You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mary Lou McDonald RollingNews.ie

'Beggars belief': Politicians call for Dáil to be recalled in wake of storm Éowyn

The Dáil is currently off for a week to allow new ministers to get used to their jobs.

LAST UPDATE | 27 Jan

SINN FÉIN LEADER Mary Lou McDonald has written to the Taoiseach urging him to reconvene Dáil Éireann after storm Éowyn.

Around 100,000 people are still without water while close to 250,000 people are still without power across the country after the storm struck on Friday. 

ESB say the vast majority of those impacted by Storm Éowyn will have their supply restored by Friday, however it expects that around 100,000 customers will have to wait until the following week.

Dáil Éireann is not sitting this week, as is normal practice after a new government has been put in place, to allow the new ministers get to grips with their new briefs. 

However given the widespread disruption following Friday’s storm, Sinn Féin, the Social Democrats, Aontú and Independent Ireland have all called for the Dáil to get back to business sooner. 

Minister for Transport and the Environment Darragh O’Brien pushed back on the calls, arguing this afternoon that people shouldn’t be trying to “politicise” the storm.

“No speech in Dáil Éireann is going to restore power or water or assist a community,” O’Brien said this afternoon.

He added that at a political level, the government is providing “whatever support is needed.”

“TDs must be given the opportunity to raise these issues and concerns directly with government and to engage on the responses and supports needed,” McDonald said on X. 

In a statement, acting leader of the Social Democrats Cian O’Callaghan said it “beggars belief that, in the midst of this crisis, there are no plans for the Dáil to sit.”

O’Callaghan said families and communities are being left to pick up the pieces following the storm, which was one of the most powerful and damaging wind events to hit the country in nearly 200 years. 

He said it is “critical” that the Dáil sits to discuss emergency supports. 

Likewise, Aontú leader Peadar Tóibín also called for the Dáil to be recalled.

The Meath West TD said that despite the efforts of ESB and its staff, the reconnection of electricity is “not nearly fast enough”, adding that it is “incredible” that the Dáil is not sitting “at this time of crisis”. 

“We have received so many reports of older people and people with disabilities living in homes without any power or water. Many businesses still can’t reopen. There is growing frustration amongst people at the slow pace of reconnection,” Tóibín said in a statement.

“The government is the administration of this country. How can the Dáil administer anything if it’s not sitting. How can TDs properly hold the government to account if it’s not even meeting?” he asked.

Independent Ireland leader Micheal Collins also called for the Dáil to reconvene and said the government had failed to prepare and respond effectively for the storm, leaving communities in “chaos”.

“Families are enduring freezing temperatures without heating, and essential services are disrupted. This is unacceptable,” the Cork South West TD said.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland programme earlier today, Minister for Social Protection Dara Calleary said that Taoiseach Micheál Martin is “very much” involved in the government’s response to the storm despite being out of the country currently. 

Martin is in Poland today for the 80th anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz-Birkenau.

“He has to be at that ceremony, it is a hugely important ceremony,” Calleary said. 

Calleary said the government is doing all it can do get people reconnected. He said he will be on the ground in areas across the west and north west today and tomorrow, and will be bringing a report to Cabinet on Wednesday morning direct from the areas affected.

“I can assure you we are not on holidays,” Calleary said. 

“Rather than making statements in the Dáil, I will be on the ground getting direct experience.”

Calleary added that the National Emergency Coordination Group is meeting every day.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

117 Comments
    Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Jan 27th 2025, 12:41 PM

Crazy that they are not working and on holidays again,Mary Lou McDonald is completely correct on this issue

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Jan 27th 2025, 12:44 PM

@Jb Walshe: do we really need to have another sitting of the Dail to ensure work progresses?

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Jan 27th 2025, 12:46 PM

@Alan: that’s what they get paid for Alan,when I’m not in work I don’t get paid

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Favourite qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Jan 27th 2025, 12:48 PM

@Alan: Yes, we do

Mute Tricia G28
    Favourite Tricia G28
    Jan 27th 2025, 12:56 PM

@Jb Walshe: You cannot seriously believe if a TD isn’t in the Dail, they’re not working.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:03 PM

@Jb Walshe: But she’s on holidays too.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:04 PM

@Tricia G28: Oh that’s exactly what he believes.

Mute james comiskey
    Favourite james comiskey
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:13 PM

@Jb Walshe: they are not on holiday.
    It’s better that the new ministers are in their departments not in the Dail listening to Mary Lou grandstand

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:25 PM

@Jb Walshe: too busy preparing a speech for the world to listen to him. not a word from our so called leaders to support people.
    last concern for them now they are elected again.

Mute Herby Donnelly
    Favourite Herby Donnelly
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:31 PM

@Alan: yes

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:36 PM

@Herby Donnelly: why?

Mute Val O'Connell
    Favourite Val O'Connell
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:48 PM

@Jb Walshe: TDs are and will be down in their Constituency offices . Ministers will be away working into their office . Many will be in Leinster House. No need for the grandstanding circus talking . Do action. Most action is done outside the Chamber

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Jan 27th 2025, 2:02 PM

@Val O’Connell: I’d say MM and Co have completed many a grubby stroke in the Dail toilets,

Mute john kenny
    Favourite john kenny
    Jan 27th 2025, 3:33 PM

@Jb Walshe: they are not on holidays.

Mute Jack Dermody
    Favourite Jack Dermody
    Jan 27th 2025, 4:22 PM

@Jb Walshe: What would a sitting Dail do right now that isn’t already being done…

This is about politising a disaster and Sinn fein should be embarrassed.

Yes, have an enquiry afterwards to see if we can improve our response. What can we do and if it is economical.

This is just political grandstanding..

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Jan 27th 2025, 5:29 PM

@Alan: just plenty of roaring & shouting it is been cordonated as it is,

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Jan 27th 2025, 5:51 PM

@Alan: yes

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Jan 27th 2025, 6:04 PM

@Alan: No.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 28th 2025, 10:23 AM

@Jb Walshe: Do you work in one place as TDs work in a number of locations.
    They are not in the Dail but they are working!

Mute David Cotter
    Favourite David Cotter
    Jan 27th 2025, 12:46 PM

If they come back early can they please throw lowery into the forty foot….

Mute Philip Kennedy
    Favourite Philip Kennedy
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:14 PM

@David Cotter: at least get his name right. It’s Lowry.

Mute Liam23
    Favourite Liam23
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:36 PM

@David Cotter: have you been calling out Lowry for the last 20 years???

Mute Joe Beirne
    Favourite Joe Beirne
    Jan 27th 2025, 2:05 PM

@Harry Paisley: shut tf up

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Jan 27th 2025, 2:21 PM

@Philip Kennedy: Lowry should have done a few years in prison for his role in awarding the second mobile phone contract to DoB, in fact the two of them should have done time. I can’t understand how Lowry is so welcomed by FF & FG because they know he’s a crook yet they bow to his every wish, what is it that has led to him having such a hold over FFG ?

Mute Joe Beirne
    Favourite Joe Beirne
    Jan 27th 2025, 4:09 PM

@Harry Paisley: think of a faceless weirdo from the internet who gets his thrills from talking rubbish all day, eh no. Get a job

Mute Peter Kelly
    Favourite Peter Kelly
    Jan 27th 2025, 4:54 PM

@Philip Kennedy: it is LOWery.

Mute Liam O' Ceallaigh
    Favourite Liam O' Ceallaigh
    Jan 27th 2025, 10:26 PM

@Philip Kennedy: Philip, I think David was referring to the latest allegation against Lowry in the Ditch – he allegedly put an e in his surname to draw attention away from an investment he didn’t declare!!

Mute Fidgenti
    Favourite Fidgenti
    Jan 28th 2025, 6:47 AM

@Philip Kennedy: He doesn’t always spell it as LOWRY. Go read the ditch and you’ll find out all about it.

Mute Eamonn Ferry
    Favourite Eamonn Ferry
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:39 PM

How about putting utility cables, pipes etc. underground. I have lived in Germany for about 50 years. Most if not all are underground. It does rain here as well!

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Jan 27th 2025, 2:18 PM

@Eamonn Ferry: because the cost would be prohibitive due to the fact that we have one of the longest road networks for a country of our size and have very scattered low density housing with the amount of one off housing down every boreen.
    Having said that it is something that should be done alongside the roll out of the national broadband plan, presuming they’re digging trenches to pay the fibre(which they’re probably not doing)

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Jan 27th 2025, 3:20 PM

@Eamonn Ferry: I wonder would the €1b overspend to date on the yet to be opened new Children’s hospital have covered that Eamonn.

Mute Martin Ridge
    Favourite Martin Ridge
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:59 PM

It’s one cushy number this crowd are on. If you were running a private business like this bunch run you’d be out of business very quickly. But nobody to blame but the fine people who elected them back in. What did you think was going to happen the board would sack the lot of them if it was a privately run organisation

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 27th 2025, 2:51 PM

@Martin Ridge: But the government isn’t a private company, and comparisons to it are useless. TDS were returned in a free democratic election, and the majority of those TDs then voted for the new government.

This has been the cornerstone of our democracy for over 100 years . People are entitled to vote for whoever they want. People like you don’t like that as it’s not what you want , people like you are the real problem in this country.

Mute Philip Kennedy
    Favourite Philip Kennedy
    Jan 27th 2025, 3:38 PM

@Martin Ridge: you’re a barstool bore.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Jan 27th 2025, 4:00 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: It is a cushy number, the amount of school teachers who entered politics because they couldn’t deal with classrooms of 40 children is crazy and always has been down the years so yes, if those crooks in government had any notion of decency they’d stop short their two weeks of jollies and tell the people what their plans are for speeding up repairs and what measures they will put in place to alleviate the damage from future storms and what financial assistance they will provide to those that had their properties damaged. That is what a caring government would do.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 27th 2025, 4:21 PM

@Mr Inbetween: They didn’t enter the Dail they were elected by citizens of our country. What background they are from is irrelevant. If its such a cushy number why don’t you run? This lazy narrative is spewed out constantly by Internet experts when they have nothing to say.

Mute Martin Ridge
    Favourite Martin Ridge
    Jan 27th 2025, 7:11 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: people like you are fools to think this was going to work these TD,s that you mention aren’t fit for purpose look around ya open your bloody eyes

Mute Richard Ford
    Favourite Richard Ford
    Jan 27th 2025, 7:57 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: When they have nothing to say or do.

Mute Richard Ford
    Favourite Richard Ford
    Jan 27th 2025, 7:58 PM

@Martin Ridge: . Put yourself up for election and see how you do and give your two thumbs a rest.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 27th 2025, 9:14 PM

@Martin Ridge: The only fool I see is you, you seem to have a very limited understanding of our democracy, and you’re not the only one. Our democracy has been fought for with thousands of lives lost, you have the right to say what you want, irrespective of how unintelligent it is. You do not speak for the majority as shown by the electorate, I didn’t vote for them btw, but if you can’t respect your country’s democracy you simply aren’t an Irishman.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 28th 2025, 10:16 AM

@Martin Ridge: Except you cannot run a government like a private company. It has been tried and failed. It is going to be tried again and will fail again in the US!

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 28th 2025, 10:20 AM

@Mr Inbetween: What exactly do you think a bunch of politicians can do, that is not been done already.
    They could slow down the process by calling people in for meetings etc,

Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire
    Jan 27th 2025, 3:28 PM

God love them they need some time of after making a big decision of who was going to be in government… in other news today still 300 thousand without power/heating there homes and work place.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Jan 27th 2025, 4:21 PM

@Paul Maguire: and the dail sitting will fix this?

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 28th 2025, 10:22 AM

@Paul Maguire: Who said they are off work! They are working in their communities right now, others are working on settling into new positions in government and opposition members setting themselves up to shadow ministers.

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan

No need there 2 weeks of

Mute John Purcell
    Favourite John Purcell

The storm is now the governments fault?

There is a real effort from the opposition over the past 5 years that if anything goes wrong it’s the gov fault.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 27th 2025, 12:56 PM

@John Purcell: Yep that’s the way the opposition does it’s work nowadays, no effort in opposing the government with alternatives to the issues, just pointing fingers and shouting. No wonder FFG are back in Government the opposition isn’t capable in the eyes of the electorate.

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:04 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Yup…FF or FG never pointed fingers when they were not in government, just constructive criticism, give over will you!

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Joe Beirne
    Favourite Joe Beirne
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:06 PM

@John Purcell: who said it was the governments fault? The reaction to the events or lack of progress is their fault

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:14 PM

@damien leen: So, you’re happy with the coalition and how it does its business?

Mute Liam23
    Favourite Liam23
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:35 PM

@John Purcell: Peader Tobin saying the ESB are not working fast enough, I saw crews working in the fields replacing polls up to 10:30 last night.

Mute Joe Beirne
    Favourite Joe Beirne

@Liam23: It’s their job.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Jan 27th 2025, 2:08 PM

@John Purcell: You seem to be having problems comprehending the article. NOBODY said the STORM was the governments fault. Sinn Fein have called on the government to recall the Dail in the wake of the storm to help our fellow citizens deal with the traumatic aftermath and to ensure all services etc are restored asap.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 27th 2025, 2:54 PM

@Mr Inbetween: But isn’t this happening, I know a linesman and he hasn’t seen his children for 3 day’s, what exactly would the Dail do ?

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Jan 27th 2025, 3:03 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Recall the Dail, government should be in situe after the worst storm in history, they’ve only just come back from the Christmas holidays and now they’re off for another two weeks? They’ve let themselves down and it took an opposition TD to shame them.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 27th 2025, 3:34 PM

@Mr Inbetween: So they all sit around talking while people are getting on with restoration of power and water. Talking doesn’t achieve much. Every time there’s a weather warning, huge numbers dismiss them now, a truly historic storm arrives, and it’s the government’s fault, so get into the Dail and talk……can you not see the flaws in your argument.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Jan 27th 2025, 5:48 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: I blame the Greens, if only they’d warned us 30 years ago about the repecussions of climate change.. Oh wait…

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Jan 27th 2025, 5:56 PM

@Mr Inbetween: you may as well be talking to the floor as some of the commenters and trolls on here…Of course they should be working,isn’t that what they get paid for !! Any wonder this country is a laughing stock around the world with the corrupt mob that runs the place

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Jan 27th 2025, 7:35 PM

@Jb Walshe: we are not a laughing stock around the world, where did you get that daft idea from?

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 27th 2025, 9:19 PM

@Dermot Blaine: True dat. Feck sake they should have run for election and tried to get us to think differently about the damage that humans are doing to the planet.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 27th 2025, 9:20 PM

@Jb Walshe: Such eloquence.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 28th 2025, 10:27 AM

@Joe Beirne: What reaction do you want, thoughts and prayers like they do in the US.
    What more can they do but leave the experts working on the problems alone to fix it. making sure they have everything they need.
    Which is we are told is what they are doing!

Mute Gerry Lynch
    Favourite Gerry Lynch

thats the kind of yolks people voted back in lazy shower of money grabbing dics that dont give one shet about the country or the people

Mute Tricia G28
    Favourite Tricia G28
    Jan 27th 2025, 12:55 PM

Why?! What does yelling across a chamber achieve when people should be out coordinating assistance etc. in their own Constituencies.

This smacks of “we’re going to continue having meetings until we find out why no work is being done”.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Jan 27th 2025, 5:26 PM

@Tricia G28: Party Politically motivated opposition would call in all the electricians to HQ to shout at one another and to hell with the actual work.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Jan 27th 2025, 5:42 PM

@Tricia G28: I’m watching the News right now and there are 10′s of thousands of people who are in the dark literally, no power and no communication from the government on what their plans are.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 27th 2025, 9:21 PM

@Mr Inbetween: It’s simple restore electricity and power as fast as possible.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 28th 2025, 10:28 AM

@Mr Inbetween: They have said what they are doing and there are reports almost hourly of what is happening!

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:13 PM

I’m not sure how recalling the Dáil will expedite the repair work being done on a huge scale across the country. Is this another example of the much vaunted ‘effective opposition’? Jesus wept.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:28 PM

@honey badger: Had they arrived in hi-viz jackets ready to help we might be impressed.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:32 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Don’t forget your shovel…

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Jan 27th 2025, 12:50 PM

One has to assume that the departments affected will continue working during this crisis to assist those in need of help. It’s probably best that the suits without experience are only allowed at the many photo shoots, and kept at arms length from making a further dogs dinner of things.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Jan 27th 2025, 5:32 PM

@Paul Linehan: which they are, the relevant Ministers have been cordonating since the storm What exactly would they do in the Dail ?

Mute denis silver
    Favourite denis silver
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:20 PM

Hot air from the Dail chamber won’t exactly get the electricity working again

Populist nonsense from the opposition

A crew who are breaking their backs won’t work any quicker because Mary Lou shouts across the chamber

Mute Patrick Kelly
    Favourite Patrick Kelly
    Jan 27th 2025, 12:51 PM

Pathetic populism from MLMC. Come back and shout and roar at each other. This achieves a lot

Mute oisin o'connell
    Favourite oisin o'connell
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:20 PM

Opposition view their only roll as opposing the incumbent government instead of trying to enlighten and explore alternative view points- surely they could listen back to their own speeches and realise how petit their mindset is

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:25 PM

@oisin o’connell: Ah here , there’s no place for that constructive statement around here.

Mute Seamus O'Callaghan
    Favourite Seamus O'Callaghan
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:58 PM

@oisin o’connell: The Journal comments section is like St. Clabbert’s Hospital in “Father Ted” – one crazy after another until you get to one sensible individual who “really shouldn’t be here!”

Mute Val O'Connell
    Favourite Val O'Connell
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:46 PM

Let the government and the civil service do their job. They know what to do and do not need grandstanding populist rubbish from the opposition. By all means hold sessions about how to tackle the problems, later. No need to reconvene. Not when these thugs turned the Dáil into a circus last week

Mute Shelley Keary
    Favourite Shelley Keary
    Jan 27th 2025, 3:19 PM

What possible use to the ESB is a load of hot air as windbags in the Dáil debate the results of the storm? They’ve been in touch with the EU to send emergency aid and generators. Listening to Mary Lou grandstanding definitely won’t help

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    Jan 27th 2025, 6:25 PM

Surprise surprise Mary Lou trying to make political capital out of peoples misfortune. The grown ups are dealing with it Mary stop trying to create more problems.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Jan 27th 2025, 2:43 PM

Yes. Get them to stop all that they’re doing and bring them to Kildare St to argue and point fingers. A much more productive approach.

Mute Shelley Keary
    Favourite Shelley Keary
    Jan 27th 2025, 3:19 PM

What possible use to the ESB is a load of hot air as windbags in the Dáil debate the results of the storm? They’ve been in touch with the EU to send emergency aid and generators. Listening to Mary Lou grandstanding definitely won’t help

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:28 PM

‘How are we supposed to get content of us shouting, interrupting and saying “Ridiculous, Minister” for X and TikTok to keep our engagement up when these effers are trying to get to grips with their new departments??’

Mute Blue Moon
    Favourite Blue Moon
    Jan 27th 2025, 5:46 PM

What in the name of god can any politician do about the effects and aftermath of a storm ….. Nothing…. The Shinners sprouting pure rubbish again

Mute William Jennings
    Favourite William Jennings
    Jan 27th 2025, 4:50 PM

It’s absolutely embarrassing how much holiday time our elected officials get to take off while still on the taxpayer dime. The Dáil should only be allowed to go on recess for two months during the Summer and for the Christmas break. Other than that, they should be in working just like the rest of the people in Ireland which they supposedly “represent.” Has a single TD visited the people of West Mayo to offer their support and some portable power generators to them since their power is still out and will be until at least Thursday we are told? What about the fact that there are nearly 15,000 homeless people, thousands of illegal immigrants entering Ireland every month without any background checks and a national debt that grows bigger every year?

Mute Sean Hayes
    Favourite Sean Hayes
    Jan 27th 2025, 5:02 PM

@William Jennings: Yes is the answer to all your questions. TDS are all over Mayo, generators in use everywhere possible, public buildings open, ESB working day and night. But your whinge has been a huge help. Thanks

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    Jan 27th 2025, 6:29 PM

@William Jennings: didn’t bother reading your short story but be aware government holidays are not spent on the beach, most TDs continue working locally, particularly in the aftermath of a giant storm. Give over.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jan 27th 2025, 7:00 PM

@William Jennings: The same old tired rhetoric William but If it keeps you happy like Mary Lou keep talking to your oversized Ego

Mute William Jennings
    Jan 27th 2025, 7:40 PM

@Sean Hayes: So you support 15,000 homeless people, illegal immigration and increasing our national debt then by your own admission? Good to know Sean. By the way, show the evidence that there has been even one TD on the scene helping with the relief efforts because I haven’t seen a single piece of evidence that they have been. ESB hasn’t done a good job at all, they’ve been twiddling their thumbs as usual and we’ve had to get emergency generators from European countries because they hadn’t stocked up our inventory properly and 250,000 people are still without power. Sure though, you keep your head buried in the sand and continue to delude yourself and believe that everything is okay.

Mute William Jennings
    Jan 27th 2025, 7:50 PM

@Tim Brennan: No ego Tim, only the truth. I have just as much contempt for the idiots in Sinn Fein as I do for the idiots in Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil. They are all as bad as each other. By the way, you haven’t provided any coherent rebuttal to the points I made. Is that because you know I’m right?

Mute William Jennings
    Jan 27th 2025, 8:20 PM

@Hotirish: Show me where I said that they spend their holidays on the beach above. Oh right, by your own admission you didn’t bother to read what I said and then you think you can just respond and spout nonsensical lies. You know right well that the vast majority of our elected officials do not spend time working with the local community when they are on recess. If they did, we wouldn’t have such unresponsive and incompetent members of the Dáil who ignore requests from their constituents for certain legislation to be tabled and don’t hold any town halls to be openly questioned on their decision making and political positions. Give your head a shake.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 28th 2025, 10:34 AM

@William Jennings: So you like “Thoughts and Prayers” line the US politicians use. Strange as it changes nothing!
    Do you not think if politicians had spare generators lying about they would not be giving them to people.
    So what has immigration or national debt or homelessness got to do with the recovery from the storm? Nothing but you want to point the finger anyway!

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 28th 2025, 10:35 AM

@Sean Hayes: He feels better for it anyway!

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 28th 2025, 10:39 AM

@William Jennings: So the ESB staff working 16 hour days and the other people working on storm repairs are not doing anything!
    The storm beat all records, not a thing you can plan for.
    Look \t the local press or at the local TDs websites.
    The inventory was stocked correctly but not for an unprecedented storm like this. All the countries hit by this storm are in the same position.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 28th 2025, 10:42 AM

@William Jennings: I happen to know politicians from the west and they do work with the local communities as all TDs do.
    You have a bee in your bonnet with politicians and you really want to release it.
    TDs do nothing, because a once in a lifetime storm, which was impossible to prepare for with reasonable certainty, has happened. Politicians are all at fault!

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jan 27th 2025, 6:57 PM

Fair play as always she’s like the howling dog no matter what you feed it with it will continue barking. The same old rubbish from the opposition benches at least she has huge experience howling from the sidelines and will continue to do so thankfully

Mute michael graham
    Favourite michael graham
    Jan 27th 2025, 5:42 PM

She wants them in so they can shout their heads off again.

Mute Timothy Quigley
    Favourite Timothy Quigley
    Jan 27th 2025, 8:59 PM

Nobody takes Mary Loo seriously anymore. Continuously spouting populist noise.

Mute JP
    Favourite JP
    Jan 27th 2025, 2:41 PM

And good are they gonna do…more and more spoofing.

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Jan 27th 2025, 1:41 PM

Pander. Pander. Pander.

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Jan 27th 2025, 8:34 PM

Where are FFG

Mute Derek O Gorman
    Favourite Derek O Gorman
    Jan 28th 2025, 1:58 PM

She will use anything at all as a political tool