You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

University Observer

Staff at UCD student bar call off planned strike action at last minute

Staff had planned the strike action for today after they did not receive redundancy payments due after the bar closed unexpectedly.

FORMER BAR STAFF at University College Dublin have deferred strike action planned for today after the employees received some of the redundancy payments due to them.

A trade union official said they will “continue to monitor this situation” after staff received the first of two redundancy payments today. The second payment is due within the next ten days.

The main bar on UCD’s Belfield campus closed in June. Staff were laid off in August after it was revealed that the bar had massive debts.

The former employees had called the strike action when they did not receive redundancy payments and outstanding wages following negotiations at the Labour Relations Commission after the closure.

“We received a commitment that the money due to our members will be paid in two tranches, the first of which they have received today,” said Joe Donnelly, an organiser for the Mandate trade union.

“The second payment is due within the next 10 days; strike action has been deferred until the second payment has been made”.

A replacement bar due to be built in the college’s new student centre was due to open in coming weeks but construction has been delayed due to financial issues.

Read: Former UCD bar staff to strike over unpaid wages >

Read: Cork students asked to sign ‘pledge of honour’ in anti-social clampdown >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

20 Comments
    Mute Daragh8008
    Favourite Daragh8008
    Jan 13th 2016, 10:12 AM

Nice job. Was the number of seat in each of the constituencies there. I couldn’t see it anywhere. Would be a nice feature to add. Please ignore if I’m blind and it is there!

Mute hjGfIgAq
    Favourite hjGfIgAq
    Jan 13th 2016, 12:33 PM

Hi Daragh,

We’re working on that as I write and it should be rolled-out shortly.

Thanks

Hugh

Mute Byyys
    Favourite Byyys
    Jan 13th 2016, 6:25 PM

Very Nice Interactive Map using Adobe Illustrator. Who’s the coder?

Mute hjGfIgAq
    Favourite hjGfIgAq
    Jan 14th 2016, 8:39 AM

The number of seats in each constituency has now been added. Cheers for the heads up on that Daragh.

@Byyys: It was all done in-house by our (great and hardworking) Tech team.

Mute Ian Dempsey
    Favourite Ian Dempsey
    Jan 14th 2016, 9:39 AM

They did a good job.

Mute Mike O Connor
    Favourite Mike O Connor
    Feb 3rd 2016, 10:21 AM

@Ian Dempsey #lick_arse

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Feb 3rd 2016, 11:47 AM

The irony of gerry Adams saying he wants to tackle crime!! Lol!

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Jan 13th 2016, 9:25 AM

Can we start singing Cheerio Cheerio Cheerio to Alex White or do we have to wait until he is actually fooked out?

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Jan 13th 2016, 10:17 AM

I think you have to wait until the electorate actually decide.

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Jan 13th 2016, 9:39 AM

Joanne Tuffy needs to put in a current picture that one is 10 years old. She Won’t be getting a vote either ways.

Mute J.Hanley
    Favourite J.Hanley
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:24 PM

Just had a look at my own constituency there and saw two so called independents who recently left Fianna Fáil over their failure to add them to the election ticket. Beware independents who have recently left establishment parties because they were not selected to run for their former party. How independent or different are they really?
    Remember folks to check the background of independents before you just throw them a vote because you see independent next to their name.

Well done to the Journal for providing this election database. It’s important that people have background information about each candidate and do a bit of research before they cast their all important vote.

Mute Jamie Coyle
    Favourite Jamie Coyle
    Jan 13th 2016, 9:49 AM

Ireland and Irish politics will always be broken until questions like ‘what do you hope to do for your home constituency? ‘ are asked. Nobody cares for the bigger picture

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:33 AM

It’s doing things for their home constituencies that keeps the likes of Lowry elected. It’s getting away from that kind of thinking we need to be and doing things for the good of the country.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Jan 13th 2016, 7:22 PM

Agreed
    Just a question
    What dk people think of a list system as used in some European countries? Or maybe half by PR half on a list.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jan 13th 2016, 9:14 AM

Why include a question about the candidates constituency? Is that not perpetuating the parish-pump politics we want to get away from? Its a national election and should be about national issues – local election for local stuff.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jan 13th 2016, 9:15 AM

Good work all the same.

Mute Phillip O'Brien
    Favourite Phillip O'Brien
    Jan 13th 2016, 12:50 PM

Wouldn’t it be useful to include information like the candidate being related to a sitting TD?
    Like James Browne in Wexford hoping to get outgoing Daddy’s seat (John Browne).

Mute Phillip O'Brien
    Favourite Phillip O'Brien
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:27 PM

John Browne got the seat vacated by his uncle Sean Browne in 1982 who was first elected in 1957!

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Feb 3rd 2016, 10:47 AM

Nepotism, he was probably reared to follow in daddy’s footsteps. Career politician. However hes still elected by the constituents so i think the blame falls at their feet.

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Jan 13th 2016, 10:54 AM

Question?: What will you do about financial predators:-
    - Landlords who max peoples Rent
    - Banks who max peoples Debt
    - Political Parties who max peoples Tax

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Feb 3rd 2016, 10:49 AM

We raise the ‘Max’ until we run out of your money.

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Jan 13th 2016, 10:26 AM

Cant’ wait to see what happens to Lucinda in my constituency….see ye later!

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jan 13th 2016, 10:30 AM

Who will you vote for? I’d be hoping to see Kate and Glenna do it.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jan 13th 2016, 10:32 AM

Not bad guys, navigation isn’t very intuitive, but theres some decent information there.

Some excellent candidates in my constituency, roll on the GE!

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Jan 13th 2016, 9:09 AM

Hey journal commenter’s here don’t want your fancy dan well researched and thoughtful pieces. You’re not supposed to be ‘journalists’ you’re just apologists and cheerleaders for FG/SF/FF/Iphone Joan and Gurry. Get back in your box.

Mute Gearóid Ó Briain
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Briain
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:33 PM

I often give our Hugo a hard time but fair play on the election center. It’s gonna be mayhem in the comments section in the lead up to the election!

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Jan 13th 2016, 9:36 PM

Good resource but just two things ; why are candidates listed alphabetically by their first name? Secondly; Lucinda Creighton didn’t leave FG – she was expelled.

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    Jan 13th 2016, 6:53 PM

Well put together. Congrats Journal IT team. Now for some unbiased reporting…

Ah I’m only messing ;)

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Jan 13th 2016, 6:54 PM

Hugh , could you also add who voted for and against the eviction bill please ?

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jan 13th 2016, 7:50 PM

Not 1 vote to fg,lab that’s the most important thing in this GE.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jan 13th 2016, 12:00 PM

20 candidates in Dublin Bay North already. And I’ve never heard of either of the Shinners. The two alphabet soup candidates, not that I’d dream of voting for them, have a much higher profile.

Mute Colette Carroll
    Favourite Colette Carroll
    Jan 13th 2016, 1:39 PM

I’m also in the newly-named Dublin Bay North. I see Tom Darcy is running for DDI-NCM (no idea).

That’s Tom Darcy, the man who stood outside the Allsops Auction in the Shelbourne Hotel in summer 2013 and told RTE News that “97 years ago …. Constant Markievicz gave up his life to enable us to eradicate suppression, taxation, eviction, criminality …”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kXqIbWacFRQ

As opposed to Countess Constance Markievicz, who fought in 1916 and she died of complications relating to appendicitis in 1927.

And this man wants my vote?!?!

Mute Chris Doherty
    Favourite Chris Doherty
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:27 PM

Both candidates are Councillors in the area so you should have heard of them.

Mute James Flood
    Favourite James Flood
    Jan 13th 2016, 10:30 AM

Mick Flavin using Frank Kilbrides name in Longford/Westmeath

Mute captain ireland
    Favourite captain ireland
    Jan 13th 2016, 10:13 AM

Who is running laois / south kildare ?

Mute Dave!
    Favourite Dave!
    Jan 13th 2016, 10:23 AM

The pickings are slim. What do you do when you want to vote but there’s nobody worth voting for?

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jan 13th 2016, 10:27 AM

Just looked. They are slim pickings. If I was in laois I’d vote Green, if I was sth Kildare – I might just abstain or vote Ind.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:39 AM

Have a look at our choices in Tipperary. It’s just depressing.

Mute Linda Daly
    Favourite Linda Daly
    Jan 13th 2016, 7:25 PM

Slim pickins indeed! There is one Social Democrat in my constituency I may consider. Two independents but 1 left FF after failing a nomination in 2014 and 1 ex sinner who got expelled so that rules them out. Won’t vote for any current government candidates.

Mute Mental Health Reform
    Favourite Mental Health Reform
    Jan 27th 2016, 10:47 AM

Really useful to have this map. A suggestion fro Journal.ie – it would be great to have a run down of where the parties stand on key issues. In our case, we’re looking at their commitments to mental health and logging these here: https://www.mentalhealthreform.ie/blog/party-manifestos-whos-saying-what-on-mental-health/
    Great job on the map, thanks.

Mute MAN UTD IRISH REDS
    Favourite MAN UTD IRISH REDS
    Feb 3rd 2016, 1:56 PM

The same dara murphy that got a lift in a Garda car cause he might miss a flight and some person had hours to wait on a Garda car to call to them. Also the same dara murphy that has taken up most of the billboards advertising yourself in the last few weeks even in the south side and your a north side td. that has neglected his people for the last 5 years some joke

Mute De Wit
    Favourite De Wit
    Jan 14th 2016, 5:20 PM

10 candidates in my constituency, I hope there will be more, can’t be giving FG/FF/Lab any preference. There are 2 FG candidates running in both Meath East and Meath West.

Mute Cynical Samwidge
    Favourite Cynical Samwidge
    Jan 14th 2016, 8:32 AM

Same S**t, different A**holes! One party politics with an illusion of democracy.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jan 13th 2016, 6:29 PM

Seán Ó Fearghail one of the most sensible politicians in the Dáil. Always reasonable and practical in the way he does his business. Would make an excellent Minister in a future government.

Mute Soinbhe Lally
    Favourite Soinbhe Lally
    Feb 3rd 2016, 10:56 AM

Excellent election overview. Everything I need to know.

Mute Eddie Nugent
    Favourite Eddie Nugent
    Jan 14th 2016, 11:51 AM

Lonford Westmeath Goons the lot of them – One serious FF expense Jockey out of Mullingar, and 2 old school up the yard types. No wonder we are still stuck in the dark ages down here.

Mute Aoife Carey
    Favourite Aoife Carey
    Feb 3rd 2016, 3:35 PM

Willie O Dea very quick off the mark here in Limerick. He has been around asking for our votes already.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:43 PM

Is that not a terrorist mug shot I saw on your election app.

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Jan 13th 2016, 6:35 PM

Dara Murphy???

Mute Marie Nolan
    Favourite Marie Nolan
    Feb 3rd 2016, 2:07 PM

Can anyone confirm if that Profile for the Independent Candidate Aislinn Tongue for Cork North Central is meant to be a joke? End the Monoloply of Educate Together Schools? There is ONE Educate Together primary school in the entire city and no secondary schools. Hardly a monopoly. Way to inspire confidence off the bat Aislinn.

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Feb 3rd 2016, 11:06 AM

You are really spoiling us.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jan 13th 2016, 8:24 PM

Are all the candidates added? I thought Joe hannigan was running in tipperary but his not on the list…maybe his pulled out though?