TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Sinn Féin brand leak of expert group report on abortion “disgraceful”

The parties health spokesperson, Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin, called for its immediate release in light of the leak.

On right: Sinn Féin health spokesperson Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin (file photo)
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

SINN FÉIN’S HEALTH spokesperson Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin has called the leaking of the expert group report on abortion “disgraceful”.

The leak was revealed when last night’s RTÉ Prime Time disclosed a section of the report, a week before it is due to go before cabinet.

It is disgraceful that the conclusions of the expert group report are now in the media, through the Prime Time programme, after the government refused to heed calls for its publication at the time it was received last week.

In light of the leak, Ó Caoláin said that government should now publish the report immediately:

The Oireachtas has been treated with contempt by the cabinet and, unless it relents, we must wait until next week before seeing the report and addressing its conclusions. The government should end this charade and publish the report immediately.

The Department of Health could not be reached this morning to get their response to Ó Caoláin’s calls.

Referring to the fact that the section of the report as seen by Prime Time appeared to favour legislation, Ó Caoláin said that this had vindicated “the call made in the Sinn Féin motion voted down by the government on Wednesday night.”

Read: Prime Time ‘reveals section of Expert Group report on abortion’ >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (47 Comments)

• What was the reason given for not publishing the report as soon as it was received?

• I am not very happy with myself now for being one of the people, who actually voted for this new style Government , a Government that promised to be different, they were going to show leadership. Why are they dragging their feet on this issue, just deal with it. We the voting public made a decision 20 years ago and still the matter hasn’t been deal with.Hope the Government are not using this unfortunate case to keep the public’s foscus away from this upcoming budget. nb

• Have to say I agree with Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin here. This smacks of the typical kite flying this Government seem addicted to doing. Pathetic! It’s time to publish the full report so the people can make their minds up on the issue.

• Kite flying a report that was used as an excuse to vote against legislating for the x case back in april, legislation that the supreme court directed should have been brought in 20 years ago. These guys have been cute hoor politicians for so long that they’re no longer capable of realising how cretinous and low this looks.

• It’s slightly worrying that Sinn Fein are the only party that are handling this correctly.

As much as it pains me to consider them, all other parties have let me down consistently in the past few years. Right now I would be compelled to vote for them if there was an election in the morning.

• snooch 23/11/12 #

It’s easy to be seen to handle something correctly when your actions/words have no impact whatsoever on the situation.

• It is worrying that people still consider FF/FG to be viable options given their consistent failures and corruption over 90 years.

• Just because you are not in power does not mean you can not influence the debate. Look at the amount of councils across the country that have passed SF motions backing the right to Gay marriage. That changes public awareness, develops support for a position. Belfast, Dublin and Cork all backed it, all to massive news coverage and public awareness.

Just because you are not in the driving seat doesn’t mean that you can make a difference, just get off your bum and get stuck in for what you believe in.

• snooch 23/11/12 #

Is it influencing things in a real way thigh or just providing populist soundbites on contentious issues? Genuine question.

I do feel that if abortion wasn’t so topical these days all we would hear the SF hierarchy banging on about is through terrible awful atrocity that was the ruling before the children’s referendum.

Of course there’s a need for opposition, but only when viable real alternatives are proposed and not just nit picking the issues of the week.

SF are essentially waiting for FG to f*ck up as opposed to proposing real alternatives. (ps I don’t see the alternative budget as a real alternative)

• M Bowe 23/11/12 #

And it is up to the electorate to put some effect behind those words. The crowd in governent now have shown umpteen times their words mean nothing.

• snooch 23/11/12 #

I completely agree M, I just really don’t see alternatives. Honesty from all corners would go a very long way

• They were calling for things like this when it wasn’t popular, quiet the opposite in fact. They were out protesting in the 60′s against the Chattel law, where women were viewed legally as the property of their husbands, from every pulpit they condemned, called enemies of God and the family by FG and FF.

• snooch 23/11/12 #

I’m aware of that daffodil. I have a couple of mates in ogra an have seen them regularly over the years protesting about abortion. That was just an example I used that I hoped would show the lack of innovation at the moment from the opposition (not just SF). It’s the whole system, it’s set up to promote bickering and nit picking without innovation or alternatives

• There are many in SF that want abortion on demand, ie widely available, they are still in the minority in SF. Most people in the party though are in favour of relaxing the law, clearing it for issues around the X case. SF have had the same position on this for a very long time, the party called for X case judgement to be legislated for in 92.

Certainly the Leinster hse system needs to be radically overhauled, made more transparent and where opposition members have powers and responsibility that they are accountable for, but can make a positive impact as well. Govt.’s here are obsessed with centralizing and controlling more power. That leads to ossification of Govt.

• I agree, the other lot or toss pots had their chance, I’m not SF fan at all but, what’s the worst they can do :(

• @ DaffodilDaze:
      ” It is worrying that people still consider FF/FG to be viable options ….”

did you forget Labour ?

• FF, FG and Lab. 90 years running (should that be ruining) the country and they still can’t get it right

• Yes, but are they really ‘trying’ to get it right? I think not. Nice house, pension/s and your face on the Telly! Government jets, limos and fancy hotels. It’s tough going for these empty vessels who lack any ideas or imagination. Just going through the motions hoping the economy can sort itself out. Thinkings hard.

• It is disgraceful, how is it not??

• Just taking a break from work to tell ye all that I will be voting for Sinn Fein from now on,FF,FG and Labour are useless.

• Sinn Fein bashing once again. About the only ones calling for the government to be held responsible for their suppressive actions.

• The sooner Sinn Fein are runing the country the better and then the green shoots of recovery will begin.

• Complete insanity!!!

• Insanity is paying bondholders billions that we don’t need to. BILLIONS more will follow, 16.9bn payment in march is it?! This is what’s crippling the country and will ultimately be FG downfall esp since there will never be a deal on bank debt. BILLIONS! That’s lots of 00000000000000000000000′s

• Ryan. Don’t forget to remember that brutal John Bruton called for the Irish people to forgive the bankers and politicians for their crimes and sins, before anyone is held to account or made even pay a token punishment. John will be getting a lot of hampers from failed and crooked bankers and politicians this year. The likes of him really believe that their little golden circle is all that matters and that the rest of us should happily sacrifice our futures to protect them. John will get his big pay cheques and next big job irregardless, he doesn’t have to be a knob about it though.

• Agree daffodil all the while sending us postcards from Europe. The dirt goes deeper with fine geal all the way on the gravey train to Europe selling us out to bankers as they go. This will not end up good

• ‘Shoots’ good choice of word.

• Sinn Feins recent move to the moral high ground in all events is amusing.

Poacher wearing gamekeepers clothes, but still a poacher !

• Lol. I remember being called a fuc&ing marxist in the 80′s by a FG TD, when I spoke out for abortion laws that reflected certain realities like the X case. Like most SF’ers I’m not in favour of on demand abortion, though quite a vocal and large group in the party are. The party position has been the same for a very long time and it is just as divisive internally as it is in wider society.

On a lighter note I was stopped twice on the drive home from the meeting by the Guards, the same Guards and the car searched both times. One of them as much as apologized for it but I guess you can’t have reckless radicals trying to damage FG’s church based voter base.

• I find it hard to take Sinn Fein seriously, as a ‘legitimate political party’, BUT, I’m still waiting on FG and Labour to prove that my view of all parties, as showers of power-hungry and greedy gombeen gangsters is ill founded. Please prove me wrong Inda/ Eamo!

• Kevin, I am afraid you will be waiting a long time for FFG/Labour to do the right thing… Don’t hold your breath.

• Kevin. Why would FG start doing the right thing at this stage. You can’t teach an old dog new tricks.

• At the risk of anyone taking me up the wrong way, I’m no FG supporter and I’m disillusioned with the labour party these days. However, in the interests of this country, I would like to see them get their collective act together. Otherwise we might see FF back in power. One cannot underestimate the general public.

• #Gary Fitzgerald,well done Gary your living the dream.Have a pint on me.

• How many of you Sinn Feinn folk are holding down jobs and posting while at work or are you all on Social Welfare?

• But I thought SF weren’t into the ‘politics of condemnation’?

Add New Comment