You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Shutterstock/3rdtimeluckystudio
ge2024
Opinion A four-day working week is good for productivity, wellbeing and the planet
The public health expert says that in a modern workplace and with the use of AI, no one should be stuck on a five-day week.
7.01am, 23 Nov 2024
TUESDAY NIGHTS I always sleep well. For the last three years, I have worked four days a week – usually Monday and Tuesday, then Thursday and Friday.
The break on Wednesdays means that no matter how busy the early part of the week is, I get a chance to breathe easy, get up when I am ready, go for a long swim in the pool, write, catch up on housework, plant those long overdue spring bulbs, meet a friend for coffee or lunch, cook a nice dinner and of course chill.
The alternative is a five day week of deadlines, phone calls, meetings and pressure which for me, at the stage of life I am at is exhausting even thinking about.
Work smarter, not harder has been the mantra of management consultants for decades. But what if you just work less? There is mounting evidence that ditching the conventional working week has benefits for employers and employees as well as the planet.
The Green Party has called for a Citizen’s Assembly on a four-day work week to explore the impact it could have on issues such as people’s pay and the effect on the public service. Children’s Minister Roderic O’Gorman said that flexible and remote work had achieved a better work-life balance for people, but now it was time to ‘take the next steps forward.’
In an era of remote working and Artificial Intelligence, a five-day working week is outdated. Henry Ford found a century ago, that people were more productive if they worked five days out of six. In a modern era, we have to ask: Why are we stuck on five days? Is this a human invention that deserves to be reimagined?
Better work-life balance
All the evidence would suggest that it is. The four-day week is not another shiny election bauble. It is a proven model – here’s the evidence.
Six years ago, New Zealand based entrepreneur and founder of Four Day Week Global, Andrew Barnes, ran a pilot at his company Perpetual Guardian that redefined how we think about productivity. The company, which employed almost 250 staff, managing trusts, wills and estate planning, ran a three-month pilot to compare whether employees could be as productive in four days while getting paid for five.
The experiment was a resounding success. Employee engagement soared, sick days halved and retention improved. Staff stress levels decreased by seven percentage points across the board while stimulation, commitment and a sense of empowerment at work all improved significantly, with overall satisfaction increasing by five percentage points.
‘Healthier, happier, more engaged staff are more productive, more creative and give a better customer experience,’ Barnes concluded.
Four Day Week Global followed this up with a series of trials across the world in 2022 with employers in the United States, Australia, New Zealand and Ireland taking part.
Assistant professor in social policy at the UCD School of Social Policy, Social Work and Social Justice, Orla Kelly led the Irish component of the international trial, with Boston College coordinating the research with international academic partners. The trial involved 3,500 employees across 150 organisations in a six-month trial that included 188 employees from 12 firms in Ireland.
Across all countries, the researchers found that the four-day week resulted in a significant increase in physical and mental health, life satisfaction, work-life balance and work-family balance.
They also saw an increase in average daily sleep hours, as well as fewer sleep problems, and less frequent anxiety and fatigue. They found improvements in job satisfaction alongside a considerable reduction in burnout.
Employees in the trial had more time to dedicate to personal care, social connections and hobbies. Environmental gains included reduced commuting and increases in pro-environmental behaviour.
‘I’m working more productively,’ said one employee. ‘I’m working much smarter. I have been more focused throughout the day.’
‘It’s given me more time to spend with my family members, and I think that the even greater benefit has been that it frees up my mental space for when I’m interacting with them,’ said another. ‘The mental load of work doesn’t spill into your personal life.’
The productivity argument
Managers reported boosted productivity.
‘In terms of productivity, we’re beating every target from the previous year, hands down. So if anything, reducing our working week has improved priority productivity to a level that it would be a very foolish decision to go back to five days,’ one manager said.
During the trial, the research team observed a decrease in commuting among employees and an increase in pro-environmental behaviour, including active travel. In addition, many organisations decreased energy use by closing on a Friday.
One worker’s testimonial summed up the positive response, which as a four-day worker, I would wholeheartedly concur with:
‘Life has gotten so much better, just a much better balance, Oh, my God! Like, I don’t know how people who don’t have it can function. Especially when you work a full-on and intense job. Before the four-day week, I didn’t feel I had the time or capacity for all the other parts of my life that needed attention. Having that extra day is a game-changer.’
Other organisations have conducted similar experiments to reduce working hours without sacrificing output.
Read Next
Related Reads
Who's running in your constituency? Find out with The Journal's candidate database
Opinion: Foreign Policy must be at the centre of the General Election campaign
FG's Peter Burke describes Michael O'Leary teacher comments controversy a 'media bubble' story
Spain’s third-largest city, Valencia trial a four-day week by scheduling local holidays on four consecutive Mondays throughout April and May 2023. The new temporary working week affected 360,000 workers who used the additional downtime to do sporting activities, relax and prepare meals.
Results showed people in the programme had higher self-perceived health status, reduced levels of stress, were less tired and were more personally satisfied.
In a separate study in the UK in 2022, involving 73 companies and 3,300 employees, the results were similar. Four days’ work for five days’ pay benefitted both employees and workers. Almost half the respondents said productivity improved slightly or significantly, and the majority (86%) stated it highly likely they would continue with a four-day week after the study.
For families, the results from the UK study were very positive, with the time spent by male workers looking after their children increasing by 27%. But traditional metrics, like time spent in the office are deeply ingrained in corporate culture.
Barnes acknowledges this, suggesting that ‘because we don’t measure productivity properly, we often default to time as a surrogate.’ One of the key obstacles he suggests is that senior leaders are often too risk averse to experiment with new ways of working.
Barnes notes that the four-day work week isn’t a one-size-fits-all solution, suggesting that in some sectors like public service, ‘you might need a journey towards proper productivity measurement before you can implement it,’ compared to private companies with more explicit productivity and revenue metrics.
But it is doable, and a Citizen’s Assembly would explore the key elements of how to introduce a four-day week that includes the public sector to maximise wellbeing and minimise any impact on productivity.
As a public sector worker, who works a four-day week I can vouch for the benefits in terms of improved productivity while I am at work, while being transformative for my brain space, strength, heart, lungs, balance, sleep, creativity and most of all my sanity.
Dr Catherine Conlon is a public health doctor and former director of human health and nutrition, safefood.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
I love how everyone who comes out saying Austerity works are making a minimum of 6 figures a year and have no idea what-so-ever what life is really like under austerity.
And it wasn’t our fault. The government tried to prop up the banks but in the end only dragged us down with them. It was serious mismanagement that the Irish People did not have a say in.
Austerity was ok for Greece, Portugal, Cyprus and Ireland. Now Italy and Spain are ready to blow Barroso gets ready to print euros to hell and back.
By the time the Irish populace wakes up to the massive EU scam on behalf of Goldman Sachs et al it will be too late.
It wasn’t our fault?
Hmmm – our democratically elected government presided over one of the great property bubbles the world has ever seen, while simultaneously tripling spending on the back of stamp duty taxes.
We, the Irish, repeatedly voted them back in.
So, yeah – it’s all the German’s fault – that makes sense.
Incidentally – the collapse of the banks and the catastrophic guarantee undoubtedly are implicated in our current financial woes and accompanying austerity, but the vast majority of our problems arise from the fiscal deficit.
Once the stamp duty disappeared, it became apparent that we were spending more than we were generating in taxes, irrespective of the bank guarantee
Who voted for the blanket bank Guarantee? What other Government in the world would have guaranteed a commercial bank like Anglo? Why has there never been a proper investigation into why the FF and green government made this crazy decision?
The government put a guarantee across all our banks to give confidence to investors who might invest in the Irish market.
If investors saw that they lost everything they put into the Irish market, nobody would go there again.
Without investment our economy would more than likely stagnate or collapse.
Austerity has a bad rap in Ireland because it’s been mixed in thoroughly with bondholder bailouts and rescuing banks. But pretending that the banking collapse was the source of all our woes is a typical Irish attitude because it allows us to export the blame.
Even if we leave the banking sector aside the simple fact is the fundamentals of the Irish economy in the mid-2000s were suspect. Spending was increasing at a huge rate on the basis of unsustainable taxes. And we the Irish people were generally complicit in that. No party was calling for cutbacks in the 2007 general election for the simple reason that any party that had suggested we would need to increase tax and cut spending would have been decimated at the polls. We didn’t want to hear the we were overextended or that we should be prudent. Populism is a two way process. If we didn’t demand and support populist policies then parties wouldn’t promote them.
In short Ireland was a problem waiting to happen. Even without the global financial crisis and our need to support the banks we would have reached a point where out fiscal problem would have blown up in our faces and cutbacks or austerity would have been required. The banking issue made it a lot worse but at some point we were going to have to call a halt at some point. Put simply a country can not continue to spend way above what it’s earning.
Until we accept that fact then we are blinding ourselves to the obvious and we’ll probably do the exact same thing at some point again in the future.
Low interest rates forced upon the Irish banks caused bankers to lend much more recklessly, so as to sustain the massive profits they’d been making before the euro came along.
@ Sean Hyland : I dont know how deeply they were involved in Ireland, but Goldman Sachs is reported to have systematically helped the Greek government mask the true facts concerning its national debt between the years 1998 and 2009. thus complicit in the downfall of the Greek econimy.
Most countries run a budget deficit most of the time and it’s economic suicide to try and eliminate a deficit in the teeth of a recession as we are being forced to do now. The deficit really only becomes a serious problem when you are unable to finance it as in Ireland’s case. Ordinarily countries finance their deficits by borrowing the money in the market. Or if they control their own currency and are prepared to accept some inflation, they can simply create new money by buying their own government’s bonds etc (Quantitative easing as the Yanks call it). Even in the depths of the 1980s recession, Ireland was always able to go to the market to fund the budget deficit until Brian Lenihan bailed out the banks in 2008. The markets then realised Ireland would not be able to cover the massive banking losses and pay them back and so the interest rate they demanded rose to an unaffordable level. This pushed us into the tender Troika embrace who now lend us the money and charge interest so that we can pay the banking debt as well as our budget deficit.
In reality it’s the government who are using the budget deficit as a smokescreen to justify the implementation of their Austerity agenda and the behest of the Troika. The erosion of our social supports and escalating taxation are the means by which the citizens are being forced to cover private, illegitimate and odious banking debt. Having had €20 billion stolen from us in 2012 to pay off the bondholders, we will hand over another €17 billion in 2013 to cover the gambling losses of financial speculators. The fixation on the deficit is driven by the neo liberal political agenda to distract attention from the looting of the country for the benefit of the financial elite.
Those figures do not take into account the indirect cost of our zombie banks on the budget deficit over the past 5 years. Credit has been denied to viable businesses resulting in multiple closures throwing thousands of people onto the dole where they draw social welfare instead of contributing income tax in a double blow to the exchequer. The bank collapse and bailout is responsible for a large part of our budget deficit in addition to being the reason that we cannot finance that deficit through the normal channels.
Most people would accept the cutbacks and extra taxation if they knew that the revenue generated and saved was being used to benefit our society. However, the government have absolutely no moral authority for any of these austerity measures when the primary beneficiary is speculative financial capitalism. The social contract between the citizen and the Irish state has been utterly broken in the past 5 years.
Jim
Austerity does not work in countries simply because in order for it to work you need structural reform and no politician wants to address this because it impacts on their gravy train
That is true Evin’ ……..but without any preconditions?
Why didn’t the Government make them keep the money in Ireland…….otherwise Tax the hell out of it?
@Coddler
The problem wasn’t with the investors. The investors invested in Irish banks because they were performing well.
Unfortunately the reason they were performing well was due to reckless practices. To stop reckless practice you need to have regulation in place. That’s what we need to work on, having regulation in place that shows clearly who’s operating recklessly and how that situation can be avoided.
With the focus on
@Padser,
Preconditions would still make the investment somewhat of a loss wouldn’t it? Like I’d be much more inclined to invest in something without conditions than with them.
It’s not the man or woman in the street’s fault. The global party indulged in by developers and the financial sector came to a screeching halt and the parcel was dumped in the laps of the ordinary people by that incompetent and crooked shower Fianna Fail and is being perpetuated ad infinitum by the equally incompetent and even more crooked shower of FineGael/Labour.
Tell them we don’t want the bailout! We’ll pay the Gardai with hugs and kisses. We’ll fund social welfare with good cheer. Then there’ll be to need for austerity!
Economics is simple as long as you ignore that stupid “reality” part.
But you have the “future investors” by the short & curly’s”……..and let’s face it! We were not doing too badly, with investment in Ireland before this crisis………even at a time when we were branded “untrustworthy liar’s”!
The German banks flooded our banks with money they wanted lent out so they could make a profit.money is simply a product which company’s sell by way of loans .the Germans had a lot to sell.
Austerity doesn’t work, diminishing returns and all that. Great. What’s the alternative? Where’s the money going to come from? The solution is no cuts to services we have no money to pay.
So we’re back to my original point of paying for the services with hugs and kisses. So long as the Gardai and various businesses accept hugs and kisses as legitimate currency then there’ll be no need for austerity because we’ve got endless hugs and kisses.
If, alternatively, they demand cash, we’ll need to make cuts because we don’t have enough cash to pay for the services. Or, third option, we could borrow some money so the cuts are less severe, which is the option we’re currently persuing. So, in lieu of a hugs and kisses-based economy, what was your solution to austerity?
This is nothing more than the rambling of an overpaid fool who doesn’t want to admit he was wrong. He’s caused terrible damage throughout the EU and watched as his policies dug the EU deeper and deeper into the crisis.
This is an EU crisis, worsened by the EU itself. To say for example all of Ireland’s or Portugal’s problems are solely of a national nature and the EU is totally blameless is delusional at best.
It was our fault.
It was bad timing that there was a global crisis at the same time but it’s our fault we’re in this mess. Every single Irish person who didn’t see this coming, who borrowed money they weren’t positive they could pay back, who lived beyond their means, who didn’t ask questions and take a keen interest in how efficiently their country was being run.
I could have stopped this as much as anyone else could have stopped this, it’s our country.
Evin who owes the money? Developers owe the big bucks what drove us to the wall. It is to simple to say “oh it was our fault” what the ordinary punter owes compared to those captains of industry or development is chicken feed. That is why the eu / government is not rushing to cover house losses they know it the great scheme of things mortgages and lendings to Irish citizens is no great issue they are busy telling us it is to keep us in out place though.
@Jason Moran
If anything it would be me beating myself up as opposed to all those other people you’re implying. What I’m saying is there were a lot of different things that were happening that were wrong and looking for just one of those things to blame is never gonna solve anything.
If everyone took more interest in what was going on in our economy, and worked towards stopping improper practice, then we’d at least be more likely to spot problens before we’d be forced into recession.
@Kerry
The developers owe a lot of money, and so do a lot of other people in the country, including tons of ordinary people who aren’t paying back loans they owe.
Are developers more to blame just because they invested more money?
Developers invested in the property industry because it was booming. It was booming because it wasn’t being regulated and watched properly.
It’s our job as ordinary citizens to make sure we’re electing people who are at the very least looking at some of the largest industries in the Irish economy to make sure they’re operating correctly.
EVIN LEE your comments i have read and i am sorry to say but they are counter productive for this page and would be better suited as an opener on your cv for a job interview to the troika im sure they are always on the look out for sell outs like yourself
I’m not a sell-out.
I care about other people and the only way we can help people who really need it is by getting this country to overhaul their thinking.
We need to stop thinking about what we’re entitled to from our government (i.e. what austerity is taking away from us) and instead think about how we as individuals can contribute to build a society that works for all it’s citizens.
Money doesn’t grow on trees Paddy, it’s made from trees. Help the tree grow Paddy, help the tree grow.
The stupidity of our leaders and European masters is staggering.
The paper which expused austerity has been found to be flawed,former IMF member stated the measures in Ireland were a mistake.Will they change and admit they were wrong?wouldn’t be inclined to hold my breath.
In my opinion is not stupidity on their part.
Its a move to back to the class system of lords and peasants.
Lords- all the money all the power, peasants – working to live.
Norman – its the electorate who are stupid for electing them . These guys are no fools – they know exactly waht they are doing – and did – from day one .
Do yoy seriulsly think Kenny ,Ahern Cowen , Cameron , Obama etc etc give two f##s about the people – no – they service the people who put them in power – the banks and Financial industry .
that is their job – and they do it well – just look a the rich /poor divide . It grows by the day .
PS
FROM aje
”While this information is not new, it is still startling. In the video we say that the richest 300 people on earth have more wealth than the poorest 3bn – almost half the world’s population. We chose those numbers because it makes for a clear and memorable comparison, but in truth the situation is even worse: the richest 200 people have about $2.7 trillion, which is more than the poorest 3.5bn people, who have only $2.2 trillion combined. It is very difficult to wrap one’s mind around such extreme figures.”
These are shocking figures – full article http://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/opinion/2013/04/201349124135226392.html
Just take England as an example, extra tax on households who don’t use all the bedrooms. The one valuable finite resource people can hold is land, and now they are trying to force the layman out of ownership as best they can.
@ Jim : You are perfectly right of course, so where does this leave us ? Social unrest, wars etc. What do they do with all this money ? If it was reinvested in the economy it would change many things, but the only goal seems to be to accumulate unlimited wealth. Totaly irrational.
That’s not what’s being said at all…
Austerity makes perfect sense, you don’t spend what you don’t have. Operating without austerity is like gambling in a casino.
Ideally we need to increase our income (through increased taxes) until it matches the needs (in expenditure) of the Irish people. The main problem at the moment is that people who need protection from taxes due to low incomes aren’t being protected. Kinda hard to do that in a way that encourages people to contribute more to their economy than they take though…
@Evin Lee .
”like gambling in a casino.”
thats waht the banks did – and we are to pay for it – that is robbery – plain and simple .As for any money printing peter Schif forecast this in 2006 and UK and US are at it hard – it is no soloution . It is devalutaion . The solution was to lrt the banks go .
The banks are in trouble because people can’t pay them back. Is that they’re fault or the people who borrowed?
We’re not giving the banks money because they were greedy, we’re giving them money because banks underpin how an economy works and grows. We’re giving them money so that our economy works and grows.
@evan or you could increase people’s disposable income so they spend more thus generating tax revenue. It’s not as simple as Leaving Cert accounting. Australia wasn’t hit with recession. At the very beginning of the global recession they gave everyone money to go out and spend. No one here is spending. We don’t know what the next scheme for taking money off us the government is going to roll out. All negative, no positive.
True, people aren’t spending, and spending can have the effect of increasing jobs and helping an economy grow, but what would people spend their money on?
Would they spend it on social services like healthcare for those in need, or homeless services, or other social services like education that benefit the economy? Or would they be more likely to spend it on beer, having the craic, and a nice new car?
Whether you increase taxes or give people more spending money kinda depends on what kind if society you want to build.
Yeah a certain percentage of that money you spend goes to tax, instead of the actual full amount going to tax. There’s defo gonna be more waste with people spending on whatever they want. A lot of that spending can easily go out of the country as I doubt most of what any of us buy is made in Ireland, by an Irish company, which has shareholders only in Ireland.
Direct tax seems like a much more efficient method of getting steady income for the country to me. So long as the government makes sure that it is investing that income wisely in our econony. That’s something that Fine Gael seem to be doing very well as they’ve launched loads of programmes to help innovative Irish companies (particularly in the technology sector) get off the ground.
It’s ex-finance ministers and the financial regulators that need to be dragged out into the cold public light of day and made explain without stuttering, waffling or twisted political word games why exactly they allowed the banks to carry on as they did and every time a sane person over the last 10 years questioned any of the madness of the bubble and boom were told it’s all above board and controlled and regulated and to crawl back under your rock.
This was all allowed to happen (by design or utter incompetence) yet when it all comes crashing down those responsible are no were to be heard from and we are daily told by the stooges here and else where we are all to blame. No, we are in the exact same position as we were for the last 20 years, no real viable options to vote for change or to correct what these shisters have been doing because they are in every way as bad as each other. We are screwed either way and to stand as independent or create a new party will be utterly pointless for many years to come until the current lot of mindless voters die off and those who were not raised into political houses can vote in a way which actually may give this country a chance of remission from the cancer that is the Irish political mindset and thinking but that day is sadly a long way off. #endrant
I don’t blame any other country for this mess apart from Ireland. The FF govt could have stood up and said we will not socialise private debt, we will reduce spending our own way, and we will manage our own accounts, but they capitulated easily, took on everything the EU told them to take. And now we listen to what put of touch idiots like this unelected spanner, because we are hoping he will give us the scraps from their table in pathetic interest rate adjustments and extensions. But don’t blame him, or Europe – it is our own doing that got us into this and the govt have a mandate to NOT DO ANYTHING they are told, they just need the balls to do it.
Alien
I think you might find that the last Government did everything but listen to the EU and when it came to the Bank Guarantee don’t forget that even Sinn Fein voted for it !
Qeuntin please don’t rewrite history,i’m not a SF supportor but the Dail record shows they withdraw their support for the final blanket garauntee that FF brought in.Also even you hero’s in FG admitted the FF governments hand was forced by ECB.
I LIKED YOUR COMMENT BY MISTAKE .. It is his fault and the rest of them greedy pigs over there, just looking at this dictator laughing his head of in the EU when he gets abused by UKIP over being unelected and ruining europe not respecting the irish vote and so on, the videos are all on youtube check them out he is a dirty pig
Quentin who pays you to spout and mis inform people constantly on this site?
how many treaties have been signed in the last decade by our government brought forward by the Eu
and you say they didn’t listen so either you are very stupid or you are being paid to mis-inform and talk crap.
So what happens when austerity does reach its limit? We’ve had 5 years of this misery and there has been very little growth if any. Europe continues to slide in and out of recession so therefore austerity offers no stability or consistency. Those who are chiefly responsible for formulating and implementing austerity policies are not answerable to anyone therefore don’t have personal consequences to their actions. It’s going to be interesting to see over the next few months if Europe has finally cottoned to the fact that this insane policy of austerity just simply does not work or at least implementing such a policy in a short period of time.
If you think the EU is bad now, just wait until the EU becomes a United States of Europe. Ireland will be an even more insignificant place with no real say and influence. The really cowardly and disgusting thing about all this is our wonderful leaders will go along with it all. They’ll be some of the biggest cheerleaders for this brave new world… Over the years to come, just watch who the biggest cheerleaders for a United States of Europe will be. Big business, shady politicians, eurofanatics, Barroso type people and so on. The kinds of people who couldn’t give a flying feck about Europeans in general.
The comments sections and internet forums suggest that Ireland has an abundance of economic experts who could solve the country’s problems at a moments notice. Most however seem to ignore that fact that the country currently spends in excess of its income by over €1bn per month. While acknowledging that most countries in the western world operate deficits in their budgets, one would have to say that given the size of the country and the importance of its economy on a worldwide scale Ireland needs to trim its deficit to stay efficient.
The public sector trade unions have very cleverly engineered the debate on deficit/austerity to be only about wage cuts with little or no talk about the value that we get for our taxes. The hard truth is that the country contains a bloated public sector (including our politicians) that works at a pace designed to maintain its work force numbers rather than be efficient. Its workload is imbalanced, some sections of the public sector work force appear to be under massive pressure while others coast along merrily at a pace that suits them. Any contact that I have had with government departments invariably involves masses of paperwork, lack of communication between departments and probably at least one discussion with a clearly disinterested worker who only wants to pass on my query.
The squandering of limited resources is evident everywhere. Teachers pay is one area that has received huge attention in the past couple of years but within the next six or seven weeks we will enter state examination time. Exams for students of our publicly funded schools will be set, supervised and marked by employees of department of education who will receive additional payment from the department for doing so. Its red rag to bull to say this as far as teachers are concerned but how is this value for tax payers money ? and I hasten to add that this is but one example of waste. I mention it as it seems to me one area where we could maintain wages and increase productivity.
Austerity may not be the way forward but I fail to see why it has not made the public ask more questions of those who provide our public services as to what they are doing. The people need to stand up to those who hold the country’s reins of power; the unions, the politicians, the business people, the mangers of our public sector. We need more from the leaders of our society, constructive debate rather than the silly rabble rousing that engages many of our independent and opposition politicians at local and national level. Personally I find it galling that politicians, trades union leaders and academics who all earn in excess of €100k p.a. can appear on our media to lecture us on the merits or demerits of austerity or stimulus while they justify bloated salaries that they earn from the efforts of the labour force whom they lecture.
Some of what Barossa has said may be justified or unjustified but we need to examine it and see how it applies to our country before we dismiss it out of hand. This may not yet be the moment for stimulus in Ireland but were it to occur in other parts its effects will reach our markets and have a positive effect. To my mind there is no doubt that the Irish economy needs a bit more corrective surgery to make up for the sins of the past 15 years or so, but only if we make the correct changes now we will secure a better future for coming generations.
There is no way Snr Barroso said the word disequilibria! No way! He cannot say ‘I am a former Portuguese Socialist’, without retching and stuttering!…disequilibria..hah!
Forget the United States of Europe, French ex-minister says
EXCLUSIVE / The European Union will never receive enough public support for federalism and so should abandon the idea of a United States-inspired superstate, says the influential French Socialist former minister Hubert Védrine.
They’ll never have public support which is why there will never be a continent wide referendum on full integration, this regime would rather implement their dream of a superstate by stealth, wheel out the occasional treaty which will be dressed up as some economic salvation and rely solely on the representative governments to ratify it and in the case of having to get round the oh so troublesome constitutions in countries like Ireland these treaties will be presented with underlying threats, scares and false promises which we will of course fall for.
Brazilians burn effigies of Donald Trump over punishing new tariff
14 mins ago
Election Expenses
The money candidates for President can claim back in expenses is going up by €50,000
39 mins ago
High Court
High Court steps in as farmer gives €350k to charity to get into heaven
9 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 214 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 149 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 195 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 158 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 119 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 120 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 51 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 48 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 177 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 78 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 111 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 116 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 51 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 65 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 36 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 122 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 94 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 67 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 116 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 103 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say