You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Larry Donnelly Who were the 2024 political winners and losers here and in the US?

Our columnist looks back on an unprecedented year in politics here and across the Atlantic.

THE SO-CALLED YEAR of elections, in which nearly half of the world’s citizenry voted, is approaching its denouement. To put it mildly, the contests during these 12 months were topsy-turvy, perhaps especially in the United States. By contrast, although there were scattered surprises on the three occasions (or four, if you include Limerick’s mayoral race) when ballots were cast in Ireland, things remained comparatively calm.

I have reflected on the significant political events of 2024 in the land where I was born and on the island where I live. In the spirit of the season, I have devised awards for a handful of the protagonists – the good and the bad, the naughty and the nice – in the happenings that attracted the attention of those of us enthralled by the toughest business there is. So here goes.

Starting here, the Lazarus Award goes to Marian Harkin TD. Having garnered a mere 7.6% of first preferences and lying a distance back in the field, sceptical journalists had pretty much dismissed the veteran independent’s odds of hanging on. But the ex-MEP has always been very transfer-friendly. Indeed, they went to her from all directions until she prevailed on the 13th count. Despite their assertions of confidence, Team Harkin had to be breathing deep sighs of relief when she got over the line.

ireland-in-europe Marian Harkin, right, with Stephen Donnelly, left. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

The recipient of the Newcomer Award is Albert Dolan TD. Just 26, he isn’t a rookie in that he has served on Galway County Council since 2019. Yet a radio segment unearthed a sobering fact for most of us: Dolan was in 6th class when his Fianna Fáil party was annihilated in 2011. Described by Ivan Yates as an “Obama-type figure,” he has a bright future ahead of him. And the worthy winner of the Fire in the Belly Award is Pat “the Cope” Gallagher TD. Having been in the Dáil and the European Parliament since 1981, Gallagher was thwarted in his 2020 re-election bid. Undaunted, at age 76, he sought and won a mandate from the people of his beloved Donegal. In fairness, judged by American norms, he’s only a child.

US movers and shakers

Crossing the pond, the Don’t let the Door Hit You in the Ass on the Way Out Award was made for ex-Congressman Matt Gaetz. Under investigation and a cloud of suspicion for alleged involvement in a range of nefarious activities, the ultra-conservative Floridian was Donald Trump’s bizarre first choice to be US Attorney General. This swiftly proved a bridge too far and Gaetz is leaving Capitol Hill to be a talk show host. His erstwhile colleagues are surely delighted to be rid of a disgraceful individual.

Those in the hierarchy of the Democratic Party deserve the Missed Opportunity Award. When Joe Biden at last abandoned his misguided quest for a second term in the Oval Office, they had the chance to upend an ominous situation and to organise an unprecedented competition to replace an unpopular incumbent that would have been decided on the convention floor in Chicago and dominated the news globally. This might have been a gamble, but it was an acceptable risk in the circumstances, and the truncated fight probably would have produced a superior nominee to Kamala Harris.

vice-president-kamala-harris-delivers-her-remarks-as-first-lady-jill-biden-back-center-and-president-joe-biden-back-right-look-on-at-the-democratic-national-committees-holiday-reception-at-willar Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

The Do as I Say, not as I Do Award was well and truly earned by Congresswoman Lauren Boebert. The hard-right firebrand has never shied from defending traditional values and opined that she was “tired of this separation of church and state junk.” In 2024, she switched to another district in Colorado favourable to the GOP and comfortably beat her opponent. 

u-s-congresswoman-lauren-boebert-r-colo-speaks-to-reporters-during-a-primary-election-watch-party-tuesday-june-25-2024-in-windsor-colo-ap-photodavid-zalubowski Congresswoman Lauren Boebert. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

In 2023, however, the champion of Christian morality was evicted from a musical in a Denver theatre together with her male companion when – as the Guardian delicately put it – witnesses saw him “fondling her breasts” and Boebert “petting her guest’s crotch.” Unrepentant, she flashed the middle finger to security guards as the affectionate couple were escorted to the door.

A tricky time for some

In the spirit of the close, albeit soon to be tested, relationship between Ireland and the US, the final two honours will be bestowed on creditable winners from each nation. The It’s Better Than It Looks Award is to be shared by the 215 incoming Democratic members of the House of Representatives in the 119th Congress and the 39 Sinn Féin TDs who were elected.

There was a brilliant result for Donald Trump and the Republicans on 5 November. That said, swimming against the tide, Democratic candidates for the lower house did fine. Trump has a tenuous five seat majority to work with. Some careful caressing of egos – the threats of primary challengers to “RINOs” which he reflexively resorts to are not guaranteed to do the trick – will be required to ensure everyone stays on board with his disruptive agenda, provided the 215 are united.

Since 29 November, commentators have argued that Sinn Féin, which benefitted tremendously from a rather freakish swing in the 2020 General Election and was topping the polls in 2022 and 2023, was the big loser. Drilling into the numbers reveals that there is no cause for celebration. But an unduly negative characterisation is wide of the mark and neglects certain realities.

Immigration emerged as a hot-button issue and this has adversely impacted Sinn Féin due to the socio-economic status and ideological leanings of its base; the leadership committed a few strategic errors stemming from the rapid growth they enjoyed; the formidable Mary Lou McDonald was off the pitch for health and family reasons for a time; troubling scandals surfaced that raised profound doubts as to the genuine nature of the former political wing of the IRA; and Sinn Féin dropped to an absolutely abysmal 11% in June’s locals/Euros. In this milieu and in a campaign that some pundits had initially ventured was an exercise in damage limitation, getting 39 TDs into the Dáil, one more than Fine Gael, is not a “bad” outcome. Taking the long view, while Sinn Féin’s trajectory may be stalled, it is still upward.

Overall winners

The Award for Politician of 2024 goes to two men: Donald Trump, set to be America’s 47th president, and Micheál Martin TD, preparing to be Ireland’s next Taoiseach.

The latter has been the quintessential steady hand for Fianna Fáil since the aforementioned nadir of 2011 and, with periodic hiccups and with intermittent vocal criticism from within the ranks, he has proven himself to be up to the difficult task. Months ago, the buzz revolved around Simon Harris’s “new energy” as he travelled the country relentlessly. Ultimately, Martin’s experience and cautious manner outshone Harris’s youth and vigour. The proof is in the pudding. Fianna Fáil has 48 seats, 10 more than Fine Gael, and Martin has a valid claim to a lengthier stint as Taoiseach.

President-elect Donald Trump is the comeback kid. On the 7th of January in 2021, it was a safer bet that he would be behind bars in January 2025 than that he would be readying to return to 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue. No matter one’s feelings with respect to Trump and without belabouring the point, the fundamental truth is that he has achieved what almost no one thought was possible and that he has done so in dramatic, convincing fashion. What his comprehensive triumph says about the US and what it could mean for the rest of the planet will continue to be subjects of incessant conjecture and sources of prevalent pessimism. For the moment, what Time magazine proffers in defence of its controversial selection of him as the person of 2024 bears repeating: “Trump is once again at the centre of the world, and in as strong a position as he has ever been.”

I hope all readers have a wonderful, blessed and enjoyable Christmas.

Larry Donnelly is a Boston lawyer, a Law Lecturer at the University of Galway and a political columnist with TheJournal.ie.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

72 Comments
    Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Dec 21st 2024, 9:48 PM

Interesting analysis.
    I can acknowledge Michael Martin’s success in the election, but his glow in victory may soon dim if, as seems likely, he turns into a Kier Starmer replica, and just as unpopular.
    Perhaps he will prove me wrong and bring forward policies that will have the support of the citizens, but I won’t be holding my breath.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Dec 21st 2024, 10:51 PM

@Garry Coll: The deaths surrounding Hamas facilities are horrible and avoidable if enough pressure can be applied to Hamas commanders to surrender. War is an experience outside the sphere of safe Irish politicians and public. Hamas is an experienced terror army that uses terror warfare strategies incomprehensible to Irish. While most male Hamas fighters are active elsewhere they pack their military offices with expendable sacrificial(martyr) women and female children as human shields. This tactic to protect the Hamas commanders is clearly working on the gullible safe western political mouths.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Dec 21st 2024, 11:40 PM

@thomas molloy:
    It would appear that the IDF and Hamas have both potentially breached multiple articles of the Geneva convention, with Hamas triggering the chain of events and the IDF responding.
    However, the Irish government, instead of attempting to be an honest broker, has gone in totally against Israel and at the same time, gone out of its way to establish relations with the Hamas terrorist regime in Gaza.

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    Dec 22nd 2024, 12:16 AM

@Thomas Sheridan: establishing relations with the hamas regieme but won’t talk with Sinn Fein here even though they represent 40% of the electorate in this country, and no party in Ireland is without its baggage. Spokes men for ff say they respect the electorate choices but only it seems the ones they want. The biggest Losers in this electoral year are the Irish public and time will show that, sadly we deserve everything that’s coming remember what happened (or didn’t according to some) the last time ff were the main party in power. Strap in and wait for the rectal exam that’s coming

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 22nd 2024, 12:43 AM

@Garry Coll: Topline bottom line Michael Martin has proved he’s a decent man and the electorate decided to trust him and his light has never been brighter. The challenge now is to Deliver.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Dec 22nd 2024, 1:18 AM

@Tim Brennan: The challenge to deliver will never happen. Stop with your deluded nonsense tim.

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Dec 22nd 2024, 3:09 AM

@thomas molloy: Do yourself a little favour and try and get hold of a documentary called “The BiBi Files” and also another one titled “No Other Land” perhaps then you may be a little more educated on some of the history of the region and what has led to the current situation there.

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Dec 22nd 2024, 11:42 AM

@thomas molloy:
    I can hold Michael Martin responsible for many things, he was, after all, a senior minister in two separate Fianna Fail led administrations that bankrupted the country, but linking him to the depravity of Hamas and other Middle East terrorists is a bit of a stretch.

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Dec 21st 2024, 10:00 PM

Larry gets a lot of airtime

Mute Jackie Moore
    Favourite Jackie Moore
    Dec 21st 2024, 10:35 PM

Comments are close on a quiz about chocolate????

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Dec 21st 2024, 11:20 PM

@Jackie Moore: Yes, I copped that too! The Journal are a bit confused of late.

Mute Shane Kinsella (Kinsey)
    Favourite Shane Kinsella (Kinsey)
    Dec 21st 2024, 9:32 PM

Simple.
    The winner was Trump .
    The losers were the democratic party. Not just because Biden lost, but because of all the lies and gaslighting. And now it l came home to roost.
    They’ll be losers in 4 years as well. Nobody else to blame but themselves.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Dec 21st 2024, 10:50 PM

@Shane Kinsella (Kinsey): If you keep spouting this at every opportunity…..it still won’t be remotely credible. Your guy in his interview with Kristen Welker last week started to claim that no one used the word ‘groceries’ until he did. Well, he started down that line and then either realised how ludicrous he sounded, or maybe just wasn’t able to maintain that train of thought. Yes, I’ve never heard shopping for food described as grocery shopping before.

Mute Maximilian Kolbe
    Favourite Maximilian Kolbe
    Dec 22nd 2024, 12:32 AM

@Numinous20111: Yes because Joe Biden hasn’t said some dumb things before. “America is a nation that can be described by a single word, asafutasfasfah… in the Himalayas with Xi Xing Ping.” Like what does that even mean? Kamala Harris: “So Ukraine is a country in Europe, it exists next to another country in Europe called Russia. Russia is a big country, Russia is a powerful country. Russia decided to invade a smaller country called Ukraine. So basically this is wrong.” I mean when you have to dumb it down for your voters that much, it explains it all.

Mute Sam McAlester
    Favourite Sam McAlester
    Dec 22nd 2024, 1:57 PM

@Shane Kinsella (Kinsey): Trump was the winner but we’ll have to wait and see if the choice was right

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Dec 21st 2024, 9:36 PM

President Elon and VP Trump. There are videos of Hitler when he took Paris which look horrifyingly like Elon bouncing around on stage with Trump. I think Elon might be the most dangerous man in history. Absolutely a genius but such an insecure p#$$y.

Mute alan metcalf
    Favourite alan metcalf
    Dec 21st 2024, 10:29 PM

@Louis Jacob: at least he’ll put and end to sickos preaching to kinda garden kids

Mute Paul Mooney
    Favourite Paul Mooney
    Dec 21st 2024, 10:47 PM

@Louis Jacob: what a dumb comment

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Dec 21st 2024, 10:59 PM

@Louis Jacob: Musk isn’t a genius. He’s utterly messed up repeatedly in public discussing aspects of his businesses. He’s like Trump. He wants people to think he’s exceptional. What Musk excelled at is buying into and then taking over other companies. It’s extremely worrying that Musk is able to fool people, because it means a lack of basic attention to his words and actions in public.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Dec 21st 2024, 11:12 PM

@Numinous20111: and even worse that he is now endorsing Germanys AFD, the nearest thing that country has to Nazis (some members are actually neo Nazis). Musk must surely know this, so his endorsement tells us all we need to know about him. What is really worrying is that people can’t spot a Nazi when he wears jeans and a t shirt.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Dec 21st 2024, 11:13 PM

@Numinous20111: lighten up and just put your seatbelt on. What a time to be alive !

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Dec 21st 2024, 11:31 PM

@Alan: as was, as is, as ever shall be ; world without end

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Dec 21st 2024, 11:51 PM

@Paul Mooney: Yeah totally. I felt so dumb when I made it.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Dec 22nd 2024, 12:03 AM

@Numinous20111: Yes man. I take all your points. He is exceptional though in fairness. So is Trump by the way. I don’t know dude. It’s so depressing that this is where it’s at.

Mute Maximilian Kolbe
    Favourite Maximilian Kolbe
    Dec 22nd 2024, 12:58 AM

@Louis Jacob: Most dangerous man in history? How far are you lefties actually gone? Is he more dangerous than Stalin, Zedong, Ghengis Khan, Pol Pot? You are beyond help. There is no point, you’re hopeless.

Mute Philip Kennedy
    Favourite Philip Kennedy
    Dec 22nd 2024, 1:10 AM

@Louis Jacob: man,dude. You said both.

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Dec 22nd 2024, 1:49 AM

@Louis Jacob: 77 million people think you might be a lot less than genius. (Examiner sensors don’t like plain English)

Mute common sense
    Favourite common sense
    Dec 21st 2024, 10:04 PM

Looking forward to 4 years of Trump in charge. Let’s hope we see the real Trump this time, no holding back.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Dec 21st 2024, 10:50 PM

@common sense: He’ll do as he’s told. They all do. America is Israel’s Bîţch.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Dec 21st 2024, 11:39 PM

@Anthony Curran: clown

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Dec 21st 2024, 10:18 PM

President of Peace Trump and the world won with his reelection

Mute Paul Mooney
    Favourite Paul Mooney
    Dec 21st 2024, 10:54 PM

If only we had a leader with a pair of balls, like Trump, here in Paddystan

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Dec 21st 2024, 11:33 PM

@Paul Mooney: His are orange and shrivelled like dehydrated grapes. They’re also in the hands of Putin and now Musk it seems.

Mute Paul Mooney
    Favourite Paul Mooney
    Dec 21st 2024, 11:50 PM

@Jack Hayes: when they’re not resting on yer ma’s chin

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 22nd 2024, 12:44 AM

@Paul Mooney: Trump does not have balls he has money

Mute Paul Mooney
    Favourite Paul Mooney
    Dec 22nd 2024, 12:59 AM

@Tim Brennan: like your beloved shower of FF crooks

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Dec 24th 2024, 1:25 PM

@Paul Mooney: Exactly. A great leader. Then we have Harris and the rest of the incompetents in the DAWL.

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Dec 24th 2024, 1:26 PM

@Jack Hayes: But he is a great leader, unlike the garbage that we have.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 22nd 2024, 12:48 AM

Between Larry and Christina on the Journal they have a love affair with Mary Lou and continually fail to call out her allegiance to Gerry and they haven’t gone away you know and the Belfast Mafia

Mute Philip Kennedy
    Favourite Philip Kennedy
    Dec 22nd 2024, 1:28 AM

She went to the funeral during covid. Monster.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Dec 22nd 2024, 1:54 AM

@Tim Brennan: But the ff mafia deludeding, ” Tim nice but dim ” says everything about you.

Mute Philip Kennedy
    Favourite Philip Kennedy
    Dec 22nd 2024, 2:07 AM

@Tim Brennan: another 5 years in opposition. She’s getting the p45

Mute Philip Kennedy
    Favourite Philip Kennedy
    Dec 22nd 2024, 2:36 AM

@Paul Gorry: deludeding. Says everything about you.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Dec 22nd 2024, 2:52 AM

@Philip Kennedy: The new troll on journal. Fluck off, not interested in anything, ye have to say.

Mute Philip Kennedy
    Favourite Philip Kennedy
    Dec 22nd 2024, 3:24 AM

@Paul Gorry: 5 more years. Ha ha. Shinner apologist.

Mute Philip Kennedy
    Favourite Philip Kennedy
    Dec 22nd 2024, 3:30 AM

@Philip Kennedy: deludeding… classic

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Dec 24th 2024, 1:27 PM

@Tim Brennan: When will she get rid of that horrible wart?

Mute Sea Spirit
    Favourite Sea Spirit
    Dec 21st 2024, 9:17 PM

Larry you’re behaving like a toilet working in reverse.

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Dec 22nd 2024, 1:44 AM

Larry Donnelly, whoever he is, is trying valiantly to make the Democrats look like winners, but they’re definitely the biggest non winners ( the sensors don’t like the other word) by far.

Mute Philip Kennedy
    Favourite Philip Kennedy
    Dec 22nd 2024, 2:33 AM

@Ulick: sensors?

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 21st 2024, 9:48 PM

The Sinn Fein apologist is at again

Mute Paul Mooney
    Favourite Paul Mooney
    Dec 21st 2024, 10:43 PM

Trump, bigley

Mute Elizabeth Doyle
    Favourite Elizabeth Doyle
    Dec 22nd 2024, 7:00 AM

At 86 I just shake my head and remember what my father said ” what is the world comming to” in WW1 listening to Dev on the radio.

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Dec 24th 2024, 1:22 PM

@Elizabeth Doyle: Was he commiserating with the Nazis on the loss of their lunatic leader?

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Dec 22nd 2024, 4:14 AM

That’s an easy one, in the US a no brainer, in Ireland the greens thank God.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 21st 2024, 11:50 PM

For losers I’m going to nominate taxpayers. This election was a battle between two candidates who were more than happy to blow a hole in the deficit, they just disagreed on how big the hole should be. Both Trump and Harris wanted big spending on welfare programs and on subsides in the housing sector which will only drive up prices. Trump wanted to artificially control the market by capping credit card costs with price controls, Harris wanted to artificially control the market by capping supermarket costs with price controls. Both candidates were too cowardly to suggest privatising Social Security and Medicare or even to suggest raising the retirement age and cutting some benefits. These programs cost 2.4 trillion dollars a year and are simply unsustainable to keep maintaining.

Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Dec 22nd 2024, 12:39 AM

@Frank O’Hara: yet they have no problem with their military budget

Mute Philip Kennedy
    Favourite Philip Kennedy
    Dec 22nd 2024, 2:42 AM

@Frank O’Hara: couldn’t sleep tonight. Your post did the trick.

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Dec 24th 2024, 1:21 PM

Winners? There were no winners. All Irish political life is filled with losers.

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Dec 24th 2024, 1:23 PM

How very true.

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Dec 22nd 2024, 4:00 AM

Lar you think your money is safe I the good ole US of the place that our po comes out off us, go home and stay thier this is my land and I want nothing to do to want yours just about done ,there is a war happening go home lad

Mute Philip Kennedy
    Favourite Philip Kennedy
    Dec 22nd 2024, 5:17 AM

@Robert Halvey: whaaaaa?