You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taoiseach and Fine Gael leader Simon Harris and candidate Noel Rock meeting and talking to students in DCU while out canvassing in the general election.

Whistle-stop Dublin canvass sees Harris quizzed by students and confronted on homelessness

Public transport, housing, and safety at night in the city centre were just some of the issues raised by students.

SIMON HARRIS WENT back to college today.

In a pitstop tour of Dublin City University (DCU), there was commotion as word spread across campus that the Taoiseach was doing a quick walkabout canvass. 

As he walked through one building, he was continually stopped by students who were eager to quiz Harris on some of the election issues that matter to them. 

Public transport, housing, and safety at night in the city centre were just some of the issues raised.

One first year student studying Social Science, Cultural Innovation and Politics didn’t let his big plate of chicken goujons and chips he was carrying prevent him from stopping to say hello to the Taoiseach.

Harris’ visit to DCU comes a couple of days after Harris revealed that the Fine Gael manifesto will include a commitment to phasing out third-level fees. 

“I’ve got strong views on that and when you see our manifesto at the weekend, you’ll see how we intend to do that too,” he said during an Instagram live. 

Asked what Harris will do to help with the cost-of-living crisis by one student, Harris said there should be “no ifs or buts”, stating that he wanted to abolish third level fees.

Fees have been reduced from €3,000 to €2,000 over the last two years. 

943Fine Gael Elections_90716841 Simon Harris speaking to students in DCU today. RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

He said student accommodation was a “nut” he tried to crack as Higher Education Minister, stating that his party has a target of delivering 2,500 student accommodation units.

One student asked the Taoiseach if that was just for Dublin alone, for which Harris replied that the figure is actually for the entire country.

Safety in Dublin city centre

The issue of safety was raised by one student who asked what Fine Gael will do in government to make students feel safe when they are out in the city centre. 

Harris cited that when he became Taoiseach he set up the Dublin City taskforce to look at issues of safety, but also other issues impacting the city centre. He said it requires more gardaí on the beat, but also greater enforcement. 

The Taoiseach said it is important the students can get home safely at night, referencing the need for public transport, taxis and better street lighting. The use of the GPO was also a matter he referenced in his chat with this student, stating that it should be reimagined so as to bring “life” back into O’Connell Street. 

He urged the students to take a look at the taskforce’s plan, stating that they should get in touch if they have any feedback on it. 

Another student questioned the Taoiseach, stating that Fine Gael have been in power for almost 14 years now, so how do they know he will implement the plans this time around? 

One student asked about public transport links, stating that it is taking him upwards of an hour and a half to get in to college every day, with Harris acknowledging that it is a long commute.

A student also raised the conflict in Ukraine with the Taoiseach. Harris said Ireland would always stand by Ukraine.

taoiseach-simon-harris-and-minister-paschal-donohoe-canvassing-voters-on-capel-street-in-dublin-picture-date-thursday-november-14-2024 Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Confronted about homelessness

After speaking to college students, Harris made his way to Capel Street to canvass with Dublin Central candidate Paschal Donohoe, where he was confronted about the homelessness crisis.

Kieran Allen, who is a former lecturer and a member of People Before Profit, said Harris should be ashamed at the homelessness figures, which have risen to almost 15,000 people.

“You have got 4,000 children in this country who are homeless and it’s a direct result of your policies, and you should be ashamed of yourself,” Allen said.

Screenshot - 2024-11-14T171327.553 Kieran Allen, who is a former lecturer and a member of People Before Profit, speaking to Harris on Capel St today. PA PA

Harris said that when the eviction ban was in place, during the Covid-19 pandemic, homelessness did not fall.

Allen said: “Are you joking, are you? You were told in the Dail that if the eviction ban was removed, homelessness would increase.

“And don’t give me your ‘I am very concerned bit’, you actually voted to end an eviction ban.”

Harris said everyone in Ireland is concerned about homelessness, but his main concern was the type of policies that would resolve the issue.

Earlier in the canvass, a passing cyclist shouted “gee-up, Sinn Fein” to which Harris said “bring it on”.

With reporting by Press Association

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

57 Comments
    Mute F1rYnpWc
    Favourite F1rYnpWc
    Nov 14th 2024, 5:26 PM

FG have wrecked havoc on our society with their chaotic immigration, housing crisis, runaway rents, mass emigration of our youth.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Nov 14th 2024, 5:55 PM

@F1rYnpWc: Human nature is the same everywhere. It just has regional ‘dialects’. Most Irish people think in the short term and what they stand to gain, not what would be more constructive on the longer term and for the larger society. We effectively elected FG & FF by giving them enough votes and/or believing they would not go into coalition…or just being apathetic. It is part of psychology to cast the wrong-doers as another part of society and to identify ourselves with the perceived ‘good’ elements in society. That allows emotional self-justification, while also avoiding having to do anything different. Blame the public as much as politicians or vested interests.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Nov 14th 2024, 5:58 PM

@Numinous20111: I’ll repeat the Anthony De Mello quote I’ve posted on this website several times before. “How could you let me down, when I trusted you so?!…..Come off it! We never trust anyone. That’s part of my and your society’s brainwashing. It’s more accurate to say that your judgement about that person was lousy. That’s not very flattering to you.”

Mute JP Fox
    Favourite JP Fox
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:48 PM

@Numinous20111: Not often I agree with you but you’re correct here Sir. In their defence, they’ve been left with very little alternative. The calibre of politicians and political parties in Ireland is atrocious. If you gathered together the very best of them all you might stand a chance. That would be our only hope for a chance at a better Ireland.

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:58 PM

@F1rYnpWc: No such thing as mass emigration. Thinking it’s better elsewhere is being clueless.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 14th 2024, 7:36 PM

@F1rYnpWc: No one cares about immigration really tho

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 14th 2024, 9:28 PM

@F1rYnpWc: FG are with out doubt the best thing to ever happen in this wonderful country. We are truly blessed to have the peoples party FG :)

Mute Alan d
    Favourite Alan d
    Nov 15th 2024, 12:19 AM

@F1rYnpWc: Yawn

Mute Tony Murphy
    Favourite Tony Murphy
    Nov 15th 2024, 6:10 AM

@F1rYnpWc: saying in the polls that fg are way out in front. Who does these polls? Never heard of anyone being asked. Hopefully they are in for a big shock

Mute Bomber
    Favourite Bomber
    Nov 14th 2024, 5:39 PM

Students should be aware that the words come out from Harris mouth are only for election purposes. FG has had 14 years that never solved our problems of homelessness, lack of students accommodation, the health system, crime in our towns and cities, the high cost of living, road policing, transport and so on.

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 14th 2024, 9:29 PM

@Bomber: sensational Simon they call him :)

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Nov 14th 2024, 5:45 PM

Most of those students will be forced out of this Kip and I wouldn’t blame them. Ireland is set to be a major dumping ground for asylum seekers in the next few years, 90 sites earmarked for IPAS sites around the county. If that’s not a plantation I don’t know what is.

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:15 PM

@Freda Peeple: that is not plantation! That is Islamisation which makes matters totally different from plantation.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:36 PM

@Sergej Simonov: Ahhhh that’s grand, That puts my mind at ease Sergej, the enrichment they have brought to Europe cannot be measured. We have been crying out for an oppressive religion for decades! We are going to party like it’s 1599

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:59 PM

@Freda Peeple: feel free to leave.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Nov 14th 2024, 8:13 PM

@Alex: I’m going nowhere, im waiting for the purge to kick off.

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Nov 14th 2024, 8:14 PM

@Sergej Simonov: islamaplantation possibly?

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 14th 2024, 9:30 PM

@Freda Peeple: vermin like you will be the first to go in a purge. We don’t need incels like you lol

Mute Alan d
    Favourite Alan d
    Nov 15th 2024, 12:23 AM

@Freda Peeple: Do everyone a favour and go live somewhere else and post under your own name . Clown

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Nov 14th 2024, 5:23 PM

and Students do you think Simon Harris is actually listening to you? He didn’t even complete his 3rd Level Education.

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:03 PM

@Tommy: I really hope the Monk wipes the floor with Paschal. Go Gerry Go!!!

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 14th 2024, 9:30 PM

@Buster Lawless: it’s Mary looper that in trouble, same voters for hutch and sk um fein

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Nov 14th 2024, 11:10 PM

@Buster Lawless: literally

Mute morgan duggan
    Favourite morgan duggan

Simple question Simon.Why were 500 student accommodation places in Sligo removed from circulation and given to IPAS.How does that help students.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Nov 14th 2024, 5:49 PM

After seeing him last night on tv can anyone really take him seriously, he is like a nervous job applicant being interviewed for a position in the post office.

Mute did you every wonder
    Favourite did you every wonder
    Nov 14th 2024, 5:30 PM

I’m sure he used the term ‘unacceptable’ somewhere along the way. Means nothing as usual with no actions.

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Nov 14th 2024, 5:57 PM

@did you every wonder: or this wonderful tolerated and that won’t be tolerated, he’s just a mouthy individual talking down to everyone and doing absolutely nothing, he cannot be forgiven for the scoliosis children neglect

Mute Niall Moonan
    Favourite Niall Moonan
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:45 PM

@did you every wonder: or “let me be clear”

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:21 PM

Rabbit caught in the headlights springs to mind…..least leaky could bluff his way out of tough situations or have someone throw a milkshake his way to make him get sympathy but tea boy harris is def the worst of the FG spice boys. What Edna kenny ever saw in this lad is baffling, he wouldnt last 5 mins in the real world

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 14th 2024, 9:34 PM

@Tom Newell: it’s good tho laugh at you hate filled clowns lol

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Nov 14th 2024, 5:45 PM

Harris is a total fraud. He thinks running around like a duracell bunny making promises he has no intention of ever keeping will see his disgusting FG party win a landslide.He makes me physically sick.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Nov 14th 2024, 5:46 PM

@Gerry Lamont: He is an insufferable plick of a man

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless

@Gerry Lamont:
    a disgusting weasel liar

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 14th 2024, 9:32 PM

@Gerry Lamont: fantastic that he makes you feel that way, long may it continue:)

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:55 PM

Really hope people go out and dont vote ff or fg in . The country is in a bad way thank to their bad job. They got long enough in power.

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Nov 14th 2024, 5:41 PM

He has stolen their dreams. A wicked, wicked man is Simon Harris.

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:57 PM

@Buster Lawless: 100 percent future generations pay price ff and fg work over last decade and a half

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 14th 2024, 9:33 PM

@Buster Lawless: sensational Simon is our greatest ever leader :)

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Nov 14th 2024, 5:43 PM

Genuine question: On the voting card, am I better off to leave the candidates I don’t want to see elected blank? Or do I rank them all top to bottom in order of preference?

If they’re on the card, even at the bottom, is that still a potential vote down the line on however many counts later?

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Nov 14th 2024, 5:49 PM

@Ross: Yes, giving candidates even a low preference vote could potentially come into play. Do not give any candidate you do not want elected a preference. Don’t do it even if you believe putting them at the bottom of your preferences is making a statement about what you think of them. Some candidates get elected when the counting process goes on for a long time and low preferences come into play, or when a candidate wins on a very small margin.

Mute Bernard Connolly
    Favourite Bernard Connolly
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:06 PM

@Ross: Ross there is two S/F candidates in my area I’m going 1and 2 that’s it no more don’t put any more

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:10 PM

@Ross: Leave them blank. You don’t want to help elect them on the 15th count.

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:15 PM

@John Smith: but if you leave them blank how safe is it? Could someone fill in the blanks….it’s a terrible thing to think this but I really don’t trust this Gov or media one bit!

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:27 PM

@Ross: I would say you should rank them and then complete the ballot paper based on your ranking. You can omit your lowest ranked candidate/party from the ballot, but don’t omit any more than that – if you would truly like your second from last candidate to be elected ahead of your last, then give that second from last a preference. Eg your second from last may be Aontu, your last Nationalist, then make sure you give Aontu that preference…….this example is of course for illustrative purposes only and in no way reflects the views of the author

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:40 PM

@Bernard Connolly: no!!!! Surely you have preferences outside of SF? Like, would you prefer Soc Dems over FG? If so, then give the Soc Dems a preference. Do this all the way down to at least second from last

Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:43 PM

@Bernard Connolly: by all mean Sinn Féin 1and 2, then continue all with all the other candidates on the left.

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Nov 14th 2024, 7:14 PM

@Emer McDonnell: I work at the counts. When the boxes are opened the counter,.and more importantly, the votes are under constant supervision from party representatives, the public and media. The government have nothing to do with the count, they’re organized by the county registrar.

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 14th 2024, 9:35 PM

Don’t give the shinner vermin a single vote :)

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Nov 14th 2024, 7:17 PM

Bit rich to see SF totally condemning Hutch for his gangland activities. You couldn’t make this up lol

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 14th 2024, 9:36 PM

@Alan: hutch and SF are the same thing. Subhuman

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Nov 14th 2024, 8:18 PM

In reality, when you think about it, Harris saying Hutch has brought misery and criminality to Dublin, is a bit like the kettle calling the pot black. Afterall, Harris and his ilk, and I include all politicians who have served in successive governments, have caused misery and criminality to countless numbers.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Nov 14th 2024, 9:43 PM

@AnthonyK: sf lead the posse though

Mute hans vos
    Favourite hans vos
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:31 PM

A good thing that he went to college today . He’s good in lying like most politici in canvas time but he can learn how to do it better. And of course after the elections to say that they can’t keep their promises because of negotiations with other party’s

Mute JP Fox
    Favourite JP Fox
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:49 PM

Did this lad even finish college?

Mute David Murphy
    Favourite David Murphy
    Nov 14th 2024, 8:56 PM

Big plate of chicken goujons???
    I believe we may have found the son of the man with 2 pints in each hand, so beloved of Enda Kenny

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 14th 2024, 8:22 PM

Think he’s gonna do it. Need to maybe start considering a legacy nickname. Possibly the best Journal Poll idea ever?