You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
RollingNews.ie
column
Lise Hand Most voters in the real world don’t give a monkey's if Leo Varadkar smoked hash
The bleak first week of the election campaign meant any moment of lighter drama was welcomed by all, writes Lise Hand.
7.01am, 26 Jan 2020
THE FIRST WEEK of the general election campaign was grim.
If there had been any planned razzmatazz by any of the parties it had been swept away in the avalanche of dark news – a homeless man suffering severe injuries after he was accidentally scooped up in his tent during a city council clean-up of Dublin’s canal, and 17-year old Keane Mulready-Woods murdered and his body dismembered by out-of-control criminals in Drogheda.
Maybe because of this sombre cloud, any moment of lighter drama was going to be given a céad míle fáilte by everyone.
The unexpected arrival centre-stage of the pensions gap as a campaign issue certainly offered not a whit of light relief – people could see no fun side to being obliged to sign on from the retirement age of 65 to either 66 or 67 when they become eligible for the State pension.
The politicians – not all of them, to be fair, noted with alarm that anger was rising with remarkable speed over the pension gap.
Sinn Féin had read the public mood correctly in advance and arrived into the campaign with a policy that had prepared earlier.
However, Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil were left scrambling at the start of the week to devise cunning plans before an irate Grey Army were minded to re-arm and take to the streets once again.
Never mind farmers or teachers or students or bus-drivers. They can wave placards and roar and shout until they’re hoarse outside the gates of Leinster House. But our elected representatives harbour a visceral fear of incurring the wrath of Ireland’s elders.
For never in the history of political u-turns was one executed with such rapidity as that performed by the Fianna Fáil-led government in 2008 when thousands of rowdy pensioners availed of the free travel to stage a full-throated demonstration against a proposed budget measure to means-test some medical cards.
Inevitably, the proposal died a faster death than a Star Trek crew member in a red shirt.
So it was a dour week. Anyone pining for a bit of diversion was pinning their hopes on the first televised leaders’ debate on Wednesday night.
Maxwell photography
Leo Varadkar versus Micheál Martin. It wasn’t quite Conor McGregor taking on Donald Cerrone in Vegas, but for political nerds this was a top-billed rumble in the jungle with the Taoiseach’s office as the winner’s purse.
But for much of the Virgin Media debate, it was more a Barney in Ballymount; the two leaders spent much of the bout dancing around each other, landing glancing blows but no knockout punch.
And then it happened. Host Pat Kenny sent a haymaker flying into the two men by brusquely asking them if they had ever taken illegal drugs.
Micheál Martin, so famously clean-living that he’s notorious for critiquing the fry-laden plates of colleagues and journalists in the Leinster House canteen while clutching his usual morning repast of fruit and granola, swiftly denied that his lips had ever been in the vicinity of a spliff.
Leo Varadkar, clearly thrown by the question, stammered out that he had addressed the issue truthfully years before in a Hot Press interview and then launched into the longest pause since a Harold Pinter play last graced a Dublin stage.
He was prompted by a clearly chuffed Martin to elaborate until Kenny took him off the hook. “The answer is that you did,” he reminded Leo who responded, “Yes, but it was a long time ago.”
The protracted pause sparked a collective sucking in of air through the teeth of anyone watching the debate. Oh dear. A bad look. Doubtless, his team and his supporters groaned while his opponents and detractors gloated. What a boo-boo.
Perhaps during the excruciating silence, the thought may have popped into Leo’s head that this could end up as the most viral image of the campaign.
Read Next
Related Reads
Lise Hand: Will they? Won't they? Shades of Love Island as big parties can't avoid recoupling talk
His fears were surely borne out the following day when the exchange made the front page of more than one paper, he also faced more questions about his past drug-taking in a press doorstep with the media and then was further closely grilled by Ivan Yates on Newstalk about what substances he had taken, and when.
Varadkar was unwavering in his response that he had smoked dope in college, but that was the extent of his drug-taking. The broadcaster pushed him further – had he tried cocaine, ecstasy, ketamine or LSD?
It makes for uncomfortable listening, veering close to the classic ambush question: “When did you stop beating your wife?” The Taoiseach tried to keep his answers to yes or no – a wise move, as if he had replied in the vein of “No I have never taken cocaine,” as sure as a bag of chips following closing-time, the headlines the next day would have trumpeted ‘VARADKAR DENIES SNORTING COKE’.
And what a waste of another day’s campaign coverage that would’ve been. The only sliver of silver lining to be gleaned from the utterly grim events in Drogheda that had dominated the coverage during the opening days of the campaign, was that they had turned the spotlight on the serious drug-related problems besetting communities all across the country.
Serious discussions had been aired between politicians, activists, community workers and other groups about the complex causes of drug abuse and the bleak futures faced by people living in drug-ravaged areas, and how best the scourge can be tackled.
These were good discussions, focussed on the people. Various proposals were debated. But now the circus had arrived in town. Candidates suddenly found themselves being quizzed about whether they had ever taken drugs, instead of being interrogated about their party’s drug policies.
Back in the real world, most voters don’t give a monkey’s if Leo Varadkar smoked hash at college. He was out on a canvass in Santry Friday and he was asked about hospital waiting lists, housing and public transport. The stuff that matters.
Lise Hand will be a regular contributor to TheJournal.ie for General Election 2020. Check out all her work here.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
General Election 2020 Newsletter
The results are in, now keep up to date with all the latest on government formation efforts with our regular newsletter
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Excellent, and would have to say you speak for me with that piece, my mantra is quite simple and I feel it could work but with solidarity…… Do one simple good deed for another, sounds crazy but I feel it could work… Today I am selling a pair of cycling shoes (sidi) they were 120 euro , I put them on done deal and there to be sold today for 45, he will get them for 40 , I will give back a tenner and tell him to pass on the fiver…. He may or may not do it but hey, worth a shot.
It’s been proven that Psychopaths also lack empathy but is the Irish characteristic more along the lines of schadenfreude where pleasure is derived from the misfortunes of others? If we lacked in empathy why are we as a nation the 3rd most generous in donating to charities? I don’t disagree with the article but we definitely don’t lack empathy.
Agree wholeheartedly with your comment Ken and wonderful article Lisa. It’s when you’ve tried to better yourself, mastered a skill, or say gained some success that you will see how real the begrudgery is. I’m not a major fan of Ryan Tubridy (the abuse he’s currently getting is undeserved though) but when he used to joke about the begrudgery here I would shake my head and say he was being overly negative. I’ve learned since that he was actually right, and I find myself more and more disliking modern Ireland. What gets me over that is keeping an image of the old Ireland, the values and those that were good people in my mind and that is the Ireland I picture in my mind’s eye.
Sinead, begrudgery would have been even more prevalent in old Ireland. its only now that people are starting to realise that they too can achieve things if they have enough self-worth.
Yeah Ken, but I have a feeling most charitable giving is to foreign causes. I dont think we tend to donate much to help each other out here. Maybe our empathy is only for those we don’t personally identify with?
There’s actually two ways one can lack empathy, as the word is vaguer than it might be and really stands to two distinct states of mind.
One can lack the ability to read others (impaired theory of mind) or to conceptualise/process emotions without stress (alexithymia), but still be capable of feeling for another person and emotionally reciprocating. People on the autistic spectrum tend to be affected as such. You could think of this as recognising the person, but not the face.
Psychopaths, sociopaths, and those with various other personality disorders may be able to recognise and read people but do not, for reasons related to their personality disorder, cannot or do not emotionally reciprocate. Continuing the previous analogy, the face is recognised, but not the person.
It’s an important distinction to make, though few, unfortunately, make it.
No Ken, with all respect you have that one wrong .. the German “Schadenfreude” is taking pleasure in anothers misfortune, whereas, “Begrudgery” on the other hand is feeling pain because one thinks the other person is doing well … huuuuuge difference !
This was an interesting and elegantly written article, and I agree with some of what you have to say. Whenever I hear the phrase ‘I’ve no sympathy for …’ I get a sinking feeling I’m about to endure a mean-spirited tirade from someone lacking in empathy.
Now it’s my turn to launch into a tirade, on the possibly controversial point that my empathy at times, has to go with the begrudgers. Why not begrudge the developers who are now being paid handsomely by NAMA to manage the properties we’re paying for? Why not begrudge the bankers who walked away from the mess they created with massive pay-offs? Why not begrudge the tax exiles who continually appear in the newspapers to boast about their charitable work? Why not begrudge those who can afford to carry on as normal after damning findings by tribunals of inquiry into their past conduct? Are we sufficiently begrudging of the right targets, and can we turn the begrudgery into a platform for a more equitable society?
Begrudgery is the bedfellow of inequality. Blanket opposition to it keeps the status quo intact. It may not be an edifying emotion, but it’s a very human one. Margaret Thatcher frequently attempted to silence opponents by accusing them of ‘the politics of envy.’ Under her regime the gap between rich and poor widened. She didn’t think the existence of a gap was a problem. (See here storming last performance here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KHA7YXsu110) I don’t think Bertie saw the gap as being a problem either, in spite of his laughable claims to be a socialist.
Thatcher was wrong. Humans (not just Irish people) are status conscious by nature; the greater the gap between rich and poor in a society, the greater the stresses they undergo. A groundbreaking book called ‘The Spirit Level’ shows that more equal societies have less crime, lower rates of depression, fewer teenage pregnancies, fewer suicides, less obesity … the list goes on. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y36BJoelaMc. Inequality may harm the poor disproportionately, but it harms the whole of society.
We frequently misdirect our ire about the general unfairness within society at the people they meet day to day – those one rung up the ladder and one rung down the ladder. I say we should look several rungs up and ask – however good and talented these people are (and some are indeed very talented) – do they really need to be earning ten times what ordinary people earn? Where, for example, was the solidarity of the judiciary when pay cuts were sought? It’s true we won’t all get rich by pulling the elite down a few notches, but we’ll certainly live in a more equal society, which for the reasons I outlined above, is a good thing.
If we want social solidarity, we have to stop continually voting for centre-right parties. Begrudgery is as much an outcome of our political choices as it is an innate part of Irishness. To reduce the levels of this unedifying but often justifiable emotion, we need to bridge the gap between rich and poor and ensure that society is run more fairly. That’s hard enough to do when the invisible markets and the IMF are dictating our precarious destiny, it’s harder still when little political will exists for real change.
I think it’s worse in Dublin and commuter areas – obviously these were places worst hit by recession -but I think there also has been leess empathy and less community spirit to help people whove been effected.
people who were smug and elitist about being Irish for no great reason have always pissed me off, long before any recession. i left ireland when in boom times for the very reason that people had lost their minds (even further?) ive come back now its bust because i feel something closer to a reality here, good or bad a reality all the same.
These times I believe are a necessary evil and the keeping up with the Jones attitude always drove me crazy. Been proud of Ireland and been Irish is a wonderful thing. I remember Italia 90, Eurovision, River dance all in the 90s and movies such as Into the West, The Van, The commitments and I was never so proud of been Irish…. I was 9 years old during Italia 90 and for me these are the days I remember the most. Sitting on the street wall with all the neighbour chatting, us all out playing curbs and having fun…. If we can come together and share moments like this again I do think we can share each other’s difficulties.
“People made mistakes. People bought houses they now cannot afford because they didn’t see the property crash coming, or thought that their job was secure. People made mistakes and some of them are paying for it horribly. What cost a bit of empathy? What internal harm does it do the begrudger to say: yes, that sucks, I hope you can pick yourself up and carry on?”
It should be noted that there was also a stunning lack of empathy during the boom, when people began to look down their nose at those who had not jumped the the property train: the “house do you do” brigade.
“And I wonder why, if we love Ireland so much, if we’re so proud of being Irish, can’t we support our struggling countrymen? Where the hell is the solidarity? Why are we, the proud patriots, the rebels, the poets, so keen to turn on each other?”
I think the boom years have lots of interesting case studies of this kind of behavior too.
Indeed, our lack of empathy combined with our insecurities lie behind a lot of the corruption and religious scandals over the years.
Donnacha nails it I think: “We frequently misdirect our ire about the general unfairness within society at the people they meet day to day – those one rung up the ladder and one rung down the ladder……Begrudgery is as much an outcome of our political choices as it is an innate part of Irishness. To reduce the levels of this unedifying but often justifiable emotion, we need to bridge the gap between rich and poor and ensure that society is run more fairly”
All of us, and I mean all, have to be more honest with ourselves about our choices and behavior during the boom years and now in recent years. It does not serve us to look down at those in trouble now, but those who looked down on the less fortunate during the boom years need to re-examine themselves too.
Have to hugely endorse the comments here and note that it ties into the whole principle of consumerism.
Companies chasing unsustainable profits have to “force ” sales by artificially limiting the durability or usefulness of their products.
Think about Microsoft for example – nothing I do in work requires me to use anything more than Office ’97 or an operating system more sophisticated that Windows 2000 SP4.
Yet I may soon be “forced” to “upgrade” to use “value-added” new file types for documents that are barely more than text files because others have “bought into” these “improvements” and I may want to exchange raw files.
I’m not particularly singling out Microsoft – it used to be the same with cars.
Now, because consumers demanded it, we have cars that routinely last 10 to twenty years if we want them to.
We’re not obliged to change our cars because they are rusting apart and we should demand the same for everything else we use.
Globalization sends production to far countries in the name of driving down costs and it loses indigenous jobs here.
Pretty spot on, although it’s not uncommon in other countries, having lived in a few of them. We do think we are the funniest people on the planet and had gotten very very smug during the bubble, the whole mine is bigger than yours vibe. I was away for most of it and each time I came back for a holiday it seemed to get more and more so. I hope a few lessons have been learned.
The surge in chasing material wealth and keeping up with the Jones was strange and unsettling to witness here, but it’s not just happening in Ireland. Its only more noticeable in Ireland because some of us were so used to the seat hanging out of our pants and being humble all the time. Wealth however achieved, made us lose our heads, but now in difficult times Ireland has to find its heart again and look after its citizens.
I spent an hour on the phone with a client of mine.
Neither of us has made money in the last year, but we’re persevering.
And we’re able to pay most of our bill’s which does our bit to help keep the economy going around.
But the most important thing is to realize that with perseverance we can all get through this.
Its not been easy, and its not going to get easy any time soon, but it will get better.
We just have to keep going and sharing travails as you suggest is a good idea.
Vapes posing as ‘nicotine free’ found to contain nicotine
Conor O'Carroll
5 hrs ago
Gaza
Canada becomes the latest country to pledge to recognise State of Palestine
5 hrs ago
As it happened
Hawaii and Japan downgrade tsunami warnings as huge earthquake sparks Pacific evacuations
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 214 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 149 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 195 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 158 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 119 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 120 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 51 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 48 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 177 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 78 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 111 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 116 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 51 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 65 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 36 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 122 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 94 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 67 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 116 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 103 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say