You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Cliodhna Russell and Derval Chambers Petit getting ready to go live. Paula Lyne/TheJournal.ie

WATCH: We put your live questions about work-life balance to a career coach

Derval Chambers Petit joined us for a live video Q&A.

DO YOU FIND it hard to switch off in the evenings? Or check your work emails first thing in the morning? Or spend your Saturdays recovering from the working week, rather than relaxing?

Whether you’re going through an high-pressure period in your career, or just looking for advice on how to achieve a better balance in your life more generally – we’re here to help.

Experienced life and career coach Derval Chambers Petit joined us at TheJournal.ie for a Facebook Live interview earlier this week, where we took live questions from viewers, and put a few questions from Careers Magazine readers to her too.

Watch it back right here – and share your own tips on striking the right balance in the comments below:

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Comments
    Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Aug 15th 2015, 6:34 PM

It’s 137 bpm when she’s screaming at you to take out the rubbish.

Mute Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Favourite Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:03 PM

Is that a euphemism for “mopping up”?

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:20 PM

Don’t even mention the ‘wet spot’…

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Aug 15th 2015, 6:39 PM

Just hooking the other half up to the heart rate monitor now. I’ll be back in 2 minutes

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Aug 15th 2015, 6:40 PM

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Aug 15th 2015, 6:41 PM

and 127

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief

and 129

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief

fag break

John
    Aug 15th 2015, 6:55 PM

Chief why the delay ?

Mute Integra-Ted
    Favourite Integra-Ted
    Aug 15th 2015, 6:55 PM

Amazing that blow up dolls have heart rates these days, technology eh?

jane
    Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:10 PM

Brilliant Ted

Aug 15th 2015, 7:13 PM

I tried getting it up higher Chief but it was a bit weird with you watching us.

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:28 PM

She’s not blowup, She’s silicone rubber!!!

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:46 PM

The old blow up ones went down all the time.

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Aug 15th 2015, 6:43 PM

110 cause she was still smoking during that one

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Aug 15th 2015, 6:44 PM

more lube needed….

Mute Integra-Ted
    Favourite Integra-Ted
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:46 PM

Give her a break so Chief, overuse of silicone/electronic devices may lead to overheating and smoke….

Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan
    Aug 15th 2015, 6:56 PM

Women don’t have orgasms

Aug 15th 2015, 7:36 PM

Of course they do. They love any excuse for a good moan.

Mute Martello Mulligan
    Favourite Martello Mulligan
    Aug 15th 2015, 6:51 PM

Other numbers to keep in mind for the female orgasm: 1 (tongue), 2 (fingers), 25 (minutes)

John
    Aug 15th 2015, 6:56 PM

Chief chief CHIEF come back chief. Follow the light.

Mute Katie Byrne
    Favourite Katie Byrne
    Aug 15th 2015, 6:37 PM

#everydaysexism

Because women’s pleasure is seen as second to men’s.

Try harder boys.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Aug 15th 2015, 6:50 PM

That’s not true anymore Katie!

Mute Katie Byrne
    Favourite Katie Byrne
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:00 PM

I’m glad you feel happy being an apologist for the patriarchy but this is still very much true for women worldwide!

See 33 more replies ▾
    Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:05 PM

Get back lads! We have a militant feminist. Just throw chocolate at it and keep a distance.

Aug 15th 2015, 7:06 PM

Women experience pleasure?

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:06 PM

Complete non sense Katie

Mute Katie Byrne
    Favourite Katie Byrne
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:07 PM

Niall I’m also a militant gay rights supporter. Want to leave a snarky comment about that too? Or is it just women you see as second class citizens?

Mute Larry David the 2nd
    Favourite Larry David the 2nd
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:07 PM

Jaysus would ya lighten up Kate !

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:08 PM

3rd wave feminism has a lot to answer for.

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox

A woman’s pleasure is 2nd to mens? what about beer, quarter pounders etc.

jane
    Mute jane
    Favourite jane

Katie sometimes a joke is just a joke.

Mute Katie Byrne
    Favourite Katie Byrne
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:16 PM

Wow I forgot how regressive and backward the journal comment section can be. I’d nearly get PTSD from reading some of these replies.

Aug 15th 2015, 7:19 PM

And there was us thinking you were just suffering from PMT.

Mute Dublin Mope
    Favourite Dublin Mope

Ah leaver out Katie ye big spa. I was enjoying the comments until I came across you moronic ramblings.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

What you need is a good ….

Mute Katie Byrne
    Favourite Katie Byrne
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:21 PM

Al Ca finish that sentence, a good what? Beating? F**k? That all women are good for now?

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:24 PM

A good puff on the Chiefs peace pipe is what you need Katie.

Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan

Katie. Women are not second class citizens. Only women who think they are second class citizens.

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:28 PM

3rd wave feminism.

For women that come from the richest homes, get the best education and have doors spring open for them but want to be radical feminists like they read about.

That isn’t to knock real feminists just the new identity politics version for rich little kids.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:30 PM

…education.

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Aug 15th 2015, 7:37 PM

I think Katie may be trolling us all LOL 8/10

Aug 15th 2015, 7:43 PM

Oh the rotter!

Mute Ripper Murphy
    Favourite Ripper Murphy
    Aug 15th 2015, 8:10 PM

i wud of said the troll is trying too hard but u idiots all fell for it so haha.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Aug 15th 2015, 8:18 PM

You haven’t a clue what you’re talking about Katie. You’re going on like a would be feminazi.

Mute niall mullins
    Favourite niall mullins
    Aug 15th 2015, 8:22 PM

If she pulls out a knife throw some bread at her lads. Her female instincts will kick in and we’ll all get a sammich.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    Aug 15th 2015, 8:24 PM

lads , you’ve all been had !

Mute niall mullins
    Favourite niall mullins
    Aug 15th 2015, 8:30 PM

Ah but it was fun while it lasted Suzie :)

jane
    Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Aug 15th 2015, 8:35 PM

It was fun. I literally lol’d at Nialls chocolate comment.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    Aug 15th 2015, 8:40 PM

Niall , ya can’t beat a bit of banter !

Aug 15th 2015, 9:33 PM

You don’t think some of us were taking the piss too Suzie? Come on girl.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    Aug 15th 2015, 9:37 PM

you were on the ball , meehawwl !

Mute MrsWoman
    Favourite MrsWoman
    Aug 15th 2015, 11:24 PM

Jaysus. You’re great craic on a night out I’d say.

Mute Mairead Ni Chleirigh
    Favourite Mairead Ni Chleirigh
    Aug 16th 2015, 4:38 AM

speak proper English… neathrendal

Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan
    Aug 16th 2015, 10:28 AM

Mairead. When you correct anyone for grammar and spelling, it is imperative that you yourself make no grammatical or spelling errors. You have no capital letter on both ‘Speak’ and ‘neathrendal’. What is a neathrendal? Did you perhaps mean neanderthal?

Sean
    Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 16th 2015, 11:03 AM

I absolutely spoil mine. she hates militant feminists though finds them embarrassing to her gender and she’s right. #psychofanny #egalatarianismisfine

Mute Mairead Ni Chleirigh
    Favourite Mairead Ni Chleirigh
    Aug 16th 2015, 5:28 PM

Apologies for my spelling and grammar errors. It was 5am go figure! Spelling and grammar can be corrected,however there’s no way that you can change your personality. Have a great evening.

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy

Yeah, I had an electrode hooked up on her tit ‘cos I really need to know.

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    Aug 15th 2015, 8:19 PM

I presume Katie is a troll but it is such an accurate portrayal of many young leftists, especially those that subscribe to identity politics and talk about inter-sectionalism, triggers and micro aggressions.

Ron
    Mute Ron
    Favourite Ron
    Aug 16th 2015, 4:06 PM

women can have orgasms? Are you sure?

Aug 16th 2015, 2:19 PM

Sex with what, a horse?
    Women are more likely to die from a heart attack than a man because it is more deadly in a woman…

Mute Spoddgy
    Favourite Spoddgy
    Aug 16th 2015, 2:35 AM

123 what’s the mans heart rate??

Aug 16th 2015, 2:19 PM

Depends on the Viagra?

Mute Daniel Murray
    Favourite Daniel Murray
    Aug 16th 2015, 3:56 AM

132 is quite low i would’ve thought! Clearly not able for the man inside