You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A Halloween event took place in Crumlin in Dublin earlier. Leah Farrell

Dry weather makes for prime trick-or-treating conditions this evening

Met Éireann has said weather conditions will stay mild and generally dry.

GHOSTS AND GHOULS are in for a few treats this evening as Met Éireann has said weather conditions will not trick children seeking sweets and stay mild and generally dry.

Highest temperatures are expected to reach 13 degrees this evening and will drop to lows of 7 later tonight.

Some areas, in the north west, will see some drizzle later this evening and into the night but most areas will remain mild and dry.

Sunny spells are expected in some parts of the country tomorrow, although limited.

Most areas will remain dry, with highest temperatures reaching 12 to 15 degrees, in light, variable breezes throughout the day.

Fine weather conditions are expected to remain over the weekend too, with very few showers forecasted around the country.

Dublin Fire Brigade today issued its annual warning against the use of fireworks and bonfires.

The service said the misuse of fireworks can lead to life-changing injuries and has urged the public, particularly young children, to stay away.

“Halloween is meant to be a spooky time of year, not a nightmare,” the service said, and urged the public to call 999 in case of emergencies or call local authorities to report large bonfires in dangerous areas. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

37 Comments
    Mute Jim O Brien - TechBuzz Ireland
    Favourite Jim O Brien - TechBuzz Ireland
    Jan 9th 2020, 2:09 PM

The only problem here is vulture media who won’t leave them alone. Nothing else

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Jan 9th 2020, 2:02 PM

Just let them be. G’way!

Mute view2views
    Favourite view2views
    Jan 9th 2020, 2:04 PM

I wish them well, life is challenging enough for each of us…….

Mute olivia smith
    Favourite olivia smith
    Jan 9th 2020, 2:13 PM

Best of luck to them, the British public seem to think they are their property and need permissions do it. 2 people with a baby trying to do what’s right for their family. Andrew did a whole lot worse and there wasn’t as much uproar! Leave them be. WW3 could be about to go off then the lot of them could be gone.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Jan 9th 2020, 2:59 PM

@olivia smith: I think you mean the British press .

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jan 9th 2020, 3:33 PM

@bmul: read the comments on the Daily Mail it is the media AND the public. Britain is a very racist place. I lived there briefly and I had never been called a Mick or Paddy in any other country but it was daily event while there

Mute olivia smith
    Favourite olivia smith
    Jan 9th 2020, 3:35 PM

@bmul: No I mean the British public, have you read any of the comments on Twitter or Instagram? It’s seriously shocking the things the public are saying. The press are as bad but the people seem to think they have to give them permission to do what they choose.

Mute finbarr quirke
    Favourite finbarr quirke
    Jan 9th 2020, 3:59 PM

@Craic_a_tower: one person’s banter is another person’s racism I suppose. I was in london for 7 years and I never took any offense to the odd paddy or potato joke. Maybe it’s just me but if thats the worst anyone has to say then I think iv had it easy. Just my experience

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Jan 9th 2020, 4:01 PM

@Craic_a_tower: you had a bad experience sorry for that but if it’s so bad why have many thousands made it home .

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Jan 9th 2020, 4:01 PM

@olivia smith: so a few idiots on Twitter represent 66 million people .

Mute olivia smith
    Favourite olivia smith
    Jan 9th 2020, 4:07 PM

@bmul: It’s hardly a few, Iv read quiet a lot of them today. Hi have a look. It’s all moaning about them paying back the tax payers money for the wedding and the repairs to the house.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Jan 9th 2020, 4:22 PM

@olivia smith: well they do want to step back from duties but keep a house that tax payers put 2.4 million into

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jan 9th 2020, 4:29 PM

@bmul: lots of irish people are racists too. Being irish it was mild but a complete strangers making fun of where I come from is simply racist not banter. I didn’t have one bad experience it was constant. Even when I travelled over for work there clients would be casually racist. The minority groups are also racist. Home grown terrorists and segregated areas show Britian for what it is.

Mute olivia smith
    Favourite olivia smith
    Jan 9th 2020, 4:48 PM

@bmul: The house belongs to the royal family, I’m sure it won’t go to waste.

Mute Robert Dungan
    Favourite Robert Dungan
    Jan 9th 2020, 5:18 PM

@olivia smith: They are the British peoples property.Who pays the bills for these two wasters?

Mute olivia smith
    Favourite olivia smith
    Jan 9th 2020, 5:30 PM

@Robert Dungan: Your views are are exactly why they are going. Give your head a wobble. He was born into it he didn’t chooses it. They are their own propose nobody owns them.

Mute Carmel Myob
    Favourite Carmel Myob
    Jan 11th 2020, 9:02 AM

@olivia smith: I don’t know. I think yer wan is a bit of a nut job… I feel sorry for Harry. Poor guy is well isolated now if their is a problem with her personality

Mute Smidgen Dublin
    Favourite Smidgen Dublin
    Jan 9th 2020, 3:33 PM

GENIUS headline in WWN “Unemployed Couple Emigrate For Better Quality Of Life; A mixed race couple who have been living off of state benefits for a number of years have decided to emigrate from the UK to America in a bid to secure a better quality of life.”

Mute Jake Kelly
    Favourite Jake Kelly
    Jan 9th 2020, 3:36 PM

Harry was a child when the media hounded Diana into an early grave and left him without a mother. He didn’t want that happening to his son, whatever you think of the royals you can’t say Harry didn’t make the right decision

Mute Peter Coen
    Favourite Peter Coen
    Jan 9th 2020, 3:57 PM

@Jake Kelly: good comment Jake.

Mute finbarr quirke
    Favourite finbarr quirke
    Jan 9th 2020, 4:21 PM

@Jake Kelly: a lot of people are commenting that the media killed diana. It’s not exactly true. Yes they hounded her etc but it was her driver that was drunk at the wheel that crashed. Just saying

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Jan 9th 2020, 5:25 PM

@Jake Kelly:

Harry once stated “I will not be bullied into carrying a game that killed my mum.”
    Good luck to them.

Mute Diana Walshe
    Favourite Diana Walshe
    Jan 9th 2020, 7:28 PM

@Peter Coen: .. d63q7

Mute Carmel Myob
    Favourite Carmel Myob
    Jan 11th 2020, 9:05 AM

@Jake Kelly: if he’s victims to an emotional abuser then this story could bolster her agenda in a bid to isolate him. I like this guy so I hope he will be okay. I have a feeling she’s big trouble for him though…poor fella

Mute Jennie
    Favourite Jennie

Who cares. Leave them off do their own thing.

Mute Seamus Murphy
    Favourite Seamus Murphy
    Jan 9th 2020, 2:51 PM

Seems to me they couldn’t do anything right according to the media. It’s hardly that much of a shock that a couple with a young child want a life outside a goldfish bowl. Leave them be.

Mute Roy O'Rourke
    Favourite Roy O'Rourke
    Jan 9th 2020, 2:12 PM

The British press are jackal $kum.

Mute Jim O Brien - TechBuzz Ireland
    Favourite Jim O Brien - TechBuzz Ireland
    Jan 9th 2020, 2:37 PM

@Roy O’Rourke: Irish not far behind. Its here after all

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Jan 9th 2020, 2:05 PM

Oh would you feck right off with this BS.

Mute John Murt
    Favourite John Murt
    Jan 9th 2020, 2:35 PM

Will everyone leave them alone to live there lives

Mute Dexter
    Favourite Dexter
    Jan 9th 2020, 6:27 PM

Prince Andrew must have thought all his birthdays came at once reading that statement last night. The spotlight has shifted permanently.

Mute Ⓐⓝⓞⓝⓨⓜⓐⓤ⑤_Ⓓⓤⓑ
    Favourite Ⓐⓝⓞⓝⓨⓜⓐⓤ⑤_Ⓓⓤⓑ

Megxit? Please tell me this is not what the media are actually using as a word for this news. Puke

Mute PMBinARG
    Favourite PMBinARG
    Jan 9th 2020, 2:12 PM

Not interested in the affairs of foreign royal family – only illustrates the futility of heridtary

Mute thomas patrick
    Favourite thomas patrick
    Jan 9th 2020, 2:25 PM

@PMBinARG: interested enough to open the article and comment though!

Mute Flannery’s Tears
    Favourite Flannery’s Tears

Day 2 of looking for anything this has to do with us. Couldn’t be less private for them

Mute Robert Dungan
    Favourite Robert Dungan
    Jan 9th 2020, 5:16 PM

I think Megan is findind this royal gig a tough role to play.A case of buyers regret….hence wanting to head back to N.America.

Mute Stevie Doran
    Favourite Stevie Doran
    Jan 9th 2020, 5:00 PM

She’s mixed race, that’s the core issue people have,

Mute olivia smith
    Favourite olivia smith
    Jan 9th 2020, 5:07 PM

@Stevie Doran: That’s very correct, but it’s mind boggling since they have for years being inter married. Cousins etc. Plus Andrew was hanging round with a kiddy trafficker but that’s ok.

Mute Robert Dungan
    Favourite Robert Dungan
    Jan 9th 2020, 5:17 PM

@Stevie Doran: She’s obnoxious.

Mute olivia smith
    Favourite olivia smith
    Jan 9th 2020, 5:31 PM

@Robert Dungan: pot and kettle there mate

Mute Ger Kennedy
    Favourite Ger Kennedy
    Jan 9th 2020, 7:33 PM

@olivia smith: black?

Mute Declan Moran
    Favourite Declan Moran
    Jan 9th 2020, 5:56 PM

Hilarious watching the old dude on the news plastered with union jack badges whoes disgusted by them making their own announcements “the monachry should do that, making their own announcements is unheard of”. All these monarchists are bonkers

Mute Raven
    Favourite Raven
    Jan 9th 2020, 2:15 PM

#MEGXIT