You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The price of pints of Guinness, Harp, Smithwicks and Hophouse 13 will increase on 3 February (file photo) Alamy Stock Photo

The price of a pint is going up again

The price of pints of Guinness, Harp, Smithwicks and Hophouse 13 will increase next month.

THE PRICE OF draught pints are set to rise again, Diageo has confirmed. 

Guinness, Harp, Smithwicks and Hophouse 13 will go up by six cents per pint on 3 February, excluding VAT. Guinness 0.0 will increase by nine cents per pint, excluding VAT.

Once VAT, duty and the pub margin are added it could result in an extra 30 cents for a pint – meaning pints could be well over €6 in many pubs and more than €7 in Dublin, according to Drinks Industry Ireland

This will be the fourth price rise in two years.

The Vintners’ Federation of Ireland (VFI) said the latest price hike is “a blow to an industry already on its knees” and many publicans will have to pass on the increase to consumers.

A Diageo spokesperson confirmed the increase, telling The Journal: “Like many businesses, we continue to face increased costs across our Irish operations.

“In an effort to offset these costs and to maintain a sustainable business in Ireland, we have advised our on-trade customers that there will be an increase to the list prices on our full draught product range.”

It is understood that Diageo is increasing the cost of its draught range due to wage inflation and the continuing rise in energy costs.

Pubs ‘squeezed from every angle’ 

Pat Crotty, VFI CEO, said “publicans are being squeezed from every angle – rising energy costs, higher wages and government-imposed charges”.

“This latest price increase from Diageo adds yet another layer of financial pressure on pubs already struggling to keep their doors open.”

Crotty said it “isn’t just about the price of a pint, it’s about the survival of pubs across Ireland”.

The reality is that small, community-based pubs are at breaking point. Without additional support, particularly in rural areas, many will simply not survive.

The VFI is among those who have repeatedly called for the hospitality VAT rate to be reduced from 13% to 9%. Under the new Programme for Government, it is understood that this reduction will happen

As government formation talks reach a conclusion, the VFI has called on the new coalition to introduce more targeted reliefs for the pub sector including a reduction in excise duty, a reduction in the top VAT rate from 23% to 21%, and employer PRSI reductions.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 133 comments
133 Comments
    Mute Edwin Mc Partling
    Favourite Edwin Mc Partling
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:10 PM

Whatever she might claim about who pays her salary and how much it is, is there nothing that tells her that earning the guts of a quarter of a million euro a year when the charity is only gaining 10,000 euro from scratch card sales is fundamentally wrong, “charity begins at home” , selfish , self centered, self serving and she sickens me

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Feb 27th 2014, 4:24 PM

Should not the comments be closed…. This is a clear case of criminality!!!!

Mute Mary Griffin
    Favourite Mary Griffin
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:19 PM

The woman is on another planet. How many lawyers did it take to come up with todays answers. So even though the State pumps money into Rehab she is not funded by the taxpayer???? Where does the State get it’s money then – the tooth fairy? She has some neck.

Mute marty
    Favourite marty
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:33 PM

That’s the thing she has a brazen neck, getting a straight honest answer, from people like her is like trying to catch an eel from a bucket of jelly!. Well done for trying Mary Lou.

Mute Imnotbovvered Atall
    Favourite Imnotbovvered Atall
    Feb 27th 2014, 4:23 PM

What a greedy self absorbed woman. I thought McDonald grilled her good.

Mute Mike OCallaghan
    Favourite Mike OCallaghan
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:20 PM

Great performance by Mary Lou McDonald.

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:08 PM

Just shows what our system is made of after all it was put together by the few to bully the many. This lady should resign

Feb 27th 2014, 2:27 PM

@Harry I agree she should resign but I doubt she is a lady. Parasite yes….

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:57 PM

Greedy Greedy Greedy Greedy Greedy Greedy self entitled woman.

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Favourite Hound of Cooley
    Feb 27th 2014, 3:56 PM

A little misogynistic don’t you think… does it matter that she’s a woman?

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Feb 27th 2014, 6:01 PM

If she was a man I wouldn’t said ‘man’, Thats the problem nowadays, people like you in the politically correct brigade interpreting remarks and turning them into something they don’t mean.

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Feb 27th 2014, 6:02 PM

*would have said man*

Mute Paul Doyle
    Favourite Paul Doyle

I’d love to see Vincent Brown do a “interrogation” of that woman, I’d say he have her squirming !!!

Mute littlepaddypower
    Favourite littlepaddypower
    Feb 27th 2014, 3:27 PM

Let Mary Lou run the country. She’s got my vote. Not afraid to say what the rest are!

Mute TrafficBatGirl
    Favourite TrafficBatGirl
    Feb 27th 2014, 3:42 PM

Seriously? I suppose you’ll be heading with her and SF to that welcome home party planned in Donegal this weekend so. I’m not saying she isn’t right to take Rehab to task, but if we are talking morals here, make sure your own doorstep is clean first…

Mute Marc Marcel
    Favourite Marc Marcel
    Feb 28th 2014, 2:55 AM

her and Pearse will be getting the votes.

Mute Butter bean
    Favourite Butter bean
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:31 PM

On an other note for someone earning €250,000 you would think she could get a decent haircut and am not going to get started on your wan beside her..rehab indeed.

Mute Ger Kelly
    Favourite Ger Kelly
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:49 PM

Senior Management including this Lady in Rehab have necks like Jockeys @*&%$&…..all charity CEO positions should be capped at €125k. I think a lot of them have forgotten the charity bit when they go to work and expect to be paid as if they are working in a private company earning massive profits. We are talking about vulnerable people getting cut after cut in services, disability cuts, mobility cuts from central government. Frontline staff in the CRH and Rehab have been forced to take Public sector pay cuts but at Senior levels they are getting top ups and pay increases. I think this Rehab board need to resign like the CRH and the government steps in and pulls the plug on this gravy train

Mute Jane Aelst
    Favourite Jane Aelst
    Feb 27th 2014, 3:26 PM

All of this is just appalling, but as we know these people have brass necks and an incredible sense of entitlement. They don’t mind the public exposure of their obscene earnings even if Kerins fought against it being made public. As was shown by the CRC episode and the various revelations there, the parties involved just keep their heads down and wait for the conflict to blow over. They keep their bumper salaries and pensions. No one is called to account. This is the country we live in. What are this woman’s qualifications to be paid as head of a not-for-profit organisation on this scale? Why does she sit on so many state boards? Why does she believe that she is worth it?

Mute W.j.d.
    Favourite W.j.d.
    Feb 27th 2014, 3:51 PM

Social welfare is paid by tax payer…. Rehab funded by tax payer…. One gets pay increase…. The other gets decrease…. Now Miss, which one pays you ?….

Mute Dexter Gordon
    Favourite Dexter Gordon
    Feb 28th 2014, 11:22 AM

Oh, so she’s a Miss. And there was I pitying her husband.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:09 PM

Shinner is outraged, stop the press.

Mary Lou is outraged 25 times a day.

The local elections are starting early.

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:15 PM

I’m no fan of hers either. I shudder to think she’s next in line for the poisoned chalice that is SF. Hopefully, she’ll drink it. I’d much prefer Pearse Doherty to take over. He’s tolerable.

Mute Steve Bang
    Favourite Steve Bang
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:17 PM

That’s like saying you’d prefer athletes foot to halitosis

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n

“Mary Lou is outraged 25 times a day”

Bit rich coming from yourself Seanie. How many hours per day do you spend on here and on Twitter voicing your outrage?

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:35 PM

SeanieRyan – Headline – he defends his FF Hierarchy Colleague – Angela Kerins of – stunning bias Seanie – the man who spend so much time attacking Shatter & Callinan , suddenly changes tack when confronted with his FF Party Hack status of defending Bertie’s great friend Angela , who earns more the President Obama ?
    C’mon Seanie – show us that you are a decent fellow please and not just a FF Troll please ?

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Feb 27th 2014, 3:58 PM

Is that Cecilia commenting ?

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Feb 27th 2014, 4:28 PM

Read the same Pierse’s comments about a welcome home party for the Hyde Park bombing suspect.

Mute benny dowling
    Favourite benny dowling
    Feb 27th 2014, 5:12 PM

Politics is not a popularity or likeability contest.or at least it should not be

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Feb 27th 2014, 11:10 PM

Just doing her job not lining the pockets of family & friends like a FF TD would do once elected.

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Feb 27th 2014, 11:11 PM

And sure why not!

Mute Ina Smidiríní
    Favourite Ina Smidiríní
    Feb 28th 2014, 8:53 AM

Ha ha Seanie! Another one of your “inner circle” caught with their snout in the trough of public money!! Greedy little pack of fianna fail pigs! I spit on ye!

Mute Dexter Gordon
    Favourite Dexter Gordon
    Feb 28th 2014, 11:17 AM

Mary Lou. No better girl to get stuck in to these parasites.

Mute Rosie O'Dea
    Favourite Rosie O'Dea
    Feb 27th 2014, 6:12 PM

She doesn’t decide her salary? Well she’s not exactly turning it down !

Mute Patricia Lyons
    Favourite Patricia Lyons
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:32 PM

A Shinner shocked now that is shocking. She was not shocked, however, when her IRA compatriots were blowing its fellow citizens apart.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:37 PM

Let it go you’re obsessed and I fear it’s making you mentally unstable

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Feb 27th 2014, 3:08 PM

A Patrick or as you now call yourself Patricia Lyons – another banned right wing Troll back in action !
    How many times were you banned Patsy ?????

Mute Fled Bricrenn
    Favourite Fled Bricrenn
    Feb 27th 2014, 5:07 PM

Patrick have you not packed your bags yet for that glorious kingdom to the east?

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Feb 27th 2014, 4:33 PM

Ms. Kerins is defending the indefensible, and to use Mary-Lou’s terminology – “that jars with me”. However, what also jars with me is this faux outrage coming from the very well renumerated, expensed and pensioned politicians that comprise the Public Accounts Committee. The tables could be turned there and it would be equally valid in my view.

Not detracting from the original issue here, and that is the outlandish pay for those Rehab execs, but come on, Pot – kettle – black

Mute Chris Day
    Favourite Chris Day
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:03 PM

To the author

*Kerins

Mute Steve Bang
    Favourite Steve Bang
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:10 PM

To the commenter

*Send a Correction

Mute AARO-SAURUS
    Favourite AARO-SAURUS
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:17 PM

To the window

To the wall

Mute Chris Day
    Favourite Chris Day
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:18 PM

Ah okay, I see the email option there. Thanks.

Mute Driv ElMachine
    Favourite Driv ElMachine
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:51 PM

McDonald really let herself down here I thought. She came across as really petty and aggressive.

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Feb 27th 2014, 11:17 PM

Good job done by Mary Lou on behalf of the people.

Mute Boleyn
    Favourite Boleyn
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:16 PM

Kerins takes her apart imo

Mute Joe Conway
    Favourite Joe Conway
    Feb 27th 2014, 6:46 PM

I think you need to look at this again. I never thought I’d say this – but ML Mc D did a good job there.

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Feb 27th 2014, 11:46 PM

Lolz ur mixing them up Bolo! Kerins is the one with Joe Elliott’s barnet.

Mute Tim O'Halloran
    Favourite Tim O'Halloran
    Feb 27th 2014, 7:26 PM

Exactly . How much were lawyers and PR people paid to come up with this sh-te talk? That money came from the state and charity donations whatever she says.

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Feb 27th 2014, 9:35 PM

Big difference to being a CEO of a multi national profit organisation that is answerable to shareholders vs a charity which exists for a cause and should operate in good faith with its donators. A CEO salary for a multinational Pharma company could feasibly be 300k, whilst that of a charity should be no more than 70k and within reason.

Mute David McDermott
    Favourite David McDermott
    Feb 27th 2014, 8:36 PM

With all that money you’d think a hairdressers would be a good investment!!!

Mute Donal Reynolds
    Favourite Donal Reynolds
    Feb 27th 2014, 11:16 PM

Mary-Lou will get her yet !!!!

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Feb 27th 2014, 6:52 PM

Ironic that the Public Accounts Committee do not get to the real issues and look at the value Rehab is providing to the disabled in Ireland for the money provided by the taxpayer. They have a well managed, respected and internationally recognised organisation. Much simpler to criticise the CEO. Most organisation would be happy to have a leader with the skill that she has shown to drive the organisation forward.

SF / IRA I assume have no comment on today’s jailing of their laundry man. Who was this money divided out to or is it part of their “average wage”!

Mute MsMac
    Favourite MsMac
    Feb 27th 2014, 4:17 PM

@Butterbean, my thoughts exactly!

Mute Butter bean
    Favourite Butter bean
    Feb 27th 2014, 5:13 PM

@msmac to which of my comments does your “my thoughts exactly” comment refer.
    Cause if its the first one that would be awesome:)

Mute MsMac
    Favourite MsMac
    Feb 27th 2014, 5:38 PM

Only copping this now! It was the hair one I’m afraid! ;-)

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Mar 1st 2014, 1:41 PM

This womans earns in 1 working day roughly the same amount a person on Disability Allowance would recieve in almost 5 weeks. And she works for a publically funded, not for profit charity ? Words fail me.

Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    Feb 27th 2014, 9:13 PM

Any 1 that gives to these charities is an ape plain an simple!

Mute Neil
    Favourite Neil
    Feb 28th 2014, 11:37 AM

Great to see this line of questioning from a very capable woman against a very incapable woman who is bleeding this country dry.

Mute Sean Hillen
    Favourite Sean Hillen
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:32 PM

Sociopaths in command, as usual, until people wake up to their prevalence (5% apparently!), and as usual they are always right and don’t really understand why they should be challenged. Wake up folks

Mute Sean Hillen
    Favourite Sean Hillen
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:33 PM

Sociopaths in command, as has become the norm, until people wake up to their prevalence (5% apparently!), and as usual they are always right and don’t really understand why they should be challenged. Wake up folks :-)