driving lane . The motorway becomes a single lane road and all the benefits go out the window.

We need better enforcement of the rules not just speed.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:04 PM

Why isn’t there a deprecate speed limit for artics?

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:04 PM

Separate

Mute Josephine Carroll
    Favourite Josephine Carroll
    Dec 8th 2013, 1:26 PM

spot on declan are they all learner drivers that dont understand that the second lane is for overtaking only? or they just dont understand the motorway.get them off the road til they do i say.

Mute John Williams
    Favourite John Williams
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:28 PM

Your dead right Declan! The M1 is a disaster in the morning. They all just sit in the over taking lane. You can make better progress in lane 1 most of the time in the mornings!

Mute John Hagin Meade
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:13 PM

@ Declan Byrne:

“There should be electronic speeding signs to change the speed limit depending on traffic and weather conditions.”

That was developed in the UK some years ago and demonstrated on the BBC program “Tomorrows World”. As all cars built in the last 20 years have electronic engine management, it would be easy to have a receiver fitted to all vehicles. There are two ways of controlling the speed limit. (1) Via satellite. (2) Via local transducers on roadsides. The advantage of local transducers is that it would be under local council control so road works or a traffic accident etc. could be managed to alter speeds. Another great use would be in crime prevention. If a criminal tried to make a fast getaway from a crime scene, the police (who would not have speed control transducer receivers fitted) could issue an “All Stop” command and easily catch up on the criminals. If, by chance the criminals were in a car without the receiver they would be caught up in the stalled traffic ahead anyway. We have all heard of serious multi-vehicle pileups on UK motorways due to sudden fog and drivers not slowing down. This system could eliminate this.

Mute Grahame Goggin
    Favourite Grahame Goggin

Idea is fine. Provided full training systems are put in place teaching everyone how to use their mirrors when overtaking, using indicators, only using left lane unless overtaking (drives me insane) this training system should be done anyway but perhaps this speed increase suggestion would encourage the thought of showing people how to use the bloody road. There’s too many people out there who got their licence in the post in the 80′s and can’t actually drive!

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Favourite Richard Sweeney
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:51 AM

How to deal with a backlog in driving test applications, give them driving licenses.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:25 PM

It was given free to those who had a second or plus provisional license.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:27 PM

And that was in 1979.

Mute Grahame Goggin
    Favourite Grahame Goggin
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:52 PM

Ok thanks..1979, close enough. The exact year isn’t the issue here!

Mute Grahame Goggin
    Favourite Grahame Goggin
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:52 PM

Ok thanks..1979, close enough. The exact year isn’t the issue here!

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:56 PM

Your welcome. Your welcome!

Mute Mick Byrne
    Favourite Mick Byrne

The amount of people who got those licences are very few given the overall picture. Also truck drivers have to do 1 day training every year, when was the last time car drivers had to sit down for driver training ?

Mute Grahame Goggin
    Favourite Grahame Goggin
    Dec 8th 2013, 1:30 PM

I absolutely agree Mick. Having done my test 3 years ago I’d consider the material to be somewhat still ‘fresh’ in my mind. By no means am I saying I’m a perfect driver but obviously general rules of the road would be better understood by the likes of myself compared to someone who was handed their licence in 1979 or by someone who has done their ‘test’ 50+ years ago. Mandatory annual refreshment of rules of the road needs to be introduced in my opinion

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Dec 8th 2013, 3:21 PM

The queue from what I saw went all the way around the fruit market as I went to get my first license and you can multiple that by another few for when I wasn’t there. I left it for a few days later. If they were to be called back there would be too many job losses, but if they’re confident enough they should have no bother

Mute Quincy
    Favourite Quincy
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:35 AM

Some people can’t drive properly on them as it is(tailgating /not using indicator etc… raising the speed limit would just cause carnage .

Mute Snug Head
    Favourite Snug Head
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:53 AM

Ffs. 120 on a motorway is pedestrian. Upping it to 140 and there wouldn’t be the slightest difference. Carnage my ar*e.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:18 PM

Fully agree snug..the biggest dangers I see on the motorways that I travel regularly on are people doing 50mph in the right hand lane..causing people doing 70mph to break sudeen when coming up to them..these 50mph motorway drivers are the same ppl who wont move out of the left lane and into the right hand lane when approaching an intersection where adjoining traffic will be coming on from their left!! See it every day!!!!

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:43 PM

Agreed. Many a problem would be solved if NRA ran a campaign telling people the difference between the fast lane and the slow lane. Also, penalty points for it would be useful.

It’s unbelievable so many can’t tell. You’d never see it on the continent by comparison.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Dec 8th 2013, 1:09 PM

Its a difference of 10 kph more.Not unlimited whatever you are having yourself German autobahn, speed.

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Favourite Padriag O'Traged
    Dec 8th 2013, 5:15 PM

There is no “slow” or “fast” lane.. Outside lanes are for overtaking, after which the vehicle should return to the left hand lane.

Except on the M50 if course, where people try to negate millions of euros spent on adding extra lanes by doing 95kph in the middle fcuking lane, overtaking fresh air.

Mute O' Loughlin Ronan
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:07 AM

@nigel, true, a lot of L drivers on the motorway aswel, they shouldnt be anywhere near it, there a bloody menace, and I dont see the gardai enforcing the law either, there was suppose to be a rule introduced three years ago banning L drivers from driving without a qualified driver… but once again ireland takes a step backwards, and yes the speed limit should be increased to 140kph, 120 in all fairness is a bit slow, and drivers regularly drive the motorway at 160kph daily..so…

Mute O' Loughlin Ronan
    Dec 9th 2013, 1:20 PM

To the L driver red thumbing my comment, just get to fcuk off the motorways.

Mute shan
    Favourite shan

Other countries have dual speeds depending on weather. 130 when dry and 110 when wet. Works very well I think.

Mute Brendan Maher
    Favourite Brendan Maher
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:11 AM

Wouldn’t have a hope of working here.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:09 AM

Wouldn’t work here as we have idiots who
    Always do 100 in 80 zone.
    120-130 in the 100 zone
    And about 150 in 120 zone

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    Dec 8th 2013, 1:57 PM

The most interesting ones are the ones that do 80 in the 120 zone, and 80 in the 60 zone? Whats that all about?

Mute Stephen Howlin
    Favourite Stephen Howlin
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:42 AM

Should the speed limit on motorways be raised?
    No

Should the Irish driving test be over hauled and include but not be limited to testing: how to change a tire, parking both parallel and reversing into a spot?
    A massive YES.

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:54 AM

First time I changed a car tyre I was aged just 10.

My self and my brother were supposed to go to a party but the car had a flat. Dad said if we wanted to go to the party we would have to change the tyre so we did.

My brother was 11. Tbh it wasn’t rocket science. A couple of nuts were a bit stiff but we had the tyre changed and dad took us to the party…

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:57 AM

Our speed limits are there not to save lives but to raise revenue!

100km on the m50 is a joke but you’ll notice it’s 120km after carrickmines.

Why ? It’s the same road

I know people will say there’s a higher volume of traffic.

We need to start fining people who drive in the overtaking lane that’s right folks its not a fast lane. Its a lane you use to overtake someone and then you move back into the left lane.

If you drive in the UK , this works.

In Germany on some parts of the motorway there is no speed limit at all but people use their head and drive responsibly!

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:33 AM

I think after Carrickmines you are on to the M11? not sure though. Also I remember hearing that the lanes in M50 were made slightly too small so that the speed limit has to be a maximum of 100kmh

Mute John Hagin Meade
    Dec 8th 2013, 7:45 PM

@Emmet Boyle:

The M50 from the airport is 100KM/H, reduced from 120KM/H and that’s after the road was upgraded with an extra lane! After junction 13, Ballinteer, the road was not altered at all so it’s still good for 120KM/H…Go figure!

My respect for the NRA went out the window after that and the same nonsense at the Glen of the Downs after significant upgrading, the 60MPH limit was reduced to 40MPH and only increased to 50MPH after an annoyed motorist pointed out this anomaly on the Joe Duffy show. Who bestowed the title Authority on the NRA?…They did! I am now declaring myself king of Ireland. I have bestowed the title on myself! as apparently it is my right to do this in Ireland.

P.S. How about 24Hour bus lanes for the 24 hour available buses. Again…Go figure!

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:06 PM

Interesting point!

Mute Rachel Mc Veigh
    Favourite Rachel Mc Veigh

120km is just fine but I’d like to see all motorways with that limit. 100km on the M50 needs to be raised

Mute Rossa Crowe
    Favourite Rossa Crowe
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:25 AM

I was wondering why it was so low so I looked it up. Its 100kph to reduce emmissions around the dublin area.

Mute Richie Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Richie Ó Braonáin
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:06 PM

That’s mad. I thought they reduced the speed limit because of the number of exit and enter lanes onto the M50?

Mute Tom Hara
    Favourite Tom Hara
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:29 PM

The reason it is 100km on the M50 is due to the number of interchanges. Think how close the ballymount and red cow are together. I dont understand this need for increasing speed limits. Surely 100km on m50 and 120 on other stretches of motorways is ample. People calling for increased speed limits are usually road rage types who drive a big look at me car to substitute for their other short comings in life

Mute O' Loughlin Ronan
    Dec 9th 2013, 12:46 PM

@tom, you sound like a angry, jealous, micra driver..

Mute Tom Colgan
    Favourite Tom Colgan
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:02 AM

Yes up to 140km

Mute Shane Fleming
    Favourite Shane Fleming
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:38 AM

There’s loads of crashes on the motorways these days. Increasing the speed limit would be madness. Plus you’d use a lot more fuel probably.

Mute James Murphy
    Favourite James Murphy
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:40 AM

Increasing the speed limit doesn’t mean you have to automatically drive faster

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca

Philosophically does the speed limit actually exist at all ?

Mute Alastair de Beer
    Favourite Alastair de Beer
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:32 AM

Better late then never.

Mute James Murphy
    Favourite James Murphy
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:48 AM

That’s what she said

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:00 AM

Had an idiot tailgating and flashing me on the fast lane yesterday. It was pretty clear we all wanted to drive faster, but there was a truck slowing the whole lane down. I wonder if the idiot behind me was just going to take everyone out, one by one, terminator style. Mind boggles.

Mute Mandy Walsh
    Favourite Mandy Walsh
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:23 AM

It’s not a fast lane! Overtake & pull back in to the left hand lane.

Mute Éamonn
    Favourite Éamonn
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:26 AM

It’s an overtaking lane. Not a fast lane.

Mute marcoop
    Favourite marcoop
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:18 AM

Gavin. You and the people giving you green thumbs are exactly whats wrong with irish roads. If someone is flashing it means you are in the wrong lane or they wish to overtake you. Sitting there with an attitude like ‘sure he wants ta take us all out’ is gormless. You should be flashing the people ahead of you if you want that truck to move or else moce over yourself. Sitting there in the wrong lane being pig ignorant to other road users is dangerous.

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:34 AM

We were all flashing the truck ahead of us(those of us close enough to the truck anyhow). N7 moving along at 80km/hr on a lazy Saturday afternoon! I get your point, but in this case, we were all trying to get past the truck. I am pretty sure the guy behind me, was not flashing the truck from 300m and 7 cars back! Root cause of the dangerous situation;Truck in overtaking lane. Contributing cause; jeep tailgating me and flashing in anger thereby causing unnecessary anger.

Mute marcoop
    Favourite marcoop
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:58 AM

When I’m in situations like that and if I dont see the people ahead flashing then I’ll start flashing them. Its a matter of judgement but if i see that there is room for people to pull over then I’d expect them to. I see it EVERY morning, cars doing 80kph in overtaking lane and this strange zombie like row of cars behind them and not one of them pull over or flash to wake up the moron ahead, its bizarre! people need to be more arrogant towards the morons, politeness doesnt work and leads to undertaking or aggressive driving.

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Dec 8th 2013, 1:58 PM

Keep going aggressive then. As a motorist you need to be passive or aggressive. No in- betweens!!

Mute marcoop
    Favourite marcoop
    Dec 8th 2013, 2:08 PM

Thats true, having lived in other countries its either offensive/defensive or passive/aggressive. Then again leaving 10 minutes earlier eases any pressure you could be under but thats in an ideal world. Enjoy the rest of your weekend, safe driving!

Mute Roddie Cleere
    Favourite Roddie Cleere
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:17 AM

Ppl are already doing 130/140

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:41 AM

The Kessel run in 11 parsecs?

Mute Kevin Parlour
    Favourite Kevin Parlour
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:49 AM

Was it not 10?

Mute Luke Daly
    Favourite Luke Daly
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:07 AM

That doesn’t make sense, a parsec is a very large unit distance. Its like saying I can make a chocolate muffen in 3 kilos

Mute Kevin Parlour
    Favourite Kevin Parlour
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:15 AM

Doesn’t change the fact that it was 10 and not 11 and that it’s muffin and not muffen.

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:20 AM

You’re correct, Luke. And now if you can point to the Kessel on a map of Ireland…

Mute Kevin Parlour
    Favourite Kevin Parlour
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:30 AM

Always thought it would be like the canon ball run as opposed to a place.

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:20 AM

It was 12 parsecs and Kessel is a sector of space IN A GALAXY FAR FAR AWAY, Kevin. The whole notion in relation to travel by car on a motorway is preposterous.
    Is there anyone who would like to disprove the account of a gorilla ordering a drink in a pub?

Mute Brendan Maher
    Favourite Brendan Maher
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:09 AM

The standard of driving in Ireland is shocking, raising the speed limit will do no good at all.

Mute Justin O'Pinion
    Favourite Justin O'Pinion
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:11 AM

Talk about running before ya can walk!! This would be a disaster and would cause in increase in accidents. As a nation, we don’t have a clue how to properly use motorways. We don’t allow novice drivers on motorways and the driving test has no motorway skills section, so bad habits on our motorways are abundant to say the least. Lane hogging, incorrect entering, weaving, undertaking, tail-gating etc. etc.
    More public awareness campaigns on this please……and not just ads on the little TV in the NCT centre or during the Shortland Street repeat at 3am!

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh

I have no problem with weaving if it’s done properly. I observed this in the States where it’s the norm on the freeways. But then, US drivers get their licences earlier and are probably better taught.
    The driving test amnesty came in in the late 70s. I missed out by about six months as I started my lessons in 1979 and the amnesty had stopped by then. I had to do the test ,and passed in 1980.

Mute Francis Gorman
    Favourite Francis Gorman
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:40 AM

Every motorway in Ireland should be 120km. Especially the one on the way to Dublin the road is well able for it

Mute Joseph Molloy
    Favourite Joseph Molloy
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:52 AM

every motor way is 120km… your speeding too much to actually read the speed limit

Mute Rachel Mc Veigh
    Favourite Rachel Mc Veigh
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:56 AM

The M50 is 100km for most of it

Mute Francis Gorman
    Favourite Francis Gorman
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:28 AM

Like above M50 is 100km once you hit Naas.

Mute Dave Sherman
    Favourite Dave Sherman
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:15 AM

Naas Dublin bound is N7 not M7. South bound it becomes m7 at Naas.

Mute Joseph Molloy
    Favourite Joseph Molloy

it’s actually a dual carriage way not motor way from naas north bound to Dublin…. look up NRA

Mute Gráinne Ní Bhriain
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:07 PM

Wrong m50 is 100kmh

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:01 AM

Is this the first time Leo doesn’t have an opinion?

I saw him once outside the bleeding horse , parking on a double yellow line.

Do as I say folks not as I do!

Mute Aaron
    Favourite Aaron
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:03 AM

Whats Leo minister for again? Transport and tourism? Yeah, he won’t have anything to say, he can only comment on things thats not related to him

Mute Barry Walsh
    Favourite Barry Walsh
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:08 AM

A suggestion id make is for a minimum speed limit on all roads eg if the limit is 100 k then the min should be 90 kph,the tailbacks caused by slow drivers cause the frustration followed by someone making a rash decision,everyone who drives has seen it happening at some point!

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn

Madness… speed limits are a maximum not an apiration. The current rule…making progress appropriate to the conditions is far more sensible than attempting unenforceable minimums

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Dec 8th 2013, 1:40 PM

Barry, I’ve been saying this to RSA for years. There is no reason not to have this sign on motorways – dual carriage ways. Country roads, probably because of agricultural machinery with heavy loads may not be able to adhere to limits. But I think 120max to 100min, 100 to 80, 80 to 60.
    I also think the gaps between speed limits are too great. In US they step every 5 mph where in Ire it’s every 12mph. We should have 90 kmh and 70 kmh

Mute James Blackwell
    Favourite James Blackwell
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:59 AM

Raise the M50 to 120kph. Make safe (straightish) sections of all trans-country motorways autobahn-like limitless in dry weather and reduced limits in wet weather. Make the overtaking lane only accessible to people with cars that have been assessed as safe for higher speeds and to people who have passed an advanced driving test. This should be designed to check that 1) The person can actually see, 2) they know what mirrors are for, 3) they have a good enough reaction time, 4) they know when to let someone overtake them. :-)

Mute Nathan Sandison
    Favourite Nathan Sandison
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:52 AM

There was interesting documentary done in reference to speeds in Canada. If I think of the name of it, I’ll dig it out and post a link.

One of the points made was that a speed limit should be set so that 80% of people driving on it find it too fast… It is a limit not a target after all.

Also, speed does not necessarily imply danger, it is when cars are travelling at different speeds that accidents happen. The same documentary had the perfect graph to illustrate the ridiculousness of “speed kills”… That might have had something to do with the name actually aswell.

I think the limit should be 140kph. A limit that is too fast for a lot of people, but that which experienced drivers can handle. I’ve had experience on the M9 of people going much much fast than that… And I didn’t end up passing their burned out wreck!

Mute John Whelan
    Favourite John Whelan

Speed kills your pocketbook.

Mute Gráinne Ní Bhriain
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:28 PM

240kmh is achievable done it in germany on the autobahn on the speed limit less part im still alive

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Dec 8th 2013, 1:44 PM

Every speed kills but inappropriate speed kills more than excessive speed.

Mute Rolf Harris
    Favourite Rolf Harris

The whole way of teaching people to drive should be revamped. The european way is much better. You learn how to drive on the road first. Then you do some dual carriageway/motorway driving. Finally you do nighttime driving. The major problem with irish drivers is that most don’t know or think the rules of the road apply to them.

Mute Munsterite60
    Favourite Munsterite60
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:34 AM

Looking at the Red zone it looks like a lot of Road Hogs are up early this morning. They should get Rules of the Road from Santa.

Mute Kwacker76
    Favourite Kwacker76
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:18 AM

I drive the M3 and Irish People do not know how to use motorways, hoards of atrocious, inconsiderate and dangerous examples of driving every day.. you want to let them go faster? Speed limits are a target to Irish motorist, nothing else.

Mute martin ryan
    Favourite martin ryan
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:33 AM

How can increasing the speed limit shorten the journey-time for more coffee for someone I think.

Mute James Murphy
    Favourite James Murphy
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:41 AM

What?

Mute Daniel.
    Favourite Daniel.
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:04 AM

Time I would think. The faster you drive, the shorter length of time it takes.

Mute John Lawless
    Favourite John Lawless
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:20 AM

The faster you drive, the less control you have over the car.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:43 AM

Did you not do the maths exercise of the train starting at a given time, travelling the same distance at different speeds and having to work out the time spent travelling or the arrival time?!

Mute John Lawless
    Favourite John Lawless
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:05 PM

The amount of red thumbs my comment got just goes to show how many people think they’re invincible.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Dec 8th 2013, 1:08 PM

Or they think you dont know how to drive properly.

Mute John Lawless
    Favourite John Lawless

Because I drive safely it means I don’t know how to drive properly? Yeah, that makes a lot of sense.

Mute O' Loughlin Ronan
    Dec 9th 2013, 8:57 AM

@martin, “how can increasing the speed limit, shorten your journey time”, thats because the faster you go the more ground you cover in less time! Self evident really, speed= time/distance.

Mute O' Loughlin Ronan
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:30 AM

@john, cmon, cars these days are designed to be safe at speed, most big cars can do in excess of 160kph safely and comfortably, its the unskilled or dumbass driver thats the problem.

Mute Steve Warren
    Favourite Steve Warren
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:43 AM

Like people have said drivers are to dangerous at lower speeds let alone higher , just about everyone thinks it ok no matter what speed you are doin to drive 2 foot from my arse and the stupid thing is they don’t even want to over take

Mute Joseph Molloy
    Favourite Joseph Molloy
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:50 AM

Why Raise it! the majority of users don’t even know what a speed limit represent. For the Garda they don’t even be around to catch the fools speeding… what makes me laugh at the fools speeding there only two or three cars a head of you at a traffic light… Poor Fools

Mute Martin Greene
    Favourite Martin Greene
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:56 AM

Eh there are no traffic lights on the motorways !

Mute 'Bull' Mick Daly
    Favourite 'Bull' Mick Daly
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:15 AM

Spa

Mute Joseph Molloy
    Favourite Joseph Molloy

no ur right but on dual carriage way at newlands cross there’s traffic lights… aka coming off motor way

Mute Michael Walsh
    Favourite Michael Walsh
    Dec 8th 2013, 4:44 PM

Nass rd at new lands cross is not a motorway

Mute Dabucktoothfrog
    Favourite Dabucktoothfrog
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:05 AM

Clare Daly only wants to increase the speed so she and that other useless moran Wallace can speed down to Ennis to defend an 80 year old vandal who should be in jail. I do not pay tax for that sh1te!

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:45 AM

I see the Alan Partridge grammar police are alive & kicking this morning! – The point shouldn’t be whether you refer to the overtaking lane as a fast lane that should only br used for overtaking- it should be the central point that this lane-whatever you want to call it should ONLY be used to drive Faster to overtake Slower moving vehicles driving Below the speed limit!
    A lot of Pedantic Pats out there! :-/

Mute Simon Gregg
    Favourite Simon Gregg
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:40 AM

How about educating the idiots that do not understand the rules of motorway driving. Most licence holders in this country have never received instruction on how to drive on a motorway. Basic things such as mirror, signal, manoeuvre don’t seem to apply once you’ve passed your test.

Dec 8th 2013, 10:03 AM

No. But they could improve public transport. And they should give free Electricity and Water to low income families and individuals. There are a lot of people in this country who never owned a car and do not contribute to the carbon deathprint of the car industry.

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:22 AM

You should get an award for your massive contribution to the prevention of global warming.

Mute Kevin Parlour
    Favourite Kevin Parlour
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:26 AM

Rivers are the earth’s tears and motorways are the devils scalextric. Wake up people!

See 30 more replies ▾
    Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:28 AM

Motorways are how we get to work, how we transport goods e.g. Food e.t.c.
    Stop posting nonsense!

Mute Andy Cahalan
    Favourite Andy Cahalan
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:32 AM

…and they don’t pay ridiculous road and fuel taxes. Aside from that- we’d make a bigger impact all going vegan than if we stopped using vehicles outright. So what was your point?!

Dec 8th 2013, 10:37 AM

Emmet, your obviously a big contributor to global warming with your personal methane emissions. Try cycling, it would knock some of the lard of your rear.

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:41 AM

It’s funny our politicians were able to compare our salaries with the rest of Europe but not our rip off road tax.

I’d like the Journal to ask Leo this question below:

Why a 1.8t Passat is €660 to tax for a year in the South?

Same car in Newry is £160 to tax for a year?

Why?

Mute John O'Brien
    Favourite John O'Brien
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:43 AM

Cows emit more co2 then most cars these days. By your logic we should give free electricity to vegetarians and vegans too?

Mute Kevin Parlour
    Favourite Kevin Parlour
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:44 AM

If you’re not a road user then your opinion on motorway usage/safety is as worthless as my own opinion on communal living is.

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:50 AM

Ye and you are another free loader looking for the rest of us to pay for your water and electricity.

We live in Ireland , if you honestly believe you can impact on saving the planet by not driving a car while America fires missiles in Afghanistan and drive 4ltr cars ,you are even more delusional than I first thought!

Yes we all have to do our bit but please give us a break. I cannot cycle to work because I have to travel to work on the motorway !

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:51 AM

Do you work?

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:53 AM

Or maybe it’s a nice short cycle to the post office for your wages?

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:00 AM

Good point John. Some of us must have cars to work and pay the bills. I’m sick of the high and mighty approach by cyclists. I travel 50km to and from work every day just to pay my bills.

Mute George Reilly
    Favourite George Reilly
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:06 AM

Because we are Irish simple

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:19 AM

Patricia I feel sorry for you, but the topic is about raising the speed limit on the motorway.
    So my last piece of advice for you is opinions are like arseholes , everybody has one and I’d appreciate it if you would keep yours to yourself!

Dec 8th 2013, 11:20 AM

Kevin. Pedestrians are road users too. and I agree that your opinion is worthless.

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:27 AM

Well said Kevin!

Dec 8th 2013, 11:28 AM

Emmet, it is not my fault that you are overweight. I am a slim trim elegant pedestrian with as much entitlement to give my opinion as the overweigh slobs driving around the country and destroying the environment with their carbon monoxide emissions, not to mention their vitroilic methane emissions when a non motorist expresses an opinion. Free Public Transport for all low income families and individuals. Don’t worry about the cost. Emmet and the other motoring slobs can pay for it out of their road taxes and car tax, that is if the Banksters don’t rob it first.

Mute Kevin Parlour
    Favourite Kevin Parlour

My apologies. I’ll retract and rephrase, if you don’t use the motorway then you’re opinion is of no value as you’d be speaking from a position of no experience which in my worthless opinion would make you an idiot.

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:31 AM

So you obviously live off the State and want us to pay your bills!
    Get a life Patricia and a job!
    If u want a family , pay for it yourself like the rest of us do!

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle

Have a look at China and South Koreas missiles there and give yourself a pat on the back for cycling a fecking bike.

I hope you are just a troll and not an idiot!

Mute Kevin Parlour
    Favourite Kevin Parlour
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:42 AM

If you provide free public transport then usage would increase leading to more buses and trains. They don’t run on vegan farts patricia, no matter how slim, trim and elegant they are.

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:46 AM

Brilliant Kevin!

Kevin and Emmet, I think there is a charity where your wives will be given free gas masks. Poor things. It must be horrible for them having to endure the stench you two are emitting. Both of you combined are a positive danger to health. ‘Keep Ireland Methane Free’.

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:17 PM

Troll or Idiot?

I actually think you are both Patricia!

Raise the speed limit on the motorway?

Your answer,

Free water , electricity and public transport for low income families!

I’m slim and trim because I ride a bike!

Well done Patricia , now run back to school and apply for some free education.

You need it!

Mute Gráinne Ní Bhriain

How did the last ice age happen? And howd it all melt away? You have fallen to the media, its the earths natural cycle to rejuvenate itself

Mute Gráinne Ní Bhriain
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:20 PM

No pedestrian s stay on foot paths were they belong!

Mute Gráinne Ní Bhriain
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:22 PM

Baha yad hate me took me cat out of the car and all emmissions that if it was post 08 it be 1k tax on my emmissions

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:29 PM

Pull that saddle out of your arse and get a job, stop expecting others to pay for your bike rides!

Mute John Hagin Meade
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:24 PM

@Emmet Boyle:

Patricia seems to think you are grossly overweight and are prone to ‘gas attacks’ that your poor wife has to endure. I don’t know you so I’m not sure Patricia is correct. On the off-chance that she is correct just remember this: As she is not the best looking girl around and you are not the slimmest man around this may seem to be a stalemate, but take comfort from the fact that you could go on a diet and loose the excess.

Dec 8th 2013, 10:31 PM

If you lose control your vehicles in the same way you lose control of yourselves on this comment page, you should be under arrest. I hope none of you burst a blood vessel in front of your laptops. Why haven,t I heard from you for hours? Did you run out of Diesel?. Tell Vardaker all about it if you did. As a pedestrian I have little sympathy for your problems. I am campaigning for prison sentences for motorists who kill people on the roads. It is murder. Now get a grip of your steering wheels and stop contaminating my space.

Dec 8th 2013, 10:40 PM

John Hag Meade. Your a great laugh. I get the impression your wife didn’t get enough botox injections. And you may need to visit the optician more often, so you’ll be able to see which end is up. Correct me if I’m wrong. Laughter all round.

Mute John Hagin Meade
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:50 PM

@Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore:

Thank you for your comment. Regarding the visit to the optician, I notice that you misread my name so I suspect YOU may be the one needing the optician. In any case, thank you for your reply.

I don’t understand the botox thing. Perhaps you can explain it to me. My wife more than meets my expectations in every department but thanks for your concern.

Mute Michelle McGill Roche
    Favourite Michelle McGill Roche
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:32 AM

It should be raised as should the minimum on motorways Having said that it won’t solve the problem of everyone jamming up the passing lane So many just don’t seem to get it or just get pig ignorant bout anyone overtaking them Oh love to know where thr guards were yesterday morning when I was confronted w a man on a sooki (sorry don’t know the spelling) only going bout 30 in the inside lane of N7 up to Newlands Cross So I’m all in favour but I reckon ill still only get to drive 50 at best any night up the N7!

Mute Leon Taylor
    Favourite Leon Taylor
    Dec 8th 2013, 10:53 AM

I think it’s fast enough already and as for shortening journey times I think 50% of people break the speed limit on motorways anyway.

Mute Robert Gaffney
    Favourite Robert Gaffney

Yes and make the M1 3 lanes

Mute Gráinne Ní Bhriain
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:01 PM

100kmh on a 3 laned motor way is ridiculous, national roads are that speed limit for christ sake its not even a motor way its a national road

Mute Seth Cheffetz
    Favourite Seth Cheffetz
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:44 AM

What does it matter when half the drivers on the road go 40 kmph under the current speed limit already?

Mute John Harrison
    Favourite John Harrison
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:11 AM

It’s the fast lane and in some cases you have an under taking lane,simple

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:49 AM

The Stillorgan dual carriageway is a case in point. The inside lane has become the overtaking lane because of all the right turns.

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:43 AM

For your sake Patricia not mine!

Debating with you , is like arguing with a 2 year old!

Mute Kevin Murphy
    Favourite Kevin Murphy
    Dec 8th 2013, 8:18 PM

The limits should be raised on motorways alright. 140kmh would be about right in my opinion but Im open to higher bids lol. Anyone that cant drive that fast need not do so but they should not impede the rest of us either.

There seems to be an “If I cant do it, then nobody else should be allowed to either”, mentality out there. These people have no right to decide how the rest of us drive.

Mute Andrew Dagg
    Favourite Andrew Dagg
    Dec 8th 2013, 11:56 AM

Free public transport Patricia??? I suppose you want free water, housing, and subsidised food also. There should be NOTHING free for anyone. Then this country would prosper. The third generation dole addicts might feck off out of the country and leave it to those of us who are not afraid of work, not afraid of taxes, not afraid of paying our way for a better society. I am happy to pay €4 toll each day on my 130km round trip to work.
    Speed limit on motorway should be maximum 180km/hr.

Mute John Hagin Meade
    Dec 8th 2013, 9:49 PM

@Andrew Dagg:

“I am happy to pay €4 toll each day on my 130km round trip to work.”

While not wanting to insult you, ‘fools and their money are easily parted’. You probably grew up accepting to have to pay money out for ANYTHING related to motoring. We pay the highest motor tax, VRT (illegal under EU rules) and ridiculous parking charges with ‘no mercy’ shown if you are slightly late. I don’t remember a constitutional requirement that all drivers MUST have a ‘time piece’ of some sort and it MUST be accurate.

Mute David Cullen
    Favourite David Cullen
    Dec 8th 2013, 1:23 PM

Who said no ? All you middle lane driver. RTFM

Mute John Whelan
    Favourite John Whelan
    Dec 8th 2013, 12:09 PM
    Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 8th 2013, 1:29 PM

Very Good! I have to agree with him!

Mute Michael Walsh
    Favourite Michael Walsh
    Dec 8th 2013, 4:40 PM

M50 should be 120kph not 100kph

Mute Nauris Serna
    Favourite Nauris Serna
    Dec 8th 2013, 2:48 PM

Let’s be realistic.
    It will not happen in near future.
    Ireland is breaching its EU2020 CO2 emission targets again this year. Increasing speed limits will increase CO2 emissions even more. There is no point even trying unless somebody has a good, cost effective plan to compensate for the emission increase.

Mute Jerry O Riordan
    Favourite Jerry O Riordan
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:20 AM

Increasing the speed limit leads to an increase of the country’s carbon emissions.

Mute Francis Foley
    Favourite Francis Foley
    Dec 9th 2013, 8:37 AM

On most sections of motorway it is perfectly safe to drive at 150km/h assuming the conditions allow. Conditions that would reduce this speed are fog, icy roads, heavy rain and heavy traffic. If variable message signs were available then we could easily implement variable limits do away with the silly fixed limits.

Mute Jacqui Maguire
    Favourite Jacqui Maguire

Only on da major roads.

Mute Alex Gammell
    Favourite Alex Gammell
    Dec 8th 2013, 4:46 PM

When we start teaching motorway driving as part of the driving test it’ll be a good day! How hard is it to use a two lane road like?!