You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Plan to bring 12,000 short-term lets back into rental market delayed by EU Commission decision

The legislation required cannot be enacted until the end of the year.

THE PLAN TO bring 12,000 short-term let properties back into long-term use is set to be delayed due a decision by the EU Commission. 

At the end of last year, a new short-term let register was approved by the government with expectations it could bring thousands of properties back into the market this year.

Under the plan, properties advertised for short-term letting via online platforms, such as Airbnb, will be obliged to have a valid registration number with Fáilte Ireland.

Any host offering accommodation for periods of up to and including 21 nights will need to be registered.

Property owners will have to register via the online portal, input their details and confirm they have planning permission, where applicable.

Before advertising properties, booking platforms will be obliged to only advertise properties with a valid Fáilte Ireland registration number.

EU Commission delay

The register was one of the pillars in the government’s action plan to increase housing supply, however, the Department of Tourism has now revealed it could be delayed to the end of the year. 

The bill, to allow for the new register, was submitted to the EU Commission on 21 December as required under an EU Directive. 

Such a notification triggers a standstill period of three months during which the proposed Bill cannot be enacted.

The Department received a communication from the EU Commission yesterday stating that the period is to be extended until 22 December 2023.

In a statement, a spokesperson for the Tourism Department said it will now examine the communication from the EU Commission and engage with stakeholders on next steps.

“The Department will examine the communication from the EU Commission and that analysis will inform the timetable for enactment of the Short Term Tourist Letting Bill and the establishment of the Short Term Tourist Letting register.

“Queries relating to planning permission should be directed to the Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage,” they said. 

The delay is a significant headache for the government who had hoped to the legislation  passed by the end of the first quarter of 2023. Significant pressure is mounting on government to rapidly increase supply with the eviction ban due to cease at the end of this month. 

Housing Minister Darragh O’Brien previously told The Journal that the regulations were taking longer than he would have liked. He said the new scheme fulfills a promise of Housing for All and that if successful, will be a long-term solution to the lack of long-term letting properties available. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

22 Comments
    Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:37 AM

Penalty points should be solely for issues of safety. Speeding, seatbelts, phone use, bad tyres, etc… Forgeting your wallet is not a safety issue.

Mute Keith Fay
    Favourite Keith Fay
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:39 AM

@Tommy Roche: although unlicensed driving is a safety issue, i guess that’s their point. I still say no, give a few days to produce it at a station

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:54 AM

@Tommy Roche: Driving without an authorised reg plate: 3 points. Failure to drive on the left hand side of the road: 2 points.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:34 AM

@Bilbo Baggins: Driving on the wrong side of the motorway ? 3 points. Should actually be an instant 10yr ban !!!

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:47 AM

@Tommy Roche: why can’t the Gardaí just check the Motor Licensing database?

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:53 AM

@iohanx: Exactly.. Just like in every other remotely advanced country. The actual physical licence means nothing really. In the UK, if you’re stopped and produce your licence they will STILL check your details against the licence database. Same in the US.

Mute Cork Truck Driver
    Favourite Cork Truck Driver
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:12 AM

@Tommy Roche: It’s the contents of the wallet they’re only interested in.

Mute Steven Moens
    Favourite Steven Moens
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:20 AM

@Keith Fay: A driving licence is not the same as an entitlement to drive. Gardai should be equipped with means to verify one’s entitlement to drive there and then. Someone could be serving a period of disqualification and still be in possession of their physical licence because they failed to surrender it.

Mute Anthony
    Favourite Anthony
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:37 AM

@iohanx: no access to it

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Dec 11th 2018, 12:46 PM

@Tommy Roche: but you do have to produce your licence, that is the point

Mute Paul Whelan
    Favourite Paul Whelan
    Dec 11th 2018, 12:47 PM

@Tommy Roche: agree. The status currently is that if you can’t produce your license when asked, you are required to present it at a Garda station within 3 days. Anyone driving unlicensed is not able to do this.

This is enough. Anything more punitive like proposed automatic points is effectively motorist bashing.

Mute Dave C
    Favourite Dave C
    Dec 11th 2018, 1:35 PM

@Tommy Roche: Bullshit…if your driving you should have your licence with you. End of.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Dec 11th 2018, 2:16 PM

@Tommy Roche: Headline mentions fines, not points.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Dec 11th 2018, 3:22 PM

@Dave C: No issue with the requirement to have a licence at all times when driving. However, the issuing of penalty points for having the licence with you ? Absolutely ludicrous. Penalty points were brought in to make the roads safer. How does forgetting to bring your licence, or having it stolen or otherwise go missing, make you a less safe driver than the guy behind you who has his licence in his wallet ? In the case of a simple mistake such as forgetting a wallet, which we have all done on occasion, you get hit with 3 penalty points and an €80 fine. Gardai cannot even use their discretion on this because we’ve taken that option away from them over the penalty points mess. And brush up on your debating skills, would ya ?

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Dec 11th 2018, 3:27 PM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: So read the fupping article, not just the headline. Jesus !!!

Mute Peter O'Leary
    Favourite Peter O'Leary
    Dec 11th 2018, 5:02 PM

@Tommy Roche: Yep, dead right

Mute Dougal67
    Favourite Dougal67
    Dec 11th 2018, 6:31 PM

@Dave C: Stupid arsed comment, you’ve never ever forgot your wallet or left it in your wife’s car or worse she took it to borrow some cash without telling u and left it on counter!!!! All this means a fine and points and you agree?????????? How is that in any way making roads safer

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:33 AM

No. Get them to present it at a Garda station within a day or two. Beyond that, yes.

Mute Vas anth
    Favourite Vas anth
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:03 AM

Do ross carry his licence as passenger…. New campaign

Mute James Brady
    Favourite James Brady
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:03 AM

@Clifford Brennan: how do the gardaí know you are who you say you are?

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:38 AM

@James Brady: eh because your photo is on it.

Mute Hans Vos
    Favourite Hans Vos
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:27 AM

@Keelan O’neill: no good if you left it at home.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:59 AM

@James Brady: Well they can ask you for any form of ID or even a bank card to verify the name given. Or they can radio in to get the reg checked for ownership details.

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Dec 11th 2018, 12:48 PM

@Clifford Brennan: it is currently the law that you have to produce it when stopped, this turning up later is a courtesy given by the gardai

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:42 PM

@James Brady: Exactly

Mute Jason O Brien
    Favourite Jason O Brien
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:42 AM

I thought penalty points were introduced for safety issues and to save lives. Shane Ross needs to wake up and smell the coffee, anybody can forget a wallet or leave a license in another vehicle.

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:14 AM

@Jason O Brien: can we not get rid of Garda checks altogether? registration and facial recognition art every traffic junction. check if the car is taxed and insured, and if the driver can drive the car legally all from a camera with a bit of ai in the background. far fetched? they already do this is developed countries.

Mute brendan H
    Favourite brendan H
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:19 AM

@Jason O Brien: Exactly, I’ve sometimes had to jump into my wife’s car to bring the kid to football in the village etc if my one was blocked in, a Garda pulls me up and I arrive home 80 euros poorer and 3 points, that ross is just living in a bubble and needs to come into the real world.

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:56 AM

@Gulliver Foyle: Seriously you want facial recognition at every traffic light. Way too much surveillance. Also AI stop jumping on buzz words, there would be no need for AI in that scenario a simple program would suffice.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:38 AM

@Gulliver Foyle: “facial recognition art every traffic junction”

Seriously? You think the “I know my rights” brigade would be happy with that?

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Dec 11th 2018, 4:46 PM

@Jason O Brien: Or your wallet or handbag stolen – license has to be replaced

Mute helen walsh
    Favourite helen walsh
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:08 PM

@brendan H: I would not leave my licence in the car, it can be used for ID, even travel with Aer Lingus , so shouldn’t the rule be, to carry the licence, no more jumping in the car with the last few beans to purchase a loaf and a pint of milk, wallet containing licence required…

Mute Ger Buckley
    Favourite Ger Buckley

I don’t like mr ross one little bit. Fines for yawning while driving next I suppose

Mute Joe Timbs
    Favourite Joe Timbs
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:48 AM

Ross going after the low hanging fruit as usual. Much more important things in his portfolio requiring attention and resources. Many drivers carry their licence in the car but also have insurance to drive other cars and might not be able to switch. Produce within 2/3 days or be fined. Obvious problem is inability of Gardai to link production in station with record of detection!

Mute John Mallon
    Favourite John Mallon
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:50 AM

If your car is broken into and your license stolen, the Gardai will be of no help to you.

So if asked for your license you should be allowed seven days to show it at the Garda Station of your choice.

Mute Hans Vos
    Favourite Hans Vos
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:30 AM

@John Mallon: if you license is stolen then you can’t show it in seven days.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Favourite Karen Wellington
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:42 AM

@Hans Vos: but presumably you’ve also reported it stolen….to the gardaí…

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:10 AM

@Karen Wellington: You can’t get a replacement for a stolen licence without a signed/stamped declaration from a Garda that you have reported it stolen.

Mute Jonathan Baum
    Favourite Jonathan Baum
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:44 AM

@John Mallon: so keep it in your wallet. It’s the same size as a credit card.

Mute Micheál Clesham
    Favourite Micheál Clesham
    Dec 11th 2018, 12:04 PM

@Karen Wellington: Sure I was on my way to the Garda station to report it stolen…

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Dec 11th 2018, 4:47 PM

@Karen Wellington: not necessarily

Mute John Mallon
    Favourite John Mallon
    Dec 11th 2018, 5:52 PM

@John Mallon: My point is that the license is safer when stored in the home – harder to find even if you have a break-in there. Cars are routinely stolen and wallets can be mis-laid or nicked too. Would you carry your passport or a wad of cash in your car? The license is a valuable card and hard to replace if it is stolen. Also, there’s a criminal business in stolen driver’s licenses. But over the years I have been stopped and asked for my license and insurance and given ten days to produce it in my local station. No problem!

Mute Jorge Thompson
    Favourite Jorge Thompson
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:00 PM

@John Mallon: And get a receipt from AGS to say that you presented the licence. A couple of years ago I had to present my insurance cert and NCT. I had shown my licence to the AGS that stopped me and showed it again at the local garda station plus my insurance and NCT. However, AGS only recorded that I had shown my Driver’s licence. Caused havoc as I then had to go for a court appearance over 130kms away for not showing/having the insurance nor NCT. Cost me a night in a hotel plus return travel. The case was struck off at the court.

Mute Neil Curran
    Favourite Neil Curran
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:53 AM

Madness!Nothing wrong with present system if they could ensure Garda station is staffed. Why is Gov hassling decent motorists?

Mute Steven Moens
    Favourite Steven Moens
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:24 AM

@Neil Curran: You pick where to produce. Most district stations if not all are 24hr shops.

Mute Lynne Colson
    Favourite Lynne Colson
    Dec 11th 2018, 2:07 PM

My local Garda station is closed at 6 p.m. every day. The nearest Garda Station open 24 hours is a 30 minute drive away.

Mute William Bryan
    Favourite William Bryan
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:36 AM

No just start to fine people when the get in the car, fairer way of penalising people with cars

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:52 AM

@William Bryan: They already are at that buddy, every time we get into one.

Mute Dave Dublin
    Favourite Dave Dublin
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:38 AM

life is complicated , maybe they should have live systems that they can check themselves

Mute Chris Folliard
    Favourite Chris Folliard
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:45 AM

Another money racket idea. Suppose there will be fines for farting in your car next.

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch
    Dec 11th 2018, 12:12 PM

@Chris Folliard: In that case I’ll surrender the thing altogether!

Mute John Fairclough
    Favourite John Fairclough
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:06 AM

So, penalty points for not having your driving license with you? If you really do have a license you would produce it within the specified period. If you don’t have a license how on earth can you get points on it?

Mute Wade Wilson
    Favourite Wade Wilson
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:04 AM

Shane Ross, Minister for taxing people for anything he can think of

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:08 AM

Take a picture of it and put it on your mobile ,I shouldn’t be given toss Ross any ideas ,got a parking fine in Waterford Saturday morning at 10,30 am in Millars marsh no grace period for any one who three drinks the night before ,it used to be a 11 o’clock, so much for obey any new legislation laws ,do the right thing and you ll still get it in the neck ,made up my mind to do all shopping on line after that ,for one year town will loose 2 to 3 grand for it militant stance on parking

Mute TractorPat
    Favourite TractorPat
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:02 PM

@Gerard Heery: I’ve got a copy of my license in both my vehicles. Got pulled over during the summer and the Garda asked for my license, produced it only to be told that the copy wasn’t good enough. It has to be the original physical license and no copy of any kind is acceptable

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:40 AM

Fines for being forgetful? Ridiculous!

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:44 AM

@WoodlandBard: funny, some people use this same argument for not having tax or insurance.

Sure I forget to renew it Garda!

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:03 AM

@Barry Somers: Not having insurance is not the same as not having your license with you.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Favourite Karen Wellington
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:30 AM

@Barry Somers: not having a piece of paper (or plastic) on your person at all times isn’t the same as not having it at all. You should be allowed to present the license at a nominated garda station within an appropriate timeframe.

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Dec 11th 2018, 4:17 PM

@Do the Bort man: it is a legal requirement now

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:58 AM

All about the money …
    What’s problem forgetting wallet or license ? If not presented at Garda staion , say a week , then fine. The grab all they can government are really taking the P…

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:46 AM

Sick of our govt with their fines for everything. They’re destroying families that are already on tight budgets. Fines Levy’s Taxes. The people are broke, leave us alone.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Dec 11th 2018, 6:06 PM

@Kath Noonan: well said

Mute Murf
    Favourite Murf
    Dec 12th 2018, 7:38 AM

@Kath Noonan: That’s what you get when you vote for Clowns, remember to get it right next time!

Mute Rose Margaret
    Favourite Rose Margaret
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:35 AM

Why can’t the police just check(at the road side) online if a driver has a licence?
    Time to catch up with technology.

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Dec 11th 2018, 4:25 PM

@Rose Margaret: what ID do you present to prove that they are checking the correct name?

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Dec 11th 2018, 4:38 PM

@GClare: Date of Birth

Mute Rose Margaret
    Favourite Rose Margaret
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:08 PM

@GClare: most of the time, I’m sure, the car you are driving is registered in your name.

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:19 AM

What next !!! points for talking to your fellow passenger in the car. Gone beyond a joke now to be fair. “Sorry Garda I left my wallet in my jacket pocket I needed it for Identification to take out a new phone contract” “not good enough son here’s two penalty points and a fine”. We’ll soon be getting 40 lashes yet in public,so we won’t do it again

Mute Ter
    Favourite Ter

You should carry id with you at all times.produce your documents on request .No fine just lock them up in a re-education centre till the people realise they must at all times follow all orders

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:56 AM

@Ter: nazi state ,oh I meant Manny state

Mute Kat
    Favourite Kat
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:51 AM

It’s actually an offence already to not have your driving licence with you whilst driving. Don’t think Guards ever actually summons people to Court for it, usually just give them 10 days to produce.

Mute TechBuzz Ireland
    Favourite TechBuzz Ireland
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:37 AM

@Kat: how’s it an offence then if you’ve ten days. Ten days is quite sufficient to produce.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace

@TechBuzz Ireland: technically she’s right I think. The ten days to produce it is usually garda using discretion.

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:56 AM

@James Wallace: That’s what I thought as well but not according to this list

http://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Licensed%20Drivers/Penalty%20Point%20offences%20as%20of%2026%20October%202018.pdf

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Dec 11th 2018, 4:23 PM

@TomTraubert: road traffic act of 1994 says it is an offence but gardai can also allow 10 days for it to be presented at a station named by the person

Mute Kat
    Favourite Kat
    Dec 11th 2018, 5:09 PM

@TechBuzz Ireland: as James Wallace correctly stated below. Guards use their discretion.

Mute Dave Stack
    Favourite Dave Stack
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:07 AM

People of the Rathdown constituency hang yer heads in shame. How in Jesus did you let this guy into Leinster house.

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Dec 11th 2018, 4:26 PM

@Dave Stack: not all of us did, but it has made me consider moving!!!

Mute michael h
    Favourite michael h
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:50 AM

So you lose your wallet or have it stolen and there’s a chance of you getting an €80 fine on top of that? Shane Ross needs reining in.

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill

@michael h: he will self destruct, just let him ramble on … he hasn’t got the knack of being a politician, not gonna learn it now.

Mute Daniel O'Leary
    Favourite Daniel O'Leary
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:02 AM

If you lost your license….you would not be able to drive for a few weeks…what a load of BS

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:51 AM

@Daniel O’Leary: No, if you lost your licence you’d report it to the Gardai who will then issue you a letter to that effect. Life then goes on.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:19 PM

@TomTraubert: and the law is to carry your licence, not a piece of paper, so the proposal would see you fined even if the garda was able to validate that you had a current licence… this is why discretion is required, but any garda can currently fine you anyway if you are not in possession of your licence, just most use common sense., which seems to be lacking in this proposal

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:54 AM

Adolf Ross is at it again, he’s a lunatic.

Mute Stingray Jones
    Favourite Stingray Jones
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:08 AM

Ironically enough it’ll be someone who has already been put off the road who won’t care about penalty points but the poor eejit who just forgot their wallet gets landed with them. Surely the guards have a system that they can just search your name, DOB, etc and check your photo and if you have a valid licence?

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:17 AM

@Stingray Jones: If the gardaí had that much info, there’d be people on here giving out about data protection & how we’re becoming a police state. PULSE has information on driving licences, but it’s reliant on the NDLS providing accurate & timely info. It’s the same with car ownership details & insurance; other entities have to provide the information, but are reluctant to do so in real time.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:44 AM

And the tax,./ revenue wheel keeps spinning.

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Favourite Marie Broomfield
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:20 AM

Somebody has to stop this man! Out!

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:49 AM

Why not crack down on the vast amount of illegal yellow IE reg plate cars, full tinted windows, modified exhausts that you can hear half a mile away that break night time noise limits, the amount of “one eye gunners” as I call them, driving around with one headlight blown found on every secondary road in the country at night, or those ultra bright white dims that will leave you blind for 5 seconds after they pass you?

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers

Once you have the credit card sized driving licence then yes, if you have the old style licence it’s a pain in the arse to carry.

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey
    Dec 11th 2018, 1:07 PM

@Barry Somers: surely we have a centralised system that can validate if a driver has a licence so why should someone be required to produce it?

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:41 PM

@Me_a_monkey: A good question but what if I give a friends name when asked, and the friend produces it… the licence is a form of ID and, if no other ID is presented how can the garda figure out and confirm who you are?

I am not against technology and 99.99% of people stopped would not give a false name, except those who have no licence at all, and how can you validate who a user is as there is no law, unlike other counties, to carry an identity card at all times.

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:26 AM

Can we have a general election so the minister can see what people think of him.

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:10 AM

What else will the Blueshirts come up with

Mute Conrad Shields
    Favourite Conrad Shields
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:59 AM

Definitely not. I never carried it when had the old fold out version. When got new credit card one in 2016, I do have in wallet. However, if my wallet was to be stolen, I shouldn’t be penalised for not having it.

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:06 AM

@Conrad Shields: Hunda per cent !

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:44 AM

Fines for driving around with a L plate on when you are NOT a learner – or even worse, fines for having a L plate on AND a N plate. The plates, both L and N are to indicate who is actually driving and must only be displayed when that driver is behind the wheel.
    Why is that so hard to grasp?

Mute Hans Vos
    Favourite Hans Vos
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:13 AM

@Dave Harris: as far as I know you are allowed to drive a car with n plates if you are a experienced driver.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Dec 11th 2018, 7:27 PM

@Hans Vos: But why are there so many with BOTH L and N plates? It’s just plain stupid

Mute Mary Dunphy
    Favourite Mary Dunphy
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:57 AM

The price .being paid by the ordinary citizens for FG”s action in importing a mixed bag of rabble Independents into Government in order to remain in power will be long felt. Shane Ross obviously dreams of a biker’s Utopia where car owners are forbidden to drive just have cars as a prestige possession but continue to pay tax etc so bikers have nice safe roads to hog unimpeded by nuisence motorists. Gone well past time for a general election.

Mute Mary King
    Favourite Mary King
    Dec 11th 2018, 3:29 PM

@Mary Dunphy:
    Or else have a driver, preferably paid for by the citizens !

Mute Dave Stack
    Favourite Dave Stack
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:13 AM

People of the Rathdown constituency hang yer heads in shame. How in Jesus did ye vote this guy into Leinster house?

Mute Luke Lee
    Favourite Luke Lee
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:43 AM

What a load of toss. So basically you could get penalty points for misplacing your licence or just leaving it at home by mistake. Road safety my arse. Shane Ross is a complete and utter sausage.

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:59 AM

@Luke Lee: please dont insult sausaged….

Mute TechBuzz Ireland
    Favourite TechBuzz Ireland

No. For security reasons alone leaving your licence in glove box or wherever and you’re not bound by law to carry ID.

Mute John Declan
    Favourite John Declan
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:35 AM

Money Money Money in Leo’s world.

Mute Vin
    Favourite Vin
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:18 AM

Your insurance company punishes you so badly for penalty points. Its ridiculously unfair to give points for being forgetful.

Why is it so hard to have a database with peoples pictures and the registrations of vehicles they own/drive

Mute Liam Neeson
    Favourite Liam Neeson
    Dec 11th 2018, 1:30 PM

Zero tolerance towards the motorist yet a lad with 50 previous convictions can go to court tell a sob story and walk away Scot free.

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Dec 11th 2018, 2:42 PM

@Liam Neeson: they dont even need a ‘sob story ‘ just a word from a local td or priest or even just being from a ‘good family’ is enough to get them off ‘scot free ‘ !

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:29 AM

Its a money grab; the old system is adequate and fair

Mute Susie
    Favourite Susie
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:26 AM

This is ridiculous. The government should try living in the real world where many of us juggle work, parenting, and making our wages stretch as far as possible! It is easy in the rush of things to forget a wallet and if you leave it in the car it could cause issues if you are driving another car. Stop punishing us for trying to do the best we can with what we’ve got! The current system is fine, even if they want to reduce it to producing the licence at a station within 24 or 48 hours.

Mute Mary Walshe
    Favourite Mary Walshe
    Dec 11th 2018, 12:04 PM

So if I’m dropping my son to training or my daughter to her friends house, without my purse obviously, unless I’m going to the shop for something, I can get three points and an €80 fine?
    Ridiculous! It’s time we took a leaf out of the French people’s book and started to stand up for ourselves.
    Sure they can do what they like and don’t they know it!

Mute Liam Meade
    Favourite Liam Meade
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:48 AM

proof of qualification at all times even though the licence is soooo heavy n awkward to carry although everyone seems t be able to carry their mobile everywhere specially the car and then theres the keys oh my god there so heavy n pointy and chaff yer leg when their in yer pocket then sometimes ye forget the colour of yer car not being able to show you are a qualified driver is a safety issue yis numpty self centered clowns…no offence

Mute Seamus Murphy
    Favourite Seamus Murphy

@Liam Meade: I was just waiting on someone perfect to show up! Open your eyes and see this for what it is, a money making racket!

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne

@Liam Meade: But then shouldn’t it be that the guards prevent you from driving and remove the vehicle. Simply saying go on then here’s your fine and points but you can drive off dangerously now.

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Dec 11th 2018, 12:03 PM

@Darren Byrne: and watch out for the checkpoint down the road….

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Dec 11th 2018, 12:21 PM

@Liam Meade: offense taken anyway. So you’ve never hopped into your car without your license on you? Really.? Or your missus never left her handbag at home, stressed about picking up the kids? I carry mine, but there’s always a what if. This could easily be handled by pulse or an even electronic version in your phone’s wallet, confirmed by producing at station later. This is more stupid thinking by this lot … their yellow jacket moment is no too far away, I think.

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Dec 11th 2018, 2:34 PM

@Greg Blake: we can even get the yellow jackets for free from the r.s.a. !!

Mute wacker macker
    Favourite wacker macker
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:16 AM

I’m driving 50 years and have been asked to produce my license once. It’s well worn out by now time to get a new one.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:34 AM

@wacker macker: Ha, you buy one of those 50yr ones from the car boot sale ?

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:52 AM

Amazing how a talented , interesting, intelligent man can turn into a useless imbecile after becoming involved in main stream politics.

Mute Vas anth
    Favourite Vas anth

Introduce tag system like driver link app, everyone is registered and license , those not fine them

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott

There’s new technology in the form of handsets been handed out to Gardai which can tell right away a drivers licence particulars is valid or not .
    Most people will have been issued with the credit
    card type driving licence and very easy to keep on you. Penalty points should not be used to punish someone who may have forgotten to have it with them.

Mute Michael Kehoe
    Favourite Michael Kehoe

More crap from West Brit Ross

Mute Camilius Woolbottom
    Favourite Camilius Woolbottom
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:13 AM

Why can’t we not have A.N.P.R. Cameras all over the place. Then the gardai would know where cars with markers on them are.

Markers for no Insurance, Tax, NCT, disqualified drivers, etc, etc

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace

A fine but not penalty points, unless it’s an unaccompanied learner or novice, in which case, points.

Mute Shelly Hannigan
    Favourite Shelly Hannigan
    Dec 11th 2018, 1:00 PM

@James Wallace: I understand why learners should be fined as driving unaccompanied is already illegal anyway. But why novice drivers? What does experience on the road have to do with having a card on you or not?

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Dec 11th 2018, 12:34 PM

I don’t keep my licence in my pocket its always in the glove box of one of my vehicles so its only in one at a time.A unfair fine and money racket that will not gain any extra popularity for the police.
    I can not put here in writing what I think of Ross as a minister as it would not be allowed.

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:27 AM

Shane Ross, minister for fines, this nanny state of ours is a joke, what’s the big deal with us not having a license on us, put a heavy fine instead on those that don’t have a driving license period,

Mute Bewarethebeardz
    Favourite Bewarethebeardz
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:50 AM

No, but they should be able to press charges against Callinan. A tangent I know but is there to be no justice? Anyone for the last of the breathalysers? Rant over….

Mute JesusMoreBullshit
    Favourite JesusMoreBullshit
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:49 AM

The new speeding proposals are joke , get the signs correctly in the first place for example signs that say 120 then a few meters away goes to 80 that is really just shooting goldfish and a scam

Mute james s
    Favourite james s

What is wrong with people. Leave the license in the car then you can’t forget it. It’s a license too drive. But some people would prefer to take time out to go down to their local garda station possibly Q up, fill out some paperwork explaining when and where they were stopped. And the garda has to follow up that you presented your license.
    Yeah that’s a lot easier than having your license with you.

Mute izotope
    Favourite izotope
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:14 AM

@james s: I have 3 vehicles o my own, plus I drive my wife’s car and work vehicles. Am I expected to keep my licence on me at all times? What the hell is wrong with you that you think it justifiable to have someone produce a card on request?

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:50 AM

@james s: so car get stolen with licence in glove compartment you technically can drive any car until you get the new license , flying pigs with this hogwash

Mute james s
    Favourite james s
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:13 AM

@izotope: I suppose on the off chance you could bring your wallet with you and maybe put your license into it problem solved, or if you like spending time travelling to the Garda station knock yourself out. PS it’s a legal requirement to have your drivers license with you when you are driving a vehicle. I wonder when you go on your holidays and you rent a car do you bother bringing your drivers license with you? Or would you just tell the cops sure it’s grand I’ll produce it in the station next week.

Mute james s
    Favourite james s
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:56 AM

@Gerard Heery: with that logic you should not bring your passport with you when you fly just in case you lose it or you are mugged. Actually come to think of it don’t leave it at home because you’re house could burn down and then what? No better off putting everything into safety deposit box in the bank. But what if the bank is robbed oh no. Excuse after excuse. Just bring the dam license with you when you drive. I’ll bet you never forget your phone!

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Dec 11th 2018, 2:37 PM

@james s: because your driving licence is also an excepted means of personal identification – if someone gets hold of it ,it could be used to acces all sorts of information about you . identity theft !!

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Dec 11th 2018, 4:34 PM

@izotope: yes

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Dec 11th 2018, 6:20 PM

@james s: you’ve obviously never been mugged ,i was like a march hare when I was younger money hidden in shoes being chased through the streets of London ,

Mute Brian Tierney
    Favourite Brian Tierney
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:29 AM

Give drivers an option of storing it on an app on your smartphone….oh hang on I can hear the Healy Rae’s objecting that there constituents don’t have smart phones, are unable to use smart phones after 5 midweek wind down pints or it require them to have more frequent “chats” with the local superintendent to have points quashed for there hard working voters.

Mute Alan ODoherty
    Favourite Alan ODoherty

Its unlikely that almost 100% of people would leave home without their Mobile phone… so how difficult is it to also bring their Licence ??… Definitely , make it an offence to drive without their Licence

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Dec 11th 2018, 12:36 PM

@Alan ODoherty: almost all drivers do carry their wallets or purse with license in it. They shouldn’t be overly punished for the occasional lapse, lost wallet, stolen bag etc. and the failure of the state to use technology to check. The hassle of having to present at the station is enough of a reprimand for any genuine case.

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Dec 11th 2018, 4:36 PM

@Alan ODoherty: it is an offence

Mute John Taylor
    Favourite John Taylor
    Dec 11th 2018, 2:43 PM

I drive a lorry and a choice 6 vans at work. I own a car van and motorcycle so no it’s a terrible idea. I’d be putting in for a new license every month because of losing it.

Mute Bob Dalchan
    Favourite Bob Dalchan
    Dec 11th 2018, 5:18 PM

He’ll soon fine you for sneezing while driving! This guy has lost his marbles.

Mute John Scully
    Favourite John Scully
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:28 PM

The yellow vest comes to mind in this situation because of tax tax tax

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:54 AM

It’s not like the driving license is the size and weight of a rock!
    Just carry it, get the credit card license, no excuses!
    Too many unlicensed drivers on the roads and others on 5th provisionals.

But as usual going by the comments on here the government is damned if they do and damned if they don’t!

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill

@Dotty Dunleary: People have enough to be worrying about , we are human , we forget things , everyone needs to cut a little slack , as
    Omg as they have a licence and that should be immediately accessible on a data base for any Garda … or are we still catching up and penalising people for our lack of modern tech ? Same with the TV licence campaign.. they KNOW if you don’t have a licence.

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:04 AM

@Terry Cahill: Sorry , Im drunk… they know that too !

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Dec 11th 2018, 12:02 PM

@Terry Cahill: People driving cars aren’t children, just carry the license in your wallet!

Mute J. Reid
    Favourite J. Reid
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:52 PM

Minister Shane Ross is a highly unreasonable man. His proposals take no account of, and show no empathy with, the pressures that ordinary, everyday motorists are under.

His latest road traffic proposals are obscene and excessive, and should not be approved by the Oireachtas.

Mute eddie horgan
    Favourite eddie horgan
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:19 AM

Of course they should. Having to present later at a Garda station is a waste of resources, ours and garda

Mute Pius Flynn
    Favourite Pius Flynn
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:47 AM

This idiot needs to be gotten rid of by whatever means that are necessary.

Mute John Morris
    Favourite John Morris

This is a stupid law. Ross is a bully. We need to protest more like the French

Mute Cork Truck Driver
    Favourite Cork Truck Driver
    Dec 11th 2018, 4:20 PM

The one question i would love to know is how much do the state take in every year in fines, not fines issued but actually paid, there will always be people in society who refuse to pay even if ordered by a court of law.

Mute Dave Magee
    Favourite Dave Magee
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:08 AM

f off, any way these w*nkers can make more money, f’ing gangsters

Mute dave mc nevin
    Favourite dave mc nevin
    Dec 11th 2018, 7:25 PM

Why dosen.t Leo and co just micro chip us all that’s all there short off

Mute Dougal67
    Favourite Dougal67
    Dec 11th 2018, 6:36 PM

Have your wallet stolen and it’s now 2/3 weeks off work lovely idea Shane what a plank

Mute Oretani Wildlife
    Favourite Oretani Wildlife
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:54 AM

Why not introduce mandatory microchips in people like in dogs? Everything could be on it from driver’s license to passport and health/birth/marriage records to credit cards. Let’s go all out.

Mute Fernando Fernandez
    Favourite Fernando Fernandez
    Dec 11th 2018, 2:12 PM

If you are driving you should be able to prove you passed your driving test.
    Agree with the fine. What is it you go to a garda station and show it in the next few days? C’mon, what a joke!
    Ireland, leeway country.

Mute Micheal Dinneen
    Favourite Micheal Dinneen
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:51 AM

It is already an offence not to carry your licence. Current penalty is summons to court and fine set by Judge

Mute Rusty3578
    Favourite Rusty3578
    Dec 11th 2018, 5:06 PM

Too many laws in this country of ours it’s up to the drivers them self’s to slow down or end up d.ead there should b no fines or penalties it’s all money .

Mute Kieran Woods
    Favourite Kieran Woods
    Dec 11th 2018, 8:20 PM

There should be no requirement to carry your licence if a basic database system was used. This is third world thinking.

Mute Dougal67
    Favourite Dougal67
    Dec 11th 2018, 6:28 PM

Who clicked yes and why??? If I forget my license I get points and a fine!!! Never had an accident in over 30 years driving motorbikes cars buses, but if I leave my wallet in wife’s car and go out in mine I get points and a fine!!! Most stupid idea I’ve ever read and yet people clicked yes!!!!!!!! How is that making roads safer??? Don’t have license produce it tomorrow or else simple? But that’s not convenient because A/ half police stations closed down!!!
    B/ They wouldn’t get their nice little fine
    money!!!

Joke of a country absolute joke, and the sheep Click “yes”!!!!!!

Mute Colonel Grant
    Favourite Colonel Grant
    Dec 11th 2018, 1:54 PM

Chickens coming home to roost. Too much emphasis on discretionary policing in this country. Time for zero tolerance, Prosecute, Prosecute, Prosecute. Try offering the usual lame excuses when stopped in the U.K , France , Germany, etc.

Mute BAINNE ATHA CLIATH
    Favourite BAINNE ATHA CLIATH
    Dec 11th 2018, 2:11 PM

Thumb print all drivers starting with taxi drivers. Those with nothing to hide have nothing to fear.

Mute Mr Mystery
    Favourite Mr Mystery
    Dec 11th 2018, 9:52 PM

Should you be allowed fly without a passport?

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:52 PM

@Mr Mystery: you are allowed to fly without a passport within Ireland and to the UK – there is no legal requirement to carry a passport – the airlines implement a system of identification that uses a passport but that is at the discretion of the airline as they try to ensure that the person named on the ticket is the passenger. Many countries also accept a national identity card in lieu of a passport.

In fact there is no legal requirement to have a passport to fly, the requirement is to enter foreign countries that require people to present passports upon arrival to enter. Again airlines use passports to identify passengers and also to ensure that they are not fined for landing a passenger without a valid passport upon arrival at their destination.

Also there are occasions when passports are stolen when abroad and travel documents can be arranged to get the person home……… so there is a lot of discretion with the authorities as to what they will accept, just as there is in the current system whereby a garda can decide to allow a person present a driving licence at a later date.

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Favourite Shea Fitzgerald
    Dec 12th 2018, 7:27 AM

Absolutely not! Don’t tell me the minister never made the mistake of leaving home without something in his life. Proper operation of the current system where a person can present at a station which they must nominate within 10 days should be sufficient for policing licence dodging.

Mute JesusMoreBullshit
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:48 AM

The new speeding proposals are god damn joke , get the signs correctly in the first place for example signs that say 120 then a few meters away goes to 80 that is really just shooting goldfish and a god damn scam

Mute Conor Sweetman
    Favourite Conor Sweetman
    Dec 11th 2018, 2:09 PM

How about storing all this information on a “computer” or an “app”?

Mute Thomas Linehan
    Favourite Thomas Linehan
    Dec 12th 2018, 4:31 PM

They know from laptop whether your taxed and insured why not include the license on this

Mute JesusMoreBullshit
    Dec 11th 2018, 11:49 AM

The new speeding proposals are stupid joke , get the signs correctly in the first place for example signs that say 120 then a few meters away goes to 80 that is really just shooting goldfish and a stupid scam

Mute Charles McCarthy
    Favourite Charles McCarthy
    Dec 11th 2018, 2:39 PM

I’m no fan of ross, but to be fair its the norm in many countries. The old I forgot my homework is a bit of a cop out. Stick it on the underside of the sun visor and forget about it. The guard can then deal with issue there and then.

Mute Soeren Kuehling
    Favourite Soeren Kuehling
    Dec 11th 2018, 2:16 PM

I never have my license with me unless i drive to outside of dublin since garda is only looking.for tax and insurance discs

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Dec 11th 2018, 3:04 PM

Ross will get his cum oppence

Mute John Quinn
    Favourite John Quinn
    Dec 11th 2018, 5:10 PM

If a driver hasn’t an insurance disc on the windscreen they should be fined on the spot… Substantially

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:58 PM

@John Quinn: really? If a driver has driving of other cars on his insurance policy then he may be driving a friends car or even a car on a test drive in advance of purchase. Further, garage insurance policies do not issue insurance discs for every vehicle that a garage employee may drive during the course of a year. And lastly, what happens if I change my can and insurance, can I not drive until I receive a new disc in the post?

This is why discretion is essential n handling motoring laws. That said I think that anyone drive a car uninsured should have the car confiscated and a big fine and maybe even a one month ban, not to mention penalty points…. so I agree with the sentiment, just not “always on the spot” part.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Dec 11th 2018, 2:57 PM

Ross the man with all the rules what a arsehole

Mute Peter Buchanan
    Favourite Peter Buchanan
    Dec 12th 2018, 6:21 AM

Only if the Garda has a ‘reasonable’ suspicion that you are not who you say you are

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:44 PM

While you are required to carry your licence with you and it is an offence not to, there must be some discretion left to the Gardai as to what course of action they take. The purpose is to ensure that only people with full licences (or learners who are accompanied) are in possession of a licence for the vehicle they are driving. Allowing them to produce it ensures that the spirit of the law is enforced.

After all you drive to the shops and your wallet or bag is stolen – what are you to do?
    Drive home without it or leave the car where it happens to be until you can get a replacement licence or get it towed home….. please leave some discretion to the gardai on this one.

Mute Tomas Paul Griksas
    Favourite Tomas Paul Griksas
    Dec 11th 2018, 3:00 PM

But there so many people who dont go to garda station to show the license. So it should be a YES.if you cant keep yourself organised thats your issue. Nohate.good guys always get hurt because a bad guys mistake!

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Dec 12th 2018, 2:07 PM

Just another of Shane Ross stupid dreams next step for the government is making workers hand over there pay packets to the government

Mute Jimmy Brandon
    Favourite Jimmy Brandon
    Dec 11th 2018, 10:42 AM

Time to don the yellow vests.

Mute Ray Noble
    Favourite Ray Noble
    Dec 11th 2018, 1:12 PM

Rubbish. Concentrate the guards minds on stopping speeding, tail-gating, using mobiles while driving, learner drivers unaccompanied, not wearing seatbelts. All more serious. Surely it should be easy enough to check the computer database to confirm if someone has a licence. Another easy money-making scam.