You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Wally Santana/Associated Press

Here's how to get rid of those annoying startup programs on your PC

Do you really need Skype starting up every time you turn on your computer?

NO MATTER WHAT computer you use, you will install programs. Some will be useful, some will have more specific uses and others will be used sporadically.

Some that you install will automatically startup on your computer and depending on your viewpoint, this will either be useful or become an annoyance.

If it’s the latter, then you can disable it. Go into Start, select search (or click on the search bar if it’s located there) and search for ‘System Configuration’ or ‘msconfig’.

In this, you can look at the different services that are running on your computer and disable them if you want (be very careful about this).

We’re not interested in that. Instead, click on ‘Startup’ subheading and you will be presented with all the services that start automatically when you turn your computer on.

plugins

Some of these you will find useful, others may be programs you installed but only rather use when you call on them.

The ones you don’t want, disable them and leave the ones that are essential or that you didn’t install in your computer’s lifetime (Microsoft Security Client in this example).

It’s a small change, but it will speed things up for you a little every time you start up. Or failing that, the disabled programs won’t annoy you any longer.

Read: Are you sure you know what your smartphone camera can really do?

Read: Photographer back in court over monkey selfie

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

28 Comments
    Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Jun 10th 2023, 10:09 AM

“To put it mildly, neither event inspires confidence for the future of our planet, or our species.”

What young Carl here fails to realise is that the planet will be just fine. It will adapt to whatever happens. It was around long before us and will be around long after us.

It’s us as a species which is endangered, not the planet. Millions of years ago, the planet was covered mostly in water save for a few volcanoes and had an atmosphere of mostly methane. But it was still earth, and it will still be earth when we’re gone.

Mute Mark Connolly
    Favourite Mark Connolly
    Jun 10th 2023, 1:35 PM

@JedBartlett: yep, the planet will be just fine, we’re banjaxed at our own hands. The Planet and its biodiversity will do much better without us….

Mute Alan O' Reilly
    Favourite Alan O' Reilly
    Jun 10th 2023, 9:15 AM

Man- made Climate change poses as much of an existential threat to us as Covid. Keep the fear and hyperbole going . After you drink your soya latte, you should look at the actual data and spend a day in the bog.

Mute Bríann O Connor
    Favourite Bríann O Connor
    Jun 10th 2023, 9:35 AM

@Alan O’ Reilly: do you get your ‘data’ from Fox News or do you so your ‘research’ on YouTube? Clown.

Mute Alan O' Reilly
    Favourite Alan O' Reilly
    Jun 10th 2023, 9:41 AM

@Bríann O Connor: Fair play to you Briann, you’ve put me in my place with your extremely witty response. I’m going to get a BLM tattoo on my way back from getting my booster. #followthe science

Mute Helen Farrell
    Favourite Helen Farrell
    Jun 10th 2023, 9:52 AM

@Alan O’ Reilly: well it’s clear you tick a few very unsavoury boxes of thinking.

Mute Mick Hyland
    Favourite Mick Hyland
    Jun 10th 2023, 9:54 AM

@Alan O’ Reilly: The bogs are nearly gone now

Mute N A
    Favourite N A
    Jun 10th 2023, 11:33 AM

@Alan O’ Reilly: The actual data is pretty grim for both of those threats. But I’m sure you’ll prefer some comforting fable that they aren’t.

noaa.gov/education/resource-collections/climate/climate-change-impacts

ourworldindata.org/grapher/excess-deaths-cumulative-economist-single-entity

Mute Míchael Búrké
    Favourite Míchael Búrké
    Jun 10th 2023, 12:11 PM
    Mute Gary Merrin
    Favourite Gary Merrin
    Jun 10th 2023, 11:32 AM

“These are the starkest, most catastrophic images to come out of New York since 9/11.”

Compare this is to Hurricane Sandy or the Covid Pandemic when people when people actually died in New York, and the images of the city were equally as shocking.

Absolute non-article.

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Jun 10th 2023, 10:10 AM

People made climate change is partially responsible for the state of affairs we are in. Wildfires have always existed. Glacial melt has always existed. All we have done is just speed up the process a little.

Sure didn’t they find camp fires in parts of the North Sea known as Doggerland which was submerged thousands of years ago.

Mute Mick Hyland
    Favourite Mick Hyland
    Jun 10th 2023, 9:35 AM

Who’s gonna tell you when it’s too late

Mute Gary Merrin
    Favourite Gary Merrin
    Jun 10th 2023, 11:31 AM

“These are the starkest, most catastrophic images to come out of New York since 9/11.”

What are ye on about?

Compare this is to Hurricane Sandy or the Covid Pandemic when people when people actually died in New York, and the images of the city were equally as shocking.

Absolute non-article, written by someone who was born yesterday.

Mute Nicholas McMurry
    Favourite Nicholas McMurry
    Jun 10th 2023, 10:41 AM

No argument with the overall tenor of the piece, but if you watched the mass burials on Hart Island in March 2020 you might think this was equally apocalyptic.

Mute Gary Merrin
    Favourite Gary Merrin
    Jun 10th 2023, 11:35 AM

What about Hurricane Sandy or the Covid Pandemic?

Mute Laura White
    Favourite Laura White
    Jun 10th 2023, 1:13 PM

Sorry to be pedantic but Reeling in the Years 2023 will never have “everybodys gotta learn sometime” played. The playlist is compiled from music released in said year. Pick a song from this year so far matching your narrative and edit!

Mute Laura H
    Favourite Laura H
    Jun 10th 2023, 12:01 PM

@gary Merring please delete the repeats of the comments…nothing worse.
    As for the article, I agree with @jedbartlett

Mute Gary Merrin
    Favourite Gary Merrin
    Jun 10th 2023, 11:34 AM

Great article

Mute Concened Irish Mother
    Favourite Concened Irish Mother
    Jun 10th 2023, 1:35 PM

Insane stuff altogether, even Greta in her wildest tantrum wouldn’t come up with something as deranged as this.

Mute Concened Irish Mother
    Favourite Concened Irish Mother
    Jun 10th 2023, 1:40 PM

“entirely pointless and bloodthirsty invasion of Ukraine in February of last year”, this is just crude blatant propaganda.

Mute Gary Merrin
    Favourite Gary Merrin

Compare this statement to Hurricane Sandy or the Covid Pandemic when people when peoples lives were lost in New York, and the images of the city were equally as shocking.

Please delete this article.

Mute Maria Hunter
    Favourite Maria Hunter
    Jun 10th 2023, 10:34 PM

Just a heads up. The housing crisis would be more apt to write about

Mute Gary Merrin
    Favourite Gary Merrin

What are ye on?

Mute Dan Dare
    Favourite Dan Dare
    Jun 10th 2023, 6:30 PM

Our sense of self importance withers in the face of Mother Nature’s obliviousness. If wee come to an end as a species then intelligence is an evolutionary dead end. Not entirely convinced this will happen anytime soon.

Mute Maria Hunter
    Favourite Maria Hunter
    Jun 10th 2023, 10:18 PM

Watching way too many American movies. The world has gone crazy with fake news. No such thing as climate change. We’re going about like Muppets recycling and the like while China, America etc burn what they like into the atmosphere. Wars everywhere but yet there’s none. Who won the Syrian war?? Or is it still going on? Pure bs. Pleeeease

Mute Laura H
    Favourite Laura H
    Jun 10th 2023, 12:10 PM

Sorry * @gary merrin

Mute Gary Merrin
    Favourite Gary Merrin

Absolute non-article. Please delete.

Mute Gary Merrin
    Favourite Gary Merrin

Mute Gary Merrin
    Favourite Gary Merrin
    Jun 10th 2023, 11:34 AM

Compare this article to Hurricane Sandy or the Covid Pandemic when people when peoples lives were lost in New York, and the images of the city were equally as shocking.

Mute Gary Merrin
    Favourite Gary Merrin

Mute Gary Merrin
    Favourite Gary Merrin

What are ye on?

Absolute non-article…

Mute Gary Merrin
    Favourite Gary Merrin

What are ye on about?

Absolute non-article…

Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected