You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Wetherspoons' proposal for a sound barrier made of compressed basalt

Residents object to proposed sound barrier at Portobello Wetherspoons 'taller than Berlin Wall'

The UK pub giant is proposing the sound barrier to allow it to re-open its beer garden after residents made noise complaints.

A DUBLIN 8 resident has hit out at JD Wetherspoon PLC’s plans to erect a 43 ft high sound barrier for its Keavan’s Port Hotel’s outdoor pub courtyard claiming that what is planned “is taller than the Berlin Wall or the Great Wall of China”.

The UK pub giant is proposing the sound barrier to allow it re-open its beer garden at its so-called ‘superpub’ at its 89 bedroom Keavan’s Port Hotel on Camden Street.

In April 2022, JD Wetherspoon closed down the beer garden temporarily in response to locals’ noise complaints.

Now, in response to the new sound barrier application lodged with Dublin City Council, local resident Suzanne Willoughby has stated that what is planned “is ugly, bulky, overbearing and visually obtrusive”.

Willoughby from nearby Grantham Place, has told the Council “it makes me angry to think that anyone thinks that building a wall which is taller than the Berlin Wall or the Great Wall of China is an appropriate solution to squeezing more punters into the pub”.

BEER The current beer garden JD Wetherspoon JD Wetherspoon

The 43 ft height of the sound barrier compares to the 13 ft high Berlin Wall and the average height of the Great Wall of China at 25.6ft but can reach to 46 ft high in places.

In her objection, Willoughby states that “there is no good or pressing reason why this application should be approved. It does nothing to improve our city or the neighbourhood”.

In one of six objections lodged against the planned sound barrier, Willoughby further contends that if allowed “a proposal of this size, scale and type is extremely damaging to our built heritage”.

She said: “I am not aware of any precedent for a wall of this size and type in Ireland, let alone within the curtilage of a Protected Structure. If allowed, the proposal disrupts the setting of this important Georgian Terrace and has a negative impact upon the neighbouring Protected Structures.”

In their objection, James Wickham and Lorelei Harris have told the council it is disputable if the proposed screen will reduce the noise from the inner courtyard of Keavan’s Port pub.

BEER2 Wetherspoons' proposal for a Rockpanel sound barrier made of compressed basalt JD Wetherspoon JD Wetherspoon

They state: “What is indisputable is that this will create a large new outdoor drinking space in our neighbourhood with all the attendant social issues: noise, crowding, anti-social behaviour and waste management challenges.”

They add: “In addition to this, we, the residents of this area are deeply concerned by the changing nature of our community from a quiet peaceful co-location of residential, commercial and hospitality businesses into an uncontrolled area of late night drinking, stag parties and revelry of a sort that is antithetical to the pursuit of family life.”

Ghandi Mallak operates the Damascus Gate Restaurant on Camden Street and has told the Council that he has has serious concerns about the proposed development.

Mallak stated that he operates an external terrace at his restaurant and has never received noise complaints.

BEER3 An image of what the proposed sound barrier would like look when viewed from a residential street behind the pub JD Wetherspoon JD Wetherspoon

He said that “if someone is getting rowdy and noisy we will ask them to stop. I would not propose to build a huge ugly wall because I do not want or are unwilling or unable to manage my customers? This is a very bad solution”.

Mallak stated that he has operated on Camden Street for many years but “was shocked when Wetherspoons opened at the increased levels of anti-social behaviours including damage to my property, people urinating, littering etc”.

He said: “To some degree these have been a problem in the past as you would expect in an urban location – however the increase was unprecedented when Wetherspoons opened.”

Richard Duggan from Synge Street, behind the pub, has told the council that “the sound emissions when the beer gardens were open previously caused innumerable sleepless nights in my house and several of my neighbours. Its closure has reversed this problem”.

A submission by JD Wetherspoons’s consultants, Brock McClure has stated that the closure of the courtyard demonstrates JD Wetherspoon’s commitment to being a good neighbour and working with residents to resolve issues whenever they may arise.

In a bid to overcome the issue, the hospitality firm employed acoustic experts, Enfonic which has recommended the erection of the 13.2 metre (43.3ft) high and 8.1m (26.5ft) wide sound barrier that will be completed with rockpanel wood panelling.

Brock McClure state that the Enfonic assessment found that “the height of a suitable barrier is critical to its performance and a variety of configurations were considered. It was concluded that a barrier with a height of between 13 metres and 14 metres would provide the required performance”.

In their 26 page planning report, Brock McClure state that “the barrier has been developed to protect all persons who will live, work or engage in other activities in the immediate vicinity of the courtyard from noise disturbance from the outside seating area”.

The report states that particular emphasis has been paid to nearby residential properties surrounding the premises.

A decision is due on the application in July.

View 31 comments
31 Comments
    Mute Thom Thumb
    Favourite Thom Thumb
    Jun 27th 2023, 4:38 PM

Maybe they should knock down all the surrounding houses and extend the beer garden

Mute Dermott Russell
    Favourite Dermott Russell
    Jun 27th 2023, 6:01 PM

@Thom Thumb: good suggestion. You can’t have it every way

Mute Jerry
    Favourite Jerry
    Jun 27th 2023, 10:14 PM

@Dermott Russell: You can have it every way by respecting both the residential areas which existed long before franchise pubs like Wetherspoons entered Dublin, while still running the hotel as it was originally planned for. Not every street needs to have a Coppers nightclub.

Mute Antbony Kearns
    Favourite Antbony Kearns
    Jun 27th 2023, 5:06 PM

All these young tech couples on a great wage are buying up the local houses that have been surrounded by nightlife as far as I can remember.. Now they’re trying to dictate the goings on at night.. It’s a hotel come pub that actually looks really well and Wetherspoons have done a great job on what was a very run down part of Camden Street..

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jun 27th 2023, 7:05 PM

@Antbony Kearns: Mr. Treehorn draws a lot of water in this town. You don’t draw 5h1t, Lebowski. Now we got a nice, quiet little beach community here, and I aim to keep it nice and quiet.

Mute Jerry
    Favourite Jerry
    Jun 27th 2023, 10:18 PM

@Antbony Kearns: That part of Camden Street, Grantham street, Synge Street, and South Circular Road have been long-time residential areas, long before Wetherspoons ‘Super Pub’ took over the homeless hostel that had existed previously. A homeless hostel there would be more beneficial to society than another super-pub trying to become the next Diceys or Coppers. Good on the residents pushing back, we’ve enough soulless hotels and pubs being slapped up around Dublin.

Mute Paddy Keane
    Favourite Paddy Keane
    Jun 27th 2023, 4:39 PM

The Green Party, despite advocating for environmental protection, seems to support the idea of twenty-four-hour nightclubs, despite noise being recognized as a form of pollution.

Mute The Big Baba
    Favourite The Big Baba
    Jun 27th 2023, 4:58 PM

@Paddy Keane: Jaysus, as bad as the Green Party are, ya must have strained your back with that kind of reaching. Everyone pouring out onto the street at 2AM creates far more noise “pollution” than people leaving in drips and drabs.

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jun 27th 2023, 4:42 PM

I know that part Dublin for 40 odd years and it always had night life later then most parts of Dublin,

Mute The Big Baba
    Favourite The Big Baba
    Jun 27th 2023, 5:00 PM

Unless the wall is blocking out someone’s sunlight, I don’t see what the issue is. Some people are just miserable and want everyone to be home by 9 p.m. You can’t reason with them.

Mute D. Memery
    Favourite D. Memery
    Jun 27th 2023, 5:21 PM

@The Big Baba: based on the pictures it would appear that the 13m wall could indeed be blocking resident’s sunlight

alan
    Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Jun 27th 2023, 7:08 PM

@D. Memery: woke nonsense. Why should residents assume they have a right to sunlight. Weatherspoons performs a necessary function, offering cheap beer to everyone and employs people.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Jun 27th 2023, 9:03 PM

@D. Memery: They were the ones who told him to stick the wall where the sun don’t shine

Mute Maurice Glennon
    Favourite Maurice Glennon
    Jun 27th 2023, 5:35 PM

I don’t care how cheap the beer is, you won’t catch me drinking there. If you love Wetherspoons then you’re a certified West Brit! Just the sight of neatly arranged mustard jars on little square tables gives me the creeps. Give me a messy Irish pub any day.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jun 27th 2023, 5:01 PM

It does nothing to improve our city ? Eh except act a noise barrier which is what it’s suppose to do ? Our city centre businesses need to shift to provide solutions for noise if we are to move forward and make a proper night time economy a reality

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jun 27th 2023, 4:38 PM

We are pathetic at sorting out , outside spaces in Dublin

Mute noel donohue
    Favourite noel donohue
    Jun 27th 2023, 4:51 PM

Does that mean we’ll have to climb the wall to go to the Jack’s

Mute KilkennyProud
    Favourite KilkennyProud
    Jun 27th 2023, 4:56 PM

@noel donohue: Copper Face?

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Jun 27th 2023, 4:58 PM

@noel donohue: It’s Wetherspoons, so probably.

Mute Gavin Morrissey
    Favourite Gavin Morrissey
    Jun 27th 2023, 5:55 PM

Hen Parties got no mention!! Loudest parties of them all!

Mute david finglas
    Favourite david finglas
    Jun 27th 2023, 4:54 PM

The Prodigy are playing there next week

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 27th 2023, 5:50 PM

Regular pub hours, much ado about nothing.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jun 27th 2023, 5:14 PM

Ugh imagine living in Dublin and having to deal with shite like this. Just nuke it and be done with it.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Jun 27th 2023, 5:17 PM

@Brian: Where would all the culchies go for work ?

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    Jun 27th 2023, 9:36 PM

Maurice Glennon: Ffs, the only West Brits are the Welsh. Get a grip.

Mute UCD Trinity
    Favourite UCD Trinity
    Jun 27th 2023, 9:05 PM

Holy God
    The Berlin Wall gets dragged into it.
    Whats next, The Great Wall of China ?
    GOOD GRIEF…………………….Next we will have The Donald ranting about the “China Virus”, or as he says “the Chyme-a Virus”
    Person Woman Man Camera TV
    A stable genius indeed……………

Mute Abdul Abhaile
    Favourite Abdul Abhaile
    Jun 28th 2023, 5:31 AM

The NIMBY’S are out in force on this article so I’m not sure why the usual clowns on the Journal who don’t live in the area are jumping to conclusions calling it a Copper Face Jacks?
    They know nothing about the venue as it doesn’t have a late bar or play music. The local blow-ins who bought houses nearby were offered financial compensation but declined so it has come to building a soundproof wall.
    I wouldn’t mind but the few residents who are really affected by the pub live in a small laneway behind it, all in, just about a dozen houses.
    In their heads, they’re living in Dublin 4!

Mute Nestor
    Favourite Nestor
    Jun 28th 2023, 12:44 AM

Sound barrier… Great idea!

How much is a pint there?

Mute Яob Gale
    Favourite Яob Gale
    Jun 28th 2023, 2:33 PM

From the people who kicked skateboarders off portobello plaza.. I’m not surprised. Looking for a quiet villlage life in the buzziest part of town. What if they clad that side of the sound barrier with red brick? To tie in with surroundings. They’d still block it, they don’t want anything around. Spoons don’t even play music, it’s just the sound of people talking these residents don’t want. Shuda been told to do one, it was “sound” to offer building the wall. Judge should grant it to go ahead