You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Thieves have stolen this entire container filled with a Dublin scout troop's equipment

It’s not exactly small…

A SHIPPING CONTAINER containing all the equipment of a Dublin scout troop has been stolen in its entirety from the troop’s base in Harold’s Cross, south Dublin.

The thieves removed the container from its berth in broad daylight using a flatbed truck on 23 April between 11am and 1pm.

One witness approached a man in a high-visibility jacket who appeared to be operating the truck and asked him what was happening, but was ignored.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, scout leader Achille Martone said that the loss of the equipment is more keenly felt than the financial impact.

“The container was right beside the den and had been there for a good three years,” he said.

It was fitted with electricity so was more of an extension of the den.
The equipment taken included very expensive tents, worth probably €3,000 each. All told we had about €25,000 worth of scouting gear taken.

72 Mt Argus Rd  Dublin to 72 Mt Argus Rd  Dublin   Google Maps2 (1) The scout troop's den at Mount Argus, Harold's Cross

Kimmage native Martone, himself a scout for 18 years, has no idea what could have happened to the container.

“We actually don’t have a hunch. It was obviously well planned and involved probably the rental of the truck, but much more than that I can’t say,” he says.

Without the equipment we’ve had to cancel programmes because we have no resources left.
We’re one of the last youth clubs in the area and have been left high and dry by this theft. This has and will impact the scout group for years.

The scout troop in question, the 45th Dublin Mount Argus, has been around since 1929. They have over a hundred members aged from 6 to 17 years.

The missing container had a large logo on the side spelling CAI, with serial number 247880.

Anyone who may have seen such a container on a flatbed truck in the south Dublin area on 23 April is asked to contact gardaí at Crumlin Garda Station (01 666 6200).

Read: Are taxi drivers at greater risk of being robbed? We asked some to find out

Read: Women in their 90s locked up as raiders ransack home

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

30 Comments
    Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 14th 2015, 2:25 PM

Bet the thief greets everyone with “howya boss”

Mute Al Beebak
    Favourite Al Beebak
    May 14th 2015, 2:35 PM

That’s scrimination sir, not their fault ya know boss, they just don’t have the safilities. #culture

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 14th 2015, 2:59 PM

If it barks it’s a dog.

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    May 14th 2015, 7:41 PM

They have the safilities now.

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    May 14th 2015, 2:33 PM

This country really has gone to the dogs. It’s easy being a thief in Ireland because if caught there’s s no hard time. The system really is f*&cked. Would Sinn Féin in power change it? Would FF back in power change it? Fianna Gael aren’t making much headway on the Fight against crime either…
    Asking the government and its a a load of statistcs that crime is down…blah blah… me holeo!

Mute fockoffski
    Favourite fockoffski
    May 14th 2015, 2:50 PM

Capital punishment you say??

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    May 14th 2015, 3:35 PM

Have you got other statistics that indicate crime is up? Other than the fact that you’ve read about some crimes on The Journal today?

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    May 14th 2015, 5:17 PM

Being subjected to an attempted carjacking, mugging, theft, passing the scene of a gangland murder minutes after it occurring, collecting the other half directly after witnessing a murder; all in the last three years I certainly constitute things as not being good. QED

Mute Live Long
    Favourite Live Long
    May 14th 2015, 3:01 PM

What balls! If they can do that in broad daylight without a blink then there isn’t much they cant steal.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    May 14th 2015, 8:43 PM

Its a really common ruse, “thieves wearing high vis” has a lot of hits for the UK & OZ

https://www.google.ie/search?q=thieves+wearing+high+vis

Mute Vin O'Brien
    Favourite Vin O'Brien
    May 14th 2015, 3:00 PM

Theft is very bad around Harolds Cross and South Circular areas. Anything not bolted down is up for grabs. Report any unsavoury types walking around these areas as they tend to roam for any opportunity, anytime of the day.

Mute Incognito
    Favourite Incognito
    May 14th 2015, 3:57 PM

Depends where in Harold’s cross. I live beside the park and have never had a problem, leave my bike unlocked outside the centra all the time and accidentally left my car unlocked for 2 weeks when I went on holidays, nobody touched it. I’ve just never heard of HX being a bad area but obviously everywhere has horror stories.

In any case, as a scout leader I can’t imagine the heartache of finding all your gear nicked. Our tents cost up to a grand each and funding is hard to come by, Hope the people responsible are caught.

Mute Vin O'Brien
    Favourite Vin O'Brien
    May 14th 2015, 7:25 PM

I wouldn’t recommend leaving your bike unlocked anywhere, Ive had a handful robbed all over Dublin including Harold’s Cross. Front wheel was stolen off locked bike outside the house. Just recently had one robbed from the garden in SCR last month.

If theres nothing in your car and it has an immobiliser, I think its safe enough. I would say an open car is not an opportunistic target. If you have nice German thats on a crime gangs wanted list, they’ll probably get it. Locked or unlocked.

Most of the petty crime is these lads roaming around during the day, Ive spotted them a few times. 9/10 junky/knackery types fellows. Bless them.

Mute Etheric Projection
    Favourite Etheric Projection
    May 14th 2015, 2:25 PM

Well if the scouts go on a trip now there sure to learn all about survival techniques without any gear!!!

Mute William Willis
    Favourite William Willis
    May 14th 2015, 3:17 PM

Those thieves should be Baden with a Powell.

Mute David Hanks
    Favourite David Hanks
    May 14th 2015, 3:05 PM

They should try get this reported in the UK. I imagine the stuff won’t be sold here. Try get Army Surplus shops on the look out. Shouldn’t be hard to contact the big shops to keep an eye out

Mute Colm Kelly
    Favourite Colm Kelly
    May 14th 2015, 2:27 PM

Have stolen…..

Mute Ronan Walsh
    Favourite Ronan Walsh
    May 14th 2015, 3:34 PM

Its part of their culture to go on with anything thats not nailed down.

Mute Euro McPúnty
    Favourite Euro McPúnty
    May 14th 2015, 2:30 PM

Break out the cookies and start selling, kids! Double time… Some ballsy theft all the same in broad daylight.

Mute InvasionNewsÉire
    Favourite InvasionNewsÉire
    May 14th 2015, 3:48 PM

You think that’s brazen? Thieves stole Irish sovereignty from the Irish through austerity and mass-immigration right from under our noses and are still doing it after having been pointed out.

Mute Eileen Moloney
    Favourite Eileen Moloney
    May 14th 2015, 3:15 PM

This is why sharia law is popular…

Mute Paul E Kiely
    Favourite Paul E Kiely
    May 14th 2015, 2:26 PM

No

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    May 14th 2015, 2:29 PM

Yes

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 14th 2015, 3:32 PM

Irish Water used the old common law remedy of distress in order to seize the container because the Scouts parents had not paid their water charges.

The notice said that they will detail a Scout next. IW really means business.

Mute Berni Moore
    Favourite Berni Moore
    May 14th 2015, 4:54 PM

No doubt this container will be buried in some field and used to cultivate cannibis inside , other than that its useless

Mute Veron Skvortsova
    Favourite Veron Skvortsova
    May 14th 2015, 4:50 PM

The scouts should tell the gardai that someone is standing on the shore outside. There will be a helicopter and about 15 vans and cars deployed in a matter of minutes. I saw it with my own eyes.

Mute Steve Riney
    Favourite Steve Riney
    May 14th 2015, 2:51 PM

again its that ethnic minority