This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 2 April, 2020

Slimfast bars pulled from shelves over possible health risk

Peanuts, wheat, oats and gluten are in the bars – but the wrapper doesn’t make it clear.

Image: Slim Fast

SOME SLIMFAST MEAL Bars have been pulled from the shelves due to the fact that they contain undeclared ingredients.

The Food Safety Authority of Ireland said that some of the Slimfast Meal Bars contain undeclared peanut, wheat, oat and gluten.

It has withdrawn three varieties of the meal bars because some of them were packed into incorrect boxes, which meant that the allergen information on them regarding peanut, wheat, oats and gluten may not match the product in the box.

The FSAI said:

This may make the products a possible health risk for people with a peanut, wheat, oats or gluten allergy or intolerance. Customers are advised to check the writing on the wrappers of the bar.

If there is a different variety on the wrapper compared to the box, customers at risk are advised not to eat the implicated bar or bars.

Read: Website for restaurants to calculate calories launched by Food Safety Authority>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next: