You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Protestors blocking the entrance to Whitegate Refinery. Niall O'Connor/The Journal

Whitegate blockade leader says protesters aren’t “acting the langer”

The Journal has spent the day with the protestors in Whitegate Refinery who are, for the most part, farming contractors and construction workers.

THE WHITEGATE REFINERY in east Cork has been scene to a now two-day long protest and soft blockade by demonstrators.

The Journal has spent the day with the protesters who are, for the most part, farming contractors and construction workers.

They have parked heavy vehicles such as large earth moving trucks and tractors at the entrance to the facility. 

The refinery, which houses 25% of the State’s oil reserves, is on the shoreline of Cork Harbour looking towards Cobh which, by sea, is just a few kilometres away. The picturesque village of Whitegate is some 15kms from the town of Midleton.

It is just a few hundred metres from Trabolgan Holiday Village which is housing Ukrainian refugees. A number of the bemused residents passed the protest and slowed to look at the people.  

Independent Ireland TD Ken O’Flynn, who is from Cork city, came and spoke to the demonstrators. 

We observed as workers’ vehicles were allowed to come and go from the refinery. A small number of gardaí are visible near the protest and we learned that they have been engaging with the disparate leaders. 

The protesters all said they came to the refinery for the same reason: the cost of fuel. Some were nervous to speak on the record but those that did were on message.

The Journal / YouTube

One of those was Mark O’Connell who works in haulage and crane hire. 

“I’m just here to support all the truck drivers and everyone else who is burning diesel around the country. 

“No one wanted to do it, and definitely not to this level, but they have no choice and everyone is in same boat. I know that in general haulage it is not easy and it is worse it is going to get and we have no choice only to come out and try change it, hope for change. 

“It is hit and miss [that there will be a solution] but they would want to start listening. Fair is fair, there is no bother here and no one is trying to start a war, all they want is a bit of fairness really,” he said. 

Another protester, who identified himself as Tadhg, said he worked in farm contracting.

“We’re protesting to try and get a cap on fuel. It has become unsustainable to run our businesses and it is only going one way and that is worse, the prices are only going up and up,” said. 

Tadhg referenced the impending €7.50 per tonne price hike on fuel from 1 May as also motivation for his participation in the protest. 

“In three weeks time we are looking at a carbon tax of 19c being added on to it the price already. It is spiralling upwards and we are spiralling downwards out of business,” he said. 

The atmosphere was jovial for the most part with protesters mingling and chatting. 

In the mid-afternoon the demonstrators were gathered together in a blue gazebo tent that had been erected. 

Speaking to the protestors Paul O’Riordan, wearing a hi-vis jacket, outlined a plan to the large group of people. 

“[If they come here] we won’t be doing anything or acting the langer, there’s no need for it.

“If they land here and go blocking the road or pulling away trucks, we’ve decided here with Independent Ireland, with Ken [O'Flynn TD] we are just going to stand across the road and fold our arms. 

“If they start arresting people we’ll do a rolling protest up to the Midleton roundabout and back here again at a couple of kilometres an hour, that’s the safest most peaceful thing to do,” he said. 

That was greeted by claps. 

Ken O’Flynn then spoke to the crowd, paraphrasing Michelle Obama in his comments. 

“Just to say to everybody when they go low and they start calling you names, calling you this that and another, no matter who they are, no matter what role the hold in government or the Dáil go high.

“Ignore that, don’t interact be respectful to everybody. It has been a brilliantly peaceful protest and that’s what we are here for, your own families and to keep you livelihoods together.

“There may be people turn up who are looking for an argument or looking for a fight -leave us stay out of that. We’re here to get the government to a negotiation,” he said. 

O’Flynn said that he hoped there would be “good news” and that he had contacted “certain ministers” to broker a deal.

The protestors remain at the gates of the refinery and anticipate to be here tomorrow.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

41 Comments