You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Eoin Ó Broin, Mary Lou McDonald, Matt Carthy Alamy

Sinn Féin defends view that extending temporary protection for Ukrainian refugees is a 'mistake'

Last week, it was announced that the protection would be extended by an additional year.

FRONTBENCH SINN FÉIN TD Eoin Ó Broin has defended his party’s stance that people fleeing the war in Ukraine should not have their temporary protection extended until 2027. 

Last week, the Irish Government signed off on plans to support a proposal to extend the temporary protection directive for refugees from Ukraine until March 2027. 

The directive, which enables those fleeing the war in Ukraine to live, work and study in Ireland, was due to expire in March 2026. 

In a press statement issued last week in response to the Government’s decision, Sinn Féin’s justice spokesperson TD Matt Carthy said it was a “mistake” and “problematic” to keep the emergency measure in place. 

The Cavan Monaghan TD said it is “now time to treat those fleeing war in Ukraine the same as all others fleeing war and persecution”.  

He said the decision to extend the protection has “huge implications for Ireland and yet there has been absolutely no discussion on it”.

He said Sinn Féin’s position is that there should be a return to “ordinary, permanent immigration rules which apply to all other states” and that a person who benefits from temporary protection should be supported to return to Ukraine if they are from a part of Ukraine “that is found to be safe”. 

“Beneficiaries who are from unsafe parts of the Ukraine would apply for International Protection and others who wish to continue to stay here could also apply for work-based permits to reside here,” Carthy said.

Asked today by The Journal how Sinn Féin would differentiate between parts of Ukraine that are safe and parts that aren’t, Ó Broin said: “Those decisions are made every day in the international protection system”.

Asked to expand on the rationale behind Sinn Féin’s position more generally, Ó Broin said people from Ukraine need to be provided with a pathway from temporary protection to “full residency”. 

“That’s beginning to happen already, and we’re beginning to see a number of Ukrainians apply for and secure international protection.

“Temporary protection is always meant to be temporary, and therefore people need to have a pathway to legalise their status if that’s what they want to do, and that’s why we’d like to kind of move out of the temporary phase and into something a little bit more secure,” he said.

Need more clarity and context on how migration is being discussed in Ireland? Check out our FactCheck Knowledge Bank for essential reads and guides to finding good information online.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

103 Comments
    Mute qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Favourite qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Jun 16th 2025, 12:29 PM

They’re correct

Mute Mary BINTon
    Favourite Mary BINTon
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:34 PM

@qffaffaf affrafrfraf: Totally, how could anyone disagree with this as it makes total sense, and because it makes total sense, FFG are fuming, bottom line, can’t be having the opposition making good decisions!

Mute Mary BINTon
    Favourite Mary BINTon
    Jun 16th 2025, 3:14 PM

@H Woo: Woo don’t have a clue.

Mute Mary-Jo Lisa O’Callaghan/Murphy Jr.
    Favourite Mary-Jo Lisa O’Callaghan/Murphy Jr.
    Jun 16th 2025, 3:28 PM

@H Woo: ‘Foogees’ !! Showing your class as usual.. I hear you’re a racist now, ‘Stephen’

Jun 16th 2025, 3:30 PM

@Finian McG: Well it’s Michael ‘Muslim’ Martin and Simon ‘Hamas’ Harris are the actual Gov and have been for decades.

Jun 16th 2025, 4:31 PM

@H Woo: FFG have flooded the country but you have no problem with that, nor the likes of Healy Raes making millions from them.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Jun 16th 2025, 9:06 PM

@Mary-Jo Lisa O’Callaghan/Murphy Jr.: Ukrainians are from the white race like Irish. So how is that racist? You are using words that you don’t even understand the meaning of. Stop before you continue to embarrass yourself.

Mute Mary BINTon
    Favourite Mary BINTon
    Jun 16th 2025, 12:40 PM

It’s a correct and well thought out position.

Mute Mary Linton
    Favourite Mary Linton
    Jun 16th 2025, 12:43 PM

@Mary BINTon: hiya troll….I see you did a fair bit of cloning accounts at the weekend

Mute Mary BINTon
    Favourite Mary BINTon
    Jun 16th 2025, 12:52 PM

@Mary Linton: Are you high or something?

Jun 16th 2025, 2:27 PM

@Lance Taylor: Buster/Mary and you are the site Trolls, along with Rian and Henry Murphy. The real ‘Lance Taylor’ had a 6 moth profile, you can copy his name, but you can’t make it a 6 month old profile.

Mute colm
    Favourite colm
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:55 PM

@Mary Linton: fake recognises fake

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:50 PM

The Ukraine refugee arrangement in a money processing scam, the Nato proxy war happening in 5% of ukraine imagine FFG trying to get us into NATO wonder why?

Mute richard mccarthy
    Favourite richard mccarthy
    Jun 17th 2025, 7:32 PM

@Kevin O Brien: no one is trying to get us in to Nato,thats scaremongering, its a loada $hite pal

Mute Lorraine Kennedy
    Favourite Lorraine Kennedy
    Jun 16th 2025, 12:36 PM

They’re 100% correct! They’re not the only people fleeing war & persecution. They should be treated like every other person seeking international protection. There’s nothing special about Ukrainians. This current government are a fn sham!!! Don’t hear much about ukraine & Russia the past few days. I guess they took a break

Mute Nemethon
    Favourite Nemethon
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:11 PM

@Lorraine Kennedy: The core issue is we simply don’t have enough housing—for anyone. Last week, only 2,350 homes were available to rent in Ireland, far below the recommended 10,000–15,000 needed. Thousands of Irish people are stuck in hotels, B&Bs, or on floors. We were homeless for six months after losing our home of 12 years after our landlord died My partner had to move across the country to live with her parents . We found a place only through personal contacts. We’ve been five years on the housing list, likely with years more to wait—as others more in need are housed ahead of us. I’m not xenophobic; I have deep compassion for refugees. But fairness means we must care for those already suffering here too.

Mute Lorraine Kennedy
    Jun 16th 2025, 5:09 PM

@Nemethon: Well charity starts at home!!! There’s ABSOLUTELY NOTHING that separates Ukrainians from other people coming from other countries. As far as I’m concerned the Ukrainians have been put on a pedestal even before our own irish citizens and given the “special treatment” for long enough now. I don’t really care about the Ukrainians to be very honest..I think they have gotten enough help worldwide. And some are able to go home to ukraine for holidays….where theres a war!!!!!Taking the mxxk as far as I’m concerned. The IRISH must come first. And Ukrainians must be treated like every other person seeking asylum in our country. Our government is a fn DISGRACE and have destroyed our country. I’ve become to hate my own country because of what’s happening!! Shameless b@st@ds in power!!

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Jun 17th 2025, 1:24 AM

@Lorraine Kennedy: Oh look, another clown trollfile renewed spewing the shyte tropes as usual.

Mute Quinnladden1
    Favourite Quinnladden1
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:53 PM

The IPAS system is a mistake!

Mute Max Krzyzanowski
    Favourite Max Krzyzanowski
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:43 PM

Funny how we’re allowed to comment on this article, yet every article pertaining to Israel has “comments closed”.
    It’s almost like the Journal are selectively suppressing public discussion for some reason.

Jun 16th 2025, 2:52 PM

@Max Krzyzanowski: Every other article concerning Immigration is closed, this one is open to allow bashing of a certain party.

Jun 16th 2025, 3:34 PM

@Max Krzyzanowski: No comment allowed on article about cost of Govs deportation flights or about Irish MEP’s condemning UvdL’s solo run.

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:05 PM

The county is being overrun by unvetted migrants from Africa and the middle east who know nothing about the people who fought and died for Ireland and don’t care. They’re here for the benefits and to take the Irish taxpayer to the cleaners . When Ireland fails catastrophicly they will move on to the next place.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:31 PM

@James: Like the Irish so who fled across the gpobe from what again? Oh yes, no employment in Ireland, open a history book before you start shooting your mouth off.

Mute Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterford hurlers
    Favourite Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterford hurlers
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:43 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: A very woke rebuttal. The Irish when they immigrated to the US, the UK, Australia, or wherever were never given the hand outs that those coming in here are given. Who wouldn’t want to immigrate to Ireland when everything is handed to you while the Irish themselves are broke and homeless

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:41 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: They fled to Australia, Canada, England and USA. Why not invite them to Ireland first. How big is the Irish community in Nigeria and Afghanistan?

Mute KO
    Favourite KO
    Jun 16th 2025, 4:38 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: Nothing like that at all.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:38 PM

It’s ok, they’re white so they don’t need to do what asylum seekers have to do when fleeing war, female genital mutilation or downright poverty. The Irish have very short memories and use the British mentality now, ironic because if people fled that didn’t live in the pale they didn’t have a word of English. Over 100,000 brought in when we have a housing crisis so Varadkar could be seen as a great man, never saw payments being made to take in Asylum seekers, hell, charities weren’t allowed to give them tents and the only crime that happened there was the far right trying to burn them out. Two tier system when you’re white coming into Ireland.

Mute Finian McG
    Favourite Finian McG
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:54 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: at least Ireland offers asylum..try going to any of the super-rich Muslim oil states and try to seek asylum. And by the way Eoin O Broin looks ridiculous in that 70s donkey jacket..

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:10 PM

@Finian McG: you yourself should try going to the US, Australia, or Japan and try seek asylum. But you won’t get it. You’ll be on the next flight out at your own expense

Mute jn
    Favourite jn
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:33 PM

all orange lads throwing their weight behind fffg with anti sinn fein bashing as they know fffg have no interest in a United Ireland,as immigration is overlooked by fffg who are in government with the majority of votes to pass legislation

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:44 PM

Woo don’t have a clue, they a foo.

Mute Mike Mahon
    Favourite Mike Mahon
    Jun 16th 2025, 3:23 PM

Loyalist patriots all piling on to blame the opposition for all their perceived problems. Same with the Paul Murphy, or SD stories. Maybe try blaming the actual government for your so-called “invasion”, “plantation” or whatever else Gript are calling it these days. “Woke, lefty, NGO, Sharia Fein” blah blah blah. FFG and their Indo buddies have bent you over and are laughing their rears off.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 16th 2025, 12:48 PM

No surprise there. Sinn Fein has either abstained or voted against motions in the EU parliament critical of Russia since 2014.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 16th 2025, 12:53 PM

@honey badger: As the wind changed direction shortly after Putin began his murderous invasion, Sinn Fein promptly deleted thousands of pages of their views/ statements on Russia from their own website. Cynical weather vanes who’d say mass for a vote.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:10 PM

@honey badger: Just checked there. As recently as this April and May, they’ve voted against EU measures that would support Ukraines economy. Phuk SF.

Mute North Phone Bowe
    Favourite North Phone Bowe

@honey badger: The context and rational behind that May vote. Not that you ever do contact or rational, just twisted false accusations.
    Sinn Féin MEPs have consistently supported the use of sanctions against Russia in response to its illegal invasion of Ukraine. I continue to support the use of sanctions where they put pressure on Russia to stop its illegal war of aggression.
    I abstained on this vote as the proposal as put is flawed. There is no impact assessment and there is a lack of proposed price monitoring at member state level. The result is a proposal that may lead to increased prices for fertilisers for Irish farmers, with consequent increases in food prices for Irish consumers

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:07 PM

@North Phone Bowe: Here’s a few more.
    * 2015 EU Resolution on Russia: Sinn Féin’s four MEPs (Martina Anderson, Lynn Boylan, Matt Carthy, and Liadh Ní Riada) abstained from a European Parliament resolution condemning human rights abuses in Russia, its annexation of Crimea, and its alleged financing of radical and extremist parties in EU member states.
    * 2019 Resolution on Crimea and Election Interference: Sinn Féin MEP Lynn Boylan voted against a 2019 European Parliament resolution criticizing Russia’s annexation of Crimea and its interference in European elections.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger

@honey badger:
    * 2020 Navalny Poisoning Resolution: Sinn Féin MEP Chris MacManus abstained from a 2020 resolution condemning the poisoning of Russian opposition leader Alexei Navalny. MacManus stated he could not support the resolution because it proposed isolating Russia internationally, supporting all opponents of the Russian government, and increasing sanctions.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:09 PM

@honey badger:
    * 2022 Resolution on Russia as a Terrorist State: In November 2022, MacManus abstained from a European Parliament resolution condemning Russia as a state sponsor of terrorism.
    terrorism.
    2023 Sanctions Violation Vote: In a notable deviation, Chris MacManus voted against adding the violation of sanctions to a list of serious EU-level crimes, despite Sinn Féin supporting this measure in the Dáil (Irish parliament).
    * 2024 Resolution on Russian Agents of Influence: In February 2024, MacManus abstained from a European Parliament resolution calling for investigations into MEPs acting as agents of influence for Russia.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:12 PM

@honey badger: Sinn Fein, ladies and gentlemen. I don’t think we’ll see the plaintive mewling of that shinner mouthpiece again on this thread…

Jun 16th 2025, 2:19 PM

@honey badger: Any info on all the Deals that the UK, EU and other countries had with Putins Russia for Oil, Gas and the rest in your detailed files about Sinn Fein ?

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:23 PM

@Mary-Jo Lisa O’Callaghan/Murphy Jr.: Oh lord save me from the binary minded ramblings of a shinnerbot that has no answer to the disgraceful actions of its party…
    You poor deluded creature. You have my pity.

Jun 16th 2025, 2:35 PM

@honey badger: god you really don’t do irony or hypocrisy do you. The EU worked with Putin before 2014, there was plenty of Oil and Gas deals between them, but don’t let that get in the way of your extreme Sinn Fein rhetoric.
    Your also extremely pro Israel, you deny the genocide, you lie about that conflict all the time, You have absolutely no morals or integrity.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:40 PM

@Mary-Jo Lisa O’Callaghan/Murphy Jr.: There’s a great phrase i read years ago. I cant remember who wrote it but it sums up your contributions perfectly. Id like you to remember this: ” drivelling in slack-jawed blaggardism”.

Jun 16th 2025, 3:37 PM

@honey badger: Irish MEP’s condemn Ursula’s pro Israel solo run .. but of course comments not allowed on that article, nor the one about the cost of deportations of course.

Mute keith fay
    Favourite keith fay
    Jun 16th 2025, 12:44 PM

Did he actually refer to it as ‘The Ukraine’ which is how Russia and Russian supporters of the war refer to it?? Or is that a typo? It’s ‘Ukraine’ not ‘The Ukraine’

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 16th 2025, 12:58 PM

@keith fay: a Freudian slip, perhaps.

Mute Uí Braonáin
    Favourite Uí Braonáin
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:35 PM

@keith fay: The word ‘Ukraine’ comes from ‘ukraina’ which is a russian word that means ‘borderland’ hence the definite article – akin to ‘The Netherlands’.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:53 PM

@Uí Braonáin: Ukrainians advise us to drop the ‘the’. It’s Ukraine. Stop stepping over Ukrainians to Ukraine-splain things. It looks silly.

Mute Uí Braonáin
    Favourite Uí Braonáin
    Jun 16th 2025, 3:34 PM

@honey badger: I know but was just explaining why everybody called it ‘the Ukraine’ up until very recently.

I wouldn’t worry too much about it. Think of it as a milder version of ‘the Republic of Ireland’ that your crowd calls us.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jun 17th 2025, 11:47 PM

@Uí Braonáin: ah the Netherlands, a fairly sensible Eu member. Ireland has literally never not been the laughing stock of western Europe, as we are reminded a lot more often lately.

Mute 087 bed
    Favourite 087 bed

Sinn Féin, The à la carte Party.

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Jun 16th 2025, 12:55 PM

Most will be granted permission to stay so will then be seeking housing via HAP/social housing, same as the other successful IP applicants. There is already very feew places available so all this will do is increase homelessness. It’s pretty obvious that SF don’t actually want to see the housing problem solved and woudl like to see it get worse for their own benefit and agenda.

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Jun 16th 2025, 5:54 PM

These Ukrainians could have gone to west Ukraine where they would have been safe. Instead they chose to go to the countries who gave them the best welfare benefits incl fixing their cars free along with paying for their pets to be flown to Ireland. When it comes to taking the piss Ukrainians have it down to a fine art. The ones who flew home for a 6 week Christmas holiday should have been refused reentry into Ireland. Do not extend the temporary deal but let them start paying for the benefit of being here. I am sick to death of FFG wasting our taxpayers money on this farce.

Mute Mary Linton
    Favourite Mary Linton
    Jun 16th 2025, 12:38 PM

SF talking absolute rubbish as per usual…….we need to look after our Ukrainian brothers & sisters as long as the heinous invasion of their beautiful Nation persists. Trumps campaign slogan of ending the death & devastation in jig time was just that- an empty manifesto gimmick. Remember …if the shoe was on the other foot….. our Ukrainian friends would’ve welcomed us in our hour of dire need

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Jun 16th 2025, 12:42 PM

@Mary Linton: No, they wouldn’t

Mute Mary BINTon
    Favourite Mary BINTon

@Mary Linton: Gobbledegook

Mute Coldfilter Coldfilter
    Favourite Coldfilter Coldfilter
    Jun 16th 2025, 12:56 PM

@Mary Linton: No, we don’t need to look after them,they all need to return to the comfort of the 80% of Ukraine unaffected by the war.Just fuel up the big luxury 4×4′s and drive back across the length of the European continent,2,500km from whence they came.

Mute Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterford hurlers
    Favourite Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterford hurlers
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:47 PM

@Mary Linton: I very much doubt the Ukrainians would either welcome us or give us even a tiny fraction of the support that our country has given them.

Jun 16th 2025, 2:10 PM

@Mary Linton: Ah Mary, Buster, Lance and yourself giving out about Immigration. Your Busted Mary.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jun 18th 2025, 2:44 AM

@Mary Linton: word salad from a committed troll

Mute Ciaran Murphy
    Favourite Ciaran Murphy
    Jun 16th 2025, 12:47 PM

Populism

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:51 PM

@Ciaran Murphy: Show me a Political Party where populism isn’t a policy and I’ll show you a bunch of unelected people.

Mute Coldfilter Coldfilter
    Favourite Coldfilter Coldfilter
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:08 PM

Shallow gesture from Sinn Fein, who know full well that by virtue of their presence here for the past 3 years they are certs to be regularised permanently.This a Sinn Fein ruse to portray a false tough narrative of being harsh on immigration but covertly manoeuvring the Ukrainians into permanent residency beyond 2027!Next move is to mass importation of the deviant

Mute Shaun
    Favourite Shaun
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:46 PM

They should set up offices in Gaza and Kiev pointless them even being here and give Paul a call too and tell him he’s fine where he is.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:17 PM

Irrelevant they aren’t in Government and can’t do feck all about it. They seem to trying to find something every week to become more relevant and get a few headlines. For a party that was built on hating oppression it seems that they favour it now. Putin will be proud of their efforts.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:08 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: So the opposition to the government is irrelevant? I think Putin would be proud of your comments. He also thinks his opposition is irrelevant

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:33 PM

@Ger Whelan: SF are irrelevant , I never said anything about the opposition.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jun 16th 2025, 3:07 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Well considering SF are the opposition you are indeed calling the opposition irrelevant. Good man Vlad.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 16th 2025, 3:38 PM

@Ger Whelan: Hilarious

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jun 16th 2025, 4:37 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Not as hilarious as your climb down

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jun 17th 2025, 7:02 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: you = anti democrat that should be silenced.

Mute Peter Allen
    Favourite Peter Allen

They want to make room for Jihadis

Mute Michael Cooney
    Favourite Michael Cooney
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:56 PM

If I had to choose I’d rather have the Ukrainian refugees than what SF want to flood our country with

Mute BarryH
    Favourite BarryH
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:29 PM

Why are Sinn Fein so incapable of taking an assertive stance on anything. They water down all of their policies in order to gain the Populist vote by talking out of both sides of their mouth at the same time. At one stage I did want to see SF in power but now that they have become so fickle…………

Mute Nodon
    Favourite Nodon
    Jun 16th 2025, 2:58 PM

Sinn Fein – the flip flop party, doing another flip flop. That’s not news.

Mute Liam Walsh
    Favourite Liam Walsh
    Jun 16th 2025, 3:19 PM

Sinn Fein is one evil party of lies, God help Ireland if they ever get into power, the country will go back even further to the stoneage, think of Afghanistan

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jun 16th 2025, 4:59 PM

@Liam Walsh: Mehole has already brought us back

Mute Trevor Donoghue
    Favourite Trevor Donoghue
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:08 PM

So how many Irish fled to other Countries because of our conflict with the UK over the years? anyone who says otherwise is a traitor to Ireland

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:13 PM

@Trevor Donoghue: Tell me Trevor how many of those Irish who fled here got during our conflicts with the UK get, everything handed to thek such as accommodation, social welfare, expenses paid, when they arrived in the countries they fled to? Please inform me which country gave our people the same treatment we gave the Ukrainians.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jun 16th 2025, 1:32 PM

@Trevor Donoghue: Not true actually, many fled as there were sweet FA jobs, economif migrants as the far right like to call them and why not, if you can have a better life somewhere else then who can deny them that right?

Mute Mary BINTon
    Favourite Mary BINTon

@H Woo: Untitled?

Mute Michael Power
    Favourite Michael Power
    Jun 16th 2025, 5:20 PM

Sinn Fein love Russia. Their MEPs have voted against every proposal in the European Parliament to provide support to Ukraine.

They’re not fooling anyone. They want the Ruzzian political model in Ireland.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jun 16th 2025, 6:02 PM

Sinn Fein oh yeah the wind is blowing to the southeast today let’s go with it

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Jun 16th 2025, 4:48 PM

Why when every single Muslim Iraqi Irani and everybody else is coming into the country and has the same rights as a tax payer , where does Ukrainian people actually go to work the majority of them not free loading , but u guess under sien feins social policy they want freeloaders everywhere so they can pretend they’re making a difference !

Mute Lorraine Kennedy
    Jun 16th 2025, 5:10 PM

@Bren: Aah yeah, there’s no freeloaders that are Ukrainian!! Stop ffs

Mute Brian Merriman
    Favourite Brian Merriman
    Jun 16th 2025, 3:48 PM

This is crazy. A temporary protection is granted, so that when peace returns to Ukraine, the people can return safely. If Ukrainians were to apply for international protection, it would likely be granted, meaning in peacetime, they would have a legal right to remain here. Clearly SF doesn’t understand the difference between a temporary protection and a permanent one.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Jun 16th 2025, 4:00 PM

@Brian Merriman: many of the people they are trying to woo with this move don’t understand that, and they know it.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jun 16th 2025, 7:55 PM

Absolutely spot on from SF. Bizarre off meds journal addicts will I’m sure have had a field day so I better grab the popcorn, and scroll up. Man, I really am a self sadist.

Fianna fail and fine Gael charlatans OUT the majority who matter do not want you .. majority matters

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Jun 16th 2025, 3:14 PM

Scrambling.

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Jun 16th 2025, 9:58 PM

We gave number 1 vote to people before profit. Never ever again. Currently looking at all parties and finding that FG is the only party to vote for. Huge disappointment that Leo left politics. How badly we need people like him but they are not there. Other strong figures are Helen McEntee and Roderick O’Gorman. Such people like Leo Varadkar, Helen McEntee and Roderick O’Gorman should rule this country.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jun 18th 2025, 2:50 AM

@Sergej Simonov: as much as you’re not from this country, you need to get educated about the damaging ministerial posts those people have held. Helen mcentee helped to make our capital city and some other big towns reach almost record levels of socio economic collapse and a lot of street violence, all the while lying to people it wasn’t that bad. Varadkar is an unethical and pompous me feiner has been.