You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Supermarkets, garage forecourts, post offices and convenience stores featured in the mystery shop. Shutterstock/Wirestock Creators

Lottery regulator urges against 'well-intentioned' scratchcards as Christmas gifts for children

Almost three in 10 shops in Ireland failed to deny the sale of a scratchcard to underaged mystery shoppers.

THE NATIONAL LOTTERY Regulator is urging all adults to avoid gifting National Lottery products to children this Christmas, as a report has found shops are still failing to deny the sale of a scratchcard to underaged mystery shoppers.

“No matter how well-intentioned the purchaser might be”, the lottery regulator warned that it increases a young person’s “chances of experiencing gambling problems” as an adult.

It found that almost 30 percent of shops in Ireland failed to deny the sale of a scratchcard to underaged mystery shoppers.

Almost three quarters (72%) of Irish shops visited during a recent ‘mystery shop’ exercise refused to sell scratchcards to underage test purchasers. The regulator said this is up from 62% in 2018.

The figures come from a new report published today, commissioned by the Regulator of the National Lottery, to check the effectiveness of the National Lottery Operator’s efforts to ensure its retailers do not sell National Lottery products to under-18s.

The regulator said that no purchases were completed by the mystery shoppers during the recent experiment, with no offences in law committed by the retailers as a result.

However, it says that it underscore the need for tougher measures to curb sales to minors in retail outlets.

“While a popular gifting option at this time of year, National Lottery tickets or scratchcards are not appropriate Christmas gifts for under-18s, no matter how well intentioned the purchaser might be,” regulator of the National Lottery Carol Boate said.

“We know childhood gambling can lead to a range of harms and increases your chances of experiencing gambling problems as an adult.

“It’s therefore vital that all adults are mindful of their responsibility to protect children by avoiding gifting them scratchcards this Christmas.”

How the study was carried out

The test purchasers were aged 15-17, evenly split across the age bracket, with 51% male and 49% female participants. When asked for their age or to provide identification, all test purchasers answered truthfully.

If a staff member agreed to the sale of a scratchcard, the test purchaser said they did not want the product and did not complete the transaction.

The retailers visited were representative of the national breakdown of scratchcard sales by outlet type, including supermarkets, garage forecourts, post offices and convenience stores.

The mystery shop was carried out on a nationwide basis across Dublin and each province.

In a statement, Premier Lotteries Ireland (PLI) – the operator of the National Lottery – agreed that there is “still more work to do” in improving the results of the mystery shop survey.

“PLI fully agrees with the Regulator that National Lottery tickets or scratchcards should not be gifted to under-18s at Christmas or at any time of year,” a spokesperson said.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

35 Comments
    Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:57 PM

A man. Again. Wanting laws that control a woman’s body. Women should be concerned about these 2 men. Women need to combat this with a party of their own that brings in laws to control all men’s bodies.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:58 PM

@9QRixo8H: “Madamepresident2024″ will solve all your issues

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:00 PM

@9QRixo8H: haha, you really are a fruit & nut bar, how’s all that ‘ crying for madam president’ juvenile nonsense working out?

See 36 more replies ▾
    Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:08 PM

@Ger Whelan: how are your anti-immigrantion parties doing? Not a seat between the lot of them

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:13 PM

@9QRixo8H: because they’re Pro Life?? That’s the main reason I voted Aontu and have signed up to them. Why aren’t the other section regarded as Pro Death?? Abortion is murder end of.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:13 PM

@9QRixo8H: Why do I care? You’ll not find one comment from me backing anti immigration parties. How’s “Madamepresident2024″ getting on. You disappeared as quickly as her after the election. Now your back waffling the same nonsense..

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:14 PM

@9QRixo8H: pathetic retort…. just like in the lead up to the massive victory for peace in the US Nov5th. Trying to conflate this young lads success with the no good anti open borders crowd

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:16 PM

@Donna Fallon: Hi Donna, how you doing these days?

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:24 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: oh fantastic thanks Man x I’m absolutely elated with the election results voting in all the corrupt f@$&*rs who didn’t (in fairness to them) jump ship at the last hurdle. I just despair.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:30 PM

@9QRixo8H: Abortion is a barbaric act which is akin to slavery. Any law which prevents the killing of innocent life is a good thing. The pro-abortion movement has tried to change the language of the debate (unborn baby to foetus, partial-birth abortion to late-term abortion etc.) but even these attempts at obfuscation fail to conceal the barbarism of the act. Abortion involves dismemberment of the limbs of the baby as well as sticking tubes inside the mother’s womb in order to suck the baby’s brains out. There’s a reason why doctors don’t remove the unborn baby all the way out of the womb while performing a partial-birth abortion. If they did, they would be charged with murder. Babies in the womb have a heartbeat, have formed organs and can feel pain.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:30 PM

@Donna Fallon: Donna, i spent last fortnight badgering & pestering my 2 nieces to register to vote/ make sure you vote…its democracy yada yada yada…. & now today I’m thinking ‘why bother’….. despair is a mild word for it,lol

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:31 PM

@Donna Fallon: Don’t force your fundamentalist views on others. You don’t want to have an abortion? Your choice. But calling a woman who does “a murderer”? F… you.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:40 PM

@Frank O’Hara: couldn’t agree more Frank very well put x

Mute Jen McC
    Favourite Jen McC
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:42 PM

@Donna Fallon: we voted overwhelming in favour in 2018. I suggest you try to come to terms with that. You people aren’t pro-life. You don’t care about any of those lives as soon as the baby is born. You’re more forced birthers to be fair.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:48 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: I’m in the same boat with my little Brother well he’s nearly 29, 6ft1″ and a Father of 2 so not so ‘little’ anymore lol!! There is no talking to stubbornness and ignorance unfortunately… he’s possibly on this platform but I don’t mind- I’ve nothing to hide.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:48 PM

@Donna Fallon: The Irish people spoke on the issue in 2018, they voted against your backward beliefs. Accept it. The fact you are agreeing with Frank O’Hara is a pretty sad state of affairs for you.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:11 PM

@Anthony Curran: I’m not in anyway a fundamentalist believe me Anthony. If medical situations arise whereby a child needs to be lost from the womb that is understandable albeit tragic. However Women are using abortion as a form of contraception- please provide evidence otherwise.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:18 PM

@Jen McC: Hey Jen… yes we did and I respect democracy. Personally, I voted No but even my own Mum voted Yes… it’s not beyond reasonable person’s belief that the criteria was going to dissolve. 3 days waiting think time, 12 weeks max, etc. No now it’s basically abortion on demand and we All seen it coming. It’s sickening.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:24 PM

@Donna Fallon: It’s healthcare Donna. Forced birthing isn’t.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:35 PM

@Anthony Curran: ah here Anthony… there are other options such as adoption. A baby isn’t a boil you need to lance FFS

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:57 PM

@9QRixo8H: Way past your bedtime!

Mute Rachel Mountney
    Favourite Rachel Mountney
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:58 PM

@Frank O’Hara: from this comment I’ll presume that you’ve never spoken to anyone who’s actually had an abortion.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 2nd 2024, 12:15 AM

@Rachel Mountney: I don’t need to speak to any people who endorse such a barbaric act. I know evil when I see it. Everything that I’ve stated is factual information. Doctors who perform abortions should quite frankly be jailed for mutilating and killing the body of a baby and sucking out their brains. Someday we will view abortion in the exact same way as we now do with slavery. Think about it, when slavery was permitted in the West, we were told that it was a “necessary evil” and it was “unavoidable.” It’s the exact same rhetoric that those who are pro-abortion use now.

Mute Peter O'Muiri
    Favourite Peter O'Muiri
    Dec 2nd 2024, 12:37 AM

@9QRixo8H: And you are perfectly entitled in our democracy to start such a party and to stand for election as the Aontu people did. Best of luck to you.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Dec 2nd 2024, 1:32 AM

@Ger Whelan:
    Since when did finding the dismemberment of babies a tad distasteful become “backwards beliefs” ? Shame on you.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Dec 2nd 2024, 8:47 AM

@FoxyBoiiYT:
    Calling someone that is pro-life Adolf. You’re obviously not very bright.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Dec 2nd 2024, 8:52 AM

@Anthony Curran:
    Healthcare saves lives, abortion is savagery that ends them. Incredible that this needs to be pointed out.

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:40 AM

@Donna Fallon: Aaaaahahahahahahahahaha eejit.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:04 AM

@9QRixo8H: Your spiritual home would be North Korea. Imagine being so intolerant that you can not even accept that that someone could have an opinion that differs from yours. Think – you might have been “terminated” if the abortion on demand legislation was passed a generation earlier. “Terminated” sounds better than killed before with, doesn’t it? Anyway, there is no restriction on it now, but people show take ownership of what they are doing.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:05 AM

@9QRixo8H: why do you think that Shari Fein lost 170000 votes compared to the 2020 GE and with more candidates.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:21 AM

@Donna Fallon: other options like magdalene laundries you mean ?!!

Mute Niall Lappin
    Favourite Niall Lappin
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:27 AM

@Donna Fallon: they’re only pro life until the fetus is born when it’s a baby they don’t care

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:36 AM

@9QRixo8H: and you wanted anyone refusing to take an experimental drug (which is now proven to cause serious problems) excluded from society or forced to take the shot, where is ‘my body, my choice’ for that? (and yes, I refused & haven’t taken any of them)

It’s weaker people like you that cause unnecessarily hard times for the majority.

You are the consummate troll

Mute Daratheprofessional 1
    Favourite Daratheprofessional 1
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:04 PM

@Donna Fallon: The people have spoken on that subject and don’t share your views luckily.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:50 PM

@Donna Fallon: should we open up the mother and baby homes again?
    Would that make you happy?
    Backwards bs

Mute A D
    Favourite A D
    Dec 2nd 2024, 6:16 PM

@Donna Fallon: Have you ever met any woman who used abortion as a form of contraception?

Mute Trevor Donoghue
    Favourite Trevor Donoghue
    Dec 2nd 2024, 9:12 PM

@Frank O’Hara: Savita Halappanavar

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Dec 3rd 2024, 1:40 AM

@Donna Fallon: 100%

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Dec 3rd 2024, 1:49 AM

@9QRixo8H: Killing a pregnant woman always brings a double homicide charge. So why is killing and unborn not a homicide? Oh yeah, because a referendum.

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:49 PM

Congratulations, well done!

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:51 PM

@Kevvy kerrr: Great. Twice as many as the Greens.

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:00 PM

@Kevvy kerrr:

Congrats? more interested in lining his own pockets with taxpayers money

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:02 PM

@John Deane: any chance you could point out 1 TD that isn’t taking a hefty paycheck/ pension….. c’mon just 1?

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:06 PM

@Kevvy kerrr:

every politician who got elected are only interested in lining their own pockets with taxpayers money. the arrogance from them

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:01 PM

Not hope Aontú will ever get into power. Nobody wants a return to the 1950′s

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:15 PM

@Ger Whelan: huh?! Have you actually researched their manifesto and basic outlook/ attitude?? No obviously not.

Mute lastfewchocices
    Favourite lastfewchocices
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:21 PM

@Donna Fallon: it’s what their manifesto dosent say Donna. Read more.

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:27 PM

@Donna Fallon: you only need to look at our own Irish history, spanning over 80 years in conservative Ireland, to find out why. Be careful for what you wish for.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:32 PM

@9QRixo8H: I’m well informed thank you. I studied politics in UCD and have had membership of various political parties since I was of age at 18. FG were my legends believe it or not!!

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:34 PM

@lastfewchocices: oh my friend again… ummm I HAVE done my research and didn’t waste my time living under a pseudonym on this forum.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:35 PM

@Donna Fallon: Ignore Ger, he’s just a Russian bot looking for attention. He’s probably crying that his pro-Putin buddies Clare Daly and Mick Wallace didn’t get elected. He’s pure and utter uneducated sleaze.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:41 PM

@Frank O’Hara: TRUE Frank….the level of trolling on here lately is off the charts! Trick is NEVER feed em’

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:43 PM

@Frank O’Hara: oh you made me chuckle thank you Man mo cáirdre x

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:50 PM

@Donna Fallon: I’ve read their manifesto. As had the people of Ireland and thankfully like me the vast vast majority of the people of Ireland rejected them. It’s good to see if I’m honest.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:55 PM

@Donna Fallon: Also Donna a little heads up on Frank O’Hara. He claims to be “pro-life” but he wants Russia, Lebanon and Gaza nuked killing millions of innocent people, as he believes Ukrainians and Israelis are superior people to them. You’re agreeing with a keyboard warrior Hitler wannabe

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:00 PM

@Ger Whelan: well in fairness they’ve come out of this election doubling their presence… I don’t know what your political affiliation is, however that is a success in my eyes

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:05 PM

@Ger Whelan: The only wannabe Hitler here is you Ger. Or should I call you Grigory since that’s probably your real name? You worship a dictator (Vladimir Putin) whose rhetoric is exactly the same as Hitler and his men and wants to eradicate Ukraine and their culture in the exact same manner that Hitler tried to do. Every accusation is a confession for you Russian goons.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:08 PM

@Donna Fallon: 2 seats out of what 197, so absolutely none of policies will ever get through. But hey if you and your Hitler wannabe Buddy Frank want to return to the 1950′s don’t let me stop you.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:15 PM

@Donna Fallon: That Russian bot doesn’t have a political affiliation. He becomes a mouthpiece for whatever party his Russian handlers tell him to support. Naturally, it’s for whatever candidates/parties that are the loudest cheerleaders for Russia, Hamas and Iran.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:27 PM

@Ger Whelan: My Hitler wannabe Buddy Frank?! Oh Man what is your gripe with him seriously like… he’s only being kind to me on this thread we don’t know each other from Adam. I’ll take your 1950s and give you the Noughties for example when no one had a pot to P in. I was ‘lucky’ enough to get a mortgage in 2010 which I since had to sell but I would have been far happier living in the beautiful, glamorous Monroe era…

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:28 PM

@Donna Fallon: Donna, the smallest increse they could possibly have is double, going from 1 to 2! It’s the smallest measure of success possible.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:37 PM

@Donna Fallon: My gripe with Frank? I’ve have him muted. But I bet you my mortgage he’s replied to me several times saying I’m Pro-putin and anti smectic etc, simply because A. Peace, B. no NATO troops in Ukraine, C Russia, Gaza, and Lebanon not to be nuked.. he actually thinks Ukrainians and Israelis are superior people and should be saved at all costs. The Guy isn’t playing with a full deck. He knows I’ve muted him, but still he replies to all my comments with what I can only assume is the same crap I muted him for.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:43 PM

@Anthony Curran: It’s actually 100% Anthony but sure theres no reasoning with you from what I’ve seen here… obviously the % will differ if starting from a lower base compared to a tiny increase from a higher base. I’m not a mathematician but doubling your presence in the Dáil is pretty significant to me.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:51 PM

@Anthony Curran: yup Anthony is that not 100% increase in their presence in the Dáil??

Mute Ollie McGlinchey
    Favourite Ollie McGlinchey
    Dec 2nd 2024, 8:54 AM

@Donna Fallon: whose image are you using for your avatar? Is that who you would like to identify as?

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:39 AM

@Frank O’Hara: Calling others Russian bots and complaining about Trills from the WORST troll here. Your cognitive dissonance is amazing. Not that I think you actually believe a single word you type.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:41 AM

@Donna Fallon: ah come on Donna, 2 seats? Peadar is never off the airwaves, he’s on way more than he should be for a party with 1 td. And in fairness, he’s a good communicator. But he still could only muster 1 extra TD as it stands and 3 or 4 seats in the recent local elections, no MEP even though he ran himself. I’d call that a rejection of their policies.

Mute Megan Ward
    Favourite Megan Ward
    Dec 2nd 2024, 12:00 PM

@Donna Fallon: You don’t live under a pseudonym but you use a photo of Carrie Underwood? Right so.

Mute Megan Ward
    Favourite Megan Ward
    Dec 2nd 2024, 12:01 PM

@Ollie McGlinchey: It’s Carrie Underwood, a country music singer. Love that ‘I don’t use a pseudonym’ is supposed to have value there.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 2nd 2024, 1:35 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: Right back at you buddy. You add nothing productive to the conversation and all you do is just throw insults when you can’t come up with a coherent rebuttal. Maybe learn to spell first before you open your big mouth. I’m always going to challenge those who repeat the same propaganda lines as Putin and it’s not my problem if you’re offended by that.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Dec 2nd 2024, 1:37 PM

@Donna Fallon: Donna- they are very staunchly pro-life/anti-choice. Not an issue for me at all but I noticed none of their literature mentioned it. But it is one of their bedrock policies.

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK

Fair play. Toibin is a good man.

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:42 AM

@AnthonyK:
    He is certainly an able performer but since I’m neither pro-life or left wing, I won’t be voting for them.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:19 PM

@P. J.: I don’t think they are left wing either. The whole left vs right thing is a bit out dated.

Mute lastfewchocices
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:20 PM

No surprise mayo voted for aontu

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:32 PM

@lastfewchocices: Weird county altogether.

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:01 PM

O’Leary won’t be happy that another teacher is going to the Daíl.

Mute Michael Carr
    Favourite Michael Carr
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:06 PM

@Paul Linehan: Don’t worry, he will make loads more money when Aontu ban a women’s right to live.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:20 PM

@Michael Carr: A women’s right to live?! What about the child growing inside her?? Have they no right to live?? It’s a baby and a tragedy when a woman suffers a miscarriage but just a freaking foetus when they murder the child?? Like WTF??

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute lastfewchocices
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:21 PM

@Donna Fallon: you’re a man right?

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:28 PM

@lastfewchocices: do I look like a Man?? I’m one of the few who isn’t using a fake profile… you can Google Donna Fallon Underwriter and view my LinkedIn account I couldn’t care less. No I’m a Woman whoever you are doesn’t keep me awake at night I’m just anti- abortion/ murder.

Mute lastfewchocices
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:43 PM

@Donna Fallon: women like you make me sick.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara

@lastfewchocices: Women like you make me sick.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:56 PM

@lastfewchocices: are YOU a Man or a Woman?? I think I can ask since you asked me. I apologise that the fact I disagree with murder makes you ‘sick’. Let me tell you something… my beautiful Mum nearly died from an eptopic pregnancy. The medics had to remove her baby and her entire reproductive organs and she still voted Yes. We often fall out over it. I have friends who murdered their babies only to go on and have children with the same partner. I’ve been raped twice and wouldn’t have even considered it.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon

@Michael Carr: Micheal I’m sorry but what?? They’re going to ban a Woman’s right to live?! Are you taking the actual P?! Please explain. I’m a Woman (apparently!!) and Peadar has never made a misogynistic comment to my knowledge.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:49 PM

@Donna Fallon: Fair play to you, Donna, for speaking up for your principles as well as using your real identity.
    It’s extraordinary to see all the anonymous keyboard worriers that want to shut down views that they don’t agree with. All with their multiple fake accounts and NGO funded permanent online activity

Mute Marie Duffy
    Favourite Marie Duffy
    Dec 2nd 2024, 7:30 AM

@Donna Fallon: well said. An innocent baby being slaughtered.

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Dec 2nd 2024, 7:43 AM

@Donna Fallon: So you put a little effort into your fake profile then? Well done. Keep crying about losing the referendum. Democracy isn’t for the people in your little world is it?

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:46 AM

@Donna Fallon: It’s not a child. You can freeze an embryo and use it later. You can’t freeze a baby. We register births and not embryos for a reason.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Dec 2nd 2024, 1:38 PM

@Ian:
    Is it too uncomfortable to admit that it is a baby being aborted ? Easier on your conscience to kill an embryo than a baby ? Shame on you.

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Dec 3rd 2024, 1:52 AM

@lastfewchocices: women like you make me sick.

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Dec 3rd 2024, 1:56 AM

@Michael Carr: You wouldn’t care if a woman decides to end your unborn child’s life because she claims it’s her body only that’s affected?

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:59 PM

I’m surprised comments haven’t been shut down on this post post so fair play to you Jane excellent Journalist too x

Could I kindly ask that we focus on the actual issue here ans not our position on Abortion. Personally, I don’t and will not ever agree but it should not result in personal slurring.
    I’m one of the only ones who aren’t afraid to disclose their actual real identity.

Take care out there in this crazy World Guys x

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:57 AM

@Donna Fallon: sadly, this is only a cesspit of juvenile trolls lately…… pity really as it used to be informative & interesting

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Dec 2nd 2024, 1:35 PM

this is lol

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:03 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: Stones in glasshouses Frank

Mute JP Fox
    Favourite JP Fox
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:31 AM

Some of the comments on here regarding supporters of protecting the unborn amaze me. Has our society really come to the point where we have completely lost touch with the sanctity of unborn life? And this notion of “Men trying to control women’s bodies”. Most the women I know are pro life, and I’m pretty sure there are a whole lot more I don’t know, that are afraid to open their mouths for fear of being tarred and feathered by “pro-choice” zealots. I remember hearing my firstborn’s heartbeat for the first time at seven weeks. Our parents were in the room too. I’ll never forget it. That was our child. Well done to this lad, and well done to the people of Mayo who voted for him. Nobody should fear being a voice for the unborn.

Mute Soundy Sound
    Favourite Soundy Sound
    Dec 2nd 2024, 12:00 PM

@JP Fox: you do realise that we had a referendum on this? Pro choice won convincingly. It was a secret ballot.
    It’s your views are in the minority and belong in the past.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Dec 2nd 2024, 1:39 PM

@JP Fox: The sanctity of all life really? if you consider the Halappanavar situation, probs have a great answer for that ‘circumstance’… my problem with you sky shouters is that you ignore the subjectiveness of reality, I mean why bother with whats actually happening when paradise awaits… Earth and other people must be hell for you?

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Dec 2nd 2024, 1:54 PM

@Soundy Sound:
    There was a time when Hitler won votes and you do realise that if just 17% of voters had voted differently you would have lost the referendum ? The vote was won by college kids all coached to vote the same way through bullying and intimidation. Half of them have no idea what abortion entails anyway. The only thing that belongs in the past is the medieval savagery of tearing a baby apart. It should only be used as a last resort to save a mother’s life, not as just another form of contraception as it is now. Shame on you for supporting this backwards savagery .

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:00 PM

@Regular John: The vote was won by people who believe in choice. The vote was lost by those looking to control society. None of that is made up.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:38 PM

@Soundy Sound: Murder should not be put to the ballot. It doesn’t matter whether people voted in favour or it or not, such a thing should not be permitted. We don’t allow slavery in our society and at one point, the majority of people across the West supported it. It doesn’t make slavery morally right though. Abortion is a barbaric act which involves dismembering the limbs of the baby and putting tubes inside the woman’s womb in order to suck the baby’s brains out. There’s a reason why doctors don’t remove the baby’s body all the way out of the womb when performing a partial-birth abortion. If he or she did, they would be charged with murder. Doctors who perform abortions need to be locked up.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Dec 2nd 2024, 6:33 PM

@Frank O’Hara: fantasy land Frank

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:17 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: What choice does the baby get ? Being Pro life is trying to control society ? What a stupid comment to make

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Dec 3rd 2024, 1:44 AM

@Soundy Sound: Winning a referendum might ease some people’s conscience, but it’s still killing babies.

Mute Nodon
    Favourite Nodon
    Dec 2nd 2024, 12:38 PM

Well done Aontú. They came very close in a few other constituencies. I may not agree with them on everything but they gave a voice to people who are not represented by other parties.

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:52 AM

That’s what we need, a party that wants to take away people’s rights and interfere in our private lives.

Mute troolll balonius
    Favourite troolll balonius
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:44 PM

How many PE teachers have you ever taken seriously?

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:39 AM

Head back to the 1950s where everyone knew their place and you had a fancy room set aside for when the priest visited? Where everyone HAD to go to mass in case their absence was noted and they were ostracised? Nobody was gay, Nobody got dovorced and women HAD to lose their jobs when they got married? No thanks.

Mute Aindriu MacCuartaigh
    Favourite Aindriu MacCuartaigh
    Dec 2nd 2024, 12:52 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: Complete and utter hyperbole. Calm down.

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Dec 3rd 2024, 1:41 AM

@FoxyBoiiYT: Take a pill.

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:40 AM

@P.J: that’s perfectly acceptable. I am proLife as to be otherwise is to be proDeath.

By the by, I am not leftist, nor rightist. Very much a centrist.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:14 PM

Well at least Tobin does not have to play the 15 positions in the field in the next game.

Mute Sea Spirit
    Favourite Sea Spirit
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:19 PM

Fine Gael got it majorly wrong in Mayo, too many candidates.

Mute Mary Conneely
    Favourite Mary Conneely

@Sea Spirit: not so sure, still have two seats so maintaining their quota.

Mute Sea Spirit
    Favourite Sea Spirit
    Dec 2nd 2024, 12:09 PM

@Mary Conneely: Not 100%, they could have got a 3rd in but split it.
    Too many candidates.

Mute Derek Moran
    Favourite Derek Moran
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:51 AM

Backwards and downwards!

Mute Nodon
    Favourite Nodon
    Dec 2nd 2024, 1:39 PM

Remember, Sinn Fein started with one TD and gradually built up.

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Dec 3rd 2024, 2:01 AM

RIP Malikika Al Tabib murdered by ? (insert details here) in New Ross.
    The Journal won’t allow an accurate description.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Dec 3rd 2024, 8:43 AM

@Ulick:
    Of course they won’t, all crimes involving non-Irish are to be hushed up.
    Rest in peace to the little girl, a truly horrific crime.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:39 PM

A FG – FF shocker