You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Paul Sharp/Photocall Ireland

Call for reforms to ensure "fair and transparent" early release of prisoners

The IPRT recommends that a single ‘Early Release Act’ should be enacted to overhaul the current systems of remission, temporary release and parole.

THERE HAS BEEN a call for the reform of the current systems of remission, temporary release and parole, in order to ensure fair and transparent systems of early release for prisoners.

The call comes from the Irish Penal Reform Trust, which says that decision-making around the release of life-sentenced prisoners should be removed from political control, and structured and incentivised early release should replace the current overuse of temporary release.

These are among the clear calls for reform made on the launch of the IPRT Position Paper on Reform of Remission, Temporary Release and Parole.

‘Early Release Act

IPRT recommends that a single ‘Early Release Act’ should be enacted to overhaul the current systems of remission, temporary release and parole. The main elements would include:

• Remission: should be increased to 50 per cent for sentences under 5 years; and 33 per cent for sentences over five years but with an enhanced 50 per cent for those who demonstrate engagement with services as part of incentivised regimes.
  • Short-Term Temporary Release: a more transparent system of temporary release should be used for compassionate release, weekend release and day-to-day release for work.
  • Earned Early Release: the principle of the recently introduced Community Return Scheme should be expanded to create incentives within the prison system for prisoners to engage constructively with services.
  • Parole: An independent statutory Parole Board to be established and take over decision-making on the release of life-sentenced and long-sentenced prisoners. The IPRT also calls for removing the role of the Minister in decision-making on release of long-term prisoners, among other recommendations.
  • Pardon: The Minister for Justice should consider making use of the right of pardon and the power to commute or remit punishment to bring the prison population within the safe custody limits recommended by the Inspector of Prisons.

IPRT Executive Director, Liam Herrick said that the the biggest obstacle to the prison system operating effectively is the chronic overcrowding. “At the same time, for many prisoners there are no clear guidelines as to what they must do within prison to address their offending in order to move towards release,” he added. “While recent efforts to divert minor offenders away from prisons are important, our current system of deciding when prisoners are released is most urgently in need of change.”

IPRT believes that our current systems of remission, temporary release and parole afford too much discretion to Government and should be replaced by more open and transparent systems of release, in line with the principles of due process and fairness. We also believe that a more structured and fair system will help identify an increased number of prisoners who can be safely released back into the community.

Read: Judges ‘need guidelines’ for sexual assault sentencing>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

38 Comments
    Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Favourite Scrap Croke Park1
    Dec 7th 2012, 10:27 AM

Oh. Is he back from Qatar?

Mute Mark O Brien
    Favourite Mark O Brien
    Dec 7th 2012, 4:46 PM

He might be but are his “advisors” not? I thought we were seriously overpaying advisors to give him ideas?

Mute Donncha Ó Coileáin
    Favourite Donncha Ó Coileáin
    Dec 7th 2012, 10:37 AM

Four councils is enough for a country of this size.
    * Dublin
    * Leinster with Cavan and Monaghan
    * Munster
    * Connacht with Donegal

Mute c.walsh
    Favourite c.walsh
    Dec 7th 2012, 10:44 AM

You’re from Dublin aren’t you :D

Mute David Higgins
    Favourite David Higgins
    Dec 7th 2012, 10:45 AM

Ninth comment but the first on the topic of the article. Thank you!

Mute Donncha Ó Coileáin
    Favourite Donncha Ó Coileáin
    Dec 7th 2012, 10:54 AM

No I’m from Cork.

Dublin’s the capital. Face it. Just under 1.3 million of the population live within the borders of that one tiny county, that’s over one quarter of the population in just one of our 26 counties.

* Dublin 1,270,000
    * Leinster with Cavan and Monaghan 1,367,000
    * Munster 1,246,000
    * Connacht with Donegal 704,000

Why, in your opinion, c.walsh, would Dublin not deserve its own council given the population figures?

Mute Cionnach O'Ríada
    Favourite Cionnach O'Ríada
    Dec 7th 2012, 12:33 PM

Well done, you did your home work!

Mute WaterfordGivesAShirt
    Favourite WaterfordGivesAShirt
    Dec 7th 2012, 12:39 PM

Waterford city has already built many houses in Leinster despite being in Munster because the spillover from this city is into south kilkenny. Your proposal would work for some but certainly not for others.

Mute Brian Leddin
    Favourite Brian Leddin
    Dec 7th 2012, 5:50 PM

Counties should not be used as administrative boundaries. Or at least not necessarily. There are quite a few places that have developed in a haphazard way because they are on the border of two or more counties. For example, a lot of the problems that Limerick City and Waterford City have, such as unemployment, disadvantage, crime, poor planning, etc., are caused by there being two or three different administrations with different plans governing what is effectively a single area. Counties are great for sporting rivalry, but not for good local governance.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Dec 7th 2012, 10:32 AM

Believe me, he wouldn’t want to hear my opinion!

Mute Pierce2020
    Favourite Pierce2020
    Dec 7th 2012, 10:30 AM

Is he back? God it was starting to be a nice Friday.

Mute Pat Kirwan
    Favourite Pat Kirwan
    Dec 7th 2012, 11:01 AM

here’s my opinion: Resign. You’re a disgrace. in the playground you’re a bully, in the D?il you’re a politician.

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Dec 7th 2012, 12:48 PM

Do you know the Minister?

Mute Con Ó Domhnaill
    Favourite Con Ó Domhnaill
    Dec 7th 2012, 2:03 PM

I hope Hogan is paying you Declan. You are defending one of the most hated ministers in the history of this state

Mute Michael Fagan
    Favourite Michael Fagan
    Dec 7th 2012, 11:24 AM

Locally elected councils to take all decisions on all local issues, with power to set local taxes, for use in the local area, transparency and, accountability , council meetings to be open for all,
    TDs only function should be to legislate, with no power over local issues!

Mute Frankie Mulqueen
    Favourite Frankie Mulqueen
    Dec 7th 2012, 11:55 AM

council meetings are open to all and minutes legally published online and can requested.

Mute Healy Ray Gun
    Favourite Healy Ray Gun
    Dec 7th 2012, 12:36 PM

That is the holy grail of Politics. It would make such a difference to this country if we had that.

Mute Gordon Lucas
    Favourite Gordon Lucas
    Dec 7th 2012, 12:37 PM

I agree that decisions should be made locally. Personally I feel we have lost the skill of citizenship and we are suffering the consequences of having outsourced our decisions to politicians. Also, I doubt this is a genuine request from Phil as FG seem to want to move power more towards Corporations/Germany/US than toward local people. In relation to ‘setting local taxes’, I’m sure FG would refer you to the Home Tax.

I live in a town with around 10,000 people. I’m not sure what it costs to run the place, but I wonder could it function from the taxes collected for central government.

The money grabbers like Eamon, Enda & co won’t give up power easily. They’ve lied to get power and they’ll probably do worse to keep it.

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Dec 7th 2012, 11:14 AM

Ha ha phil. Good one. When has this thick ever listen to the public. Probably only came up with this idea to give some friends a job on the committee.

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Dec 7th 2012, 12:47 PM

Well he has asked!! So if you have someting to contribute, please do so!!!

Mute Mark O Brien
    Favourite Mark O Brien
    Dec 7th 2012, 4:45 PM

Declan. Do you seriously think he is going to listen to what the people have to say?

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Dec 7th 2012, 11:39 AM

I’d say you might be surprised Rob. This useless man might well be ruining all around him, but he hasn’t touched Kilkenny. He’s up for reforms once it doesn’t hurt his reelection..

Mute Paul Walsh
    Favourite Paul Walsh
    Dec 7th 2012, 11:05 AM

More opinions from those around me; you’ve some cheek Phil getting home owners to pay for debt ridden local authorities! Do the house holders in Roscommon want to pay for the swanky new local authority offices? Is that you were doing in Dubai; looking for ideas for 7 star even swankier council offices for the home owner to pay for? When are you going to make planners and those found guilty of corruption in planning personally liable for their decisions? In our opinion you should resign. etc. etc. We may come back to you later with more opinions but we have to get on with work to pay for your luxury suites.

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Favourite Kevin O'Sullivan
    Dec 7th 2012, 12:58 PM

This country drives me around the bend. Some of ye moan and bitch that politicians make decisions without your input. Then one of the most hated Ministers hands the topic of reform open to the public, ye are all moaning and bitching even more. Even the WaterfordGivesAShirt campaign are all quiet – probably because there have been two major blows to their “PHIL IS EVIL!” campaign this week.

Some people clearly haven’t a clue, thinking that Council Meetings are held behind closed doors when anybody can attend or look at the minutes of meetings. They happen around the same time every bloody month and most local papers cover it all! Most people re-elect the same eejits they moan about.

Get informed. Get involved. Stop moaning online and running around with political agendas. Its simple and easy to do. This way, you can have more input and more demand as to how things are done in this country.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Dec 7th 2012, 10:32 AM

What,s the point

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Dec 7th 2012, 10:55 AM

De penshins is de points. Phill de Bucket Hogan will be fine.

Shur isn’t Doll Airin’ onie a bleedin county coucil insertion point for de Troika siphon.

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Dec 7th 2012, 12:14 PM

Dunno Mark, nor care.
    Any more than I do about your attempted associations. Some of us out here have minds of our own(you’ll have forgotten that stage, if you ever reached it).
    Does the Troika approve your efforts?No need to reply.

Nice to know I’m troubling your somnambulance.

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute toorkeel
    Favourite toorkeel
    Dec 7th 2012, 1:05 PM

There is every point. The public should have a say in how their neighbourhoods/towns/districts are run. They live in them after all. That way any issues or concerns can be addressed. In saying that, the only members of the public that should have a say or whose concerns should be addressed are those who have contributed to the local council by way of paying the “property tax”.

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Dec 7th 2012, 1:11 PM

Soo, tootkeel..you advocate a return to property-qualified electoral enfranchisement?

Mute toorkeel
    Favourite toorkeel
    Dec 7th 2012, 1:36 PM

It’s a simple case of “He who pays the piper calls the tune”. If you don’t want to or refuse to pay your way, it stands to reason that you have no say in how your neighbourhood/area is run. It’s that easy.

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Dec 7th 2012, 1:44 PM

So if you are fortunate to inherit, you are home and dry, but if you are outside the political circles that divvy the jobs for the boys and end up disemployed, tough shyte.

Its that easy to be complacently smug.

Mute toorkeel
    Favourite toorkeel
    Dec 7th 2012, 2:00 PM

Hang on…ill get my violin…nothing to do with inheriting. If you pay, you have your say. If you refuse to pay you have no say in how your area is managed. Very simple.

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Dec 7th 2012, 2:29 PM

Keep on fiddling. Thats how most fortunes are accumulated. Mind the roof’s edge. Its near as simple as yourself and a gullotine blade.

Mute toorkeel
    Favourite toorkeel
    Dec 7th 2012, 3:19 PM

If you have to resort to personal insults you have lost the argument. Why should you Damien, as I think its fair to assume a non contributer by choice have any say in how your area is run? You have no right to demand services if you are not willing to pay for the said services….that’s a huge part of the problem, the sense of entitlement, everything for free but someone else can pay

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Dec 7th 2012, 3:25 PM

Tut tut tetchy..Toorkeee

You’re the one who introduced the fiddle, and threw out democratic equality.
    I merely reminded that democracy, a la France, requires equality in its liberty, or licence of aristocratic power-pyramids of pivelige returns in pin-stripe guise.

Your monetised ideology is undemocratic. That is an insult.

Mute toorkeel
    Favourite toorkeel
    Dec 7th 2012, 3:37 PM

Me tetchy, take a lot more than that my simian featured friend to bother me. Pay your way like a good citizen and stop being a burden on the working man…failing that buy a tent.

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Dec 7th 2012, 5:20 PM

Tettttchy, toorkkeee…allow me quote your sweet wee self, rather than descend to your abusive reactionary level;

‘ If you have to resort to personal insults you have lost the argument.’

Oiche mhaith, ‘s lan ath leat.

Mute toorkeel
    Favourite toorkeel
    Dec 7th 2012, 6:05 PM

Nah Mr Flinter, an insult is an attack on you as a person or your character. I didn’t do that, I summed you up from what I could read before me. I call it as I see it, I think the truth might have dented your ego slightly…..you have nothing of an argument to offer until you can contribute to society….keep leeching!

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Dec 7th 2012, 6:15 PM

Quote:
    ‘..keep leeching..’

But thats not an insult?

Drop your Dustin mask, toorkee, and come say that publicly.
    I’ll show you how working men meet ignorant insult from anonymous fascistic scabs.

Mute toorkeel
    Favourite toorkeel
    Dec 7th 2012, 7:35 PM

Ouch…that little nerve ending is very sensitive, obviously the “leech” reference is quite apt judging by your response. Sure I’ll meet you, this eve if you like. Im at the Connacht V Biarritz, followed by a gallon of weisbier in the Christmas Market…ill shout you a beer, I won’t expect one back, if you won’t pay your taxes, how could I expect you to buy a round! Catch you later Leech….

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Dec 8th 2012, 9:36 AM

A gallon, eh?

THAT explains the brain-damage.

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Dec 8th 2012, 9:39 AM

Don’t forget your sash for the match. It will highlight your exclusive privilege Orange politics nicely.

Mute hjGfIgAq
    Favourite hjGfIgAq
    Dec 8th 2012, 2:53 PM

Can Damien Flinter and toorkeel stop arguing now please? You are derailing the comments.
    Thanks
    Aoife

Mute toorkeel
    Favourite toorkeel
    Dec 8th 2012, 2:59 PM

Gladly Aoife, I keep getting notifications about replies from Mr Flinter. As I have told him this is yesterday’s news.

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Dec 8th 2012, 3:10 PM

No problem, Aoife…he doesn’t do rational argument anyway, just insult and ideological abuse. He cannot even defend his elitist wealth/property franchise premise. Probably because it is indefensable.

I had considered reporting him for abuse, but don’t like to allow bully tactics go unanswered(it only encourages the behaviour). No surprise he learned his thinking on the rugby pitch(hardly a ground of enlightenment thinking).

Can I request you monitor any response for facetious insult, and save me the trouble of rebuttal of such ignorance?

And feel free to pull me up should I be tempted to reciprocate in kind. Ta for the patience.

Mute hjGfIgAq
    Favourite hjGfIgAq
    Dec 8th 2012, 3:13 PM

Guys – please let this be the last you both say on this topic. No replies needed.
    Thanks
    Aoife

Mute Rommel Burke
    Favourite Rommel Burke
    Dec 7th 2012, 10:38 AM

Yeah, keep out of it. Let the councils deal with the potholes, housing allocations, and other assorted gombeen crap. Do us all a favour and stand up for this Country instead of being a banksters phoney debt collector.
    Oh and if it’s not too much trouble do it from cold damp Leinster House or even Montrose.

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Dec 7th 2012, 10:49 AM

In a word…

Emigrate.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Dec 7th 2012, 10:34 AM

Part 2 Nothing will change

Mute Culm Carty
    Favourite Culm Carty
    Dec 7th 2012, 2:06 PM

Phil did not listen on the local service charge. Phil did not listen on the water charge. Phil did not listen on the septic tank charge. Phil did not listen on the budget. Does Phil happen to claim disability benefit for deafness? How stupid of me he can’t, cause he did not listen on getting rid of disability benefits either. So why does Phil think we believe that he will listen now? The only person on the island of Ireland who has said No more often than Phil & his buddies was Ian Paisley. One thing for Ian Paisley was at least he has scruples.

Mute Paul Walsh
    Favourite Paul Walsh
    Dec 7th 2012, 10:57 AM

I can see what he sees in her. But he can’t be the only well paid git she’d get?

Mute Barty
    Favourite Barty
    Dec 7th 2012, 3:31 PM

Watch out for the downgrade of the fire service in 2013 cheers Phil.

Mute Michael Kelleher
    Favourite Michael Kelleher
    Dec 7th 2012, 11:30 AM

It’s all smoke and mirrors, deal with the senate first, Enda did promise after all HaHa, then move onto the councils.

Mute Aisling Doyle
    Favourite Aisling Doyle
    Dec 7th 2012, 12:46 PM

I know what id like to say but I’d be banned from every site if I did ..

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Dec 7th 2012, 12:59 PM

Have ya no ambition, Aisling?

Sure you’re no-one at all until you’ve been banned a few times.

Speak up and we’ll at least pretend we live in a democracy.

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    Dec 7th 2012, 11:51 AM

Is no one surprised that councillors are not voicing more opposition to 83 councils being cut. Loosing all those expenses, foreign travel, possibility of getting into dail eireann giving a family member their council seat. Is it possible that they are putting this country first or maybe they already know that these changes will never be introduced. Phil hogan wants your option, really does this sound like Phil hogan. could this be a time wasting exercise dragging these reforms on until the local elections. this committee has not one independent member all are insiders and have a vested interest in the status quo. that old saying comes to mind “don’t piss down my back and then tell me its raining”

Dec 7th 2012, 1:31 PM

This shite is nothing but spin to deflect from the ruinous budget.

This is what will happen in reality (as it has so many times before)

1. Minister comes out with this crap that he listens to the people and want to implement reform.
    2. A committee is formed consisting of friends/relatives etc. whom will all be paid an “I’m on a committe” allowance.
    3. The public send “the committee” their recommendations for reform
    4. “The committee” retires to a 5 star hotel to discuss submitted recommendations (preferable in the Caribbean)
    5. “The committee” decide that it will take at least 5 years before they will be in a position to make recommendations to the Minister
    6. 3 weeks later another Minister announces a committee is to be set up to look at blah blah blah
    7. Go back to step 2 above.

Mute DjDelany
    Favourite DjDelany
    Dec 7th 2012, 12:40 PM

Well Phil, now you’re asking : 10% income tax/10% PRSI to fund national government – welfare, defense (fishery patrol etc) and central admin. All other taxes to be locally set, gathered and controlled. That would soon sort out spending priorities.
    Also local social policy might be interesting – people who wanted to love in either the Middle Ages or the 21st century could gather together and exporting your religious schooling or abortion problems might only mean moving to the adjoining county.

Mute Cionnach O'Ríada
    Favourite Cionnach O'Ríada
    Dec 7th 2012, 12:45 PM

I wonder do either (Hulk) Hogan or or indeed any politicians read the comments here?
    I know the “Journal” & the comments have been mentioned on the Marian Finucane show, (more than once), just curious to know if they pay any attention to them or do they perceive the commentary by Joe & Josephine Public as a bunch of cranks venting about the utter incompetence of (over paid) politicians (supposedly) running our country (in to the ground).

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Dec 7th 2012, 12:52 PM

Lets be honest! the contributions on here are not representative of the people as a whole!! Not even close! Just look at the polls on here for starters!! If this was the barometer for Ireland, SF would be the largest party in Ireland folowed by the ‘Can’t pay , Won’t pay’ brigade!!!! It is what it is… an online bar for people to moan..

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 7th 2012, 3:02 PM

No matter who puts in a good alternative, to the present system. It won’t be listened to, put on a shelf or dragged out over decades like other promised reforms by FF. Time for FG/Labour to go, citizens Revolution and sweeping reforms.

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Dec 7th 2012, 12:46 PM

Thats nice Niall! I am sure his wife and children will love that comment!!! I assume you are referring to that pic published by the gutter press!!! Nice, very nice

Dec 8th 2012, 9:14 AM

Hogan, resign nobody needs you. You are Irelands number one bully.

Mute B M O'C
    Favourite B M O'C
    Dec 7th 2012, 5:10 PM

I wonder who he selected to sit on his committee . mates no doubt.