You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Speed camera operators vote to go on strike

Trade union Siptu said members employed by GoSafe overwhelmingly backed striking today.

UP TO 35 staff working at GoSafe Ireland, the company which operates speed camera vans, have voted to go on strike.

Trade union Siptu said its members employed by GoSafe overwhelmingly backed industrial action, including strike action, in a ballot counted today. 

“Our members were left with no option other than to vote for industrial action due to the continued refusal of the company to implement a Labour Court recommendation which confirms that it is Siptu representatives who have the sole right to negotiate on behalf of its members with management,” Siptu organiser Brendan Carr said in a statement. 

“Our members have serious concerns relating to working conditions at the company. The employees of GoSafe were frustrated in their attempts to negotiate with their employer as it refused to attend the conciliation services of the State.”

Carr described as “unacceptable” the “practice of Government departments issuing contracts for State services to companies who refuse to engage with the industrial relations bodies of the State”.

“This is a completely unacceptable situation when such companies are in receipt of large amounts of public funds.”

Siptu have written to Minister for Justice and Equality Charlie Flanagan in relation to its members’ concerns. “Union representatives asked to meet with the Minister to discuss this dispute and seek his assistance in resolving it prior to any industrial action, which could impact on the operation of measures to ensure road safety.

“Unfortunately, the Minister declined to intervene, despite the possible serious implications on road safety which is one of his key responsibilities.”

Carr said the union will meet with members early next week to discuss strike dates. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

75 Comments
    Mute Willie Murphy
    Favourite Willie Murphy
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:18 PM

Take your time lads. No need to rush this!!

Mute Arya
    Favourite Arya
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:29 PM

@Willie Murphy: they really should…go slow.

Mute Robert Phelan
    Favourite Robert Phelan
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:48 PM

We use speed vans so we don’t have to fix ours road you know!

Mute Mick paisley
    Favourite Mick paisley
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:52 PM

@Willie Murphy: The Guards will be out everywhere while this happens. Will need to ensure I spend more of my time looking at the speedo rather than the road.

Mute Billy McNamara
    Favourite Billy McNamara
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:29 PM

@Willie Murphy: No sympathy for these pirhannas.Hope they starve.

Mute Sea Graham
    Favourite Sea Graham
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:09 PM

@Billy McNamara: they are doing a job that needs doing because of a$$holes that think the rules of the road don’t apply to them. You come across as one of those people

Mute sean
    Favourite sean
    Sep 7th 2019, 12:55 PM

@Sea Graham: So the sudden speed drop from 80 to 50 and then back up again on N11 isn’t a commercial speed trap for the Govt?
    Where the M50 drops from 120 to 100 at E15 isn’t a trap?

Until Govt/Garda are open, honest and reasonable about speed, people will ignore them.

Mute Porter Mechanic
    Favourite Porter Mechanic
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:37 PM

Fair played to all the people who have flashed their lights to warn me about speed vans, I owe you all

Mute Johnny Rotten
    Favourite Johnny Rotten
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:54 PM

@Porter Mechanic: or maybe slow down you twit

Mute Declan Dowling
    Favourite Declan Dowling
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:25 AM

@Johnny Rotten: holier than thou BS

Mute Stephen Walshe
    Favourite Stephen Walshe
    Sep 7th 2019, 10:48 AM

@Johnny Rotten: good auld Ireland flashy lights is a great thing

Mute Ben Dunne
    Favourite Ben Dunne
    Sep 7th 2019, 11:35 AM

@Porter Mechanic: Aren’t they great lads, make sure you tell the family of the person you kill how great they are!

Mute Eli Fant
    Favourite Eli Fant
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:18 PM

Hope they stay on strike — permanently.

Mute Maximus Decimus Meridius
    Favourite Maximus Decimus Meridius
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:44 PM

@Eli Fant: nobody likes them – but I suspect you’d feel differently if you’d a family member killed by a speeding driver.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:53 PM

@Maximus Decimus Meridius: your wrong there. Eli Fant is a safe speeder, should not have to be subjected to the same ridicule as unsafe spenders

Mute Coco86
    Favourite Coco86
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:07 PM

@Tommy C: It’s always the safe speeders getting caught :) TBF though some of the locations these vans are at are ridiculous and clearly there just to make a profit. Still very much needed on our roads however.

Mute Stephen Walshe
    Favourite Stephen Walshe
    Sep 7th 2019, 10:54 AM

@Coco86: exactly shooting fish in a barrel witnessed a judge in ennis throw out 100 of these fines in one sitting because of the contempt the van operator and his boss were showing him,under questioning he asked them at what speed over the limit do they trigger a fine and they fused to answer and tried avoided the question. Also he hates the sight of um it was a happy day for all 100 defendants!!!

Mute Andy Mc
    Favourite Andy Mc
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:16 PM

On strike or a GO SLOW?

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey
    Sep 7th 2019, 7:05 AM

@Andy Mc: let them strike! I fully support them! If they’re striking they’re not catching me speeding.

Mute Fergus Murphy
    Favourite Fergus Murphy
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:21 PM

Flash your lights if you support the speed camera workers

Mute Donal Connell
    Favourite Donal Connell
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:32 PM

Ah now seen one of these lads targeting a road at 5 am that the garda had closed because of a accident honest to god unreal. Pay rise me whole.

Mute Paul Burke
    Favourite Paul Burke
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:07 PM

@Donal Connell: if the road was closed, how was the speed van on it, more to the point, how were you on it, did you cause the road closure

Mute Paul Burke
    Favourite Paul Burke
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:08 PM

@Donal Connell: if the road was closed, how was the speed van on it, more to the point, how were you on it, did you cause the road closure

Mute Donal Connell
    Favourite Donal Connell
    Sep 7th 2019, 12:06 AM

@Paul Burke: I was Bus Eireann driver coming of a night shift someone knocked down and killed road closed but speed van pulled in the side of the road

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:12 AM

@Donal Connell: maybe it was there when the accident happened. In that situation it would have to stay while the guards investigate.

Mute Donal Connell
    Favourite Donal Connell
    Sep 7th 2019, 5:14 PM

@Seamus Mac: clown

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:31 PM

@Donal Connell: ???

Mute Steve T
    Favourite Steve T
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:17 PM

Have popcorn, waiting for the comments..

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:15 PM

You have the public fully behind you,and stay out until they give you pay rises,better uniforms, better vehicles, and and and,free visits to spec savers.

Mute Will Thompson
    Favourite Will Thompson

Beep if you support the strikers!!!!

Mute Noel Doherty
    Favourite Noel Doherty
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:30 PM

@Will Thompson: flash more like to let others know they’re out

Mute Desmond Wisley
    Favourite Desmond Wisley
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:47 PM

Strike away boys

Mute THE BIRD
    Favourite THE BIRD
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:20 PM

In fairness he deserves a strike lads so make sure he take plenty of time off to strike.. nail it home like

Mute Coco86
    Favourite Coco86
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:11 PM

Open to correction but I think starting salary is 35k. Boring job but seems reasonable for sitting in a van for 8 or 9 hours! Anyone know what their concerns are? I actually saw the company began a recruitment campaign today as well…

Mute Skimothy
    Favourite Skimothy
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:19 AM

@Coco86: we never hear about these “concerns”. They’re always saying they want better working conditions. Can’t see how bad their conditions are, especially if that starting salary is correct.

Mute Manbackonboard
    Favourite Manbackonboard
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:11 PM

We’ll miss ye in the square in fermoy lads where ye literally shoot fish in a barrel. Enjoy the break and no need to rush back.

Mute Johnny Rotten
    Favourite Johnny Rotten
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:41 AM

@Manbackonboard: you need to look up what the word literally means

Mute Charmaine Walker
    Favourite Charmaine Walker
    Sep 7th 2019, 2:00 PM

@Johnny Rotten: I don’t think he does, there’s a Barell of fish there in fermoy, where the speed van drivers go on their lunch and take out theirs glocks and have some fun before returning to work..

Mute Dave Walsh
    Favourite Dave Walsh
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:56 PM

Why are Government contracts being issued to companies that don’t comply with workers rights to be represented by the union of their choice?
    Remember THIS when you vote FG = Anti Union…

Mute lee Jones
    Favourite lee Jones
    Sep 7th 2019, 7:20 AM

@Dave Walsh: the company does not have to engage with the union, it seems that they have not infringed on their constitutional right to join one but choose not to recognise the union which is well within the company’s right also.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:14 AM

@Dave Walsh: only the public sector have the cash to deal with the unions.

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:59 PM

They have my fullest support for the long haul!!

Mute Cynical
    Favourite Cynical
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:03 PM

If they just put unmanned speed cameras in place we wouldn’t have this issue.

The current mobile format turns speeding into a game, whereas stationary cameras would reduce speeding in that area for good.

Mute Pilib
    Favourite Pilib
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:55 PM

They could get rid of cameras by using speed bumps. I used to have a phobia of one down my road, but I slowly got over it.

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Sep 7th 2019, 12:15 AM

@Pilib: Speedbumps that only activate if you’re actually speeding https://youtu.be/Uwbf9UsLE_Y

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:33 PM

They just don’t get the picture

Mute C_O'S
    Favourite C_O'S
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:52 PM

Sympathy will be in short or ‘slow’ supply…..,,,

Mute Brian Murphy
    Favourite Brian Murphy
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:37 PM

And will they get public support…….

Mute Marty
    Favourite Marty
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:44 PM

Still can’t understand why we don’t have permit fixtures like they do in the UK

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:02 PM

@Marty: where is the fun in that? Love a bit of speed van roulette in the mornings.

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners

That’s terrible, how can we fix this quickly?

Mute Gerry Murphy
    Favourite Gerry Murphy
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:32 PM

Full speed ahead Mr Zulu…

Mute Conor Heneghan
    Favourite Conor Heneghan
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:55 PM

Another example of the negative outcomes of fine gaels continued push for privatisation of state services. Who the f0ck is benefitting if our citizens cannot get decent pay and conditions for providing a state service?

I’m a bit glad they wont be in work though

Mute Vincent #SaveDaredevil
    Favourite Vincent #SaveDaredevil
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:11 PM

Oh wow a union trying to Bleed more from the tax payer. Seriously just f off

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Sep 7th 2019, 12:10 AM

@Vincent #SaveDaredevil: Most employees try to bleed more from their employer – they’d be mad not to. All a union does is give the workers a bit more leverage. Employers try to bleed more from their employees – why wouldn’t they? Such is capitalism.

Mute Ciarán O' Donoghue
    Favourite Ciarán O' Donoghue
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:01 PM

What’s the reason for the strike?? Also, Siptu are a disgrace anyway.

Mute Sean Beirne
    Favourite Sean Beirne
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:25 PM

Fish

Mute Al Fresco
    Favourite Al Fresco
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:44 PM

@Sean Beirne: barrel?

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:40 PM

Surprised the holier-than-thou bigots aren’t all over this one.

Mute Sean Beirne
    Favourite Sean Beirne
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:26 PM

Fish

Mute TM B
    Favourite TM B
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:20 PM

Yip pee all 50 and 30 km zones are free range

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Sep 7th 2019, 12:16 AM

@TM B: I don’t think you’re going to come across a speed van in a 30 km/h zone

Mute TM B
    Favourite TM B
    Sep 7th 2019, 12:33 AM

@Conall: ah Jaysus you definitely won’t find
    Them beyond 50 in a honey trap

Mute Darren Forde
    Favourite Darren Forde
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:55 PM

Best news I’ve had all day. To be honest if you just ignore the notice it just goes away. The left hand doesn’t know what the right hands doing anyway.

Mute Colm Walsh
    Favourite Colm Walsh
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:41 PM

They can fecking stay on strike

Mute Malachi Shanks
    Favourite Malachi Shanks
    Sep 7th 2019, 4:08 PM

The most popular strike ever !

Mute John Legat
    Favourite John Legat
    Sep 7th 2019, 4:08 PM

At last some good news. There favourite spot, coming from 100kph zone to a 60 kph downhill. Unless you put the brakes on hard you’re going to be over the limit and they have got you. I don’t think driving looking down at the speedo most of the time is safe driving.

Mute Stephen Walshe
    Favourite Stephen Walshe
    Sep 7th 2019, 10:56 AM

And why aren’t these government appointed contractors made divulge how much profit they make every year, they moved the company offshore so we cant fined out

Mute HONEY BADGER180
    Favourite HONEY BADGER180
    Sep 7th 2019, 4:08 AM

Why not just give the contract to the nta and let them give the profits to the Garda for high powered cars every year. That’s too easy tho.

Mute Leo Lalor
    Favourite Leo Lalor
    Sep 7th 2019, 1:51 PM

No hurry back boys . An gardai are getting better at revenue

Mute Paul Garvin
    Favourite Paul Garvin
    Sep 6th 2019, 9:53 PM

I D cross the lind

Mute Vanessa Hudson
    Favourite Vanessa Hudson
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:44 PM

‘Slow’ news day

Mute Peter Govan
    Favourite Peter Govan
    Sep 7th 2019, 11:04 AM

They have our full support

Mute Alan Foley
    Favourite Alan Foley
    Sep 8th 2019, 8:21 AM

Hopefully its prolonged and bitter….

Mute Xylophobiac
    Favourite Xylophobiac
    Sep 8th 2019, 5:23 PM

Strike on lads.