You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Voices

Opinion: Dog fertility clinics and artificial insemination are the wild west of animal welfare
    Lynn Boylan
    Denis Naughten: The only winners in the Holohan job debacle will be large consultancy firms
    Denis Naughten
    Opinion: Advice for parents on how to push back on their kids' use of technology
    Helen Browne M.I.A.C.P.
    Billy Kelleher: I've seen mass graves in Bucha - I never thought such depravity would return to Europe
    Billy Kelleher
    Dr Lorcan Sirr: Ukrainian refugees can be housed quickly and easily if government acts now
    Lorcan Sirr
    Tom Clonan: Russia has pivoted to regenerate a major offensive on the Donetsk and Luhansk Oblasts
    Tom Clonan
    Tric Kearney: 'It was time to say I have more than survived George Gibney'
    Tric Kearney
    Money Diaries: A data centre IT technician on €55K living in Dublin
    TheJournal.ie reader
    Opinion: I am one of 'generation rent' - it sounds like a joke but we've stopped laughing
    Conor Brummell
    Opinion: To achieve equal education, we must remove religious instruction from school hours
    Paddy Monahan
    Opinion: We don’t grant girls autonomy, but when we do, it’s because something is their fault
    Catherine Prasifka
    Opinion: I'm a psychiatrist, and here's what Ireland's mental health services need
    Brendan Kelly
    Defence lawyer: Rates of payment are miserable compared to the time, work and skill required
    Darren Lalor
    Opinion: How can Ireland really help Ukraine? Stop bankrolling Russia's oligarchs
    Brian O'Boyle
    Col Colm Doyle: Bucha shows that Putin's aim is the collective punishment of Ukraine's people
    Colonel Colm Doyle (retd)
    Money Diaries: A 23-year-old legal secretary on €36K living and working in Dublin
    TheJournal.ie reader
    Opinion: 'At 27, with no children, cystic fibrosis and now cervical cancer - my world crumbled'
    Aoife Rafter
    Larry Donnelly: Republicans are reviving the culture wars ahead of the US midterm elections
    Larry Donnelly
    Charlie Bird: 'I am so thankful to the people who raised money and will climb with me today'
    Charlie Bird
    Analysis: Under international law, is Putin criminally liable for his invasion of Ukraine?
    Dr Donna Lyons
    Aoife Martin: 'Those who wouldn't cross the road for women's sport are now upset by trans women in sport'
    Aoife Martin
    Tom Clonan: A turning point has been reached in the invasion of Ukraine
    Tom Clonan
    Money Diaries: A sales executive on €47K living with her husband in Dublin
    TheJournal.ie reader
    Analysis: Three scenarios for how this war could end in Ukraine
    Dr Brendan Flynn
    The Bee Guy: The girls are back in town - tips for helping the bumblebee queens
    Paul Handrick - The Bee Guy
    Malcolm Byrne: We need a TV leaders' debate on Ireland's foreign policy
    Malcolm Byrne
    Tom Clonan: Russia has converted Mariupol into a pressure cooker of human suffering
    Tom Clonan
    Money Diaries: A 24-year-old software developer on €50K living in Louth
    TheJournal.ie reader
    Opinion: Invisible illness will unhinge your identity and splinter your world
    Trudi Gorman
    Bobby McDonagh: There's no need for self-righteousness or self-flagellation over our neutrality
    Bobby McDonagh
    Time to get baking - sweet treat recipes from Eloise Head
    Eloise Head
    Opinion: Worried about climate change? Here are some tips for helping nature in your area
    Lauren Tuite
    Opinion: How to talk to your children about the war in Ukraine
    Sharon Byrne
    Larry Donnelly: 'Don't wear tweed caps' - advice for Americans in Ireland on St Patrick’s Day
    Larry Donnelly
    Opinion: St Patrick's story should make us consider how Ireland treats refugees
    Elizabeth Boyle
    Opinion: The youth climate movement has learned and grown - now is the time to be heard
    Jessica Dunne
    Money Diaries: A 25-year-old trainee accountant on €30K living in Dublin
    TheJournal.ie reader
    Barry Andrews: The EU's response to Ukraine must not repeat the mistakes it made around Syria
    Barry Andrews
    Dr Niamh Shaw: Why space travel is much more than a billionaire’s pastime
    Niamh Shaw
    Extract: Irishisms - Craic, grand, yokes; what our words say about us
    Denise Deegan
Load More Stories