You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Taylor Swift performing during her Reputation Tour SIPA USA/PA Images
Something For The Weekend
From Taylor Swift to James Joyce: Here's what's happening this weekend
Here’s a round-up of the events taking place across Ireland over the weekend.
8.31am, 16 Jun 2018
NO WEEKEND PLANS? Don’t worry, there’s plenty to do around Ireland over the next two days.
Here are some of the highlights:
Dublin
Taylor Swift weekend continues tonight as the singer plays her second gig at Croke Park.
Swift is the only female artist to play two nights at Croke Park since the redevelopment of the stadium and Dublin is one of three cities in Europe that she is playing.
MCD say they have sold tickets all over the world and are expecting more of Swift’s fans from around Europe at the show tonight.
There are still tickets available for tonight, with support from Camila Cabello and Charlie XCX.
Callie (6) and Serene (4). Irish Red Cross
Irish Red Cross
The Irish Red Cross has teamed up with the Build-A-Bear Foundation for the Stuffed With Hugs event at its stores in Arnotts, Blanchardstown Centre and Dundrum Town Centre.
The event running today invites people to join in making teddy bears to donate to the Irish Red Cross for distribution to families and children experiencing distress in Ireland.
The Irish Red Cross says a four-year-old Syrian girl named Serene inspired it to contact Build-A-Bear after she was the driving force behind its toy drive earlier this year.
CORK SUMMER SHOW
Cork
The Cork Summer Show, a celebration of farm life, is taking place across the weekend at the Curraheen Showgrounds.
Organised annually by the Munster Agricultural Society, the show will have a mix of agriculture, food, music, home and garden events.
This year there will be an indoor food market, a tug-o-war championship, a horticulture tent, petting farms, a kids zone, live music all day long and drone racing.
Children under 12 go free with adult day tickets starting at €15, find out more here.
Cork Midsummer Festival
The Cork Midsummer festival is celebrating 250 years of Circus this year with free events running this weekend until 24 June.
Munster’s largest annual multi-disciplinary arts festival will mark the anniversary of the popular art form with the Irish premiere of hip-hop/circus fusion Union Black at Neptune Stadium.
There are a number of ticketed events also running during the festival including the stage adaptation of author Louise O’Neill’s novel Asking For It, and Front of House, a new opera which aims to explore another side of Cork’s Opera House.
Belsonic festival continues across the weekend at Ormeau Park, with Liam Gallagher and Picture This headlining Saturday and Sunday night.
Tickets are still available for the Belfast music festival here.
Belsonic continues next weekend with acts like The Script, Gavin James and Eric Prydz all performing.
James Joyce acted by John Shelvin on North Great Georges Street in Dublin Sam BoalSam Boal
Galway
There are a number of Bloomsday events taking place in Dublin today but An Taibhdhearc is getting in on the festivities by hosting a Bloomsday concert of music, with songs and stories from the works of James Joyce.
The concert starts at 7.30pm and is scripted and narrated by author and poet Gerard Hanberry, featuring Dublin Tenor Bryan Hoey.
Got any other suggestions? Let us know in the comments
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Very sad. Young girl probably on her way to work. To think many of us were on or way this morning probably moaning about this or that mundane thing . Hits home that we should be grateful and how precious every second is.
It’s high time the government developed safe cycle routes in all our towns and cities. Cyclists should not have to share roads or bus lanes with buses or other vehicles. They need their own dedicated cycle lanes physically separated from other road users. How many cyclists have to die before this government gets the message?:
Look if ALL ROAD USERS obeyed the rules of the road to the full , there would be less accidents on our roads. Cars motorcycle and cycilist all taking too many chances with others safety. Red means STOP , stop lines should never be crossed and proper lane discipline are all iteams we let ourselves down on.
If you dont indicate in a timely manner your at risk , if your not anticipating your putting others at risk , if YOU dont take responsibility for your own safety your at risk. Rant over !
Its usually male cyclists that break lights and weave in traffic. Female cyclists generally tend to be more cautious and considerate of other road users. Sounds like a very tragic accident.
To be fair there are other things to consider, it’s not a simple as what you have said. The main issue is that our roads are very bicycle unfriendly. Regarding the red light jumping; sometimes it’s safer for a cyclist to get ahead to gain momentum before the traffic goes to overtake. In many countries in Europe there are separate lights for cyclists then there are for normal traffic.
To give you an example, there are no cycle lanes where this incident happened. If this poor lady was stopped at a red light with the truck directly behind her (over her right shoulder) she would most likely be in the trucks blind spot. If she was not able to accelerate faster than the truck shes already in a dangerous position. Now I’m not condoning breaking every red light but there are situations where it is actually safer for a cyclist to break the light to get ahead and visible, than not.
Lamb, just on that point, that’s not been my experience. If I see a cyclist breaking lights, cycling on footpaths, etc, it’s 50/50 whether the cyclist is male or female.
In any case, regardless of who is at fault in this particular case, I hope everyone involved makes a full recovery.
I cycle 150km a week across the city every week. There aren’t as many female cyclists but a fair proportion of them cycle past me while I am stopped at traffic lights!
Much in much id say ! Males( some) tend to be a little aggressive in their cycling , while female’s ( some ) tend to have blinkers on while manoeuvring.
Maybe a new article by the Journal was appropriate here rather than an update as many of the comments relate to the original article ie people hoping she was okay which is quite confusing … RIP poor woman thoughts are with her family
I passed by on my bike just as the gardai were closing down the area. There were a bus, a lorry, and a taxi in the ‘isolation’ area on Carysfort av. The Lorry was heading into Blackrock village, probably to deliver to Superquinn. I hope all recover well, very sad event.
The next junction, the slip road up Mount Merrion Avenue is far worse. The amount of cars that go left up the little slip road without indicating is really dangerous for cyclists. Drivers also badly misjudge cyclists here and cut across cyclists to turn left up the slip road. Need a Garda stood on the corner for a few weeks to put some manners on them. I don’t want to be sexist here most of them seem to be women.
RIP.poor lady. She was probably in the truck’s blind spot, highly dangerous, though she was entitled to be there.
A solution to this problem could be to makes traffic stop about five metres back from traffic lights rather than right up beside them. This would also mean that there would be less collisions on junctions due to the few extra seconds it would take for traffic to cross the junction. Hard to describe what I mean without diagrams, but imagine making the area where the first two cars at traffic lights would be a yellow hatched zone, with the exception of cyclists. It would also save a significant number of pedestrian lives.
A lot of junctions have that in place, but as we can see from the road leading in from the bootom of the picture, motorists widely ignore the white line.
Although, in Holland, they have a simple solution. There are no traffic lights across the junction. That means motorists have to stop far enough back if they want to see the lights. And only half the number of traffic lights are needed.
Awful about the poor girl, and I feel very sorry for her family, but I truly feel sorry for the driver of the truck. Having driven artic trucks myself for ten years I know only too well how difficult it can be to spot cyclists and pedestrians in the huge blind spots that exist on trucks. I can only imagine what that poor driver is feeling tonight.
If you are a cyclist just remember if you can’t see the driver of a truck, he/she can’t see you…….
May she rest in peace.
Ah no, really sorry to see this update that she passed away. A daughter/mother/wife/girlfriend, I cant image how hard this must be for her loved ones. RIP
I cycle around 250km a week, it’s is no more dangerous then walking down a flight of stairs. The health benefits outweigh the injury risk by about 77-1 according to the British Medical Journal.
250??? I did 15km this morning & I’m whacked. Fair play.
There’s a cycle lane in a village (Oylegate) near where I live & it’s lethal. As a relative newbie (bike to work chancer) I still prefer it to having cars up my ass.
Roger, a woman was killed here in Holland while cycling when she was hit by another cyclist. She was hit by a man who was cycling on a high performance bicycle.
When you are on the road anything is dangerous. It doesn’t matter what you are in control of or what others are in control of. One mistake and people can die.
Or if, as a cyclist, you’re sharing the road with dangerous or careless drivers of lorries, buses, cars, bikes, or with dangerous or careless pedestrians stepping out onto the road without looking. Or cycling on a road where the cycle lane is ignored or comes and goes like the summer sun, or where there are potholes deeper than an inch or two, which is most of them.
When a cyclist runs into a car and kills the driver, then I’ll believe they’re dangerous. Not the most sensitive comment you could make following this woman’s death, Adam. You think she was dangerous to herself do you?
May she RIP. I cycle that route to and from work and by and large its a lottery to get through Blackrock. Most drivers are aware of cyclists but unfortunately it only takes one. I am not judging truck driver as its not clear as to what happened and that person has to live with this terrible tragedy as do the poor girl’s family.Unfortunately this will be just another statistic as we have a government who encourage cycling through various schemes yet don’t seem too bothered about providing adequate safety measures eg. proper cycle lanes. Once again may this young person rest in peace.
So very sad to hear that this lovely girl didn’t make it to work today. So very sad for her family and friends. May she rest in peace.
Don’t forget to hug those you love. Make that long overdue phone call. Reach out.
And be thankful for all that you have, Everyday.
All the above comments are useless now that my friend, neighbour, girlfriend, sister, daughter, grand daughter, and your general happy go lucky girl Louise is no longer with us! Devastating to hear such news this morning. For all those commenting on how the roads are layed out, on how people drive, on bad cyclists, hindsight is a great thing! The main issue is we have all lost a wonderful young person to a tragic accident and the days ahead are gonna be sad and emotional!! People bickering over each others comments about who was wrong or right or about cyclists and drivers and roads is not going to bring Louise back or solve any issues about this mornings tragic accident! If peopled cared enough to bicker over comments about the accident they should care enough to think about family and friends at this sad time and keep their opinions to themselves as nothing is going to change!!!!!
I’m so dreadfully sorry for your loss. My friend witnessed the accident from the bus and gave her statement to the gardai. She has been in an awful way over it and we cannot stop thinking about her family and friends. Condolences to everyone xxx
We need more proper road education in this country. Im on the road all day in dublin as part of my job and the amount of stupid things I see daily is unbelievable. Just yesterday I seen two cars drag racing on the airton road in tallaght just before lunch!! This morning I seen two cyclists breaking red lights. Im on the road 8 hours a day around dublin and no road user is worse than the other. The main problem with cyclists is the breaking of red lights and this is so dangerous.
I fully believe that not only cars and the like should have nct every two years but all road users should have to do some sort of test every two years. Now I expect a lot of people would disagree with me on this but those who are responsible road users would have no problem with ir as they have nothing to fear.
It would be harder to get cyclists to comply with this, but it could be tied in with the cycle to work scheme.
Again I hope and pray that this poor woman does not become yet another statistic of irish roads.
I’m going to shamelessly copy and paste what I wrote above as it’s relevant to this post.
“The main issue is that our roads are very bicycle unfriendly. Regarding the red light jumping; sometimes it’s safer for a cyclist to get ahead to gain momentum before the traffic goes to overtake. In many countries in Europe there are separate lights for cyclists then there are for normal traffic.
To give you an example, there are no cycle lanes where this incident happened. If this poor lady was stopped at a red light with the truck directly behind her (over her right shoulder) she would most likely be in the trucks blind spot. If she was not able to accelerate faster than the truck she’s already in a dangerous position. Now I’m not condoning breaking every red light but there are situations where it is actually safer for a cyclist to break the light to get ahead and visible, than not.”
However I will agree that cyclists should have to do a course and I particularly like the idea of attaching it to the cycle to work scheme. As a result of the scheme there are far too many cyclists on the road who have no clue how to cycle properly and cycle a bike like they are still driving a car. Simple things such as learning to use your brakes correctly are so important. It always amazes me how many people who completely avoid using their front brake. It’s the front brake that is going to stop you fast in an emergency situation.
Im all for road education and why why why is it not on tje school curriculum from primary school. Beat road safety into the kids from an early age.
The cyclists I seen today breaking the red ligts was on the rathmines road outside the church, its a pedestrian crossing and there was no need for the lights to be broken, the cyclists didnt even stop or slow down, them type of cyclists are a danger.
Each and every type of road users have great users and each has dangerous user and what needs to be done is zero tolerance for the dangerous users no matter what type of machine they are in control of.
RIP Louise. A beautiful and bright bright young girl who barely had the chance to experience life. My thoughts and prayers are with her family and friends.
It doesn’t take a genius to see that vehicles & speed is prioritised on this section of road & pedestrians & cyclists are continually put at risk. Unfortunately it will only be a matter of time before the next incident.
Absolutely terrible news, some unfortunate young girl has had her lufe cut short senselessly. As a driver who cycles the odd time I have to say that it seems the drivers of cars, trucks and buses don’t realise the damage a vehicle can inflict on a cyclist or pedestrian. If a cyclist accidently clibw your car it might cause a scratch on the car, if a car clips a cyclist it might lead to their death. We can all get frustrated with cyclists not adhering to road rules but before you take the chance of driving past them a little too close consider how you would feel if you were responsible for their death.
Fact is we don’t actually know who was at fault. No denying those junctions are death-traps for cyclists, but cyclists don’t help themselves by trying to nip through a red light or at a seemingly green-man which may also be a green for cars turning left. Those junctions especially are most dangerous, as there are several different sequence of lights going for different traffic. It should be a sad reminder for both cyclists and drivers to follow the rules and respect each other out there. Written btw by a long standing cyclists who is in despair at the amount of bad cyclists out there. It’s very very sad and my thoughts are with her family.
Seems to be an assumption the cyclist did something wrong as all your anecdotes are specific. There are a lot of bad cyclists out there, but that is irrelevant. It doesn’t matter how many rules of the road you obey, there are too many death traps for cyclists in this city. The real issue is poor road design – not suitable for cyclists or HGV traffic. btw I saw a “bad” motorist yesterday.
Don’t think it’s good news,
It’s the responsibility of both drivers and cyclists to be more aware of each other, I would even say the cyclists need to be more vigilant as their more prone to major injury. The blame game should nt apply, have witnessed bad road behaviour for both.
God bless the cyclist, the driver also.
Think you have this so right. Every day I see cyclists , drivers and pedestrians do something reckless. The debate should be about minding each other on the roads and safety and sharing the limited road space. Drivers do need to give cyclists more space in general and cyclists need to show a little more caution at times. I do believe most drivers and cyclists would be shocked if they ever sat in a truck and saw how restricted the view is. Bad driving is dangerous
I believe that cyclists should be using the pavements and negotiating with pedestrians rather than the roads, having to negotiate with cars trucks and buses. If the pavements were made a little wider, there would be room for both. So many cyclists don’t know how to behave on roads and I say this as a motorist who cycles.
Hope this incident works out ok for all concerned.
Shea what you are suggesting is illegal and dangerous to pedestrians. A cyclist moving at 40 kph would certainly kill a child if they walked out in front of them. In the near future cyclists will be fined if caught cycling on footpaths
Lamb, I think I may not have been clear. Make it legal for cyclists and pedestrians to share the pavement with the pedestrians having the priority. Any cyclist doing 40 kph on a path with pedestrians (no easy task anyway) should take the bus instead. The cyclist/pedestrian relationship would be safer all round than the motorist/cyclist relationship. At the very least, allow cyclists to take to the pavement in heavy traffic.
Yes, cyclists use the pedestrian paths in Tokyo and it seems to work okay. A bit surprising at first but the people on foot and those cycling are respectful towards each other.
You missed the very first word in my reply Shea. When I started off cycling on the road it would of been around 22/23 kph, now around the low to mid 30′s depending on if I hit the mountains.
(For Bob) I checked backed on your posts. You never mentioned cycling at speeds in the low 20′s kph. From a precious comment (cycling 250k in a week), it would appear that you are a cycling enthusiast and therefore not an average cyclist.
Irrespective of all this, the speed to cycle at (or drive for that matter) is the speed that is safe for the prevailing conditions and if it was on a path shared with pedestrians, it probably shouldn’t be more than 10k.
Think you are spot on I actually use the path at places like this for my safety when road conditions are worrying and my rule is pedestrians have right of way so I always slow or consider them, I never get hassled by them usually it’s a smile and a word or two. I find in practice it works well.
Very sad, drove past just after it happened and saw her lying on the road not moving not something any one should have to be seeing in this day and age, thoughts and prayers are with family and friends
I hope this lady is okay and I wish herca solpeedy recovery. Surely it’s way too early fo speculation about causes unless from actual eyewitnesses.
By the way, I noticed a lorry the other day with an extra mirror on top of the wing mirror to cover that blind spot so dangerous for pedestrians and cyclists.
Even cyclops mirrors don’t give full visibility on trucks. The RSA had a great video about cyclists and trucks. Basically there is a massive blindspot on the left handside of trucks, you need to be under the mirror almost before the truck driver can see you. If you are a cyclist never move inside a truck if there is a chance it may be turning left or changing lane. If a truck is overtaking you slow down a bit and keep well in until they pass you.
I think education of the rules of the road is key here, for both motorists and cyclists. Both groups are very quick to blame each other but both show lack of knowledge of the rules. At the moment it’s only when something happens that people check the rules out to see who is at fault, who has right of way etc. Some people don’t know the difference between a cycling lane with a broken line and one with a continuous line for example. Hope to God this lady is ok.
We can start by calling them what they are ROAD USERS . Its easy for both sides to dig in and claim innocence , drivers or cyclists when you place you’re wheels on the road you are a ROAD USER and equally bound by the rules of the road
Very sad news. Road layout looks leathal for cyclists. It’s a lot safer in some parts of city for cycling than a few years ago but not everywhere. This needs to be highlighted especially given the low number of women cycling. Making existing roads cycleproof wont cost loads of money and will have real effects on safety which in turn will lead to more people cycling. This could be any one of us.
This is absolutely tragic.. Cyclists really do risk their lives on a daily basis and accidents can happen no matter how careful they are. Taxi drivers especially need to appreciate how vulnerable cyclists are.
Very very sad, just live up the road from this…hope it’s nobody we know as name not released yet…heartbreaking for whoever is involved, someone’s daughter, sister, mother, wife, partner…too young to go! Not getting into a cyclist/driver debate, that’s for another day!
A sad day and example for how dangerous it is on dublin roads.
We need to look at other european cities for how to integrate cycling properly into the traffic network. There are no real cycling lanes in Dublin besides the one on the canal.
Cycle lanes in Bus lanes is not enough, we need to create more lanes, that remove bicycles completely from traffic. If you look at Paris, Berlin or Barcelona, cities I’ve cycled in, they cities councils have developed proper networks for cyclists to operate in.
As a result, cyclist wouldn’t be forced to take the risks that we do every day competing with buses and taxis’s in particular who pay no attention or have much respect for cyclists, cycle lanes or not.
Sad story, may she rest in peace. However, government wanna get to grips with the droves of cyclists entering the car dominated streets. It’s getting kinda serious now but not being taken seriously, are we gonna have to wait another 20 yrs as we did with motoring to address this. Infrastructure and road safety have always been low priority in this country.
What ever happened to the traffic school in fairview , it was for children and had road layout with pedal cars and bikes to teach the kids rules of the road and safety as a pedestrian. Most schools in the city used to go at some stage.
I passed by there the other day and noticed it was closed down. Probably not enough money in the coffers after bailing out the you-know-who’s. Shame. we could do with something like that now. I’m sure it didn’t cost all that much and if it saved deaths and injuries it would pay for itself.
My sympathy to her family and friends, I cycle through Blackrock all the time so this really feels personal. I hate to see things like this happen because cycling is such a lovely way to go to work or get around your neighbourhood. May she rest in peace .
Man in his 20s dies after getting into difficulty in River Flesk in Kerry
4 hrs ago
Negotiations
Zelenskyy to speak with Trump in Berlin-led talks ahead of Putin summit in Alaska
Updated
1 hr ago
Shooting Stars
Meteor shower and rare 'double planet' to light up Irish skies tonight - here's how to spot them
Updated
18 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 220 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 154 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 201 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 163 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 124 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 125 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 52 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 49 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 181 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 79 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 113 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 119 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 52 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 67 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 38 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 128 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 96 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 69 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 120 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 108 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say