You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
The analysis for Friends of the Earth (FoE) said that while Fine Gael, Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin made good progress to commit to renewable energy targets and retrofitting schemes, pledges to “genuine, transformative climate action is still weak”.
All three parties failed, scoring an E grade, according to FoE’s analysis. Meanwhile, smaller parties were most likely to have made progressive commitments to climate action, with the study finding its commitments were “core” to their manifestos.
Labour scored the highest, achieving an A grade, followed by the Social Democrats, The Green Party and People Before Profit. Aontú and Independent Ireland scored a G grade, with the climate group claiming that both parties failed to make adequate pledges.
Manifesto scorecard. Friends of the Earth
Friends of the Earth
Manifestos were measured against FoE’s Programme for Faster and Fairer Climate Action 2025-2030 that calls for a people-centred approach to climate action with better leadership and accountability from government, a focus on retrofitting and renewable energy, public transport reform and nature restoration.
The assessment was carried out by academics including Dr Cara Augustenborg of University College Dublin, a member of the Climate Change Advisory Council, Professor Hannah Daly of University College Cork, and Professor Mary Murphy of Maynooth University.
FoE Chief executive Oisín Coghlan said it was alarming that the parties who are vying for Oifig an Taoisigh had “failed this independent climate assessment”. He claimed that their manifestos’ policies would not reduce emissions fast enough to meet 2030 targets.
“I hope the three would-be [Taoisigh] will be challenged in Tuesday’s RTE Leaders’ Debate about their climate policies. Climate change isn’t going away and we need to know are they ready to deliver faster and fairer action,” Coughlan said.
He added that policies should include a focus on driving the transformations needed in the climate to meet the 2030 goals, not “leaving it to subsidies, taxes and individual behaviour change”.
The Green Party, which scored a B grade, has centred its campaign around the climate crisis. It claims that party TDs are needed to keep the government in line with the policies that are needed to achieve the EU 2030 goals to reduce emissions by 55%.
Cycling
Separately today, the Irish Cycling Campaign has ranked the Green Party the best at prioritising cycling and Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil the worst out of seven parties.
It says that the parties receiving good grades were the Green Party, Labour, Social Democrats, explaining that these were “clear in their prioritisation of active & sustainable transport and had detailed targets for funding and resources to support this”.
“In the middle were Sinn Féin and People Before Profit who had many positive policies but lacked policy specifics,” the campaign said.
“Those with a weaker commitment – Fianna Fáil & Fine Gael – showed a poorer commitment to prioritise active and sustainable transport and had few specific targets.”
Green Party
Leader of the Green Party Roderic O’Gorman has today told the Irish Times that he believes Sinn Féin are not interested in discussing climate action, claiming the party “hasn’t said a word about climate” since 2020.
He also disagreed with Sinn Fein’s proposal to axe the carbon tax, and criticised his coalition partners Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael for blocking a Green Party proposal to release funds from the Climate and Nature fund to businesses and public services.
Meanwhile, the Green Party’s Catherine Martin said: “What is alarming is that the three main parties, one who will probably hold the office of the Taoiseach, are failing and failing miserably.
“I say alarming, but not surprising, having been in government with two of those parties. It only points to the fact that we have been driving the change. As (party colleague) Neasa (Hourigan) has said, we are certainly taking top of the charts on delivery.”
Dublin Central Green Party candidate Neasa Hourigan meanwhile remarked that “talk is cheap”.
“There’s no metric in that core of what you actually do when you’re in power, and when we were actually in power, we reduced our emissions and we created two new national parks.
“The reality is that when Labour were in government, they did exactly zero on the environment, and in my local area it is Labour and Social Democrats who are actively blocking every piece of public transport that we propose.
“The proof is in the pudding, and the green pudding actually delivers results.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
114 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Brendan O’Brien: €1.20 has been deposited to your account Brenda. Don’t forget, we only offer to pay a maximum of €5.00 per day, so make sure your toxic comments cause maximum damage.
@Marvin Dollery: do you ever think why they have huge emissions ? Most of western products and equipment is made there. It’a not domestic production it’s the large amount of energy needed to create the products exported to us that are the issue . Our demand is the reason for the huge emissions in these countries which supports their economies. You probably type your comment on a phone made in China with a load of fossil files used to create it (plastics and energy) as well as child labour..
@Marvin Dollery: mmm….. as Jimmy cliff sang ‘ I can see clearly now’, lol…… I thought it was just like my wife & would try and argue with the wind. That makes so much sense that it’s paid, cheers
Folks the story below on that man dealing with cancer could use a little love and consideration for a few supportive comments, there isn’t a family in Ireland that this has not been affected by cancer. A love pile on would be great for the author I reckon
@Brendan O’Brien: it’s cancer Brendan, don’t do this, you are better than that, did you even look at what I posted on what was a tumbleweed of a story (in comments terms). It will impact all of us. Call me all you want but give that story a little bit of love as I’m sure it would be appreciated by the author
@Marvin Dollery: China only approved 10 coal fired power stations in the first half of 2024, a drop of 83% compared to the same time last year (I read only 4 more coal plants were approved in second half of 2024). China’s Solar power farms increased 78% in just one year, with enough new solar power plants installed to power all of Ireland more than 3 times over. They produce 97% of the world’s polysilicon solar panels and 60% of the world’s wind turbines. Their wind generation capacity generates enough electricity to power all of Japan, and they have more wind farms than all of Europe or the US. They also approved 21 new nuclear power plants since 2023. Renewables now generate c. 45% of China’s electricity needs.
Their expansion of renewables is so fast that for the first time their coal use didn’t increase this year, their power generation increase was entirely met by the expansion of renewables.
@Brendan O’Brien: and if everyone in ireland went to shanks mare tomorrow and went off grid…….it wouldn’t change the outcome for those parts of the planet. The principle of taxing ourselves into oblivion is nothing short of a Con.
@David Jordan: Now, David, I’ve only been around here about 3 weeks but already I have realised that facts and reasonable argument are wasted on most posters. A post like yours just ruins their pre-concieved ideologies, so they ignore it and keep blustering onwards!
@Me Me: As you will have probably guessed also is that most of the comments are by one guy under different names. He is having a wild time today talking to himself. Its very funny stuff to watch.
@HisMastersAlibi: The funny thing is, if the journal banned the IP address as opposed to email addresses, it would get rid of the multiple account problem
@Frank Mc Carthy: damage limitation is it frank…I was gone the weekend but I see several people referencing a boo boo u made….it was delicious I must say seeing you forget to switch back to your frank account from kevvy…
@Marvin Dollery: We have a bigger carbon footprint per capita than India as do all ‘western’ countries. China is also well down the list. If these people really are serious about the planet they’d start to call out the biggest polluter body on the planet, a body that’s also exempt from all these carbon emission surveys – being of course the US military.
@Marvin Dollery: No Martin, not censorship advocate…a fairness advocate. Every individual is entitled to their opinion and has a right to express it. That is what is right, correct and fair. What is not fair is how there is are some individuals on here, using multiple avatars to make it look as if the opinions they are expressing are more valid. It is easy to create multiple email addresses from the various providers, Gmail, Yahoo, Outlook and so on, so the best way to stop the individuals doing the multiple accounts is to stop the IP addresses, unless they are paying for multiple Internet providers, and that would not be cheap, and if they do ban an IP address due to a proven multiple account user, then that was a rule break anyway and should be banned.
@Marvin Dollery: Oh by the way….as to being thick, you actually think you are getting away trying to convince the people reading your comments that your own multiple avatars are individual commentors? You do not need a degree in linguistics to see the one set of colloquialisms and mannerisms across your various avatars comments to see who is who….. and you have the cheek to call me thick. Thanks, I needed a laugh.
@Pat Barry: I only have one account Paudi. I can do enough damage to all the clowns on here sowing doubt and dissent with just the one alias. If you were any good at identifying “mannerisms” and specific “linguistic” styles you’d know that. Pathetic.
@Marvin Dollery: ah now really, still making me laugh. You and your fellow avatars of the individual behind you, are/is really putting on a good comic show, but we can all see the reality.
@Marvin Dollery: You’ll be right, Merv. The whole world isn’t against you. Take a break from the aul keyboard though I’d say. Or find someone to talk to. In person of course.
@Brendan O’Brien: unless india China Russia and the USA cooperate then what we in ireland do means zero that unfortunately is the basic truth we and the rest of the world rely on them
If Ireland was to quite literally disappear from earth, it would make a 0.1% reduction in global emissions. That’s right, 0.1%. That is our measured output of global emissions. So all these cutbacks and climate measures which do nothing but make the average citizen poorer, will at most, have a less than 0.1% impact on global emissions. It is up for the larger countries with massive polluting industry based economies, such as China and India, to fix their emissions.
@Brendan O’Brien: Are China India and The Middle East in Europe? Punishing Irish people with sick green taxes and greenwashing will make NOT ONE JOT of difference. Luckily, most people have common sense. The green disaster is dead.
@Brendan O’Brien: we exported our co2 to China who are still building coal power stations. If you read your metrological history we are only getting back to the temperature normally of the last 5000 years. There has been a 20% increase in crop yields and worldwide vegetation due to higher co2. You won’t get the greens telling you that.
@gregory pym: CO2 is good for plants, but the increased greenhouse effect that it contributes to is disastrous in terms of climate change. ‘we are only getting back to the temperature normally of the last 5000 years’ makes no sense: the science is clear.
@gregory pym: China approved only 10 new coal fired power stations in the first half of 2024, a drop of 83% compared to the same time last year. There’s indications that China’s massive investment in renewable energy generation, for example solar power plants increased 83% in just one year, with enough new solar generation to power all of Ireland more than 3 times over, that renewable energy generation is meeting the increased energy demand and coal power plants don’t need to increase. Their renewable energy provides about 45% of their electricity generation needs.
China in joined the Paris Agreement in February 2023, and it previously introduced a domestic carbon trading scheme in 2022, which adds a cost to CO2 emissions from power stations.
@Brendan O’Brien: Historically, Ireland never had an industrial revolution. As we’re reminded by our betters regularly, we were a third world country until the 60s. Surely it’s up to industrialised nations to bear the weight of this transition. Now multinational corporations are competing on the open market for renewables. We’re paying extortionate prices for fuel. I’m not buying that Ireland needs to do more internationally. We should be focusing our attention on our ecology and stop with this carbon obsession
@Uí Braonáin: Hold on a second now.. So you’re saying – you want the ambient temperature of your kitchen to be high enough to melt the butter onto the bread as its spread. A temperature akin to a fine Irish Summers Day in the mid twenties. Yet, you’re one of these lads who catastrophises fine summer days and thinks we should pay tax to offset it, which does not work. In essence, you are calling for hotter days as opposed to colder days, yet spout global-warming-like nonsense to beat the band. Do you actually hear yourself? Change your name to Uí Braindead you headcase.
@Marvin Dollery: Stop arguing with yourself and come out from under that bed, a sheoinín. You’ll be grand. only want my bread buttered. Not a fan of the aul waffles.
@Paul O’Mahoney: Man your reading comprehension is so beyond poor that I ignore all your replies on my posts. What the actual hell are you implying here? In fact, I’m going to mute you. You come across as somebody who drinks way too much whiskey in retirement.
People on here more concerned about generations 500 years away when they’re grand children will be minorities in their own country. They want to end up like London or Paris.
@Cole Palmer: new paper just published in Nature says the warm current that keeps northen Europe mild, is in the process of weakening due to fresh water input from the melting of the Greenland ice sheet and arctic sea ice driven by global warming. The ocean current called AMOC has already substantially weakened since 1950 and if global warming continues, and it likely will, in only 10 years time, the warm ocean current will begin to weaken by 33% when global warming reaches 2 Celsius, leaving much of northern Europe and indeed Ireland uninhabitable this century.
Pontes, G.M. and Menviel, L., 2024. Weakening of the Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation driven by subarctic freshening since the mid-twentieth century. Nature Geoscience, pp.1-8.
@Cole Palmer: Will there still be “countries” OR minorities? Love London, Love Paris, great cities… if we were concerned about anything regardless of your ideological preference then building is required. We’re not even providing for 20 years time yet ffs
@David Jordan: luckily this will cause a new ice age in north pole and northern Europe problem solved jus put in an offer on land near the equater instead of being bled dry here do something
@Tommy: Just to point out that the report was not written by Friends of the Earth, though it was commissioned by them.
The report was written an independent judging committee, who included:
● Dr. Cara Augustenborg, Assistant Professor in Environmental Policy at UCD
Dr. Cara Augustenborg is an environmental scientist with a BSc in Biochemistry from the University of Washington and both an MSc in Environmental Health Sciences and a PhD in Environmental Science and Engineering from the University of California, Los Angeles. Her doctoral research, conducted at Teagasc in County Wexford, Ireland, focused on nitrogen recycling for the sustainability of Irish agriculture. She has held post-doctoral research positions at Trinity College Dublin’s School of Business and University College Dublin’s School of Agriculture. Currently, she serves as an Assistant Professor in Landscape Studies and Environmental Policy at University College Dublin.
● Prof. Hannah Daly, Professor in Sustainable Energy at University College Cork
Professor Hannah E. Daly is a leading expert in sustainable energy and energy systems modelling. She earned her Ph.D. from University College Cork (UCC) in 2012, focusing on transport energy demand and climate policy scenarios for Ireland. Following her doctorate, she conducted postdoctoral research at the UCL Energy Institute, where she developed the UK TIMES Model (UKTM) and contributed to its adoption by the UK’s Department for Energy and Climate Change. From 2015 to 2019, she led energy access initiatives at the International Energy Agency, co-authoring the 2017 Energy Access Outlook report. In 2019, she joined UCC as a faculty member and was appointed Professor in Sustainable Energy in 2022. Her research encompasses energy access, climate change, and air pollution, and she actively engages with policymakers, civil society, and academia on these topics.
● Prof. Mary Murphy, Professor of Sociology at Maynooth University
Professor Mary Murphy is a distinguished academic in the Department of Sociology at Maynooth University, where she has been a faculty member since 2007. She earned her PhD in Politics from Dublin City University in 2006. Prior to her academic career, Professor Murphy spent two decades as a campaigner and policy analyst in national social justice NGOs, contributing to various national policy forums, including the National Economic and Social Forum (NESF) and the National Economic and Social Council (NESC). Her research interests encompass eco-social policy, participation income, gender and social security, globalization and welfare states, and the dynamics of power and civil society. In 2020, she was appointed Professor, and in 2021, she became the Head of the Department of Sociology and the Centre for the Study of Politics at Maynooth University. An advocate for social justice and gender equality, Professor Murphy was appointed to the Council of State in 2019. She has also served as Chair of Oxfam Ireland’s Board, contributing to discussions on addressing global inequality. In May 2023, she published her book, “Creating an Ecosocial Welfare Future,” which explores transformative models of welfare change.
@David Jordan: Ah, David, there you go again! Here’s you with a sensible comment when it seems some people have never heard of Friends of the Earth, even though it was founded over 50 years ago.
Friends of the earth are a Dublin city ran organisation who don’t care about the rest of Ireland. All they care about is the Greedy Greens, they are just another Economic think tank to make sure we as taxpayers will never have money in the Rest of Ireland.
@Tommy: The irony of the Friends of the Earth, giving all the Far Left parties an A grade. I listened to Oisin O Coughlan being interviewed on radio one night & he was insisting we all drove EV’s, when the interviewer asked him what he drove, he said a Diesel saloon, laughable. The do as I say, but not as I do NGO who insist on inflicting hardship on struggling working families. This group shouldn’t be getting any State funding, bunch of hypocrites.
@Njall: At least they were generous with the far left parties that would create and more inactivity and unemployment poverty. Massive idleness and time to study Marxist ideology. For them full employment and prosperity is preventing electoral power and needs to change. Living in the jungle is their dream and they will impose it on non comrades whether the like it or not.
They could have retro fitted a lot of old people’s homes for the price of that bicycle shed. Total hypocrisy from our leaders. They can zoom all their meetings around the world from now on and put the money into retro fitting old houses. The greens have failed the Irish environment and our ecological breakdown is only accelerating. Bring back Seorse McHugh and the Just Transition crowd
We’e already going to miss our 2030 targets with the Greens in government and the bar was already set very low. Labour’s pledge in 2010 ‘Labour’s way or Franfurt’s way’, none of their pre-election promises can be trusted. The Carbon tax should be on the biggest polluters, the rich, not the ordinary person back the Greens were too spineless to do this, along with their government cohorts. Sinn Féin don’t oppose a carbon tax, the oppose a xarbon tax on the ordinary person. Remember Fine Gael let waste collection companies increase the price of recycling and they blame the ordinary person, just like the recession in 2008, also with the Greens in government.
Who asked them to evaluate our government. The NGOs think they should dictate government policy. Who gave them a mandate to do that. NGO sector has far too much power in this country.
Friends of the earth my ass, shutting down valuable bogs for horticulture in Ireland. Now having to import peat, causing increased in costs and further pollution as peat has to be imported.
Pushing EV cars on us with dangerous lithium batteries, what about the poor minors lives in other countries having to mine this deadly stuff. Also the danger of having to bury mountains of dangerous batteries when they are no longer usable lithium will be getting into the soil and water.
Plastic containers now have to be brought to store for recycling using up valuable car fuel, when I have a perfectly good recycling bin at my front door. These so called friends of the earth is just another way of taxing the people. The Green party will never get a vote off me.
Shady non profit: Check
Globohomo art on their website: Check
Pushing UN sustainable development goals: Check
Published on the Journal: Check.
Conclusion: It’s more propaganda. How tiresome.
China , India, Morocco and Ukraine ..above All Most Gulf Area
Why ireland pay 3 billion ?
Saudi and UAE must pay whole Bill
3 billions can build hostels for homeless people, can buy LCD and heating solar panels for our schools ,can make better impact on smelly toilets at trains or broken toilets at terminal 1 Airport
@P. V. Aglue: social welfare not an option , Dutch system need it, work permit ,learn language, voluntary clean your 2 KM radar area you live at , or lose your tent and deportion!
Why save a world that you can’t afford to live in, you may believe that to be ridiculous but people are struggling by now and the carbon tax is adding to that. Make the biggest polluters pay
Without monetarily penalising people (which has zero impact on climate) and blaming the bovine population (placating the veg only/non dairy brigade), we as a nation do and have done for decades a lot more than other nations in terms of being climate friendly, long before climate became a vehicle for taking money from our pockets. FG love any method that means less cash for the constantly flogged taxpayer!
FFG allowing cargo plane load after cargo plane load of heavy duty Israeli Genocide weapons pass through our airports and air space daily add that in to the carbon footprint figures
Whenever Friends of the Earth say something is bad, usually it means that it’s good. Nevertheless, there is still too much being done on this farcical issue of no importance. If the next government had any sense, they would abolish the carbon tax, scrap all the “Net Zero” targets, permit fracked gas to be imported into Ireland, repeal the fuel tax and reopen offshore gas exploration. We need an explicitly pro-fossil fuel party in the Dáil and one which believes that people have the right to drive whatever car they wish without government interference. Friends of the Earth is just another busybody NGO that should be kicked out of the country and ignored. It is nothing more than a modern day form of racketeering.
@Brendan O’Brien: You advocate a vote for the Greens and Labour, two parties that demand that tge ordinary person pays carbon taxes while PBP don’t, they demand that the biggest polluters pay tye carbon tax. No idea about the Social Democrats stand point on that. Most of them are on 5% so how would they form a government? Saoirse McHugh quite the Greens because of their socio-economic policies that are non-existent, no surprise that most of their candidates come from affluent areas because it’s nothing to them but everything to others. Confused at calling for a vote for the Greens and Labour because both will join Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael or both.
@Brendan O’Brien: People like you are the problem with this country. Do you lack any semblance of common sense in that head of yours or do you enjoy paying more taxes because you are someone who has no clue how it actually impacts people other than yourself?
@Brian D’Arcy: Why should anyone have to pay a carbon tax and allow the government to steal more money? You are right that Labour and the Greens are left-wing taxpayer leeches, but PBP are even worse. They don’t think I have a right to private property, a right to make money and a right not to have the government steal even higher amounts of money from me through steeper taxation. They haven’t got a clue about basic economics and Rich Boy Barrett is the most out-of-touch elitist that I’ve ever come across. You’re right that the Greens are a shower of snobs, but so are PBP. Rich Boy and Paul Murphy both are private school products that haven’t worked a day in their lives and Mick Barry is a carpetbagger from Columbus, Ohio that grew up wealthy in Dublin. Don’t make me laugh!
The amount of people here who simply don’t care about the future is depressing. Big oil has been insanely successful with telling people the climate change is a myth
Judging by the photos released
by the Gardia of the “Racist far right” protesters.
Looks more like the Brixton riots from the boy and girls in the photos
What’s left of humanity will look back at this period in history and say we were the first generation who could not save ourselves because it wasn’t cost effective
China to slap extra 34% tariffs on all US imports in retaliation to Trump measures
42 mins ago
Inquest
Appeal of DPP decision not to prosecute garda who fatally shot George Nkencho unsuccessful
1 min ago
Live Blog
US stocks drop sharply as EU considers response to Trump tariffs
18 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say