You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
A LETTER FROM Luas operator Transdev putting all staff on protective notice has been met with a strong response this evening from the Siptu trade union.
The letter, which had been expected by union members after talks broke down yesterday, tells staff future employment at the tram service will be on a day-to-day basis. Siptu had earlier warned that the letter had the potential to “create conditions for a shutdown” of the Dublin tram service.
The latest
A meeting between between management and the union broke down yesterday – and asked this evening whether Transdev was trying to bring matters to a head, managing director Gerry Madden said it was the union that was being unreasonable
What’s happened since the WRC deal is five further stoppages. We obviously incur financial penalties as a result of that.
In a statement, Siptu’s Owen Reidy condemned the actions of management and said the letter “proposes that members should consider an offer to resolve the dispute that is inferior to a proposal from the Workplace Relations Commission that was rejected by 99% of staff”.
The WRC deal was rejected by workers just days before Easter weekend. Strikes planned for Easter Sunday and Monday, which had been postponed, went ahead – and further stoppages have taken place since.
“Transdev has escalated the dispute by breaking off all talks and threatening our members’ livelihoods,” Reidy insisted.
This move makes a negotiated settlement to this dispute even more remote.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Why Eamonn? The strike on Easter Sunday was actually a fitting tribute to the great socialist James Connolly on the centenary of his execution at the hands of our previous capitalist ruling class. Connolly understood that the cause of the working class is only ever advanced significantly and sustainably through collective action, solidarity and struggle against the capitalist system. The lives of the majority are only bearable because of the many battles fought and won by the earlier unions. Minimum wage, 40 hour working week, workplace health and safety, universal health care and education, state pension etc etc etc. None of these concessions to the working class were willingly gifted by capital but we’re fought and won over centuries of socialist struggle.
Solidarity with the Tesco and Cadbury workers, the 999 operators, the Luas drivers, the nurses, the teachers and all workers struggling to obtain a greater share of the wealth which we create. As the data clearly shows, the trend over the past few decades has been overwhelmingly in the opposite direction with greater and greater wealth accumulating to capital owners and less and less to the workers. This has disastrous consequences for society and it’s long past time we reversed the rotten system which sees 62 individuals now holding the same wealth as the poorest half of the globes population, 3500 million people.
Wally- if the Luas workers and others you mention are highly skilled and deserving of highet pay then they’ll have no problem getting the big pay with another company. Failing that they could set up their own business, of course they’d be hated by the likes of your you for doing so as being a capitalist
My son could do with a new job as the one he has pays mim wage, even after a college degree. He could get double his wages by just doing 7 weeks training. When are they interviews???? Should be loads of jobs going in a few days
Tommy You understand of course that the Luas infrastructure won’t evaporate if Transdev lose the operating contract? Therefore drivers will be required by whoever runs our state owned light rail network and that those jobs will be unionised as it’s in Siptu and the other transport union’s interests to ensure that is the case.
The concern around here for Transdev’s profits is entirely misplaced unless of course you’re a shareholder. Around half of any money that the Luas drivers get in a pay rise will end up increasing the government’s tax take which can be used to fund social services like health and education which benefit us all.
The remainder of the pay increase will be spent in the local economy supporting other jobs and families. One person’s spending is another person’s income and job as the macro economy is circular.
More money in the hands of the working class in beneficial for society generally. More money in the hands of the minority capitalist elite is bad news as they already have an obscene share of the world’s wealth and continue to hoard ever more.
It’s interesting to hear the majority here arguing against their own interests and for more money to accrue to those who already have too much.
Now I wonder who might benefit from keeping us in blind ignorance on the nature of the class divide and how the macro economy actually works?
Possibly the kind of people who have accounts with Mossack Fonseca in Panama maybe?
They are looking for 60 grand a year Comrade Wally. Working class, really? They also want a month off every year, paid. And double time instead of time and a half for overtime. Greed, greed and more greed. I couldn’t care less if all those lever pushers were out on their ears in the morning. They are taking the pi**.
I don’t see the likes of Comrade Wally getting half as excited about workers on zero hour contracts.. You know, genuine cases that need to be highlighted. Jizzing in their pants every time they talk about luas drivers, as if they are hard done by. Money follows money as the old saying goes.
“The firm which operates Dublin’s Luas has put its staff on protective notice with immediate effect.
An all-out strike now appears to be on the cards after Transdev and Siptu failed to break the deadlock at last-ditch talks yesterday.
In a letter to employees, Transdev warns staff will be employed on a day-to-day basis and that an “appropriate financial deduction” will be imposed for “unacceptable part-performance of duties”.
We are the clowns if we don’t see the bigger picture going on here, the systematic destruction of workers rights, the race to the bottom, the return of slavery, all just around the corner now
Nonsense Len. The AAA supports all workers struggling against the infinite greed of the capitalist system. Check out today’s Journal article on the Tesco workers as an example like a good lad.
A defining quality of the elite capitalist skum that you continually harp on Wally about is greed. What the luas workers and siptu are guilty of is the exact same greed that you claim to abhor.
CIE group. Why so it can copy it’s good value, punctuality and excellent customer service. Don’t make me laugh. It’s easier to believe that SIPTU precipitated the strike to engineer same.
No, I leave the “jizzing” to you, I have said that I sincerely hoped the workers would see sense and not risk their jobs, unlike the AAA, I don’t want to see them used as a pawn in the game that the AAA and SIPTU want to play.
I am all for the protection of workers rights and I am all for seeing that workers are employed on decent pay and good terms and conditions,
Not once have you ever said what was wrong with their pay – not once have you said what your issue was with them working a 35 hour week and being paid a decent salary for this while having very generous terms and conditions.
Your concept of simply increasing wages – just because is just nuts, if these workers are not satisfied with their 42k plus 6% after 9 years, then they can take the experience they have, courtesy of the private firm that paid for their training and see what they can get elsewhere.
John, how can you expect the sheep, who have become blinkered sheep, to understand exactly what’s going on here.
It’s how dare an ordinary tram driver look for better wages, and how dare they inconvenience the traveling public.
They never stop to think that if the Luas workers get beaten down or sacked, the same is on the cards for them. Support them and everyone has a yardstick to work off.
It seems everyone is happy to take crumbs, and dont have the courage, or moral fiber to dare ask for more.
Its depressing.
Let’s be clear here Wally, I don’t care if Transdev ever make a profit. I’m quite sure they are as terrible as the next corporation. Neither do I care much about the wages of Luas employees, that’s between them and their paymasters.
But I do care about the standards of people. How they act and behave towards their fellow citizens. The Luas employees collectively acted like spoiled children on Easter Sunday. They asked Transdev to cancel their planned “scab service” and negotiate in good faith only to turn around and break that faith themselves at a days notice. Presumably the motivation was to hurt Transdev but they knew there would be significant collateral damage amongst the public and they did it anyway.
Labour, both as a collective movement and socio-economic force, can only protect it’s interests if it maintains the upper hand morally. These people let themselves down with how they behaved; the schism they are now trapped in is of their own making. And if AAA wanted to have any semblance of moral authority on this issue going forward they should have called the childish nonsense around Easter Sunday out for what it is.
In short, these people aren’t right just because they’re “one of us” and if you want to practice blind faith in something then perhaps you could join a religion? Because it’s a horrendous trait in politics.
Keep commenting wally and re-affirm to the journals readers why 96% of the popultlation didn’t vote for the AAA … your more of a help to FF FG LAB and SF then you are to the AAA
Wally, the Infinite as you describe it was allows for the Drivers to be already on very good pay and conditions. The better the company does generally the better its employees do.
I know plenty of people over the past 20/30 years that made a lot of money on share options in various multinational companies.
Maybe the Luas drivers should use their annual 6% bonus (money for nothing) to buy Transdev shares.
So tell us what is wrong with their pay and conditions?
LUAS Driver:
As Per scales eg’s
Year 2 €36,978
Year 5 €38,666
Year 9 €42,247
Plus 6.5% bonus.
Contracted for 39 hours
Work average 35.45 hours
Paid full sick leave for 7 weeks.
Half pay for a further 26 weeks.
Pension scheme 5% from employee
matched with 5% from
employer after 1 year of
service
1/3 gross annual basic
salary paid to spouse up to
her/her death
Paid for by Company in full
via an insurance scheme
Death in service
3 times lump sum payment
of basic salary on death
via an insurance scheme
Income
protection
Payable after 26 weeks up
to age 65. Benefit is half
pay less social welfare.
via an insurance scheme
(An income protection scheme fully paid for by the big bad employer)
Annual
leave
including
any service
days
20 days on commencement
21 days after 3 years’
service
22 days after 5 years’
service
24 days after 10 years’
service
Compassionate leave, maternity leave/
Other
benefits
Nurses on site annually for
blood pressure, cholesterol,
pulse checks and health
advice paid for by Company
Employee Assistance
Programme provided
Free Parking
Free Luas Travel
Now, would you kindly tell us Wally – what is wrong with this salary and this very, very generous package?
Panty, nothing on the surface of what you say. But the terms and conditions that came with the offer were a bit to much.
Personally, i’ve no time for SIPTU. And i am wary of how they went about organising the negotiations. SIPTU have supported the government on many issues that that defy their status as a trade union. The Luas workers themselves have every right to look for better money. The basis of their claim is looking for parity with other rail workers. That is debatable. Having said that, i support their right to strike for better money. The real truth is not what is carried by mainstream media. It makes the workers look like greedy ****s. The fact that the traveling public are inconvenienced doesn’t help their case. But i wish people would see beyond the headlines.
Dave, I have posted the t&c’s that exist now. None of these have been eroded, the new entrants already start on lower pay, this was negotiated back in 2010, the LUAS drivers want newer staff to be paid the same – but they want them to work all the unsocial hours – how is that fair?
They were offered 6% a year, they were actually asked to do the hours that they have always been contracted to do – but never did, meaning that they were paid for hours they never worked – there has to be compromise and part was that they do the actual hours they have been paid for.
I have always found that within the constraints placed upon them by the resources available to them CIE group provide an excellent service.
I can not say the same about the Luas and the fact that they are making massive profits and refuse to share those with their employees speaks volumes about the kind of company they are.
Get rid of transdev
If you think that earning 32k a year is minimum wage you must be joking! The nurses, doctors, even the Garda earn less than these wan*ers who are looking for a ridiculous amount of money for pushing a button
And silence from his great Walliness – Wally continually compares this to the lockout – oh how James Connolly would be proud – let me tell you if James Connolly was offered those hours, that salary, the t&c’s and the very generous package – he would have snapped the hand off any company.
I can see him giving a big face palm now – how bloody stupid can you be to think for a moment that these tram workers and this strike was anything like the lockout.
Panty, i’ll beg leave to check what you state out, before i comment. A lot of the t&cs are statuary in any normal employment contract. The salary scales differ of course. The Luas workers want parity with other rail workers. I’ve yet to check what train drivers get.
While supporting the Luas workers, i still do not trust SIPTU.
“A lot of the t&cs are statuary in any normal employment contract.”
Sorry, but that is nonsense, paid sick leave, 5 weeks holidays, income protection plan, pension etc… These are not statutory.
“The salary scales differ of course”
They do, they are much higher than many jobs in the private sector.
” The Luas workers want parity with other rail workers”
Who cares, they work for a private firm, do we pay bouncers and security men/women the same as prison officers and Garda (not 23k but when they are on their full scales.).
Do we pay creche workers the same as teachers?
LUAS drivers pay is compared to other light rail drivers who work for the same company in other countries and they get far more.
Wally. Connolly was wounded in the GPO. Had he not been he too would have been shouting out the window at the looters on the far side of the street to stop robbing what other workers and decent people could not afford.
I’m not sure the luas driver’s conditions warrant this type of rant. Certainly we all have the right to a fair wage for our labours, it seems on the face of it that the luas drivers were not being treated unfairly and indeed were offered a rise well ahead of inflation for years into the future. Their union is misguided. Connolly wouldn’t be happy about that.
Patlyndo Please cut and paste these details every time the Luas dispute is mentioned in social media. People need to see the facts as the media outlets dont seem to publish details. Well done to you.
Look, I actually agree with most of what you’ve said, but I think in this case you’re not quite on the ball. This is a private company that actually pays its employees quite well, but which is also running at a loss. I do think that nurses and Gardai should be paid more but luas workers are already quite well paid. They’re not working for some Ebenezer Scrooge who is taking home billions while they’re paid peanuts, and to be honest, that is something many others workers are dealing with!!
Lets pay them a million each then, after that we should pay teachers half a million (as they only work half the hours) The Guards and the nurses should get 3/4 of a mill – just to maintain pay parity etc. sure the economy will be booming in no time with the extra millions/billions collected in tax.
What the hell ,? The basic requirement is 2 weeks notice . Thats a right .(a HUMAN RIGHT in Europe)
They should ALLLLLLlllll stop their trams at an appointed time wherever they are and go home .
And show the Company what “DAY TO DAY” means in reality .
See if the managers can jump into taxis real quick and figure out how to move the damn things .
Bring Dublin City to a standstill .
What the company is saying in straighforward language is ” Your dispenceable ” ,your barely worth paying”
They should abandon their trams at a specific time , apologise to comuters , lock their cabin and go home , so that the Company KNOWS what “day to day basis” means
Train drivers are quite well paid .
But it takes (i think ) 6 years experience before being put on the Mail-line .
2 years shunting .
2 years more advanced shunting .
Then 2 years as co-driver ……..before theyre able to drive .
What their company did and said is disgraceful , but they cant be on parity with rail drivers .
The Railway is far more complex and you have to learn every light /signal / incline and turn between here and Cork
I was getting involved with aaa , was very supportive of their ideals . But after all this I hope Paul Murphy gets jailed and the luas drivers all get p45s. Hopefully this is the death nail in spitu’s coffin , nothing but a corrupt political entity ,rotten to the core.
What I find odd about this conversation is people attacking other people for trying to better themselves while the banks and politicians rape this country of its wealth.its crazy we are over 200billion in debt and nobody is complaining about that strange country we live in.
Well I am going on strike as well because were in recovery so they say anyway.time for business to pay back now they have gotten enough cheap labour from us Celtic tiger part 2 here we come….I hope mr government wasn’t telling porkies about the recovery if they have I wont be happy about the lies
They’re not trying to better themselves. They’re trying to get paid a lot more for an unskilled job than lots of highly skilled and qualified people who have ‘bettered themselves’. They’ve made a very dangerous bet that the company won’t lay them off and now they can see I what happens. Let’s face it, wouldn’t take a lot to train people to replace them. If you take this sort of risk you should really make sure that your job is more difficult than an average video game
They are not trying to ‘better’ themselves. They are being exceptionally greedy wanting a higher wage than others who have ‘bettered’ themselves by a higher education.
I just want to point out an obvious hypocrisy on the part of a lot of people here. We are in the process of commemorating 1916 and one of it’s most influential leaders was a certain James Connolly. He was one of the very few with actual military experience and with his own private army he apparently controlled operations in the GPO. Connolly was a militant socialist who believed in the fundamental right of unionism and the right to withdraw labour. He supported UNSKILLED workers and the lockout of 1913 involved a lot of tram drivers. These workers would have had a relatively good jobs considering the cost of living at the time and apparently Wm Martin Murphy wasn’t a complete b*stard of an employer all the time. The 100 year symmetry is interesting. Now I don’t think Luas workers have it too bad and I think SIPTU have made a balls of the thing, but there should be no doubt that Connolly would support them regardless. You know it’s easy to say – oh sure weren’t they a great bunch of lads – from 100 years remove, but some things haven’t changed all that much and it’s interesting to see the reaction and viewpoint of some people here.
@an beal
They fought for fair treatment not the ability to make unreasonable demands and strangle hold the public.
What people like you want to do is make it sound like the public are turning their backs on the foundation of our state. The reality is we are not prepared to be bullied for unreasonable demands.
Beal – I would normally support workers in endeavours such as these, as I believe a fair wage such be enjoyed by all. The luas drivers already have a fair wage so can get stuffed.
Who exactly decides what are reasonable demands though? I’m just pointing how people are saying oh its unskilled labour so they should be barely entitled to any form of industrial action or worse that it should be automated! It’s all relative. If you had a job in 1913 it was the difference between penury and relative comfort. They had jobs and yet those guys took huge risks to strike. Indeed it badly backfired on most of them and employers have had the upper-hand since in this state.
Let me repeat SIPTU have not covered themselves in glory by any means and I don’t think they have served the workers well here, who are down on pay considerably as a result.
Beal
You are just making stuff up now. Unions are very powerful in this country.
SIPTU are using the Luas drivers as pawns in order to get pay rises for other workers. Most people can see that.
no one is suggesting that they don’t have any entitlement to industrial action. People are disgusted that went on strike over the easter weekend, and, more importantly, they do not think that their pay claims have any basis in reality.
There is no valid comparison between the tram workers in1913 and 2016 – in 2016 they have well paying jobs, paid holidays, bonuses for simply doing their job. They are going on strike over a pay claim that is about 8 times the rate of inflation.
Kal, Unions have become largely powerless in one sense, certainly in terms of fighting for the workers, as they have jumped into bed with the government over the last 20 years. In another sense they are very powerful as organisations themselves in that they have become largely part of the establishment along with their overpaid “salaries”. The Government have now sub-contracted out so many services that they are happy for someone else to take the “hassle” of dealing with labour demands.
in My view the Luas drivers are doing a low skilled job, they work in a monopoly were there is no competition, they took NO PAY cut while lots of people lost there jobs, there contract give them a pay increase as the economy/cost of living increase, but as there is no inflation this has resulted in no increase, same with everyone. if they looked for a 2% maybe even 5%, grand but to ask for a double digit increase is pure greed. They already get ABOVE average wages. if you increase their pay, the ticket price & as a result all those on average & below average wages will be worse off, remember half the people get below average wages, do you think that a Luas Driver should get above average wages in a fair economy & if so WHO should get less than average,…
I say again it’s all relative. In 1913 if you didn’t have a job then you there was no social safety net and you were in complete penury. Therefore you had even more reason to be grateful to your employer and less reason to strike on them. If a Luas driver was unemployed now he would be entitled to a hell of a lot in terms of social welfare and health and education etc. Their initial demands were ridiculous but everyone knows it was a starting point that SIPTU thought foolishly they could lever power with. Once again it is workers, both those driving trams and those trying to get to work that lose out.
Beal
Basically you are saying you are the only one who can see what is really happening. You are blind to actual reality the unions remain immensely powerful. They are well paid and are looking for unreasonable pay increases. That is the point and that is how the vast majority see it rather than blindly supporting workers.
The Luas workers are only down on pay because of their own greed. All Jack O’Connor is doing is taking advantage of the current lack of government and causing problems for everyone.
God, “blindly supporting workers” – given the recent Panama “revelations”, the manner in which white collar crime has been treated in this country and the bailouts of banks, developers etc etc then a country that might blindly support workers doesn’t actually sound all that bad.
@An_Beal_Bocht , Do you think that it is fair that others that use the transport system to get to their jobs that get paid less is fair? Do you think that James Connolly was thinking yes this shall give the LÚAS drivers the ability to hold a the company to ransom? if they do get what they want. that will mean a huge increase in fair will it not? This has been a pain for too long. 18% is a dam good increase in any wage. Plus it James Larkin that set up the Irish Transport Workers Union and the strikes
Um sick of hearing this rubbish that Connolly would have supported Luas drivers. Connolly stood firmly against greed. This is greed, plain and simple.
Also the public sector unions have immense power.
I just can’t bring myself to support a multinational company that can easily hide their profits over and above workers from here as easily as others seem to be able to. I mean I was recently affected by this when I couldn’t get from Heuston station to where I was going and yet I still wouldn’t lay all the blame at the drivers feet. All I see is a booming capital city and less and less of the work seems to be benefitting the actual employees.
Yes but if you show up late is your job on the line? I would have to get 3 buses in order to get to my job. are you sure you are not a Luas driver trolling the comments? it is about time they start letting them go. in any other europan city the tram drivers do not get as much as here. So I am sure a few of the lads be happy to come over here if all drivers were suspended for a few weeks un paid.
Jane, please don’t get me started on public sector unions. Their “power” is a total mirage. They have become just another arm of government through the social partnership scheme dreamt up by Bertie and others. They are just a puppet go between the government and workers. They have sold out time and again. They sold out the graduate teachers, nurses and gardai. Their main interest is in pay as this is also an increase for them, class sizes, gardai numbers, worker conditions are pale second after-thoughts.
Compare the working rights of a teacher or nurse in the 70′s or 80′s to the mess now – unstable contracts, unnecessary paper work, increased hours purely for the sake of it to keep certain salaries inflated, the level of sub-contracting in the public sector is through the roof which is privatisation by the back door and fills the likes of the Healy-Rae’s pockets. Procurement is the biggest department in most governmental agencies now.
Beal
There you go we have the root of your problem self identified. You don’t care what is reasonable pay request you just hate multinationals. You are prepared to blindly support a workers.
You aren’t using reason.
Beal Bocht benchmarking increased wages in the public sector on a massive scale right across the board and brought their wage up to one of the highest in Europe. I know teachers and nurses and guards deserve what they get and more but there are swathes of the public sector doing sweet FA for years and getting very well paid for it.
Evidence please of swathes of the public sector doing sweet FA and getting well paid for it. Or have you been the sold by the print media and their vicious attempt to divide the public and private sectors who both have poorly paid employees. I worked in the public sector from 03 to 08 and people actually laughed in my face when I told them my salary.
Kal, I don’t hate them at all, I just have a healthy mistrust of them and their accountants, if you worked for them you would understand. Tell me exactly how I’m not using reason.
I worked in it too. I worked in private sector and took a huge pay cut to go into public service within about 2 years I was back up to what I’d been earning in private sector for way less hours and a 9 to 5 Mon to Fri job. I have seen it first hand and although I’m no longer in public sector I see it constantly in the area I’m in now with the dealings I have with LAs.
Who decides what’s unreasonable? Society. And society has decided a tram driver shouldn’t be earning more than the national industrial wage. It’s literally a job a trained monkey could do.
@Mackeral.. thats what we need.. two fecking eejits on here spouting sh*te.. These “workers” are grossly overpaid as they are for doing a simple job that yes could be automated.. They are making it hard for thousands of people that depend on this service to get to work(me included). Absolute joke.. And no Connolly would not support them. He would be ashamed at what greed these people are showing and what the unions have turned into.
But it is benefiting the employees and every one of us. Transdev are paid a set fee for providing the service and the increase in profits resulting from the increase in passenger numbers goes to the exchequer, repaying the initial investment in the luas and providing for future investment in infrastructure. take that money out and only a minority benefit, i.e. the drivers. solidarity my ass. Sack em.
Connolly supported mistreated workers in need of help, not greedy employees with sense of entitlement. I would argue unions have betrayed Connolly ideals. fat cat salaries enjoyed by union leaders and putting needs of a few ahead of societies needs are contradictory to the grateful man’s views
Beal
You aren’t using logic or reason by starting with an assumption. I have worked in private and public service again you assumed I and others here haven’t furthering your bad judgment.
You have specified you believe that multinationals are hiding profit. At least inferring that this is the case with the Luas. All of which shows obvious bias. If you think that is all reasonable then you don’t understand reason or logic
You should start at the hypocrisy of Jack O’Connor on a eye watering salary in excess of 100k (Plus expenses plus pension contributions) before you start preaching your rubbish here/
I don’t support the Luas drivers because I think they are well paid already for the job they do, which is not overly difficult and can be done with 7 weeks training. However, I’d draw the line at a Luas driven by a monkey, trained or not…
Beal bocht No Connolly would be support real working class on low pay, zero hours contracts etc. The relative t&c’s between then and now are miles apart.
And for that 18% over 2.5 for a segment of the drivers, all of the drivers would be required to work longer hour, and as well new entrants would face a pay cut, with a longer salary scale.
The WRC deal amounted to bringing in Yellow pack contracts for new staff.
We hear Enda and co spouting all of the time about this ‘recovery’ but when some workers demand a better share of the pie, they are demonised in the press, and the crucified by the public.
For those that object to the fact that the luas workers get paid more than starting nurses or themselves etc. I put this question to them. Will a defeat of the luas drivers put a single penny into a nurses pocket, and will it make it easier or more difficult for them to win better wages and conditions for these other jobs?
“And for that 18% over 2.5 for a segment of the drivers, all of the drivers would be required to work longer hour, and as well new entrants would face a pay cut, with a longer salary scale.”
New entrants are already on a lower pay – the LUAS staff and SIPTU agreed to this in 2010.
The LUAS drivers want new staff to do unsocial hours – because they’re new/
You can’t fight for “equality” when it suits and then treat newer staff differently at the same time.
The “extra” hours, was still within their 39 hours per week that they are contracted to do
Normal
Weekly
Hours of
work
Contracted for 39 hours
Work average 35.45 hours
Contracted for 39 hours
Work average 37.20 hours
Contracted for 39 hours
Work average 37.26 hours
Contracted 39 hours
Work average 37.5 hours
It’s called negotiating – they should have tried it.
Patlyndo Very well put. Most public arent aware that luas union actually want to shaft new entrants to the job by getting them to do the unsocial hours. Most public arent aware that luas drivers previously voted for lower wages for new entrants. Mean and greedy… yet suported by AAA… You couldnt wmnake this stuff up.
So what’s your argument for going back to dark those days Herr Culligan? Zero hour contracts for ordinary workers and ‘high end’ wealth ownership entitlement to tax heavens?
Whoever taught you such divisive economics and social values should be shot with balls of their own shite, I’d say.
I’m not sure about previous votes, but I do know that they refused to sell out new starts this time. So please tell me how the union wants to shaft new entrants
I think I’ll send in a cv to transdev with a cover letter supporting their stance. I’d give my right arm for the pay and conditions these wasters are turning their nose up to. Lock them out and recruit again.
Great idea, I think thousands should do that. Transdev would have a much stronger hand to play if they knew how vast the public support was for them as opposed to these militant workers.
All the actual facts and figures aside about how much of an unreasonable claim this is. You (SIPTU/Luas Drivers) Chose to shut down the system for Easter Sunday on our centenary. what ever smidgen of sympathy you had (if any) you’ve actually turned that to disgust. Pure greed, and contempt for the traveling public.
Jason, if you can provide one single shred of evidence that the Luas in Dublin is operating at a loss then please do so. I’m sorry but the line that a multi-national private holding company that is managing the operating contract and with contracts throughout the world told us that it isn’t making an overall profit does not cut it.
Beal Bocht, So do you think if a company is making a profit the staff should benefit from that profit? Now I’m not talking about a decent wage for the job their doing or good benefits and conditions, I’m talking about a share of the profit.
It has actually been independently verified that Transdev are loss-making. Even SIPTU accepted that Transdev as a whole are making a loss. The Luas is making a profit but, lets be honest with ourselves, the Luas is a pretty small tram route when you look at the international portfolio of Transdev.
Thanks for clearing that up. I mean are for you real?? So tram drivers operating an increasingly profitable tram service should be negatively affected as a multinational company apparently/according to them isn’t making a profit. Is that where we’re at now like? Transdev need to be cut loose if they can’t operate this profitable contract and keep staff onside. In fact I think there’s a provision in the contract that if Transdev can’t provide the service they can be let go. If that means new workers so be it. You can then throw your application in sure if it sounds so great.
Jane I don’t quite understand your question, I mean the drivers are obviously already benefitting from and taking a share of the profit – where else do you think their wages come from?
So if Apple were losing money globally but their Irish subsidiary was doing well, you’d support the Irish workers demanding a 50% pay rise?
I’m sorry, but the workers are employed by Transdev which is a global company. If the company isn’t doing well globally then how do the employees expect to receive a 50% pay rise and still have a job to return to in the coming years?
You asked Jason if there is any evidence that the LUAS in Dublin is making a loss – and then you say that the company isn’t making an overall profit?
Those are two different questions – Transdev are making a loss in Dublin – google it yourself.
The state who OWN LUAS – made 30 million in profits in 2014 – the difference between the cost of the contract and ticket revenues.
This money is being invested into the new line saving us – the taxpayer money and why do you think that other countries where they operate should cover the losses here?
This is the bit that seems to rile up the workers and their supporters. They seem to think and they’re “entitled” to some of this “profit”. They’d rather any extra revenue was “invested” into their pockets than actually helping the public, the working class, the transport system.
And historically, that’s exactly what happened. CIE staff were lavished with generous pay increases, while the network went backwards.
Their wages come from the fee paid to Transdev from the state to run the service
The contract is 150 million over 5 years. Whether the LUAS carries one passenger or 100 or 1000, the company gets the same fee.
The company do NOT get the revenue from the fares, this revenue goes to the NTA – in 2014 the revenue from the fares totalled 180 million, after paying Transdev their agreed rate, the state had 30 million euro to re-invest into the new LUAS line, thereby saving the taxpayer.
Any increase in wages WILL be reflected in 2019 when the contract ends, any new company will factor this in and all and any bids will be more than 150 million, meaning LESS revenue for the state and more money from the taxpayer to complete the works.
Good Point! And not forgetting State’s initial investment in LUAS infrastructure – something of the order of €1 bn or thereabouts – which undoubtedly was initially financed by Debt and must now be serviced annually and repaid over the long term.
If Siptu think there’s a pot of gold at the end of this particular rainbow…think again!
The unions have to be realistic and accept that a market rate exists for every job, based primarily on skill levels, degree of training required, educational qualifications and experience.
Thankfully, the days of State Sponsored Bodies being suckered and stretched on a rack for gold plated terms and conditions of employment, by bully boys in the unions, ultimately at the expense of fellow citizens, are long since gone.
And it’s EU legislation we can thank for that mercy, as in the past, our political leaders rolled over all too easily at the first sign of industrial strife at Public Sector level, something that has cost us dear, and the financial affects of which are lumbered on future generations.
Rory, while the AAA bleat their rubbish and actually want PS pay and conditions restored to what they were in 2006 – they conveniently ignore that we have a generation of PS retired workers now and into the future (until new conditions kick in) on bigger pensions then the wages they worked for (not blaming them as these where their entitlements), we have retired PS workers receiving pensions for longer then they worked and every time PS pay was increased in the boom, their pensions were also increased.
There are departments in the state where their pension bills are higher then their wages costs – the taxpayer has to fund this.
This was unsustainable – it is unsustainable.
Yet the AAA want to go back to this – absolute madness.
Patilndo, I don’t support the Luas drivers but you do seem to have a rather nasty bee in your bonnet about all things Public Sector, if things were so good why then didn’t you bend over backwards to get a job within the Public Sector??.
Look Patlyndo once an article comes up on the journal with Public Service in the headline you pounce on it quicker than fork lightning, pensions been a particular thorn in your side, most Public Sector workers are on small pensions handy but you won’t be planning any expensive foreign holidays on it, and yes over a period of time PS pay should be gradually brought back up to pre 2008 levels, many PS workers took savage cuts as did those in the Private Sector, but pre 2008 the Private Sector was raking it in even builders labourers were making great money much more than the average Public Sector worker.
I don’t believe in this divide and conquer attitude that is often barely hidden in many of your posts, we all took a hit for the greed of others.
“Look Patlyndo once an article comes up on the journal with Public Service in the headline you pounce on it quicker than fork lightning, pensions been a particular thorn in your side, ”
Ah, so you’re not commenting on this article, you’re attacking me – ok.
This –
“most Public Sector workers are on small pensions handy but you won’t be planning any expensive foreign holidays on it”.
And this:
“And yes over a period of time PS pay should be gradually brought back up to pre 2008 levels”
Is where my issue is. To bring the pay back to those levels, means reversing the pay cuts and getting rid of the pension levy.
It’s not so much what PS workers get, rather it’s how it’s funded and it’s not, it comes from current expenditure as I am sure you know.
The simple explanation is down to future taxpayers, the stats go like this, at one point we had 5 workers to one pension – in the near future that is down to 2 workers.
Do you have kids? They’ll be working until they’re 75 before they get a state pension.
You don’t mention the full facts, a “small pension” ( state pension inc with that post 1995) for say a post 1995 worker on 30k equals a pension of almost 20k per annum and a once off tax free lump sum of 45k.
There’s your “small” pension in all its glory.
Let’s take a PRSI worker earning the average wage contribute 7 euro a week to their state entitlements.
40 years later they haven’t even paid 15k into the system, for this they are entitled to sick pay, maternity leave, the dole for a period and the OAP from 67.
233.30 is 12k a year. In 14 months they have collected what they put in, that’s if they haven’t availed of the benefits beforehand.
“but pre 2008 the Private Sector was raking it in even builders labourers were making great money much more than the average Public Sector worker.”
And? They worked for private companies who did well and paid well, are you trying to claim the the PS didn’t do well in the boom? I would beg to differ.
“I don’t believe in this divide and conquer attitude that is often barely hidden in many of your posts, we all took a hit for the greed of others.”
The PS are some of the “others”, I dislike when any sector, public or private, ignores their very good benefits and tries to pretend they don’t exist.
And the next time you are watching what I post, actually read the posts. If you think the banking crisis was bad – then you have no idea what is coming down the road in relation to pensions.
The bailout will be minuscule in comparison. And we only have ourselves to blame because no government has the balls to tackle the problem.
I’m well aware Patlyndo of the future problems as regards pensions its not just an Irish problem but a global one, I don’t pretend be any sort of financial expert, of the so called financial experts the vast majority failed to predict the global crash of 2008?.
Here is a start drastically cut the absurd pensions on the upper rung of the Public Sector ladder, rich OAP’s should not be entitled to any help from the state ie medical cards, children allowance should be means tested ridiculous that a couple making €300,00 per annum are still entitled to child benefit?, and how about governments combine to close off all these tax avoidance loopholes which cost them trillions, and make a concerted effort to hunt down the tax evaders instead of you constantly attacking all and sundry within the public service of which the vast majority are on low wages and will have paltry pensions on retirement, that should go a long way to helping out future governments to pay their retirees?.
Why not this time exactly? Would you support them if their wages were lower to begin with or if their demands were different, or if they were only going to strike on Mondays and Tuesdays?
Their demands are excessive for the role, simple as that. They are or SIPTU are benchmarking themselves against Irish rail drivers and they are not in the same league! Not even in the same league as bus drivers – a way more difficult job. Their shop steward should be relieved of duties ASAP and get realistic about their pay expectations.
SIPTU have brinkmanshipped this to the limit. TransDev should do a Ronnie Reagan and call their bluff. It takes 6 weeks to train a LUAS Driver. Fire the lot of them and shut the LUAS down for 6 weeks. They’ll never try anything again after that.
That’s exactly what Transdev are planning from the information that’s out there. Protective notice is the first step towards mass sackings if these overpaid drivers continue their industrial action.
Same with Gardai , nurses , doctors, teachers, state should start recruiting from other countries and sack any off them if they strike and use the foreign staff on cheaper wages
So they dropped their offer from 18% to 8%? That’s still very high considering the fact that Luas drivers are already among the best paid tram drivers in Europe.
The gas thing is SE, that SIPTU now out accusing the company of making threats, what do they expect the company to do, continue losing money, continue operating a part time service?
Cave in to their demands – Transdev have full public support, their own customers fully support them – they are playing a blinder in the PR game – SIPTU – watch and learn.
It’s a valid reason to reduce the money on the table. It’s obvious that SIPTU are completely out of their depth when it comes to this dispute. They’re dealing with a French company that has quite a bit of experience with dealing with strikes and, quite frankly, Transdev are making a show of SIPTU and the drivers.
As others have previously said, this is probably the most unpopular strike in the history of the state.
Quick unrelated note because something I’m interested in was highlighted above. 18% take away 10% is indeed 16.2%, many people would instinctively call it 8%. The way to express that is to say “the offer was reduced by 10 percentage points, 18% to 8%.”
Not trying to be a know it all, just find it interesting when this issue rears its head!
They “represent” the workers, they can only do what the staff allow them to do. They cannot withdraw their support, they can make recommendations to them, they can advise them – but unless the staff agree to a deal – SIPTU cannot force them to do anything.
The workers should not just take over this company they should take over every company. It is the workers who create the wealth. The infrastructure created by capitalists for capitalists should be destroyed. Solidarity among the working classes will overcome all obsticles.
If you agree with the policy, then you agree with a fundamental of Thatcherism so why complain about using her name? At least have the good grace to acknoweldge her contribution to breaking unions and to changing the nature of the workplace. If your solidarity is with her over the Luas workers then why not just state it outright?
I agree, whatever about her, she took no s*it. we need the unions crushed and this strike put to bed.. I am so p*ssed off with it. Those extra 6 days are going to make my commute to work a b*tch now as the bus service is very very slow and not regular at all. But no, carry on lads, you deserve your ridiculous wages.
@dni The last thing we need is drivers working for minimum wage.It will be a race to the bottom then.They deserve a fair wage but I think they earn that already so I’ve no sympathy for them.
nurses and gardai would love to be able to strike like that for better pay and conditions there oath leaves them without the ultimate power to withdraw labour for a fair wage I think it is important that the country supports them when they do ask for more cash in the next few months. As for teachers I hope they enjoy finishing up for the summer holidays.
As a teacher’s husband I can assure ypu the holidays are less than enjoyable when you spend them looking for yet another short term contract or temping for September.
Hey lets use an unrelated article to have a pop at someone. It’s great when people have a go at teachers about their holidays especially when they really are too dim to see the bigger picture. Around 30% of teachers are on the dole during holidays and a drain on services.
But let’s look at the students. Many students throughout the country have no continuity of subjects, unprepared for exams, new teacher after new teacher losing track of the curriculum, lose out on extra-curricular (as one teacher could be great at drama, the next would be great at football). No such thing as permanent contracts anymore is bad for students. The fluid nature of teaching is bad for students.
Who cares though? Lets just have a go at teachers. Lets make them work through the summer. Who cares about tired students who also need a break from classrooms and the stress of school.
Does anyone know how long Transdev have the operating licence for and what happens when their contract is up? If the operating licence goes back out to tender what happens the employees at Transdev if it were to go to a new operator? Would they have to negotiate new contracts with another operator or would their conditions be fixed as per the terms of the old agreement.
From what I know, their conditions will be fixed officially but SIPTU would likely try to exploit the situation to get even better pay and conditions for the drivers.
Gov has itself in a corner so. If the workers are TUPE’d over, no matter who operates the contract, then they’re defacto state employees to a degree. I.e the organ-grinder might change but the monkeys remain the same.
I would suspect that the government is supporting Transdev behind closed doors on this issue. They are no doubt aware that a SIPTU victory over Transdev would result in further calls for pay increases among CIE and Irish Rail workers.
Thanks guys, I had a suspicion that might be the case. It’s actually a good thing for the country that Transdev are holding firm on this, if they decided that this wasn’t a contract that they were going to persist with they could just accept whatever wage increases the Luas drivers demanded and carry on till the end of their contract and it would be someone elses problems (ultimately the passengers of the company of course).
No, Scarr they are not de-facto state employees to any degree, they are hired by Transdev, a private company, their contract is with them. Nothing to do with the state/
I really do hate to see people losing their jobs – been there done that myself. But the fact that these workers are just displaying greed I really think that Transdev should fire the lot of them.
I have never been someone that would support a bigger corporation and would always support the workers – but these guys have lost the run of themselves and are asking for something that just shouldn’t be allowed.
In their first year or work – after their induction etc – these guys have a basic salary of 30K – after working for 3 years in my current job I am no where near that money – and will probably never be near it. Someone who has worked for 20+ years in most jobs won’t be anywhere near what these guys will earn after just a couple of years driving a luas and they want more. Plus these guys have job security – I am sure you would want to seriously screw up to be fired from driving a luas.
Our little country has experienced high unemployment, and we want to encourage companies to come here and invest – with such a high profile situation and demand list – this strike and action by luas drivers is doing more harm to our economy than any FF V FG Dail battle could do.
Let the Luas be shut down because then Transdev would be justified in laying-off drivers because of the risk of it going out of business (not because of the drivers’ right to strike) and then it can hire people who are grateful to have a good job.
Can anyone explain to me why they think a Luas driver with 10 years experience deserves €67 k per annum?
I can understand why a new junior doctor gets €30k, and after 10 years, he will be getting €70k, makes sense, as he has experience.
He may even post grad to be a consultant, and get €160k +. He deserves it. He will be saving lives.
A tram driver gets 1 week training, and he drives a tram.
After a few weeks, he will be fully experienced in tram driving.
After 10 years, he will be still driving a tram. But he will expect €67k p.a.
Why the pay increments ??
I am a siptu member working in the private sector and I am ashamed of them. Got offered an 18% increase over 2.5 years and turned it down. Then went on strike for a once in a lifetime celebration.
If the Luas shuts down completely the government will be forced to cancel the contract with transdev and all those luas drivers will be earning less than 25% of their current wage on the dole. Im not sure if they would even get severance pay in that situation, one would have to read their contract.
Getting hired by another company will be hard for them due to their strike record, id be surprised if any of them got hired by the next company to operate the tram, and if they do there will be no unions allowed and their wages will have dropped tremendously.
Shut it down, and we, the public, represented by the Dept. Of Transport, re tender to another company.
Transdev lose the contract, and the drivers are made redundant.
That needs to focus minds.
That won’t work as the government will obviously make re-hiring the current staff a condition. They’re not going to wait for 6-8 weeks for a new operator to train entirely new staff.
Actually Colm, from what I’ve read it’s a part of the contracts that were previously signed relating to the private operation of the Luas. A new private operator would actually be obliged to hire the current staff at current conditions.
@Colm, they always ignore the wishes of the electorate.. They havent even formed a government yet even through we told them who we want.. They can do what they want, I would have through you know that by now :/ Anyway I agree with what you say in many ways, except the company dont deserve to lose the contract, they have done nothing wrong.. The workers on other hand do deserve punishment.
As a customer, do you shop in a shop where the manager and the staff member have a massive shouting match?
No, you shop somewhere else.
And we need to rip up the contract that says we hire the previous workers.
But then again, where in that contract does it say we need to accede to their inflated demands?
To expand my previous point, as a customer, do we try and talk down the manager or the staff member to be reasonable.
No, we don’t.
Transdev & the driver’s issue are not our concern, even though we are the most affected. Our concern is receiving a service. If we cannot receive a service from Transdev, regardless of why, we must go somewhere else. Unions have the attitude that the public’s need is none of their concern, why should we not face it with likeminded attitudes?
I agree with you on that sentiment Colm.. But a new company comes in, and then those workers get the hump and strike and we are in same boat in a years time with diff workers/company.. Ideally the contracts need to be all altered to stop companies being held to ransom like this.. As always the users are the ones suffering..
These are the types of restrictions put in because of union pressure over the years – we are now at the stage where the union abuse of our transport sector is finally pushing them (and the rest of us) into a corner.
Those sold-out traitors occupying Liberty Hall are fully responsible for this situation and the limited responses available to their blackmail.
No. I disagree with the strike, but not the right to strike. What happens in a few years if drivers are put in a position where they’re driving 8 hours until the last tram at midnight and then the 8 hours after the first tram at 5am? Not going to happen of course, but we can’t say *never* strike.
I don’t blame Transdev one bit for the protective notice. Drivers brought it on themselves. I just hate that they’ll be mentioned in the same breath as guards, nurses teachers & telco workers, who *do* have legitimate grievances.
I’m left wing at the best of times but these excessive pay claims for a very unskilled job lack any substance. Ultimately the public will be forced to pay much higher costs for transport. Greed should never be rewarded whether it’s tram drivers wages or politicians. Usually it’s the workers being abused but most definitely in this case it is the other way round. The employees brought this upon themselves.
Yup, Siptu have been trying to get the government involved from the start as they are far more susceptible to political pressure and lobbying than a private company.
No because they would have pressured the embarrassingly poor management in our state-run transport companie. who would have given in, then poor mouthed to the government about how they need a ticket price increase to save the companies.
6 months or a year later in, the company tries to bring in any improvements the same SIPTU/NBRU traitors will jump in again to further strangle the company.
Geoff, to put it another way, the Govt is a soft touch employer., easily pushed arount by trade unions.
That is why the private sector can deliver better value for taxpayers money.
It’s time for this batch of luas drivers to go, they brought this on themselves. You can’t defend the indefensible it’s just pure greed through and through and nothing to do with working conditions. They were offered 18% which is insane anyway I’ve no idea the mind set for any luas driver on the picket line. I’ll be waiting for the recruitment to begin so will many others easy job great pay, what’s not to like.
Can’t help thinking that SIPTU took on an unreasonable pay demand here. The initial headline grabbing 54% was madness and SIPTU stood behind that demand. Now the drivers have turned down an offer of 18% over 5 years that the rest of us can only dream of. The drivers are being unfair on the travelling public and their co-workers ie non-driver grades in Transdev.. Think SIPTU better get their thinking caps on here to find a way out of this.
So will Jack O’Connor and the SIPTU boys be joining the Luas drivers down dole office should they lose jobs… Thought not…. What repercussions for them for SIPTU’s advice and actions?
Wally is so happy to eat food produced by capitalists, use phones, consume broadband and travel on planes….. All provided by capitalism. Wally is a pure hypocrite
Their demands are ridiculous. I’m all for everyone getting a fair share and a decent wage. But that’s not what this is about, this is about greed and the ulterior motives of SIPTU. Luas drivers are already paid a decent wage, a wage which is already at the level of the average industrial wage. This is more than a Guard, Teacher or Nurse gets after years of college and specialised training. What is the requirement to drive a Luas, a full driving licence and 7 weeks of training. So already these guys are on more money than people with a lot more qualifications, they didn’t take a pay cut during the recession like most people did, they get offered 18% over 2.5 years and reject it! How can that be described as anything other than greed?? It’s pure greed being encouraged by Siptu because they have an ulterior motives to drag this strike out as long as possible. If their demands were reasonable they’d have my support but I can’t abide that level of greed and contempt toward the general public. Their job isn’t difficult, plus we are also at a point where their job could possibly be automated and they’re not doing much to discourage that idea.
Are we discussing the greed of private bankers or those that take part in tax avoiding schemes?? No we’re not and neither of the groupings you mentioned have no bearing in a discussion about a Luas strike. If you can tell me how they’re connected I’ll retract my statement, if you can’t then please try to stay on topic. Unless you’re trying to say that the greed of private bankers and those engaged in tax avoidance schemes justifies the greed of the Luas workers??? Maybe you never understood the phrase “two wrongs don’t make a right”
I commented on this luas dispute a few weeks ago and I said they could lose their jobs.Well here it comes, the fools didnt realise they had it so good.They have ruined everything for themselves listening to the wrong people.A secure job with nearly 40grand a year,a lot of people would be delighted with.
The 1916 / James Connolly comparison in favour of supporting the luas drivers is highly flawed
Connolly’s actions were condemned by most for exactly the same reasons – the made life measurably tougher for regular citizens trying to go about their business despite already facing hardships. It is only when martyred that public opinion swayed.
So the greedy drivers can piss off they’ll get no sympathy or support from my unless it’s a case that transdev starts executing striking drivers
My God! What a bunch of anti-worker, anti-union sentiment being expressed against a group of organised workers who are trying to better their working conditions. Do these naysayers not realise that by their negativity they are supporting the Luas management and bosses elsewhere. We should be fully supportive of any and all groups of workers who are prepared to take a stand and fight for better pay and working conditions. If it was not for a group of women laundry workers, some decades ago, striking for paid holidays none of us would today be enjoying a legal entitlement to paid annual leave. Don’t be begrudging what the Luas drivers have but instead support them and encourage others to join a Trade Union and better their conditions too.
If nurses or Gardaí went on strike tomorrow for better conditions, I would fully support them as they are rightfully deserved. What I won’t support is a money-grab by a group of workers who are already extremely well paid for a job which requires no previous qualifications and takes simply 6 weeks to learn.
What really gets my back up, is that these strikes by the Luas workers,a nod their demands, can be used by the real anti-worker types to justify draconian measures to ensure that this doesn’t happen again.
The Luas drivers are handing the ibec types a massive stick to beat actual workers with.
The worst of it is that their own union put them in this position, at best by ill-advising them, at worst by using them as pawns in the larger attempted money-grab across the transport sector.
And what is the the cornerstone of the Tesco dispute, the use of yellow pack contracts brought in a few years ago, to actually lower and hammer conditions of people working for them.
The pay deal that was put to the Luas workers involved bringing in exactly this sort of yellow pack contracts for new starts. The existing drivers refused to accept a pay deal now, in exchange for poorer conditions for new starts.
Unions are the worst inventions especially in Ireland. They take your money every week or month and never give you even half a wage when they tell you to strike, useless bunch building their own nests.they have the Luas staff all fired up.
Nationalise, give all drivers a basic living wage of 60,000 euro. The fares would not have to increase if we just introduce free travel for all people earning less than 100,000 euro. Problem solved, simples.
Then watch as the Luas quickly disintegrates into another overpriced, overstaffed and inefficient mess of a transport network like the rest of the state-managed transport systems.
Yea Wally, i’d say you should probably try starting up the USSR again, if you want to live in a system that doesn’t reward education go ahead, driving a luas is not a skilled job they are providing a service to the public that doesn’t mean they should be on doctors wages. If your not getting paid enough go get educated and seek better pay, we have the ability to do that, driving a tram should probably be automated anyway. Nurses also get paid well enough true they may be overworked but who isn’t. I would love to see those stats where the working class are paid less and less the minimum wage has increased and most of the workers you refer to are not on that, “big corporations” are necessary and natural if your better than your competitors you grow enough said
I’d work for there wages they are getting now..handy number I work 40 hours a week of hard labour and would be lucky to get there wages and there moaning about sitting with a lever in there hand all day
They are bloody right stand up for yourselves and get a decent wage pity the mouth pieces in this comments page were not as vocal about the bunch of wasters in leinster house
Have you ever seen the control panel of a Luas? Honestly I’ve seen some cars that are more complex.
It’s a job that requires no previous qualifications and a 6 week training course yet these drivers are demanding wages of up to €55,000. That’s just purely ludicrous money.
Jimmy,
They already have a very decent wage!
You think that Luas drivers are underpaid?
They get now €42,247 + bonuses + overtime
Hardly sweat shop slaves !!
After 10 years, they want €64,993 + bonuses + free GP care + double maternity leave + annual leave 27 days.
Pure capitalism, exploiting the workers, ie, Luas commuters. The drivers want to put their hands into the pockets of the workers.
aye exactly. its p*ss easy to drive one of these. At this stage they should be told to get back to work or they will be fired.. And unions should be disbanded in this country. Absolute joke. All support for transdev and my fellow commuters
1) the WRC proposals they rejected involved a pay CUT for new entrants, and yellow pack contracts, eg longer hours, 14 year payscale instead of 10. Existing staff refused to sell out future workers for a pay rise now.
2) That 55k is at the top of their pay scale after a decades service with the company.
3) Is that really that unreasonable when one looks at the cost of getting a home in Dublin, of supporting a family, of hopefully providing 3rd level education for your kids etc.
4) Will a loss for these workers put a single penny more, in any other workers pocket in the country? No in fact it just means more profits going abroad to shareholders overseas.
“1) the WRC proposals they rejected involved a pay CUT for new entrants, and yellow pack contracts, eg longer hours, 14 year payscale instead of 10. Existing staff refused to sell out future workers for a pay rise now.”
They sold them out in 2010, they are selling them out again by demanding that the new recruits work all the unsocial hours – you can’t dictate where you want your equality.
“2) That 55k is at the top of their pay scale after a decades service with the company.”
And they can leave if they are not happy.
“3) Is that really that unreasonable when one looks at the cost of getting a home in Dublin, of supporting a family, of hopefully providing 3rd level education for your kids etc.”
How does this work exactly – do we reduce the pay of a worker if he/she decides not to get married and/or have children?
What if two LUAS workers get married – is 110k per annum a low income to you?
Or should all LUAS drivers spouses have the luxury of not working? Should we pay for that?
You do realise that there is a grant for those who can’t pay the fees don’t you?
“4) Will a loss for these workers put a single penny more, in any other workers pocket in the country? No in fact it just means more profits going abroad to shareholders overseas.”
yes it will, because when the contract is up in 2019, any new company will factor in the higher costs of wages and this comes directly out of the taxpayers purse.
My friend Patlyndo,
““2) That 55k is at the top of their pay scale after a decades service with the company.””
After a decade of service, are they so much better at tram driving they need a top pay scale of 55k?
A driver with ten years service is still doing the same job as a driver with 10 weeks service!
Indeed Buster. What a great point, and one that I completely missed!!
What i did address though was the comments that pertained to a “working man who wants to raise a family, buy a house and have his kids educated in college” – I asked if we should reduce the pay of those workers who never married or had kids!
But yes Buster, they do the same job from 10 weeks to 10 years and beyond.
Tom Martin Matt… To slow. You should have been watching the transdev website a few weeks back , they were open for applications for a number of different grades including drivers.
I think the company are dead right to place them on protective notice they are greed driven and should’ve sacked and let them go on the dole and then they might appreciate their salary if they ever find an employer stupid enough tohirean ex Luas worker
Who needs the Luas anyway there is enough transport options already bus company staff are watching and waiting to pounce if Luas workers get increase so obviously transdev have been advised not to give in
This has nothing to do with the Government, it’s a dispute between a private company and their employees, the WRC is the recognised body and this has been exhausted.
This is a deadlock – the government are right to stay well out of it.
Here’s a novel idea. When one wants a pay increase much higher than the current inflation rate, work harder and get extra qualifications for a promotion OR go find a better paid job! Or is that too radical?
Striking on Easter Sunday proved to me the absolute selfishness in their demands, hopefully after this mess were left with Luas drivers appreciative of their job
About time. Sooner the idle leeches are fired the better. €60k per year for pressing the stop and go buttons on a team…. Who are they kidding? Literally you could train a chimp to do that… It better still a €100 smartphone could run a 99c app to drive one.
if as it says on paper today is true .its time for those who want to keep there jobs to stand up to these two who want to bring transport back to d union run old days
I am just wondering what SIPTU is going to do when all drivers will get fire! Are you going to support them financially ? Easy to fight by someone else hands when outcome is not effecting SIPTU ! LUAS drivers stop being greedy! Get back to work once you still have it.
Ryanair has a policy to hire non-union affiliated employees. Why can’t Transdev do the same?
As a suggestion, why not offer Ryanair to take over the Luas contract? They wouldn’t be loss-making like Transdev is.
What legal stance have the Luas worker who turned down a generous offer agreed at the WRC. This thing could escalate into court cases where the workers are fighting for the very livelihoods. And the judge will probably say that the WRC an independent body, probably the most impartial in the land, awarded this amount, and what level of increased competance would the judge have to overrule this.
Sounds like a massive legal mess could ensue with a lot of losers all around.
I would love to see luas closed down and all members of staff let go and NOT to be ever recruited in any form of transportation, p45 for the lot of them
Good. After the intimidation tactics employed by SIPTU they deserve to get nothing. How much should you be payed to drive a tram anyway? I’m a secondary teacher starting out and I’m on lower than the average Luas driver. Why don’t I just bin my degree and drive a tram. Transdev are dead right.
Patlyno buster, patlyndo, everyone else but especially patlyndo, can I ask you 1 simple question?
What is wrong with you?? The LUAS Dispute has nothing to do with you. The LUAS Workers are probably not even know to you. Why do you begrudge them so much? Is your own life so sad and empty that you spend your entire time in front of a screen commenting and begrudging
and feel like you are actually contributing to society??
You know what they say about opinions being like A-Holes. Yes everyone has one. But nobody cares. So open a window, go for a walk. Get some fresh air. Your life will be so much fuller and you’ll feel all the better for it.
Now go enjoy. Death awaits you. Make the most of it and butt out of things that don’t concern you.
Its all a matter of context, being played €50 to drive a car down the road might seem like a great deal until you realise that your doing it so that your boss can get €50,000.
Then you might want a bigger piece of the pie. That is what the Luas drivers are asking for here, they see the amount of money that gets brought in by their work. They think that this should increase the value of their work… Don’t you?
“Then you might want a bigger piece of the pie. That is what the Luas drivers are asking for here, they see the amount of money that gets brought in by their work. They think that this should increase the value of their work… Don’t you?”
No, if we apply that logic then when LUAS passenger numbers were down then would they have agreed to a smaller piece of the pie, paycuts, layoffs, more hours?
I didn’t think so.
The boss may get 50,000, but he’s taken the risk, he’s invested his time. his money, he pays the wages, taxes, insurance, fuel and all the other expenditure associated, he takes the losses as well as the profits.
The car driver – drives the car. That’s where his value is.
It’s immaterial whether you agree or disagree with the dispute, it simply paves the way for too many other workers in this country in the future, making everyone very vulnerable in their work and pay conditions.
It doesn’t – you see, your logic is only applicable if the drivers were on bad pay and were working in bad conditions, they’re not and even now, they are still being offered a deal, no erosion in pay, no erosion in conditions.
all transdev need to do is sack everybody on there payrole. hire the roma gypsies on a min wage e9.15 ph on a fixed two month contract. refuse all talks with ANY trade union. sorted.
The greatest shame in this dispute is that a decent union recognition employer such as Transdev and their SIPTU employees are unable to seek 3rd party mediation in this dispute.
No striking union worker wants to be on ‘strike wages’ as much as any inconvenienced passenger wants to put up with unavailable service but where is the Govt. mediation in this dispute?
…Or are we willing to ‘let the chips fall’ according to the new neo liberalist/global economy dictates as per Herr Aaron McKenna and Culligan and Co. and continue with to ‘the race to to the bottom’ of employee rights and conditions of employment?
I don’t really understand why people are bashing the Luas Drivers. I congratulate any set of workers coming together and fighting to better their terms and conditions. Pity there were not more workers like them. Why isn’t their outrage at bankers having their private debts transferred onto taxpayers???
Meelick
“Why isn’t their outrage at bankers having their private debts transferred onto taxpayers???”
errrrr….. There is outrage!, and “Bankers” ARE being pursued through the courts – do you ever read the news?
'Really stupid move': Dublin councillors are fighting over giving Obama the keys to the city
3 hrs ago
Investigation
Online retailer Temu potentially in breach of EU digital marketplace rules
4 hrs ago
Maguiresbridge
Fourth person dies following fatal shooting of mother and children in Co Fermanagh last week
7 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 214 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 149 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 195 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 158 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 119 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 120 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 51 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 48 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 177 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 78 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 111 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 116 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 51 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 65 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 36 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 122 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 94 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 67 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 116 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 103 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say