You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sasko Lazarov via RollingNews.ie

Public to be consulted about future laws on vaping, as Donnelly 'deeply concerned' about child usage

It is believed the “exotic flavouring” and “colourful packaging” make vaping products attractive to children.

A PUBLIC CONSULTATION has been launched to help determine future regulation of tobacco and nicotine products such as vapes.

Among the changes being considered are increasing prices of the products and placing further restrictions on advertising.

Minister for Health Stephen Donnelly said he is “deeply concerned” about the rise in popularity of vaping among young people, in particular.

“We have already taken strong action and will have legislation in place by the end of this year, which will ban the sale of e-cigarettes to children and require a licence to sell them,” he said.

“This consultation will help us make effective decisions to protect our children from an addictive product, while reducing the extreme harm caused by smoking.

“While I understand that e-cigarettes are used by many adults who are trying to quit smoking, I am deeply concerned by the rise in popularity of vaping among young people. These products clearly appeal to children and young people, and we do not yet know the long-term health impacts of their use.”

There is concern that people are beginning to vape not as a strategy to quit smoking, but as a completely new addiction, Minister of State for the National Drug Strategy Hildegarde Naughton said.

“We know that young people who vape are more likely to go on to smoke, so it is important that they are not drawn to these products.

“As Minister with delegated responsibility for public health and wellbeing, I want to ensure that we leave no stone unturned when it comes to delivering the best start for every child in Ireland.”

The “exotic flavouring” and “colourful packaging”, Naughton said, make many vaping products attractive to children.

Over the next four weeks, the public will be consulted on a number of areas, including:

• The display of nicotine inhaling products in shops
  • Nicotine inhaling product flavours
  • The appearance of nicotine inhaling products
  • Proxy sales of tobacco and nicotine inhaling products
  • Smoking in outdoor dining areas
  • Extending smoke free restrictions to vaping
  • Increasing the age of sale for tobacco products
  • Increasing the price of vapes

Donnelly and Naughton want “as many people as possible” to engage with the public consultation over the coming weeks.

The public consultation is now open for submissions for a six-week period until Friday 5 January 2024.

Smokers’ rights group Forest Ireland has criticised recommendations to further regulate the sector, saying there is a risk that policy will be created “in haste”.

Spokesperson John Mallon said: “We urge the government not to succumb to some moral panic about vaping, and to regulate reduced risk products with a light touch that doesn’t impact on their effectiveness as a safer alternative to cigarettes.”

Raising the legal age of sale of tobacco is “gesture politics”, he added. “It won’t stop young people smoking. It will simply drive them into the arms of illegal traders and criminal gangs who won’t care what age they are.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

73 Comments
    Mute ShaneCoyne
    Favourite ShaneCoyne
    Feb 16th 2014, 9:54 AM

The repeated attempts by Callinan and Shatter to obfuscate, muddy the waters and divert from the real story make them very very suspicious looking.

Mute IrishSoviet
    Favourite IrishSoviet
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:46 AM

How many kieran boylans are there?

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:13 AM

Who was Kieran Boylan working for, that he enjoyed such a protected status within the Guards.

A certain captain of industry, a household name who died in the last 12 months was described as the Mr. Big of Heroin in Ireland, a man who made his fortune in unusual circumstances as far as the public knows but has had rumours circulating around him, employee’s being arrested for importation, his facilities being used etc for a very long time.

He had close links to most of the major political players in the last 30 years. Including ones that I greatly admire.

I think the Kieran Boylan case, if the truth comes out will rock this state to its very foundation, nothing in the last 90 years will come close to it.

Mute Filthpig
    Favourite Filthpig
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:14 AM

Troll

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Feb 16th 2014, 12:22 PM
    Mute Coddler O Toole
    Favourite Coddler O Toole
    Feb 16th 2014, 12:25 PM

The blueshirts have never drifted too far from their quasi fascist roots and watching Shatter diligently upholding this tradition is a grotesque irony.

Mute Mainstream Hysteria
    Favourite Mainstream Hysteria
    Feb 16th 2014, 12:47 PM

Shatter and Callihan have been bugging me for years.

Mute Lm group
    Favourite Lm group
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:35 PM

Plus, that man who passed away that we both know also had 2 other partners one known for his gambling and the other for his share dealing, did you know that,

Mute conor hickey
    Favourite conor hickey
    Feb 16th 2014, 9:45 AM

When ‘no comment’ means ‘we’re speechless’
    That doesn’t happen too often.
    Bye bye Minister…

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:13 AM

If the Gardai are guilty of bugging and misrepresenting the facts to the minister, it isn’t the minister that will get fired – even if you wish it was.

Mute ShaneCoyne
    Favourite ShaneCoyne
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:22 AM

…but if he was helping the Gardai to sweep the story under the carpet? If he was attacking the independent group, with the authority to investigate the Gardai, by casting dispersions on it?

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Filthpig
    Favourite Filthpig
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:30 AM

Aspersions even.

Mute Oliver Moran
    Favourite Oliver Moran
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:45 AM

John, Shatter was too quick to attack GSOC and too hard. He created the “ball of smoke”. He has been guarding Callinan’s back over the Penalty Points affair. He has admitted to receiving briefings from Callinan on Garda information on political rivals. And he has admitted to then using this information for political gain.

In my mind, the two are inseparable because of the closeness of the relationship they have entered into freely with one another. If Callinan is found to have done wrong then I am of no doubt the Shatter has to go. We cannot have a Minister for Justice conduct himself like that.

My only question in that event is over the Taoiseach’s mal-informed singing from Shatter’s hymn sheet on Monday. If Callinan (and hence Shatter) is found to have done wrong then that showed unbelievable naivety from Kenny. I’m willing to give Kenny fair doubt but he would have to do a lot if hand-washing to cleanse himself of this stink.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:46 AM

Don’t be silly this is Ireland Shatter won’t be going anywhere until after the next election

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:55 AM

Exactly, Shane

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Favourite Richard Rodgers
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:56 AM

Shane
    Spread those dispersions in as spurious a manner as you can as persons can then disperse before they become spread out!

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:12 AM

Shatters position is untenable.
    He does not have the confidence of the GSOC.
    By attempting to discredit the GSOC, he has turned this incident into a circus.
    He has yet to explain his Dail omissions.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/shatter-must-answer-questions-over-dail-omissions-258887.html

Mute ShaneCoyne
    Favourite ShaneCoyne
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:13 AM

auto-correct you are the bane of my life!!

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:17 AM

Sooner or later scapegoat will be selected as additional distraction device to change narrative. Ends and co not want go down with news drug pusher possible selling with possible Gardi knowledge just because he alleged informer.

When leak get out about this matter via person not supposed to know details spoke but not in a final report, bug detectors were immediately called in. GSOC staff had to have meetings in cafes near offices instead.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:19 AM
    Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan

If the Guards were bugging the GSOC and it is getting harder day by day to pretend otherwise then the force will have to be completely reformed and large replacements so as to start again.

The culture at the top seems to be rotten to the core.

Even good men are part of the problem in a body where a culture of rot and contempt for the state and people is the norm.

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:45 AM

*all you have to do is google Eoin O Duffy….

Mute Michael Allen
    Favourite Michael Allen
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:49 AM

@Seanie.
    I totally agree with you on that statement. All senior officers presently at the top of the National Drug Squad that surfed the promotion wave allowing them plain sailing to a higher rank due to their dealings and collusion in the drug trade! Most have not gained promotions on merit.
    Corruption is a malignant tumour in Irish-politics and has spread throughout every fibre of our authoritarian society!

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:59 AM

And they continously tell us how corrupt FF were !

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Feb 16th 2014, 12:42 PM

The uncomfortable truth is that the Boylan affair went on while FF were in Govt. as well.

I think that this will tear Irish politics apart.

Mute IrishSoviet
    Favourite IrishSoviet
    Feb 16th 2014, 9:49 AM

This generation of Irish people are slowly coming to realize what those of us older people know, that Ireland is the most corrupt nation in the western world.

Mute Whelo1509
    Favourite Whelo1509
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:54 AM

I’m very surprised you’ve received so many red thumbs for such an incredibly accurate statement – there is clearly a huge amount of denial out there

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:40 AM

Have to say that I’m starting to see that now.

When you look at the links behind this story you have to wonder has big heroin money corrupted key players in this state for the last few decades.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:51 AM

“The duty of a patriot is to protect his country from its government.”
    Thomas Paine

Mute Jeremiah Horsebeard
    Favourite Jeremiah Horsebeard
    Feb 16th 2014, 9:43 AM

A load of Bollox the lot of it. The smell of bullshit is overpowering!

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Feb 16th 2014, 9:49 AM

Either Shatter, Callinan or O’ Brien are going down on this one. Up until today my money was on O’ Brien having to resign. But after reading “The paper claims that gardaí have requested the phone records of investigations editor Nicola Tallant” Callinan is now toast.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Feb 16th 2014, 9:55 AM

Callinan will retire with a fully paid up pension and a 6 figure tax free lump sum. That’s how the big shots are punished in Ireland.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:22 AM

big shots? you mean public sector middle management and upwards. jobs for life, pensions and perks. performance un-related pay.

This is probably one of those very rare situations where a serious crime might have been committed that might mean a public servant gets fired! that’s what it takes.
    Otherwise they could have just sat at their desk eating donuts for 35 years from 20 to retirement and picked up annual payrises and a big pension along the way.

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:48 AM

I agree Johngahan , but god bless your naivety – these guys wouldn’t know what honesty is if it hit them in the face!

Mute Whelo1509
    Favourite Whelo1509
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:51 AM

I wish you were right Sam but this Ireland which means nobody is accountable and nobody every resigns, they ‘retire’ or misteriously decide to move to another role of their own volition

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:01 AM

Rodrigo.
    Sometimes it becomes nauseating to watch you just stating the obvious.everyone knows that the Commissioner has already accrued a full pension under the Rules.
    You are suggesting of hinting that the man has either broken the law or said Rules to make himself in eligible to receive such a contractual entitlement.
    Would you have the decency to come out from behind your name screen and identify either those Rules or Laws that the man has broken to render him unfit to receive such payments and on this occasion no waffle please.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:27 AM

More than Callinan will have to go.

At this stage the whole senior levels of the force have lost the trust of the public.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:44 AM

This is classic, this lunatic rodgers that hides behind so many false accounts accusing others of the same.
    You couldn’t make it up.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock

Nobody listens to the sad fella. Ah poor rodgers

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano

Richard. It would seem that only you would attempt to defend the indefensible. Callinan is up to his neck in it, and virtually admitted it to the public accounts committee. How was he able to declare that no member of an Garda Siochana has being spying on GSOC only 3 days of the allegations becoming public knowledge? The fastest investigation in the history of the state. Circumstantial evidence alone would ensure he is as guilty as hell, and even you should be able to see this.

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Feb 16th 2014, 12:12 PM

Rodrigo
    You accuse me of defending the indefensible and then proceed to accuse the Commissioner of being up to his neck in it.
    Let’s slow down a bit fella.
    I defended nothing. I merely asked you to identify the legal basis upon which you would propose to have the Garda Commisssioner legal entitlement of a Pension removed from him. You failed to give Even a hint of an answer but alternatively attacked my persona for daring to challenge you. I dare say Rodrigo that the Commissioner has has the common dense to read the submissions of the Chair of the GSOC and didn’t need to blink before he gave that definitive and formal response. Alternatively you want him fired jailed and penniless .
    I don’t suppose you have had previous contact with the Gardai ……..of the more unpleasant kind ?

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Feb 16th 2014, 12:19 PM

Ritchie, Reg and the rest of the press office interns have had a disappointing performance this week. Their attempts to muddy the waters and man-marking commentators have been amateurish and transparent.
    If they don’t up their game they’ll be on job-bridge for the next 10 years.

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Feb 16th 2014, 12:55 PM

Its O’Brien, he should tell the truth and say he does not trust shatter or the garda commissioner quite right not to. there is to much emphasis put on why no one was informed of the bug sweep rather that who put them there. although it could be swept under the carpet like everything else in this country. it’s getting rather cluttered under there now with tribunals, reports sham investigation corruption lies oh sorry i meant untruths. it’s starting to look like a mountain.

Mute cutsie
    Favourite cutsie
    Feb 16th 2014, 2:12 PM

This is why bullying is RIFE in the lower down part of the public sector. Because it’s spirited soon after entry that it’s corrupt and they try bully you out when you question. That’s why unions are paid off and why there is no proper anti bullying legislation. You’re told to quit rather than challenge it.

Mute Bridget O'Hanlon
    Favourite Bridget O'Hanlon
    Feb 16th 2014, 9:43 AM

Let the cover up continue…

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Feb 16th 2014, 9:57 AM

Callinan & Shatter now totally exposed by their various ‘porky pies’ . Time now for both of them to resign – only problem though is that they get to reach into the trough and get the big payoff and pension each!
    Time for Enda too , to go on that visit to the President in the Park to call an Election – but he won’t , you know – power always outguns credibility !

Mute richie meade
    Favourite richie meade
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:48 AM

Government, Police and media (large section but not all ) making up a nasty state troika. Result is attacks on the people , whistleblowers, GSOC and anything else that stands in its way. Starting to sound like Jim Corr so I am, conspiracy then again maybe it’s all coincidence

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:23 AM

Richie, Jim Corr bases everything he says on unproven nonsense. Everything you just stated is fact. Now they want a journalist’s phone records. This is very scary stuff.

Mute richie meade
    Favourite richie meade
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:33 AM

Agreed scaldychops…

Mute Gary Walsh
    Favourite Gary Walsh
    Feb 16th 2014, 2:49 PM

The story is still unfolding so we don’t know who should resign yet!

Mute Filthpig
    Favourite Filthpig
    Feb 16th 2014, 9:50 AM

The cops were up to their armpits in this.
    The dogs in the streets know it.
    The only question is whether or not the Minister for ‘Justice’ was aware of it.
    Callinan has to go, independent enquiry, a round of sackings and prosecutions, possible fall of government. . . . . . . what am I on about, this is Ireland, cover up and whitewash, promotions and pensions for the wrong doers, carry on as normal.

Mute IrishSoviet
    Favourite IrishSoviet
    Feb 16th 2014, 9:52 AM

Kieran boylan imported and pushed millions of euros worth of heroin with the full knowledge of the State, this is beyond evil. That the state knowingly imported heroin, which killed people and destroyed families is a crime against humanity.

The fact that the State media covered it up is a crime against journalism.

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Favourite Richard Sweeney
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:33 AM

what?????

Mute IrishSoviet
    Favourite IrishSoviet
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:45 AM

what exactly do you mean by ”what!!”?

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Favourite Richard Sweeney
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:55 AM

The state knowingly imported heroin?

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:32 AM

You need glasses fella read it again

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:45 AM

Why was such a large scale dealer protected by the force.

Who was he working for and what pull did that man have.

Have the vast proceeds of narcotics corrupted this state.

Mute john kinsella
    Favourite john kinsella
    Feb 16th 2014, 6:43 PM

Don’t forget he imported guns as well which probably contributed to some of the shootings and murders around the country.he may have supplied the gun that murdered one of their Own Garda. Just a thought. I doubt if they were wall ornaments.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton

A lot of lies and cover up here.
    I believe the Ombudsman.
    This stinks to high heaven.

Mute John Burtchaell
    Favourite John Burtchaell
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:09 AM

Agreed.

Feb 16th 2014, 9:54 AM

So what was Shatter saying in the Dail about this? He appears to be the tail of the poodle busy wagging it every time the commissioner says good boy.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:23 AM

The irony is the Gardai are probably bugging the Minister for Justice as well.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:26 AM

And so the cover up continues. There are two entities in the state with the equipment and funding to pull off the operation alluded to in the security companys report. Shatter is the minister for both of them. He should be setting up an independent enquiry, but instead is obfuscating, spinning and undermining.

He should have been removed a long time ago. The fact he is still minister for justice at this stage speaks more about kenny than shatter.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Feb 16th 2014, 12:34 PM

Three.. 3rd bring the Irish Secret Service. Not beyond the bounds of possibility.

Mute IrishSoviet
    Favourite IrishSoviet

Disband the drug squad and the special branch, put electricity through kieran boylans testicles until he tells the truth about state drug pushing.

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Feb 16th 2014, 10:58 AM

Shatter and Callinan gone this week or Enda starts to drag the government toward the plug hole as well !

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin

Any half decent European country would be going to the polls right now, or at the very least be seeking a new police chief and minister for justice.

Mute Eamonn O'Riain
    Favourite Eamonn O'Riain
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:53 AM

Spot on!

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Feb 16th 2014, 12:16 PM

Labours continued participation in this Government should not be forgotten.

Mute Dylan Prendergast
    Favourite Dylan Prendergast
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:05 AM

Callinan and Shatter have too close of a relationship, and are known to be friends, they will back each other up. As for the Gardai, they have no right to know of the phone records of a papers journalist or of any other citizen of Ireland for that matter. The Gardai are meant to represent the people of Ireland, they are our police force and when they blacken their name, they blacken themselves, their family and their citizens. Everything should be done by the book, we’re sick of corruption and shady crap in this country, so delve deep and sort this out someone. We need to know what happened.

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:46 AM

We longed for independence and what did we get in its place……

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell

“Nothing to see here! Nothing to see here!”

Mute Stephen Mason
    Favourite Stephen Mason
    Feb 16th 2014, 12:00 PM

Simple matter is we all know that the Gardai have no interest in protecting the public and civil liberties, They are here to keep people in check and make sure government and big business remains safe. It’s not just here it is all over the world. Just look what is going on in Ukraine and even America. I have never had faith in our so called Men of Law and this just goes to prove my suspicions even further. There need’s to be accountability for this which sadly there won’t be. The law is there and always has been to control the masses and protect those in power. We never learn from history we only repeat it. It’s very sad

Mute Kevin Carroll
    Favourite Kevin Carroll
    Feb 16th 2014, 12:09 PM

Cheers journal, a bit sluggish on this last week but better today. I wonder if the guards say nothing then Rte won’t report on it as they’re a mouthpiece for the establishment. Their coverage has been disgraceful.

Mute Ina Smidiríní
    Favourite Ina Smidiríní
    Feb 16th 2014, 2:02 PM

Stop watching RTE altogether. Uninstall their news apps. Avoid their t.v. Broadcasts and skip them on the radio band. Don’t participate in their propaganda. Total non compliance.

Mute agent12x
    Favourite agent12x
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:53 AM

Even if it gets proven that the Garda was behind the bugging they will say it was a unidentified rogue element and no one will be held responsible.

Mute John Sherlock
    Favourite John Sherlock
    Feb 16th 2014, 11:58 AM

There is something afoot and if it’s not afoot it definitely a good 11inches

Mute Ina Smidiríní
    Favourite Ina Smidiríní
    Feb 16th 2014, 1:50 PM

Enda has to bump off shatter and Adolf callinan or fine Gael are gonna sink. This is the biggest corruption story in Irish history.

Mute shane walsh
    Favourite shane walsh
    Feb 16th 2014, 12:51 PM

These are the moments when highly paid government spin doctors earn their corn. In fairness they have played blinders for kenny.
    Breaking the pay scale for these positions as the first act of a new governance was only going to mean one thing. The only surprise is that it has taken only 3 years to rid the country of democracy while kenny shatter noonan etc must have forseen it as a 5 year project minimum.
    Up Ireland.

Mute Eamonn Colfer
    Favourite Eamonn Colfer
    Feb 16th 2014, 8:13 PM

Welcome to Russia.

Mute Peter Power
    Favourite Peter Power
    Feb 16th 2014, 6:50 PM

Question: Who runs the country?

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Feb 16th 2014, 12:35 PM

Ok so planted the bugs

Mute Don Griffin
    Favourite Don Griffin

He must have let tha
    t slip when they were out having pints together on those social nights they’re always out on…….seeing as they get on so well and all……..if that’s the best you can come up with Johno…….please!