You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sticky Pixels.ie

The App all men have been waiting for (and could probably do with)

Ballina-based app developer launches Man App to remind you of the dates you tend to forget and the advice you tend to need.

MEN.

ARE YOU getting the silent treatment?

Are you in trouble but you don’t know why?

Then you could probably do with making a small investment in the Man App.

Reminding you of all the occasions you were “not designed to remember”, Ballina based developer Cillian Ó Mongáin has developed the app after a friend broke up with his girlfriend.

“We were on a surfing holiday and he was joking that we need something to prompt us when we had to do something. But the more we joked about it the more we realised it could work,” Ó Mongáin tells TheJournal.ie.

There are two sides to the app. The first one is relatively simple calendar of events that reminds men of important dates such as birthdays, anniversaries and Women’s Christmas, says Ó Mongáin.

“It will go red if something is coming up in the next seven days and encourages you to panic a little bit.”

The second part is a more innovative advice section, which offers suggestions as to how you can look after your partner  and advice on why you may be in trouble.

The ‘Random Act of Kindness’ section allows you to set a frequency  metre. For example, every two days it will prompt you to do something as simple as making a cup of tea for her in in bed or giving her a massage to keep her ticking over. It also suggests doing the dishes, although we try not to do chores.

A ‘Dog House’ section offers suggestions on why you might be in trouble, for example, failing to notice a haircut. The ‘essential statistics’ section allows men to record their partner’s bra or shoe size “if you want to get her a pair of slippers”.

Ó Mongáin says he carried out a survey in order to help him develop the app:

We consulted with a few women alright. 43. All the ones I know.

It found that:

• 97 per cent of women surveyed have resorted to giving men the silent treatment (35 per cent on a monthly basis)
  • 58 per cent of women have received unromantic gifts. These included a chair, a car stereo and bike parts.
  • 35 per cent of men had forgotten important occasions. Excuses included “didn’t feel it was relevant to mark the occasion” and “I didn’t
    actually forget, I just never mentioned it out loud.”

Gifts considered acceptable were trips away, dinner and cute teddies.

The app retails at 99c and is available here.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 72 comments
72 Comments
    Mute Celtic Lady
    Favourite Celtic Lady
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:11 AM

Hope theres a toilet lid down reminder in the App. :-)

Mute Conrad Gouws
    Favourite Conrad Gouws
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:21 AM

The default position for the toilet seat in our house is up… Any lady visitors that need to sit down, can put it down.

Mute Kieran Fitzgerald
    Favourite Kieran Fitzgerald
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:23 AM

Where’s the “it’s on a hinge, it goes up and down, pull on your big girl pants and learn to use it” app?

Jay
    Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:43 AM

Maybe if u remembered to put it up when u wer done he may oblige the same

Mute Ailís McKernan
    Favourite Ailís McKernan
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:58 AM

Most of us insist on the jacks seat being down because we dont like to deal with the reality of man pee-splash every time we need to use it. Otherwise the bleach would never be out of our hands. And when we get up in the middle of the night to use the toilet whether we drank too much tea or are perhaps suffering from our period, there’s nothing like falling into the toilet bowl to wake you up and curse the day you met your partner. Also, why does a toilet have a seat to begin with? Men use it when they poo, women use it when they pee and poo, that’s 3 instances where the seat is required and the trumps the one time it needs to up, therefore default position should be down! Why fight it? We do so much! Give us this one thing!

Mute Kitty Prendergast
    Favourite Kitty Prendergast
    Nov 4th 2012, 9:54 AM

The thing is, men use the toilet with the seat down when they take a dump, whilst women never need the seat up. Seems to me like the default position is seat down lads. Unless you want to sit on a toilet wet with your own pi$$ when you sit down for a relaxing bowel emptying session…

Mute Conrad Gouws
    Favourite Conrad Gouws
    Nov 4th 2012, 9:55 AM

I clean the toilet, i scrub the bathroom floor, i vacuum the house, that’s why i make the rules. There’s two guys in this house and women are only visitors, it takes less effort to keep the thing up :-p

Mute Derek McDonnell
    Favourite Derek McDonnell
    Nov 4th 2012, 10:03 AM

one thing that this discussion really does highlight, women….are….mental

Mute Ailís McKernan
    Favourite Ailís McKernan
    Nov 4th 2012, 10:22 AM

Yes Conrad, exactly. When you do all the cleaning and cooking and vacuuming and laundry and whatever needs to be done, you should get to make the rules!

Mute Howard Cooley
    Favourite Howard Cooley
    Nov 4th 2012, 11:06 AM

You would be more annoyed with piss on the seat.

Mute The Man App
    Favourite The Man App
    Nov 4th 2012, 12:06 PM

Hmmm, not a bad idea. I’m all for leaving it up though. Will certainly add it to the dog house section!

Mute Dermot Stapleton
    Favourite Dermot Stapleton
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:28 AM

Fair play to the lads. Great idea , hope it works well for them. My memory is crapp so I downloaded it just now!

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812

So it’s an enhanced calendar & all men are idiots then?

Brilliant.

Mute js1711
    Favourite js1711
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:26 AM

Exactly. AKA the patronising app.

Mute Eamonn Casey
    Favourite Eamonn Casey
    Nov 4th 2012, 1:32 PM

exactly what I was thinking – a glorified calendar. As well as assuming all men are idiots it also assumes (watch the video on the link above and pause at 0:42) that women can’t change lightbulbs, hang paintings or fix door handles.

Mute Carol Brill
    Favourite Carol Brill
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:30 AM

So long as they remember to use the app after installation too :)

Mute Sarah Cullington
    Favourite Sarah Cullington
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:41 AM

Kieran, re the toilet lid, if you leave it up all the time your loo “sneezes” a fine mist of wee and poo water all over your bathroom (and toothbrush) every time you flush it. Just saying. ;))

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Nov 4th 2012, 9:48 AM

This is very true. Did you know you should cover your toothbrush because of this?

Mute weddingcar.ie
    Favourite weddingcar.ie
    Nov 4th 2012, 10:29 AM

Maybe a lemsip might help your loo. Hope it gets better soon x

Mute Adrian de Cleir
    Favourite Adrian de Cleir
    Nov 4th 2012, 10:43 AM

You just converted me

Mute Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    Favourite Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:34 AM

CuteTeddies? Seriously? I would be over the moon if hubby bought me a car- stereo and I wouldn’t mind a really comfortable chair either..

Jay
    Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:47 AM

Hey I thought practical gifts were thoughtful gifts and therefore romantic

Mute Deirdre Mac Mahon
    Favourite Deirdre Mac Mahon
    Nov 4th 2012, 9:11 AM

Pair of tyres anyone? Not romantic but terribly useful

Mute Steven Smyth
    Favourite Steven Smyth

Mary is tired this morning.

Mute Mark O'Malley
    Favourite Mark O'Malley
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:46 AM

She had a hard day in the kitchen , sandwiches wont make themselves !

Mute Steven Smyth
    Favourite Steven Smyth
    Nov 4th 2012, 11:03 AM

Brave man Mark, braver than me inannyways.

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:39 AM

97% of women give the silent treatment, (35% monthly)?

These child-women need to grow up. You have your period, we get it. Chances are your hormones are clouding your judgement.

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Nov 4th 2012, 1:06 PM

So many red thumbs… Seems like a lot of the womenfolk are on their periods this week.

;-)

Mute Stacey Redmond
    Favourite Stacey Redmond
    Nov 4th 2012, 1:41 PM

dude stop saying period

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Nov 4th 2012, 5:31 PM

Terminology of choice ?

Mute Sean Hamill
    Favourite Sean Hamill

And for just €29.99 men can buy their missus the female version of the app. It comes with a similar advice section and calendar reminding them to keep their man happy. The name of the app is… ‘GoBlow’

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Favourite Diarmaid Twomey
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:24 AM

And this can’t be construed as sexist no? No, I’m sure all the feminists will giggle at the stupid men who need an app to do menial tasks. I’m sure I will be told to lighten up, and I agree with those sentiments, merely pointing out the hypocrisy! I am well able to remember dates and do tasks without being prompted, cheers lads!

Mute Celtic Lady
    Favourite Celtic Lady
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:33 AM

It’s equally as sexist to presume that all women get upset when events are forgotten. Or toilet lids are left up ! Relax. It’s an App not legislation !

Jay
    Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:45 AM

Weren’t you the one who made the toilet lid suggestion not the article?

Mute Diarmaid Twomey

Have a read off my comment there again now. Particularly the line “I’m sure I will be told to lighten up, and I agree with those sentiments”?

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Nov 4th 2012, 10:23 AM

Oh and by the way Celtic Lady, Club Orange ads weren’t legislation either and were branded “grossly sexist”. Something doesn’t have to be constitutional to be sexist, surely that’s a basic enough concept?

Mute Steven Smyth
    Favourite Steven Smyth
    Nov 4th 2012, 11:09 AM

Yeah you say that Diarmaid, how about when I came home the other day with my new hair style wearing my new suit and cuff links. Did I get a compliment, no I did not. You better get that app at we are so O.V.E.R.

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Nov 4th 2012, 11:34 AM

All that being said these lads are just having a laugh and I applaud them for doing same!

Mute Celtic Lady
    Favourite Celtic Lady
    Nov 4th 2012, 1:29 PM

Ah Diarmuid .. Are you always so fired up or is this a bad day ???

Mute Doreen Savage
    Favourite Doreen Savage
    Nov 4th 2012, 9:05 AM

Everytime I use the hubby’s car I move the seat, wing mirrors and rear view mirror, could do with an app to remind me to change them back!

Mute Brendan Moore
    Favourite Brendan Moore
    Nov 4th 2012, 12:12 PM

That really gets on my wick!

Mute Denise Keenan
    Favourite Denise Keenan
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:35 AM

I never understand why women get so bothered about the toilet seat being up. You very rarely hear men complain about the toilet seat being down. I like to be in control of my own toilet seat. Lol. Great app btw.

Mute Stacey Redmond
    Favourite Stacey Redmond
    Nov 4th 2012, 1:39 PM

the toilet see doesn’t bother me, it’s the dirty jocks fired around the place that get to me!

Mute Barry Morgan
    Favourite Barry Morgan
    Nov 4th 2012, 9:47 AM

feck that, I love getting picture no sound from the missus its like a holiday pure bliss I tell you

Mute Chrissy Buckley
    Favourite Chrissy Buckley
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:12 AM

Lol what’s next an app to do it all for them,

Mute ken-d
    Favourite ken-d
    Nov 4th 2012, 10:57 AM

That’s called a wife app,did u not see when paddy met Sally haha

Mute Mary Lowe
    Favourite Mary Lowe
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:11 AM

Yawn.

Jay
    Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:41 AM

Lord give us strength eh Mary

Mute Kitty Prendergast
    Favourite Kitty Prendergast
    Nov 4th 2012, 9:51 AM

Mary Lowe makes me yawn. God Bothering troll.

Mute Conor Cummins
    Favourite Conor Cummins
    Nov 4th 2012, 9:10 AM

i had a girlfriend that made such a big deal about putting the seat down, i just didn’t bother putting it up.

Dmc
    Mute Dmc
    Favourite Dmc
    Nov 4th 2012, 9:05 AM

‘His friend broke up with his girlfriend’. Was this an open relationship?!

Mute Tokidoll
    Favourite Tokidoll
    Nov 4th 2012, 8:49 AM

I genuinely never heard of Women’s Christmas until reading this article. Help! Is there a Non-Event app I can download???

Mute Éamonn Mac Lochlainn
    Favourite Éamonn Mac Lochlainn
    Nov 4th 2012, 11:18 AM
    Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Nov 4th 2012, 10:27 AM

Do men with multiple girlfriends buy several apps ? What if they get the dates on the different apps mixed up then ?

Mute Regina Maclean
    Favourite Regina Maclean
    Nov 4th 2012, 10:55 AM

I would like to invent a toilet with an interfered porcelain seat. Why do we need something in a hinge which gets filthy, falls off and gets loose, is hard to clean. If we had an integrated ergonomic seat , easily wiped clean, we could all be happy. !!! Just saying

Mute Johnny Gobstock
    Favourite Johnny Gobstock
    Nov 4th 2012, 11:20 AM

that just made me think there of something like Toilet Sheets, would be fairly bulky though, tough rough recycled card for each seat shaped sheet when you get the sheets. just rip it off and bin it when you’re done leaving a nice clean sheet for the next would be sheeter.

sheets thats a good idea! rip your own toilet sheet! 50 pack?

Mute Johnny Gobstock
    Nov 4th 2012, 11:25 AM

also everytime i use the toilet, i place a few sheets of toilet roll around the bowl seat prior to downloading. 3 of us share the toilet, (not at the same time mind) i sometimes spray it too with dettol. don’t trust these sheets i live with.

Mute Johnny Gobstock
    Nov 4th 2012, 11:40 AM

its been done, many paper toilet seat covers sheets out there.

Mute JakkiB
    Favourite JakkiB

Thank you all for your witty comments…Ohhh reading the Journal is much more fun than reading those Sunday papers! Love the App, Good luck to them! :)

Mute Hakuin Murphy
    Favourite Hakuin Murphy
    Nov 4th 2012, 11:50 AM

These comments remind me that I need to seriously start my next business
    A device to negate the toilet seat up down problem
    I thought of it 15 years ago and have been waiting for some company to bring it out.
    Noone has so far. The solution I’ve devised is apparently genius in it’s simplicity according to anyone I’ve told….

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    Nov 4th 2012, 1:02 PM

Sure do tell us Hakuin, I’m in a pretty long queue here in the patent office and would love to hear your invention, just to keep the boredom away

Mute Eimear Smith
    Favourite Eimear Smith
    Nov 4th 2012, 1:05 PM

Foot pedal?

Mute gingerman
    Favourite gingerman
    Nov 4th 2012, 9:35 AM

@Doreen. You would never get the car set up back exactly the right way. I can never Hoover or clean the bathroom exactly the right way either . This app won’t cover everything in my view.

Mute Regina Maclean
    Favourite Regina Maclean
    Nov 4th 2012, 10:55 AM

Integrated not interfered!!!

Mute Garry Fitzgerald
    Favourite Garry Fitzgerald

Stop repeating yourself…..your lid will fall off!

Mute Suzanne Sheridan
    Favourite Suzanne Sheridan
    Nov 4th 2012, 10:49 AM

Assume this is tongue and cheek? Are men that stupid and inconsiderate that they have to be reminded to make their girlfriend a cup of tea!!?

Mute Rusty Balls
    Favourite Rusty Balls
    Nov 4th 2012, 10:56 AM

While this may be a great idea, not everyone has an iPhone, I use an old Android phone. So unless the developer is willing to release this very useful app on other platforms it’ll only be available to Apple fanboys.

Mute Lou Brennan
    Favourite Lou Brennan
    Nov 4th 2012, 12:05 PM

Oh! how I Long for some silent treatment.

Mute Sean Herbert
    Favourite Sean Herbert
    Nov 4th 2012, 4:29 PM

Some knob deleted my comment.

Tim
    Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    Nov 5th 2012, 10:21 PM

The comments started on toilet lids then changed to toilet seats.
    Which is it?
    We (all of us Men, Women and Children in my family) always leave the lid down.
    It’s like closing a door behind you.

Tim
    Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    Nov 4th 2012, 10:21 PM

The comments started on toilet lids then changed to toilet seats.
    Which is it?
    We (all of us Men, Women and Children in my family) always leave the lid down.
    It’s like closing a door.