You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'Bus drivers were beeping wildly': Video captures rollerblader hitching ride on back of Dublin Bus

“The roller blader looked chilled out. He was loving it. Didn’t seem fazed at all.”

dub-bus-pic-1 Ciarán Farrelly Ciarán Farrelly

A ROLLERBLADER  who was caught on video hanging onto the back of a bus and hitching a spin up O’Connell Street has been labelled “absolutely reckless”.

The incident was captured on video by Ciarán Farrelly while he was going home from work on Monday evening.

“The guy grabbed on to the bus just as it pulled off and held on from the top of O’Connell St to the Spire,” Farrelly explained.

Ciarán Farrelly Ciarán Farrelly

The video shows the backpack wearing rollerblader cruising along and bumping over Luas lines as the bus trundles down one of Dublin’s busiest streets.

Other vehicles can be heard beeping and people turn their heads to watch the unusual scene.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

“Loving it”

“The passers-by seemed bemused, and the bus drivers were beeping wildly. Which mainly drew more attention to it,” Ciarán said.

The rollerblader looked chilled out. He was loving it. Didn’t seem fazed at all.

“Russian roulette”

Brian Farrell of the Road Safety Authority (RSA) described the behaviour as “absolutely reckless”.

It really beggars belief – this person is putting themselves at risk, and it’s really a form of Russian roulette.

A spokeswoman for Dublin Bus said it is investigating the incident.

“These are extremely dangerous actions which could result in serious injury and Dublin Bus strongly discourages anyone from partaking in such reckless behaviour,” the spokeswoman said.

Brian added that ‘scutting’ (clinging to the back of a vehicle to hitch a ride) has become a common problem.

It’s not just this individual or an isolated case. This is happening more regularly… people are putting their own lives at risk for a cheap thrill.

A number of videos of young people scutting have surfaced on social media in recent months. Drivers have said this is a frequent issue, particularly in Tallaght and Finglas.

The design of Dublin Bus’s new ‘SG’ model is said to be facilitating the behaviour.

READ: Dublin Bus reaches agreement with drivers over anti-social behaviour in Tallaght>

READ: Ireland fares poorly on alcohol use, child sex abuse and suicide rate>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

81 Comments
    Mute Dr Richard DeWitt
    Favourite Dr Richard DeWitt
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:21 AM

The word is “Fazed”, not “Phased”. Typical though.

Mute Methinks
    Favourite Methinks
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:24 AM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: maybe he existed in multiple universes?

Mute Dr Richard DeWitt
    Favourite Dr Richard DeWitt
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:40 AM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: Ah, I see this has now been changed. You’re welcome, Ceimin. ;)

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:09 AM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: How is that name.pronounced!

Mute Ían Ó Ceallaigh
    Favourite Ían Ó Ceallaigh
    Sep 13th 2017, 12:20 PM

@Missyb211: Caoibhínn?

Mute Niall Dawson
    Favourite Niall Dawson
    Sep 13th 2017, 1:07 PM

@Missyb21:

‘Kay-min’

Mute Dazz
    Favourite Dazz
    Sep 13th 2017, 1:54 PM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: Also, I doubt that the RSA guy said “it’s really a form OR Russian roulette”. The Journal’s proof-reader has been off sick for quite a while now.

Sep 13th 2017, 10:25 AM

Only encourages more numpties to try the same.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Sep 13th 2017, 12:21 PM

@Gus Sheridan:

I sometimes have bus drivers trying to grab onto the back of my bike. They get to about an inch of the back wheel but never manage to actually grab on.

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola
    Sep 13th 2017, 1:28 PM

@Gus Sheridan: Try to do it with Luas !!

Mute Johnny Gunn
    Favourite Johnny Gunn
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:27 AM

Amazing what passes for news in this country.

Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:45 AM

@Johnny Gunn: the journal = news and also add its own quirks. Always have. Part of the product. So don’t click the articles if you don’t want to. It’s literally that simple.

Mute Carl Nolan
    Favourite Carl Nolan
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:49 AM

@Johnny Gunn:

It’s amazing that people like you can spend time here and still not realise the type of site it is.

Mute Niall Dawson
    Favourite Niall Dawson
    Sep 13th 2017, 1:08 PM

@Carl Nolan:

Somebody obviously never was told was a niche is

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery

Free travel for the under 65s

Mute Irish Spider-Man
    Favourite Irish Spider-Man
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:25 AM

@Gerard Heery: I can see it catching on!!

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:35 AM

Shouldn’t the real question be Why this can happen on our main street and not one single Garda to apprehend the fool. Without a garda presence there can’t be policing

Mute Christopher murray
    Favourite Christopher murray
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:17 AM

@AlanH -AFC: i love that its a Garda fault and not the guy who was rollerbladings fault. Thats tge provlem with the world….everyones fault but mine! Maybe he should sue Dublin Bus if he trips and hurts himself.

Mute Nigel Healy
    Favourite Nigel Healy
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:26 AM

@Christopher murray: how dare you

Mute Irish Spider-Man
    Favourite Irish Spider-Man
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:26 AM

@AlanH -AFC: Garda busy burying the Templemore cash

Mute Christopher murray
    Favourite Christopher murray
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:32 AM

@Irish Spider-Man: ah is that the spider man from youtube!! Haha

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:36 AM

@AlanH -AFC: Arrest him for what? Interesting to see what they could charge him with.. Looks like he had fun though.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.
    Sep 13th 2017, 2:37 PM

@AlanH -AFC: If they don’t police cyclists, they sure as hell aren’t going to police roller skaters.

Mute Zx5vZulB
    Favourite Zx5vZulB
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:41 AM

He’s doing his best to shirk the gay image of a bloke on rollerblades, poor chap even risking his own safety for this purpose.

Mute Colin Morris
    Favourite Colin Morris
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:19 AM

@Zx5vZulB: I hope you are never a parent.

If you already are then I hope you don’t have anything more than supervised access to your children.

You are clearly a very dull person.

Mute Zx5vZulB
    Favourite Zx5vZulB
    Sep 13th 2017, 2:02 PM

@Colin Morris: one thousand apologies to you and all male roller bladers. Out of curiosity, what did your parents say when you asked for a pair?

Mute Dreyfus
    Favourite Dreyfus
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:20 AM

eugh, what a little show off

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:07 AM

We the bus have even got over 20mph?Drama Queens I tell ya

Mute Tweeter
    Favourite Tweeter
    Sep 13th 2017, 5:53 PM

@Dreyfus: haha next he’ll have one leg backwards…One hand waving. Hardly Russian Roulette though, is it?!?

Mute Dearbhla Russell
    Favourite Dearbhla Russell
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:22 AM

I rollerbladed once.
    Couldnt walk for 3 days.
    Should have tried this. Dublin city public transport finally comes together. Metro north not needed.

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:29 AM

@Dearbhla Russell: are you sure it was the rollerblading?

Mute Dearbhla Russell
    Sep 13th 2017, 1:25 PM

@Gareth Cooney: yeah. Twas mid week during lent
    ;-)

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Sep 13th 2017, 1:47 PM

@Dearbhla Russell: sure what else would you be at mid week during lent????!!!!!

Mute Dearbhla Russell
    Sep 14th 2017, 1:26 AM

@Gareth Cooney: prayin. Hootin. And hollerin for the lawd jesus.

Mute SleazyDragon
    Favourite SleazyDragon
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:39 AM

That’s the power of love…. ….

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01
    Sep 13th 2017, 12:23 PM

@SleazyDragon: there’s something very familiar about all this.

Mute paddlingAlong
    Favourite paddlingAlong
    Sep 13th 2017, 12:18 PM

Jesus the world has gone pc & safety bananas. As a kid we use do this on bikes from the back of silage trailers. Great fun.

Mute Pj Windgap
    Favourite Pj Windgap
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:03 AM

A man wearing rollerblades, how embarrassing.

Mute onebox
    Favourite onebox
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:43 AM

Great way to travel. No omissions, low cost.

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:54 AM

So what – what is the problem with it ?
    Let me guess, most will say it’s dangerous – how ?
    The buses have to travel below the lowest speed limit in the country

Mute Emmet Dillane
    Favourite Emmet Dillane
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:17 AM

Obviously the guy wasn’t in any hurry to get into town.

Mute Sean taoiseach
    Favourite Sean taoiseach
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:14 AM

Told about the design fault over two years ago and wouldnt address it i know its finny ti look at and the jids in tallaght on the back of the 27 thought so too but the thoughts of what injury or death could occur will be no laughing matter to parents of child or indeed the poor driver who is unaware they are on the back

Mute Arnold Lane
    Favourite Arnold Lane
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:27 AM

Still a better option than having paying exorbitant prices for crappy services, with cantankerous bus drivers with a chip on their shoulders you abuse what tiny bit of power they have.

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:33 AM

@Arnold Lane: got a bit of a chip yourself perhaps

Mute Reuben Gray
    Favourite Reuben Gray
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:42 AM

@Arnold Lane: With a Leap card, a city centre fare is .60c and the average journey price is €2.05. That’s an exorbitant price to be safely sitting on a bus rather than gripped to the back of it just one instant away from death?
    I think your definition of exorbitant is just a little out of whack with reality.

Mute Arnold Lane
    Favourite Arnold Lane
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:44 AM

@AlanH -AFC: Not in the slightest. I haven’t said anything that isn’t true!

Mute Arnold Lane
    Favourite Arnold Lane
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:52 AM

@Reuben Gray: Hey if you don’t not getting value for your money, it’s your money. A fool and his money are easily parted.

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:58 AM

@Arnold Lane: really ? Proof if any instead of defaming an entire workforce.

Mute Arnold Lane
    Favourite Arnold Lane
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:01 AM

@AlanH -AFC: “Proof if any instead of defaming an entire workforce..”

Go back to driving your bus ya clown :-)

Mute Reuben Gray
    Favourite Reuben Gray
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:06 AM

@AlanH -AFC: Wouldn’t bother Alan, it’s clearly a troll account. I will never understand troll accounts. A pointless existence.

Mute Arnold Lane
    Favourite Arnold Lane
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:08 AM

@Reuben Gray: Who was I trolling then Reuben? You both choose to reply to my comment and now you don’t like what I have to say so I’m a troll!

Run along there snowflakes before anymore of your feelings get hurt!

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:29 AM

Like who gives a poop . Used so it on bikes when we were punk kids which was lots more dangerous…anf I mean jelly tots

Mute Psyarron
    Favourite Psyarron
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:59 AM

@Eugene Walsh: yeah cool

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:21 AM

@Eugene Walsh: think you need to lay off the ould jelly tots Eugene.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Sep 13th 2017, 12:24 PM

@Eugene Walsh: I’ll tell you “who gives a poop”. The poor unfortunate driver when one of these idiots is pulled under the bus and killed. The next driver who has to witness it. The emergency services who have to drag a mangled corpse out from under a bus. The idiot’s friends and family as they come to terms with this person’s gruesome death. All because these idiots want a cheap thrill and cheap ride at other people’s expense.

Mute Colm Quigley
    Favourite Colm Quigley
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:37 AM

Rollerblades are a brand of inline skates.

Mute Ryan Dub
    Favourite Ryan Dub
    Sep 13th 2017, 10:54 AM

Cool.

Mute Banana Rama
    Favourite Banana Rama
    Sep 13th 2017, 1:21 PM

Looks like great craic!

Mute Darren Christie
    Favourite Darren Christie
    Sep 13th 2017, 1:08 PM

will the buses stop going through town now?

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin

Idiots like this lad never listen. He’ll be scraped off the bottom of a 46A some day and he’ll only have himself to blame…. thats if he survives

Sep 13th 2017, 11:56 AM

He probably be quicker without doing this.

Mute Cram Wood
    Favourite Cram Wood
    Sep 13th 2017, 1:15 PM

For God’s sake let him hitch a ride. Only has himself to blame for any injuries.

Mute Chris Chandler
    Favourite Chris Chandler
    Sep 13th 2017, 12:29 PM

Jet set radiiioooo

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Sep 13th 2017, 3:13 PM

Everything is great and cool.. until an accident happens…

Mute Ciaran Fairley
    Favourite Ciaran Fairley
    Sep 13th 2017, 4:07 PM

Wasn’t me.

Mute Jane Nic Conchradha
    Favourite Jane Nic Conchradha
    Sep 13th 2017, 1:35 PM

Looks old enough to know better, if he had an accident that would hold up the whole city center and who would he look at to blame and pay him a few bob for his troubles.

Mute Mr D
    Favourite Mr D
    Sep 13th 2017, 11:55 AM

Sure anyhing coulda happened, coulda got sucked under the wheels of the bus. Coulda got hit by the luas, utter reckless. A form of Russian roulette really….

Mute Nick McCarthy
    Favourite Nick McCarthy
    Sep 13th 2017, 1:33 PM

@Mr D: More likely to trip up over some debris in the road that he can’t see and scrape all the skin and teeth from his head

Mute Barry Flynn
    Favourite Barry Flynn
    Sep 13th 2017, 6:55 PM

“Scutting”?
    Back in my day it was called Skitchin’, used to play a game about it on my Sega Mega Drive

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon
    Sep 13th 2017, 2:54 PM

The problem is that the likes of this Moron only encourages others to do the same.He probably posted this video back to mates back in China.
    He needs to be located and mentally assessed.

Mute Mr. H
    Favourite Mr. H
    Sep 13th 2017, 2:04 PM

I recall someone else doing this, albeit on a skateboard…prior to going on some time traveling adventures….

This guy is just as cool as that guy…

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Sep 13th 2017, 12:59 PM

If he an accident no doubt he’d be well compensated…. moron of the highest order.

Mute Marko
    Favourite Marko
    Sep 13th 2017, 1:05 PM

Hipster idiot

Mute Liam Plante
    Favourite Liam Plante
    Sep 15th 2017, 1:50 PM

probably could not afford the fare

Mute Martin Tracey
    Favourite Martin Tracey
    Sep 14th 2017, 7:26 AM

It was the new Dublin bus mechanic doing roller maintenance