You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Bishop Mariann Edgar Budde of the Episcopal Diocese of Washington pleaded with the new president to maintain human rights. Alamy Stock Photo

Priest Most bishops in America wouldn't have had the courage to speak to Trump like that — but one did

Fr Tony Flannery is a priest who has stood his ground in the past. He says Bishop Mariann Edgar Budde is to be commended for standing up to Trump this week.

I FOUND THE past few days, watching and listening to the events in Washington, depressing. As a priest, even if not particularly in good standing with my own Church, I was especially upset by Trump’s references to religion and God.

His notion of himself as a messianic figure, sent and rescued by God to make America Great was, in my view, a travesty of the message of Jesus, you could even say a defamation. In so many ways what he is proposing is the opposite of what should be expected from someone who claims to have God on his side, to even to be a special messenger of God.

So when I listened to Bishop Mariann Edgar Budde, of the Washington Episcopal Church, speak at the ceremony on the morning after Donald Trump was inaugurated, it was for me the first sign of light in the darkness of the preceding days.

Speaking up

She addressed the President directly, clearly speaking on behalf of the poor and underprivileged in America. She did not in any way deviate from the fundamentals of the Christian Gospel. She was in no way disrespectful or arrogant. Rather, she spoke in a gentle, but very clear, voice.

Her message was challenging and had to be uncomfortable for President Trump to hear, and you could see that she was speaking out of the depth of her own faith and her own experience of the Divine presence in her life. It took a lot of courage to do what she did.

I was immensely impressed by her. But clearly, Trump wasn’t. Branding her a ‘so-called bishop’, nasty, a hater and boring was, perhaps, to be expected from someone who denigrated his female opponent. Bishop Mariann was the opposite of those adjectives, She clearly spoke out of love, and I was riveted both by what she said and the way she said it. It made me yet again realise what we in the Catholic Church are missing by excluding women from the ordained ministry.

The deep political divide in the United States is mirrored in the religious divide that now besets that country. President Trump has many religious supporters, particularly those of the more fundamentalist churches, but sadly, a majority of catholics voted for him on this occasion. The Catholic Church in the States is also split down the middle, between those who are of a Trumpian mentality and those who follow Pope Francis.

A great many of the bishops would appear to be opponents of Francis and as such lean more towards the President. I can think of only maybe three or four who might have the courage to speak like Bishop Budde. I could mention Bishop Cupich in Chicago, Bishop McElroy, soon to take over in Washington, Bishop Tobin in Newark, and maybe one or two more. I am hoping they will come out strongly and publicly in support of Mariann, so that she will not feel isolated.

Having courage

I know from my own experience that if you stand outside the system, or say or do something disapproved of by those in power, the doors can quickly be closed against you, and you can be left on your own and alone. Luckily, Pope Francis has already given the American bishops a headline when, prior to the inauguration, on hearing the incoming President speak about his plans around migrants and emigrants, he said that if he followed through on his intentions it would be a disgrace.

If the majority of the leadership of the United States Catholic Church follow along with the President and with his actions and attitudes and his treatment of people, they will lose all credibility and the Catholic Church in that country will die, or what will be left of it will have little or no relationship to the Gospel.

The Church itself is, of course, an institution, one of the most ancient in the world. The sole reason for its existence is to preserve and spread the message of Jesus. His message is both inspiring and demanding. But as an institution it is led by humans, and is subject to, and has demonstrated down through the centuries, many forms of corruption, abuse of power, and everything else that goes with human nature.

Truth to power

It has also in many instances loved power more than Gospel, and cosied up to the civil powers. But it also has produced people who were inspired by Jesus, and who spoke out against both church and state, and sadly found that both institutions turned against them.

There are many examples of this, but I can think of an American priest named Roy Bourgeois, a Maryknoll priest. He worked in South America and saw at first hand the struggles and poverty of so many people there. Back in the part of the US where he had come from there was the School of the Americas, a military establishment, where at the time they were reputed to be training soldiers to foment revolution in countries led by left-leaning governments.

He began to protest, and of course, drew the state on him and his followers. He was sent to jail on a number of occasions. This radicalised him even more, and he also began to challenge the Church over its exclusion of women. He ended up being dismissed from the priesthood and his religious congregation. Happily, he is still going strong, challenging both systems.

This is just one example of many cases I have witnessed and known personally. Institutions of their nature, religious or lay, do not like it when someone stands out from the crowd and challenges the system, and they have their ways of dealing with them. My impression of Mariann Budde is that she would be no pushover. I hope her own Episcopalian Church stands by her, and that she can continue to be a voice for goodness and love against a prevailing system that is seemingly going to operate by very different methods.

Fr Tony Flannery is a Redemptorist priest who was forbidden to practice by his superiors in Rome in 2012 for speaking up on many issues. This continues to this day. More at TonyFlannery.com

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 154 comments
154 Comments
    Mute Liam OTailliuir
    Favourite Liam OTailliuir
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:37 PM

Fair play to her. Not much call for compassion and understanding in US republican politics these days.

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:40 PM

@Luke Littler: Why can’t we show kindness to all?

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:52 PM

@Clare Power: Kindness isn’t their thing. Culture wars are far more important and owning the libs. They couldn’t care less about anyone caught in the crossfire, literally or figuratively

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Liam OTailliuir
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:56 PM

@Luke Littler: She said they were scared and they are. If caring about scared kids makes you a fool then we could do with a lot more fools in the world

Mute Peter Smith
    Favourite Peter Smith
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:02 PM

@Liam OTailliuir: How did you manage to post this while singing “Keep the Red Flag Flying” at the same time? Fair play Comrade

Mute Peter Smith
    Favourite Peter Smith
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:06 PM

@Liam OTailliuir: How did you manage to post that while singing “Keep the Red Flag Flying” ? Fair play to you Comrade, I’m lost in admiration

Mute Peter Smith
    Favourite Peter Smith
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:11 PM

@Clare Power: Very good question, maybe ask someone like the monster that stabbed the little girls to death in Stockport. Don’t ask us, what do we know?

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:28 PM

@Liam OTailliuir: from the fear mongering. They’re not losing any rights or freedoms. Her job is to preach God’s words not her political stance. Tell me what’s God’s words on the lgbtq? You see the hypocrisy yet?

Mute Liam OTailliuir
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:54 PM

@Damien Leahy: Varies hugely but tends to outdated bigotry. Religions vary over time as societies do. Even RC now has the pope saying not to judge lgbtq. They are talking out of both sides of their mouth on it given they still say the acts are a sin but it even being discussed would have been unimaginable 50 years ago

Mute Liam OTailliuir
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:55 PM

@Peter Smith: If i was a communist, surely I’d be decrying the opiate of the masses. You gotta up your trolling game

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:00 PM

@Liam OTailliuir: one you think you can’t pick and choose the parts of the bible to follow and the parts to ignore.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:03 PM

@Damien Leahy: are you now going to condemn trump for engaging in idolatry by saying he ‘chosen by god’ to make America great again? See the hypocrisy yet?

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:56 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: are you suggest that trump was preaching the word of God? Really? He didn’t say “God told me I was chosen” did he? Big difference.

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:08 PM

@Liam OTailliuir: will you stop. She is crazed. Anyone who is trying to save the “trans kids” is a problem. This lunacy of “my 3 year old is ‘trans’” is child abuse, end of.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 23rd 2025, 11:21 PM

@Damien Leahy: so who informed him that he was ‘chosen’? Was he speaking on behalf of God and just assuming? Semantics, Damo. Typical of trumpers, always on hand to attempt to explain anyway every ridiculous thing he says. Of course the interesting thing about that, is the tacit implication that he was more worthy of survival than the guy who actually died in the attack, who has long disappeared from the news cycle, and is rarely mentioned by Trump. Bet his family are delighted.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Jan 23rd 2025, 11:44 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: who said he was informed? When people win a trophy and thank god were they informed that God chose them to win? He survived two assassination attempts and is religious. Its not rocket science

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 24th 2025, 12:20 AM

@Damien Leahy: nah, just cabaret. how else would he know he has been ‘chosen’? A serial adulterer who went mute when asked to quote his favourite bible verse and never has a decent word or an ounce of kindness for anyone. He’s about as religious as Richard Dawkins.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Jan 24th 2025, 12:53 AM

@Setanta O’Toole: ah stop ffs. You don’t like the man fine but leave the bs out of it. It’s clear you are anti trump and nothing would change your mind even when caught out on a lie.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Jan 24th 2025, 12:55 AM
    Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Jan 24th 2025, 12:58 AM
    Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 24th 2025, 1:46 AM

@Damien Leahy: yeah, the news interview was in where he made a tit of himself and couldn’t name a verse was in 2015. It’s almost like his advisors prepped him so he wouldn’t do it again. Hard luck damo kid.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Jan 24th 2025, 2:03 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: difference between wouldn’t and couldn’t. You’ve been caught out lad

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 24th 2025, 2:23 PM

@Damien Leahy: Sure I have, champ.

Mute Tom Mahon
    Favourite Tom Mahon
    Jan 24th 2025, 5:48 PM

@Damien Leahy: No, but he did say “I am the chosen one”!

Mute RIP
    Favourite RIP
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:56 PM

The point is not if you agreed with her or not, the point was the unbelievable courage she showed in the face of one of the most dangerous head’s of state at this time

Mute Peter Smith
    Favourite Peter Smith
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:57 PM

@RIP: More dangerous than Kim Jong Un, Mr Xi and his buddy Putin? ….err, ok then

Mute Peter Smith
    Favourite Peter Smith
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:00 PM

@Peter Smith: And let’s not forget the fun time that was had by all, when Kim took his relatives out to a field and sent them to their maker via anti-tank rounds. So I think you might be confusing apples with hand grenades

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:39 PM

The look on Trump’s entourage was absolutely priceless. Godless punks the lot of them.
    The Bishop only shared some basic Christian doctrine with them.

Mute William Jennings
    Favourite William Jennings
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:05 PM

@Louis Jacob: Really? Come on mate, let’s get real here. Nowhere in the Bible is there passages which praise or support sex changes for minors or illegal immigration into America. In fact, there are multiple Biblical passages which condemns such beliefs (Genesis 1:27, Deuteronomy 22:5, Romans 13:1-2, 1 Peter 2:13-14). The Episcopal Church is fake anyway and they believe in radical ideas like abortion on demand up until birth. This woman is nothing more than an activist who is masquerading as a Bishop. Notice how she used only vague terms when scorning and chiding Trump, and no actual precise Biblical quotes to back up what she’s saying. Shame on her and those who appointed her to that role in the first place.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:15 PM

@William Jennings: .an activist .masquerading as a bishop…? Right. AND you also believe Trump was saved from assassination by God’s personal intervention? Give me a break.
    Mercy and Grace are key tenets of the Christian faith. If Trump wants to be a good leader of what he claims is a Christian country, he needs to be humble for once and suck it up a small bit, instead of playing the victim again.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:28 PM

@William Jennings: Incidentally, when he was asked with passages from scripture were important to him; he said “all of them.” His words; not mine.

Mute Peter Smith
    Favourite Peter Smith
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:30 PM

@Louis Jacob: Serious question, did that basic Christian doctrine proscribe kiddy fiddling? You can’t just pick and choose all the time

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:37 PM

@Peter Smith: No. It certainly did not. But that is a separate issue.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:42 PM

@Louis Jacob: probably the first time Trump ever heard it. He pretends to be Christian to win over the dumb evangelicals.

Mute William Jennings
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:45 PM

@Louis Jacob: Incorrect. I view Trump as an adulterous and sinful individual who has no respect for Christianity. I most certainly do not believe that it was God that saved Trump from the assassination attempt and it’s clear for anyone who watched the video that it was as simple as Trump turning to investigate the first shot that he heard, making the second bullet only hit his ear. I absolutely know that he hasn’t a clue about the Bible, but neither does this fake Bishop. I’m consistent in what I say. I’m more than happy to condemn both her and Trump for their brazen incompetence when it comes to understanding and following Christianity.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:24 PM

@William Jennings: ‘judge not lest ye be judged’ somewhere towards the back I think. Not every cleric is obliged to have views solely from the bible you know, they are allowed have a mind of their own too. While I have you, did you ever see the interview where Trump insisted the bible was his favourite book and clammed up like a fella that didn’t have his english homework done when asked his favourite verse? If you think he has a religious bone in his body you are delusional.

Mute Peter Smith
    Favourite Peter Smith
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:13 PM

@Louis Jacob: Well that would be an ecumenical matter

Mute Paul C
    Favourite Paul C
    Jan 24th 2025, 12:31 AM

@William Jennings: the bible has 33 passages about welcoming migrants. 0 passages condemning trans. 714 about loving each other and +2000 about helping the poor. The bishop quoted Jesus and asked for mercy.

Mute William Jennings
    Jan 24th 2025, 2:35 PM

@Paul C: You’re wrong Paul. She used no Biblical quotes whatsoever to back up her speech. I advise you to read the passages that I listed above, they clearly condemn both sex changes and illegal immigration.

Mute cup of tea
    Favourite cup of tea
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:37 PM

She should apologise. Trump and his views won the popular vote in November

Mute Ted Daly
    Favourite Ted Daly
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:38 PM

@cup of tea: shame on you. She was articulate and compassionate. Two words trump couldn’t spell.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:45 PM

@cup of tea: Hilarious, is that the best you can come up with ? Hilarious.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:54 PM

@cup of tea: You evidently have not watched it if you think she should apologise.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:31 PM

@cup of tea: Haven’t you been paying attention. Trump claims God saved his life. The MAGA base mostly think Trump is on a mission from God. So the Bishop (using milder language than the Pope did in defence of migrants earlier this year) reminded Trump of the actual message of Christianity: ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’ Also, why didn’t Trump lace his hand on the bible while swearing his oath of office?

Mute Peter Smith
    Favourite Peter Smith
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:22 PM

@Ted Daly: Course not Ted, but your sat on a careworn sofa in your scraggy jockeys typing whatever nonsense comes into your head…meanwhile the source of your discomfort is a billionaire and the POTUS

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:25 PM

@cup of tea: he’s above criticism because he won an election so? Isn’t there a thing called freedom of speech the ol’ Yanks are into?

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:07 PM

@Diarmuid Hunt: so she was asking who now would do all the menial jobs, who would clean the houses of the rich? Good to know you support cheap slave labour…

Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:19 PM

@cup of tea: Trumps views change with the wind, he is a clown

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Jan 23rd 2025, 11:05 PM

@Harry Paisley: someone who can be taken advantage of and work well below the minimum wage….in case their employer notifies the authorities of their status….very, very easy for some to take full advantage of it!

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Jan 24th 2025, 12:29 AM

@Ted Daly: He is the President of the USA. Not a bad achievement for a man who cannot spell.

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Jan 24th 2025, 12:30 AM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Cup of tea 100% correct.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 24th 2025, 2:20 AM

@Billy Joe: Hilarious, another one

Mute Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Favourite Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:24 PM

I’m not a religious man but fair play to that woman for saying what she said.

Mute Peter Smith
    Favourite Peter Smith
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:16 PM

@Gearoid MacEachaidh: Simp alert ⚠️

Mute Sickof thisshit
    Favourite Sickof thisshit
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:35 PM

Courage .. attention seeking more on.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien

@Sickof this: A Christian bishop preaching Christian values is, or should be, completely normal.

Trump’s response confirms that whatever he may be, he is no Christian.

Mute Mary Linton
    Favourite Mary Linton
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:46 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: and we have such a wonderful history in this Country of organised religions being intertwined with the State

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:50 PM

@Mary ‘pee wee’ Linton: That comment makes absolutely no sense. Bishop Budde’s church is not ‘intertwined’ with the state: she was simply speaking up for the poor and downtrodden, like Jesus did.

Mute Mary Linton
    Favourite Mary Linton
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:58 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: oh, certainly, because jesus definitely existed & the sickening history of abuse by the organised religion in Ireland was …..mmmm…… Probably just a few “bad” apples…/ Sure

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:00 PM

@Mary Linton: You seem confused. Probably the strain of pretending to be female and reasonably intelligent.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:33 PM

@Sickof thisshit: https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c0jnz8q6p32o

Pope Francis has said that Donald Trump’s plans to deport illegal migrants from the US would be a “disgrace” if they materialised.

Speaking to an Italian TV programme from his Vatican residence, Francis said that if the plans went ahead, Trump would make “poor wretches that don’t have anything foot the bill”.

“That’s not right. That’s not how you solve problems,” he said.

Mute Mary Linton
    Favourite Mary Linton
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:12 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: my goodness, such blatant misogyny. Will NOT be responding to this level of comment again

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy

@Brendan O’Brien: Christian values? What’s the bible say about gays?

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:44 PM

The world needs more people like this she simply asked for compassion and understand for those who are afraid. Jesus said the same thing and he’s meant to be the son of God , Trump believes God saved him so he must believe in him and therefore his teachings.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:37 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Trump believes that no one can publicly criticise or correct him. Can you imagine the mentality of someone whose fakery means they cannot afford to be proven wrong about anything?!! How empty and frightened a person like that must be to show no humility, nor reasonableness, no ability to just move on without trying to settle a score. Trump has repeatedly stated his life philosophy is a single word: Revenge.

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:39 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: G..sh..e

Mute Patrice Ahern
    Favourite Patrice Ahern

She confronted something obnoxious in a quiet, soft way. I’m sure it’ll be conviently lost on his spineless hangers on. A dangerous ef+i+g buffoon of the highest order.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:52 PM

@Patrice Ahern: Well said

Mute Mary Linton
    Favourite Mary Linton
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:44 PM

So a failed “priest” that’s forbidden to practice applauding some other “bishop” of a separate organised religion because she made a ‘song & dance’ about a newly elected President settling out his stall clearly at the commencement of his overwhelming mandate to put the world back on an even keel after four dark years of pointless death, destruction & devastation. Mmmmmm……. Methinks there could not be a clearer example of the need for separation between Church & State

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:47 PM

@Mary ‘pee wee’ Linton: Enjoying your latest profile? You managed to come across as semi-cultured for about five minutes: shame you don’t know what ‘penmanship’ means.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:48 PM

@Mary Linton: Seperation of church and state? You don’t really understand Maga do you?

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:51 PM

@Mary Linton: In the US, the church and state are separate always have been. Trump is an evil narcissist, a felon, and has closed down a department that helps disabled people and other minorities to get on in life. The Bishop is a hero , a saint, and asked for something in a compassionate way. Trump threw the teddy out of the pram

That Bishop needs a prize.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:51 PM

@Louis Jacob: Yes: Maga turns Christianity on its head, and love into hate.

Mute Mary Linton
    Favourite Mary Linton
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:54 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Sir, I’m relatively new to this fascinating website but I have observed/ Note you feel somehow compelled to comment aimlessly/ dare I say, even accusingly,on every single article. Obviously, that’s your prerogative but, with every respect, it is rather childish & doesn’t add to any reasonable debate on the topic of article

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:56 PM

@Mary Linton: lol, as you might say in your ‘Dave f Doe’ profile. Mind you don’t get them mixed up.

Mute alan dunne
    Favourite alan dunne
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:10 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Episcopal Church give me a break, she’s a pretend bishop who loves the spotlight & going on TV shows, seen her on the joke of a show the view, funny as f

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:22 PM

@alan dunne: I’m not preventing you from taking a break, in fact it might be good for you as the other stuff you wrote is infantile.

Mute Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:40 PM

@alan dunne: a “pretend bishop”? As opposed to all the “real” ones that were contacted and anointed by the magic man in the sky?

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:16 PM

@Mary Linton: a ‘failed priest’ isn’t much of an insult when you are using it to defend a convicted felon and sex offender. He was also every inch the warmonger as his predecessor. He just told you he wasn’t so you blindly believed him.

Mute Bomber
    Favourite Bomber
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:33 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Buster Lawless, Trump24, Dave Doe, Kevvvy are all his profile.

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Jan 24th 2025, 12:32 AM

@Louis Jacob: Seperation? U can’t spel

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:25 PM

A brave woman of God, who will now undoubtedly suffer under Trump. But in the end she will triumph.

Mute Peter Smith
    Favourite Peter Smith
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:43 PM

@Paddy Ryan: Yep, she’s a regular Joan of Arc, no doubt about that. Can you ask her on your next tete a tete what her take on kiddy fiddlers is?

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:07 PM

@Peter Smith: she’s not a Catholic priest so she probably opposes it

Mute Peter Smith
    Favourite Peter Smith
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:32 PM

@Dermot Blaine: Probably…because she’s not a Catholic priest – OK, that’s fine then! To me, she seems like she has an agenda if you know what I mean

Mute Patrick Mulkerrin
    Favourite Patrick Mulkerrin
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:03 PM

Most bishops in America wouldn’t speak to trump like that because most of what she said goes against Christian teachings..

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111

@Patrick Mulkerrin: Dude, that is the single most obviously ridiculous thing to claim since composer James Horner said he’d never heard of composer Jerry Goldsmith. Look that up. An incredible statement to make publicly, just like yours. Horner clearly bristled at the accusations of lifting a great deal from Goldsmith, who was Horner’s instructor at the Los Angeles Film School, who allowed Horner to be present on the recording stage of ‘Star Trek: The Motion Picture’ and who is among the most highly regarded of all composers to have worked in film.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:26 PM

@Patrick Mulkerrin: Crime is a sin according to all religions. Protecting US men women and children is Trump’s religious and political duty. Action not talk is needed. Crime is one of the most urgent concerns facing Mexico, as Mexican drug trafficking rings play a major role in the flow of cocaine, methamphetamine, fentanyl, heroin, and marijuana transiting between Latin America and the United States. Drug trafficking has led to corruption, which has had a deleterious effect on Mexico’s Federal Representative Republic. Drug gangs have also branched out to conduct alternative illegal activities for profit, including sex trafficking in Mexico. Some of the world’s most violent cities are reportedly within the state of Guanajuato with extortion from criminal groups now being commonplace

Mute Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:29 PM

Guys stop replying to these multiple account trolls. You call them out and then interact with them giving them exactly what they want. Just mute on sight. If they’re not getting the attention they crave they’ll soon give up

Mute Peter Smith
    Favourite Peter Smith
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:23 PM

@Gearoid MacEachaidh: Yep, down with free speech…commies rule!!

Mute William Jennings
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:15 PM

Nowhere in the Bible is there passages which praise or support sex changes for minors that involve medical castration or illegal immigration into America. In fact, there are multiple Biblical passages which condemns such beliefs (Genesis 1:27, Deuteronomy 22:5, Romans 13:1-2, 1 Peter 2:13-14). The Episcopal Church is fake anyway and they believe in radical ideas like abortion on demand up until birth. This woman is nothing more than an activist who is masquerading as a Bishop. Notice how she used only vague terms when scorning and chiding Trump, and no actual precise Biblical quotes to back up what she’s saying. This “priest” also employs similar rhetorical tactics. Yeah, it’s all well and good telling us this sop story of an article, but there’s still zero Biblical quotes accompanying it!

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:24 PM

@William Jennings: I guess you never heard of a wandering mystic who kept apart from ‘good society’ and renounced the prevailing views of his time, including the established religious dogma and establishment. So in your complete lack of awareness, what are you going to level against Pope Francis for his consistent criticism of Trump and his consistent advocacy for the protection of refugees, migrants, etc. You did realise the Pope was on record about this. You might also look up the Pope’s recent appointment of his ambassador to Washington…….https://www.forbes.com/sites/conormurray/2025/01/06/pope-francis-appoints-trump-critic-dc-area-archbishop-after-trump-taps-francis-critic-as-vatican-ambassador/

Why do you insist in metaphorically ducking your heads in custard pies continuously and claiming that you’re owning other people instead?

Mute William Jennings
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:05 PM

@Numinous20111: I’m a Benevacantist and I don’t actually recognise Francis as the Pope on the grounds that he was not legitimately appointed. Pope Benedict’s resignation didn’t fulfil the requirements of Canon 332 §2, which mandates that a pope must resign freely and clearly. There were clear signs was coercion and undue pressure. The fact that Benedict still referred to himself as “Pope Emeritus” and continually wore white indicated that he didn’t truly abdicate the papacy in a fair manner. After the Vatileaks scandal, Francis forced him out in an internal power coup through pressuring him to resign early, violating the rules outlined in Universi Dominici Gregis, the apostolic constitution governing papal elections. I couldn’t care less what Pope Francis says, he doesn’t speak for me.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:36 PM

@William Jennings: you really need to get away from this mind controlling cult and think for yourself. Canon law counts for diddly squat in the real world

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:02 PM

@William Jennings: I never knew that, that’s very interesting….I really don’t know what to make of Francis!

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:10 PM

She’s entitled to her beliefs, which seems to include that humans can be born in the wrong body. No one else has to share those beliefs. I try to treat everyone equally, whether I share their beliefs or not, but I’m not prepared to pander to people. I don’t believe in souls, gods, or that humans can be magically born in the “wrong body”. There is zero evidence for any of them, and belief in such is purely faith based. Each to their own.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:35 PM

@Sean Ryan: Ignorance masquerading as reason is still ignorance. Your “zero evidence” would be contradicted if you bothered to read any science or psychology on this subject. Since we are all conceived as female, how do you explain how males can exist? What processes occur to change some females to males? What role does testosterone play in this divergence and why is that testosterone not always delivered to the embryo in the right amount at the key time? You have so much to learn.

Mute Peter Smith
    Favourite Peter Smith
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:39 PM

@Sean Ryan: That’s the truth

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:41 PM

@Numinous20111: Years ago “born in the wrong body” was metaphorical, and useful as that. Now it’s meant literally. You are free to believe whatever you want to; it doesn’t matter to me. It appears you are wilfully ignorant and blinded by beliefs.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:08 PM

@Sean Ryan: there is plenty of evidence of the existence of Gender Dysphoria, and a long time before conservatives were absolutely obsessed with trans people. Funny you call people ‘wilfully ignorant’ yet say there is ‘zero evidence’ for a mental state that there is years of medical evidence and data to prove that it does.

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:32 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: there is zero evidence that people are *literally* born in the wrong body. Of course gender dysphoria exists, I’ve never said otherwise. That doesn’t mean the person is literally in the wrong body, it just means they have gender dysphoria.

Mute michael powell
    Favourite michael powell
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:13 PM

She speaks to the humanity in us all.
    “Who will rid me of this turbulent priest?”

Mute pee wee
    Favourite pee wee
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:40 PM

Trump is bigger than God

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:43 PM

@pee wee: His Ozempic doses should be increased in that case.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:55 PM

@pee wee: There is no GOD only an Orange

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:09 PM

@pee wee: make sure u tell Him that wen u see him, he can have a good laugh before He smites your backside…

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:37 PM

And suddenly the Journal and all the loony lefties suddenly decide to listen to Christian Bishops…..have you all suddenly found God?

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:40 PM

@Emer McDonnell: you don’t need to believe in a god to know tolerance, respect and understanding are desirable traits in society

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:03 PM

@Dermot Blaine: I know something lacking in a lot of the loony lefts! I do recall pro Palestinians marching thru Catholic Churches during Mass…not what you would call tolerant or respectful…is it?

Mute Paul Kavanagh
    Favourite Paul Kavanagh
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:51 PM

the electorate voted in Trump to reverse certain policies etc. It’s his job. It’s what people voted for.

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:52 PM

She needs to give her head a shake whey she talks about gender issues,

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:38 PM

@Ned: she didn’t talk about gender issues, she asked for mercy and tolerance.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:48 PM

This is the same bishop who had to publicly respond to Trump’s violent clearing of protestors (using damage to St John’s Episcopal Church as a pretext). I remember seeing her on cable news the day after (June 2020). So there’s history there and the buffoon’s extremely thin skin will be stretched taut at the memory.

Mute Peter Smith
    Favourite Peter Smith
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:48 PM

@Numinous20111: Thankfully someone who sees the truth, she is a buffoon isn’t she? Also, she’s an arch libtard the likes of whom will sink this country within the next decade. You’re as complicit, so give yourself a pat on the back

Mute Darran Macken
    Favourite Darran Macken
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:23 PM

To be honest she had some cheek,respect the man’s beliefs the concenus wanted him and his beliefs get over it, ask her to go to Afghanistan and preach that stuff, she wouldn’t for one reason! It’s not there beliefs, so treat trump with the same thinking.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:27 PM

@Darran Macken: Trump poses as a Christian, she proposed he follow Christian values. How is that disrespecting his beliefs?

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 23rd 2025, 11:14 PM

@Darran Macken: People are allowed criticise him. He’s not putin, or kim jong un..yet.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:35 PM

Fox are going nuts: depending on which commentator you listen to. She’s a left wing agitator, a disgrace, a lunatic, a woke commie and an arrogant heretic spreading clichéd propaganda, their attacks on her are relentless. And that’s just the half of it. Her life is probably in danger as a result. This is Trumps new America.

Mute Mick O'K
    Favourite Mick O'K
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:58 PM

@Dermot Blaine: how many attempts were made on Trumps life Dermot

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:07 PM

@Mick O’K: one

Mute Mick O'K
    Favourite Mick O'K
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:56 PM

@Dermot Blaine: and that’s why you have no right to talk about death threats

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:04 PM

@Dermot Blaine: two actually!

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:11 PM

@Dermot Blaine: tell me do you show the same concern about JK Rowling….?

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:24 PM

@Emer McDonnell: 1 attempt, a plot is not an assisination attempt, that’s why they call it a plot.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:41 PM

@Mick O’K: because a Republican party looney shot at Trump, we can’t talk about death threats? Your comment makes zero sense. Trump supporters broke into the Capitol to hang Mike Pence, they killed police officers, they went looking for Pelosi. These people are now free thanks to Trump pardoning them.

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Jan 23rd 2025, 11:10 PM

@Dermot Blaine: if you want to be pedantic….one near miss and one foiled plot….could you imagine the never ending news if this happened to Harris or Biden!

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Jan 23rd 2025, 11:14 PM

@Dermot Blaine: and yet Biden gives preemptive pardons to his family, Fauci and those involved in Jan 6th they really are the actions of an innocent honest man….not!

Mute BL Music
    Favourite BL Music
    Jan 24th 2025, 9:34 AM

..give me bishop Brennan any day.
    The media are trying to brew a storm in a tea cup.. her opinions are woke and ridiculous. The media need to cop onto the fact that a lot of people think this whole gender thing has gone way to far ..

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:08 PM

Jesus got excecuted because he opposed the religious/political hypocricy of his time and place.
    Europe means nothing to Trump.
    He’s the Reagan/Thatcher of modern telly-reality times.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Jan 23rd 2025, 8:31 PM

@offside again: wtf are you on about?

Mute Danny Neville
    Favourite Danny Neville
    Jan 24th 2025, 6:19 PM

Whatever one thinks of the bishop’s sermon, it is quite something to watch atheistic, liberal publications come out in support of her commments when those very same outlets, on the whole, actively propagandise against the Church’s teachings.

For that reason alone it is a bit of a sickener, and demonstrative of how the liberal west will use Christianity only when it suits, and in general, try to bend it to their godless will.

Liberal publications will only praise clergy who go along with their views. This is evidenced by the way they treat Pope Francis. Secularists and liberals praise his sensible views on the excesses of capitalism and the dangers of global warming, but largely ignore his thoughts on what he terms the “evil” of gender ideology. All of this is done in bad faith.

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:39 PM

It’s amazing, the left have spent year’s banishing and destroying Christianity almost distinguishing the Christian Church’s view,but they align with your’s ,they are great people altogether.
    I’m no Trump fan but isn’t it any wonder right minded thinking people have sat back and said what a bunch of g..s..tes

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 23rd 2025, 11:26 PM

@martin lawlor: Yeah, it’s definitely the left that have tainted christianity. The church themselves and the years of abuse and corruption had nothing to do with it.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Jan 24th 2025, 12:55 AM
    Mute Tony Doran
    Favourite Tony Doran
    Jan 24th 2025, 8:55 AM

That wasn’t courage, it was arrogance.

Mute socheallaigh
    Favourite socheallaigh
    Jan 23rd 2025, 10:29 PM

Orange one is an awful c–t

Mute Ed Brennan
    Favourite Ed Brennan
    Feb 1st 2025, 11:38 AM

Just because she has a big biased mouth, doesn’t make her right.