TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

125 jobs to be created in Dublin city centre

The jobs will be analysing global buying behaviour and will be created between now and the end of 2013.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

A RESEARCH, MEDIA and technology company is to establish a new base in Dublin city centre, creating 125 jobs.

The jobs are to be in the areas of campaign management, telephone support, data analysis and business intelligence by IDG Connect and will study and analyse global buying behaviour.

The 125 new positions will be created between now and the end of 2013.

Minister for Jobs Richard Bruton said that a key part of the government’s plan for jobs is to deepen and develop the impact of multinational companies already located in Ireland.

IDG Connect recently recruited 60 positions already on Great Strand Street in Dublin 1.

“Since January, we have seen a very strong flow of investments from world-leading companies, and we are determined not only to ensure that this continues but also that these companies can create stronger links here and provide greater benefit to the economy,” said Bruton.

“Today’s announcement that this dynamic company is creating 125 jobs here is great news for Dublin city centre and for Ireland. With the right decisions I am convinced that Ireland can provide greater stability for investors and create the jobs and growth we need”.

The head of IDG Connect, which is the world’s largest technology media company, said that Ireland had a strong mix of core skills, high levels of education, an established infrastructure and multi-lingual labour pool.

Amazon to create 100 jobs in Dublin >

8 questions you should ask during your job interview >

Read next:

Comments (80 Comments)

• well susie, have to applaud your positivity! more jobs announcements please:-)

• I am delighted with the job announcements , bring on more . There is a long queue. :) Stay positive by all means , but get real ! Vote No .

• does every single article have to end up in no pushers trying to force their opinions on ordinary decent folk who can make up their own minds!!

• Yep :)
      This government have let us down and have proved their serious incompetence.
      Anyway , I am only one voice ,but it is serious misrepresentation to ask people to vote yes , to change our constitution on threats , bullying, scare tactics qnd lies. Vote No.

• @Paddy – I’m undecided but aren’t the Yes side doing the same thing. Honestly I don;t think anyone knows what will happen. Yes or No its a gamble that may or may not pay off.

On the Yes side the ESM is a fund that does not yet exist, has no money and if Spain go belly when it is there, they will probably bleedit dry leaving nothing for other countries if and when required.

On the No side – if we do need a loan what happens if we cannot get one from the ESM and are force into more austerity to get a second bailout from the IMF, ECB etc..

My biggest concern as an undecided voter is that France and Germany have held off ratifying it and what happens if for some reason they do not ratify it? Enda said that the text will not change from his last meeting, but how can you believe a man that has told so much lies to us in the past.

• @chris agree with you post good holes in both arguments, I’m undecided, but the like of the aggressive posts especially on the journal of late sticking Vote No, at the end of every post is just a bit much. even Susie there seems to be really pissed at the government and wants to stick it to them. both sides just seem to be calling each other liars.. and there’s a lot of lies flyin…

• Chris, so far only 4 countries have ratified it. One of the four is Greece and look whats happening over there. The Dutch government has fallen because it. The German Joe Soap is getting fed up with bailing out foreign banks and Merkel cannot get her own government to pass it. The yes side keep asking where we are going to get the money for the second bailout (the one Noonan keeps telling us we dont need). The no side are asking where will we get the 11 billion to lodged into the ESM (which will be instantly emptied by Spain). And when the ESM pot is empty we will be told to add even more money into the pot. The other thing about money from the ESM is that any country can veto another country getting money from it. So far this treaty has not resulted in stability.

I think you might be interested in checking out Bondwatch. It contains timetables for when payments (past and future) paid to both secured and unsecured bondholders and how much we have paid out in each traunch. If these payments stop it will reduce out debt and will result in us definitely not needing a 2nd bailout and ease the austerity we and our children will suffer over the coming decades.
      http://bondwatchireland.blogspot.com/

• Chris @
      Growth will not ONLY come from outside the country. The government are doing NOTHING to encourage growth within our borders . What is the government doing for the other 446,000 unemployed people on the dole – apart from issuing passports. Every day I see places where jobs can be created with some creativity. I am not telling lies so I resent being told that I am telling lies. I tell it as I see it . I am nobody’s ”mouthpiece” so refrain from the name calling. I will be voting no as will 4 other members of my family. I have not wound people up , as other people are prone to do here on the journal. I have learned all I know through reading and talking and asking appropriate questions. I have learned that austerity is inevitablew but hy would we want to sign it into our constitution. That is how I see it and That is the reason I will be voting the way I will be voting . So as soon as this is over I am sure we will find more things to discuss. Have a nice day

• 125 jobs meaning nearly 5million in wages (average tech wage being 40grand) is great news and I might also point out to people giving out about the government that it was us who put them there! And for god sake can we have one article without doomdayers bring up the treaty, household or water charges every single time

• I wonder why any company would invest in Ireland with all the uncertainty of the referendum… maybe because they know that Ireland is a good place to invest in or out of Europe???

• Scarr 29/05/12 #

Corporation tax rate, tax breaks and ability to do a double-Irish, a tax strategy where you only pay about 2.4% on your profits.

• No media actually go to the trouble of following up on these job announcements. Do they actually materialise, or are they urban myths?

I ask because I do recall one much-hyped announcement a few years back, complete with Gov minister and around 800 jobs for somewhere, where the total hired turned out to be more like 50 in the end. I believe Gov ministers are getting away with lying film-flam because nobody in the media runs any systematic follow-up check to see what actually happens subsequently.

In any event, though those employed may be relieved, 125 jobs is a drop in the ocean compared to the continuing job losses disguised by 1,000 a week emigrating. Yet if one job was offered now, you’d have some minister telling us we are ‘turning the corner’.

• There is no uncertainty about the referendum :-)

• 125 jobs that many people will have emigrated by lunch time this goverment has to go enough of their lies

• any job news is good news. There are many commentators on here that have never welcomed new jobs. Why is that? Regardless of your politics, surely any job creation is good news. It seems that any kind of positivity doesn’t suit some peoples agenda. Sad really…

• Unfortunately there are groups on the far left and far right who need instability and a scary economics situation to frighten people into their way of thinking. You see this in Greece now and to a lesser extend here. Good news and stability doesn’t suit their agenda.

• all these jobs being announced are great for someone but im just an ordinary warehouse worker who lost his job six months ago .now iv applied for so many iv lost count had two interviews where i thought i did really well. not even a call back to tell me how did:( and believe me two interviews is a lot more than some ppl get.my point here is, though im glad this gives an oppurtunity to young ppl to graduate to a position .i have begun to despair of getting anywhere,these look good on paper but im not impressed,:)

• you were undercut Larry or they realised a young foreign worker be easier pickings and take the shite more. you get my thumbs up, don’t mind the foreign facebook red thumbers here. like magpies.

• Larry
      I hope you get a job soon too. I have been accused of not welcoming these jobs as being good news, but I do. My point is that there are people like yourself who really want and need to work but having to wait til the end of 2013 really just is not enough.I just feel there should be more that this government can do and are not doing.. Good luck with the job hunting

• Paul Oh 02/06/12 #

Good luck Larry. I was beginning to think I was the only one having this experience. My advice to you is to leave this damned country. I’m completely done with it and just biding my time until I have enough money to set myself up anywhere else. Its tough to have to leave (I’ve done it before and foolishly came back in hope that I could stay here) but there comes a point when enough is enough.

• I see the Continuity FF Red Thumb Brigade is out in force this morning…

• My family and mortgage are my only agenda. I still have no idea how I will vote on this treaty but I’m happy that the tech sector is booming here. My job isn’t a million miles apart from it. If I was made redundant again in the morning I would be straight back to college. As much as I’m sick of this government already our options if we vote no are massively limited and austerity will be hugely increased if we can’t get funding, if we do the interest rate will be colossal. If the no side could tell me the interest rate to borrow With a no vote I just might swing that way. Oh and we are not being bullied, simply informed. No one is twisting my arm .

• If they hand back the German bank debt, and make a real effort to reform spending and waste in public spending they’d be able to borrow at a reasonable rate. The reason we can’t now is the markets know we can’t pay back what we owe AND were leaking 18billion a year in overspend

• We would have to be stern, tell Merkel to write off bank debt, give us LONG term low interest loan for Our debt to allow us to grow! or we default and they lose hundreds of billions instead of making a profit and protecting their low trading currency. Which would you do if you were them?

• We could make her an offer she couldn’t refuse. Take back debt lower interest rates or we default and lower corporation tax to 2%

• It’s great that these jobs are being created but…. What about the rest of the country not involved in the tech sector. I can’t remember the last time Enda’s boys produced a sound bite about general manufacturing. Even the new intel jobs will be high end tech. If we do lose this lower tax rate foreign companies we are dead in the water. I wonder will Noonan be as quick to make a smart ass comment about garlic as he did with feta cheese. If the French want our tax rate changed an it happens we might as well shut up shop. My company employing 150 plus people will go within a year

• Oh my God . Chuck , I am sincerely sorry to hear this. We need home grown jobs and investment in jobs that are not necessarily ”high end ”. Instead of the government making cuts and trying to bring in outside corporations (which is all very good) but they should invest in the workers already here willing and able to work. Will they ever see sense ? Anyway I seem to be upsetting people with my comments , which means that I am hitting the nail on it’s head .
      Chuck , Good luck to you . Sincerely .

• Scarr 29/05/12 #

We’re too expensive to manufacture in. Most jobs you will see coming on stream will be in the tech and customer service side of things as well as hq being set up for tax reasons.

• “No provision of this Constitution … prevents laws enacted, acts done or measures adopted by bodies competent under that Treaty from having the force of law in the State.”

Tax rates are protected my ass

• Scrap. Seriously it is utter nonsense that out corp tax rate is affected by this new treaty. And when I say utter nonsense I mean the kind that is detached from reality. We do not add this treaty to our constitution, only the permission for the government to ratify it. I suspect you know these things but we’ll continue to peddle whatever you’re peddling.

• It’s funny. Bruton using this announcement to get a plug in about the Treaty. If we makes the right decision…stability.

The guy providing the jobs never mentioned it at all. He mentioned a whole pile of other reasons.

The people creating the jobs couldn’t give a shiny sh1te whether we vote Yes or No. All they care about is low corporation tax, and a relatively cheap talent pool. Voting Yes won’t improve any of these

• Absolutely right. They do not care how we vote , or if we pay water taxes or household charges . they just in it for the low corporation tax, which as you say is Not protected if this treaty is accepted. The government doing what they do best …..LYING !

• If we ratify the austerity treaty does anyone really believe that we will be allowed keep our corporation tax?

As soon as we’re told to up it to appease the French and Germans none of these multinationals will stay, they ain’t here for the brilliant broadband, rail network, health care, weather, infrastructure or the cheap logistical costs…..(which none of this we have)…..They’re here for the low tax and not because of some deluded loyalty to us.

• Does anyone here actually run a multinational corporation or are we just guessing as to what they look for when they invest?

• Dermot. I’m really sick of this. There is no mechanism for anyone to make us change our corp tax. Fact.

• Yeah yeah yeah…still in denial about the corporation tax I see.
      No sooner than it was “protected” under “legally binding guarantees” with the Lisbon part two referendum that it came up for discussion again….it’s cute you still believe that your “european partners” will allow us access to funds, continue the failed austerity and keep a low corporation tax which is perceived as unfair by the French and Germans…..

No David, but let me guess..you are in fact CEO of some large multinational and you’re here for the ambience and not the low tax eh?

• How many of these jobs end up going to Irish people? I ask because many tech companies based in Ireland complain that Irish graduates do not have the required skills and hire from other countries, basing themselves here because of our low corporate tax rate and proximity to Europe. The country still benefits from having the employees live and spend their money here, but all these stories about the government creating jobs are a bit misleading if the jobs are not going to Irish citizens.

• Dublin-North Central TD Aodhan O Riordain said it was “irresponsible of public sector unions to advocate a No vote when their members risk being locked out of the European Stability Mechanism”.
    “It is only by borrowing that we can hold on to the Croke Park Agreement at present,” he added.

Ah, the light finally dawns

• Here’s a thought. The Celtic Tiger was preceded by a boom in the tech sector in the early 90s. Sure, there were other reasons like cheap money but you create thousands of high paid jobs, it has a knock on effect. People upgrade cars, homes, furniture. They go out more.

Now suppose for a minute tha

• (fat fingered it sorry)

Suppose for a minute that this tech sector growth we’re seeing helps lift overall growth to a point where the govt CAN go back to the markets and we don’t need to access the ESM. If that happens we’ll be going to the markets alright, to borrow billions to sink into the ESM for Spain and Italy to squander

• Either that or the government have guaranteed them the treaty will be re run until we see it Angela’s way

• Why no report on the jobs lost yesterday? Or does the Journal not do photo ops for Ministers when jobs are lost?
    Bloxham stockbrokers closed. Why not a pic of Minister Noonan to illustrate it?

• What jobs exactly do you mean from yesterday? Here’s the report about Bloxham: http://www.thejournal.ie/central-bank-orders-bloxham-to-cease-all-regulated-activities-immediately-465624-May2012/. We didn’t use a photo of Noonan for that because he had no involvement in the story. In this case, Bruton had commented on the story and was involved, so we used a photo of him.

• There are 40 people out of work as a result of that closedown, according to the Irish Times.

I know you are following journalistic convention in putting Ministers’ pictures on stories of new jobs but wouldn’t it be more equitable, better journalism, to ask a Minister for a quote on each job closure and illustrate that with a pic.

There are enough news media already acting as PR agencies for politicians – and I freely admit that The Journal is the least guilty.

Regards
      WP

• The problem there is that very often Ministers won’t comment on job losses, unless it’s a huge number of jobs or else it’s in their own constituency. We do still ask, but that’s the reason why we don’t always get them.

• More jobs have been created than lost recently, and they are good jobs too. Can we not have some positivity in here.

• Gary.
      I personally know 15 people who lost their jobs last week, all from different areas of employment but they’re just another statistic which will hardly make the front pages of the papers….maybe if they all worked in the same place they might have filled up some column space but week in week out I hear of more people who are getting laid off and that’s just me and my circle of friends.
      Everybody who comments here, everybody in the country knows people who are losing jobs….add them people together and you will get a very large number of people.
      Announcements of 125 jobs in Dublin is good news for the people who manage to secure one of them but it will offset by the numerous individual cases of job loss throughout the state.

This drip feed of a few jobs here, a few jobs there is good news but not good enough, we need a complete redirection of policy towards growth and jobs and not continue the crippling policies of cuts and austerity where the creation of 125 jobs is just another chance for Bruton to get his face in the paper and try assure us that FG’s austere policies are working……well i’m sorry FG, it’s not working and the inevitability of a 2nd bailout is proof that it’s not working.

• I’m assuming the red thumbs are from people who believe a change in policy towards jobs and growth is not a good idea……ah well, those ostriches will no doubt be calling for a proper job strategy, less austerity and policies of growth when their FFG/Labour clowns are back warming the opposition benches..what with FFG historically being a one term government.

• Dermot. “More jobs have been created than lost recently” I don’t make the figures.

• This is the best bit: “The 125 new positions will be created between now and the end of 2013.”
      By then, hopefully, this government will be signing on as well.
      Oh no, I forgot, they’ll have big pensions from the public purse.

• jrbmc 29/05/12 #

125 jobs wow by the end of 2013!!!! And another 10,000 lost by then…

• All these wonderful new jobs being announced this week ! Fantastic newsfor the 450,000 unemployed . I know some one who went for a job as a shop assistant , there were two places available. One part time and one full time. 200 people turned up for interviews ……
    Vote NO.

• The above jobs will materialise between now and the end of 2013….Another reason to celebrate this governments competance.

• Orion 29/05/12 #

Don’t vote No on that basis please^ the treaty is about alot more than that…

• Susie – did you get out of the wrong side of the bed this morning? Thanks also for your advise on how to vote! Ms. Negative ……

• David 29/05/12 #

She got out of the usual side of the bed because she is always this miserable. She is a mouthpiece for the NO to everything side so any good news upsets her as she likes to be miserable and is only happy when moaning and complaining.

• David + Orion
      Good Morning :)
      Austerity is guaranteed ! However the depth and extent will be extreme if this treaty is accepted . What will happen when the structural deficit is reduced to 0.5% and we can not make it . Not only will we have to make 6 billilon worth of cuts but what about the fines we will receive when we default on the structural deficit ….. Not to mention the fact that unelected (unknown) overseers will be brought in to supervise our budget…. My vote will still be NO. Greed is the impetus behind this Treaty and Greed is the impetus pushing the yes vote. People who are barely affected by the austerity we are already suffering want us to vote yes to keep their salaries high . Vote No.

• Gentle men
      Sticks and stones etc…. You know how it goes . Have a lovely day , you all have made mine :) :) :) :) But I have to go now . Chat later .

• End of 2013 !!!! They didn’t announce how many jobs will be lost between now and the end of 2013. VOTE NO

• “Another reason to celebrate this governments competance.”

government’s

competence

Sheesh.

• Damocles
      That should read **incompetance .**…
      This government are anything BUT competent . Thanks for pointing out my typo :)

• “That should read **incompetance .**…”

incompetEnce

If you’re going to accuse someone of incompetence, at least do it competently.

• Damocles
      Ha ha . I was concentrating on spelling your name correctly !
      Another typo ….. Ah well , You got the point tho’ ! :)

• So incompetent they managed to ensure in excess of 4k jobs. Hrmmmmm.

• O'Reilly 29/05/12 #

Susie, structural defecit rules under the treaty aren’t enforceable until 2019 so we won’t be pulling out the phantom 6 bn anytime soon. That gives us 7 years for growth and inflation to significantly reduce the burden. You do want growth Susie?

• O’Reilly
      Growth will not ONLY come from outside the country. The government are doing NOTHING to encourage growth within our borders . What is the government doing for the other 446,000 unemployed people on the dole – apart from issuing passports. Every day I see places where jobs can be created with some creativity. I am not telling lies so I resent being told that I am telling lies. I tell it as I see it . I am nobody’s ”mouthpiece” so refrain from the name calling. I will be voting no as will 4 other members of my family. I have not wound people up , as other people are prone to do here on the journal. I have learned all I know through reading and talking and asking appropriate questions. I have learned that austerity is inevitable but why would we want to sign it into our constitution. That is how I see it and That is the reason I will be voting the way I will be voting . So as soon as this is over I am sure we will find more things to discuss. Have a nice day !

• O'Reilly 29/05/12 #

Susie, this treaty does not change our constitution. It will not be enshrined in our constitution. It has nothing to do in any way, shape or form with the Irish Constitution.

• O’Reilly
      I am worried that this is what you believe . You are quite gullible when it comes to what the puppet masters tell you.
      You should go and have a nice hot cup of tea and relax, don’t worry your head about any of it and do as you are told by Enda and the boys.

• Keep the job flow from recent days coming. VOTE YES!!!!

Add New Comment