TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

450 Irish Rail job loss news ‘not deferred because of referendum’

Iarnród Éireann is to look for around 11 per cent of its staff base to take a “voluntary severance package”.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

IRISH RAIL IS to ask 450 of its staff to take “a voluntary severance package”, it emerged this evening.

Irish Rail/Iarnród Éireann spokesperson Barry Kenny told TheJournal.ie that the voluntary redundancies were part of a range of measures to help the transport body to cope with ongoing losses.

Meanwhile, a spokesperson for Transport Minister Leo Varadkar has rejected suggestions that the timing of the bad news on Friday evening of the bank holiday weekend, and after the referendum, was in any way deliberate, saying “No directive was given to either Irish Rail, Bus Éireann or Bus Atha Cliath to defer any tough decisions as a result of the referendum”.

RTÉ.ie had initially reported this evening that there would be 450 “job losses” over a four-year period and that the company said it was part of a “cost containment” programme for the company.

This number of employees would count for about 11 per cent of all staff.

TheJournal.ie has asked SIPTU and the National Bus and Rail Union (NBRU) for their reaction to the news but was told that SIPTU did not hear about the losses until two hours before RTÉ correspondent Ingrid Miley reported them.

However, Irish Rail’s Barry Kenny said that SIPTU, ICTU and the NBRU were all party to talks at the Labour Relations Committee (LRC) last month when a package of measures was jointly agreed upon to recommend to union members at a ballot to be held by 20 June. “The ballot papers went out two or three days ago,” Kenny told TheJournal.ie.

In fact, a voluntary redundancy scheme has been open to staff across the board since April of this year, Kenny confirmed.

A spokesperson for Transport Minister Leo Varadkar said that it was well known that the financial position of CIE (which encompasses Dublin Bus and Iarnród Éireann) has been “declining” over the last number of years because of a combination of “reduced subvention, higher fuel costs and falling passenger numbers”. He added:

The Minister has stated repeatedly that further cost reductions will be necessary. This development is part of that process.

Regrettably it means that Irish Rail is seeking a number of voluntary redundancies.

The Department of Transport rejected any suggestion that the timing of the news of the losses was anything to do with the Government and that it was a matter for Iarnród Éireann.

Transport Minister Leo Varadkar had rejected suggestions by United Left Alliance TD Joan Collins on Wednesday that meetings to be held about further rationalisation at Bus Éireann was put off until after the referendum.

Joan Collins had tweeted:

collins

However, the spokesperson for the Transport Minister said this evening:

Regardless of the referendum campaign, each of the CIE companies is engaging with staff on mechanisms to reduce costs, as they have done over the last few years.

No directive was given to either Irish Rail, Bus Éireann or Bus Atha Cliath to defer any tough decisions as a result of the referendum and each company is continuing to engage in taking the necessary decisions to address the current very difficult trading environment.

Barry Kenny of Irish Rail said that the company had been reducing staff number for the past 10 years. In 2002, there were 6,200 employees – now there are 4,100. He said that costs were €413.3m in 2008 and were €344m in 2011.

He said that it was Irish Rail’s aim to “break even” by 2015 but to do that costs would have to continue to be cut. The company’s revenue had been €220.9m in 2008 and €182.1m in 2011. Public subvention for the company had also dropped drastically from €191.2m in 2008 to €135.7m this year. There are plans to further reduce subvention for Iarnród Éireann in the 2013 and 2014 Government budgets.

Read next:

Comments (77 Comments)

• The staff at the automatic barriers who stand there sneering at you when your ticket doesn’t work surely aren’t needed!

• I have worked for Irish Rail the last 15 years and this has been going on for the last year solid.Have been told if not enough people take the redundancy they WILL let people go.Irish Rails way of not making it sound too bad.Vote yes for jobs………

• Will the chairman of the 24th slowest train service in Europe out of 28 countries get a bonus on top of his huge salary for cutting overheads? This CEO could be fired for negligence of public money in providing such a poor service. Also the dirt of the train stations is embarrassing. Dun Laoighre station if filthy the canary has never been cleaned, the steps need to be steam cleaned as a power hose would not lift the dirt at this stage. Again the station manager is probably in the croke park deal and can’t be fired.

• We have at least another 10 years of austerity so in a drip drip effect over these years all public services and assets will be sold off and privatised. As pointed out by Paul Krugman on Newsnight, austerity is just a smoke screen for a ideological agenda. Its about shrinking the state and the transfer of public money into private hands. Its a con job of epic porporations

• austerity is going to be around for awhile true but if we had voted no austerity was still going to be around when you spend beyond your means as an individual or country then your going to be short afterwards the no side is breathing a sigh of relief because they won’t have to provide the impossible next week

• I am under no illusion joe that they have us by the short and curlys and i didn’t bring up the referendum. I just think its time to start calling it like it is. This isn’t some financial accident that happened , this is what was planned from the start. Read shock doctrine by Naomi Klein for a start and this will help explain whats really going on in Europe. The problem is mainstream media won’t touch it for obvious reasons although for the first time this week the likes of Vincent Browne and Krugman called it a neoliberal agenda and this gives hope as you have to identify the problem to defeat it.

• Stability. Growth. Investment. I get it

• More bad news. More people on the dole.

• It’s ok though! We are now guaranteed stability, investment and jobs. Remember the 40 jobs created two days ago!! Our gubbermint will sort it all out once and for all I mean that’s what we voted for right!!

• As an employee of one of the CIE companies I can tell you that all 3 companies were told to defer this news until after the referendum. Leo is as usual talking out of his well paid posterior. Dublin bus have called the unions to tell them similar news on Friday week. If you think the services are bad now, you have seen nothing yet. Hope all you yes voters are happy. Btw, SIPTU knew about this months ago so one must wonder why are they saying otherwise…

• I wonder how many of those employees voted yes yesterday for jobs??

• Not old news going on for last year as working for one of the companies not a great package on offer if u have 20-30 years of service. If train service is privatised prices will sky rocket like England irish rail is one of the cheapest in Europe per mile and cant say that england run a better service. Private operators will only care about profit before safety

• trying to bury bad news in a busy news day, typical government tactic

• Vote yes for stability and jobs. This announcement was obviously held back until the result

• how long since the treaty was passed?

• not exactly news they’re just the latest round of job cuts been sought for last couple of months no choice since the subvention was cut Dublin bus and bus eireann doing the same

• Joe Maher – there was a union leak here saying they were told by gov to hold off on the annoucement till after the ref…. Irish Rail have still not made the announcement….thats the point here.

• sorry Jane but union leaks my backside its being going on a while just because you didn’t hear about it doesn’t turn it into a secret, did anyone ask before now? not only is it not recent but its the second time this year nobody cared then

• They need to cut double that amount , the cost of rail travel is insane and their still losing money, I also know someone in irish rail Negotiating this package for the past two months, so its not particularly new …

• Looks like Joan Collins TD was right when she tweeted last Wednesday about this news being withheld until after the vote.
    Hope the FDI will be as quick in coming!
    The BS continues………..

• Can I just say I knew about this 5 weeks ago, and for reasons in my job etc I couldnt say anything so Leo as usual is full of poop. I voted No, so I’m realistic, plenty more where that came from me thinks!!!

• i knew about this two years ago but they ( unions and cie) went after dublin bus first then bus eireann, people forget all the redundancies in dub bus in 2008/9 and they re hired new people. the irish rail redundancies will come out of the money we get from emf ( the next bail bout)

• Conspiracy theories is the typical response the only response these politicians have these days!! Of course the stupid always believe them. This was timed and held off perfectly, there has been business closing down all the time every week with loads of job losses, but of course no mention in the news or on here but they will mention 10 new jobs here or there. The media control you fools and you fall for it with our fail everytime. Scared little sheep!

• That is what happens when you Vote the way a load of lying cheats tell you

• Treaty passed,strat of the bad news that was held back watch out Croke Park Agreement no need at pretence that the government is happy with preformance to date.

• Ah come on Folks, Angela told us we had to, even after all the “working Ireland” crap we peddled. Poor Endas back is broke from the saddle! Have some sympathy! At least when ye’re in the dole queue ye aren’t getting whipped by Frau Merkel! That and ye don’t have to listen to Lucinda and Brian Hayes everyday!

• Irish rail staff were informed of this in writing over two months ago!!! Lot worse to come unfortunately.. Good opportunity for some of the older staff to leave with a nice big lump sum for retirement.. Doesn’t save much in real terms unfortunately.. Spent 5 months in Irish Rail producing savings, fellow staff member helped save 250k, then was forced to leave because they wouldn’ t renew his contract!!! Crazy stuff..

• Vote for Jobs

• Vote for Stability

• There was me thinking all the moaning and bitching would stop for a bit. Silly me.
      And just to point out the obvious that the whiners don’t seem to have noticed, we have voted to give the government permission to ratify this treaty which they haven’t done yet. So might be an idea to save the complaining for when it is actually ratified.
      Of course I have no idea what kind of idiot would think we’d get stability the next day anyhow, it’ll take years.

• If there not job cuts exactly what are they?

• That’s just the first announcement..,.i doubt you’d get great odds on another 1 or 2 jobloss announcents in the coming week or two…

• Ah there’s that stability and jobs we voted for! Hard luck to these workers. Yes Campaign, hang your heads in shame! You covered up this for the past few days!

• And so it begins …..

• Marty 01/06/12 #

Irish Rail is ridiculously over priced and inefficient I wouldn’t normally suggest this but they need to privatise the shit out it!

• Privatisation will only drive up prices. They’ll lose all government subsidies. There’ll be different companies maintaining rolling stock and infrastructure. Not to mention operators.

• Marty 01/06/12 #

It has worked with Citylink for buses versus Bus Eireann – fast affordable with more regular services. I would never use Bus Eireann now. You can get from Dublin to Athlone for 6.45 when booked online with Citylink last time I checked it was around 26 euro with Irish Rail! Madness. There will be more jobs cut if it isnt run as a proper business

• Railway has more infrastructure than a bus company. Also unlike buses trains have to stick to more rigid time slots, if private operators come and there’s a delay the ones paying most for use of the infrastructure will demand their service goes out as soon as what’s causing the delay is fixed. Hence longer delays for other operators, which in this case would most likely be commuter services.

• Marty, they didn’t “privatise” bus Eireann! They simply opened up the market by issuing more bus licences! Very different!

If you want to see inefficient, filthy, utterly expensive,slow rail services just hop across on the ferry to Holyhead and look at the mess privitisation did to the UKs railways.

Our railways are actually pretty good. It’s not complex, distances are pretty short compared to a lot of other european networks so we dont need high speed rail and this bull of it being expensive….it’s actually NOT!

Remember 10 years ago when we still had those ancient carriages that you had to hang out of the window just to open? Irish Rail have done a bloody good job!

• Marty 01/06/12 #

Ya i know the difference between privatising and opening up to competition. I was just using Citylink as an example of a private company providing an excellent transport service at an affordable price.

I dont see why we should have to continually subsidise buses and trains that are terribly run?

• that’s great if live on a route which money can be made bus eireann and Irish rail are required to run certain services regardless of profitability you want a cheap profitable service well then prepare for closure of certain routes that’s what privatisation means

• They privatised the on board catering in 2007 and prices on board rocketed over night. €2 for a can coke,€5.50 can bud and tea €2.30 . This is a subsidised service using tax payers money and the service went through the floor..so be careful what you wish for, as the first decision that any private company makes is how to screw the customer even more to make a quick buck

• That was quick. Where are All the yes men and ladies now. All partying in the earlier treaty thread.

• For all who voted Yes today, we will be handing out Lollipops in the shape of Frau Merkels face tomorrow at HQ! Come on Ireland, lets get Ireland Licking

• Railroaded into a yes vote then railroaded out of a job!
    “Attention passengers the gravy train is leaving yet again from platform 3, cost cutting on platform 2 and big bonuses will be on platform 6, ALL ABOARD now folks here we go” choo choooo….

• They’re losing money every year, workers haven’t exactly adapted to a changing environment and still provide sloppy customer service.

The redundancies are involuntary, no doubt they’ll be paid handsomely for taking it. Don’t know what the problem is here.

My company performs badly, I’m involuntarily given the bullet without recourse through any unions.

Why should Irish Rail be any different?

• Sarah 01/06/12 #

Welcome to the new Republic people its called Gerland and forget about celebrating the 1916 Rising in 2016 yous will be now celebrating the 31st May as the new founding Republic of Gerland. Sad thing about this is the Public Sector probably carried this over the line and the sheep who were afraid of their dole being cut as one person said to me “I voted YES because i dont want to see my dole being cut” Well im afraid it will be and I’ll soon be a refugee in another country, I said if this treaty was passed i was left with no other choice other than to emigrate and i guess my worst fear has been realised today.

• mel 01/06/12 #

Thought if we said YES we’d get job’s,what a con job……more will follow

• The railways in Ireland are better than a lot of places I have been. I think the staff are helpful, courteous and seem well motivated. The rolling stock is modern and reliable, even though the speeds are less than ideal. This, I believe, is due to a lot of level crossings and uneven trackwork over the bogs.

A lot of people don’t actually appreciate what a good railway we have. My sympathy goes to the staff on the ground who will be targeted for these redundancies, I hope the top management are not immune to cuts, either in wages or numbers.

• Enda: Don’t let go the guy scheduled to drive this train for Europe ur always on about. At least not till he gets u to
    Berlin.

• The union reps on the board have no conscience – The Union Executives are the highest paid people in the country when you take in their fees for sitting on boards and the expenses claimed.
    One newspaper estimated that the the heads of the top 2 unions was each earning 300,000 Euro from all their sources of income and their pension plans. They are index linked to the civil service.
    Champaign socialists. They have the neck to lecture to their members and to the public about ethics.

• David 01/06/12 #

About time they’re starting to live within their means. They need to provide a better service to consumers at a reasonable cost. I don’t see why they should get any subsidy off the taxpayers.

• Simple, rail is an essential form of transport required to keep this country ticking! But it’s not cheap in any form and it’s rarely profitable! We still pay low fares compared to some European countries! If they where to charge in order to turn a profit I can assure you we would be paying a hell of a lot more for your return ticket!!!!!

• Dave 01/06/12 #

What Tony is trying to say is that prices on Irish rail are lower than on many other European rail services. Try buying a ticket at the station in the UK if you want expensive!

• Lets not forget to question Burton and other TDs about this.

• Frank 2521, you are an absolute liar

• no marie he isn’t , the is talking about the top union guys not the union reps ( whom don’t get red cent) union wages are linked to the civil servants wages increases and perks. it’s the guys and gals on the gound doing the work for people not the like of jack o connor.

• Yes to jobs….

• shocking, this Government Lied to The People in this Referendum about the Prospects of People For Jobs, investment, and scaremonger the people into a yes vote, for example, we will raise taxes higher if you don’t vote yes, if you don’t vote yes, then we cannot access to ESM Funding for another bail out, now we have been informed that there are two bail outs to be done not one two, 3.5billion is the first not too sure the amount of second one, Shocking, treason, Corruption, and treaty cheats, pencils instead of pens on voting day, No Garda presence in the polls when voting, all very strange indeed, and Garda have always been in the Polls on Voting days, Always, Strange indeed! Need I say no more? Rita Cahill

• There was me thinking all the moaning and bitching would stop for a bit. Silly me.
    And just to point out the obvious that the whiners don’t seem to have noticed, we have voted to give the government permission to ratify this treaty which they haven’t done yet. So might be an idea to save the complaining for then.
    Of course I have no idea what kind of idiot would think we’d get stability the next day anyhow, it’ll take years.

• Unfortunately the only idiot around here Gary is you. You have proved yourself to be nothing but an ignorant, self righteous, bullyboy type oaf with the manure you spread on here regularly but more importantly by the way you constantly have to be insulting people and lying for it to seem like you’re making a point. Ramble away, but people have stopped listening to you!

• The treaty isn’t ratified by the government yet… simple fact. So it would be no harm to save the inevitable complaining for at least when that happens. Asking where the stability and jobs are the day after the treaty was voted on is pretty flupping stupid anyway. Oh and btw feel free to show where I have ever lied?

• Denis 02/06/12 #

Well it’s a start but if this bloated inefficient public sector monster is ever going to give value to the tax payer a hell of a lot more need to get the chop.

Add New Comment