You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Beyoncé performs at the 59th annual Grammy Awards. Matt Sayles

Beyoncé 'The onus is on everyone to study and understand what a lack of privilege really means'

I’m not surprised that women are leading change, writes Elva Carri.

I LOVE BEYONCÉ. Lemonade is my favourite album of all time.

I’m not the biggest Adele fan but I will admit to standing on a chair, alone on my balcony, belting out Set Fire to the Rain (in the rain) after a bad breakup. But what I’m an even bigger fan of is her Grammy non-acceptance speech.

Check your bias

What Adele did at the Grammys should remind us all to check our egos and bias at the door, have our eyes open and our words ever-ready to say, “Hey! This isn’t right!”

Thanks to Adele’s very public show of this, my hope is that other people are inspired to do the same. I believe it is wildly important to claim your awards and revel in them as a woman and we’re holding a crowning-ceremony at this year’s SXSW to encourage that.

But if there’s something unjust at play as we walk to a stage, or accept a promotion or pay rise, we must speak up.

The statistics

The 59th Annual Grammy Awards - Show I was proud to watch Adele acknowledge Beyoncé's boundary breaking work of genius. Matt Sayles Matt Sayles

In the last twenty years, four artists or groups of colour have won album of the year – despite having over 200 perform at the awards in the same time period. The number seems off-balance. Are the awards based more on commercial success than artistic merit? And does the performative aspect of the annual ceremony offer a platform to showcase a more diverse set of artists than US album sales reflect? Or is there still bias at play in the selection?

I’ve heard a great phrase that you can tell the strong women because they’re the ones helping other women up. I’d take that a step further to note the collective power women have for lifting everyone up.

If you educate and empower the women and girls of a community, it benefits everyone economically as well as positively contributing to climate change problems. This is laid out in a wonderful book called Half the Sky, as well as being reinforced by studies from The World Bank, World Economic Forum, and the OECD.

Empathy and action

Misery loves company used to be a saying I hated, but when it comes to my women friends, I see it take an interesting form. Pain understands pain.

If you’ve faced misogyny as a white woman, it’s probably a smaller leap to understand the struggle of a man or a woman who’s faced racism, than it would be for your average straight, white man.

That’s not to say they’re excused, the onus is on everyone to study and understand what a lack of privilege really means and to put genuine effort and time into looking at how they deal with it, both internally, in forms of unconscious bias, as well as externally, in calling out or rectifying unjust actions or behaviours.

But I’m not surprised that women are leading change.

Emotion and onwards

That moment may seem like just another celebrity news story to some, but it made me feel proud to be a woman and proud of my friends. I was proud to watch Adele acknowledge Beyoncé’s boundary breaking work of genius in a situation where others wouldn’t have braved it, even if they felt it. (Bar Kanye West of course.)

I was proud of my friends because the look on Beyoncé’s face as Adele spoke was the very same one I’ve seen on countless friends’ faces. That brief fragile moment when a friend crumbles and cracks as you merely acknowledge that what happened wasn’t fair, wasn’t right, wasn’t okay.

Reminding them that it does not denote their value or worth, before both of you take a breath, hug it out, put your crown on and walk onto the stage to perform.

Elva Carri is the founder of GirlCrew, an online and offline social network for women to have more fun, more adventures, and friends when you need them as well as providing an excellent space for professional advice and opportunities. GirlCrew has over 80,000 members and operates in 46 cities around the world, with a GirlCrew app launching in 2017. @elvacarri

Adele on her Grammy wins: ‘My idol is Queen Bey and I adore you’>

‘There isn’t a race problem’: Grammy President responds to criticism after Beyoncé loses out to Adele>

Voices

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 85 comments
85 Comments
    Mute Ciarán Ferrie
    Favourite Ciarán Ferrie
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:12 PM

It’s irrelevant now – only someone who was in regular receipt of donations on behalf of FF would have difficulty remembering whether or not he received a cheque.

Mute Tim Henchin
    Favourite Tim Henchin
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:28 PM

Exactly, who cares when they lodged it. The fact remains that Gallagher was a bag man for them, arranging access to the Taoiseach of the day to local business men for 5k a go. Anyone one in business in this country knows that if you did not play ball with FF over the years, that you would be blacklisted.

When he picked it up or when his bosses in FF lodged it is a total distraction.

Anyone here that the lady from Frontline on Pat Kenny today, she asked some questions that Gallagher really needs to answer. She listed events and questioned if he would last a term in presidency.

Mute Adrian Martyn
    Favourite Adrian Martyn
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:51 PM

Well, I never thought I’d see the day when Sinn Fein handed the election to Michael D. Higgins. Wow!

McGuinness has well and truely burned his bridges with what’s left of Fianna Fail (who still hold six more seats than Sinn Fein) so there goes that vote!

And to top it all, it looks as though said Mr. Morgan has links to Sinn Fein too – http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1356555/Gerry-Adams-fuel-smuggler-Sinn-Fein-leader-rents-election-office-firm-owned-convicted-criminal.html

All bets off?

Mute ged_star
    Favourite ged_star
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:17 PM

Ah isn’t grand to see Fianna FAIL finally admit they received money from a convicted fuel smuggler, I wonder how many more dodgy checks and brown envelopes have been handed over in the past. Go on Bertie spill the beans.

Mute gary power
    Favourite gary power
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:12 PM

Hah …. That’s sean done and dusted

Mute Glenn Carroll
    Favourite Glenn Carroll
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:20 PM

Bye bye Seanie…you nearly had in the bag but in reality it was in the envelope all along.

Mute Paul Anthony Ward
    Favourite Paul Anthony Ward
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:23 PM

Hang on, I’m having a little trouble figuring this out.
    It is perfectly legal (& morally acceptable, one could argue) to receive donations up to & including €6300 or so…
    So, what exactly is the problem?!
    Sinn Féin, Fine Gael & Labour all receive such payments on a regular basis…
    Genuinely asking, what’s the problem here?

Mute Fiachra Bonner
    Favourite Fiachra Bonner
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:34 PM

When he was previously trying to downplay his FF past, he always said that he never collected for Fianna Fail. I think I’d bloody remember if I was sent to pick up a €5K cheque!!

Mute Danny McLaughlin
    Favourite Danny McLaughlin
    Oct 25th 2011, 2:46 PM

I’m with you on this Paul.
    I just don’t see the problem.
    SF have admitted this morning that it’s bull. FF have come out to say the cheque was already lodged when SG was suppose to have collected it.

He was put on the spot last night on live TV. He tried to answer the question as best he could, given it was thrown at him.
    Even if he did collect the cheque, there was nothing illegal about it.
    What exactly is everyone’s problem?

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Oct 25th 2011, 6:02 PM

If you’re Independent, run as an independent. If you’re Fianna Fáil, run as Fianna Fáil. A supposed independent candidate running around delivering cheques to Cowen only a couple of years back?

Then there’s the disingenuousness and evasiveness of his campaign in general.

And of course there’s the general stench of crony capitalism cute hoor gombeen politics off the whole thing, the very system that’s brought this country to its knees.

Mute Fay Mchugh
    Favourite Fay Mchugh
    Oct 26th 2011, 12:48 AM

@ Paul,
    there is no problem. Sinn Fein have pulled another dirty trick that proves to be a pack of lies.
    McGuinness benefits from it but claims to know nothing about it
    Business as usual.
    The only thing to be said is it casts even more doubt on the terrorist McGuinness lies that he knows nothing about murders, bank robberies and so on.

Mute Dars K_Unofficial
    Favourite Dars K_Unofficial
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:19 PM

I’m missing something here, what is actually wrong with what he did?

Mute Noddy Mooney
    Favourite Noddy Mooney
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:30 PM

He said he didn’t do it. Why?

Mute MediaHub.ie
    Favourite MediaHub.ie
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:40 PM

No one wants to admit to being the ‘bag man’ Is he really that naive? He didn’t know what was in the envelope?? You’re right though, it’s not exactly controversial stuff!

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Favourite Cormac Flanagan
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:50 PM

In fairness he was just using the Martin mcguinness defense.

Mute MediaHub.ie
    Favourite MediaHub.ie
    Oct 25th 2011, 2:00 PM

The real story here, I think, is the connection between Fianna Fail, Sinn Fein and this fuel launderer chap… surely this story should be more detrimental to McGuinness’ campaign….

Mute Brian Mc Dermott
    Favourite Brian Mc Dermott
    Oct 25th 2011, 4:17 PM

@Noddy: Because he didn’t do it. Read the article. The cheque that he was accused of collecting after the event was lodged before the event.

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Oct 25th 2011, 5:58 PM
    Mute Noddy Mooney
    Favourite Noddy Mooney
    Oct 25th 2011, 6:27 PM

@Brian, you read the article. It states that “Fianna Fail says” it was lodged the day before. If I’m wrong to state “he said he didn’t do it” then fair enough, I apologise. But there’s a whole wide world of difference between what fianna fail say, and what the truth is.

Mute Brian Mc Dermott
    Oct 25th 2011, 9:29 PM

@ Noddy: As opposed to what a supporter of a group of people that have murdered Gardai, Jean Mc Conville etc. says? However, do I respect your opinion.

Mute theresa parker
    Favourite theresa parker
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:46 PM

What he done wasn’t wrong…but why couldn’t he jus say yeh I collected money for ff, he’s made a right tit of himself now, not remembering collecting an envelope but remembering delivering the photo, mistakenly transferring 80g’s into a wrong acc, can’t be trusted….Bertie all over!!!

Mute Keith Colton
    Favourite Keith Colton
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:49 PM

There’s a whiff of sulphur about this; firstly McG lands out an accusation but was on the News at One now saying that details are now actually different. Then a tweet from a FAKE twitter account is landed out by Kenny, no wonder Gallagher couldn’t recall it, and panicked. Isn’t there some sort of onus on RTE to verify what’s being read out?

Mute Keith Colton
    Favourite Keith Colton

At the very least it’s sloppy journalism

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:59 PM

But very entertaining.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 25th 2011, 8:45 PM

Hillarious ! I think FFailers it is time to get a sense of humor .It is over for Uncle Fester , sorry Mr Gallagher . Cronyism and dirty dealings have done him in !:)

Mute Eoin Ryan
    Favourite Eoin Ryan
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:55 PM

Gallagher denied very strongly a week or so ago that he was in any way involved with soliciting donations at this fundraiser the he helped organise.

If it turns out that he did indeed collect a cheque from this man, then Gallagher will have lost all credibility. It doesn’t matter if it was collected before or after the fundraiser, if it turns out that he lied about this as well, then how can we trust him about anything else?

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:55 PM

Everyone knew if you were a business man looking for kickbacks and handouts you need to be involved with a political party. And we all know that FF WAS the only party in town on this island!

He calls himself an entrepreneur. Gimme a break. MORE SPOOF AND LIES. The man couldn’t even spell the truth.

If ye can’t forgive sinn Fein yet it’s definitely too soon to forgive fianna fail.

Vote for anyone but FF. Pleeeeease.

Mute GlasBud
    Favourite GlasBud
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:23 PM

Its simple: @seangallagher1 is a spoofer http://bit.ly/tEeLlk

Mute Sheelagh Hanly
    Favourite Sheelagh Hanly
    Oct 25th 2011, 4:12 PM

No he isn’t but when you have SF being deceitful about a press conference that was never to take place what can he do? They told a blatant lie last night on TV and not a sound about it today- so who is the spoofed?

Mute Martin Jordan
    Favourite Martin Jordan
    Oct 25th 2011, 2:21 PM

Not a fan of Pat Kenny but when he said to Gallagher ” your not exactly Microsoft ” …… Ouch

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly

I am amazed the man said truthfully he could not remember receiving a cheque after the event from Morgan. It turns out he did nt. This was three and half years ago. I cant remember most of last week. Now SF seems to be saying they got it wrong. It seems another form of irish cannilbalism. It was an attempt at a smear. It was thrown out and some people seemed happy for it to be true.

Mute Brian Mc Dermott
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:53 PM

@ Fiachra: He doesn’t remember picking up a cheque because he DIDN’T pick up a cheque- please read the article above which states that the cheque went directly to the party PRIOR to the event.

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Oct 25th 2011, 2:21 PM

Why let the facts get in the way of a good story. Ha. Iv a question. What’s the co nesting between the fuel launder and sinn fein.

Mute Fiachra Bonner
    Favourite Fiachra Bonner
    Oct 25th 2011, 2:24 PM

Brian, it’s his recollection that I’ve a problem with. From last night’s transcript: “…if he gave me an envelope, if he gave me a cheque it was made out to Fianna Fail headquarters and it was delivered and that was that.”

I’ll just repeat: I’d remember getting a cheque (or envelope with whatever in it), from a convicted fuel smuggler with strong ties to SF asking me to deliver it to party HQ. That he can’t recall that… I don’t know!

Btw, the report above does not state the cheque went directly to the party. The FF statement is:

“The records show that Morgan Fuels Ireland Ltd made a donation of €5,000 to Fianna Fáil. This was by way of cheque dated 26th June 2008.”

That can mean anything.

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Oct 25th 2011, 2:53 PM

That’s meant to be connecting. Don’t know if it’s auto correct or fat thumbs.

Mute Brian Mc Dermott
    Oct 25th 2011, 2:57 PM

@ Fiachra: ‘A party fundraising event attended by Morgan, who has a conviction for fuel smuggling, was held on 1 July 2008 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Dundalk.’

SG was accused of delivering a photo and collecting a cheque AFTER the July 1 event. However:

‘It was lodged to the party’s account on 30 June.’

Does this not mean that SG did not collect the cheque after the event?

Mute Fiachra Bonner
    Favourite Fiachra Bonner
    Oct 25th 2011, 3:22 PM

Before or after the event Brian, it makes no difference to me. His statement from this afternoon (which you can find on his website) doesn’t say he didn’t get an envelope from Morgan, just that he didn’t get it after the event – what odds the “when” of it!? It’s his recollection of getting anything at all from Morgan that I’ve questioned.

Either way, I’m not voting for a bagman (or a shinner for that matter, in case you were wondering about my motivation in posting here.)

Mute Brian Mc Dermott
    Oct 25th 2011, 3:31 PM

@Fiachra: The original accusation last night was that he collected a cheque after the event. And you stated : ‘I think I’d bloody remember if I was sent to pick up a €5K’. Case Dismissed.

Mute Fiachra Bonner
    Favourite Fiachra Bonner
    Oct 25th 2011, 5:23 PM

Brian, as I quoted from Sean’s statement earlier, only fair to quote from Morgan’s (via RTE):

“Sean Gallagher , who I had never met previous to this, contacted me by phone. He first phoned me on the 6th June 2008 and invited me to attend the above fundraiser. In the course of the call he requested a donation of €5,000.00 for Fianna Fail. He advised me that this type of fundraising would replace the annual Galway Tent Fundraiser.”

“On the 27th June Sean Gallagher visited my business premises at Killean, County Armagh. I wrote a cheque for €5,000.00 and gave it to him personally.”

I wasn’t going to bother replying to you at all, as responses such as “Case Dismissed” – which is about as weighty an argument as “FACT!” to my mind – makes all other conversation/debate pointless. Conflating what I said – he claimed to have never collected for FF & now couldn’t remember if he got an envelope from a particular man – with your insistence on the sequence of events (prior/after) being all-important is… well, you can probably see where I don’t see the relevance of that.

I was open-minded (ish) about Sean Gallagher at first (i.e., a few weeks ago), and he might’ve got a preference from me, but no longer.

Believe whatever you will, and good luck with that.

Mute Fiachra Bonner
    Favourite Fiachra Bonner
    Oct 25th 2011, 5:25 PM

Sorry, that should be “… from FF’s statement earlier” (not Sean’s)

Mute Brian Mc Dermott
    Oct 26th 2011, 12:06 AM

@Fiachra: I could also have considered not responding to your comment as your original single-premise argument that “I’d bloody remember if I was sent to pick up a €5K cheque!!” was based on the partisan evidence of a MMcG supporter alone, and therefore was “about as weighty an argument as ‘FACT’”. However, that would be discourteous at best.

Though I respect your opinion, I stand by my argument (based on the facts at that time) that the MMcG allegation last night that the cheque had been collected AFTER the event was false as it was lodged prior to the event. Therefore, it IS relevant as it opposes the allegation.

Healthy discourse is important, but I feel that it is important that discussion should be based on evidence that stands up. The statement by Mr.Morgan on the Six-One news has extended the discourse and tested my opinion of SG further. For the record, I originally considered voting for D Norris, but was swayed and impressed by the fact that SG was unwilling to engage in the negative campaigning of other candidates. This aspect of the campaign, supported by the media, has in my opinion denigrated the process.

In light of the latest statement, I am less sure of my voting preference. However, I will (as i expect you and others will also) consider the veracity of this statement from this MMcG supporter, its function at this point in the debate, and its beneficiaries. Hopefully I will arrive at a timely conclusion based on non-partisan factual evidence that is trustworthy. I concur with your comment to “believe what you will” and I respect your opinion.

Mute DubDon
    Favourite DubDon
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:35 PM

This is getting more and more interesting. While I’m glad the connection between SG and Fianna (epic) Fail is coming to the surface and his closeness to them is coming to the surface. What I can’t believe is that smug face Kenny read out a comment from an unofficial source the Shinners are supposed to be wheeling out this dude with the 5k check but it now appears that the Failers have documentary evidence (bank statements) to prove that MMG’s source is maybe not as credible as he made it out to be!!! Come on Shinners wheel him out and let him speak don’t say something and do something else… I can see SG getting small bit of support back cos looks like shinners maybe lying… I know that’s hard to believe… Shinners never lie!!!

Mute Tim Henchin
    Favourite Tim Henchin
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:43 PM

Sean backed the SF version in his “mature recollection” moment. He said he picked it up, or is he now trying to convince us that he picked up an empty envelope.

I’d have no meas in what FF HQ spout, they aren’t exactly noted for being honest about Financial matters, are they?. The date of the check being lodged is immaterial.

Course not!

One thing I’ll tell you for nothing as well, the amount of money that is misplaced in FF cumann’s is legendary.

Mute Adrian Martyn
    Favourite Adrian Martyn
    Oct 25th 2011, 1:56 PM

Hmmm, but is it any less questionable to have Sinn Fein do business with the same man? http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1356555/Gerry-Adams-fuel-smuggler-Sinn-Fein-leader-rents-election-office-firm-owned-convicted-criminal.html

If so, then neither Gallagher nor McGuinness are fit for the office.

Mute Tim Henchin
    Favourite Tim Henchin
    Oct 25th 2011, 2:18 PM

Another 5k Cheque special from a GAA club this time.

Lots of Gallagher’s businesses seem to revolve around state funding and grants. Isn’t is ironic how this is a common feature of prominent FF business people.

We all know entrepreneurs like that, one near me has a director whose father was a FF T.D. and charges Govt. bodies 40% more than the competitors. I know cause I contracted for them. Left, as they are too dodgy,. They still get the work, there are countless business like this in Ireland.

Mute Ivor Callelly
    Favourite Ivor Callelly
    Oct 25th 2011, 2:24 PM

The article says that the cheque was lodged before the event. It does not contradict Sean Gallagher’s admission that he was the bagman. Sean confirmed that, while for a moment he had no recollection of receiving the envelope, on mature reflection he now remembers receiving the envelope and passing the envelope to Fianna Fail HQ. It’s not that he was being economical with the truth, but that with all of the money whizzing between enterprise boards, GAA clubs, phoenix companies and “consultancy fees”, it was difficult for him to remember the envelope in question.

I do wish people would stop giving Sean such a hard time. Ignore all of this negative brown envelope, tax dodging stuff and just think of the fact that he’s a very successful ootraprunoor who will turn around the economy and bring millions of jobs to the country. Fact.

Mute Maria Stacey
    Favourite Maria Stacey
    Oct 25th 2011, 2:48 PM

Well said.

Mute Martin Mc Cormack
    Favourite Martin Mc Cormack
    Oct 25th 2011, 3:16 PM

Millions of jobs!!! Does this mean i’ll have to work?

Mute Rommel Burke
    Favourite Rommel Burke
    Oct 25th 2011, 3:49 PM

Thanks for the chuckle Ivor.
    Could I have one of then jobs before Christmas?

Mute Keith Colton
    Favourite Keith Colton
    Oct 25th 2011, 4:18 PM

@martin: No, you can always become a TD

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Oct 25th 2011, 6:15 PM

Oh Maria! Oh deary deary dear. Beyond parody, really.

Mute Adam Magari
    Favourite Adam Magari
    Oct 25th 2011, 2:12 PM

Is there anyone offering money that FF wouldn’t have at a dinner? Gallagher says he knew nothing of the questionable business activities of the donor. The likelihood is that FF has photos of that event in its archives and they should be released before the end of the day. This culture of sealed envelopes, dig outs and cosy select dinners has brought the citizens, families and small businesses of the country to the brink of destitution and in many cases beyond.

Mute Jimmy D
    Favourite Jimmy D
    Oct 25th 2011, 2:10 PM

I am amazed that Michael D topped the poll last night as for me it was yet another truly unmemorable performaance

Mute Keith Colton
    Favourite Keith Colton
    Oct 25th 2011, 2:30 PM

True story, Norris was the best performer in the debate. Looks like Micky D on the basis of elimination cos he had less flung at him, just kept his head down.

Mute Jimmy D
    Favourite Jimmy D
    Oct 25th 2011, 3:17 PM

all I ever pick up from Mickey D is that he is the only one who knows anything about the role of the president and that we wud be blessed to have him. He may be a very good man but to attempt to narrow this race down to two people was extremely disingenuous to the rest of the field

Mute Jimmy D
    Favourite Jimmy D
    Oct 25th 2011, 2:12 PM

I am amazed that Michael D topped the poll last night as for me it was yet another truly unmemorable performance

Mute mike
    Favourite mike
    Oct 25th 2011, 4:28 PM

Poor old Sean #Gallagher so much money sloshing around.. Its hard to keep track. Money stuffedt in Brown Envelopes. The money found to be resting in you acount. Which Broke company Law. The High RIP-OFF Ireland Fee you charges local GAA clubs. I managed to part pay back the Enterprised Board! You should be gratefull and please do not asked about my tax affairs. Thank you. I only earn €200pw.

Mute Edward OHara
    Favourite Edward OHara
    Oct 25th 2011, 4:27 PM

what do you expect from a pig but an oink? Of course they ‘re going to protect their boy.

Mute rx8
    Favourite rx8
    Oct 25th 2011, 5:26 PM

Cute whore SG comes to mind.
    The money was in the wrong account. Ye Ted.
    I’ve no affiliation with FF.
    It didn’t rain yesterday in Dublin.

Mute fitszpatrick
    Favourite fitszpatrick
    Oct 25th 2011, 6:03 PM

Oh there they are! , up to now an uncharacteristically sheepish FF comes out from behind its rock to aid their favourite independent offspring. Like sending for an Oil Company during a fire. With friends like these… Quick Sean now is the time to leak the wedding night video.

I am sure mr Gallagher only did fund raising for ff because as an independent his own events were well …a bit lonely.